You are here: HomeNews2014 07 27Article 318717

Forfeit 10% of your pay if you so love Ghana” – Murtala dares TUC boss

Read Comments Comments (128)

• kk 9 years ago

Mahama had a wonderful tweet response from the US Embassy. Foolish Murtala

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

OR IS IT BECAUSE YOUR STUPID PREZ IS DOING IT? WHO KNOWS IF HE EVEN DOES IT!!

• clueless Bawumia 9 years ago

But Kofi Asamoa is a Ghanaian and so he must also sacrifice. God will Punish all those who insulted atta mills starting from Kajetia

• NEVER AGAIN 9 years ago

FOR MURTALA SO LOVED THE COUNTRY.THAT HE GAVE HIS ONLY ILL BEGOTTEN 10% OF HIS SALARY.THAT ANYONE WHO IS FOOLED BY THIS'LL HAVE A BLISSFUL LIFE.

• Anonymous Coward 9 years ago

Sometimes you wonder why a country like Ghana will stoop so low to have idiots like murtala spewing cabbage. Was the TUC chairman part of the create, loot, and share.

• Boyefio 9 years ago

Sometimes it's better when government appointees keep their mouth shut.When they speak, nothing good comes out of their stinking mouth.

• gh vi 9 years ago

My God, i can't believe my eyes. how much is Murtala earning? so, his point is that Kofi Asamoah's salary is good so he shouldn't complain? what about the ordinary Ghanaian worker whose salary is not able to carry him through ...

• Sallie 9 years ago

I'm not surprised that the Mahama government has rundown Ghana.The people he has chosen to be his ministers are so ignorant, incompetent, not enlighten .Anyway they have just been brought out from the Amazon forest.

• Ali 9 years ago

Folks, that's Murtala pampers. I have been asking all the time who has the brains in the NDC administration, none. It's easy to tell who are in control of the nation. Our economy is unconscious.
    Murtala useless man who can't ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

Ghanaians can't we shut this idiot minister mouth? I have never ever heard him saying any sensible thing. Mahama must sack him if he believes that he is Man of himself?

• SGT ANAI FIADZOE 9 years ago

This corrupt and transparent thief and brigand Mutala Mohamed if so love Ghana, should stop stealing from the KAYAYO for his own selfish interest, but should stop stealing our money to buy cars V8 Land Cruisers and give to ch ...

• Paa 9 years ago

The time is coming, & is right at the corner when gangsters will be shooting government officials anyhow because of "We see you eating very well & riding in very good cars and the greatest majority are very hungary and can't ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author: OBAA YAA
    ...So, the people around the president including his wife and those Team “B” staffers were aware of the president failing health. Therefore, who were they kidding when they ruin insults on whoever quest ...

• facts 9 years ago

Empty barrels make the loudest noise. MUTALA CONTINUES TO GO ROUND TO TALK. HE WILL NOT SIT DOWN AND REASON OUT IDEAS TO SOLVE THE CRISES GHANA IS GOING THROUGH. Let Mutala understand that crises are challenges as well. The ...

• blest 9 years ago

It will be the same if NPP wins.Now no more hipc money to chop wawawaa,and u left a huge dept even though NPP took over gov with with a clean start,no debts to pay.So he had every chance to do 10x more than his opponate Mills

• Nana Konadu 9 years ago

Stupid minister

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

another low grade JSS minister

• Onipaba 9 years ago

What did Ghana do to deserve idiots as ministers.God help Ghana

• Ike 9 years ago

With people like these as Ministers is it any wonder that we are where we are? Can you believe that people voted for him to go and represent them in parliament!

• Frank 9 years ago

THAT IS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU HAVE IDIOT FOOLS BLOCK HEADS RULING GHANA. THEY ARE LOST DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. JUST THERE BECAUSE THEY HAVE TO BE THERE TO OCCUPY SPACE TILL 2016

• Max 9 years ago

I can tell you what ghanaians did to deserve this. They foolishly voted for ndc and they are being paid for their stupidity.

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

MURTALA IS VERY SICK IN THE HEAD. THE TEN PERCENT PAY CUT WOULD NOT SOLVE GHANA'S PROBLEMS. LOOK THE CORRUPTION GOING ON....GEEDA, CEEDA, BEEDA, ZOOMTIGER, ZOOMANTELOPE, SADA, GADA, TADA, WYOMING USA, AFRICA MOTORS, EUROPEAN ...

• MD-Wa 9 years ago

These so called ministers think they are wise! You have people who come into government and increase their pay to over 100% while the civil servants continue to receive lower salaries without any meaningful adjustments. The p ...

