You are here: HomeNews2014 09 01Article 323753

Otumfuo: This year's WASSCE results "unacceptable"

Read Comments Comments (120)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MR. FIGURE-OUT----------------
    It is only in Ghana would such a dishonorably idiot be on the government pay roll. Professor Mill should be solely blamed for imposing those criminals on us. After Mills found Betty Mou ...

• Kofi Nti 9 years ago

What has happened to the Otumfuo Fund? WHERE IS THE 35 MILLION DOLLARS FROM THE WORLD BANK FOR THE POOR KIDS IN ASHANTI?

Where is the money from the sale of gold which the Asantehene has been doing all the time. Remember t ...

• KWASI AMOAH 9 years ago

Nana, you are perfectly right but we should also blame the mobile phone, WASSAP, Internet, texting etc.etc.
    OTUMFOUR, the knowledge as at today of a University graduate cannot match that of your 5th form standard.
    So you s ...

• HANSON 9 years ago

Offer exam preparation classes please

• ATWIMA KWAME 9 years ago

I can't phantom what the Otumfuor is expecting from a government with Mahama Ayariga and Okudzeto Ablakwa as Deputy Ministers oF Education. God knows that the two kids are not only useless but also highly corrupt as both of y ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Say it again, how in the world can we seriously as a country put Ministry of Education in the hands of Okudzeto Ablakwa and Mahama Ayariga? The proof is in the pudding, propagandists can't run a ministry as important as educa ...

• Leeeee 9 years ago

you guys never said anything when this stupid government led atta mills decided to change it from 4yrs to 3yrs. we are paying for it today. people should be bold to speak out in this country regardless of who is in power. Ass ...

• TEE 9 years ago

ASANTEHENE, WHO ARE YOU TALKING TO? NDC OR MAHAMA OR NPP???

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

They need to pay their taxes sir.

• Anonymous Coward 9 years ago

Ghana is a banana Republic.

• JOE FRANK 9 years ago

KWAKU DUA OTUMFO MUST DIRECT HIS QUESTIONS ABOUT THE EDUCATIONAL STANDARD IN THE COUNTRY STRAIGHT AWAY TO HIS OWN CORRUPT FRIEND MAHAMA.

• DHURUWAH 9 years ago

WHAT DOES THIS THIEF THIEF KNOW ABOUT EDUCATION?

• BOSS 9 years ago

I beg to ask Otumfour that which of the years results were acceptable? This is where people fail to be true role models. Actually you cannot single out this year alone for critism, there is a lot more to Ghana systems worst o ...

• M Shanunu 9 years ago

Standard or quality education demans time and resources,the blame should go to the teachers who leave classrooms on sick leaves only to found in private schools giving all their best to the students in those institutions,whe ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Who told you the people do not pay tax? What about VAT and the many who do selling by the roadside and markets? ask the various districts. Even when they pay the taxes, they end up in people's pockets.
    Concerning the abysmal ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

EVERYTHING GOES BAD IN MAHAMA AND NDC GOV, THEY ARE CEARSED TO GHANA.

• owusu 9 years ago

Nobody has the right to insult you but to tell you the truth because you sound like somebody who is shallow minded and can not think deep or does not understand or don't know what you are talking about.If you read it careful ...

• Mike 9 years ago

As an adage goes Gbor tokpo mexloranu viawo o.

Is the King also equally guilty? Asem beba dabi

• ENIBUE 9 years ago

KOFI KINDLY HIT THAT TOPIC AGAIN. THESE LEADERS/CHIEFS IN GHANA ARE PLAYING DOUBBLE STANDARD GAME. HOW ON EARTH CAN "DIEWUO"KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP GOVENMENT CAN BORROW USD35 MILLION FOR ONLY THE ASHANTI PEOPLE UNDER THE PRETEXT ...

• joojo 9 years ago

you were there when the 35 million was given to the king so why not press charges if the money is untraceable.you have evidence,as a concern citizen of Ghana seek the mercy of the law and take asantehene to court if not relax ...

• Nana Appiah 9 years ago

Who made This Ugly thief and a Drug dealer, Who was chased out of Toronto-Canada for his involvement in fraudulent activities like Credit Card frauds, Drugs dealing..The spokesman on education when he himself has non.. The Ba ...

