You are here: HomeNews2014 07 06Article 315644

Reducing poverty will keep girls in school – Otiko Djabah

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

NDC and NPP are visionary bankrupt... no vision, no clue, no plan just empty talk

• Whatever 9 years ago

Doesn't Otiko Djabah with her ability to see evil spirits inside her party know what poverty is? A girl who can't afford to buy a sanitary pad every month is like that because girls are poor

• Salifu 9 years ago

Fools!!! Why not supply PANTIES in addition to the SANITARY PADS. LOAN FOR PADS? How long are you going to sustain such a program. Oh AMA GHANA!! It seems all RIVERS ARE FLOWING UPSTREAM.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 9 years ago

HELPLESSNESS, HOPELESSNESS & FEELING OF DESPONDENCY HAVE GRIPPED MANY IN GHANA TODAY.
    GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY THESE NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHA ...

• Haaba!! 9 years ago

It is unheard of. It has never happened anywhere in the world. No government on this planet has ever supplied sanitary pads to its school girls, talk less of seeking foreign loan to supply school girls with sanitory pads. Not ...

• FAWONSA BEWO 9 years ago

This is the dummest story ever heard in the whole wide world. Mr. President what makes you think providing mensural pad could alleviate the problem of massive female drop outs from school? Have you asked your self any sensibl ...

• gretchy 9 years ago

OMG is it true?How about changing the system where workers are paid weekly or fortnightly like civilized country's.So much easier to budget out ur so called wages which is also a pittance in Ghana.I think Mahama and his team ...

• OBUOR! 9 years ago

What did Otiko ever research in her miserable life? How to satisfy men in bed? Has she ever researched how her father got her ill-gotten wealth? I mean the money her father (Henry Djabah) stole during Nkrumah's dethronement! ...

• Akom 9 years ago

A 3rd class lower researcher!

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Where did you leave the issue being discussed?
    Do you know they're discussing the IMF loan to buy sanitary pads for "NDC" school girls?

Your comment here is comparable to stinking rubbish

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

Never heard of? You probably need a little education. FREE MATERNITY CARE didn't offend husbands? Otiko need a brain transplant.

• Joemens 9 years ago

Bulaalah is miserable soul

• Humanity 9 years ago

You know, I believe the main reason the Incumbent Gov't, is supplying Sanitary pads, is to gain VOTERS in 2016 (Cynical...)
    Majority of the rural good folk, due to abject poverty and poor education...would remember a Gov't t ...

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

I though a government will be concerned with finding solutions to big economic problems facing the country. SANITARY PADS? A whole government signing a loan to buy sanitary pads? What about toilet rolls, food and other provis ...

• Kaw Ansah 9 years ago

Yes Kenya is also doing the same with the help of the world bank. If it was proposed by the NPP that will be okay. Djabah what then is the school feeding progamme. Ghanaians allow politics to cloud teir sense of reasoning.

• Suzan 9 years ago

Otiko is right on point. School feeding is a standard practice all over the world. Giving pads is a discreet one and it goes with health education, it is not a whole sale exercise aimed at siphoning money through procurement.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Thy can use toilet roll and go to school but they can't go to school hungry

• moyo 9 years ago

this is simply not a clever suggestion by the NPP's Otiko. Sometimes, it is better to keep your mouth shut than to make a stupid assertion like that. Govt has a responsibility to provide for the health needs of these girls if ...

• RICHIE 9 years ago

IN THIS AGE OF CONTRACEPTION, ANY PARENT WHO GOES FUCKING AROUND SHOULD BE MADE TO FACE SQUARELY THE CONSEQUENCIES OF PARENTHOOD.

IF YOU CANNOT FATHER OR MOTHER A CHILD RESPONSIBLY, ABSTAIN FROM SEX OR USE CONTRACEPTIVES.

• Fuseini 9 years ago

Tell your Mahama government to provide panties and bra to all girls whose parents cannot afford them too. Where do we stop this madness of government will provide?

