You are here: HomeNews2014 08 10Article 320590

Ghana’s once golden economy plunges to ‘ground zero’

Read Comments Comments (124)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MR. FIGURE OUT----------
    It is only in Ghana would such a dishonorably idiot be on the government pay roll. Professor Mill should be solely blamed for imposing those criminals on us. After Mills found Betty Moulds gu ...

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CAN'T YOU SEE? JUST OPEN YOUR EARS; CAN'T YOU HEAR? IS THIS THE GHANA K4 HAND ...

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL. IT APPEARS YOU KNOW JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA VERY WELL. ARE YOU HIS FRIEND? NO COMMENT

• Patience T. Mensah 9 years ago

The next Gov't shd not only execute corrupt pple like Rawlings wife and Wayomy but deep corrupt pple like Tony Luthur who facilitated and influenced these dubious payments

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Everybody is complaining bitterly but very few dare speak the truth . We shall never move forward until the undeclared war against the Akans, discrimination of the majority and anti Akan propaganda hate agenda is resolved. ...

• Npp dwarfs 9 years ago

look at a dwarf taking.But had always complained at k4s time too so dont talk as if we were rich b4.Since i was born Ghana has neva been ok .We always complained so hardship has neva been new.have complained.Things have alway ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

WHEN YOU HAVE ABOUT 6M ANIMAL GHANAIANS VOTING AND FOR NDC WHAT WOULD ONE EXPECT? TOO MANY UNCIVILIZED! WE NEED TO CUT THEM OUT ELSE WE PERISH

• CURRENT LEADERS 9 years ago

GHANA IS NOT SADDLED BY DEBTS CREATED AND SQUANDERED BY PAST LEADERS. GHANA'S DEBTS WERE CREATED AND LOOTED BY ITS CURRENT LEADERS. OVER US$20 BILLION LOANS CONTRACTED SINCE 2009, AND ALL GONE WITH NOTHING TO SHOW. THE WAY OU ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I am calling the youths and the good people of Volta Region to be carefully watch the Akan's npp General Secretary Kwabena Agyapong utterances which he strongly linked the deadly EBOLA disease to the Great Volta Region. These ...

• Npp dwarfs 9 years ago

No body will vote for that npp rat who sniffs cocaine as well.

• PREKESE 9 years ago

THIS IS NOT A MATTER OF VOTING FOR NPP OR NOT.NDC HAS DESTROYED EVERYTHING IN GHANA BELIEVE IT OR NOT WE ARE GOING TO VOTE THOSE IDIOTS OUT.THIS DONKEY HAS NOTHING TO OFFER.

• Wiseman 9 years ago

This country is very far from ground zero and will NEVER get there. We are so much blessed and are temporarily afflicted. The doom mongers will soon be put to shame. This government will NEVER fail and the country will triump ...

• walid 9 years ago

MAHAMA ET AL HAVE INFLECTED PAIN AND MISURY ON ALL GHANA PEOPLE WE ARE SOON GOING TO ALL STARVE TO DEATH UNDER MAHAMA VOODO ECONOMICS SO LETS STOP THE LIES MAN AND START LOOKING AT THE TRUTH OF GHANA WE ARE POOR AND GETTING ...

• pap 9 years ago

Don't deceive yourself. The lens you are wearing is tainted in political colours that is preventing you to see reality. Please remove it and see clearly the fate of our dear nation

• jj Rawlings 9 years ago

The cedi is on the rocks.????.Who is to be blamed.The sitting government of the ndc.The structural reforms executed by ex President Honorable Kuffour was the right thing for Ghana.Now with this reversal of fortune by ndc gove ...

