You are here: HomeNews2014 08 14Article 321209

Shocking! Cleaners, watchmen, drivers collecting research allowance

Read Comments Comments (162)

• Me 9 years ago

Look at all these hypocrite corrupt citizens of Ghana siphoning money and later complaining that Government is corrupt...By their deeds, ye shall know them

• Kwame 9 years ago

THIS WILL DESTROY GHANA

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

the ministries of education , fisheries and agriculture are the most corrupt of all followed by local government and trade . mahama himself is the one siphoning the monies out

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

If the report is genuine and correct, then we support the government to go ahead and do what it deems right for the sake of Ghana and Ghanaians. Any lecturer,Liberian or the undeserving recipients that continue to loot shoul ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

UTAG has some explanation to do. The UTAG accountant who submits name of teachers eligible for book and research allowance should be grabbed it this media report is true

• me 9 years ago

You used to be a Lecture,please,Madam minister, are you tell Ghanaians you nerve received any allowanced when you were at your post?

• Agbee 9 years ago

Let us be reasonable in our submissions on National issues. Are we saying that there is no need to put an end to a wrongful act that has been perpetrated for a long time? It does not matter who puts an end to a wrongful act. ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is Banana republic of Ghana where every government employee is at liberty to do whatever they want and where time clock is never heard. People go to work without recording what time they came in or when they left. The wh ...

Get real. UTAG is university teacher association of Ghana. The association sends its list to govt to be paid the allowance. What has it got to do with the other people who submits other lists for the allowance?

• AYIGBE & PEPE THIEVES 9 years ago

Liberian ?????

• NAKED TRUTH 9 years ago

Where did you see Liberians. The article talks of Senior Librarians

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

Your President did the same thing so why are you blaming them for? Are they not Ghanaians as well? Mahama thought them how to steal Ghanaians money so allow them to have their part.

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

Your constant insults of Northerners and Ewe is disgusting. Grow a brain and stop living up to the stereotype of being a consumer of fecal matter. We've heard enough of your ayigbe/ pepeni on every issue. Majority of the corr ...

• Yaw Danso 9 years ago

NOONE ON THIS EARTH IS SURPRISED BY YOUR IMBEDDED STUPIDITY WHICH IS ROTTEN RIGHT INSIDE TO YOU BONE. GET RID OF THE VIRUS OS IS IT FUNGUS INFECTION? SEE YOUR PSYCHIATRIST AND NUERO-PSYCHOLOGIST. YOU COULD BE SUFFERING FROM ...

• DEBENDA 9 years ago

With Sam Okudjeto as a deputy minister, this shouldn't be strange to us.

• Esi Atta 9 years ago

Why is Naana Opoku-Agyemang's pix here? Did she take money and didn't do research? Hmmmmm....

• .yag 9 years ago

UTAG !!Should be books writers not Text book buyers.Write your own knowledgeable books for students to buy instead of buying other people knowledge for your class work.To much of chew and pour intellectuals in our system.

• Nii 9 years ago

What was the qualification for getting the money.If all these people had taken such amounts, please deduct the amount from their salaries. Those who have already gone on pension should pay BY FREEZING their SSNIT contribution ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

I agree 10000%

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

I totally agree also.

• Gandalf 9 years ago

IF YOU KNEW THE KIND OF SCRUTINY THE LIST OF LECTURERS WHO RECEIVE THIS ALLOWANCE GOES THROUGH AS AN ANNUAL RITUAL, YOU WILL THROW THIS PIECE HERE INTO THE GUTTER WHERE IT BELONGS. THIS IS PURE GOVT PROPAGANDA FROM ONE OF THE ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Most Ghanaian Lecturers are just plain shit. They are not good at anything apart from using their little theoritical and not practical knowlwege to seduce the equally brain-dead girls.
    Their Lecture notes come verbatim from ...

Thank you, Gandalf.

The list of people who qualify for book and research allowance are Senior Members of the universities. Senior Members (Teaching) get both. Senior Members (non teaching) get only book allowance.

Wicked nation wreckers and they profess to be religious. Dishonesty to the highest degree. And they make the most noise. With these revelations, they deserve to be named and shamed.

