You are here: HomeNews2014 08 26Article 322968

2014 WASSCE: 96% of Ghanaian students passed – Prof. Agyemang

Read Comments Comments (38)

• ASHKENAZI 9 years ago

IT IS OBVIOUS THAT POLITICIANS DO NOT EVEN FIND TRUTH BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS.

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

The NDC minister is putting a spin on it.

• PUSSY RIOT - east legon 9 years ago

Akufo-Addo thinks he can take advantage of the present economic crunch to ascend to the presidency in 2016 forgetting that his presidential ambition 'can't cheat destiny' and even today if elections are held he can never beat ...

• KICC 9 years ago

YOU MUST BE LIVING ON MARS.IF YOU HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO TELL US THEN SHUT UR TOTOBI MOUTH FOOL.

• JUSTICE OSEI AGYEMANG 9 years ago

SO NPP ERA WAS BAD FOR GHANA EDUCATION, OYIWA.SHAME ON YOU NANA DWARF TOOTHLESS AKUFFU ADDO.

• Paapa 9 years ago

Ghana journalists need more training. They are not fi for purpose.

They are too much involved in politics and fail to report accurately.

• Victor 9 years ago

This will show performance from NDC to NPP to date.

• Kuntu 9 years ago

So, where did Akufo Addo get his concocted figures from? Some of these politicians should, for once, be honest with themselves. Is it fair to keep churning out lies for the sake of power? What is this? Electorates are watchin ...

• Larry 9 years ago

This woman

• Krikri 9 years ago

These MATEMEHU gossipers (journalists)are so desperate that they want to make mountains out of any ant hill. akufo Addo, YOU WILL NEVER BE PRESIDENT OF KWAMENKRUMAH'S GHANA

• Ritewing 9 years ago

Woman, don't worry. If you want the figures to look good next year. You know what to do. Go back to your IEA days and pick a page from the presidential papers. You will be home and dry. You will not need to explain away a 28 ...

• KODUA 9 years ago

THANK U FOR SETTING THE RECORDS STRAIGHT. THAT SHORT AND OLD MAN CALLED AKUFO ADDO JUST OPENED HIS MOUTH BEFORE HE COULD THINK. AKUFO ADDO ALWAYS LOOKS FOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO CRITICISE. THIS IS VERY NEGATIVE AND SHOWS HE DOESN ...

• koo 9 years ago

Why do we act as people without brains. If you have about 72% of students not qualifying to any tertiary institution, is that not failure? They will be on the streets selling dog chains. Lets for one make objective comments. ...

• Geo 9 years ago

They have forgotten the thousands that were left behind after JSS. When you apply for job requiring a minimum SSS certificate,do you think the child with one passed subject in High School should qualify for the job???

• busy 9 years ago

what sampling technique did the minister use. sh should come again

• Yoavi 9 years ago

This woman again.She really looks odd and is destroying the Education System.If you hold a pass that will take you nowhere,what use is such a paper. I wish her children were among the odd 174000 who can't progress on the edu ...

• Naadu 9 years ago

Eeeeeeeeih Political talks in Ghana. 98% now passed and 28% have entry into tertiary and the 70% passed for what? God be with you, you great liars. Tell us, where will the 70% go? what will be the use of them? will they have ...

• TRUTH 9 years ago

My nephew got credits in all subjects except Integrated Science where he got E8 yet he didn't qualify for admission to College of Education. My question to the Minister is: "what is the meaning of pass? " Absolute nonsense.

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

These nation wreckers again! Instead of being ashamed and burying their heads in disgrace, they are changing their stand!! SHAME, HOOOO, SHAME!!!

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

A lost country

• Analyst 9 years ago

To say that 28% of the candidates got passes (A1 - C6) in at least 6 subjects and hence 72% of them failed, is a display of illogical reasoning.
    Included in the 72% who did not pass in at least 6 subjects are candidates who ...

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

So what is the difference between what Akuffo Addo said? According to the publication, only 28 percent who passed qualified for the University and other tertial education. Its a pity. That Minister of Education is deceiving g ...

• Paul 9 years ago

HE DO HIS OWN RESEARCH BEFORE TALKING. HE IS RUSHING TOO MUCH. GHANAIANS DON'T LIKE THAT

• BALLOT PAPER 9 years ago

The NDC gov't is such a stinking failure it's no joke. 96% passed, passed to where, to the streets or to the tertiary classrooms? That is the crux of the matter.

• Academic 9 years ago

The learned Professor had no news to tell; she admits all is not well.
    One would have expected the minister of education and a professor as such to have given some figures to substantiate her claims about the 96% passes. We ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

I hear Akufo Addo went around telling his people it was 28%. What a disgrace. Is this old age or what

• ASANTEWA 9 years ago

NDC FULL of PROPAGANDA!!

FOOLISH Prof!!!

GHANA EDUCATION(GONE to the DOGS-FACT)

• James Naru 9 years ago

This is all bullshit.
    The purpose of sitting the exam is to go to go further. That is to seek tertiary education.
    If 28% qualified to seek tertiary education then 72% failed to meet that requirement

• ghanaba 9 years ago

if she is still the head of ucc will she take candidates with grades below C6?

• Geo 9 years ago

Why couldn't these educators refer to credits in subjects rather than certificates. What can one do with a one subject passed Certificate any where in the World.

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

On Monday, 25 August we were informed by GNA that 72% students failed the 2014 WASSCE, with only 28% qualifying for tertiary admission; then a day later, 26 Aug. the sector minister, Dr. Agyemang tells us on Joy FM station th ...

• Santino 9 years ago

This lady professor in charge of education is obviously sick in the head.

• God save us 9 years ago

shame on the minister. i don't expect this lies to come from you prof. shame

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE SECTOR MINISTER OF EDUCATION AND HER DEPUTY MINISTER ARE NOT ON THE SAME PAGE. WHO IS TELLING THE TRUTH HERE. THE DEPUTY MINISTER SAID THAT THE 28.11 PERCENT IS THE SECOND BEST IN THE LAST TEN YEARS. N ...

• Prosper Yao Agbeko-Tema 9 years ago

Do our institutions work at all? Are there some consultations before WASSCE results are put into public domain? What confusion are we creating at all here? Do we have seasoned journalist to adequately research on issues befor ...

• sandra sarpong animguasee 9 years ago

NDC Ablorkwa is a liar 72% failed

• nana kwame london 9 years ago

pass to where

• yaw antwi 9 years ago

i failed on inter science,can i get admission to the university?