• taguchi 9 years ago

Hear another goat from the north talking. When did dat phenomenon of pay cutting as a means to solve our country start. See! After wasting huge money in the so called gyeeda, subah , asontaba , judgement debts, u know turn ro ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Where did Mahama get some of these ministers? Muturla,how many enjoy the benefits you have? You need some proper education in politics. Why do people want to comment on issues that are not even in their department or ministry ...

• nii 9 years ago

you are a slave of the Asante kingdom.

• newman usa 9 years ago

we have such sycphants as ministers who will mot suggestions to help the president to resucitate our failing economy. God help ghana. some of this ministers do not contribute any sensible to help the country. this man mutala ...

• Nii Okai 9 years ago

Yes, honourable Murtala said it right, because if anybody cares for the welfare of Ghanaians then it should be a thing of doing smoething, perhaps sacrificing part of one's salary and not only talking over issues in pretence ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

The two thousand member church was filled to overflowing capacity one Sunday morning. The preacher was ready to start the sermon when two men, dressed in long black coats and black hats entered thru the rear of the church.

• Kwadwo Nash 9 years ago

These are the people that are not telling the president the truth. I feel sad for Mahama because he has idiots turning on the fire.

• Ben 9 years ago

Taking 10% salary cut and load up on allowances is just a window dressing. Just get to work and stop arguing with the TUC officials.

• NANA O MOTHER 9 years ago

Fools if not Bamba ,is salifu or Mohammed or Abukari, Rasheed ,Bature,Ayarega and so on .Infact idiot are ruling.

• Meh 9 years ago

What nonsense - are you children to be daring each other. This is the problem of not having experienced men in leading positions in govt. NDC be serious. Your time is running out so don't screw up the country any worse than y ...

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

THE MAHAMA'S GOVERNMENT IS SICK

• Barimaba 9 years ago

Mr Minister, can you cut prices 10%?

• Abirekyieba 9 years ago

This is most unfortunate talk and threat from an a deputy minister like him. He and Pres. Mahama, what is the resource they have from the north for them to drift all developments to the north? They should tell Ghanaians.

• Woman 9 years ago

Why the increase in your salaries in the first place? you increased your salaries by over 100% and scarified 10% and you want the world to hail you? Just so you know, you can even go with zero salaries annually; the economy ...

• Obi 9 years ago

Nobody will give 10% for people like you Murtalla. Mohammed to steal the money.

• Nsemfo Ahi 9 years ago

This is absolutely unnecessary,Ghanaians don't need a president who will forfeit 10% of his allowances/salary and dip his hand into the consolidated fund without doing anything to improve the economy.
    If Kofi Asamoah were th ...

• big daddy 9 years ago

forfeit io% if you love ghaha

• Mensah 9 years ago

If the Murtala is saying the reduced their salaries by 10% without telling us the salaries, how can we know the amount of sacrifice they are making?

• ewiase de saa 9 years ago

face reality and stop this childish behaviors. what is 10% 12000.00 with various allowances.

• puncho 9 years ago

hon. minister , can 'u' be sincere for once & let Ghanaians know how much of your pay 'u' have sacrificed as demonstration of your love for mother ghana!!

• big daddy 9 years ago

forfeit 10% if you love ghana

• Kwabena Apuntuah 9 years ago

Why would anyone give up money when the government continuously increase taxes? These guys are idiots and do not make any sense. Who told them because we all love Ghana, we should starve our families whiles they lavish in cor ...

• Onipaba 9 years ago

Where did we go wrong to deserve such idiots as ministers.Poor Ghana

• bobostone 9 years ago

What will 10% of Gen. Secretary's salary do the ordinary folks? The government must think of better ways of solving the economic problems facing the nation than these kind of loose talks which solve no problems but rather rev ...

• a.k.a 9 years ago

You are very stupid how much is your salary plus some dubios allowances. I woundered why most of the NDC's are so stupid.

• yaw-london 9 years ago

this murtala guy must shut up. if we are talking about freebies, leave the govt bungalow, give up govt cars, stop the free fuel coupons, give up your house helps. stop the mischief and mahama must take note of these infantile ...

• Ibn Abudu @adams1financial@yahoo.ca 9 years ago

ARE U ALSO A TOILET & OR DISHWASHER IN LONDON OR WHAT. DO U WASH CARS OR ''''''

• Ibrahim Mahama; JDM's brother 9 years ago

Now you're a minister of state and can talk rubbish, you corrupt and irresponsible Mutala. Your place is in the toilets.Go back and clean the toilets and stop your silly remarks. Stupid boy like you you take allowance for fue ...

