You are here: HomeNews2014 07 09Article 316086

MP's chilling revelations: "I scrubbed toilets in London"

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

empty...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

What exactly do you mean by that? It appears you don't understand "life" one bit. Let me tell you what? TODAY, about 50% of the world worship one man. This man was born in a manger - a sleeping place for sheep. He was raised ...

Nea obre ne ho ase no, yebema no so.
    Nea obema ne ho so, wobebre n'ase.

Ken

• Kojo 9 years ago

Stupid comment, this is the root of Ghana's problems. There is a severe lack of critical thought here.

if you know any or have some, Kojo.

Ken

• BIG NAME 9 years ago

NDC officials don't want to work, but they want to have millions of dollars. They are all thieves. They stole power to steal and loot our country's treasury. NDC fools and 'abayifo' like JJ Rawlings who have destroyed Ghana.

• Joe Tetteh, USA 9 years ago

GHANAIAN POLITICIANS COME TO POWER JUST TO STEAL. THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THE PEOPLE.
    IT IS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY.
    IF U THINK ONE PARTY IS BETTER THEN U BETTER THINK AGAIN. THEY ARE THE SAME.

• bashings 9 years ago

please be careful of what you write because God will judge you one day!

• SKILLO 9 years ago

The late Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was once a dishwasher while studying in America. And so was alot of great people around the world. There is nothing chilling or shocking about Mr Glover's story. It's GREAT ADVICE though.

• dobiya 9 years ago

Hahaha life ooo they calls us the northerners as toilet collectors. they go to Oyibo man's land to do the same job. Na wow ooo.

• The Don 9 years ago

Point of correction! They call the frafras, dagatis, kusasis,Ewes and some few akans toilet carriers. I know u are not a northerner so stop fooling. You already know the pride of most northerners so stop fooling.

• ADONGO 9 years ago

KWASEA,SOME PEOPLE DO MENIAL JOBS FOR LIFE,THE SMART ONES DO IT AS A MEANS TO BETTER LIFE

• OH GHANA. 9 years ago

Why were the other panelist on the program surprised,anybody who travels outside either to study or work starts with such jobs,unless you are a child with your parents who have worked such jobs,even citizens of such countries ...

• The Don 9 years ago

That's not true. Every foreigner isn't doing such so please fix your lies Mr. Oh Ghana. Ask those there and stop trying to make it seem like you know. You could be doing so but not everybody. Thank u

• Alexander Illi, Germany 9 years ago

I'm a German agric. engineer, and I've done lots of hard, dirty and menial work.
    Mind you, I still clean the toilets for Ghanaians who don't know how to use them without defecating on the seat or urinating on the floor, quit ...

• Alexander Illi 9 years ago

too many typos, grammatical errors and unclarities, e.g.:

- lifted ... heav*ily

- herded animals = big herds of cattle, incl. bulls, and some goats

- *their stables

- *use the things without (...) *properly caring ...

• Parker 9 years ago

Speak for ya'sef, don't think everyone does that buddy.....check your source of information.

Yes, I'm from Germany,
    and I've done quite a lot of comparable work as mentioned in the article.

See my comment below.

Thank you for voicing reason.

• Nii Tawiah 9 years ago

Busia, JB Danquah and Joe Appiah and co had it good and they did not have to experience such a real life i.e to know the people, value and respect for money because they never really work to earn money. They had it easily and ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Jesus washed the feet of his disciples Titus your a the man . Keep telling them these stories Nkrumah had to do the same His motto " Work and happiness"

• BUGA, BUGA, ATUBUGAH 9 years ago

If it is wrong for the MP to have scrubbed toilets in London, then it is equally wrong for children and grandchildren of "shit Carriers" to be ruling Ghana, period.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

if the leaders lead by good example, the youth will follow. If the leaders are corrupt the youth will follow....

• Aduana 9 years ago

The truth is clear that many educated Ghanaians are working like this in abroad, and cannot tell. Africans have been always remaining sad since the white man's invasion. African must know how to manage their affairs and sto ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

I do respect him for that.

