You are here: HomeNews2014 08 15Article 321391

GFA rejects Appiah's choice of two local coaches for tech. dir. job

Read Comments Comments (46)

• Me4U 9 years ago

Just fire the coach and stop this nonsense. What is the technical director's role? To cover for Appiah's incompetence?

• odikro baba 9 years ago

Don't mind them. This incompetent and technical bankrupt coach should have be given a technical a technical director before the world cup. Just fire him and let him go his way. He'
    s not technically fit for this job.

• kobina 9 years ago

Appiah stop playing mind game as you dont care of cousing confusion to this wonderful team we have at present. Appiah go and leave the stars alone. go go go now!!!!!!!!

• Try Your Luck Coach 9 years ago

Black Star, toooo BIG for inexperience Appiah. He has a lot to learn b4 thinking of handling the national team

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go.ASAP! 9 years ago

Name 1 player who won't respect Desailly? Kpb? Jordan? Muntari? ....who says they won't respect Almighty Odenkey.Desailly Abbey?!
    It's not about white or black coaches. Local or foreign. It's about 1 thing only..QUALITY!

• moyo 9 years ago

Sack the useless coach and employ a new one. This is not the attitude of a country who wants to succeed. Fire the man!!!

• roy , usa 9 years ago

Why will you hire an experience coach to be a technical director or whatever they call it, while that same person can coach the team without direction from anyone. No wonder Ghana is poor

• Power 9 years ago

So he can control them. Stop all these nonsense and get a better coach. We need a coach who can reunite all the players and stop talking about somebody is on indefinite suspension. In Ghana if someone can not control you, th ...

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

You must all be crazy. AA is a good coach, he was able to assemble a team that could have won the wc. The injury of Waris and Akaminko was a big glow to his plans. In my view his only mistake was the fielding of Jordan ahead ...

• Gbonyo Mafia 9 years ago

You are a fool to even consider this cocoa farmer AA as a good coach. What do u mean by a good coach. Stop commenting when football fans are commenting cuz u dont know what u talking about.

Why do you want to do aa's job for him? Aa said he didn't need a td before going to brasil. We all saw what happened. Now, you want to force a td on AA? Aa does not want your useless selections. GFA execs, let him choose his ...

• Kwame Sekyere 9 years ago

Why are you all criticizing AA? He was put in the worst of all situations, a newely hired coach could be put into. Did it not start with the "We want a UEFA License A Coach". Appiah didn't enjoy support on behalf of the GFA? ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

WHO PUT A GUN TO AA'S HEAD TO GO FOR THE JOB? I DONT BELIEVE IN LUCK BUT HARDWORK...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Abena Kwabena,
    I was one of those who pushed for Coach Appiah for the job. I loved him as Kotoko player; and as a chance should be given to an indigenous Ghanaian to prove that Africans can handle their own affairs.
    Having ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots 9 years ago

Desailly Bumaye!

• ZEE 9 years ago

Wu ye trumu (asshole), aboa (animal). How do you consider AA a good coach? America beat us during the world cup even though America doesn't have half of the quality of players we have. Their coach proved he was smarter than A ...

• mike 9 years ago

kwesi appiah is not serious why do u want local men as technical directors we want an european we dont need more lazy people again to run the football in ghana and kwesi this is yr last chance lose against uganda and the ghan ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Mike needs to shed his colonial mentality.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Let me once again assure Ghanaians that, if we maintain wimpy and clueless Appiah,he will continue to give us broken hearts. MARK MY WORDS.

• ZEE 9 years ago

Yaw Adu-Asare, I don't agree with you. MIKE IS RIGHT. Getting a TD who isn't a Ghanaian doesn't mean we harbour colonial mentality. Ghana doesn't have the most qualified and competent individual to hold the posotion. By the w ...

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

WE LEARNT TECHNICAL MEN TO THE WORLD CUP ALSO HAD APPEARANCE FEE OF 100,000K FOR WHAT?APPEARING IN BRAZIL? WE WANT THAT MONEY NOW REFUNDED BEFORE THE COMMISSION CONTINUE ITS WORK

• pap kwesi 9 years ago

They don't have money to pay local coaches but will they have money to pay europeans coaches or technical men. Even players can't get their money due them.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

If you are not going to entertain his views? This guy,who has been around the national team,should read the writing on the wall,negotiate a mutually acceptable parting package,and quietly leave the scene with some honour! He ...