• SAMO JEWELLERY 9 years ago

Yellow n white gold rings for sale.....call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest designs to choose from....u can contact us on facebook/samo jewellery or samo jewellery on instagram....customise yr dream rings...gorgeous g ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

Sometimes clever people turn out to be unclever when they tried to make sense on others statement. We can judge on anybody's statement for being not profound from different directions but when the value of that statement beco ...

• Ka na wu 9 years ago

It is a foolish idea for any government to go for a loan only to buy sanitary pads for teenage girls. Only a fool will applaud such a stupid idea. What of the boys of the same age? Are you going to buy condoms for them or on ...

• Fuseini 9 years ago

Are you going to buy their panties, bra and other things they need too?

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

This Whatever person seems to be just seeking attention to the rubbish he writes.
    Poor little filthy idiot. Who ever told you a girl needs 'a' sanitary pad every month? Go, learn from your big sisters

• Humanity 9 years ago

This assertion has nothing to with gender issues. This Otiko so called National women organizer is a hypocrite or she doesn't know what going in the society. Because she belongs to the oligarchy.

There are many women whom ...

• PEE 9 years ago

WHAT POVERTY GOT TO DO WITH SANITARY PADS USELESS POLTICIANS. THESE ARE USELESS PARLIMENTARIANS TAX PAYERS MONEY GOES TO DO THEY PAY THEIR TAXES PROBABLY NOT. GHANA NEED GOOD THINKERS NOT USELESS GREED CORRUPT POLITICIANS

• Humanity 9 years ago

I DID NOT WRITE THE ABOVE...
    REGARDS

• Akos 9 years ago

Omg, our leaders continue to embarrass us with their outrageous comments. True, Mahama's decision to give out free sanitary pads with a borrowed loan is outrageous, this woman alleging fathers will be offended just because go ...

• hh 9 years ago

Akos you are 100% right. I don't even know what to say.

• Dede 9 years ago

More than dumb. It's the stupidest thing to say. How many girls will go to their fathers to ask for sanitary pads?

• Oheneba Asare 9 years ago

Over 80% of Ghanaians cannot even afford three square meals a day.How many Ghanaian fathers are able to support their children? Kenya and Uganda did it.If the Government spent over $50 million on Ghana's golden jubilee Indepe ...

• KOFI - USA 9 years ago

KENYA AND UGANDA DID IT AND WHAT WAS THE RESULT. GHANA STILL HAS A HIGH PERCENTAGE OF GIRLS IN SCHOOL THAN THOSE TWO COUNTRIES YOU MENTIONED. HOW ABOUT IMPROVING ON THE SCHOOL FEEDING PROGRAM, SCHOOL SUPPLIES, HEALTH INSURANC ...

• Princess 9 years ago

Fools, why not invest the money in a factory that can train poor people & women on how to make sanitary pads? You borrow money, only to buy cheap pads from China, then distribute it for free & still ends up with more debts & ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 9 years ago

Oheneba Asare, your contribution to this debate is absolutely pathetic, to say the least. What Otiko Djaba is highlighting is exactly what most Ghanaians are actually acquiescing to.

In that, it would be far proper for thi ...

• KWADWO 9 years ago

Yes, it is as a matter of fact. Government providing sanitary pads to female students is a threat to fathers, Ms Djabah says and also a gisgrace to fathers. What about Government providing a Fee-Free- Education, Text-Books an ...

• ESONG NAA 9 years ago

GOV'T SHD THINK OF UPLIFTING THE ECONOMIC STATUS OF PARENTS AND THE REST OF THE PROBLEMS WOULD BE SOLVED. OTTIKO IS VERY RIGHT.NDC DO MAJOR THINGS TO RETAIN POWER.NO CLINICS FOR THE GIRL CHILD TO ATTEND WHEN SICK.THE UW/R 'RE ...

• Yao Paul 9 years ago

Borrow money to build sanitary facility in producing those items for sch. girls do make sense but borrow money to buy and distribute SP for sch. girls is really nuts. Only coconut heads and thieves will think this way.