• TEE 9 years ago

GHANAIANS DID NOT VOTE MAHAMA INTO POWER RATHER MAHAMA PAID BRIBED TO THE SUPREME JUDGES IN GHANA TO MADE HIM A PRESIDENT AND THAT IS THE RESULT PERIOD. NEXT TIME GHANAIANS SHUOLD THINK TWICE IN VOTING IF THEY NEED LIFE CHANG ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Is useless Fiifi Kwetey reading this report or not? Within a year, our currency has lost 30% of it's value against the dollar. The biggest drop in the world today? What is that useless boy doing in the ministry of Agriculture ...

• The Mask 9 years ago

Rape cases are on the increase in Ghana. Judges and WAJU of the Ghana police force must do more to protect our society. Some people have become so notorious of raping and getting away with it. Many believe that it is a weapon ...

• Akan 9 years ago

Even those who think we have one of our own in power' know the northerner has no clue what he is doing. By the way why should NPP even include one of them even as a deputy. They never used to school themselves. When I listen ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

Pepeni and as well as ayigbe siblings have make our worst day. You talk about pepeni, they say, pepeni's are good. You talk of ayigbe, they say, ayigbe's are clever. I wonder why these combinations could not help them to cont ...

• Mike Gizo 9 years ago

Good analysis

• UNBELIEVABLE 9 years ago

TOLD YOU (GHANAIANS) MAHAMA CANNOT MANAGE THE ECONOMY

• PEEPEENI CAN'T RUN ECONOMY 9 years ago

MUCH EASIER TO FUCK-PUSSY THAN RUN ECONOMY

• CANNOT RUN ECONOMY 9 years ago

RUNNING ECONOMY MUCH TOUGHER THAN FUCKING-PUSSY MAHAMA

WE ALL LOVE PUSSY, BUT RUNNING AN ECONOMY OR COUNTRY IS DIFFERENT. FOOLS CAN'T DO IT. THEY ARE BOUND TO BE EXPOSED!!!!!!!!!!!

• Akos 9 years ago

Mismanagement & reckless spending coupled with the constant borrowing is the cause of Ghana's woe. How can debts, which was virtually wipeout few years ago, skyrocket in just 2yrs? It's enough to give Ghanaians heart attack.

• Tweeaa 9 years ago

My heart is bleeding for mother ghana. Everything Ghanaians worked so hard for is now in the gutters. Politicians must bow their heads in shame.

• Nana Appiah 9 years ago

What do you mean by Skyrocketed in just two years..?? This reckless foundation was Set by kuffuor and the Npp but unfortunately the Mahama and the NDC including the entire Nation underestimated the damage caused..Why do you t ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

After all this destruction, you are still blaming the Kuffuors. You are a true Trokosi. You only believe in propaganda and lies to solve your problems but that never lasts long. We know Trokosis never give up even when they a ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Go & read Bloomberg & other financial report before calling my post 'nonsense'. Ghana debts in 2005 of $14 billion was cleared as a result of a debt relief but now, this administration have racked up borrowing with nothing to ...

• Linda 9 years ago

Nana Appiah, it's so much easier to point a finger than take responsibility for your own actions. Blame creates no change & that's the biggest problem with politicians. When they behave badly, they always look to justify for ...

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

Appiah, are you blind? Don't you see how incompetent and corrupt this Mahama government is? People like you vote brain dead idiots into power and still continue to support them as they fail in developing the country.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

One of MAHAMA'S LEGACY AND PROJECT IS THIS:

THE TALLEST BUILDING IN AFRICA,LOCATED IN DOWNTOWN BOLIGA TANGA.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Fool, after the ndc so called unprecedented growth of 14 percent, lowest inflation of 8 percent etc, you ayigbe smelly illiterate fool is grabbing on straws.

After eight years of only eight billion dollars deficit, this At ...

• Whoever 9 years ago

Where did he get that Nana Appiah name from? Was his trokosi mother a maid servant who named her son after her employer?

• Akos 9 years ago

No, an Asante man who was pumping his mother impregnated her but did not accept him.

Useless fool... Self Praised maggot.. Listen to this graduate from Kejetia Vocational Institute, Trying to further his education from GhanaWeb, by picking Ideas from Smart Patrons..Hey Saponkyi, Try to know the difference bet ...

