You are here: HomeNews2014 08 31Article 323666

Ghana on a “corruption carousel” – Asantehene

Read Comments Comments (103)

• GHANABA 1 9 years ago

Kwaku Duah you sowed the seed so please shut up,
    Did you a hand in bribing the judges?

• GHANABA 1 9 years ago

Did you had a hand in bribing the judges ?

• salem 9 years ago

Corruption was minimised by Rawlings,and when K4 took over it got worse again and since then has stayed up till now.It not just now but it has been there ever since JJ stepped down.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

NDC WILL LIE AND EVEN LIE AGAINST THEMSELVES, TIS STRANGE. THE LIES THEY TOLD AND CONTINUE TO TELL IS UNRAVELLING AND MAKING THE NATION SINK BEFORE OUR VERY EYES AND THEY WILL NOT STOP LYING. LIES ARE NOTHINGNESS. DEPEND ON ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

Sulley Muntari CLINICALLY TREATED Ghana’s serious disease, CORRUPTION. He attacked corrupt NDC'S CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE BUSINESS! !!!--------

Below is what led to the brawl.

Sulley: WHAT IS THE USE OF SOO MANY G.F.A O ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

very true but nana why do you stop short of speaking the truth and saying its championed by mahama and his brothers . pepeni is a curse and a menace

• atta 9 years ago

Don't kid yourself, there was a lot of corruption during Rawlings time, such as the mabey & Johnson contracts and ET Mensah even though when he came into power he killed people for being corrupt. All the governments can't fig ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Jerry was no saint as some want us to believe. He was and is equally corrupt. If SOEs are sold to wife and cronies, what do you call it?
    Kuffour too was the same. Mahama is getting worse.

• Whatever 9 years ago

The stinking smelly corruption we witness under erstwhile Kufour administration has remarkably subsided under this administration and we should acknowledge. Hitherto, minister were looting state bungalows. Today that is not t ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Ewe NDC cowsoldier

• Mensah 9 years ago

Rawlings himself is corrput and a criminal. If he is not a thief, why did he give a State property to his wife for free. Even the criminal gang NDC was formed from Ghana's stolen money.

• JONA 9 years ago

FOOLS LEADING FOOLS WITH STUPID SAYING WE CAN NEVER GET TO WHERE WHITEMAN IS BECAUSE OF MASTER SLAVE MENTALITY OF ENSLAVING OUR OWN AND SELLING OUR OWN FOR PEANUT OF POCKET CHANGE WHICH OURSELVES, OUR CHILDREN CANNOT GO WITH ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

This is "a plethora of advice and a paucity of assistance". Corruption at State levels are "pepni born ayigbe's" delicacy and this fact must be bashed onto their faces for whatever redemption.

• GHANA MMA 9 years ago

THE DEATH PENALTY FOR OFFICIAL CORRUPTION IS THE ONLY SOLUTION.

CHINA IS KILLING POLITICIANS AND OTHERS OR PUTTING THEM BEHIND BARS FOR A LONG TIME, AND IT'S WORKING WONDERS IN THAT COUNTRY.

GHANA OR AFRICA HAVE A LOT T ...

• kuma 9 years ago

All Ghanaians are corrupt.We all take bribes and give bribes as well.NO single person takes the blame.We allshare the blame

• Koomson 9 years ago

OMG WHEN DID HE WAKE UP?

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Who says all Ghanaians are all corrupt? Not all Ghanaians are corrupt and those who hold such a view have simply given up fighting corruption in the country.Not only are Ghanaians corrupt but also lazy,unprpductive and ineffi ...

• Coach 9 years ago

Your correction has been corrected.

Did you have a hand in bribing the judges?

• Gyedabi 9 years ago

Just tell him it should be "have" instead of "had".

I tell you, english can be challenging. Have a pleasant sunday.

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

"DID YOU HAVE" NOT DID YOU HAD....YOU SEE, YOU ARE ALSO CORRUPT

• Mensah 9 years ago

Kwasea; correct your stupid illeterate self again. Nanka ba

• Madzia 9 years ago

TRUTH

• TIJANI 9 years ago

pls nana just talk your people. nana where is the money that Kofour helped you to use Ghana to secure World Bank loan

• TIJANI 9 years ago

Go away

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

IVE MET 3 ELDERLY CAUCASIAN PPL WHO TOLD ME GH WAS SO CORRUPT. THERE IS SIMPLY NO POINT DOING BUSINESS THERE. I COULDNT BELIEVE THESE PPL KNEW OW HORRIBLY CORRUPT THE NATION STATE GH HAD BECOME. A CAUCASIAN COUPLE IN NYC N A ...