• Smarty Pants 9 years ago

Let them make pads and give some women jobs! Women constitute half the human race! So, solve the problem with this solution: Go read the article 3 March 2014 in BBC World Service titled: "The Indian sanitary pad revolutionary ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

This is pure BS.. As if Ghanaian fathers do what she is talking about. Tell us, how many Ghanaian fathers buy sanitary pads for theirs daughters though?

• PEE 9 years ago

MINDLESS POLITIANS WHO ARE CLUELESS NO WONDER THE ECONOMY IS IN TATAS WITH CEDI NOSE DIVE ERY SINGLE DAY. HAVE ALL THESE LAWS BUT THE GOVERNMENT KEEP BREAKING THEM WITH MONEY, GOLD, AND OTHER MINERALS ARE BEING AIRLIFTED WITH ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Doesn't Otiko Djabah with her ability to see evil spirits inside her party know what poverty is? A girl who can't afford to buy a sanitary pad every month is like that because of poverty - lack of money to meet necessities.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

If Mahama and his gangs are out of ideas that will propel the economy from its present position, they should give we the parents break from this stupid $$$-SANITARY PAD distribution idea because that will not alleviate our pr ...

• Posh 9 years ago

All they do is borrow & only to use it building gigantic headquarters & offering free sanitary pads for girls.

• Anita 9 years ago

Dumb people running Ghana

• Grace 9 years ago

Afrisah, you are right!

• m.shanunu 9 years ago

This always the Ghanaian problem politics asusual ...we are talking about health not party.think deep how much did your party do to alleviate women 's poverty.

• Uncle Steve 9 years ago

The government will give qualified girls allowance each term to buy sanitary wares, and not sharing pads as it's being propaganda around by the npp.I personally think npp have realise how much this policy will hurt them in th ...

• Ofori 9 years ago

Doesn't the US gov't distribute free condoms?

• Tweaa 9 years ago

You want to compare the US with Ghana?

• Gangstalicious 9 years ago

The U.S also provides free healthcare and food to their poor. So does that mean Ghana should do the same. Our government can't even give the citizens water and electricity so stop comparing Ghana to the U.S. You and Mahama ar ...

• KOFI - USA 9 years ago

THE US GOVT DOES NOT DISTRIBUTE FREE CONDOMS. THINGS ARE NOT LIKE IN GHANA THAT THE GOVT CAN DO ANYTHING. IN THE US IF THE GOVT IS TO DISTRIBUTE FREE CONDOMS THEY MUST GET PARENTAL APPROVAL OR THEY WILL MEET A LOT OF PARENTS ...

• Ebibiman 9 years ago

Mahama is a disgrace.

• Sowab 9 years ago

Am afraid. Innocent virgins blood may be extracted through this process

• Kitty 9 years ago

Haha, funny but true, politicians will do anything to be in power.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Because there's no more excuse for loan God will punish you all

• Francis Kyei 9 years ago

Otiko how can they get the predcribed blood from 700 girls for their rituals to retain your Nothern brother Mahama? Talk well.

• Paa Nii 9 years ago

I support her position except that of it being embarrassment to Ghanaian fathers. That is not the case. It is very sensitive- yes and negative to Ghanaian cultural and traditional sentiments.

• Amos 9 years ago

Supplying sanitary pads does not eradicate poverty in any way......somebody should correct me if am wrong.The best way to keep girls in school is not to give them sanitary pads........simple as that!!!! If a girl can not buy ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 9 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS FOR OUR MOTHERS
    ===================================
    WE NEED I MIL FUTURE MOTHERS
    NOW !!!
    =======================================
    WWW.CUSTOMERMETRO.COM
    WWW.VOICEOFAFRIKA.ORG.UK

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Are fathers the only ones who buy pads?

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

The sad fact of the matter is that the vast majority of Ghanaians don't read and don't think, before making comments, whether it's about information on SADA or sanitary pads.

We can't build a working democracy with non-rea ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

uneducated folks understand their rights and effects of votes on their lives...

Ghanaian democratic process is dysfunctional because of corruption by the elites.....its that simple

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Corruption is a function of human cupidity and greed. Both elites and the poor are equally avaricious.

It is a fact that some of us don't read nor think, and that compromises our democratic dispensation.

