You are here: HomeNews2014 07 12Article 316695

Minister drops US citizenship

Read Comments Comments (104)

• James Abbah 9 years ago

Ghanan ooo sey yeeeee. Fools.

• ASEMPA 9 years ago

SHE HAS NOW COME TO THE EASY WAY TO GET RICH QUICKLY. WAYOMY IS PROUDLY ROAMING THE STREETS OF ACCRA WITHOUT FEAR????WHY OH! WHY GHANA MY LOVELY COUNTRY???

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

As the days go by more and more people wake up to the reality of the ndc anti Akan hate agenda and their deep rooted corrupt dark souls of evil .This was first initiated by the Ewes and through Mahama and his brothers being c ...

• IMPEACH MAHAMA ASAP 9 years ago

HOPE YOU DO KNOW YOUR HISTORY VERY WELL - DO YOU KNOW SOME OF THE EWE ARE ASHANTE ? A LOT GHANAIANS WILL ARGUE BUT IT'S FACT . LET UNITE AS ONE PEOPLE.

• Boat G 9 years ago

I know this woman Kabuki Caesar. She is very competent and I believe she's the right person for the job. She is the antidote to the ailing economy.I TRUST! Please let us unite as one people and stop Tribal politics. I am an A ...

• Cool 9 years ago

look madam do not do anything and regret. african politics is a jungle policy..do not see that position and make any mistake..african democracy is a lawlessness. be warned

• kwaku 9 years ago

You are a paid ass licker who is benefitting from her appointment. stop with the lies/ What post has she helped to crash merchant bank and ashanti fields. She is not qualified or competent.

• PATRIOT 9 years ago

MR.PRESIDENT SHOULD SHOW US THE IMPROVEMENT HE HAD BROUGHT TO GHANA AFTER APPOINTING SO MANY MINISTERS. WHAT HAS CHANGED FROM SO MANY MINISTERS,EXCEPT THE PREVAILING ECONOMIC HARDSHIPS.

• eugene 9 years ago

THATS WHAT BLOOMBERG MONEY NEWS SAY!

• Black Boy 9 years ago

Is this not the lady who was managing Merchant bank and sold it out to NDC? Oh now I see who owns Merchant bank. Nsawam will be expanded come 2017.

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

I will do the same after 2016 election when this useless administration is out of sight and buried 12 feet below ground. In that case will come and help build the road network ……..

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go.ASAP! 9 years ago

Malawi and zambia have the worst currencies followed by Ghana. This woman shluldnstop talking. We know she. Is there to steal. U know the problems with the local economy. High imports, less people paying taxes..find solutions ...

• Son of man 9 years ago

Dropping US Citizenship to go steal from Ghana. Way to go. If you cannot make it genuinely, find a clever way to get rich quickly...Drop your citizenship from another country with the pretext that you love mother Ghana. Shame ...

• PEKI TUMU 9 years ago

Nothing wrong in giving up this American citizenship. IF its required by our laws to be a Minister, then she is right to do so

• John 9 years ago

If the husband is an American, it simply means the husband can at any time apply for her to become an America. This is just a temporary stop gap. Wise woman. She changes her colour to suit the circumstances.

• Asiedu NKETSIA 9 years ago

she still has a green card. she is not committed.

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

You give up your green card when you naturalize as American citizen. So Mona Helen don't have any green card. But I wonder why she will give up her citizenship to follow this clueless govt unless she is also trying to loot so ...

• Unwise Decision 9 years ago

You denounce your citizenship for this Mahama Family & Friends corrupt govt? Mona, you will regret your actions very very soon!

• Bawumia 9 years ago

No wonder u are an ashanti

• MANTSE 9 years ago

Indeed, if she is as CONFIDENT and as ACTION ORIENTED as she sounds and COMING from AMERICA with the FOCUS REQUISITE YANKEE WORK ETHICS & FOCUS inculcated in her, then NOW is MAHAMA getting serious in DEALING with the ISSUES. ...