• woman 9 years ago

Herald, you were so much in a hurry to publish this lie you couldn't even realize senior liberians or old aged people from the country called Liberia. What do they do on the campuses of any university; they should be retired ...

• KWESI KRAMER 9 years ago

Herald, are you saying librarians have nothing to do with research? Come again.

• Atikopo#4 9 years ago

KWESI KWASEA KRAMER:

The point is, do we need librarians researching into what?

• master 9 years ago

Atikopo#4, you're so thick. You mean librarians don't do or are not involved in research? Do you really understand what research means? And, you are calling someone a fool? God forgive you.

• Boateng 9 years ago

Massa, the Government simply wants report on the research. The people of Ghana cannot continue to dole out money they don't have for no work done. On that note I say more power to the Government.

• Woman 9 years ago

Librarians probably need to do more research in Ghana than the others because without their effort, our libraries will be empty.

• Boateng 9 years ago

Woman, you just said it! "Librarians probably need to do more research in Ghana than the others because without their effort, our libraries will be empty."

The question is, are they doing the research? If they are doing ...

• woman 9 years ago

Who at all works in Ghana? From the president to the cleaner, we praise mediocrity and reward sycophancy. Let's restructure and ensure we aim higher in terms of productivity across the nation

The list of people who qualify for book and research allowance are Senior Members of the universities. Senior Members (Teaching) get both. Senior Members (non teaching) get only book allowance. Librarians are Senior Members ( ...

• congoman 9 years ago

You see now. When there are a lot of thumb-printers posing as educated men and women then you will encounter these challenges.Note carefully: the spelling is Librarian and NOT liberian

• Afia Dankwah 9 years ago

Kwesi Krama, who are the recipient of the research money? It appears from your piece that you have very little knowledge about what this money is for and who should be the recipient. Go to the library and learn about research ...

• MAAME 9 years ago

READ WELL AND WITH UNDERSTANDING. THE ALLOWANCE IS FOR SENIOR LECTURERS WHO DO BOOK RESEARCH AND NOT FOR ALL WHO DO BOOK RESEARCH. LIBRARIANS ARE NOT SENIOR LECTURER

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

All these are lies just to deceive the public. With NDC in power, you don't even know what to believe anymore.

For them to be right, look what they are bringing in.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Nyansasem you seem to accept any baseless accusations, trash talking or tribal bashing against the NDC but will go to ends of the earth to question anything from the NDC.
    Let me put it mildly to you there is no honest and tr ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Some of you don't think and that is why you keep on supporting idiocy here. I am for Ghana and not for any party and that is why I ask serious question?

If this educational minister was a VC at CapeVars, how come she did n ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

We didn't hear a thing about this robbery during the previous administration because it was a normal thing.If these guys will talk about it, do something about it, let them do it. Pay no attention to those who love evil. For ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You ate right, the previous Mills/Mahama administration did nothing.in

• jJojo 9 years ago

WHAT HAS GHANA GAINED FROM THE SO CALLED RESEARCH AND BOOK ALLOWANCES TO UNIVERSITY LECTURERS AND POLYTHECHNIC INSTRUCTORS.

HAVE ALL THESE ALLOWANCES MADE A ''DENT''' TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMEMT OF GHANA.

UNIVERSITIES, ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You are a fante dokono comedian idiot and a hypocrite your damn self. When you accuse Npp which you have done almost on every comment of yours, I bet people were not willing to pay but the Npp forced them, what a yahoo you ar ...

Very honest assessment.

• Kwaku 9 years ago

The word is Librarian not Liberian.

• Netherland elephant 4 president 9 years ago

wat about Liberian librarians ?

• DI NYAME ASEM SO 9 years ago

That is why NPP is complaining about PRESIDENT MAHAMA.Please get rid of all this crooks they are afraid of him espousing them.God never sleeps or slumber

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

The president and his cronies are stealing so what do you expect them to do? They are those that pay tax everyday and ask yourself how much do they pay them? I am not supporting corruption but the president must set example f ...