• Ham 9 years ago

Who dreams of such stupidity...What's next buy condoms for all male students? Buy birth control pills for female students???? Leave parenting to parents

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

Just as President Mahama said, even if paves the streets of Ashanti lands with gold, the NPP will never give him credit. NPP will never be satisfied with whatever Mahama does. What percentage of the loan is earmarked towards ...

• BOB TEMA 9 years ago

USELESS ACCRAMAN KNOW WONDER THE ASHANTIS HAS BUY ALL YOUR LANDS AND HOUSES THAT TODAY YOUR MOTHER AND FATHER HAVE NOWHERE TO SLEEP.YOU A FOOL JUST LIKE MAHAMA GH HAS HUGE PROBLEMS THEN SANITARY PADS CANT YOU THINK LOOK AT NS ...

• ti 9 years ago

mahama is a fool what are u doing

• ibrahim kunate 9 years ago

the have no policy for ghana the only want to spen our money

• Mans, London 9 years ago

Why are Ghanaians over politicising this issue of sanitary pads? This can NEVER be a threat to ANY FATHER? Why will it have to be? Admittedly, this policy looks controversial nevertheless it's being overplayed such as to take ...

• HARK 9 years ago

great work I like it, I was surprise, da prof. minister speaking as if da awkward policy of buying sanitary pads for girls is ok. I can bet u dat every sane ghanaian knows this direction is wrong.

• Fman 9 years ago

very bad idea.next time will be free underwear for girls.

• PEE 9 years ago

IT A SHAME WE GHANA PARLIAMENTARIANS NEED REAL SCHOOLING WHY BORROW MONEY TO SUPPLY THESE PRODUCT THAT CAN BE MANUFACTURE LOCALLY WHICH MORE SUSTAINABLE

• DUNGA 9 years ago

I think late prez Mills is huntn mahama dat is why he doesn,t see his left nd right,,he shd publictly confess his evil deeds or de samethn will be done to him,,,rememba GHEDAFI

• Sea 9 years ago

Much as I agree that it is less important to supply female students with sanitary pads, I cannot come to terms with the reasons some of our politicians are giving to unjustify this plan. The other time Awuku was saying it was ...

• RICHIE 9 years ago

ONLY HOPELESS MOTHERS ALWAYS EXPECT THEIR HUSBAND TO PROVIDE EVERYTHING FOR A FAMILY.

IT TAKES TWO TO RAISE A CHILD OR CHILDREN, NOT ONLY FATHERS.

I'LL STAY ONE MILE AWAY FROM A WOMAN OR GIRL FRIEND WHO EXPECTS ME TO PR ...

• RICHIE 9 years ago

SHE LOOKS LIKE A MALE TO ME, THAT'S WHY SHE IS NAIVE ABOUT THE WORD RESPONSIBLE.

• humphrey 9 years ago

This lady is sick in the head

• Abrekyie ba UK 9 years ago

No wonder NDC government will come tomorrow and tell Ghanaians that there is a huge loan package to circumcised all school going boys who never had the opportunity to circumcised at the early age,hmmmm better Ghana with bette ...

• P.A. 9 years ago

It is even more disgraceful for a country after 57 years of independence to go and contract a loan for sanitary pads for distribution to girls in schools. Give jobs to those female graduates who have completed various courses ...

• AMU 9 years ago

npp is lacking ideas this days and am very sorry for that.

• Genuine Observer 9 years ago

Whenever WISDOM speaks, FOOLS react the only way they know......FOOLISHLY !!!

• FADI 9 years ago

THIS IS DEMONIC NDC!! SOLVE THE PROBLEM OF POVERTY AND PARENTS CAN BUY THEIR PAD FOR THEIR KIDS!!! THE STUPDITY OF MAHAMA AND HIS GANG OF EVIL THEIVES IS THAT THEY CAN NOT EVEN CONCEIVE OF OPENING UP A FACTORY HERE IN GHANA ...

• Blakk selasie 9 years ago

Sanitary pads to be sheard in schools? Eeii Ghana what a country full of jokers

• charles Austria. 9 years ago

who give advise to n.d.c govt.

