You are here: HomeNews2014 09 15Article 325873

Statement: Christian Council speaks on national issues

Read Comments Comments (53)

• The mask 9 years ago

Some churches are involved in all sorts of philanthropic activities. They bring a lot of foreign currency into the country for these purposes. However there are many churches, especially the Nigerian churches, which don't bri ...

• Kanewu 9 years ago

Thanks our clegy but try to do same to NPP whwn they come to power.

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

So

• Kanewu 9 years ago

I will appeal to council to encourage some 0f their members who have flotted prayer camps bathing women selling only holy water and handcarchieves to work to assist the economy,because selling holy water without paying tax c ...

• ANKRA 9 years ago

Dr Opuni, if all you do is to extort money from your congregation to buy big cars and mansion and educate your children outside Ghana how wouldn't Ghanaian loose confidence. They have lost confidence only because they feel th ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

ANKRA, the statement by the Christian Couuncil is a very laudable one and it speaks volumes for ordinary Ghanaians. So why are you attacking them or the signatory, Dr Opuni?

I hope the government is listening and it will t ...

• KWAKU MANU 9 years ago

The church is fulfilling its duty to the nation and you are attacking the signatory. You are pathetic! If this most gentle statement is offending you and your gang, then it looks like nothing good you come out of you and you ...

• Do Dey Do 9 years ago

Ankra need prayers for real

• PEPPER 9 years ago

CREMINALES ROBB AT GUN POINT PASTERS ROBB WITH THE BIBLE
    STOP ROBBING THE INOSENT CHURCH PEOPLE AND THEY SAVE ENOUTH MONEY TO CARE FOR THEMSELVER AND LEAVE THE GVT.AND MAHAMA ALONE HE IS ON COURSE !!!!!

• tupac 9 years ago

Ghana,many and ultimatums,nana saying you must do this and that,imani saying the same,potag,utag,gma etc all use the same arrogantly language on ndc government,tell NPP they must be bring back the government lands,GT,Ghanaair ...

• NANA KASA 9 years ago

You sound like Ghana is made up of 2 sets of people....those who come to mess up the country from Monday to Friday by collecting bribes, stealing, insulting, lying, cheating, absenteesim, prostitution and every anti-socilal v ...

• akyekyedie 9 years ago

Oh so the christian council wants to be the government of Ghana now? Ps leave the politics and advice your pastors to be truly "men of God"instead of the you know what(lying, defrauding ,etc etc.Ghana has an elected governmen ...

• Michael 9 years ago

The speaking is blind he can even see if you look at is face you can talk that is a man so he want attention

• PEPPER 9 years ago

PASTERS ARE JUST THIEFS !!!!!!

• Do Dey Do 9 years ago

Your name Akyekyedie simply tells me how unproductive you are. Be constructive in your contribution. A religious person must educate, straightens,helps and above all serve his creator.

• WHAAAAANA 9 years ago

TELL YOUR CHURCH MEMBERS WHO ARE UNEMPLOYED TO GO BACK TO THE FARMS AND CULTIVATE MAIZE AND VEGETABLES FOR EXPORTS SO AS TO BRING IN MORE DOLLARS. THE CHINESE, AMERICANS, ITALIANS, JAPANESE, MALAYSIANS, KOREANS AND INDIANS A ...

• Kwasea 9 years ago

Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, and the soul of soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people.
    Karl Marx

Peace to the shacks! War on the palaces!
    Georg Buchner

• PEPPER 9 years ago

GIVE BACK THE COLLECTIONS YOU HAVE COLLECTED FROM YOUR CHURCH MEMBERS AND THEY WILL BE RICH LIKE YOU AND LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE !!!!

• Amega 9 years ago

It appears the tithes and weekly collections are dwindling seriously.

• olu 9 years ago

How on earth can the CCG blame government for suicides in church premises?. Do they give their tithe to the state which failed to use it to support those who hanged themselves at their premises?. If they wand the betterment o ...

• concerned ghanaian 9 years ago

This Christian Council of Ghana is a farse!!!!!!!!!!!
    Where were they when the NPP sold Ghana Telecom?, negotiated only 23% share in ghana's oil offshore.

These cassock-wearing pretenders should stop pretending they are a ...

• WILLIE 9 years ago

A FEW PEOPLE ARE NEEDED TO WORK URGENTLY IN QATAR ON A 2 YEAR CONTRACT WHICH CAN BE RENEWED.
    WE NEED DRIVERS AND PEOPLE WHO ARE READY TO WORK AS SECURITY PERSONNEL.
    THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST QATAR PACKAGE EVER,BECAUSE THE S ...

