Ebola scare: Doctors desert patients at Achimota Hospital

Read Comments Comments (89)

• BOMBER 9 years ago

hahahahaha,running for their dear lives

• ENEMIES OF PROGRESS 9 years ago

YOU WILL GET YOURS!!! SORRY SOB!!!

• ADWEN 9 years ago

By the time this MAHAMA and his NDC idiots, dimwits, incompetents and corrupt morons realise they harm and destruction they are causing to Ghana, it will be too late.
    JD MAHAMA thinks he is a "leader" by virtue of the fact ...

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

Foolish fool,on top of all fools...kwasiaaa waa..Ebola dont know ndc nor npp...your Hitler, am sure could have deliberately spread the Virus at all costaricanischen...All In the Name of Power!

• NII COMMEY 9 years ago

I was part of a US volunteer medical team that treated patients in Ghana at Korle-Bu teaching hospital. What I witnessed there made me sick to my stomach. Basic infection control is virtually non-existent at Korle-Bu. I saw d ...

• Dr Jay 9 years ago

I'm sorry they did run away because we doctors and other healthcare workers do not work in a vacuum.

WE NEED TOOLS TO ISOLATE AND CARE FOR SUCH DEADLY HEMORRHAGIC CASES.
    Unfortunately the tools are not here or there.

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Thank you Dr. Jay.You have made a very valid point. It is just the same as asking a professional soldier in uniform to go do battle with the enemy without basic weapons of war or battle preparedness.

• Nii COMMEY 9 years ago

You dodged the issue. You do not need a PPE in the form of an infection control suit to practice basic infection control. Standard Precautions are just that -STANDARD- and not complicated. The question you should be asking is ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Uncle Nii!You have also raised a very important point however, let me also remind you that, Ebola isn't any ordinary infectious disease. With all the precautions taken by some of the western health care practitioners who got ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

If the government does not put the right facilities and equipment in place for you to work, you do so at your own demise. Doctors have died in Sierra Leone whilst the government sat idle.

• Dr Jay 9 years ago

Google Ebola and read about it. Educate yourself.

• K APPIAH 9 years ago

PLEASE DONT THRUST NDC ,EBOLA IS HAS BEEN IN GHANA All THRUST BUT IN THEIR USUAL POSTURING THEY THREATEN EVERY HEALTH PERSONEL WHO TRIES TO EXPOSE IT.NDC AND MAHAMA ARE VERY DANGEROUS

• RX 9 years ago

This running away of health workers in an Ebola situation is in sharp contrast to what happened in Nigeria. The more health workers run away from an Ebola case, the more it will spread because it gives the Ebola patient or th ...

• kwaku 9 years ago

boko haram nigeriams again? why wont you leave us alone and stay in your hell

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Note: Ghana has huge wealth but 1% of the population (politicians) have hijacked 99% of the wealth while 99% of the population live on 1% of our wealth.

• Mike 9 years ago

Dr. Jay,
    You have said it all. Nothing needs added to your response.
    The very last paragraph of your response might be a possibility and a way to clean the mess, UNFORTUNATELY.
    I simply don't see how it could be corrected. ...

• sammy 9 years ago

i knew nigerians are the ones that will carry this sickness 2 ghana.Cant they stay in their own country?Ghana is the place now for them to come and look for money.Funny enough there are more hungry people in nigeria than any ...

• ALI MAHAMA 9 years ago

Where is the readiness to combact the ebola we talk about.Insteadof useing our scarce resources to take care of health problems we are wasting it to buuild a socalled international a socalled International Airport to convey ...

• Honesty 9 years ago

Is this the same doctors trained with the poor farmer's hard earned cash and yet, who think they are better than everyone in Ghana and so must earn like an PM and treated like kings and queens because they are intelligent an ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

You do not run away from ebola a country...you face and eradicate it...

