You are here: HomeNews2014 07 14Article 316893

ECG to be sold?

Read Comments Comments (50)

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

As the days go by more and more people wake up to the reality of the ndc anti Akan hate agenda and their deep rooted corrupt dark souls of evil .This was first initiated by the Ewes and through Mahama and his brothers being c ...

• BE 9 years ago

WELL DONE MAHAMA

• GIRLS SP 9 years ago

To whom may it(ECG)concern? John Dramani Mahama's brother, Ibrahim Mahama?

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go.ASAP! 9 years ago

More competition, better service, lower prices. The govt must only administered the dams and take fees from companies who wish to use the dams to transmit electricity.

• eugene 9 years ago

i do hope you sell to legit company with NO ghanian or nigerian ties. Must be somebody already in the electric dist. business

• BE 9 years ago

THE BEST METHOD TO MAKE GOOD USE OF OUR RESOURCES:

• Naaaaa Kay 9 years ago

hahaha he is confused... united states of Ghana

• Senyo 9 years ago

"insight to the bone " is also known as Mr "PEA BRAIN, THE MOST STUPID CONTRIBUTOR ON Ghanaweb!

• Ama Serwah 9 years ago

United States of Ghana.? Wow!

• Angie 9 years ago

Oh Daily searchlight, since when did Ghana become part of the US?

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

WHY NOT SELL OFF THE WHOLE NATION SO THE CITIZENS WILL WORK AS SLAVES FOR THEIR DAILY BREAD?

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

It will be better for Mahama to sell the whole country and share the money with his friends, relatives, tribesmen, and party affiliates.

• eugene 9 years ago

how often do the teacher/doctors/nurse get paid????? Call them slaves or Interns(training) since they don't get paid often

• The Thief of Bole 9 years ago

Only they should sell it to a competent FOREIGN entity.

• jagadu 9 years ago

Sell VRA too.

• Torgbui Avaklasu II 9 years ago

This is a worthless piece of news unworthy of Ghanaians. Be more accurate in your report, what do you mean by "The reliable sources stated that they have heard that already the issue of the sale had been broached to managemen ...

• chop chop 9 years ago

THE NEWS IS HIGHLY WELCOME BY SOME OF WE THE CUSTOMERS BUT THE QUESTION WE ASK IS WHAT IS THE WAY FORWARD AFTER THAT? TELL US THE VISION AHEAD OF THE PLAN.

• JB Awotwi-Black 9 years ago

Do you people at Searchlight take calabashes of Pito before writing your articles?

Other than that, who can tell me where in the world is United States of Ghana!

• ROY 9 years ago

They only care about the figures that appear in the books; they do not care about the plight of the common Ghanaian.

• OBIBA-JUDAS 9 years ago

ONLY THE FOOLS WILL VOTE FOR NDC COME 2016

• kofaq 9 years ago

only the fools dont tink abt gh.how can we pay for services without enjoyin it.ecg shd be privitalised to save ordinary ghanains bussines...
    .....some will also say'...only a stupid will vote for ur party come 2016....so tin ...

• Jonathan 9 years ago

Good news. Those fighting against it among the ECG Senior Staff are those who know what they would lose. Of course there would minimal thievery under private ownership. PLs however ensure Ghanaians have a fair chance to part ...

• GhanaA 9 years ago

sell Ghana and divide the cash among the citizen. with my share i will leave the country for cote d'ivoire.

• torgbuigah A.K.lOUI 9 years ago

Thank you Mr. Jonathan, you knows nothing about electricity, get ready to pay five (5) times of the value you are paying now or Monthly for electricity when it is sold.

• BE 9 years ago

SELL IT NOW

• OKOFO 9 years ago

The is the best news for Ghanaians as it will definitely safe mother Ghana from rampant light problem. The next to be online is must be Ghana Water Company. Both must be taken out of control of the state to safe Ghanaians. In ...

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

If they are not generating any revenue, sell it to a better buyer, even if it is foreign. They will manage it better, hire our own people, and pay taxes to add to our revenue base. After all the company will still be in Ghana ...

