You are here: HomeNews2014 09 10Article 325230

New Airline won’t fail – Mahama tells critics

Read Comments Comments (104)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

CAN ANYTHING GOOD COME FROM THIS PAD, AKONFEM MAHAMA?

• KD 9 years ago

Please stop and rather think of the railway.

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

Tamale International Airport and New Airlines for Ghana, making impossible possibe but with the single idea of getting money for the 2015 presidential campaign. NDC as usual will of course start the projects, steal money from ...

• AMA 9 years ago

So did K4 steal from all his projects? Hmmmm - food for thought.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Let me remind all the NPP members the argument Nana Akufo-Addo made at the party’s Congress in Sunyani in 1998 in his opposition to giving candidate John Agyekum Kufuor the second chance after losing to Rawlings in 1996. He ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

WILL IT GO PUBLIC FOR OTHERS TO INVEST IN IT ALSO? AFTERALL, MOST NATIONAL AIRLINES HAVE GONE PUBLIC

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

I am not sure why the focus on a national airline when we need to build/revamp our infrastructure? I agree with KD that we need to build our roads and have a good railway system (among other things) in place before we try to ...

• Blame the Honorables. 9 years ago

According to the president, Ghana cannot afford to lose out on the “booming aviation business."
    This is not true Mr. President as Malaysia Airlines is losing billions of dollars, and that's is a reputable airline granted t ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

In agree with you bro'. It is incomprehensible that Mahama wants to introduce an airline in this country during these trying times when the average Ghanaian cannot even afford to take tro-tro or taxi.

Another of his strang ...

• Abena 9 years ago

You have thrown more clarification on the matter. Go ahead and deliver! Ghana is praying for you

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Mahama is just trying, like most African leaders, to spend money on useless ventures so that they would say he started again the national air line. African leaders don't get their priorities right and that is why we are alway ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

You hammered the nail right on. A priority should be on our railways, not a national airline. This is bound to fail.
    Government Officials, their family and mistresses will fly for free as usual. Doomed! Doomed!!

• Boateng 9 years ago

If it is a private venture with Government interest then why not? I will like to fly into Tamale from here than fly into crowded Accra! That will give many travellers another option.

Railawy travel in Ghana is also ver ...

• Gerald 9 years ago

Huge investments made into BLACK STAR LINE and GHANA AIRWAYSbut both became white elephants and huge losses to the nation. Only the top managements of both enterprises benefited greatly.

I don't think anything has changed ...

• MOI 9 years ago

ABOA BBC NEWS.

• Concerned 9 years ago

Anything this Mahama touches turns to rust.

• QUEEN 9 years ago

I AM SURPRISED HE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AWARE THAT GHANAIANS "FEAR" MAHAMA HIMSELF. HE IS A CROOK.

• Sam 9 years ago

NDC is full of imbeciles

• Samtakut 9 years ago

Please get away from there you stupid Atuguba cum Afari Gyan president.Your days are numbered. Foolish man

• KENKEY BOY 9 years ago

EVERYTHING MAHAMA TOUCHES IS DELIBRATELY MADE TO FAIL BY HIS OWN MEN. AO GHANA ...

• iPad 9 years ago

If this new airline goes ahead, the managers must come from major blue chip companies abroad who are Ghanaians.
    The only way to make it successful.
    And all Government personnels must fully pay for all types of fares and cab ...

• Mends. The Lone Ranger. 9 years ago

Did u watch Horrace yesterday? Diasporians indeed. Disgraceful NDC.

• ama 9 years ago

running a government is not a business venture. empower private sector. You will fail. Nkrumah did and look at the end. Learn from USA, UK how their government is be run.

• BRETUOBA 9 years ago

IF YOU RECRUIT A GHANIAN FROM ICE LAND ON AIR LINE IT WILL STILL BE HOTTER THAN SAHARA THE SAME AS FOOTBALL LOOTING LOOK AT AKWASI APPIAH THE MAN LOOKS LIKE A THIEF AND HE IS A THIEF.

• Agyeman. 9 years ago

The new airline won't fail.Kenyans,EthiopiansSouth Africans and even Rwanda are running big successful and growing airlines.Why can't Ghana do the same if we put disciplne,focus and diligence into it.