• JONA 9 years ago

BUNCH OF THIEVES NO WONDER THEY ALIGN THEMSELVES WITH CHINA AND CHINESE TAKING EVERY DROP OF MINERALS OUT THE COUNTRY. SOUTH KOREA, SINGAPORE, MALAYSIA ALL ARE BETTER AND WAY AHEAD OF GHANA. GHANA AND AFRICA DOESN'T NEED AID ...

• agbesi 9 years ago

The Driver and the Mate are driving us in the wrong direction while the good people of Ghana are standing by and clapping in applause!The politicians have outsmarted every one;who can save Ghana Now before we tip over the e ...

• GM 9 years ago

Well spoken Nana. May you live long with all the blessings from above.

NANA, WELL DONE!!!!! ALL GHANAIANS AND THE WORLD KNOW ABOUT THIS, BUT DOES JOHN MAHAMA REALISE THIS. JOHN MAHAMA IS RULING WITH THE MOST CORRUPT GOVERNMENT GHANA HAS EVER SEEN, YET HE IS NOT BOTHERED IN THE LEAST ABOUT THE EF ...

• ben 9 years ago

why you vote for him?

• MAHALUMBA 9 years ago

Me se, YENTIE OBIAAAAAAAAA !!!

• mugu1 9 years ago

power struggle and political infighting is highest form of corruption,
    may our ancestors strike all those creating unnecessary hardship in Ghana and Africa for their poiltical gains in electric power.
    whilest the whiteman a ...

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• Omanhene 9 years ago

The sad thing is that you otumfo too is corrupt .With all the resource and the royalties that comes to your palace ,what have you done with that money.You used it for your personal comfort without thinking about your people . ...

• ABREKYIEBA ASHTOWN 9 years ago

NANA YOU ARE THE HEAD OF CORRUPT FAMILY.HAVE YOU FORGET WHAT YOU ARE DOING TO THE PEOPLE OF KUMAWU YOU AND THE SOO CALLED OHEMAA OF KUMAWU WANT TO SELL THE KUMAWU LAND AND NOW YOU HAVE THE AUDACITY TO TALK ABOUT CORRUPTION.AM ...

• Samba 9 years ago

Nana ooo Nana ooo will win.

• osei 9 years ago

May GOD forgive you nana.it was 2012 when you called Kumasi citizens they should register their plots and house s and within two months everyone will get papers back.[LEASE].IT IS almost two years now ,they have not hear noth ...

• BOBBY 9 years ago

NANA YOU HAVE TO ACCESSE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU MAKE ANY SPEACH,YOU ARE CORRUPT YOURSELF AND YOU ARE TALKING OF CORRUPTION,OH NANA

• Fiifi Miles Ghana International Victi 9 years ago

It intensified when Kuffour folded Ghana Airways and started Ghana International Airways. Both NPP & NDC are to be blamed. When Late Atta Mills also folded the Ghana International Airways, bank accounts should have been froze ...

• Sandra 9 years ago

Mr Newman will never find peace here on earth and hell. He is a liar, a wicked man and a thief. He never transferred any money to any of his sub-agents.

• Afia 9 years ago

I wish that Newman and his NDC people good luck in hell. That circle travel newman is the biggest liar in the whole Ghana International refund case. he lied when I phoned him and he knew he was lying. I saw her assistant and ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

Now look where the "YENTIE OBIAA" mantra has led us.

Everyone suddenly is coming out of the woodworks to complain.

Mensa Otabil was forth right in his criticism and he was villified by the NDC and was advised not to da ...

• Ashanti kingdom is more corrupt 9 years ago

Otumfo is a typically corrupt Asantehene l've ever seen and he should rather talk about his corrupt kingdom rather than saying there is corruption corruption!

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

Enforceable corruption criminal law is what is needed to stop decline in development and investor confidence.

Former Att-Gen Amidu principle should be enshrined to ensure independent enforcement of the law against corrupt ...

• Croydon burger 9 years ago

Can he account for the money he collected for all the leases first before lecturing us on corruption?

• Cash 9 years ago

Well spoken. You did hit the nail.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Right from Acheampong down to Mahama and all the chiefs and so called kings are all part of the PROBLEM. In between JJ came and he was corrupted. Whether it is land issues, ports issues, health issue, education issues, etc br ...

• jerry bustard 9 years ago

You rippe what you sow Nana Asantehene you are the leader of our suffering and your hand is always in a curse from what you did to NPP by bribing the judges for The Pepe president who is only creatd to care for cattles and ...