• Ibn Abudu @adams1financial@yahoo.ca 9 years ago

Political motivated selfish Nation Wreckers & Enemies of Ghana . They started by burning markest , now their plan is mass workers demonstration . Yet a Northerner is the President .

They are unrealistic unpatrotic enginee ...

• MD-Wa 9 years ago

I supposed you are from Tamale? Just to let you know that all the comments here by the concern Ghanaians are true reflection of Mahama's gov't. I am a dagarti and realistically, people would expect me to support the actions a ...

• Woman 9 years ago

Seriously, persons from the north should be more concerned than those from other parts of the country. I particularly don't care where the person is from, and I probably will not judge the next president by his or her tribe. ...

• samuel obeng (UEW) 9 years ago

You can forfeit even the whole 100% 0f your salary we careless.Who created the mess? It is you mutala and your cronies whom your grandfather Rawlings described as greedy bastards.Concentrate on the work that you've been paid ...

• Dan Buduh 9 years ago

Dear DM, if it is true that you are earning around $10,000 then forfeiting 10% is nothing.
    So please your statement to the TUC boss makes no sense at all. You have invited unnecessary debate for yourself. Can you make your s ...

• NDC Shameless Entities 9 years ago

Preaching Virtues and Practice Vice. With NDC UNPRECEDENTED achievement and BETTER ghana Era why do you still find it necessary to cut down salaries ??
    Send yourself(NDC) packing from the Flagstaff House if you really love a ...

• CAPII 9 years ago

IF NDC PARTY LOVES GHANA, RETRIEVE WOYOME'S JUDGEMENT DEBT,GYEEDA,SADAH,SUBA,ISOTOFON & PROSECUTE ALL CORRUPT,CREATE,LOOT & SHARE PARTY MEMBERS. IDIOT MURTALA.

• Chiga 9 years ago

Some of these babies Mahama has surrounded himself with are the cause of the problems we are facing now. They speak like uneducated foot-soldiers.
    What does 10% reduction in the head of TUC's salary do for the Ghanaian worke ...

• zoo 9 years ago

this is unfortunate comment from the minister.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

They are all missing the miseries in their livings. Born not even to parents of the middle class in ghana , they never had their chocolates in their infancies !Underdogs thieves holiganisms far from the family love that pro ...

• Efo Kobla 9 years ago

In 2013 President & politicians in the country increased their salaries by 120% and gave workers 17%. What happened to the committee the President set up to investigate why 120% increase for them at that time?

• NANA OWUSU NYANSA, GERMANY 9 years ago

10%PAY CUT FROM PREZ AND HIS CABINET IS USELESS AS COMPARED TO THEIR NUMEROUS FRINGE BENEFITS !! FREE HOUSING,CAR,FUEL AND MANY MORE !!!

• agyei 9 years ago

the so called minister is getting crazy.look at how things are going in Ghana.

• THIEVES IN POWER 9 years ago

AWE are not stupid as u think mutarla.......... john mahama woyomizes us and gives up only token amounts.............stupid FOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLL...... idea biiiii keke. ...

• Adobah (not a comedian) 9 years ago

Somehow I think the deputy minister is missing the point. The 10% forfeiture is not the going concern but rather the loothing and total mismanagement of the resources in the country is. For instance one (minister) may forfeit ...

• Doo-bala 9 years ago

The AG office should sue Mr Kofi Asamoah of TUC for Treason- a massive demo action/strikes are totally unacceptable. This can paralysis the economy which is not different from the global economic pressures on various governm ...

• Baby UK 9 years ago

Murtala stop your baby talk

• KUTRIKU 9 years ago

NONSENSE, YOU BEING A PART OF THE "CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE" SYNDROME HOW MUCH OF YOUR SALARY ARE YOU PREPARED TO DONATE TO THE WORKERS? THESE INCOMPETENT "GREEDY BASTARDS" MUST STOP SUCH INSULTING TALK AND TALK SENSIBLY

• okofo 9 years ago

Murtala whatever Mohammed, listen up!!!

Giving up 10% of one's pay while you guys keep stealling public funds left, and right is no help. Stop exhibitting stupidity and accept the FACT that your government is corrupt and a ...

• okofo 9 years ago

Just how a person of this kind happens to be a minister in GHANA?
    Ghanains have settled for far too less!!!

• foolish man 9 years ago

foolish man murtala

• HAZOR 9 years ago

TUC boss and their workers pay 15% tax to Government.They are not exempt from paying taxes and freebees.TUC boss and workers are patriotic citizen pay their quota and tariff and taxes to the development Ghana while you folks ...