• Gyam Korrowii 9 years ago

christian are not what God have commanded them to do.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Those that are talking now robbed innocent n poor people n the are now hiding their corrupt act n they hv the guts to be talking abt someone , Christians must clean their house before coming out to criticize someone

• KWAKU MANU 9 years ago

I GUESS IT IS YOUR OWN UGLY HEART YOU ARE SEEING IN EVERY THING AROUND THAT IDENTIFIES AND TALKS ABOUT THE USE AND ABUSE OF GHANA AND HER RESOURCES BY THE JD MAHAMA AND THE NDC. WE, INCLUDING OUR PASTORS, PAR THE TAXES, WE ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Church leaders hung themselves because of corruption ,

• Christian 9 years ago

We have read from the Christian Council, what about the Peace Council? They are both headed by Bishops, so let us hope they both speak the same language!
    Come on, Peace Council, let us hear your voice in National Development ...

• Michael 9 years ago

Be wise Christians are not warmongers but peace makes so preach peace and stop this no sense ok

• PEPPER 9 years ago

WHAT CAN A CHURCH DO FOU A CHURCH MEMBER APART FROM MAKING THEM POORER ???

• Joseph 9 years ago

Hav u pple finished preaching d word of God. ?where som horrible pple calling dem selves bishops n prophets, causing harm at fm stations n flirting pples wives n dealing on nonses tyns in d's our dear country, ghana.Christian ...

• ANKRA 9 years ago

Kofi Atta does a priest in Cambridge talk like Dr Opuni.
    You claim to be in the U.K so which volumes of Ghanaians are you referring to
    Please if you can help build Ghana don't help to destroy ok

• USA 9 years ago

Solve the problem in chrsitianity.Fake profecies,marriage breakers,thieves ,choing peopples wife and co

• Do Dey Do 9 years ago

Your spellings says it all about you. I know it takes wisdom to govern, rule and lead.

• PEPPER 9 years ago

DIRTY PASTERS SQUISING MONEY FROM THE POOOOOR PEOPLE VERY SAD !!!!

• mugu1 9 years ago

somebody silent this guy permanently for ghanaian to have some peace?

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

THE CHRISTIAN COUNCIL AHS BEEN REACTIOARY IN ITS AOUT LOOK AND ASPIRATIONS. §THE CHRISTIAN TEACHINGAND PRAYER FOR "DAILY BREAD" IS THE SOURCE OF CORRUPTION IN THIS COUNTRY. CORRUPTION HAS GROWN IN DIRECT PROPORTION WITH THE ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

CHRISTIAN COUNCIL HAS POSTED THEIR MANIFESTO, LET THEM HAVE THE COURAGE TO FIELD CANDIDATE FOR PRESIDENT AND PARLIAMENTARY CABDIDATES. WHEN ELECTED, WE WILL ACCEPT THEIR MANDATE TO RULE. OTHERWISE, THEY SHOULD ALLOW THOSE WHO ...

• SIYABEA 9 years ago

Loss of confidence in leadership hence a call for a change means religious leadership is included. Are you prepared to vacate your seat? Visit Korle Bu and see what mess a man-of-God created. Shame

• p m biliguo 9 years ago

Mr oponi n anti ndc pastors shld stop annusicceery comments n allow de president to his work such comments will let us vo
    te to maintain de ndc in power tweaaaa

• NPP COUNCIL 9 years ago

When NDC is in power the christian council talks like parrots.When National patapaa party (NPP)in power they loose all their teeth and do not talk any more. At all cost Nana must be a president christian council.

• Michael 9 years ago

You can see from is face that is a blind man. dont mind him he is sick prip

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THE CHRISTIAN COUNCIL OF GHANA NEEDS TO KNOW THAT, WITHOUT SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AS A DRIVE TO INNOVATION AND CREAITIVITY TO ACCELERATE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ALL THESE CRICISMS AMD PREACHINGS WILL NOT HELP THE NATION TO OVERC ...

• Nii Naate Agbo 9 years ago

WOW, I am amazed at the work of current leadership of Christian Council. They are wonderfully working to speak for the poor of the people. The name of the Lord is strong tower the righteous runs into it and they are saved. Th ...

• PEPPER 9 years ago

CHURCH AND CHRISTIAN COUNCLE AREWICKED PEOPLEGO AND FIGHT IN ISRAEL LOT OF TROUBLES THERE !!!!

• yendi boy 9 years ago

Mr. Opuni, you are wrong, totally wrong, did you sit down to write all these without your intention to be voted a flagbearer of NPP ? sHAME UNTO YOU.wHO ARE your people at all you often refer to ?

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

YOU MISSED out on one IMPORTANT aspect...
    67) that the INDISCIPLINE ATTITUDE ogf Ghanaians,at ALL LEVELS must be tackled and CONCRETE STEPS be outlined to GUIDE our society!

• Yaw 9 years ago

Where were you pastors and reverends when the NPP were ruling.

• Yaw 9 years ago

• Danjuma 9 years ago

The church members have to sacrifice to pay their tithe, yet the pastors drive in Benz cars and everything tax free. --- Max Remeo