• Efo 9 years ago

I can bet is white Elephant at end of the day. Politrick!!!! how is this airport going to impact on Ghana economy. Living in dream land.

• The Vice President 9 years ago

After all the time after independence we stil have epidemics of cholera shit comtaminating our food and drinking water. Why think of national airline when most Ghanaians have no running water and private places to shit

• Nana 9 years ago

Very cheap project. Ghanaians are hungry and angry wai, Mahama

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

Build our roads, revamp the railway system, give us light and stop this unrealistic Air Business. Even big and reliable air lines have folded up world wide, why then do you put your money in a business you know can't stan th ...

• Ship Dealer 9 years ago

Mahama we know that you wonts to build
    Airlines for your brother to run Airline business
    Be'cs he have one Aeroplane , how can you do
    That to Ghanaians ..this is real Mafia business
    Stop that it will help you.

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF. AT THE END OF THE DAY THE AIRLINES WILL BE FOR MAHAMA AND HIS BROTHER, MARK MY WORD PERIOD

• akua 9 years ago

Dejevu!

• TEE 9 years ago

AT THE END EVERYTHING WILL BE A FAMILY BUSINESS. RAWLINGS HAS. DONE IT, KUFFOUR HAS DONE AND MAHAMA IS DIOING IT AND WE HAVE NOBODY TO STOP THEM PERIOD

• Paa K 9 years ago

They need an airplane as well

• Djake Koku Salif 9 years ago

Is there anything this NDC and Mahama handled well? Ass hole like who is good for nothing and getting everything wrong.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Any doubt who is pushing this venture? The same private Ibrahim Mahama who hires planes to the NDC government; the same Mahama who hires a plane at a cost of $1.5 million to airlift $3 million cash.

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

This is a common sense application. Why have bent on negativity instead of pursuing research that brings freedom to the people.

Professor Adei Mensa did you hear the president's explanation?

Search within you: are you ...

• Kai 9 years ago

thinkers? read the article again, and at least get the names right! once you are done, i hope you are able to pull your head out of your a@*

• Koo Emma 9 years ago

How could be tamale to be international airport MaHamah you fail aready like guinea fowl.

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

Fake news

• Koo Emma 9 years ago

How could creat Tamale to be international airport, you fail like guinea fowl waist Ghanaian tax money , dead idears

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

They are going to sell this airline like the way they did to Ghana airways

• papyrito USA 9 years ago

How stupid you are, look hundsome Mahama has destroy Ghanaian economy. This means your part of the STUPID and foolish Ghanaians who vote based on hundsome of contestants, please be a wise voter and not a foolish voter okay.

• Tweaaa 9 years ago

Government is not a business entity.
    Tema oil refinery and others, Anything the govrenment touches fail

• Agyarko-Appea 9 years ago

Just think in respect of priorities, roads, railways and airline, with our limited resources which one needs immediate attention. Which of these will serve more people and benefit the economy. If we have to invest in transpor ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

I beleive he says, it is of the Private Sector. If the Private Sector will be inerested in investing in Rail Travel, that will realy help. Let us encourage the Private sector wherever they want to invest their money.

• fiili fiili.. 9 years ago

THIS SAME JOHN MAHAMA HAS CAUSED GHANA HUGE LOSSES THRO SADA, GYEEDA, SUBAH, FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, STX DEALS, ETC ETC AND YET HE CONTINUES TO DUPE GHANAIANS BCOS GHANAIANS ARE SO STUPID AND FOOLISH AND TOLERANT OF CRIMINAL PO ...

• KABINBITH 9 years ago

TAMALE NEEDS AN AIRPORT AND NOT INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. WHICH AIRCRAFT WILL FLY FROM AMERICA, EUROPE, ASIA OR EVEN AFRICA TO TAMALE. HOW MANY PASSENGERS WILL FLY FROM ANY OF THESE PLACES TO TAMALE OR EVEN WITH GOODS. MAHAMA WA ...

• TK 9 years ago

Yes, we criticize because the President has failed on countless ocassions to delever. Name them he has visited region after region and promised our eminent Chieves one project or the other and yet No show. And what makes him ...