• TKN 9 years ago

Hope this is not true, an ebola case in achimota hospital, that place is a mortuary by it self. A hospital that keeps dead body with patients in the ward till the families come to confirm the decease. I was there two weeks a ...

• MOI 9 years ago

I DO HOPE THIS IS NOT TRUE. WE ARE ALREADY BATTLING CHOLERA AND TO HAVE EBOLA AS WELL IN GHANA WILL BE TOO MUCH FOR THE COUNTRY TO COPE WITH.

• pkirks 9 years ago

Why are Ghanaians so fools to the extend that they put all the blames on the president . The president is doing all he can to prevent it from entering the country. Warnings are being given through the media but the individual ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

DISGRACFULL PREZ. MAHAMA ( MA HA ME MAN)

• onipanua 9 years ago

Why not your mother's house which is also cholera infested? You fool!!

• Uncle Oyibo 9 years ago

On Tuesday September 9, 2014, Prophet Owusu claimed he has the antidote to cure Ebola. Now we have Ebola patients in Ghana, not Liberia. This is an occasion for great celebration for the prophet to apply his antidote for Ebol ...

• pkirks 9 years ago

What at all do nigeriand want from us. Can't they stay at their own place and I guess the immigration is not doing well their jobs, if not to continue to rake bribes from Nigerians and risk the lives of Ghanaians. Seriously G ...

• Lagos Boy 9 years ago

you are wrong, PLS come to the street of Lagos and Abuja to see countless Ghanaian. Pls don't go further or !!!!!

• MOHAMMED LUKEMAN 9 years ago

The space here is freeee so idiots like pkirks can exhibit their ignorance and intellectual deficiency to castigate others and moreso Nigerians who are largely benevolence to Ghanaians. Between Nigerians and Ghanaians which o ...

• Factually Reliable 9 years ago

419, learn sense before you comment. Kwasia, if a nigeria establishes a company here in Ghana, you think it is the good of Ghana or he wants to make profit. All the nigeria companies in Ghana are father christmas. The most co ...

Insults has become the trademark of all Ghanaians, the average Ghanaian is bereft of any intelligemt contributions to topic that bothers on ideas hense the resoet to insults. Factually Reliable, go back and read your piece an ...

• Adobah () 9 years ago

Mr. Lukeman seems to lack knowledge in history or perhaps too young to know what Ghanaians went through whilst in Nigeria during those hunger days he mentioned. In this view I will like to render a little education for Mr. Lu ...

Aboabah, pls. Google "Eko Atlantic City" and see how far behind Ghana has lost grounds on both human and physical development in the 21st century. Ghanaians should stop the daily empty rhetorics and work hard to catch up with ...

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

Eko Atlantic City is a vision not a reality

Yes, it is the nature of Ghanaians never to appreciate what others are getting right and doing better than them. Any wonder why smaller economies like Uganda, Angola, Sudan, Kenya etc. all have Forbes rated billionaires and G ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Nigeria's economy is large simply because there are tens of millions of people living there. On the other hand, the average Nigerian is unproductive, hence Nigeria is stuck at $413 per capita income. Do you understand that? M ...

I guess you are not suggesting almost 200 million Nigerians prefer they live in Ghana because of your UN Human Development Index you picked from dead internet reports which have not been updated for years. Ghanaians generally ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Rubbish. What is the logic, nor the point this Yaw, O level economics graduate talking about

• Yaw 9 years ago

Just Google Human Development Index developed by United Nations (impartial organization) and see where all Nigerians rank versus Ghanaians rather than citing one project in Nigeria and using that as the yardstick for measurin ...

UN Human development index ranks Ghana higher than Nigeria and you still go cup in hand begging for aids and assistance to balance your budget,? Shameful of Ghanaians to still remain a begger nation after 58 years of independ ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

There are reasons why Nigerian businesses are trooping to Ghana to do business. Corruption is rampant, Cost of doing business is very high, Ghana abounds in human resources necessary for growing businesses and Ghana is better ...