• Vansa a 9 years ago

Ohene you are more than right. Corruption Corruption in Ghana. Two places public sector and CEOs, Dces before . You dare not if they say you will be ostracist from party and work

• GOODMANN 9 years ago

GOD PURNNSH YOU FOOL

• BOTHA 9 years ago

Wo maame kote wo papa twe kankan , you bastard son of dogs.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Please no insult, respect others opinion that is what democracy is all about

• Tiffiny Ablorh 9 years ago

Kids can shit for free!

Pregnant women can shit free once a day!

Girls who qualify for pads can shit free if you can prove you received one of the govt. free pads within the last past month.

Moslems can shit for free ...

• Ofui 9 years ago

Kwasea, stop writing foolish things on Ghanaweb

LOL, GREAT POLICY DIRECTIVE. TIS ALL ABOUT HUMAN WASTE. HMMMMMMMMMMMM EDEY BEE KEKE.

• MAHALUMBA 9 years ago

Ampa, yentie obiaaaaaaaa.

• ebo 9 years ago

police is collecting bribe which is crime.police is the course of this evil.a police commander at sunyani was telling me i am not the one to stop bribing.

• Coach 9 years ago

Did is a past tense so you can not use had

Did you have- this correct

• Ofui 9 years ago

Kwasea, teach you parents English

• Patriot 9 years ago

If this is coming from this guy, then he must he been bitten. This speech is not for nothing.

• Kontrihene 9 years ago

Yes, you may be right. Otumfout may have been conned or double-crossed. Mahama will see his when he is out of office.

• Agbo 9 years ago

President Mahama so what is going on that you can't refund us our money. Tell us the truth. I know some of the money was given to Circle travel thief called Newman who has run away Why can't be be arrested. When I called him ...

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

SHORTAGE:...a situation or condition that calls for an unnecessarily HIGH DEMAND, or creates a very LOW SUPPLY of people's wants and needs can bring about Corruption. We can reduce corruption by adopting measures,controls and ...

• ROYAL SIKAMAN 9 years ago

In Ghana everyone is crying about crime but can anyone tells me who are the criminals, please? JJ is the father of corrupt, Asantehene, the first corrupt king in ashanti history and Kuffour plus the thief Mahama chief in corr ...

• George 9 years ago

We are all in it together

• Baba 9 years ago

THIS IS A PIECE OF LAZY JOURNALISM. AND THIS WAS WHAT WAS SPOKEN OF. STARFMONLINE COULD HAVE DONE BETTER. READ WHAT THE KING SAID ABOUT CORRUPTION,INCLUDING JOURNALIST "The community of international business and finance is e ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

This guy is more corrupt than any Asante chief who ever lived . Such platforms should be reserved for people with conscience and not corrupt people operating as saint. Behold Judgement day is at hand.

• Mensah 9 years ago

typical indisciplined NDC cowsoldier without brains

• BOSOMPEM 9 years ago

FHANA HAS LONG CHRISTIAN CORRUPTION AS STARTED FROM ADAMS TIME. NANA THAT IS WHAT OUR LEADERS MADE US TO BELIEVE AND THEREFORE SURVIVORS OF FITTERS.
    NANA I DONT THINK GHANAIANS ARE REALLY READY TO ACCEPT YOUR KINGSHIP WORRY ...

• Ghana loves Nana and Doctor 9 years ago

Nana, as for this deii, all have sin , including you Nana. The people around you charge people 6500 dollars for visa anytime coming to abroad. Is because of corruption that's why Kumasi is the way it is.the Ashanti gold all ...

• yOO 9 years ago

IS NANA ON THE LEFT SEEING?

• Nana (UK ) 9 years ago

You are number one

• Kojo Kodua 9 years ago

Otumfuo, Nana Asantehene, you seem to have forgotten the Bompata chieftaincy dispute case. As a result of this inaction on the part of your Asanteman Council, the town has been left without a queen mother for several years n ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

NEWS COPIER BE WISE YOU EWE CRAXY GUY,
    WE ARE TALKING ABOUT EKOMINE AS MILL SAID OK? ......................

• Nana (UK ) 9 years ago

Nana you and your so call chiefs and queen mothers are more in this than anyone. Count the number of doggy deals you to install chiefs, the multiple sale of lands and many more. Don't you know what goes round comes round! Thi ...

• EWI 9 years ago

thanks god you are now telling the truth call your ndc follower and talk to them.