• Amegaxoxo 9 years ago

Herald,I am quoting your article,>>are doing so with "careless abundance".Where did you get that phrase from? The phrase is CARELESS ABANDON. Half-baked journalists,it makes it hard to believe your story.In any case, can you ...

• kofikofi 9 years ago

Why is the police not arresting them if the drivers and people who are not supposed to benefits from the allowance. This story is a piece trash.

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Masa, get out.you FOOL..u want to see Police arresting them before you believe it is true..Ask yourself, can't this be true? Be realistic...Police do not arrest just because it is it in the newspapers...FOOLISH FOOL

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is Seriously sick

• Kento 9 years ago

you are not serious... this money people are taking undeservedly is what Mahama need to run this country and all you can think about is Akufo-Addo who is paying his taxes and just want to be president. this is nothing wrong w ...

• Nana konadu Agyeman Rawlings 9 years ago

must you insult and proffer death on Akufu Addo on every issues that comes arround. who are you to tell that someone will die? It's haigh time you make your contributions count rather than insulting people for nothing . yopu ...

• BANDIT 9 years ago

So Lecturers, WHO HAVE NO HAND IN PROCESSING THE said allowances, are to blame for such alleged lapses. God save us from ineptitude in high places.

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

NO one is blaming or has blamed lecturers..the fact is Government cannot continue paying this allowances unless all this names are scrap off

who does that? the payer or the payee?

• Before & After 9 years ago

And administration staff, accounts staff etc.... people with ACCA claim that it is equivalent to PhD in all those institutions. The greedy bastards sit and watch them.

• NII OTU 9 years ago

This Wickedness in the eyes of justice. Why should this injustice happen to mother Ghana. Somebody must definitely find a solution to some of this widely accepted corruption. They are the same people who will say politicians ...

• DI NYAME ASEM SO 9 years ago

The same people blame government for everything while they sit on their ass and collect money for doing nothing.God have mercy for Ghana.

• Fre 9 years ago

If true come in Ghana let's get some balls . Who cares if 5000 people are convicted!!! Ghost staff ghost allowances since January 2914 . All the news even if you take "half" as truce equates to ghc72 million a year LOST to gr ...

• grandpa 9 years ago

Cleaners, watchmen collecting research allowances "with reckless abundance". WOW!!!

• GENERAL DeGAULE 9 years ago

Present the synopsis of your research and apply for funds. That is what is done everywhere. But in Ghana you are paid an annual allowance for nothing or bogus research. What has been the outcome of all the research allowances ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

"What has been the outcome of all the research allowances paid over the years?" Answer: Not much actually.

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Whoever believes this story should have his or her head examined. The Herald should mention one University or poly where this happens. Then they should go further by telling Ghanaians that at this University/Poly, there are x ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Surely, the details of such impropriety ought to be proven. But, please, do not simply brush this story aside for any political expediency.

The fact is that Ghanaians are capable of worse malfeasance. Ghost employees, fo ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Do you really believe this story? That watchmen are being paid research allowances in the Universities? Haba!

And may I ask you what happened to those who were receiving the salaries of those ghosts. Were the money being s ...

Some of us need the story told. Some of us need to see some light shed on the evil activities going on in Ghana. Some also need the lights out. Some of us don't believe in corruption being as old as Adam. Whoever can fix it,l ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Just running to the media and not doing anything is my concern. They are just seeking public sympathy or if you will, to win the "the public opinion" with yellow journalism which you should abhor.

• KKO 9 years ago

GYEEDA was created out of nothing to loot money from the nationals treasury with the possible connivance of Mahama. Mahama himself went to brazil and inflated the prices of aircraft by close to 100%. The committee that Uncle ...

All of these concerns you raise are legitimate and need to shed more and not less light on them. The more we look at these cases through partisan lens the more nothing gets done. What we need is enough men and women with inte ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Isn't it time for our media houses to start backing up the stories of some of their investigations with photos they have taken of some of these culprits. With all of these smartphones with cameras, it wouldn't be too diff ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Was this woman not a VC or somethingat CapeVars? Where was she when the drivers and watchmen were collecting those allowances? Or, she did not know anything about that?

