You are here: HomeNews2014 09 03Article 324132

Kofi Annan fights US$35b/yr food imports by Africa

Read Comments Comments (30)

• The mask 9 years ago

Ghana must start awarding Doctor of Medicine degrees to MBChB medical students who have performed the necessary research projects as is done in other MBChB awarding countries. This lack of foresight on the part of the Ghana M ...

• Apraku 9 years ago

Is Kofi Annan talking about awarding Doctors degrees here ? Thawart!

• champion 9 years ago

The mask; you indeed masked your brain this morning. your contribution is totally out of order and sense.
    His excellency Kofi Annan is a true patriot that must be celebrated over and over again. I salute you!! I can't imagi ...

• mensah 9 years ago

How do you wake up with "thwarts" like this,

• harrison 9 years ago

A great barrier against getting farming land. Our peasant cultivation system, farm machinery and inputs as well as extension officers to keep on advising our farmers on best practices and finally lack of enough educated youn ...

• Apraku 9 years ago

The various governments are not doing enough to channel these resources.We are still practicsing subsistence farming.Imaging that could be a reality, Africa will be the global food powerhouse exporters.

• Kantanka. HHS 9 years ago

But don't propagate GMO. We can't accommodate poverty and restriction on what we cultivate. Get control over the human race by giving them what they eat is hilarious

• ghanaman 9 years ago

It is a good thing such an illustrious son of the continent has drawn attention to this phenomenon which is so maddening and difficult to understand.

• Cyrus Luxemburg 9 years ago

Afrikans are lazy from their leaders to the least any nation that neglect famers is a dead nation look at ghana and subshara afrika TOTAL USELESS

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

Abusua Panin has spoken well for African farmers and their consumers. With due respect, a major addition I would like to add is that various governments in Africa should institute land reforms and empower landless farmers. ...

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

AFRICAN LEADERS LIKE KOFI ANNAN ONLY KNOWS HOW TO TALK. NO ACTION BY EXAMPLE.

WHO DOES ANNAN WANT TO GO INTO FARMING TO FEED HIM AND HIS RELATIVES IN GHANA?

KOFI ANNAN, STOP BEHAVING LIKE NKRUMAH, AND DZI WOFIE ASEM!

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 9 years ago

Dear Ghanamma:"Adu-me-ne wo-nso-so"...
    Got it ?

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

Common sense has it that DIVERSIFICATION to achieve SYNERGY or ECONOMIES OF SCALE for the good of mankind does not stop with professional or career pursuits as in the case of Kofi Annan.

TALK IS CHEAP!

Kofi has a lot to ...

• abongo cars 9 years ago

I don't believe you read the article properly. You really should retract your stupid illogical comment, try to behave like an educated Ghanaian and quit fooling around.

• ROY 9 years ago

IF YOU ARE AN AFRICAN, I PITY YOU OR WRITING "DZI WO FIE ASEM". IS A BLACK MAN CURSED BY THE SO-CALLED GOD TO PLAY A "SLAVE OR SERVANT" ROLE ON THIS EARTH?

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

Until our leaders change their attitude towards our local farmers and until dams are constructed for irrigating our farms,no wise guy should pump his capital into rain fed farming or agriculture.It's purely gambling.
    Bankrup ...

• me love ghana 9 years ago

over reliance of foreign currency is causing unceasing inflation in Africa.

• Elliot 9 years ago

He can also channel his money into agriculture in helping peasant farmers in his own way. At UN what kind of advice did he give to African leaders for food sustanability.

• KnYc (USMC) 9 years ago

Thank you, Elliot. I wanted to say the same think. After decade of been in the U.N what benefits did African benefits from it? Now in Ghana we import tooth pick from our own timber. What a useless leaders we have. I wanted to ...

• akyekyedie 9 years ago

Ps. Show little respect .Did you ever pay any attention when the distinguished Mr. Annan was at the UN.

• THE GENERAL 9 years ago

is in his own world!

• MAJOR 9 years ago

POLITICS, POLITICS MORN, NOON & NIGHT

• KWADWO 9 years ago

DR.KOFI ANNAN I AGREE WITH YOU 100%

• FRANK OPPONG 9 years ago

As Africans we must blame ourselves for this while .We have the capacity to feed ourselves and even export , it is painful to expend hard currency to import common rice.Kofi Annan, supposed to be a President of a nation but ...

• OH BLACKMAN . 9 years ago

BLACK MENTALITY DOESN'T PROVE ANYTHING BETTER THAN DESTRYING THINGS . POOR AFRICAN FARMERS DO WASTE MORE FOOD THAN USA . TONS OF FOOD DO GO WASTE AFTER THE SEASON .

• Mumuni 9 years ago

Most of the Lands in Ghana are been sold by the Chiefs for Building,we are
    not thinking of the next Generation
    how the are going to feed themselves.

• THE TRUTH IN UK 9 years ago

This asessment is, perhaps, an ideal theoretical observation which bears no or little impact on what actually happens in practice.
    What must be well taken into account is the fact that African governments including Ghana do ...

• Ghanaba Pa 9 years ago

Kofi, you and i know that Import deals are the colossal way African presidents make their money with their cronies whmo they award import the licenses. Kofi don't pretend you do not know why African Presidents import more tha ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 9 years ago

Right on, efo Kofi. All we need to do is emulate the support the U.S. gives its farmers, not to mention the EU, especially France!! Where are our policy makers? Do they know what those countries do for their farmers & fisherm ...

• alfa-alfa 9 years ago

YOUR EXCELLENCY MR. KOFI ANNAN, THANKS A MILLION. YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON THE HEAD. ALL THE SUCCESSIVE GOVERNMENTS AFTER OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH FOLLOWED SOME AMORPHOUS PRIORITIES, IF ANY AT ALL, THAT UNFORTUNELY HA ...