• kojo 9 years ago

well spoken, Kofi

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

It is only Nana Akuffo Addo and his NPP
    Government that can help build our country and her education in this country.

Our education and many other democratic institutions can only be moved forward under NPP Government not ...

• Kejetia Nkomo 9 years ago

We are talking about falling of the future of our nation and you are still investing in political party. Ghanaians hate the truth. The entire educational system is gradually collapsing. Politicians are playing politics with i ...

• NANA OBUOBISA II 9 years ago

Check it out.
    What do we call politics and what do we
    not call politics?

• HANSON 9 years ago

Fire some body.

• Owusu Ansah 1 9 years ago

Just wait and see, when Nana Addo comes to power, you will be the first person to sing `Medofo Adadame... just mark my word.

• KICC 9 years ago

Double standard.Sgt Anani is evil.

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

we the parents shld go on strike against the bad teaching our kids go through. teachers springing any small chance to strike. now is our turn.

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

Nana,I can't hide my pride for your boldness. Continue in this light and you would be blessed by God.

• Kwame 9 years ago

The destruction of the Ghanaian education systems started with Rawlings after the introduction of the so called junior and senior secondary schools. I am a product of the pre- senior and junior secondary schools but still ve ...

• owusu 9 years ago

This system was there on try basis when the murderer(Rawlinds)took over but because of his dictatorship character he didn't seek advise from those who had the brains to advise him but rather choose to prosecute and kill some ...

• ENIBUE 9 years ago

I THINK THE ASHANTI REGION IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE POOR WAEC RESULTS B,COS "DIEWUO" NKAWIE JULOR KUFFOUR HAS BORROWED USD 35 MILLION FROM THE WORLD BANK IN THE NAME OF GHANA AND GAVE IT TO THE ASANTEHENE (OTUMFOUR EDUCATION F ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Thank you. Those were the days that schools were schools. I attended a school that even had laundry, water and electricity generating plant. Those were the days that learning was competitive. Everybody was afraid of the dread ...

• Adjei-Okoe 9 years ago

Let the Otumfuo have the audacity to tell it point blank to the face of Mahama whose gov't Otumfuo implicitly supports.

• Kofi K 9 years ago

God bless you Otumfuo! When something is bad politicians would search into archives and dig a worse one to compare! GES director and "deputy minster ablakwa" are no different and the one who appointed them does not care! To c ...

• Lucky 9 years ago

The Min. of Educ, National Security, Haruna and Co. should note that they are not punishing the Lecturers of Polytechnics by freezing their salaries, rather they are going to make case worse and we (students) will suffer. We ...

• Kojo Kodua 9 years ago

Otumfuo, Nana Asantehene, you seem to have forgotten the Bompata chieftaincy dispute case. As a result of this inaction on the part of your Asanteman Council, the town has been left without a queen mother for several years n ...

• Kojo Kodua 9 years ago

Otumfuo, Nana Asantehene, you seem to have forgotten the Bompata chieftaincy dispute case. As a result of this inaction on the part of your Asanteman Council, the town has been left without a queen mother for several years n ...

• princo 9 years ago

this is ridiculous.What has Chieftaincy dispute got to do with this shameful SHS results. After all what use is it keeping chiefs in the 21st century?

• Boubacar Tuggar 9 years ago

hey kodua, you are a stupid fool okay. What has this got to do with the current governments handling of education

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

A very wise man has talked. Even at this old age, He is seriously pondering and worrying over the future of the youth and the future of the whole Ghana.
    May God Bless you!

• DONBOLI 9 years ago

The chief thinks the children failed, but it not the children but their parents. Whatever a teacher teach without the help of parents the child cant pass.
    Why should children write Exams when the teachers know they will not ...

• Prosper Yao Agbeko-Tema 9 years ago

So tell the powers that be to see to the welfare of teachers and you will see good results. How ccan a teacher teach form months and years and decided to only reward that victim with a 3month salary yet you expect the results ...