• ghahaha 9 years ago

Privatisation is good, it brings out the best in all, this long lazt attitude of ECG staff to be curtailed and get them to give Gh THEIR ULTIMATE BEST THUS INCREASING PRODUCTION AND PROFITS. This mediocrity has to be stopped ...

• Kwasi Owusu 9 years ago

After the ECG is being sold, truly Ghana is finish and if Ashawo Lordina can stand on her feets to buy 50 Cars at TH, then where are we?.

• LOL 9 years ago

Well then am sure the tarrif will go up to about 100%

• YawZa 9 years ago

Boot Mahama out before the worse happen to Ghana.
    Mahama is corrupt and incompetent.

• Patroit 9 years ago

ECG should be sold to make it competent.It is full of saboteurs. The sale would end all that. Good idea.

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

ECG should be sold to a private company to manage electricity supply efficiently. All illegal connections would be eliminated in the system. Freebies is killing our economy. Pay the right tariff for quality services. Here in ...

• OWUSU 9 years ago

A FEW SERIOUS PEOPLE ARE NEEDED TO TRAVEL TO THE USA AND CANADA ON A 6 MONTH TO 5 YEARS VISA.THE COST FOR USA IS $10,000 AND CANADA@$8000.COST INCLUDE AIR TICKET AND A WEEK ACCOMMODATION.APPLICANTS ARE ONLY REQUIRED TO PAY FO ...

• YOBO 9 years ago

I THOUGHT JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA WAS IN CHARGE OF GHANA.

WE! AS GHANAIANS ARE FINISHED UNDER MAHAMA' S LAZY INCOMPETENT LEADERSHIP.

GHANA IS NOW A FREE FOR ALL, WITH NO ONE IN CONTROL.

NO WONDER THAT INCOMPETENT NYANTAK ...

• Owens Kuma 9 years ago

I talked about this problem and the Cote d'ivoire experiencce. Sell even the water company and you will see the realities privatisation

• canadaboy 9 years ago

First step of killing corruption

• NDC ACT ALONE ? 9 years ago

PRESIDENT ALONE CAN'T USE HIS POWER WITHOUT PARLIAMENT APPROVAL . THE MONEY WILL BE USING FOR WHAT ?

• Ansah Sasraku 9 years ago

sell it to NATIONAL GRID USA COMPANY

• DENTETX 9 years ago

BEST WAY TO GO . MOST PEOPLE DONT PAY ELECTRICITY BILLS IN GHANA. JUST PAY BRIBES

• jaga 9 years ago

ECG should be sold they are a bunch of useless guy...i believe the US company will do better....ECG is truly useless..lets get serious

• jail 9 years ago

sent those Chinese away and let usa build the dams

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

Eeeeeei GHANA ASEM B3N NI MAHAMA?? HMMM,GOD SAVE GHANA FROM THIS EVILS,CRIMINALS,CORRUPT HABDS

• Tsprhey Raymond 9 years ago

Pres mahama was this what u promise the good people of Ghana.If I have the powers I would have dell with you in my own was.(I will leave for nothing but happy if I die for my country my country). What our first president left ...

• kojo 9 years ago

This is a very good news. We need good regulatory institutions to keep the private companies doing the right things. We need to sell TOR too maybe sell TOR first

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

The information source is not credible. Never mind

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

THAT MAY BE THE BEST IDEA AND A BLESSING FOR GHANAIANS. A PRIVATE COMPANY MAY MANGE THE ECG BETTER THAN WHAT WE HAVE AND THEY WILL KEEP THE LIGHTS ON. TO ME THIS WOULD BE A BLESSING IN DISGUISE.

• eugene 9 years ago

you right the lights have to be owned to get paid for electric sales

• Agya Keabena 9 years ago

Excellent idea! This is what Britain did over a decade ago over its public sector institutions. The government should include water under this scheme. A smart move indeed.

• Ohene Ema 9 years ago

United Africa All the way