• Ntim Gyakari 9 years ago

We need jobs not a fraudulent airline. Why are you bent on destroying Ghana?

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Please consider the prohibitive insurance for airlines from developing nations.

• Fred 9 years ago

Another avenue to creat loot and share. Enough is enough. There are fundamental problems like filth and chorea, fuel shortages, rising cost of living, depreciation of the cdi, bad roads etc to address and not Airline. Lets se ...

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

Everything you have implemented ends up a failure yet you are too vocal on the political seen.
    Cant you keep quiet for a day ?
    Numbered days mahama !

• Adom 9 years ago

You always think negative for every program the NDC govt initiates b'cos it is not coming from you .But let me tell you guys that the NDC govt will prevail b'cos NDC is the choice of the silent majority of Ghanaians.

• Germany 9 years ago

Before an airline Ghana needs trains, toilets, water, good education and health care.

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

What gives you this confidence. What factors have improved in Ghana sine the last National Airline failed and was written off?

Learn from the teachings of philosophical thinkers who have written widely on what political ex ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Just for pride or just to make money for Ghana ?

• Kukuu 9 years ago

Opening the door for you to chop-chop Ghana again. OOOOOO hoooo president!!!!!

• Gbiel 9 years ago

It will be good to have a national airline but no more vouches or reserved seats for govt officials. Everyone should pay cash to board the airplane. That is it!

• ALREADY-FAILED 9 years ago

CORRUPTION WILL KILL IT

• CORRUPTION WILL KILL IT 9 years ago

DEAD ON ARRIVAL

• sasha 9 years ago

IMANI my ass,professor of nothing shame on u all. if the right policies are adhered to the airline will succeed.Ghana needs a national carrier. if kenya,south africa and others can do it.i remember in the days when managers a ...

• airline 9 years ago

STX-yenti3 obiaa.
    Collateralization of oil-yenti3 obiaa.
    New Airline-yenti3 obiaa.
    More loans-yenti3 obiaa.
    And with the yenti3 obiaa train on full steam the resultant create, loot and share rocket is orbiting in the milk ...

• JAYE MENDS 9 years ago

Please, Mr. President, the idea of a national airline is not economically good for our country. We are too corrupt and tooooo wicked. It is just going to be an avenue for some officials to dupe the nation. Please discard the ...

• PASCALE 9 years ago

FOOL

• Juliet 9 years ago

Pepeni mahama, there is nothing of yours that ever worked. You cannot establish an airline. This idea is too much for your small brain, even you cannot understand the fact that it cannot work. This is not an over ballooned cl ...

• KK 9 years ago

We are fedup with vain promises

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

Another empty promise from this crook.

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

THE RAILWAY SUGGESTION IS GREAT. PLEASE PROVIDE A GOOD RAILWAY NETWORK AS A PRIORITY ALSO TO BE OPERATED BY MAINLY PRIVATE COMPANY. THIS WILL BENEFIT US MORE.

• Cudjoe Amuashie, Tarkwa 9 years ago

this govt cannot organise a p**s up or drink up in a Brewery .

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 9 years ago

Is this Crook-thief President going to prison or not ? Does the constitution allow for presidential RECALL election ?
    How much loot,Dirt,bribery and corruption has to happen before enough is enough ? ARE THERE ANY MEN OF CON ...

• GBAGBLADZA 9 years ago

THE NPP PROF. WITH A QUESTIONABLE TITLE IS ONLY EXPRESSING HIS WISH. AS AN NPP MAN HE KNOWS WHAT THE SUCCESS OF THE AIRLINE MEANS TO HIS PARTY. A TOTAL DISGRACE AND A BAD REVELATION FOR THE PROPERTY OWNING PARTY, NPP, SO TH ...

• Anthony 9 years ago

When are we having good roads to link the cities and towns.At least food prices will be reduced.

• Ekow 9 years ago

Mr President convince Ghanaians to use it or the airline will be doomed from the start.All the routes you intend to fly will have intense competition and they will not sit down for you to take their market share.That is busi ...

