You are here: HomeNews2014 09 17Article 326279

BoG schools Bawumia over exchange rate figures

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Tweeeeeeeeeeeeeea 9 years ago

Even a child knows that Bawumia is years ahead of you Wampah when it comes to economics. You can only brag before mahama who is visionless

• Ken 9 years ago

The governor is not making sense. Speculation in the financial market is part and parcel of finance so you can't discount it. His defense clearly exonerates Dr. Bawumia. So the Governor is saying because of Speculative activi ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

the incompetent BoG is proud

• Whatever 9 years ago

If you know banking, you'd know what BoG is saying represent the truth on the ground and not Bawumia's stupidity. The Bank of Ghana is saying that the banks uses the opening line of 'speculation of dollar shortages' to hike u ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

What is the meaning of 'market forces' determining the exchange rate? Isn't the market rate the more realistic rate than the artificial rate set by the central bank?

• Whatever 9 years ago

'Market forces' is a concept that only applies in a system where free market exist. In a system where there are strict rules and umbrella law, the force of the market is transferred to the law. Why do you think there's a fore ...

• GHANAVIA 9 years ago

Whatever, he who knows not and knows not that he knows not is a ...
    Stop parading your ignorance. Pretense cannot absolve your lack of knowledge.

• Kofi B 9 years ago

Bawumia made these allegations nearly a month ago. So after consulting all his to "economists" at the Bank of Ghana, NDC Headquarters and Flagstaff House (Mahama Land), this is what the so-called Bank of Ghana "Governor" can ...

• Bomfaboy 9 years ago

Dr Wampa said “We believe the rates in the market are also affected significantly by speculative activities, which is thriving on the shortage of forex in the market. So those who have the forex try to play market by asking ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

when the governor was head of research & the BOG, Bawumia never dreamt of himself ever becoming the deputy governor on the alter of political appointment.

• KP 9 years ago

where in this article is the BOG schooling Dr. Bawumia?

• Bomber 9 years ago

How was prepared to read informed economics but read propaganda

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

I WAS THINKING ABOUT THE SAME THING. WHERE IS THE SCHOOLING OF BAWUMIA. THIS IS ALSO OLD NEWS. HOW LONG AGO DID BAWUMIA TOOK THEM TO TASK AND IT IS NOW THAT THEY ARE RESPONDING TO HIM. TOO LATE

• Nii Laryea 9 years ago

Only your English, Kofi USA! Ha, ha ,aaaaaa,eeeeeemmm Kofi's 'brofo gbonyo' ''How DID Bawumia TOOK them to task' This is real bulletIs that the type of English you speak in US?. Learn your tense. I think Kofi is qualified for ...

• Oko 9 years ago

In the entire news article there is no where that Wampah provides cogent analysis to refute Bawumiah's position.
    Stupid Governor!!!!

• Yaw 9 years ago

You beat me to it. The writer is an illiterate.

• Akos 9 years ago

Oko, if the journalist who posted this article did not use such a catchy headline, you would not have read it. It is however very ridiculous for no where in the article is Dr. Bawumia schooled.

• HAWA 9 years ago

This is so sad if you have to wait for 3months to respond.
    It is dead boy!
    qtn: why did the figures start changing from 3.0333 to 3.123333 just a day after Bawumia made the assertion?

• Yaw 9 years ago

Can somebody point out in this article where the BoG provided facts to address the obvious low-balling of the cedis exchange rates.

Where does the BoG get their cedis rates against the foreign currencies from? Saying the ...

• kandia 9 years ago

Where hav u seen bank rate is as the same as forx rate? is on bawmia who can make such arguments in this world. i want to know that if u want hav GOG rate and Bank rate the same then there i no need for banks to trade. there ...

• SM 9 years ago

This is so confusing..because if you goes to western union the rate is $1 dollar to Ghc 31 but if you come online on international market it Ghc 36 so what is going on and where do they get their figures from?

• Kwabena 9 years ago

The answer is simple. When the government try to "lie" to Ghanaians about the true exchange rate, it conspires with Western Union to steal your dollars. Western Union uses the "fake" exchange rate given by your government i ...

• kkkk 9 years ago

oh massa wampah, come again ooo, this be voodoo analysis or u be 419, u c, it is better not to talk ooo mr wampah. thank God the dollar is not running as fast as b4, but with what u have said, we should get ready for Usain bo ...

• Ken 9 years ago

he governor is not making sense. Speculation in the financial market is part and parcel of finance so you can't discount it. His defense clearly exonerates Dr. Bawumia. So the Governor is saying because of Speculative activit ...

