You are here: HomeNews2014 08 06Article 320057

Ghana to 'import' Indian farmers

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Why not send Ghanaians to be trained and then make them the same offer?

• DAN 9 years ago

untill the opem manufacturing plants in ghana!

• Nii Mensah 9 years ago

It is by time Ghana leaders think and make good use of what they learned from school. What were these leaders thinking, when they decided to bring indians into the country to teach us high-tech farming. Wouldn't it be more se ...

• SKALANBONE 9 years ago

useless people messing up on a rich God given land.

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 9 years ago

They want to lease lands to Indian business farmers. To.come and work and make money from gh. All in return for quick cash. Why don't you invest in your own people? Can't you control your r own peopleto delivery optimal resul ...

• wali 9 years ago

THAT IS WHY GHANA GOVRENMENT ARE LOOKING FOR FARMERS FROM INDIA

• Frank 9 years ago

you,mr Wali is equally as foolish as that Ghanaian minister.

To give rich agricultural lands, 20-25 thousand acres to foreigners to settle on is the most absurd, foolish, stupid and block-headed decision ever taken by any ...

• Campaign Against Corruption 9 years ago

Could the Depubty Minister of Energy concerntrate on contributing to solving Ghana's energy problems rather than listening to lunatic proposals of Ghana importing Punjab farmers and biscuits. Our Ministers seems to travel ou ...

• SEIDU JOHNSON GERMANY 9 years ago

IMPORT FARMERS FROM INDIA? NDC IS USELESS PARTY

• Newsite Bansah 9 years ago

Why do we need to import farmers from India? Let's find real solutions to our problems and stop this scatter-brain grasping for non-solutions.

By the way, where do we keep finding these useless people to run our country ...

• abena 9 years ago

because there are vast farmland and Ghanaians are not farming as they should. If you choose to go into farming like I have, getting reliable people to work on the farm is a problem. Ghanaian are not lazy but we are not also k ...

• ANTI 9 years ago

IMPORTATION OF INDIAN FARMERS IS NOT THE SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEMS CITED. FARMING EQUIPMENT? MAYBE.

• NANA J, K. 9 years ago

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE AGRICULTURE FACULTIES IN OUR UNIVERSITIES.
    CAN'T THEY TAKE UP THIS PROJECT.
    OUR LATE PRESIDENT KWAME NKRUMA FORMED THE WORKERS BRIGADE AND GAVE PEOPLE EMPLOYMENT AND FOOD WAS ABUDANT.
    THE NDC AND MAHAM ...

• NANA ARABA 9 years ago

EMPLOY EXPERTISE FROM INDIA AND LET THEM WORK WITH GHANAIAN AGRIC PROFESSIONALS FROM THE UNIVERSITIES, AND INVITE GHANAIAN AGRICULTURAL PROFESSIONALS CURRENTLY WORKING ABROAD & GHANAIAN AGRIC PROFESSIONALS WHO WANT TO RELOC ...

Congratulations on going into farming - I am planning to do the same.

I beg to differ that Ghanaians are not known for hard work. We fed ourselves for centuries without Punjabi farmers and as far as I know, farming has ...

• the truth 9 years ago

What about buying the equipment's and teach ur people how to use them?.l heard someone saying Black man is capable of managing his own affairs,what affairs?.Ghana government imported US intelligence to investigate fire outbre ...

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Mugabe sent White farmers packing in Zimbabwe and brought hardship on his country.
    We need expertise and modern equipment to feed our people well. Maybe the Indians will teach us a lesson or two

• kb 9 years ago

Stop these nonsense Ghanaian farmers aren't lepers.they only need a financial aide.bring the India and give them free house's SUV cars drivers, leave Ghanaian farmers at bay.nonsense who bring these stupid idea.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

I AM VERY AND DEEPLY ASHAMED OF HOW MAHAMA RUNS THIS COUNTRY.
    It looks like our government body doesn't know where to turn to,any longer.
    HE WHO DOES NOT STAND FOR SOMETHING,FALLS FOR JUST ANYTHING THAT COMES HIS WAY:
    PRES ...

• Farmer John 9 years ago

I own a super large farm in Ghana. I bought my own equipment, constructed my own housing for my farm hands etc. I need a road badly to move my produce from my farm to the roadside. I even bought a truck just to navigate the t ...

• Meshack 9 years ago

What a stupid government we have in this country...does Mahama have any brain within his skull? Is Ghana capable of anything...just anything? A bunch of idiots parading as a government...Ghana does not need any help from Punj ...

• ANTI 9 years ago

PLEASE DON'T DO THIS. GHANA WOULD BE A NET EXPORTER OF FOOD IF GOVERNMENT ALLOW OUR FARMERS TO BENEFIT FROM THE RESEARCH OF CSIR, THE NUMEROUS AGRICULTURAL COLLEGES, BUNSU, AND AGRIC. DEPARTMENTS IN OUR UNIVERSITIES.

• I say 9 years ago

WHAAAT ! what nkwasiasem is this ? For goodnes sake. I dont get it. This government wants to be seen to be doing all sorts of stuff except helping its own. They start things and then stop for money to run out. projects start ...