• Ghanaian To The Core 9 years ago

Do you want to know how most Ghanaians, both high and low, great and small think? Just read this forum regularly and it will certainly give you a brief idea of how Ghanaians think. Cheers

• Ritewing 9 years ago

Kufuor and his NPP administration added to the net worth of the nation. They did not steal monies, neither did they dissipate resources. Else, Ghana would have then headed for an IMF bailout.
    The President will do well to f ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Akufo Addo will be disgrace n will die with it

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

I can smell a rat! Ibrahim Mahama.

• Ahmed Musah 9 years ago

I will surely be proud to fly from JFK to Ghana in an airline owned partly by Ghana. We cannot complain about how we are treated by other international airlines and yet refuse to give the idea of flying in our own airline a t ...

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

Tell me your friend and I will tell you your character, as the old adage goes. Who are our partners, we the taxpayers want to know.

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

Mahama is starting his own compny under the pretext of a national airline. He owns or will own the company himself

• Bonku 9 years ago

Go and learn from Ethiopian Airlines. It is owned by the government but it is run without political control

• QUEEN 9 years ago

I WILL NEVER FLY GHANA AIRLINES. THEY WILL STEAL THE MONEY FOR MAINTENANCE OF THE PLANE DANGLING IN SPACE. MY TRUST FOR MAHAMA AND HIS CRONIES IS .001%. TTTWWWEEEEAAAAA

• onipanua 9 years ago

Because you are a fool.

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

A FAILED STATE

• Agya Yaw 9 years ago

Kwasea, who will buy your airline tickets

• Ntiamoah 9 years ago

Pay the Ghana International passengers first Mr Mahama

• Kwaku Boateng 9 years ago

Aren't Mahama NDC government ashamed to talk about new airline while the Ghana Internationals passengers still remain unpaid?

• Opoku 9 years ago

We bought Ghana International tickets and we still haven't received our refunds so why is President Mahama thinking of bringing another "bogus" airline. I will buy another Ghana sponsored airline.

• Foley 9 years ago

Who will use the BOGUS airline? Notherners from Tamale, Yendi, Bolega and NDC people

• Mr White 9 years ago

If your NDC people are fools other Ghanaians are not.

• yendi boy 9 years ago

During 2012 election, my driver one "Alhassan" told me that Master"Nana wondi" that is Nana will not win. I asked him " aden ? he replied "nebre atwam"

• Edgar 9 years ago

We don't trust you

• Yaw Yeboah 9 years ago

The poor state of the economy & the daily hardships being faced by the people of Ghana should be the priority of this Govt. We have previously had a National Airline & it has not led to economic prosperity instead the State l ...

• Niibi 9 years ago

"the president stated when he cut sod for the expansion of the Tamale airport into an international standard, Tuesday"
    Even Accra Airport does not meet the standard of international airport compared to a tiny city's airp ...

• Travel Agent 9 years ago

My advice to all Ghanaians don't let the Mahama NDC government deceive you. Boycott the so called airline what ever name it is.

• Fosuhene 9 years ago

Mr Mahama, I still haven't been given my refund. Why do you think I will buy a ticket from an airline NDC government introduced

• onipanua 9 years ago

Imani and Prof Adei are armchair critics.I wish Mahama will give them jobs to perform for them to prove how best they can perform.The most profitable airline in the world is a state airline.Evereything Mahama does is bad for ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Prez Mahama is trying hard to leave some legacy. He is hoping the new airline will work for him.

• nokware 9 years ago

I hope Prof Adei will shut up his fucking beak.How many books has he written?In Ghana every donkey is a professor.

• Issifu, USA 9 years ago

Suhum-Nsawam road is a disgrace that needs to be fixed!

• Otsibu Darko 9 years ago

The Ghana shipping line Black Star was profitable- yet that stupid power hungry fool of a jj rawlings sold it and kept the money- simply because the employees went on strike demanding that a certain percantage of their wages ...

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

THEY'RE FORMING A NEW AIRLINE TO CATER FOR THEIR FREE RIDES OBSESSION.

THE CEO OF THAT AIRLINE WILL USE THE NEW AIRLINE LIKE HIS PERSONAL PROPERTY.

GHANA AIRWAYS STAFF USED THE AIRLINE LIKE THEIR PERSONAL PROPERTY, WHIL ...