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

"Mo oh Mo Nana wakasa"
    For corruption our people wallow in abject poverty.
    Compare Singapore with Ghana. Ask why we have go to them to build us FPSO?
    When the head is corrupt, the entire body is corrupt.
    We must detest co ...

• jt. 9 years ago

Let's from the so call men of God some of them have contributed to this problem. For politicians they none is better than the other because u never hear them disagreeing on salary increase or mps incentives.

• CATAPULT 9 years ago

“We must accept that it is part of the problems afflicting the economy today and while we ponder over policy options, we must cry out for some act of courage to tackle the scourge of corruption, not on the peripheries but a ...

• Wonders shall never end. 9 years ago

Hahahahaha, look at the person who's talking about corruption. Wonders shall never end.

• Asumdjwehene 9 years ago

Advice the President your personal friend, your chiefs, the legal brains and your subjects to Referendum and remove the indemnity clause from the constitution.It is the solid foundation on which corruption have been instituti ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Nana got Jeep from Mahaha

• Crazy Face 9 years ago

Legalise corruption now, so that all can benefit from the cake.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

IF YOU TOLD US HOW THE SOURCE OF THE MILLIONS YOU UESD TO BUY THE MULTI-MILLION HOUSES YOU HAVE BOUGHT IN THE UK, SOUTH AFRICA, ETC, YOU MIGHT BE BELIEVED. IF YOU ALLOWED MONIES COLLECTED BY YOUR OFFICIALS TO PROPERLY IDENTIF ...

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

Funny that the pot is calling the kettle black. This idiot is the most corrupt asshole. If the chief is corrupt what does he expect from the rest of the citizens? The young people only learn from what the elders are doing.

• Whatever 9 years ago

The stinking corruption we witness under Kufour have remarkably subsided under this administration and we should acknowledge that.

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 9 years ago

GHANA ON A CORRUPTION CAROUSEL-ASANTIHENE

• Ataa 9 years ago

Nana in as much as I agree with you, corruption has gone beyond the political class to even market women, artisans etc. we need a change of mind as a nation and govt needs to put in structures to prevent it.

• Kojo Kodua 9 years ago

Otumfuo, Nana Asantehene, you seem to have forgotten the Bompata chieftaincy dispute case. As a result of this inaction on the part of your Asanteman Council, the town has been left without a queen mother for several years n ...

• NANA 9 years ago

Poor corruption everyone keeps mentioning it.With respect,Nana your own subjects,think you are the most corrupted Asantehene,Prez Kuffour,former Prez Rawllings and many others who now shout at this faceless thing.

• WTF! 9 years ago

When you denigrate the dignity of your royalty and get involved with drug barons, when you smuggle ancient and sacred artifacts and get them "stolen" in Norway, when you use funds donated by the EU to acquire a mansion in Lon ...

• nana otuoro 9 years ago

Foolish boy.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

OTUNFUO LANDCRUISER

• joe joe 9 years ago

Don't mention that. Yor are part of it. "The Beautiful ones are not yet born". You collected huge money to give natives in Kumasi for their house plots but never gave them the documents. Shame on you NANA

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

You're riding a horse full speed with stolen money, there's a giraffe beside you, and you're being chase by a lion. What do you do?
    Get your drunk corrupt ass off the carousel.

• KnYc (USMC) 9 years ago

Look who is talking. What happened to education fund? You used that money to buy Rolls Royse and Bentleys. As rich as our kingdom is, we have no entity in Asante kingdoms name. What a waste you Kwaku Duah turn out to be. As a ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Corruption is the pay for the supply and demand for every Ghanaian. It is practiced on the higher heights in our society often by politicians who uses every means to grab authority to be excluded from pursuits. Corrupton can ...

• Amponsah 9 years ago

Eeee, Asantehene is talking about corruption , God have mercy.
    He must be the agent of change after cleansing himself with hyssop

• GOODMANN 9 years ago

YOU ARE OLSO MAD AND DEVEL

• KUTRIKU 9 years ago

NANA, YOU COOKED IT BY LEADING TO BRIBE THE SUPREME COURT JUDGES TO GIVE THE VERDICT IN FAVOR OF YOUR CORRUPT MAN. NOW THE CHICKEN ARE COMING HOME TO ROOST. YOU MUST BE ASHAMED IN YOUR HEAD OF WHAT YOU DID

• Kwame 9 years ago

Everybody is part of it... now how do we root it out b'cos there will be no progress as a country with this social evil

• Abba 9 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• Abba 9 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS AND THAT HAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE AILING ECONOMY.