You are here: HomeNews2014 08 21Article 322240

Ghana’s economic growth is enviable - World Bank

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Since when Ghana economy became enviable?
    Hahaha.
    No fuel ooooo.

• ........ 9 years ago

Did those in the world can't call a spade a spade?did they know how Ghanaians are suffering?I think they should stop their propaganda acts and say the truth about the economy of ghana.

• AGYAPONG IS A TRAITOR 9 years ago

THE OYIBO MAN IS THE MOST EVIL CREATURE ON EARTH. HOW CAN YOU RANK GHANA AS HAVING A GOOD ECONOMY WHEN PEOPLE CAN'T AFFORD TO EAT TWICE A DAY IF YOU DON'T HAVE AN EVIL AGENDA YOU WANT TO ACCOMPLISH? THEY ARE THE ONES KILLING ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

The World Bank must rather chastise Mahama and his bogus NDC Government for the enviable growth of the country’s corruption.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

What do IMF Country Directors in Ghana take Ghanaians for, fools or what? How can this man claim that Ghana has strong governance systems and does he understand what is meant by strong government system? Ghana has a very weak ...

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN PROPER 9 years ago

Kofi Ata, I am on your neck again. What do you understand by 'INCREASED PRODUCTIVITY' if service and oil sector are not part of increased productive sectors according to your own analysis???

Again Kofi, what do you really ...

• kk 9 years ago

this man is idiot.

• kk 9 years ago

WHATS THAT IDIOT CALLED ?CROOK

• Bomber 9 years ago

The report is for the past 10 years, the achievements in the past is covering the current sick governance.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

There we again: the fake praise singers, lying to get the next useless project going in Ghana.

• U...... 9 years ago

Nothing that is happening to Ghana that is new. The people crying wolf are just being instigated by the opposition who want to come back to power by hook or crook so the noise is too much and when that happens people tend to ...

• Mensah Subin 9 years ago

The world bank is dealing with facts here not politics so the politician cannot see with their political blinded eyes. It is a fact that Ghana is doing well.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

In the 80s and 90s the WB/IMF praised Ghana under WB/IMF's Structural Adjustment Program and claimed it was the best thing since sliced bread and sold it to other African nations and the results over the years was a sham an ...

• G pong 9 years ago

Is Ghana an exception to what happened in 2008(the collapse of the world's economy)? Why do you think people are moving back home to stay now more than ever? That should tell you something is right!
    And talking about the oi ...

KOLA, perhaps, I am a goro boy and not a guru, so my arguments are from that perspective. The fact is that if the oil and service sector are taken out other sectors, especially manufacturing would probably fall because of the ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Where did you two read about IMF in the above post?

• Don Juan 9 years ago

Kofi Ata wo ye mobo. You can't tell the difference between the World Bank and the IMF. In your ignorant world, all international organisations are called IMF.

Don Juan, my apology for leading others astray and my apology to the IMF.

What does "wo ye mobo" means? I know "wo ye" mean you are but I do not understand the word "mobo". Is it a slang?

• Wikileaks. 9 years ago

This World Bank Country Director is an idiot and a crook just as his name implies!

• Gonzaga 9 years ago

LIAR, LIAR. CONTINUE TO FOOL AFRICANS BECAUSE THEY ARE CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT. KWAME NKRUMAH TOLD ALL OF US BUT WE WERE SO STUPID AND DUMP WE OVERTHREW HIM. THERE GOES THE FOOLISH LEADERS OF A CONTINENT WITH ALL THE NATURAL ...

• FREEDOM IN THE TRUTH 9 years ago

NPP CAN'T JUST STAND THE TRUTH

• Left of Centre 9 years ago

Or What Is His Beef?

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN PROPER 9 years ago

Economic growth cannot be said to be economic development unless the citizens can feel it in their Pockets.

Given the fall in value of the cedi caused by Kufuor's government when four noughts were struck off it and artific ...

• Dr Pink Sheet 9 years ago

Now what??

• KENKEY BOY 9 years ago

IS THAT WORLD BANK SAYING THAT ?, EYOOOO ... THEN YOU BETTER WATCH OUT. ANY TIME THEY COME OUT TO PRAISE THE ECONOMY OF A COUNTRY,THEN YOU BETTER WATCH OUT. THEY ARE DECEIVING YOU. THEY WANT YOU TO COME FOR MORE LOANS ...

U have to read more to stay current

• Paapa 9 years ago

Good news but cost of living is too high plus high unemployment rate.

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Don't be deceived they will tell us the true picture when NDC is kicked out of power,thats is the history of World Bank.

Who says npp is comming to power?
    In ur dreams

• FREEDOM IN THE TRUTH 9 years ago

CAN'T STAND THE TRUTH AGAIN. NPP- LIAYER, LIAYER

• Before & After 9 years ago

They make these statements in order to force their useless policies on the poor Ghanaian. Speak with the average Ghanaian and you will hear the opposite of the growth.

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA: ANOTHER PROPAGANDA INITIATED BY THE NDC LED BY JON MAHAMA : WHEN WAS THID GROWTH RECORDED AND WHICH AREAS HAS THIS GROWTH OCCURED ;THIS MR CROOKES SHOULD BE TOLD THAT NOT ALL GHANAIANS ARE IDIOTS AS HE THINKS WE ARE BE ...

• david 9 years ago

Mahama 5 million dollars to the american lobyists is really working.Mahama at work

• Kob 9 years ago

No wonder your name is "CROOK"

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

PPP practitioners?