• Awotwe Arthur 9 years ago

Exam review courses will help the students pass. They do it all over the world

• Benny 9 years ago

It is not paying teachers well that is the factor and contributing factor but this generation learners don't care for tomorrow. The characters, behavioural pattern must be addressed.

• Kwame Opare 9 years ago

Why is it always a problem for people to talk or debate on issues on this platform? There is an emotional blindness or sheer stupidity. The noble king is making sense whilst others just jump to blame. Oh! Ghana da b3n da?

• KK 9 years ago

Nana, you have done well in telling the story as it is. But, please don't end there, call on the president and his government to revert the school system back to four years as it used to be. The other time I heard the Akyemhe ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Everything JOn Mahama is bad, wrong and evil. How can we expect anything good from NPP. Just look at what is happening in sports. This year is the worse performance put up by our Black stars team in Brazil as well as our wome ...

• Raymond Suglo 9 years ago

The Asantehene is somebody I have grown to love and continue to love over the years since he became King. He has been very careful with what he says and does. He hardly comments on sensitive issues but when he does, he is rig ...

• nana asamoa 9 years ago

were are looking for right person like you.and good thinking for Ghana.you are number one.

• Warren 9 years ago

My King, but the Minister for Education defended it. She says is the best and every one was Silent.

• AMA 9 years ago

Too many people are trying to create confusion in our dear country and unfortunately, TOO MANY SUPPOSEDLY WISE PEOPLE ARE FALLING FOR THE LIES!!

• Ghanaianpoliticians 9 years ago

Listen, politicians, labour force and unions to the voice of reason. National interests must take prevalence over selfishness. That's what the king is counseling.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

An Addition, it does not make sense to pay able-bodied experienced 60-year old teachers to stay home while we employ some in-experienced young people as teachers unwilling to teach.

The Asatehene should stay on this educa ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Do you expect anything from people who spew and spray our office walls with GORO? I don't think only eating "Tuo Zafi" thogh i love TZ and Akple garbage will solve Ghana's problems.

• ABLETSI 9 years ago

NANA YOU HAVE WELL SPOKEN. I JUST WANT OKUDZETO ABLAKWAH TO COME OUT AND INSULT THE ASANTEHENE JUST LIKE HOW HE INSULTED NANA AKUFO ADDO ON THIS SAME SUBJECT.

OKUDZETO ABLAKWA HAVE THE GUT TO INSULT OTUMFUO AS WELL AND LE ...

• Maame Yaa 9 years ago

The government must see to the welfare of teachers for them to produce the best out them. It was the teacher who thought the nurse to have a proffession, ask yourself that how much does the nurse receive and that of the teach ...

• CONFUSED NDC GOV'T 9 years ago

`Government must pay the salaries of POTAG, else they will not teach us. It is very bad of Gov't to plan this after POtag have agreed to go back and teach.

• .MINNOR ISSUE 9 years ago

GHANA FUTURE IS IN DEEP TROUBLE OUR EDUCATION SYSTERM IS FAR FROM OVER . THERE'S NO WATER , ELECTRICITY AND FOOD TO STUDY AND SOON WE WILL HAVE ASIAN PRESIDENT BY THE NEXT 20 TO 30 YEARS .

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

Say it again Nana. It's a big shame as politics eats into our educational system. But the worst is the NDC govt trying to justify the results as 2nd best. How can 78% fail yet be deemed as 2nd best. Shame and a big one that.

• nangkuu sesew ease 9 years ago

OH MY KING YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON THE HEAD. LONG LIVE !!!!

• SAKAWA BOY 9 years ago

ATUGUBA is a corrupt judge

• BB Brown 9 years ago

Nana has spoken,yes politicians would have to stop using education as a tool, changes here and there thereby putting the whole structure into confusion. But in our educational road map politicians alone can not be blamed, nei ...

• Alex Boatang 9 years ago

Nana scored 100%,continue to tell the truth

• Good Pastor 9 years ago

If you expect good results, remove the twi fm radio station and let our English flow back into the mind of the people.