• commonman 9 years ago

ASK THE MINISTER IF KOFI ASAMOA RECEIVE FREEBIES AS HE STUPID MOUTH SO CALLED BABIES WITH SHARP TEETH.

• margie 9 years ago

So that you politicians can use to service your selfish lifestyles. If politicians do not stop insultingn Ghanaian with their language, one day we will have ourselves to blame so you think we are stupid that is why we look o ...

• Mussa Diarra, Russia 9 years ago

Useless deputy minister Murtala. How far is your passport connection which got you arrested in Nigeria, courtesy Owusu Bempah.

So is true. Poor guy, he will not even shut his beck.

• Akuoko 9 years ago

Mutarla has lost focus at his new post.Talking as if he is still at his former post.Focus, focus Mutarla

• Wofa Koo 9 years ago

Murtala don`t have the tendency to be a minister his heart is full of anger just like a mad cow. Be mindful and respect the of people of Ghana. Ghana deserve ministers and government which solve problems and issues with their ...

• Oko Sempremo London 9 years ago

Murtala should stop deceiving himself.Ministers don't pay for electricity,gas, fuel;they have free accommodation and their drivers are paid by the state.If he wants Kofi asamah to sacrifice 10 percent of his salary then he sh ...

• Akuoko 9 years ago

Mutarla should focus at his new post

• QUAYE MENSAH 9 years ago

OH GOD SAVE GHANA.IRRESPONSIBLE TALK INDEED.YES, PEDESTRAIN TALK

• GHANABA 9 years ago

When was the last time TUC created a single job?

• joe 9 years ago

Do u understand what tuc is ??? Kwasia to

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

This bonehead talks more nonsense and senselessness than any of the other goons in this govt

• b a 9 years ago

can you talk and think better

• joe 9 years ago

What kind of foolish talk is this mutala??

• William 9 years ago

Unnecessary comment. Don't personalize!!!

• junior 9 years ago

Stupid talk; instead of coming out with something sensible you talk like a man without brains. why not forfeit you free fuel, fat salary and cars. Do you pay rent or electricity. Put on your thinking cap.

• Kanokware 9 years ago

You are a disgrace to community and so ignorant to the work given to you,Mr. Mutarla why don't you give respect to Ghanaian workers, where are the monies you have collected from the everyday borrowings, are you not ashame to ...

• david tetteh 9 years ago

How can he forfeit 10% of his salary when he is not a member of the stealing gang ?

• Kojo 9 years ago

Someone is busily canvassing for all ewe government workers to take a voluntary 30% pay cut as a sign of patriotism and practical show of their love for NDC and Ghana

• Eric opoku 9 years ago

You are not making any sense

• kk 9 years ago

My God! So we have this idiot as a deputy minister

• apuuu 9 years ago

Jungle politics at work what is wrong with this deputy minister this are the reason President Mahama is having turf time governing the country because of this hustlers every time they open their mouth is insult from left to r ...

• me 9 years ago

That will be stupid! For hardworking public servant to forfeit 10% of his salary for a corrupt polician like you, Murtala, to embezzle. No wonder Rawlings call you guys " GREEDY BASTARDS".

• Mohmmed Awal 9 years ago

You are very stupid to say that is the TUC boss also a hopeless politician like you.You just left university of Ghana after reading history you are now better than some of your history lecturers due to the corrupt regime like ...

• Guy 9 years ago

THIS STATEMENT SHOWS GROSS IMMATURITY AND STUIPIDITY. WHAT HAS THE SALARY OF THE TUC BOSS GOT TO DO WITH THE GOVERNMENT'S FAILURE TO DELIVER WHICH HAS CREATED THE CURRENT SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY.

• COBI 9 years ago

MR. MINISTER,YOU ARE TRYING TO THROW DUST INTO THE EYES OF GHANA PEOPLE. YOU THE NDC HAVE SOUGHT AND WON POWER AFTER PROMISING HEAVENS.IF THE WEIGHT IS HEAVY FOR YOU STOP BLAMING AN INNOCENT CITIZEN PLEASE

• ABBA 9 years ago

GHANA NEEDS MORE DEMONISTRATIONS TO TEACH THE SENSELESS MAHAMA GOVERNMENT SENSE.

• Paa Willie 9 years ago

Such a stupid suggestion from Murtala as usual! Maybe he thinks we do not know that they are so corrupt that they do not live on their salaries. In fact, they can even sacrifice 100% of their salaries without sweat! You were ...