• Rastafara 9 years ago

See how buildings are collapsing all over the place...epitome of corruption.

• kwame peasah darkwah nyc 9 years ago

THAT STUPID MAHAMA IS NOT DOING ANY THING

• PEE 9 years ago

EASY MONEY WHY NOT, GET APPOINTMENT AND MAKE MONEY

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Who cares, these asshols can go ahead to kill themselves and we humble Ghanaians don't give hoot. We are waiting for whoever these idiots may bring to contest with the great NDC, we hungry today in Ghana, things may not be al ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Idiot Who is wasting taxpayers money in parliament. You are so stupid that it is difficult for anyone to believe that you are a parliamentarian. Is anybody surprised at the way our country is going down? I will say don't be, ...

• eugene 9 years ago

YOU HAVE SHIT FOR BRAINS. THE VICE PRESIDENTS SEMEN YOU HAVE SWALLOWED DESTROYED YOUR BRAINS,,,ONLY IDIOTS AT ACCRA MENTAL OR THE DEAF AND BLIND WILL VOTE ndc

• ADJEI 9 years ago

Hahaha she couldn't take the hustle in the US of A. What happens if she isn't approved? go back and reapply for her citizenship. Well Mahama has no real agenda, he is living a farce and she knows well. She is jumping onto the ...

• Abenaki 9 years ago

If she loves Ghana why is she not living in Ghana. Why should she drop her citizenship because of ministerial position. But for the position this lady would not live in Ghana. What of the women who have it lived and struggle ...

• BRAHA 9 years ago

More money and less work as a minster in Ghana than swetting in the US.

• GHANANI 9 years ago

A very good recruit for the CIA.The vetting committee should reject her appointment.She rejected her country and must be rejected by the nation.Shame unto her!!!!

• hoot 9 years ago

You steal from the citizens and don't care about them is rejecting the country too. This lady hasn't stole nothing yet dude. Wayome rejected and didn't give a shit does why he stole the money. Where are the loans the governme ...

• Asiedu Nketia 9 years ago

I hope those 'sleeping' parliamentarians will be innovative enough to ask serious questions. What was she doing in the US, and in what capacity. What are her accomplishments in the US. We can check all these through the freed ...

• Daavi 9 years ago

SAD DAYS GHANA

• Serious talk. 9 years ago

No ! the locals are not sophisticated enough! They are seriously thinking of stealing money. Those from the diaspora come with a greater desire to help solve problems in Ghana. No local mentality !

• Obroni tuntumi 9 years ago

Plse Mr Not-so-Serious Talk,could you name one of those from the diaspora who have come with a greater desire to help solve the problems of Ghana.

Even before you present their names, let me help you out with a few of them ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

Thank you! The MPs ask dumb questions. A lot of fake degrees and titles going around in Ghana who do not understand the basics.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

The MPs doing Q&A themselves lacked critical thinking and scared to death to ask anything involving the USA.

• ADWEN 9 years ago

What her achievements and what level and in which organisations or sectors of society or is she just those Ghanaians who just do Ph.D's for qualifications sake, because in Ghana we are only interested in qualifications.

• SKILLO 9 years ago

We wanna know her qualifications, achievements and what she brings to the table? What can she do as a DEPUTY to make a difference?

• Gina-yede 9 years ago

What the designate deputy-minister is advocating is good. Gov should map all revenues from imports and those with less revenue inflow and a heavy drain on the foreign exchange should attract more taxes. When the economy is b ...

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA:SOME GHANAIANS ARE JUST FULLS AND EASILY TAKEN FOR A RIDE ; THE CLUE IS IN WHAT THE LADY SAID : THE LADY SAID SHE WANTED TO PROTECT HER CHILDREN : SO WHAT SHE IS SAYING IS THAT HER CHILDREN ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN OTHER ...

• kofi B 9 years ago

When NDC are done screwing you over, you will be begging for that US status.