If you think Ghanaians are not capable of putting ghost names on gov't payroll then maybe you need to be examined. You can ask for more details about the claim as you suggest but to say the story can't be true brings your own ...

• master 9 years ago

I will not be surprised if the minister involved in this brouhaha also owns a share in this paper. That is why it is so dangerous the propaganda attitude of this NDC guys. They play propaganda even in serious matters.

Th ...

What is the purpose of downplaying this serious claim of citizens abuse of this important scheme? It's funny how everybody recognize there's a problem but soon as one attempts to do something about it people find it necessary ...

• deri 9 years ago

Plse mr president save we those who are supporting yourcourse how come you certainly have to crack the whipand show that if you are push too far

• taylor 9 years ago

Can someone tell me if the POTAG mambers are still paid while on srike, if yes they get their salaries then i will say goevernment is part of the prolem, why will they get paid for doing nothing,to my acknowlegy if you are o ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Me too worry for our dear country. These union members do pay union dues every month. In most countries, it the the unbion that pays its striking members during strike, not their employer... Like you've rightly said, the lack ...

• CRIMINAL INTELECTUALS 9 years ago

CRIMINAL ACADEMICIANS.....IT IS THE SAME WITH TOP UP AT KORLE BU... SHAME UNTO OUR INTELECTUALS...PEN ROBBERS...INVESTIGATE ALL OTHER ALLOWANCES AND WE WILL BE SHOCKED..LET US STOP POLITICS AND BE SERIOUS AS A NATION...

• Naadu 9 years ago

Please come out and give your evidence. I will not trust such crab story. Who pays these monies and do they not know to whom they are paying? Such information are not to be posted on the internet.

• Ammaba 9 years ago

It is a shame many Ghanaians think the government is a gold mine or a cash cow. It is more shameful when it affects our education. Please lecturers submit your research to the appropriate authority for payment. No research no ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Lost country

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

This is a good start for the Government to account to the People. But it must not end with the Educational Professionals. In fact, the Government should have begun with the Executive and the Legislature. All the fat must be t ...

• Mr. Mister 9 years ago

More ee dey bee k3k3.

• kwame 9 years ago

u want money to feed ur stupid girlfriends. Fooolish potag

• GHANANI 9 years ago

This is corruption at its most wicked level.The government must establish a high powered committee to investigate these corrupt practices and bring those behind them to book.Those who have illegally taken such monies should ...

• Mr. Mister 9 years ago

NDC footsoldiers de chop small, massah.

• Kweku 9 years ago

If appointed committee members decide to get enrolled in the choppers list, then what?

• truth 9 years ago

Hello.The cleaner do. Example he needs to read wide on best disinfectant to use in order not to affect folks health. See how these PhD folks don't reason outside the box. No wonder diseases everywhere.

• Asiwome 9 years ago

• JAY 9 years ago

LOL...SENIOR WAT?SENIOR CLEANERS!!!!

HAHAHAHAH...EIII GH NKOTEE

• ko 9 years ago

Sorry Senior Librarians DO RESEARCH!!!!

• Frank 9 years ago

Too many tax-free allowances to Ghanaian government officials. There are no tax-free payments to any one in any developed countries. Europe is developed because they practise egalitarianism

• Den 9 years ago

THE WHOLE SYSTEM IS ROOTED WITH CORRUPTION YET FINGERS ALWAYS POINT AT THE PRESIDENCY.A RELATIVE OF MINE RECENTLY WENT TO GHANA AND BRIBED THE PHARMACIST IN SALTPOND GOVERNMENT HOSPITAL.HE WAS ABLE TO GET ANY AMOUNT OF DRUGS ...

• ENIMIL 9 years ago

WHEN SUCH THINGS ARE PUBLISHED, AND PEOPLE THINK THEY ARE USING IT AGAINST OTHERS, IT GETS FUNNY. SINCE WHEN HAS THIS BEEN GOING ON? HAS THE AUDITOR - GENERAL NEVER SEEN THIS? THE CURRENT MINISTER OF EDUCATION WAS A VC AT CAP ...

• Kweku 9 years ago

Looks like Ghana is free for all, make merry enjoy.