• Abdulrahaman gonja 9 years ago

Western union follow the stupidity of BOG to cheat Ghanaians, the governor is even confessing here

• Vincent Bowe 9 years ago

Star fm or what ,you call this trash of explanation $chooling?. Why then did they change their rate after Bawumia's release.So per the ''schooling'',the rate was being kept at 3.03 for three months pending the release of the ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

THE VALUE IS THE SAME AS THE BANK SAID NOTHING CONTRARY TO BAWUMIA BUT RATHER REPEATED HIS WORDS.

• John Kool 9 years ago

Dr. Wampah, your explanation does not add up. This is voodoo economics.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

So, do we now have the real exchange rates and speculative exchange rates. How come he waited until they've got some borrowed money to delay the fall of the cedi before coming out? Yes, exchange rates are determined by produc ...

• KAKABO 9 years ago

If this is the answer from Wampah then Ghana is finished. Do you think if there were enough dollars in the market those who need them for their business would ask their banks to buy them at any rate? Have you ever met a situa ...

• ADEPA NANA 9 years ago

SO WHERE IS THE EDUCATION? DR WAMPAH SHOULD NOT TALK ABOUT SPECULATION BECAUSE IF MARKETS ARE EFFICIENT, THEY RESPOND QUICKLY TO BOTH PUBLIC AND PRIVATE INFORMATION HENCE THE VALUE OF THE DOLLAR. IN ANY CASE WHAT DR BAWUMIA I ...

• Ecominy Monger 9 years ago

What is news about the governor's statement? Bawumia waa arguing that the GHC3.02 quoted by BoG was unrealistic, since what obtained on the shop floor was between 3.7 and 4.1! Let Wampah come out and defend that! Else, he mus ...

• Kwabena 9 years ago

From the Governor's comments, he is just repeating what Bawumia said months ago. Obviously the BoG is way behind the curve. They should learn from Bawumia (a former Professor) rather make all these unsuccessful attempts to ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

I said the same thing BOG said sometime back. But as usual, Bawumia preferred to stick to his ignorance, now BOG has come to even emphasized what said which is what goes on in inter-bank dealings

• Wanzam Ziblim 9 years ago

when he was at BOG. He is incompetent with no specified qualification - teacher, accountant, and by force economist. I really don't value him.

• CATAPULT 9 years ago

Where is the schooling from BoG that Dr. Wampah is said to have conducted? Is it the rather innocuous allusions to speculative activities that Dr. Wampah referred to after admitting that and I quote "A simple look at the inte ...

• Jagblee tsu 9 years ago

This can never be true as demand and supply affects pricing and even exchange rates. This doctor make the economics and finance a stupid and a useless programs of study

• Di Wo Fei Asem 9 years ago

Oooooh I see, then let us remove the effect of speculative activities when pricing petroleum prices.Obviously, the price petrol and petroleum products will far cheaper is speculation is discounted in the pricing of these p ...

• Kojo Dziwornu, Toronto Canada 9 years ago

Whoa After four weeks since the allegations was made , this is the response we get to the issue. God Help Ghana. The Governor did not explain how the BOG arrives their rates vis a vis what Bawumia said.
    Given the explanatio ...

• Victor 9 years ago

The Governor rather confirmed the raging disparities in the exchange rate figures and how clueless and bereft they are, of a solution.

• Mankind 9 years ago

Have you transferred money from anywhere to Ghana lately? Obviously No!! No!!otherwise you will understand what Bawumia was saying!!

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

Walk to Ghana banks and the signs is clear how foreign rate cost consumers,after month now the BoG tells Ghanaians is consumers fault.

• ASUMADU, HO. 9 years ago

WHAT A MISLEADING HEADLINE. THE BOG BOSS COULD NOT BUT AGREE WITH DR BAWUMIA. DOES IT NOT MEAN THAT BAWUMIA RATHER SCHOOLED THE BOG BOSS? WHAT A MISLEADING TITLE AND MISREPRESENTATION OF FACTS.

• KA 9 years ago

It all boils down to SUPPLY and DEMAND for foreign currency.

Go round and check the exchange rates at various FOREX locations. They all have different and varying rates to buy and sell those currencies.

• REALISTIC 9 years ago

The governor is right. He see's his role as one who ensures the physical custody of currency(simply watchman)whilst the rates are determined by market and speculative . Indeed in his mind he sees that as w ...

• BERNARD ACCRA 9 years ago

DR. WAMPAH SHDNT FOOL HIMSELF NEXT TIME COMING UP WITH THIS CHILDISH EXPLANATION ON THE FAST DEPRECIATING CEDI AND ATTRIBUTE IT 2 SPECULATION BY THE BIXNESS COS IT DEFIES ANY ECONOMIC LOGIC COS SAME BIXNESS PEOPLE EXISTED 200 ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is very useless