Its no longer neccessary to continue discussing anything with you based on your shallow knowledge about current events about Nigeria in particular. Nigerian businesses are expanding abroad not only in Ghana because of their v ...

Google rather, "Nigerian space program" and not "Aeronautic Programme"

• Yaw 9 years ago

It is needless to Google one phantasmic planned project. That project in no way can be used as a yardstick for any meaningful discussion on the levels of development. The average Nigerian is about 4 times poorer than the aver ...

Your brain is totally skewed in flaunting UN Human Development Index when an average Ghanaian is impoverished and living under very poor conditions that cut accros the lenght and breath of the country. Ghana was just listed a ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

You have advertised your ignorance and intolerance of the world around you by your Nigeria bashing. You have the logic of a barbarian.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Would any of the agencies of government with jurisdiction over travel an relocation in Ghana know where the patient has been over the past 60 days? On the other hand ask any idiot in any government office including parliame ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

It seems Nigerians are now more professional than Ghanaians...It used to be the other way round.

• ATOPA PRESIDENT 9 years ago

MAHAMAH IS A JOKER EBOLA IS ALREADY IN GHANA DON'T LISTEN TO THIS PRESIDENT AND HIS NDC PROPAGANDA.THIS ADMINISTRATION SHOULDN'T TURN EBOLA CASES INTO POLITICS AS THEY NORMALLY DO THEIR THINGS.BECAUSE EBOLA DOES NOT KNOW A CO ...

• Baba 9 years ago

You are that fool who is collapsing this country because you cannot say any sensible thing.

• ATOPA PRESIDENT 9 years ago

AND WHAT SENSIBLE COMMENTS HAVE YOU CONTRIBUTED APART FROM INSULTING.THE MAN IS USELESS AND CLUELESS.HOW CAN I COLLAPSE THE COUNTRY,AS AM I IN MAHAMAH'S ADMINISTRATION?.HE MUST STOP SHOWING HIS PENIS TO EVERY WOMAN AND GIVING ...

• Coconuthead 9 years ago

Why do ingrates like you ever occupy space on this earth? I am sorry but this sort of rubbish comes only from scully wags that lack little grain matter under their skulls.

• PREKESE 9 years ago

HAHAHA,YOU HAVE A COCONUTHEAD SO THERE IS NO NEED OF WASTING MY TIME ON YOU BECAUSE YOU HEAD IS FULL OF LIQUID{WATER}.

• National Patapaa Party 9 years ago

Typical ghanaian doctors, they only know how to run away or go on strikes, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL INDEED AND SHAMEFUL ON TOP!

• Dr Jay 9 years ago

I'm sorry they did run away because we doctors and other healthcare workers do not work in a vacuum.

WE NEED TOOLS TO ISOLATE AND CARE FOR SUCH DEADLY HEMORRHAGIC CASES.
    Unfortunately the tools are not here or there.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

PLEASE!! My friend is no longer dating our Neighbor’s Daughter called BOLA, even if She had Changed name to TOLA, as far as the “OLA” is still there, IT IS OVER BETWEEN HIM AND HER!!..abeg who knows..(His Heart dey vaca ...

• Baba 9 years ago

If Ebola comes to Ghana, 70% of the population will go. Why??? We are not healthy at all.... Our doctors to are money seekers not health workers.

• Kpengson Ray 9 years ago

Doctors and nurses flee from a possible Ebola case? Then we are doomed as a nation!

• dead 9 years ago

wake up ghana if it true that a doctor or a nurse is running away from the problem what does it got to do with president.we have long way to go ghana we are full of cowards

• Kane 9 years ago

How?

• ebo 9 years ago

Liberia’s Largest Newspaper: Ebola Manufactured By US And Western Pharmaceutical Companies

• Psk 9 years ago

Got any links for that please?