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

The girls would need panties to keep the pad in place. It is bread and butter. So Mr Mahama can you olease add panties to the list

• British man 9 years ago

How could the NDC come up with such a plot to steal Ghana's money for election 2016. It's so embarrassing to even think about it. Young and upcoming Ghanaian girls will now be mocked because our minds are now focused on the ...

• I AM TiRED 9 years ago

When you have a government run by the wife of the president, a government whose pride is in giving all sensitive positions including ministerial ones to women, you will have a government who will take upon itself the responsi ...

• Kofi Mensah 9 years ago

O k we can hear what you are saying.
    What can you do about the new craze of young Ghanaians eating Dog meat as a delicacy? If it is the same poverty what
    can be the best advice? Over to you.

• lael 9 years ago

My dear sister, thanks a lot. You have said it all. Job creation is the fundamental problems of our economy and not loans for sanitary pads. Will government supervise the proper usage of these pads?

• amenye 9 years ago

What actually is Ghana problems that our leaders could not see? I think in life, every situation has a solution. But in Ghana our problems are just excalating without a single solution.Does it mean we are not qualify to run o ...

• Einstein 9 years ago

You cannot solve this problem with the same level of thinking that created it.

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

NPP NOTE; THIS COMMENTS WOULD BE USED AGAINST YOU IN THE ELECTION. IT MEANS YOU DO NOT WANT THESE POOR GIRLS TO BE HELPED. BY THIS, YOU ARE INSULTING THEIR PARENTS OF NOT PROVIDING FOR THEM. YOU THINKTHESE GIRLS, THEIR PARENT ...

• TEE 9 years ago

KNOWS A PROBLEM OF A GIRL. THE WHOLE WORLD ONLY IN GHANA YOU WILL HEAR A GOVERNMENT BUYING PADS FOR GIRLS SHAME INCOMPETENT MAHAMA

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

It was done done on a world bank research. looks like u are living on a different political planet. This ill-mannered cheap propaganda wouldn't get your party into power. grow up.

• Obiri Yeboah London. 9 years ago

It is a big shame for the President to mention the pad issue to Ghanaians.This is the time all Ghanaians should know that our so called President is insane. Even a mad person in Ghana has a brain more than the NDC stupid Pre ...

• Law Speaks 9 years ago

What of NPP's free education? Is it not a threat to fathers?

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

SHE TALK NONSES MAHAMA BEST FRIEND,FOOOOOLS

• Hot headed 9 years ago

You people anre making fools yourselves each day. Reducing poverty has several strategic components- some short , medium and others long term.
    Subsidy is a component strategy of responding to poverty. Diving scholarships to ...

• Hot headed 9 years ago

Nothing will change. It is approved and will be implementation as part of the bigger intervention.

• YawZa 9 years ago

The Mahama's NDC government has lost focus and is totally confused, it is a fact that they wasting our resources.
    Yes it is poverty that is the bane of our woes and that includes that of our young girls.
    President Mahama ge ...

• Lucky- NY. 9 years ago

Please Madam Otiko, stop playing Politics with the issue.Who doesn't need a helping hand these days.Did you ever have a problem when condoms were given out for free? Was it an insult to men and women? Madam Otiko stop this no ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Ghanaian would like to know more about that
    "Cooked" bogus so called research by Oxford from the gov't of Ghana,if any.
    If it is the truth, the gov't of Ghana should have known better to ignored the report . B'cos most of ...

• Grace 9 years ago

Listen to another fool! So does the npp not have any sensible person among them? Foolish talk by a foolish woman!

• Abaare John 9 years ago

should gov't withdraw school feeding bcos it is insult to parents that they can not feed their children? pls be seriouse NPP

• prince 9 years ago

We are still hoping this government would have the brain to invest in Dr. Safo Kantanka's automobile assembly plant.

• Alex Agyepong 9 years ago

what a stupid decision from government,pad please Mr.president the male also need condoms.

• Atta 9 years ago

When we are talking about public interest issues NPP is talking about personal experiences. Madam Otiko you are a disgrace to womanhood. You should have embrace this policy or action of government to make young school girls ...