You are here: HomeNews2014 08 25Article 322785

POTAG drags gov’t to court over freeze on August salaries

Read Comments Comments (81)

• GM 9 years ago

Go to HELL , government will meet you there . Shame on you DUGRAH.

• GM NUA 9 years ago

IT WILL BE SAD FOR YOU IF YOU HAVE ANY RELATIVE LINKED TO THE POLYTECHNIC. I WONDER YOUR LEVEL OF MATURITY.

• GM 9 years ago

NICOLAITANE GM NUA.

• K. O. 9 years ago

If POTAG thinks that teaching is just one of the other services they render why not withdraw the other ones and continue with the teaching, when it hit the salary you are going to court. Tell the govt. that no payment of the ...

• olo Vivi 9 years ago

Yes

• SUNKWA 9 years ago

WHAT IS HE GOING TO LOOK FOR IN THE COURTS? THE JUDGES MUST BE ON STRIKE THE DAY HE GOES FOR HEARING. INDEED, THEY POTAG MEMBERS OWE US A REFUND OF THEIR JUNE SALARIES; AND THAT MUST BE MARKED AGAINST THEIR PENSIONS.

AFTE ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Reagan dismissed the air crontrol officers when they were on strike. Mahama must do the same and emply fresh teachers . " Some have they do not want.' others want they do not have . Use those who will do the job

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I wonder why government will sacrifice the future of over 70,000 students for some few hundred greedy teachers who are claiming what they do not deserve.
    Just dismiss them and ask them to go to the various Polytechnics to r ...

• POTAG 9 years ago

The government must must freeze all the salaries of most of GFA, the ministers, legislative and the executive for non performance and then freeze the salaries of potag

• ODIKRO 9 years ago

UNTIL THE GOVERNMENT HAS WITHHELD THEIR PAY THE GOVERNMENT CANNOT BE TAKEN TO COURT.
    IF AFTER THE PAY HAS NOT HIT THE BANKS, THEY WANT TO GO TO COURT, THEY CAN DO SO.
    THEY ARE ALREADY SWEATING ARE THEY?
    HAVE THEY BALLOTED ...

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

These greedy POTAG members go to the bank, take their salaries and go back home to sleep, since May. This is wickedness. The Court should make them refund everything. NATION WRECKERS!!!

• GM 9 years ago

You and your NPP can sabotage the government all the way to hell you will not prevail..shame.

• Before & After 9 years ago

Why don't ministers and parliamentarians forfeit their allowances? This is like 4 legs good, 2 legs bad. Those politicians seem to find everything wrong with the allowances of others except theirs.

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

WHY TO THE COURT I THOUGHT YOU HAD BALLS TO LIVE EVEN WITHIOUT SALARIES SO SERIOUSLY YOU NEED SALARIES FOR NO WORK DONE GOVERNMENT WE ARE WITH YOU IN THIS STANCE EVEN IF THE COURT SAYS OTHERWISE YOU SHOULD ALSO SAY NO COURT ...

• FKKK 9 years ago

I APPLAUD THE GOVT FOR FREEZING THE SALARIES OF THESES INSENSITIVE POTAG MEMBERS. SAME TO BE DONE TO UTAG.

• FKKK's BROTHER 9 years ago

GOVERNMENT AT LONG LAST SHALL PAY THE MONEY SO WHO LOSES? I WONDER YOUR LEVEL OF MATURITY

• FKKK 9 years ago

EVEN IF GOVT WILL PAY LATER, DO YOU KNOW THAT THE NON-PAYMENT FOR THIS MONTH WOULD CAUSE THEM ESPECIALLY THOSE OF THEM WHO HAD CONTRACTED LOANS FROM BANKS? I WORK IN A UNIVERSITY AND I KNOW WHAT I AM SAYING. IDIOT.

• PREKESE 9 years ago

DOES ABLAKWA HAS CEASED TAKING SALARIES UNDER-PERFORMANCE?.IF THEY DON'T WANT TO SOLVE YOUR PROBLEMS JUST GO TO THE SCHOOL AND PERFORM HOW NDC GOVERNMENT IS PERFORMING IN THIS COUNTRY.

• Skains 9 years ago

This is the dumbest thing POTAG wants to do. I thought POTAG's members pay union dues. If they do, whenever POTAG goes on strike, it's the duty of the union leaders to pay members from their union dues, not ask the governme ...

• ISSIFU AMIDINI 9 years ago

Even in the Holy Bible if do not work you are not suppose to be paid. You are on strike, let the striker pay you.

• AA 9 years ago

JAMES DRUGAH THIS IS THE MESS IN WHICH YOU HAVE SUNK THE POTAG WITH YOUR NPP POLITICS. YOU SEE HOW CUZ OF YOUR NEGATIVE NPP POLITICS, INNOCENT PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING? ALL THE BLAME SHOULD GO TO THIS JAMES DRUGAH, MEMBERS OF PO ...