• peejones 9 years ago

We all know that our players, especially the senior ones who all play professionally abroad do not have any iota of respect for our local coaches for obvious reasons. Why waste time on all this bs about technical assistance ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is such an imbecile - even if you knock him on the head with we hammer he would not realize it. No intelligence; no intelligence; no intelligence.

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Appiah himself knows he is not a good coach-- if he leaves now, no team will hire him so he is gonna stay on and fight till his last breath. Beside some GFA top guns are gaining from him so they will also fight for him for th ...

• Ibrahim Young 9 years ago

Why wasting your time on a mumu coach. He will prefer somebody that he can control. Just kick his ass and show him the exit door.

• Harrison 9 years ago

None of these officials have Ghana at heart. All they want is cheap money to chop. Fire them all. For AA, if he does not quit, Ghanaians will show him the door.

• Niibi 9 years ago

Do you mean his choice will not necessarily be taken or will not be "considered". Your choice of word here portray something erroneous.
    NEED PROPER EDITING.

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

Criteria used to hire Akwasi Appiah are as follows @ He is gentle @ he is always quiet @ He is our own @ His picture looks "mmobomobo" Cna characteristics win a tournament? We need a competent coach

• C.O.D 9 years ago

Leadership, leadership, leadership is a huge disappointment for us. We don`t produce leaders so we don`t have them. Just look at the uselessness of these GFA people. German Coach Loew stated that their victory is the direct r ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Akwasi Appiah has no capacity to better himself. He is done, peaked, topped himself has no intelligence or brain nor mind for improving himself or anybody. He has nothing better inside him. He must go like a bufoon

• Sarskoberta 9 years ago

He has had all the chances in the world to 'fare thee better' but in vain.

Captain of the dazzling PorcupineFC
    GBS captain, so to speak.
    Seven years babysitting the GBS.
    Some lousy three years being the man himself-the ...

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 9 years ago

Sarsazoto, if you are not born to lead, to lead you can never. If the people lose trust in you, to get it back is impossible.

GFA boss Akwasi Nyantakyi & Akwasi Appiah is killing our Love, Desire, Enthusiasm, Passion, Eag ...

• Ekow London 9 years ago

Poor Mike, get an European, good retort Yaw, after all that we are going through, feel sickened that i share same nationality with people with such views.

• Great 9 years ago

What kind of administration is this. Government need to dissolve this GFA administration. You guys know the people you want and went ahead and ask the coach to look for his technical men. This is stupid. Why waste his time. W ...

Nyantakyi is reluctant to fire AA becos he is scared AA will "spill the beans"......AA has been around the fa since 2008 and he knows too much of the insider conspiracy, corruption that has engulfed the fa. This is what that ...

• KS 9 years ago

They know who they want but life puts you in situations like this where you have to play good politics. They did the right thing. It has been used on you by your parents or teachers or boss somewhere in life, you just didnt k ...

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

sO GFA DID THE RIGHT THING IN LETTING AA GO TO BRASIL WITH NO REPUTABLE TD.TO HELP HIM ACHIEVE SUCCESS? POLITICS IS THE REASON WE BOMBED UNDER AA AT AFCON N BRASIL? WHEN I MYSELF KEPT HAMMRING DAT AA NEEDED A TD IN BRASIL? LI ...

• Analyst 9 years ago

If the committee is able to find that person "who will steer the Black Stars in the right direction", then Kwasi Appiah's position as a coach will become redundant. It is interesting that Kwasi Appiah's honour and dignity is ...

• ASEM 9 years ago

ALL WE ARE SAYING IS THAT, GET US A NEW COACH.

THAT IS WHAT MOST GHS WANT.

• Dani 9 years ago

I would like to plead with Coach Appiah to resign honorably than staying and playing second fiddle to a tech. director.He has failed and should have gone immediately they returned from Brazil.He is just not up to the job.

• sixtus 9 years ago

so which is which? before brazil, it was told that kwasi appiah had signed contract extention for two yrs....but after brazil, he is yet to sign ahis contract so which is which....this should have been the time to show him th ...

• NO-CONFIDENCE APPIAH 9 years ago

APPIAH THE FOOL IS AVOIDING DESAILLY.
    SHIT APPIAH, YOU'RE FIRED!

• Mars1 9 years ago

My oh my, what absolute nonsense from this Appiah guy. Of course, he would want local coaches, who are just equally incompetent. Yep , for once, the GFA is making the right decision and they should STICK WITH IT. Local coach ...

• Nii from Mamprobi 9 years ago

AA is not serious. cftu