You are here: HomeNews2014 09 09Article 325040

Odoi-Sykes warns Govt: Prepare to pay the price for IMF bailout

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Komla 9 years ago

They know nothing and will not listen. Don't waste your breathe on Mahama, Tekper, Wampah, Ni Thompson. But do you want them ever to win any election in Ghana again?

• NDC IS A CURSE 9 years ago

WHERE IS THE THREE BILLION DOLLARS LOAN FROM CHINA?GHANAIAN MUST STAND UP AND RESIST THIS EVIL DEAL BY MAHAMA OO!

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The Chinese has given Ghana just 600 million but we are paying interest on the three billion. Make sense and the Chinese are making more demands everyday about that loan. The opposition warned NDC but did not listen. Right ...

• HH 9 years ago

THEN LET MAHAMA TO PAY HIS

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 9 years ago

NPP imposed a miserable economic policy during its 8yrs rule which had porous foundation.

• Factually Reliable 9 years ago

Such minds i will like to lead a parties or hide behind the scenes give constructive criticisms. Oluuu you have earn my respect papa paa not the other desperado.

• abi 9 years ago

He needs to explain to Ghanaians how the IMF bailout will make them suffer. What are the consequences and the impact of the bailout on Ghanaians? We are yet to know the terms and conditions of the bailout and see how it will ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

It is the JSS adults who will not know the consequences. Ghanaians have dealt with IMF many times and each time, the ordinary Ghanaian suffers. Ask Papa Jerry. Name one country IMF bailed out that the conditions of the people ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

If you did not live through JJ's era then you have no idea what the bail out will do our fragile economy. There is going to be more unemployment, depreciation of the local currency and the IMF will dictates what to do and wha ...

• Abena 9 years ago

The suffering is that IMF will prescribe how to invest whatever it has given and most often than not such prescriptions do not address our most pressing needs. It rather at the end of the day put us in a position where we hav ...

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Mahama's NDC government has no choice than to go the IMF way.
    They have screwed the nations economy and now the hope for them is to seek the IMF help. They have had to swallow their pride. Now Ghanaians have to suffer their ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

This is the type of person we want to see in our life. You are really a Papa, having your country Ghana at heart may you live long to see how God will Turn things around for Ghana. Continue to add your voice to every decision ...

• NBTT 9 years ago

WHY GHANA IS IN GRAVE DANGER
    Confessions of an Economic Hit Man is a book written by John Perkins and published in 2004. It provides Perkins' account of his career with consulting firm Chas. T. Main in Boston. Before employ ...

• ADWEN 9 years ago

NBTT, our politicians don't read after the acquire their degrees. After their graduation they feel they know everything although they lack experience and exposure.
    Because they have no ideas about these tactics being practic ...

• Foster 9 years ago

Africans are so illiterate.

• Hoho 9 years ago

These two parties are both in bed with the eu and america.
    We need a new party in Gh for real like yesterday.

• Simba 9 years ago

Until we practice this,we are getting no where fast.
    I pity the children because they have very daft adults for leaders and guides.

• H. Tawiah 9 years ago

Running a country is not all about winning elections. Sometimes, we must swallow the bitter pill for a better tomorrow.

We should not blame all our problems on President Mahama or the NDC. Our collective actions over t ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

They are all corrupt. Does Papa Jerry too not portray himself as a saint? Is he? Does he not always preach against corruption? If you mention Kuffour, mention Papa J too because he also grabbed with both hands.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Remember that the IMF does not bow to the borrower's demand. They are going to dictate to us and that is where the problem lies. There is nothing like "swallowing a bitter pill for a better tomorrow under IMF". Did you live ...

• AbasZ 9 years ago

Tawiah wo ye kwasea pii.

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

When are we ever going to learn?????
    What has Kwesi Botchwey got to offer us? Apart from accepting every degrading proposals put to us by the IMF......OH! OSAGYEFO! YOU TOLD US SO!!!

Osagyefo warned against dependence on ...

• Simba 9 years ago

Don't waste your time.
    They enjoy serving and have low self esteem.

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

Simba, I don't know why........ but, it hurts me to know that we just don't seem to get it!

How long are we going to remain in mental enslavement and bondage?
    I blame our brainwash education system in place now. It offers ...

• Asantehene 9 years ago

Why are npp pipo afraid of any attempts being made by JM to solve the economic problems? What this man says any kg boy can say. its a diversionary tactics. We prefer to suffer today and gain moro. in any case what is his prob ...

• KENKEY BOY 9 years ago

You, so-called Asantehene, I think that you are a young man, and did not see how Ghanaians suffered under Acheampong, Rawlings, and Kufour under this IMF policies. The problem is, we are always suffering, thinking that things ...

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• EFO 9 years ago

PREACH UNITY IN NPP AND STOP ADVISING THE THIEVES

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

I HAVE JUST PAID OVER GHc60,000.00 IMPORT DUTY TO GHANA CUSTOMS TO CLEAR MY VEHICLE FROM TEMA PORT.

ADDITIONALLY, I HAD PAID GHc30,000.00 TO CLEAR MY PERSONAL EFFECTS SEPARATELY TO GHANA CUSTOMS.

DRIVING AROUND ACCRA A ...

• M.D 9 years ago

Hon ODoi-Sykes, we beg u, we NDC, party use Ghana money to buy cars, motor-bikes, etc. for chiefs, actors. we know that we will loose 2016 elections. but allow us to chop, chop.

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

I see some of these statements and advices as very feeble as their source.If for political expediency and winning elections a gov't should not take actions that will in the long run benefit the masses? Then what next?. We see ...

• Balderash 9 years ago

???

• ABLETSI 9 years ago

ODOI SYKES, YOU DO NOT WANT NPP TO WIN POWER? IT APPEARS YOU DO NOT WANT NDC TO LOSE POWER IN 2016. ARE YOU NOT A FOUNDING MEMBER OF THE NPP?

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

THESE ARE THE WORDS OF WISDOM DISTILLED FROM EXPERIENCE. LISTEN OR BE DAMNED.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Thanks Hon. Odour Sykes for putting it bluntly to the clueless John Mahama and his NDC gov't. The fact is that the economic mess Ghanaians are going through is because of election fraud. The NDC stole the ballot with the hel ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

If you are sick and the bitter pills or injections will prevent you from going to see a physician then you will have to stay home and die. This what the old NPP man is telling the present Gov't. Meanwhile another leading memb ...

• Ebo Africaba 9 years ago

People of Ghana, if you have not read "Confessions of an Economic Hitman" now is the time to read that book. There is a saying in white America that says "if you want to hide something from a black person, just put it in a b ...