• Iwan 9 years ago

The ministry of education is now trying to play dirty. This will not work. if that is the case the ministry could just say we will only pay lecturers of tertiary institutions.

• Kojo Addae, Dansoman 9 years ago

No doubt these lecturers are afraid of writing simple research proposals. Ghana is one of the best paying countries when it comes to tertiary education. Many of the lecturers cannot even publish articles in ISI-rated journal ...

• dan 9 years ago

let the government find out quickly

• Nana Adwoa Maryland 9 years ago

I f this is true who put out the list of beneficiaries?If we know those who are not to benefit according to the proper definition of the allowance whoare waiting for?why should those who are suppose to fix the issue telling u ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

IT IS UNBELIEVABLE THAT ENLIGHTENED LECTURERS WILL BE DEMANDING PAYMENT ON RESEARCH WHILE THEY KNOW FULL WELL THAT THEY CANNOT SUBSTANTIATE WHY THEY ARE DUE THIS MONEY. GHANA IS REALLY IN TROUBLE. I NOW UNDERSTAND WHILE PEOPL ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

It should be "understand why" not while.

• Yaw Ben 9 years ago

The Herald to note: One of the cleaners who were enjoying the allowance is called Jane Naana Opoku-Agyeman. Today she is posing as minister of education and you see what is happing. Sack her and all these nonsense will stop.

• JOY T. 9 years ago

WE DON'T HAVE TO WRITE ANYTHING FOR WRITING SAKE

• Martin 9 years ago

The whole country is rotten to the core, from your glorified politicians, educated elite to lowest person on the totem pole. People see the government as a trough to feed from. The citizens cannot blame the rampant corruptio ...

• Regina 9 years ago

NDC and politics. Just go ahead and pay those who are qualified for it and stop the nonsense. Who put the names of the non lecturers on the list? Have there never been an audit report in the ministry that found this? Meanwhil ...

• Joe 9 years ago

This is a propaganda piece, the useless newspaper should ask the NCTE about how they determine the beneficiaries of the B&R Allowance. You will know after this that you need to do some research before you go public.

• ASEM 9 years ago

MASA, DO YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT? BECAFEREFUL IT DOES NOT BACK FIRE MR PROPAGANDIST

• Quophie 9 years ago

YOU CAN SAY ANYTHING TO DISCREDIT LECTURERS WHO HAVE MADE WHO YOU ARE. TELL ME OF A SINGLE INSTITUTION WITH PROOF WHERE NON LECTURERS ARE TAKING RESEARCH AND BOOK ALLOWANCE. THE UNIVERSITIES DONT RUN HAPHAZARDLY LIKE YOUR GOV ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Government's position is that monies are been paid to undeserved people. And how our government doing with these undeserved people?

• Nana Adwoa Maryland 9 years ago

Our Position is also that we pay our taxes and the Government uses part as compensation including salaries and allowances.It is the business of the Goverment to do its forensic audit to clear Ghost name anyhow we don't need t ...

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Why won't the government stipulate who gets this allowance and let the school authorities come up with their lists of who qualifies, then send in the auditors to do the scooping for justifications? This will curtail all the n ...

• Frank 9 years ago

Librarians do not have anything to do with research? Which school did you attend? Did you use the library? It is a very big shame!!!

Librarians are involved in research either on their own or assisting reSearchers with th ...

• Vince 9 years ago

Is the fund for a particular research or any research ?

• Whatever 9 years ago

Everybody is finding ways to survive or have a decent life by hook or crook. The situation is consequence of political failure an absent of a national ideal for the past 5 decades

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

THE SO-CALLED ACADEMIC STAFF ARE NOT DOING ANY RESEARCH, SO THEY FEEL GUILTY TO TAKE THE BOOTY ALONE. SO THE MONEY IS USED AS "TOP UP" SALARY BY ALL AND SUNDRY. THE GOVT'S POSITION IS SENSIBLE. ALL RESEARCHERS PRODUCE A ROAD ...

• Lagos-Man 9 years ago

na who say Gha-na-nian ino corrupt? Corrupt dey for Ghana proper from messenger na cleaner na president na everybody

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

Most of these people are the same ones demonstrating and on strike. Why? Typical Ghanaian workers. Steal and cry 'abaine'. These people are drain the nation by collecting what is not theirs. And they have the nerve to go on s ...