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

Chew a cola and relax!

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Idiot, Ghana pays that, fool and that is why you are an illiterate who don't even belong here .

Your stupid Atongo-trokosi government signed a contract with China for 3 billion dollars and agreed to pay it in 15 years at a ...

You are still not making Sense as Usual..hahaha. No One Pays 25% interest a year on Debt..You still don't get it Stupid!!! Where are you getting your imaginary Numbers from?? I bet GhanaWeb as Usual..hahahahaha..KWASEA..

• JH New York 9 years ago

Two different political partys in Ghana is equals = to blame game, jealousy, pull him-down,unfounded allegations etc,instead of prudent economic plans like :Business, Macro Economics-for stability,and Economic Empowerment fo ...

Again,leadership is about Common Sense approach to resolve issues. Leadership is not about increasing Petrol prices about 5 times in a year. Leadership is not about increases of School fees and Services to put unbearable fina ...

Not until the root cause of all these problems are tackled once and for all, The Country will always drift into economic chaos..No1. All Government officials should be thoroughly vetted and held responsible should they indulg ...

Yes,but don't overlook the fact that prudent economic and financial policies and measures for growth and long term Investment are Disciplines. Discipline as you suggest in the cont ...

Am not against any investigation that will lead to prosecution...But when the strict laws I suggested are enacted, then all Ghanaians will know that we mean business especially those in public offices...Look at Mozambique" Ze ...

Ok. The problem is,where is that leader to lead .

Correction:
    The question is;where is that person to lead.

JH, Its a very difficult One..Unless Animals become humans with Strict Measures Governing them...In a modern Democracy no where in the World would you get away with obvious Corruption..
    We Can Achieve that Or find that leade ...

• Remove Indemnity Clause 9 years ago

Please do not help any African country because the money will be looted and shared among greedy bastards politicians.

• Erasmus 9 years ago

• gonja 9 years ago

the Chinese think of blacks worse than monkeys. They will never cancel the debts. We even allow them to take our gold for free and destroy our environment. I think everyone in gh should be taken abroad for about 3 months so t ...

• Kwame-Dublin 9 years ago

I said that even if the NDC sell ice water which is free they will still be incompetent and register debt for the country -- now look at what is happening -- the many achievements by NPP has been eroded -- Ghanainas will not ...

• Nana 9 years ago

The first government started with oil revenue and didn't take advantage of it to create jobs, improving citizens living condition and etc. What went wrong?..... Very sad!!!

LET US NOT ACCEPT THIS! NO !! NOT AT ALL!!!!! NDC MUST BE PUNISHED! !! OUR LIVES ARE AT STAKE.

• TEE 9 years ago

IN THE HANDS OF NORTHERNERS EWES-TOGOLESE BANDITS PERIOD

• Meh 9 years ago

Who wrote this article? It contains a number of critical errors. First ghana's main exports are cocoa and gold, not coffee and gold. Second, the debt stock is over 24 billion not million. How can anyone take you seriously whe ...

• Cha 9 years ago

Thank you Meh, I said all along ghanaweb journalists are all jss dropout.

MICROSOFT WORD GIVES US OPTIONS, IF ATTENTION IS NOT PAID AS A RESULT OF SPEED, WRONG WORDS ARE REGISTERED.

• RASMAN !!! 9 years ago

I smell rotten egg during the redenomination exercise and Dr.Bawumia should know a lot about this. He was then deputy governor at Bank of Ghana where most transactions would have passed under his watchful eyes. How much monie ...

• Yaa 9 years ago

Still blaming NPP after almost 10yrs since they left office? Why can't some of you people use your Godgiving brains to reason & accept the fact that this administration is a total failure & the only way to move forward is to ...

• Hayford 9 years ago

Stupid tanii not accepting the fact that tanii Mahama has messed up.