• Kojo 9 years ago

Does it make sense at all?she's in for one thing, to get her share.

• Arny 9 years ago

Giving up a US citizenship for a Ghanaian ?

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Just mere words to go through vetting.What meaningful changes can a deputy minister effect?She is only going to join the band wagon of the confused:John Mahama, Seth Terkper and co.
    I heard about the magic the agricultural s ...

• Ghana midfield rocks 9 years ago

It's no big deal, she drops her US citizenship and gets a diplomatic passport.
    You are not fooling anyone.

• tonyalexis 9 years ago

Well done

• KENTRICK PATRICK 9 years ago

Hmm, I like the responses. This lady can add some value to the Finance Ministry. President in waiting?

• Kwaku Azar 9 years ago

So on July 10, she was a danger to the country so much so that she could not be a minister. On July 11, she no longer was a danger?

We need better thinking in this polity

• Daniel 9 years ago

In my view, the government must encourage Ghanaians who want to come back to Ghana to help develop the country. There is too much unreasonable taxes of their belongings, such as vehicles, other machineries, causing these indi ...

• Wiafe 9 years ago

Mona has been working in Ghana for sometime as Risk Manager at Merchant Bank. So this is a reward for the sloppy risk management at Merbank.

• Erika 9 years ago

She was put on the board of merchant bank to protect ibrahim mahamas interest

• mmmmmmmm 9 years ago

This woman has her kids in the states, so beloved at any given time she has the assets to go back to America to stay for good.

• eugene 9 years ago

IF THEY BORN (KIDS) IN usa THEY ARE CITIZENS AND CAN FILE FOR THEIR MOTHER WHEN THEY TURN 18 YEARS

• Erika 9 years ago

A big lie. She has not given up anything. Her sponsor and lover is Ibrahim Mahama. That is the only reason why she is there. She is a well know prostitute

• Faith 9 years ago

She is just an opportunist. She is joining to steal monies.

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

Did the Vetting Committee ask why she voted in the last general elections when she was an American citizen? She should be charged for fraud. I assume voting is for only Ghanaians. A she vagabond.

Do you think there is any smart person among those vetting?

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

HAS SHE EVER VOTED IN GHANA?.
    IF YES, SHE DID SO AS a GHANAIAN OR AS AN AMERICAN?.
    IF NO, LET US JUSTIFY HER LOYALTY TO THE COUNTRY SHE SO LOVED.
    LIERS HIRING LIERS!!!!!!!.

• Pancho 9 years ago

What a fool you are. Ghana no matter what is not worth dying for.

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

We are sick and tired of biting of having to bite the bullet at all times while government after government functionaries continue to enjoy biting their meat.

• Agyayaw Bantama 9 years ago

Madam am sorry to tell you you shall regret to renounce your American citizenship

My brother, there is nothing special here. Many people are here for show. What do I mean by that? Just for people to know that they live abroad, that's all. A lot are finding it tough. It takes a lot of sacrifice to make it h ...

• D IASEMPA 9 years ago

This woman has just come to make her One Million dollars before NDC in buried in 2016. She has already succeeded in the US and now only coming to roost and top it with an icing. Verify with the US Embassy if she has ALREADY S ...

• MAN OF GOD WHO FEAR NO EVIL. 9 years ago

YOU ALL ARE VERY STUPID WHAT IS AMERICA IN THE FIRST PLACE, WHY DONT YOU LOVE YOUR COUNTRY? I DONT LIKE MAHAMA BUT THAT DONT MEANS THAT I DONT LOVE MY COUNTRY, GROW UP AND WISE UP PEOPLE IS A TIME TO TURN THE PAGE OVER NA MOU ...

• Daben 9 years ago

3y3 mobor s3.

• Yaw 9 years ago

People do not queue for gasoline in America. Trash is not overflowing everywhere. Most houses are not in a state of disrepair in the US. The cities are well planned. People do not go to beaches defecating everywhere. And on a ...