• kobby 9 years ago

mr.deputy minister,if you pay for your utility bill, what is wrong with it. After all what benefit do Ghana get from you ministers even the president? Do you pay for your car and the petrol you use? Do you ministers even stay ...

• THIEVES 9 years ago

Money needed for Looting Brigade ???

• hon. mens 9 years ago

why do you want kofi Asamoah to forfeit 10 percent of his salary? of course the president created the mess so he has to do whatever it takes to fix it. Think before you talk. mr. minister.

• RICHIE RICH 9 years ago

AFTER U(THE PREZ N MINISTERS) HAV CREATED DE MESS WITH UR BAD POLICIES N MISUSE OF OUR MONEY, HE, AT THE TUC SHUD SRAP OFF 10% OF HIS SALARY TO SALVAGE DE SITUATION.
    AAAAAAAAAHH DIS MINISTERS SO COMMON ................ U GUY ...

• nii 9 years ago

Kofi asamoah a slave and subject of the Asante Kingdom doing the bids of the npp.

• kojo lee 9 years ago

Useless mahama how can you appoint such a hot headed empty barrel as a minister. Of trade????

• fidelity 9 years ago

Murtala these kind of talk is outmoded, they don't make sense to wise people anymore beside that, you do not qualify for this position.

• YAW USA 9 years ago

PEPENI ABOA GO TO THE JUNGLE TO EAT COW SHIT STUPID FOOL LIKE YOU..

• IS THIS A MINISTER 9 years ago

I FEEL SORRY FOR MAHAMA. A FOOL WILL ALWAYS BE A FOOL

WHO VET THIS SO CALLED MINISTERS.

CLEANING SUPERVISOR

• NAME101 9 years ago

it is not a matter of love for country it's matter of sound economy ,jobs for all Ghanaians not dishing out cash and cars to chiefs,come again Murtala

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Is the TUC boss earning as much as u thieves ?

• Pancho 9 years ago

Give yours up first. Set the example

• keesi 9 years ago

I don't know the condition of service of Asamoah, but I don't think he gets 45 gallon s fuel, 2 vehicles, 24 hrs guard, etc given the ministers and their deputies. How long have they worked and what is their qualification? ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Here's a person who just said that President Kufuor insulted Ghanaians when they complained about economic hardship. The TUC boss does NOT have to forfeit a peseswa of his pay to prove that he loves Ghana. He has every right ...

• eugene 9 years ago

LET GOV PROCEED FIRST!

• JJ PETER 9 years ago

MUTALA IS INHUMAN . IF WORKERS GET HALF OF YOU POLITICIANS SALARY WITH EX-GRASHIA , GIVE MORE THAN 50% OF THEIR SALARY .IDIOT

What Ghanaians want is a viable economy not salary cuts. I blame Mahama for appointing such idiots. If you morons have messed up the economy, fix it!

• Nana Yaa New York city 9 years ago

Sometimes serious minds are restrained not to react to so call "ministers/deputy ministers?"who instead of focussing on their core mandate go to town to insult practically everybody who seem to disagree with the Government o ...

• kwame 9 years ago

let the minister forfeit his perdiem instead of 10% pay and see whether he can survive this hard times.stop this 10% it makes me sick

• kwabena kusi .London 9 years ago

You are the one who have to cut your pay by 10%.All of you are corrupt.Your president is useless.He is afraid to sack his corrupt ministers.

• AMA 9 years ago

THE PRESIDENT AND HIS NDC MINISTERS ARE NOT SACRIFICING ANYTHING. THEY ARE ONLY MOCKING GHANAIANS AS THEY KNOW HOW MUCH THEY SYEAL FROM THE COFFERS.

• Gilbert 9 years ago

If even with the whole national coffers you cannot manage,what impact will a single persons mere 10% salary make? Do some people really reason @ all? Babies with sharp teeth!

• bugumtaava 9 years ago

after using a tax payers money to train u to be a teacher u never stepped a foot to yhe class room u run away without serving. tell lame duck president to increase salary to level of ministers and see whether we will sacrific ...

• Jim Jones 9 years ago

Mr. President you have surrounded yourselves with people who do not have the propensity for critical analysis hence the mess in which we find ourselves in. This stupid team c players should have been dismissed from the govt. ...

• YOPOO 9 years ago

Ooooh!Who really advised the President to appoint this ill foul mouthed man as minister in his gov`t.The President,even said, he is encouraged by the Organized Labour`s DEMO to work hard in order to meet the demands of suffer ...

• crorkz 9 years ago

82Ymsl Hey, thanks for the blog article.Much thanks again. Really Great.