• kormla 9 years ago

THIEVES COMPLAINING GHANA IS HARD

• Ishimoto 9 years ago

This is liken to the National Sports Council where every staff from top to the bottom, receive bonus when Ghana Black Star wins a match

• Asiwome 9 years ago

My grade school children also do research, so where is their allowance?

• TIJANI 9 years ago

This is nothing, there worse things this this one bro. we are not God fearing people, but we go to mosque and church everyday.

• TIJANI 9 years ago

This is nothing, there worse things more than this one bro. we are not God fearing people, but we go to mosque and church everyday.

• Cool 9 years ago

If the president and his team B guys can take nasty allowance without working for it, then the NDC shits should shut their big mouths and pay the lecturers..

• ken 9 years ago

THEY PRETEND THEY BELIEVE IN GOD ON SUNDAYS AND YET DO NOT OBEY HIM. THE DEVIL HIMSELF BELIEVES IN GOD AND ONE TIME WHEN GOD CALLED HIS MEETING THE DEVIL WAS SITTING THERE TOO UNBEKNOWN TO EVEN HIS TOP ANGELS. GOD IDENTIFIED ...

• NOKWARE 9 years ago

hanaians better stop going to church and praying.Because of the abundance of our sins GOD is no more listening to our prayers.Ghanaians are serial sinners and because of that our prayers stink before God.Our prayers have beco ...

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 9 years ago

SHOCKING!CLEANERS,WATCHMEN,DRIVERS COLLECTING RESEARCH ALLOWANCE

• Gandalf 9 years ago

IF YOU HAVE DISCOVERED WRONG PAYMENTS, REMOVE THEIR NAMES. POTAG DID NOT PUT THEM THERE.

• D.D. Osei 9 years ago

Shame on Egbert if what is been said by The Heralds is correct. This is exactly the point Nunoo-Mensah has made about indiscipline Ghanaians. UTAG go on strike for research the so -called university lecturers never undertake ...

• kk 9 years ago

You are wrong there. They are supposed to direct research in every university.

• Nii 9 years ago

This shows the dishonesty of both claims and the administrators of the research fund. Yet the lecturers are accrusing the govt for taking a stand.

• BIKAJ 9 years ago

I think this is a cool chop for the BNI to start arresting those culprits since Heralds have the evidence, in order not to conflict the genuine claim of the hard working lecturers.

• Ghanaman Original, USA 9 years ago

No wonder our Universities and Technology Institutions are producing very little in terms of innovation, application and improvement. We do not even know why we go to school. To cheat or to innovate?
    In the USA, you have to ...

• Ghanaman Original, USA 9 years ago

The time has come to stop the ENDEMIC PERENNIAL WASTE of PRECIOUS RESOURCES.
    Resource management is key. Are we getting the best value for our money?

• TEE 9 years ago

BECAUSE OF THE 2016 ELECTION, MAHAMA THIS IS NOT THE CORRUPTION YOU HAVE TO FIGHT. WE NEED THE MONEY FROM WOYOMI SADA etc. PERIOD

• Nana Bonsu, New Jersey, USA 9 years ago

No supervision, even those supposed to show the way are corrupt. That is why I always cry for all these institutions to be privatized. Let the lecturers own shares and all the wahalas will cease. Please government hands off a ...

• TEE 9 years ago

ELECTION IS COMING WE GO SEE MAHAMA THIEF MAN

• Adjei 9 years ago

Our lectures and those involved in education must all go through basic supervisory skills. This is a typical example of where intellectuals put all knowledge aside and connive and condone wrong doing. Professionalism and syst ...

• Akwas 9 years ago

the whole names be scrutinized and ghost names eliminated. this should apply to all sectors of the economy.The whole country should be evaluated .People receive allowances that they don't deserve.

• Stealer Watchman 9 years ago

with this kind of indiscipline and corrupt behaviour?
    We get up and blame politicians of corruption and not knowing that some of the citizens are more corrupt and stealing. We should be ashamed of ourselves.