• D IASEMPA 9 years ago

For you to sit in Ghana and castigate America shows how HOLLOW and IGNORANT you are!. Ghana does't come 1% of America in anything. There is no Dumsor, NO water Dumsor, NO FILTH! You are are an Ignoramus. Education is NO !. No ...

• Joe 9 years ago

What difference can you make being a Ghanaian if the other members of NDC are not corrupt and not listening and not doing anything to change the fortunes of the country. I am convinced you will regret denouncing your American ...

• SAM BOLGA 9 years ago

DEAR MADAM HELEN YOU HAVE MADE A BIG MISTAKE TO JOIN INCOMPETENT MAHAMA WHO TOOK BANK LOAN TO BUY PADS .

• truth 9 years ago

Truly respect her,unlike Zita she used poor tax payers money both Ghana & USA for her own selfish needs. All those insulting her EXAMINE your heads. Something is really clicking in your brains.

• Jojo Williams 9 years ago

What a stupid excuse! If she has a passion for Ghana, why did she acquire American citizenship in the first place? It's clear she is dropping it to become eligible to squander Ghana's treasury? How much taxes has she ever pai ...

• National Buffoon 9 years ago

I bet she has never voted for NDC before but she is ever ready to loot GHana money without working for it. If she was successful in US she would not have renounced the so-called US citizenship, she is doing it with barely hou ...

• otaniba 9 years ago

This rogue should be arrested immediately as they did to the former bawku mp.how could she have voted in the last general elections when she was an American citizen ? Can all Ghanaians with American citizenship come down to v ...

• THE WOODMAN 9 years ago

This woman must not be serious. Taxing an ordinary Ghanaian who struggle very hard in the scotching sun to feed the family while the government sits down unconcern, but pocketing these contracted loans used them on these youn ...

• PEE 9 years ago

STEAL SOME OF THE MONEY CORRUPT GHANA LEADERS, CEXI FALLING LIKE STONES

• PlainPlainTruth 9 years ago

At least she is more forthcoming than certain Kuffour appointees who claimed to have dropped dual citizenship on the eve of their vetting when indeed the letters they had was "intent" to drop their dual citizenship. She is al ...

• Kush 9 years ago

The woman is a presidential material whether she belongs to the NDC or NPP. Most of you commenting here didnt watch her being vetted. If fact i have never seen some with so much knowledge and know how to manage the economy. S ...

• Erika 9 years ago

You think they use mouth to manage the economy? She is Ibrahim Mahama lover. She is just there to chop and do his bidding... ghanaians are foolish

• Erika 9 years ago

You think they use mouth to manage the economy? She is Ibrahim Mahama lover. She is just there to chop and do his bidding... ghanaians are foolish . do you know that palimentarians are paid to ask easy questions. all she said ...

• PSK 9 years ago

IT IS EASY TO TALK ABOUT SOLUTIONS TO OUR PROBLEMS BUT WHEN YOU COME FACE TO FACE WITH THE FRUSTRATIONS OF ADMINISTRATORS AND CIVIL SERVANTS YOU WILL KNOW THAT WORDS ARE OT ENOUGH TO SOLVE OUR PROBLEMS. SHE MAY BE A GOOD MATE ...

• Damango 9 years ago

Passion my ASS. Maybe someone should ask her to produce her past W-2s and all would see how much she was making in the US. Compared that to what she will be making in NDC government, this is no brainer. Now she can pillage ...

• Eno 9 years ago

You got that right. She is on about 5 boards courtesy of Ibrahim Mahama . She is one greedy cheap bitch.

• PSK 9 years ago

Is the main problem with the economy the inability to raise enough revenue for government’s expenditure or the wanton dissipation of the little revenue by politicians and public administrators. If officials will leave offi ...

• King wailer 9 years ago

You have up your US citizenship because of appointment in NDC Mahama government. You will leave to regret.