That is another fraud on the economy.
    The PPP parties do not need a PPP Practitioner. For what service?

• Kofi Amoah 9 years ago

Even my grandmother in the village knows that the economy is BAD.

• HASSAN YAAYIMA _ Jasikan 9 years ago

We leave u to God.
    since u wil neva say the truth, continue telling the masses dat everything is ok.
    u will die b4 ur tym.
    FOOOOOOOOOLS

• GHANA 9 years ago

JUST LOOK AS HIS FACE ..... HE IS NOT ASHAME OF HIMSELF .... ORDINARY GHANAIAN CANNOT EAT TWICE A DAY AND U OPEN UR EVIL MOUTH AND SAY GHANA ECONOMY IS ENVIABLE ... NO WONDER HIS NAME IS CROOK ... HE AND MAHAMA ARE ALL THEIVE ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

The growth that the WHOLE is taking about in 10 yrs was initiated and achieved by ex-Prez J.A. Kuffour but things started falling apart when NDC came back. That was late Prez Atta-Mills's time. Facts should be set straight. I ...

• JESSE BERKLEY 9 years ago

WHAT IS THIS DRUNKARD TALKING ABOUT? HAS HE BEEN GIVEN A STRONG DOSE OF LOCAL GIN? IS HE SERIOUS? HE SHOULD NOT TRY AND PARADE AS RENT AN ECONOMIST. WORLD BANK OFFICIALS DON'T SPEAK LIKE THAT. WHEN YOU START GOING DOWN THAT R ...

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

A QUOTE: “At present, Africa is industrially one of the least developed continents in the world. It produces one-seventh of the world’s raw materials, but only one-fiftieth of the world’s manufactures. The share of indu ...

• Intellectual property too? 9 years ago

Sons of Africa crying daily. 'Get up get up do domething'- a quote from a Macy Gray Song.

I'm already doing something.......by educating the likes of you. What about you?

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES!
    GOD BLESS GHANA!
    AFRICAN FOREVER!

• GhanaMassai,France. 9 years ago

Wow!!! What a display of intellectual excellence! I totally agree with your essay that merits an A+. It's however regrettable that you failed to bring out any palpable, feasible proposition to salvage Ghana's dwindling econom ...

Thank you! I do understand your frustration but, I just stopped short of writing a book..........if I had to write my propositions to salvage our dwindling economy/

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

No

• AGYA Koo 9 years ago

WHAT? ENVIABLE? Oh my gosh!

If there are no jobs, inflation is hyper, the currency is the worst performing in the world, government cannot pay its statutory payments and owes many workers groups in spite of all our resources including newly-exploited oi ...

• kk 9 years ago

nonsense.where?

Ask ur dwarf shadow prez

• Okbi 9 years ago

Who the fuck is this guy? Is he for real? I am not sure he knows what he is talking about. He needs to go back to and return his whatever certificate he is holding. Economic growth means people on the street should see it ...

• Siaw 9 years ago

FUCK OFF FROM AFRICA YOU BLOOD SUCKING VAMPIRES.

Foolish girl

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Hei, NDC man that isn't a girl or a lady! ! For Christ's sake stop your crazy attitude and let's talk about real facts. The country is bleeding; everything is in a mess under the clueless John Mahama's gov't yet you guys do ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 9 years ago

Recently I read that all conferences are put on hold due to Ebola. Also were the participants coming from these countries screened before entry?

• Jojo Williams 9 years ago

The same World Bank praised Rawlings' economic "success" in 1999, and told Kufuor to go HIPC in 2000 bcos the economy is shit. The same World Bank told Kufuor in 2008 that he was an economic magician and told Mills the econom ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Even a market woman, with no education, will tell you that Ghana's economy is not doing well. Even a five year old will tell you the same thing. So what are these CROOKS at the World Bank trying to tell us ?

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

Whether you like it or not, the reactionaries will fail. Ghana is moving ahead and we will succeed.

• Kwesi Yeboah- KSI 9 years ago

all these envy by these Akans party

• kkk 9 years ago

MR. Crookes has a perfect drunkard appearance and mentality. The only improvement in GHANA'S Economy is the number of alcohol in the market.

• kkk 9 years ago

Hey Mr. crookes . the only thing enviable in GHANA's economy is THE RATE OF CORRUPTION. CROOKES READ YOUR NOTES BEFORE YOU COME UP WITH USELESS THOUGHTS.

• ASANTEWA 9 years ago

WEAK CURRENCY EQUALS WEAK ECONOMY

• Odasani 9 years ago

is this man stupid?
    Look at his pig-mouth..
    Idiot.
    Obviously he takes Ghanaians for fools!!!

• Nii Akwei 9 years ago

Spin doctor, this will not work. The situation on the ground stings to high heaven.

• USMAN 9 years ago

Pls Mr Crook, be a little bit realistic and stop the rubbish.

• Koo 9 years ago

I feel really upset and fuming on this misleading report. Can everyone now understand why our forefathers were able to sell their own family members into slavery. Tell them what they want to hear, so they wont think then expl ...

• TOKABA 9 years ago

THIS GUY IS A PAID AGENT OF THE NDC TO SPIT OUT LIES. WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!!!!!

• Sefah 9 years ago

I am not surprised that some Ghanaians who do not like the NDC government and their acievement can not accept the fact that despite the fall of our cedi Ghana is getting to the middle income developed country if we can exerc ...

• ADONGO 9 years ago

WE ARE NO FOOLS