First it was dwarfs

Tall buildings

The end of times

SSSS policy

Now it is the redenomination

Fool, go and tell that to ndc fool soldiers b ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

Ghana should bow down its head in shame.
    DISGUSTING!

• kwame peasah darkwah nyc 9 years ago

GHANA WE TOLD YOU GUYS ABOUT N. D .C NOW THIS IS WHERE WE ARE NOW

• Bone Shaker - BS 9 years ago

People it is not wrong to take a loan,however,it is very wrong to take loans and watch the money get stolen.
    This is what is taking place in Ghana with this NDC administration.
    During the NPP administration, Ghana had no oi ...

• Titi 9 years ago

Great comment, Bone Shaker. I remember the world over praising our nation for its good governance & companies were so eager to invest in our booming economy. Now it's all gone, thanks to this very corrupt and incompetent gove ...

• gonja 9 years ago

bone shaker, tell me what is thee wisdom in taking a loan for consumption? how are you going to repay it????????. what would you do after that loan is spent. eg will you take another loan to keep on buying sanitary pads as ok ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Ghana has never had any golden economy except you do not understand geopolitics and geostrategy.We are not masters of our own economy that is where really have to look at.Nigeria produces millions barrels of oil per day, now ...

• Bone Shaker - BS 9 years ago

BOY KOFI you are correct that Ghana is not an island.I also know that Ghana's economy is part and parcel with the global economy, but what Ghana needs to address is home grown, and it is corruption.
    Stop Woyome type of peopl ...

Where were you when just 2-3 years ago, Ghana was said to have the world's fastest growing economy?

• OP 9 years ago

It all started when the NDC started borrowing frantically as though there was no tomorrow. The sad thing is all the money borrowed was either stolen or showering cars on the stupid institution called house of chiefs whose tee ...

• Patriot 9 years ago

The IMF must insist on how we reached this level of indebtedness and what is there to show for it. This will stymie any future attempts to misappropriate government funds. In the meantime, what is the wisdom in giving grants ...

• The nationalist 9 years ago

WHEN WE DONT PRODUCE BUT RELY ON FOREIGN GOODS FOR OUR DAILY BREAD. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS. GHANAAINS PLEASE LETS ADVICE OURSELVES.

• MUSA NR 9 years ago

MAHAMA START TO WRITE YOUR HANDOVER

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Is this the future Ghana our ancestors laid their lives for? If there is truly a HELL I wish to apply to be an assistant to cater for only Ghanaians.

• Bob 9 years ago

Ghana does not need debt cancellation, we need prudent men to govern.

• Kwame VS Kofi 9 years ago

Africa has received !! trillions of $ !! in the past 50 Years! The money is gone and so will the next credit -or bailout! After taking loans or gifts from International donors or Banks, they don`t wan`t to hear anything about ...

• Danso 9 years ago

When you build on sand, anticipate unseen oil revenues and increase salaries of even non-productive workers, 'the golden economy' will be an illusion! Our problems come from a greedy work force that has no spirit of sacrifice ...

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA: AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED ALL OUR CREDITORS SHOULD FOLLOW THE SIMPLE EXAMPLE OF CHINA : GHANA SHOULD BE MADE TO PAY EVERY PENNY OF THEIR DEBT TO ALL OUR DEBTORS BECAUSE THE SCALE OF POVERTY IN CHINA IF YOU HAVE SEEN IT ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Don't cancel debts. Let Ghanaians demand acountabiulity from their leaders!

• Obournana 9 years ago

There you are Akadu. When Kuffour took Ghana to HIPC and other loan facilities, did you ever wonder where all those monies went? Have you asked just a single job created by NPP during their 8 years despite the debt relief? Sh ...

• K Man 9 years ago

The country is going down the toilet and yet still playing party politics. I see that party comes before country for you. You keep supporting NDC while the country burns...but I guess it's ok just as long as NPP is out or NDC ...