• Bfire 9 years ago

Thanks, great advise.

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

THIS IS WHAT WE KNOW SINCE TIME I CANNOT REMEMBER.

• hmmm 9 years ago

Yes, that is life. Great men often have humble beginning. We the youth have to work harder to build our own future.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

in the context of rule of law, working hard to bring yourself up makes sense. But where is the system is build on fraud and corruption as in ghana, where the leaders in both parties believe and operate that ripping off the co ...

• A-CLASS 9 years ago

So life is, you worked hard for it and you are enjoying now, that's good example. I go to farm everyday before classes, i have gain out of it. If the youths thinks working for money these way is wrong, then they will remain a ...

• Alexander Illi, Germany 9 years ago

I also still work on my farm with bare hands and simple tools. It keeps you strong, if it's not toooo much and not your only occupation. ("All work and no play..." = "Man does not live from bread alone...")

• Nii Akwei 9 years ago

Freedom from Want.

• Smarty Pants 9 years ago

Work ethic and integrity are heart warming not chilling.

Something a famous Black man once said: "I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of thei ...

• Andy USA 9 years ago

Yes its becos the BRITISH are very wicked with their substances-Have no room for the even the SO CALLED commonwealth immigrants-THE AMERICANS ARE NOT LIKE THAT-NO WONDER THE ALMIGHTY GOD IS STILL BLESSING AMERICA-GOD BLESS AM ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

"THE AMERICANS ARE NOT LIKE" what?

• ADABRAKA 9 years ago

If this guy is made a politician, what do u think he can bring? He will go out of demand from his people. Ask yourself, why do people do menial jobs in the whitemans land? Your point should centre; that in these lands, every ...

• Andy USA 9 years ago

GOD BLESS AMERICA- why do you even struggle to go to UK-now you pay millions to get their visa-get to AMERICA even though its not always easy Their doors are open to immigrants -they are MERCIFUL-unless you go and fool, and g ...

• TRUE MAN 9 years ago

Thank you Nii for not hiding the truth,but you were lucky Public toilets in Europe and America are hygienic,clean and odourless.I bet you,you couldn't have cleaned any public toilet in Ghana.Please,let the youth know the diff ...

• joe 9 years ago

You are writting as if America is heaven on earth and the streets in America paved with gold and diamond.Blacks in America are among the poorest in the developed world,highly involved in drugs and form half of the prison poul ...

• akwesii 9 years ago

Read Article

Comment: MONKEY-WHY COMPARE GHANA TO NEW YORK

Author:

CITIZEN ONE

Date:

2014-07-09 04:12:43

Comment to:

Oh ghana

Some of you guys are so into yourselves, you always attempt to compare su ...

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

Life is not always rosy. I went through Nigeria b4 being here in the “cold land”. That is why I went to college as soon as I arrived here.

• The Mask 9 years ago

There are some specific fields that we lack the needed expertise. To solve this problem the government of Ghana has over the decades made scholarships available for Ghanaians to study abroad in these fields. In some instances ...

• Target 9 years ago

What is so chilling about such an admission. He did what he had to do to survive. I am sure besides becoming a better person through such hard work he earned a living. Ghanaweb ought to refrain from such attention grabbing he ...

• Watcher 9 years ago

Thank you for expressing my thoughts! What is more chilling to me is people who walk around entitled with no substance who actually need a few character-building experiences.

• Tolobeefi 9 years ago

Selling meat-pie and packing fish is a job that gives an income. What is so chilling about this?

• Nii AYI ARYEE 9 years ago

oh so you studied in London n you can't speak good english ehh??? oh my God! .

• ADABRAKA 9 years ago

He did car wash at Allen Ford in Coventry, UK.
    The problem that brought him dicussing his life is political-made. Ghana and Africa leaders deny the youth, hence sending the youth to do all stuff to make life. Every govt off ...

