You are here: HomeNews2014 09 08Article 324892

Univ. Graduates writing bad English in job letters, CVs - HR Expert

Read Comments Comments (51)

• CHA 9 years ago

This is a shame- this country is now a failure - NDC must go

• KAY 9 years ago

Many of the University Graduates are Engineers, Biochemists, Science Major graduates and Statisticians so don't expect them to be as good as graduates in Law, Govt, English and Economists!
    That's not to say Text Jargons are ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Do you know that the Engineers, Biochemists and Science Major students are just "Chew and Pour professionals?" They know next to nothing practically.

• Man no be God 9 years ago

What do you expect, garbage in garbage out, they say is a reality not a joke.

• Osabarima 9 years ago

Wrong photograph, Ghanaweb. That is not Dr. Esi Ansah in the picture you have by the article.

• dick 9 years ago

why are all comments are silly? Is english a ghanaian language? we must first consider our own languages first before accepting foolish languages from bush white dogs...remove english from the system and encourage ghanaian la ...

• Danny, London 9 years ago

Eh Dick. You surely have a huge problem. English is a Ghanaian language now and whether you like it or not this situation will remain so for the foreseeable future.

It is people like you hence Africa is falling behind coun ...

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

i all university graduates should be able to write simple CV/covering letter.
    the universities should teach them how to write a presentable cv. Since English is not our primary language, we must do lots of reading to get the ...

• Civil Servants 9 years ago

Kay: You are wrong; you obviously do not speak to lawyers in the country. Some prospective lawyers do not speak English well at all. Mangling of the English language is a problem in the whole country. Besides, I do not th ...

• Koe Tawiah 9 years ago

What a very narrow perception by Kay. Being an Engineer or a statistician or a chemist does not mean that one cannot read or write do English. One of the entry requirements for 6th form and into University is at least a pass ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Do you live on Mars? How long have you been away from Ghana? Ofiri Djato has destroyed Ghana's education completely, and yet you have some people who are supposed to be University Educated Professionals who got their educatio ...

• GHANAian 9 years ago

GRADUCATES WRITING BAD ENGLISH??!! YEWO ASEM BO NO POW.!! GHANA GET PROBLEM OOO

• Danny, London 9 years ago

What are you talking about Mr KAY. Your contribution does not make sense. A graduate should and must be so. Whether he or she is an Economist or Engineering graduate.

It is only in Africa you can be so subjective like you ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

There are so many "uneducated" graduates that I fear that in the near future Ghana could "collapse" -- we are seeing the results of JJ's JSS/SSS system now, and in about twenty years or so those who went through that educatio ...

• VAN 9 years ago

Hmmm, I am into HR practice and I cannot agree any more with Prof. Social media is killing us. Do an advertisement in the papers and you will receive over thousand applications. Sometimes you find a carpenter applying for the ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

95% of usa man and women don't know how to write and /or spell that does not change the fact that the usa is the most powerfull country on planet earth

• Yaa Adoma 9 years ago

We're talking varsity graduates here,or you mean 95% US varsity grads can't read,write,or spell? Check your fact well before laying bear your ignorance.

• mensa 9 years ago

it is known facts that americans cant spell but yet they are very succssesfull

• Kwaapong 9 years ago

It's interesting how you zero in on a dubious "fact" to excuse your deficiency. There is no basis for comparison between American grads facility with written or spoken English to Ghanaian grads. So keep on dreaming.....

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

QUOTE: Dr Ansah said: “…We have university graduates we test as part of the recruitment process, and sometimes the English, the grammar, the tenses, subject-verb agreement” and “very basic” writing principles are wr ...

• SAM 9 years ago

BUT THE USA IS STILL THE MOST POWERFULL COUNTRY ON PLANET EARTH

• Tibaa 9 years ago

If you have an over-weaned grandma as Minister of Education, and with a propaganda cocoon in the name of Ablakwa as her deputy!!!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Writing bad English? It started from the transition to JSS. During an orientation program I attended in 1990, teachers were asked to mark as correct if instead of writing the word Cow, the student draws a Cow because he/she k ...

• mojingles 9 years ago

Even IMANI the den of so called policy experts and intellectuals struggles with composing a coherent policy statement or proposal....so what do you expect from young university graduates who went through an untried education ...

• TKD 9 years ago

AND they are not ready to get corrected.
    Just point out a mistake to them; you would be sad your mother brought you forth.
    Both girls and boys are so arrogant that you just attempt pointing out something improper to them an ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

"add ANOTHER MORE point"?

tweaaaa. ...and you dare to criticize with this silly statement?!