• Kevin Prince 9 years ago

You stubborn fools still support this party that has destroyed our beloved country. I still don't understand how people can choose to be behind the corruption that this political party has brought upon us and the unraveling o ...

• Mick 9 years ago

NPP wish with problem they will come to power, every day economy this economy that as if there were no any economy problems in Ghana before. Don't forget that NPP sold Ghanatelecom to pay salaries.

• JOW 9 years ago

Should we rather support the more stupid party (NPP) that overthrew Dr Kwame Nkrumah and all his development plans for Ghana?

NPP is doing every evil thing they can to damage the economy and make the ruling government unpo ...

Does NPP control the economy? Keep blaming NPP while the economy keeps collapsing. The people will rise and chase you when they are pushed too much to the corner!

If you put all the resources on earth in the hands of incompetent people, they will still be mismanaged. That is the lesson I hope, Ghana learns. If you give all your wealth to people who have no track record of work, people ...

• ADAMU 9 years ago

THE KWASIA, Finance Minister Seth Terkper, in his recent mid-year budget review, cited falling prices for coffee and gold and rising debt obligations.

If gold and cocoa prices are falling on the global market, what do you ...

• George Eshun, NY, USA 9 years ago

How long are we going to export raw materials? Is it not about time the squanded monies are used for industrial establishments to creat jobs for the people and export finished poduts to stabalized our cedi? Is there no brave ...

• Sule 9 years ago

If they had any intelligent persons within that party, they would have come to the rescue of Mahama by replacing him with one who was capable of managing the affairs of our country and turning the fortunes of Ghana around! Th ...

• Araba 9 years ago

I couldn't agree with you more Sule! The ndc should do the country and itsel a favour by replacing John Mahama. When the conservatives were faced with a similar leadership challenge, they dumped Margaret Thatcher for a new l ...

• Joe 9 years ago

If it was Bawumiah who has said this, the hawks in NDC, who do not know anything economics, would have held his throat. Now let NDC refute what is this story by Reuters. If things are going on well, why going to IMF? Our oi ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

NDC TEAM C

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

I agree, Team Z. All they know is how to rig elections and get power. Once they get the power they don't know what to do with it.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Most useless Prez.

• JOW 9 years ago

Should we rather support the more stupid party (NPP) that overthrew Dr Kwame Nkrumah and all his development plans for Ghana?

NPP is doing every evil thing they can to damage the economy and make the ruling government unpo ...

• Thessa 9 years ago

Two words to describe you, SHALLOW BRAIN

• K Man 9 years ago

Wow,the stupidity and denial is breathtaking.....NDC must give you and your family chop money or you're a government stooge.

• jojo williams 9 years ago

Mahama has messed the economy with oil. Imagine how bad he would have performed without oil! And he has nothing to show for all the misspent money!

• Tweaa 9 years ago

NDC came in power when the economy was booming & rather than making sure they stay on the right track, they first bought a presidential jet. That was the start of more mismanagement of funds.

• OP 9 years ago

When you stupid unscrupulous kings accepting free cars after selling all the lands, what else would you expect.

• PAAPA 9 years ago

I WATCHED ANAS AREMEYAW VIDEO ON YOUTUBE I ALMOST CRY. SEE HOW MUCH VODAFON,AIRTEL GOLDEN HOTEL ETC ARE OWING AND THE AGENTS COLLECT BRIBES FROM THEM AND YOU BLAME POLITICIANS.CIVIL SERVANTS ARE CORRUPT THAN ANY GOVT IN GHANA

• kyekyedru atumpam 9 years ago

Ghanaians are the most jealous, hateful evil people I have seen in my life. Being born in the USA, where education is free if you work hard, is better than evil ghana any day.

• Fabs 9 years ago

So why are you concerned so much that you came onto this site. Your point is general and has no bearing.

Lots of people could argue to feel sorry that you're a brainwashed American...probably living a slob life,ignorant of ...