• Yaa Maggie 9 years ago

The captions of some of the news media does not make any sense. What is chilling about a hustler doing menial jobs to pay for his school fees? It was a fascinating life story that the youth should hear often. It teaches them ...

• Ama 9 years ago

I like his story!! Teach the youth it is not always easy as it seems. People who have made it are not open to tell the youth the bumpy road to their success. That is way most of them are involve in get rich quick schemes.

• Ama 9 years ago

I like his story!! Teach the youth it is not always easy as it seems. People who have made it are not open to tell the youth the bumpy road to their success. That is way most of them are involve in get rich quick schemes.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

An Arab diplomat visiting the U.S. for the first time was being wined and dined by the State Department. The Grand Emir was unused to the salt in American foods (french fries, cheeses, salami, anchovies etc.) and was constant ...

• Grace 9 years ago

And what is chilling about this revelation? Who the heck is Titus-Glover?????????????

• OMPITA .UK 9 years ago

What a stupid remark.

There is no such thing as a "white man’s public toilet in London".

All public toilets in the UK are for the equal use of all who need to use them - regardless of ethnicity.

Similarly they can ...

• Seth Owusu 9 years ago

I am happy somebody is telling our youth what it takes to make life worthwhile. Some of us worked as farm labourers, burnt charcoal, cultivated maize and yams in order to pay our own school fees.

I am surprised nowadays y ...

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 9 years ago

Is this experience chilling, Raymond Archer? I see it to be normal for someone from a poor home who is determined to make it in life. There are many of us such people who could call ourselves Middle Class in the system. My ex ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

And such a Person had the balls to Insult prof mills, in the Name of politics-
    Titus your curse is on the way

"such a person" ... - there's nothing indecent about performing such above-mentioned tasks.

In fact, attorneyship ("lawyer") by a person disrespectfully looking down at those who wipe their excrements and dispose their gar ...

• Esi 9 years ago

Good. Many people have gone through this life before and still going through worse. What is chilling about the story. Reporters, please wake. This story is not a news item. why should anyone be surprised about it?

...because there's a lot to be learnt here, as you can see.

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

Everybody wants to be like Michael Essien, Sulley Ali Muntari, Kojo Asamoah. Others want to be Samini. The others also want to be into cyber fraud, what they call sakawa. Quick money and they are encouraged by fake pastors an ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

I have said several times on this forum that the Ghanaian Society has wrong Values of things,and therefore need a Revolution in the Mind. The entire nation is Sick and Confused.
    For,what is “ Chilling or Surprising" about ...

• Ghana Young Boy 9 years ago

Gash! Know one needs to know what you did legitimately for your living elsewhere in the world back then. Keep it to yourself. Is no ones business.

..to hear such news,
    as in Ghana, like in many places, many Young Boys and Girls have become haughty and presumptuous.
    They'd nearly all want to become "stars" in sports and entertainment, or sit in air-conditioned offices ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

So what?

We Africans are survivors and we can adjust to any given situation to survive.

Look at the sitauation in Ghana now. The hardships people are facing are unimagineable yet people are still living. Aren't they?

• Watcher 9 years ago

Well, you have several valid points. Nevertheless, education seems to be going down the tubes everywhere - even in Western countries. Still, as you imply, being on the bottom rung in a Western country is like being on holid ...

• kwam 9 years ago

life is not easy, many successful Ghanaians have a lot to share, I also went through similar experience, but thank God am okay now. The youth of today want quick money.

• Cool J. 9 years ago

Nothing strange to glorify himself about; does he know how many young Ghanaians had to farm, burn charcoal for sale, work on other people's farms for a fee, etc, just in a bid to pay school fees their parents cannot afford? T ...

• shakara 9 years ago

MOST IMMIGRANTS DO CLEANING JOB IN LONDON, I DID TOO, SO THIS GUY SCRUBBING
    FOR A LIVING IS NOT NEW

• kwame 9 years ago

Foolish and
    disgraceful. Mp