• Moo 9 years ago

The King has spoken his wise words, over to you mr minister

• Ologogi. Ologoso 9 years ago

It is only. The wise. Can read. Between the faded. Lines and see beyond the darkness

• Robin Hood 9 years ago

Well spoken Nana. But is that buckle-toothed Okudjeto Ablakwa listening to you? If square pegs are placed inside round holes Nana, what do you expect to be the result? And, to add insult to injury, Naana Jane Sam Opoku-Agyema ...

• Amega 9 years ago

Circuit supervisors don't work. They take bribes from teachers and do nothing . Check them. Supervision in public schools is weak.

• USMAN 9 years ago

This is how far that useless university professor has brought our education.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Nana, you're right! But Okudzeto Ablakwa and his NDC party say we have the best education system in Africa or probably the whole world. Hmmm! Otumfour 3y3 as3m o!

• Ken Boemah 9 years ago

The King is very correct. Something drsatic needs to be done. Can some one send me the President"s number or the education ministers

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Nana "mo ne kasa" you have said it all.
    Our children's future is at stake. This is not acceptable the way our leaders taking us as fools, and moreover, when they attempt to spin everything, and compares it to the past years ...

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 9 years ago

Every Region should man their own education system as in New York and the whole USA. The Okyinhene has stated that. I am an educator in New York and we should follow a similar system.

• CHOP ALAN MONEY FREE 9 years ago

OTUMFUO KASA DODO,TELL MAHAM,NDC TO FIX THE NATION ECONOMY,WOYOME,SADA,SUBAH AND CO,YOU AND MHAHAMA ARE WOMANIZERS,STOP BE AS IF,TWEAAAAAAAA

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 9 years ago

I think now the King is fed up,too much corruption,the Cedi depreciating like is a game,Teachers going on strike for non-payment of their research and book allowance and school children failing like they have no brains any mo ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

TELL JDM,SINKING,CORRUPT,COLLAPSING GHANA,YOU BETTER TO TELL MAHAMA NDC THE TRUTH,NONSES,

• Aba 9 years ago

Nana tell them in plain language..

Naana Opoku Agyeman failing

• KOKOLIKOKO 9 years ago

Good points made, Nana!

The performance in the educational sector of each of the two political parties that have ruled the country under the 4th Republic has been such a failure that the debate between them is not about a ...

• Defoe 9 years ago

What av u done for education to comment on WASCE result?Your scholarship fund how many people av benefited,u think we dont know?Stop wasting our ears for we know what you are doing and your time will come.You are the only otu ...

• Chelsea Rolland 9 years ago

U vote 4 ndc mahama otoumfou

• RON 9 years ago

I am extremely surprise not even a single marker of WAEC examinations in Ghana never commented on the fact that in most cases, the marking schemes actually requires that students who provide answers as provided in approved te ...

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• Kid 9 years ago

Wise king

• AGYAAKU 9 years ago

Why is it that everybody this year 2014, expects all WAEC candidates to have scored IQ of 75-100? Just as there extra TALL people (GIANTS) and extra SHORT(DWARFS) in any given population so also there are the various shades o ...

• sowa - stuttgart 9 years ago

I hope those corruption infested propaganda boys will not start jumping from one radio station to the other and insult also the intelligence of the great King.....

• Cash 9 years ago

It is nice to say the truth. Keep up with the good work.

• Array 9 years ago

Well said Nana. We need more leaders like you.

• GOODMANN 9 years ago

IS TOO TOO LATE FOR YOUR ADVICE, YOU DIE BEFORE YOUR KINGDOM

• adams 9 years ago

Is true that politicians are mingling education with politics , am shs graduate in 2013 where we wrote with the 4years student mean while we the 3 years student were not able to finished the syllabus. So we strive with our te ...

• Adelaide guy(Shanton) 9 years ago

Well spoken, you are a true leader, use your power to caution the minister of education to answer to all Ghanaian.

• Tom 9 years ago

The king has spoking and so be it.It's high time the politician learnt that taking the teacher for granted have the tendancy of endengering the very future of our belove country. only a few independent minded people like the ...

• Kwame yo 9 years ago

The king with wisdom has spoken, Nelson Mandela once said "If you fail to educate your children, your are open the doors for criminalities in your house as a father" Mother Ghana be careful your children could be worse than A ...