• BBC 9 years ago

are day Ghanaian? the same people talking of corruption are this not corruption? Potag NO WORK NO PAY

• Asante support. 9 years ago

And some hungry stupid lawyers will lead them to court knowing very well that they have not work for it.

• Sam 9 years ago

If you don't work, why should you be paid? This irresponsible behaviour must stop at some point. It is time for government to flex its muscles. We the general public are with you. Show that you have the balls and the teeth to ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

If u dont wrk no food for u idiots

• DUUT YENNUBE 9 years ago

They don't deserve a coin , and GOD will surely judge for the gov't and the student.

• ANKOBEA-HENE 9 years ago

That's how they bully the young generation and kick them out of life. These teachers must have gov't as their "big-Uncle". Privatize the schools so they must re-apply.

• Owusu 9 years ago

POTAG has shot itself in the foot. The executives should be booted out

• kLUHCH 9 years ago

Is it worth going to court over the possible non payment of these allowances? Why is the Ghanaian so much obsessed with money?
    I thought academics would fight for principles and not tangible things like money. Do they have e ...

• USA 9 years ago

DO NOT PAY AS LONG AS THEY STAY OFF WORK
    Freezing is a joke

• George 9 years ago

How about if all workers go on strike and still ask the govt to pay them. What a successful country we shall be!

• Isaac Mensah {iymensah4343@gmail.com) 9 years ago

I was thinking that salary is a right but any allowances are privileges
    introduced by employers to help workers get additional income.So how can Potag go on strike on this?
    Govt should not pay their salaries ...

• shaboo 9 years ago

Ghana is a democratic country with laws. They will present their case in court, the gov't will also present its case and the court will decide. Honestly, I think POTAG will win because they are demanding what is due them by l ...

• olo Vivi 9 years ago

If the judges rule against them it will hinder judges future agitation for better conditions.
    So sad.

• 123 9 years ago

and we will stop Judges salaries too. Govt can be powerful

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

Cholera cases have risen above 5,000 cases in Accra alone and we are still joking with everything. The result with NDC toying with Education is the over 72% failure in WASSSCE students. It's a big shame.

• amenye 9 years ago

Salay they say is due to work done. Why should govt pay for people who willingly want to tournish it image. I do not see the reason why they should be paid. Do they even think of the destruction caused by their greedies inter ...

• Potello 9 years ago

salaries? That's a shame. Some of them bought taxis and driving them with the supposed working hours for double money.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Mahama has sent a "school boy" to negotiate with POTAG. its an indication of the disrespect Mahama NDC government has for the teachers. However, POTAG has no choice but to reach agreement with the "school boy" because I don't ...

• Joe winneba 9 years ago

Eiiiiiiiye how long are we going to POLITICIES every thing in Ghana, this if they stay home for 1 year will not only affect NDC norr NPP

• dolli 9 years ago

its shameful to reason dat way Dugrah, classroom service is ur manifest funtion of which r appointed n paid for. Reseach my fooooooot. most of u do copy work from secondary data available which even a primary sch child can do

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

They should have begun by going to court to litigate the withdrawal of the book and research allowances.
    As the situation stands, it is more difficult to argue that you should be paid while on strike, albeit selectively.

• Analyst 9 years ago

"POTAG has been on strike since May 15, 2014 ........ " means that over 3 months that they have stayed away from work, they still expect to be paid. Who do they expect to work and generate the funds to pay them with?
    If thei ...

• Kwasi Botswana 9 years ago

I don't understand how some of you reason especially Okudjato Kwaseato and Naana Agyeman. When the school is on Long vacation why do they pay them. Answer me. Its like we are on vacation and the semester is not like other sec ...

• kwame 9 years ago

nkwaseafo potag u r now going to court when u know very well that the hands that does nt work must nt eat. Foolish lecturers

• funny man 9 years ago

your reasoning is more funny massa. pay for no work done?hahaaaa

• KK George 9 years ago

Hmmmmmmm I fully support the government to to pay these POTAG members this month. Because no work no pay oooooo. POTAG can go to hell with their court matter. They are now running for cover. It will not work. The Judges also ...

• vincent 9 years ago

If POTAG is perceived to be pollitically motivated then what about UTAG.
    The two are on strike over the same issue but because of govenment's hippocracy wants to always marginalised the politechnic education.
    If u and your ...

• Ayine 9 years ago

Government have delayed freezing POTAG salary, for Good three months, this Lecturers were roaming aimlessly and still enjoying our sweat, Oh Ghana!
    NO work NO Chop.

• Yahaya 9 years ago

Where is the hit-and-run minister

• FINAL YEAR 9 years ago

So will Potag members hv embarked on these strike suppose all polytechnic students are their children? Or it because they have their wards in universities and they have completed that's why they are doing these'
    ONLY GOD KNO ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

If go on strike, you choose "no pay" option. This is particularly true where strike choosers go on very long or indefinite strike.

WHERE DO YOU WANT TO BE PAID FOR ABANDONING YOUR WORK??????

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

You will lose the court case.