• F.G. TOWORFE 9 years ago

Empty barrels make the most noise. Look at these thieves shouting at the top of their voices, yet they are the thieves. THIEVES OOOO, THIEVES! Ghana Universities, THIEVES! 'ANOMA KONEKONE'.

• Paa Solow 9 years ago

s the minister of education aware that Ghana has a statutory organization responsible for conducting scientific and industrial research for the benefit of Ghana and mankind in general for which reason huge financial resources ...

• SALII 9 years ago

The recent 2013/2014 best 400 University list came out with no even one Ghanaian university listed in. Only two universities from Africa and they are all South Africa were able to include list. And these Lecturers are here d ...

• Arrow 9 years ago

If the alleged revelation by Herald comes out as truth, then all those who benefited illegally must be arrested by the BNI and arranged before court within 48 hours.
    As for the lecturers, they should be paid if they can prod ...

• Paapa 9 years ago

This has to be scrapped indeed. What research have they done?

It must not be a blanket payment but to those who have proven to have truly made research.

This is common sense. Government must not back down on its stance ...

• GhanaMassai,France. 9 years ago

Fantastic!!! If "The Herald" is "heraldically" trust-worthy in his shocking discoveries, I guess that I'd have to pack off from France, dash fast back to my Motherland, secure a job as a Senior Cleaner or Watchman at Legon & ...

• SIR JACOB 9 years ago

BUILDING AND ROOFING ALLOWANCE. ENOUGH OF THE BLUFF BY LECTURERS. NPP-INSPIRED STRIKES ALL THE WAY.

• Ebo kobena john 9 years ago

I wonder what's actually happening. Now education is on the verge of it crescendo. Govt should do something now

• BRO DAN -TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, -"REJOICE WITH THEM THAT REJOICE" SELAH. HUMANITY; AUGUST '14TH' 2014; HAPPY 5TH BIRTHDAY TO -GRACE OHEMAA SARKODIE. HUMANITY; ...

• Nii Stranger 9 years ago

This story is "Nonsense"...it is not credible...this is "ARM-CHAIR" journalism. Let the Herald publish the full list of those 'so-called' Cleaners and Drivers. It is a challenge

• Sulemana from Tamale 9 years ago

Gh lecturers ar money-lecturers who don't hav their Nation n students at heart

• Adesan 9 years ago

Now publish their names.

• ohene 9 years ago

90% of ministers in this administration have no previous management experience.

• BROOM 9 years ago

GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE VERY FUNNY!

SO THIS PRACTICE HAD BEEN GOING ON OVER THE YEARS, AND NOBODY RAISED THE ALARM UNTIL GHANA STARTED BLEEDING.

• kwame peter 9 years ago

So a ban wants to use propaganda to shock it's response similitude and siphon the money to dubai for houses? Kofi dubai come clean!

• Liars! 9 years ago

Ugly Naana Jane Opoku Agyemang and her visionless group are now desperately hiding behind that useless newspaper called herald to spew garbage! When are these liars and criminals parading as ministers in a visionless governme ...

• NATH BANINI 9 years ago

INVESTIGATE......INVESTIGATE.......INVESTIGATE and when you find out the truth , let ghanians know and who ever put the unappropriate people on the pay role for that allowance ,send them to court and put them to jail, WE ARE ...

• Steve 9 years ago

Pro.Naana Opoku Agyemang, you once profited from the allowance. You were a vice Chancellor and cleaners and all those unqualified were getting the money. You made these workers receive the money and now you are calling for st ...

• SAM 9 years ago

I have always held the view that the nation is what it is not just because of the govt but the whole society is corrupt and we have the animal to blame which is the Govt.
    Are these lectures even using the research allowance ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Sick and Confused nation !

• OSMAN ISSAKA 9 years ago

DON
    'T THE PAY MASTER CHECK PPL WHO ARE SUPPOSE TO COLLECT ANY AMOUNT FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE? IF THIS IS TRU THEN SOMEONE S CHOPPING INSIDE SO THOSE RESPONSIBLE SHOULD COUGH THE KUDI THANKS TO THE WHISTLE BLOWER