• CITIZEN 9 years ago

MAHAMA BETTER SELL GHANA, HE HAS NOW APPOINTED HIS JUNIOR(IBRAHIM) BROTHER'S PERSONAL SECRETARY AS DEPUTY FINANCE MINISTER. WHAT A SHAME, HE SHOULD REMOVE THE VICE AND GIVE TO IBRAHIM MAHAMA. SHAMELESS 419 CON MAN

• Kaypee 9 years ago

Shame on you Mrs Whatever your name is...you don't have shit in that your fucking head to help your so called birth country. In the States you gotta work for your money...you couldn't make it because you had to make it the ha ...

• Bintu 9 years ago

It's either she is lying to get to the that position or has been given millions of Ghanaian hard currency. No one renounces their US citizenship just on this flimsy passion to serve in a gov't that CANNOT believe in finishing ...

• Richmond 9 years ago

Having read the story on Ghanaweb concerning Deputy Minister-designate for Finance and Economic Planning, Mona Helen Kabuki Quartey, I dont see any credibility in Mona's statement. How could you drop your US nationality just ...

• ABK, USA 9 years ago

Is Mona not the same person who sank AGC's hedge book into $500 million debt, which eventually led to the sale of the company to Aglogold? The eminent colapse looming on the company stems from Mona's incompetence as head of t ...

• Sad 9 years ago

The very same one, who has been called to sink out country further.

• Nana Quarme 9 years ago

Please Mona say the truth and shame the devil, you are a lair aren't you?, you are still not satisfy with all the gold bars looting from Ashgold, the down grade of merchant bank,now you want to take from ghanaians the little ...

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

This bitch is crazy. Renouncing your American citizenship to join this visionless govt is insane.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Miss Mona Helen Kabuki Quartey has made her calculation and she is aware there is no turning back once renunciation is granted. Giving up U.S. citizenship is considered permanent. But apart from freedom and good opportunity w ...

• YOBO 9 years ago

ANOTHER VICTORIA HAMMAH IN THE MAKING.

• JJ 9 years ago

YOU ARE REALY A PROUD GHANAIAN WHO WANTS TO SERVE HER COUNTRY WITH LOVE AND PASION MAY GOD BLESS YOU

• KWESI 9 years ago

MR PRESIDENT,DO YOU MEAN GHANA HAS NO WOMAN OF HER CALIBRE FOR THE APPOINTMENT? WHAT SHE DID IS NOT SHE LOVES GHANA MORE THAN HER HUSBAND,CHILDREN AND GOOD LIVE IN THE USA. SHE IS FOOLING GHANAIANS AND YOU AS PRSESIDENT IS SU ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

This is OPPORTUNISM grade 1.
    Dropping your Citizenship on July 10 and become eligible on July 11 2014.
    SO she is NO MORE A THREAT to Ghana ???
    Jokers!!
    The committee SHOULD REJECT HER!!She IS A TRAITOR!!

• Kobbina 9 years ago

Mona Mona you are a well known political climber. Your sponsor Ibrahim Mahama has been enjoying you . After helping to collapse ash gold and merchant bank you want to loot the coffers of Ghana. Remember that you will reap wha ...

• kwaku 9 years ago

She is being rewarded for selling merchant bank to NDC. Her background is manufactured.

• Akua 9 years ago

You've realised African politics is more lucrative than labouring in the snow, right? Opportunist. God will punish all of you for stealing from the poor.

• Amega 9 years ago

Where was she working whilst in America?

• YOBO 9 years ago

THIS DECISION IS BASED ON THE COST/ BENEFIT ANALYSIS SHE MUST HAVE UNDERTAKEN.

SHE MARRIED AN AMERICAN CITIZEN TO GET AWAY FROM GHANA'S CONDITION OF HOPELESSNESS AND POVERTY AS A PRIVATE GHANAIAN COMMONER.

SHE CERTAINLY ...

• high quality backlinks 9 years ago

n3QgBO Hey, thanks for the post.Much thanks again. Awesome.