• BOATENG 9 years ago

Mr. President Dugrah, have you seen what you have caused us? Some of us have told you that the 3 months long strike was ok and we should go back to lectures but you will not listen. Have you seen what you have caused? How do ...

• JA 9 years ago

TO GOVT. PRIVATISE THE PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES POLYTECHNICS AND ALL OTHER TERTIARY INSTITUTIONS. LET THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION ASSUME ONLY AN OVERSIGHT ROLE. THIS WILL SAVE YOU AND FUTURE GOVTS AND ALL OF US ALL THESE HEADACHES! ...

• Apor kronkron, USA 9 years ago

I think they must be made to pay back what they received from May until it was frozen because thy did not deserve it. The govt must place these schools under private boards who will oversee the recruitments in staff so that ...

• Apor kronkron, USA 9 years ago

I think they must be made to pay back what they received from May until it is frozen because they did not deserve it. The govt must place these schools under private boards which will oversee the recruitments of staff so that ...

• MENSAH APPIAH 9 years ago

THE CONTROLLER ANN ACCOUNTANT GENERAL HAVE STARTED WORKING ON TO STOP ALL POTAG MEMBERS SALARIES FOR THE MONTH OF AUGUST,2014
    AM ONE OF THE TEAM MEMBER THAT HAVE BEN TASKED TO EXECUTE THIS WORK.

• 123 9 years ago

yes. UTAG is next. we will stop all their salaries. (Controller staff)

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

Nation wreckers. How many books have you written in the last 10 years all of the membership put together. Even Kwadwo Safo the apostle deserves more of such cash than you lot

• NEVER MIND 9 years ago

FUNNY! DUGRAH IS GOING TO COURT TO DEMAND PAYMENT OF SALARIES FOR WHAT WORK? HE SHOULD HAVE HIS HEAD EXAMINED.

• Lezzy 9 years ago

This unwarranted attitude of striking is very unfortunate . This must not be paid. Ghana govt must deal with them like how America fired transporting workers over strike.

• Dawadawa 9 years ago

POTAG is doing the right thing. POTAG will be vindicated by the court.

• kaketonti 9 years ago

Potag is 100% WRONG.Alhaji Lawyer K A Busia sacked civil-servants after the court had ruled in their favour.NO work No pay.YOU ARE FIRED Period

• mob 9 years ago

Potag members, what shall it profit a man when he gains the whole world an looses his soul.they have forgotten that we students make them who they r today...do they think they have the biggest problem on earth..?to hell with ...

• ASEM BEBADEBI 9 years ago

THESE CROOKS HAVE MADE STRIKES THEIR KOKONTE LUNCH.LET THEM SWEAT FOR THEIR SALARIES AND THEY WILL LEARN SENSE.

• ojam 9 years ago

lazy dogs must not eat

• STANDING FOR THE TRUTH 9 years ago

NO WORK = NO SALARY, SIMPLE AND SHORT. THERE IS NO COURT ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD THAT WILL SAY THIS IS NOT RIGHT. POTAG WILL GO BACK TO WORK IN SHAME.

SAME MEASURE SHOULD BE APPLIED TO UTAG AND ALL OTHERS. WE ARE SICK AND T ...

• OSMAN 9 years ago

legally pathetic:Dugrah you are mad

• WHO CARES 9 years ago

This can only happen Ghana where striking workers are paid with no work done. They only care for their salaries but not the students who are at home. This act of POTAG must be condemned by both government and opposition, if t ...

• Re 9 years ago

I dont Dugrah has a child attending tertiary institution dat is y.

• USMAN 9 years ago

There is an attempt by the useless university graduates in the NDC government to paralyze technical and vocational education in Ghana.

• BOSS 9 years ago

Sack all of them. They are a disgrace to Ghana.

• kwame 9 years ago

nkwaseafo u r nt working bt u want to collect ur salary. God will punish u. Stupid foolish potag

• OJ RICH 9 years ago

@JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JDmahama #WeWantOurLecturersBackNow @JD ...

• Mr Nyamekye 9 years ago

Drugah, you better go to the npp HQ and stop the stupid party politics you are playing with POTAG. Alorvie is a bad role model for you. Why waste the country's time?

• ONIPANUA 9 years ago

POTAG is just doing the bidding of the NPP to use every means to unseat the government.Its members should let the NPP pay their salaries.

• ablakwa 9 years ago

believe me the government will pay hahahaha potag still remain strong and resolute and judgement debt awaite the government. bravo ndc goverment with ur 72% failure in just ended wassce. shame shame shaaame

• ablakwa 9 years ago

all ndc communicators sits on net and comment on every issue and this is what u do and get paid at the end of the month stupid communicators and ntafoo, u northner and ur stupid president.

• steve, Koftwon 9 years ago

Don't forget this:
    1. Some members of potag voted for this government too.
    2. In every society majority decision wins, but then, don't forget those potag members who voted for you and who may be in the minority.
    3. If you ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Freeze John Mahama,Seth Terkper and Dr.Kofi Wampah's salaries for INCOMPETENCE.