• Nana Kwaku Prempeh 9 years ago

He should really give us a break with his statement, when he set up an education fund just to have intimate relations with students and others of his likes. y'abre no

• Remove Indemnity Clause 9 years ago

Rawlings destroyed the education in Ghana when he abolished the common entrance.O and A'Levels.

• Esi Atta 9 years ago

Nana, you have said a good thing. Let's see how the morons respond.

• Kwame evans 9 years ago

Good

• AGEOGIA -VIRGINIA,USA 9 years ago

There is no wonder we had this results,because the NDC government and for that matter MAHAMA has low class people such as OKUJATO and the like in the education ministry,how can they come out with good policies in the educatio ...

• Kwame evans 9 years ago

Say it again. These selfish politician are greedy bastard .playing politics with education. Stealing our money for their family and let the masses suffer. They only think of what will be their pocket. Anyway they will send th ...

• Mohammed hardi 9 years ago

Parents and teachers also have their role to play in improving the standards of education and to our studendts examiners are complaining of the use of short form of words and this all due to the fact that our students spend m ...

• MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 9 years ago

Excellent commentary: The government must listen

• DRUMBEAT 9 years ago

They said quality and access, access never took off and is out of the window, and as for that quality thing, it is clear, it has been buried deep underneath the Agbogbloshie mountain of filth, but Ablakwa and Co. clearly can ...

• Kojo Kodua 9 years ago

• mr amin 9 years ago

we should seriously deal with the depreciation of the cedi its the course of all our problems. whe cedi lose value govt burdget also loses value so we cant achieve our target. we are the course of our woes
    why index import ...

• adam 9 years ago

facebook is working on their brains

• Nzema Kwasi 9 years ago

Without the education of our children we can kiss Ghana goodbye.

• OKOE 9 years ago

PERSONS EVERYWHERE, HAVE MADE ALL OUR INSTITUTIONS, PLACES TO MAKE MONEY AS BEING OF THEIR UTMOST PRIORITY. TEACHERS ARE GOING ON STRIKE IN ORDER TO BE PAID FOR RESEARCH THEY HAVE NOT DONE OR PRODUCED ANY REPORT ON. NO WONDER ...

• Education Watchman 9 years ago

The emphasis on education in Ghana now must be focused on Kindergarten to JSS where a student can be academically sound to tackle the SHS. The Anamoah Mensah educational report has detailed that and the current education mini ...

• Lawyer KD 9 years ago

BEWARE OF FRAUDSTERS & 419

You will be contacted by a team of fraudsters who will claim to know you, buy a car or any item you have for sale.
    One of them is in abroad usually UK etc who will send you some goods (luggage o ...

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

we aught to be bold enough and return to the 4 year system. This produces better results. Rawlings did the country a disservice by bringing in this JHS/SHS system. When he did this, he sent his children abroad to get educated ...

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

LET'S START GRADING TEACHERS WITH EXAM RESULTS. SOME CHILDREN ARE A MEDIOCRITY BUT MOST TEACHERS ARE MISERABLY ABYSSMAL.

• Ama Baduah 9 years ago

Despite what people say against Otumfour,he has been working in the national interest.I appreciate him.

• pancho 9 years ago

Please tell our stupid leaders to go back to a system that worked for them in their days which is the "O" and "A' level system.

• more games? 9 years ago

any nation which takes for granted its youth could be spelling its own doom.

• more games? 9 years ago

no weapon formed against me will prosper

• HAZOR 9 years ago

And Minister of education said 72% failed and 28% pass is the best result in the world.

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

WHY OTUMFUO? WHY ARE THE WASSCE RESULTS UNACCEPTABLE? I THOUGHT THE DEPUTY MINISTER FOR EDUCATION, MR. ABLAKWA SAID THIS IS THE SECOND BEST RESULTS IN THE PAST TEN YEARS AND HIS MINISTER AGREED WITH HIM. WHY ARE YOU DISAGREE ...

• Afenyo 9 years ago

Kudos educating our youth should not be compromised.

• nana kofi 9 years ago

DIRTY ASS OTUMFUO ALWAYS PLANNING TO SCAM THE ASHANTI AND GHANAIAN PEOPLE