• Glo 9 years ago

This is true. Read the Daily Graphic and sometimes you will be disappointed with the quality of English.
    This is such a shame when it was not long ago when Ghanaians were among the best English speakers in countries that wer ...

• Yaa Adoma 9 years ago

You're 100% accurate Daily Graphic of today lacks the quality of the Daily Graphic once edited by Gyewu Kyem or Elizabeth Ohene

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The old system where one goes through that lengthy years of education was better till that devil came on and...

Five years of secondary education. Sixth form then to the Varsity was quite tedious but far far better than th ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

Employers are much more INTERESTED in the 'ability' to perform in the various professions; afterall, there are TEMPLATES to handle the requirement being sought by Dr Esi Ansah. The HR expert would always have her position 're ...

• Factually Reliable 9 years ago

Please stop being more catholic than the pope. Do we close accounts or manufacture using English. Spare us English and Grammar. Have you perfected even your local language not to talk of somebodies language. Such minds teachi ...

• Mami Dokono 9 years ago

Interesting point you make about english not being our mother tongue. So why didn't you write this is in Twi? Why are you writing this here with moderate english profiency? Do you realize that our primary language is english? ...

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

Mami, if the educated illiterates were smart enough to have recognized the sense in Factually Reliable's points raised, you would not be questioning him or her in another person's 'lingo' for a start......do get it?

Fast f ...

• dick 9 years ago

this is the only sensible comment made so far on the platform

• Amos 9 years ago

Teach the teacher!. The so-called lecturers themselves know nothing yet demand big pay .Strikes & boycotts is their stock in trade.

• Man no be God 9 years ago

How can one person teach over 500 students in a class or lecture hall and expect good result. Blame it on the system and no one else.

• Yaw Ben 9 years ago

I’m surprised that contributors on ghanaweb are courageous enough to make such comments on this subject. The quality of English they use themselves is VERY, VERY HORRIBLE!!! The English used by contributors on this website ...

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

you see we need people like you to be president and you are sitting there. you should be running for presidency. you are brilliant. we need minds like mine like you to curter the rot in our system. Its a pity now we live in a ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

'wetin' and 'I dey go come'? Most of students are not learning English. They are more likely learning esperando. Try telling them to learn proper English and they'll give you 'wetin?'. Now with texting and social media where ...

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

Whiles you are sitting all day long contemplating to employ someone, what you don't know is someone is assessing you too hoping to employ you. Anyway but whiles you are still thinking know that you do not have all day. the ti ...

• Yaw Ben 9 years ago

I’m surprised that contributors on ghanaweb are courageous enough to make such comments on this subject. The quality of English the use themselves is VERY, VERY HORRIBLE!!! The English used by contributors on this website s ...

• Yaw Ben 9 years ago

I mean the quality of English they use themselves...

• Mr. Never 9 years ago

Obviously, when few educated fools (the so-called PhDs') are ruling the country, what are you expecting from the next will be ruling class? A miracle? come-on, give your head a shake.
    These PhD's government cannot even re ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THE NATION SHOULD ATTRIBUTE THESE SERIOUS DEFICITS ON THE PROFESSORS AND LECTURERS WHO LECTURE AT THE HIGHER INSTITUTIONS IN THE COUNTRY.

WHY BLAME THE GRADUATES. THIS CLEARLY INDICATES THAT,POSITIONS AT THE UNIVEWRSITIE ...

• Quaye Laryea 9 years ago

Do they really write their examinations and their dissertations in the official English Language. So how do they manage to pass their accreditations for degrees and who are the examiners including the external assessors??. No ...

• Iesu Mo 9 years ago

very well! But what is the problem? Students await their parents and colleagues to get 'appor' leaked question papers. teachers also encourage their students to pass so they aid in accessing the leakages. Why should JHS form ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

"“You read university students’ work or applicants’ work and it’s text language… I mean they are sending you letters and ‘be’ is now ‘b’ ”, she revealed."
    ................................................. ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

"Internet has unfortunate consequences that include the use of a completely new language and spelling that have become known to many as "e-language" and e-texting" OR "electronic language" OR "electronic texting"."
    ......... ...

• Isaac 9 years ago

Don't go far, Madam. Look on your campus one of your "professors", who constantly refers to himself as a "scholar" and uses big words to compensate for his bad command over the English language. LLoyd Amoah. Go to his Facebo ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

At the present time, even high school graduates in neighbouring French speaking countries express themselves in English better than Ghanaian graduates. We are witnessing the results of Rawlings' indiscipline. That jackass has ...

• Yaw Cletus 9 years ago

The honorable lady aught to giving more opportunity to enlighten the Ghanaian populace....!!!!! Keep it up ma'am..