• Go-go 9 years ago

Don't mind that idiot pretending to be american. Notice the name?

• Fabs 9 years ago

It's true....give some Ghanaians a foreign passport and watch them lose their identity.

• Queen 9 years ago

And I'm glad you're not a Ghanaian cuz your childish description of Ghanaians are baseless & unwarranted. I guess you've met the entire population of Ghanaians for you to spew such rubbish.

What is so good about Ghana. They cannot even sustain a stable economy. They hate each other due to tribalism. They hate people who know how to make money. They claim Chirtianity, but are not christ like. These people are evi ...

• QM2 9 years ago

BOOKS ALL CONCERNED GHANAIANS MUST READ "A Game as Old as Empire – The Secret World of Economic Hit Men and the Web of Global Corruption" edited by Steven Hiatt

In A Game as Old as Empire, Editor Steven Hiatt has co ...

• DDKT 9 years ago

Why do ghanaians allow themselves to be decieve by npp nd ndc. even after the IMF programmee was completed under kuffuor the cedi continued to depreciate under his regime. what reasonable mañner of person would think kuffuor ...

• Say What? 9 years ago

"The Battle of Bretton Woods" by Benn Steil is another must-read for Ghanaians if they will rather just read intead of engaging in tribal politics in this modern internet driven age. There are supposedly PhD holders resident ...

Abolish and Demolish the country.

• DDKT 9 years ago

Wat legacy did kuffuor leave behind? he litteraly double the countries dept after completing the IMF programmee. didn't he left behind arrears that were never paid. didn't he dubiously shove down with the help of IMF "a lower ...

• PREKESE 9 years ago

KWASEA STOP THE NOISE AND GO BACK TO SCHOOL DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN OFUI!.DID YOUR IDIOT MAHAMAH KNOWS THAT WHEN HE WAS BRAGGING OVER THE ECONOMY DURING THE ELECTIONS ERA?.

• sam 9 years ago

It amazes me how we blame the govt for everything that goes wrong. Is it the govt that throws rubbish indiscriminately,? is it the govt that drives around with complete disregard for the law. Is it the govt that makes us all ...

• ENGLISH IS NOT HELPING GHANA 9 years ago

I DIDN'T RECEIVE A DIME OR PENNY FROM LOOT AND SHARE , ASIEDU NKETIAH , WOYOME , AND PRESIDENT BROTHERS & FAMILY ARE FUCKING RICH BEYOUNG THE RICHEST IN IDIOT GHANA .

• mensah seattle, wa 9 years ago

its all propaghd, here we go again in soon no time politices is going to overrtake every aspect of live in ghana, politicians scarly people with their negatives tatics, paying off some known media to publicise fear into the e ...

• Obi 9 years ago

NDC is a punishment to Ghanaians, what else. But Ghanaians continue to vote for them until they suck the nation dry.

• akobeah usa 9 years ago

some ghanaians will still vote for the
    thieves ndc

• walid 9 years ago

that is why Ghana is going backward yes you are right falks will elect ndc losers again

• Yaa Adoma 9 years ago

Ghana's been ran aground thanks to ndc gangs

• Nana Kwesi Mensah 9 years ago

NDC came with Rawlings and Most of Our Factories and Industries got Wiped Out as He Sold them all to the Level that Even His Wife Got one of the Best to Buy......Where would the Youth Find Employment Now....? It used to be V ...

• DOOBIA 9 years ago

With my almost 50yrs in Ghana, I cannot remember when the economy was golden. Is it when prez Kufuor with Bowl-in-hand declared the country hipc to get free money or when prez Bush gave us the MCA (MiDA) money? Can these unsu ...

• yiddana@yahoo.com 9 years ago

Africa must be managed by people who know what they are doing. Sad but real, many leaders in Africa have no idea running a country is like running a business with lots of social expectations.

• Kwakuba 9 years ago

Ghana's once golden economy plunges to ground zero