• Alhaji Jesus 9 years ago

@kojo..indeed we could send our own GH farmers to India to train just like we sending thousands of students on scholarships abroad at the states expense and what do we really get in return or how many do return to help the mo ...

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

why import farmers whilst we have equally best,... ''EASY SYSTEM:just import tractors & irrigation materials and form agric co-ops in all the regions...Indians and europians are using the same system,co-op member farmers join ...

• Onyankopong Komfo 9 years ago

Its Time Ghanaians rise up against this Garbage mahama Government.
    Enough is Enough.
    How dare Mahama give away our Sacred land to Indians ?.
    Does he not know what goes in Kenya as Indians has connived to dominate that coun ...

• Bobby Bombo 9 years ago

wow, now we have to import farmers too. This NDC gov't have no clue as to how to run a country. Importation of farmers paaaaaaaa.

• Kwabena Gyamfi 9 years ago

What a daft idea! Ghana does not need this. The Chinese are causing havoc in Ghana with their galamsey and now we are opening our doors t othe Indians? Oh Christ help Ghana. If we do not take care a few years down the line th ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 9 years ago

we should do all we can NOT to open our doors to them.

• Big Joe --- Moscow /Kharkov 9 years ago

in africa politicians are voted into power to steal. destroy and to kill their activities in office is synonymous to the works of devil jn 10:10......... an nothing else. Ghana is now a failed a failed state.. impor ...

• makai 9 years ago

lets try this way,b'cos learning from others is a great wealth

• ron D 9 years ago

This is a bloody shame.I am so ashamed to be a Ghanaian right now hearing this nonsense.From pads to farmers.God help us all.

• abongo cars 9 years ago

That may be so but are you really comparing like for like? India is vast and they have large areas with people of extreme poverty - seriously poor who are also subject to the infamous CASTE system. The Punjabi caste are eithe ...

I really have to question the idea and moral behind such a move. When Nkrumah wanted ghanaians to learn something, he sent ghanainas to that place and sponsoired them. Mahama even sent Doctors to Cuba but forgot to pay them. ...

• Daavi 9 years ago

MAJOR PROBLEMS ARE:PRESERVATION AND MARKET ACCESS.

DIFFICULT FINANCIAL AID FROM BANKS(NO COLATERAL). PRIMITIVE METHOD OF FARMING DUE TO LACK OF EQUIPMENT. - PRESERVATION OF FOOD. MARKET ACCESS - BAD TRANSPORT SYSTEM.

• BRING IT ON! 9 years ago

Does Mahama really want to do that? He must first give the land on which his own ancestors live. Are all our agric colleges and their teaching useless? What stupidity is this? Is it a northern mentality? Is this what Ghana is ...

• walid 9 years ago

mahama could not care less about us

• Nii Aryee 9 years ago

This sounds like an undercover way to grow GMO crops in Ghana because Ghanaian farmers are against it.

• Palogo 9 years ago

Agya Ghana foo agyimi paao! Saa Mahama yi ne Government wei dee words fail me. Mmoa koraa enye saa decision yi.

• Meh 9 years ago

If you want to be the best, go for best. Not to disparage India but are they the best in farming. Ghana should aim high and not always go after these half arse solutions.

Well said but doe sthat mean your best idea is to bring in farmers? Is government so devoid of ideas and encouragement that it has to resolve to such measures every time? When we are trying so hard to get rid of the begging b ...

• KT 9 years ago

This is what happens when u appoint Lazy and Inexperieced people into public positions

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Farmers to be imported from India? This is a crazy idea.I tell you there is more poverty in India than there is in Ghana.Maybe they are coming as indentured labourers.

It is somewhat bewildering that a deputy minister of energy is the one espousing this idea instead of someone from the agriculture ministry. Needless to say, he is probably way over his head.

Instead of continually coming ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 9 years ago

govt should think about this seriously. Giving large areas of a country's land to foreigners is a very serious undertaking. There are all kinds of options available to develop agriculture as a private enterprise in the countr ...

• Rogue Ray 9 years ago

The farming system that can save Ghana is mechanized. Farm machinery and processing plants are what we need to boost agriculture and not Cutlass and hoe farming

• Rogue Ray 9 years ago

Who can tell me that the Israelis and the Palestinians are not fighting over land? If you sit on your chair and someone asks you to share with him or her, you must know how to answer that person or how to entrench or ensh ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

when is this foolishness going to end?

• Oheneba Quaye 9 years ago

If Punjab state is so great, instead giving away 25,000 acres, why not give them 25 houses and import their politicians to assist Ghana. Then sack our useless government and have them rule Ghana. Then we may have better polic ...

• Daniel Asiedu 9 years ago

Foolish Ghanians in power. How dare they say that they will import human capital when there is enough resources in the country. The government is failing it's people miserabley!! Instead of them to train import farmers to t ...

• Adesan 9 years ago

It is worth a try and hopefully lazt Ghaianians would learn to earn a living in toiling on the earth to make a living.

• KWAME uk 9 years ago

Stupid leaders !!!!!

• anon y'mous 9 years ago

Sukhbir Badal is #1 Corrupt politician from a political dynastic family led by his Corrupt father Parkash Singh Badal. They have looted every corner of punjab and are notorious for getting the youth hooked on synthetic Punjab ...