• Fuseini 9 years ago

Let Mahama go & live in Nigeria

• Dr Kankam USA 9 years ago

How many professionals are in the field investigating the case. Ghanaians are jokers. You have to stop boasting because you don't know a thing.

• ebo 9 years ago

: Ebola Manufactured By US And Western Pharmaceutical Companies

Sat, September 13, 2014

*FRONT PAGE ARTICLE EXPOSES THE FACTS ABOUT THE EBOLA OUTBREAK IGNORED BY WESTERN MAINSTREAM MEDIA

*LIBERIAN SCIENTIST CAL ...

• bo 9 years ago

afriko

• fuck G. 9 years ago

Ghana is hell.Amen You will all die of this ebola.It is in Ghana.So kiss your ass goodbye,and enjoy it befoe it is too late.Run Run RUN.

• Tetteh Klokpe 9 years ago

So our doctors have been going on strike for allowances for no work done? How will they call themselves now? Hmmm God is watching.

• Boss 9 years ago

Please close all our boarders for God´s sake

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Just weeks ago, one of the top ranking officers in the Ghana Medical service was boasting about how Ghana had facilities well-equipped to handle the ebola crisis. One can only laugh. How does a country that can't handle simpl ...

• sweden boy 9 years ago

HOW COULD YOU ALLOW BOARDS TO OPEN FREE FOR EBOLA PEOPLE TO ENTER THE COUNTRY.

• One -to-One 9 years ago

Very sad.Very sad.The Ghana government has had sufficient time to put in place facilities to be able to safely manage these patients. Mahama's government appears to be asleep at the wheel.

• Connie 9 years ago

With people like this in the healthcare, Ghana will be in trouble if ebola strike the nation. The disease will spread like a raging wildfire.

• Steve 9 years ago

Ebola outbreak in Ghana will see the end of mahama presidency

• Gracia 9 years ago

Since okudjeto ablakwa knows everything from irrigation, airport construction, basic and tertiary education, I believe he knows a lot also about Ebola management. He should get ready when the doctors leave the health faciliti ...

• ummi Danlami 9 years ago

it's not Ebola its ULCER since you can't even detect people sickness u can not differentiate between Ebola and ULCER,who ever post this shit by GOD grace very soon you shall be the one who is goin' to be affected by Ebola.kee ...

• Ewe nation 9 years ago

Just release these sick ebola patients into ashanti areas.That will help Ghana alot and Ewes,Gas and Dagombas will be very grateful.The fewer ashantis we have,the better.

• Dodzi 9 years ago

Shame on you for your criminal comments. We are investigating your real identity. Your name will be released sooner than later

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

I had thought Ghana said they were ready to tackle Ebola! Now that a suspected case is around, they STAFF is competing in 100m. dash!!!
    What NONSENSE is that ??

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAAMAYOU ATE INCOMPETENT CLUELESS USELESS STEP DOWN

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA is a thief

• Boama 9 years ago

Sorry, it will not happen by the grace of God.

• Hafsat idris 9 years ago

But its no true,the patient doesnt have ebola, he should be re-examined, he is just an ulcer patient, if he had ebola people he leaves with also have ebola........the doctor is just an incompitent fool who needs to go back to ...

• Suspect Guy 9 years ago

Thanks Hafsat the final result has just come out and rhe find nothing relating my dieases with ebola case.

• Hafsat idris 9 years ago

Alhamdulillah, Im glad, but i dont think that doctor should nve left like that free,your parents should press charges against him,ku shiga court kawaii!!!

• Becky 9 years ago

Oh God help ebola will never come to Ghana .

• marshallito 9 years ago

the doctors love thier life ok

• scientist 9 years ago

Ebola is in Ghana, they just don't want to admit for fear of the economic consequences. Sad that economics trumps saving lives.

• Gabbie stone 9 years ago

Ebola in Ghana is no surprise but the suspect being a Nigeria must been sent, i don't believe this our political leaders they might have been paid for it or they all ready know about it...