You are here: HomeNews2014 07 04Article 315482

Intellectuals must save Ghana - Bishop Lodonu

Read Comments Comments (82)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 9 years ago

HELPLESSNESS, HOPELESSNESS & FEELING OF DESPONDENCY HAS GRIPPED MANY IN GHANA TODAY.
    GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY THESE NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHAM ...

• facts 9 years ago

Lets hope the honourable Bishop will not be insulted by those who think the NDC administration is the best or second to the first and so the country is far better today than the past years. The fact is clear we are in the poo ...

• ?2U 9 years ago

THE MAN YOU VOTED FOR IS NOT CAPABLE TO DO....ABOVE ALL HIS GOVT.ARE THIEVES.

• STOP N THINK 9 years ago

THAT'S THE WAY IF WE WILL COMMIT OURSELVES TO THAT.

• KWAKRANKYE MENSAH,AMASAMAN 9 years ago

Rather Ghanaians must be saved from you hypocrite, killer, saboteur,indifferent,devil worshipper, insensitive,wicked ,manipulative ,robber,murderer,tribalistic,sorcerer,demonic EWES!Including you fake bishop Lodonu!

• YAW AFFUL- US 9 years ago

I visited Ghana just recently having stayed in the US for more than twelve years and I noticed that foreign banks operating in Ghana are the cause of Cedi depreciation. This is a naked truth. Yes, we said we needed foreign in ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Mr Bishop, come again. It is the highly educated: the Dr this, Professor that etc who are using their intelligence to rob society.

Boko Haram is so right: Western education is not good for Africa.

• impromptus 9 years ago

Well done!

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

AFAG were NOT and i repeat , they were NOT a Ghanaian. Those people were Akan's Mate mehu terrorist from thief Kufour and Kennedy agyapong's home town MALI. GHANA our dear country is save under The great NDC leads by Presiden ...

• WHOEVER 9 years ago

WHEN WILL THIS DONKEY GROW?.KILLING PEOPLE LIKE COCKROACHES,KILLING PEOPLE LIKE COCOKROACHES.REALLY?,WHEN WILL YOU GET BRAIN IN THAT YOUR STUPID EMPTY BIG HEAD.DON'T YOU KNOW SAIF GADAFI IS IN A COURT FIGHTING FOR HIS LIFE FO ...

• totobi 9 years ago

woboa koraa

• ICONIC-07 9 years ago

POST-DR. NKRUMAH GHANA IS ILL-FATED AND DEPLETED OF INTELLECTUALS, RIGHT FROM THE SO-CALLED PROFESSORS OF UNIVERSITIES TO OUR PARLIAMENTARIANS TO THE PRESIDENCY.

I FEEL ASHAMED TO LEARN THAT GHANA HAD HAD A BASTARD, RAWLIN ...

• Joe Attoh, London 9 years ago

It unfair to call somebody a Bastard and be ashamed He ruled for 19years.
    At least he moved from obscurity to fame.
    He made mistakes like e everyone else, but he made his mark.

• Afrikatu Kofi 9 years ago

I sorry bishop to say that you are a very funny man.Since Ghana gained independence has our beloved nation been ruled by someone who has not been to school???Has anyone amongst the people we ingnorantly and colonially refer t ...

• Before & After 9 years ago

Are you referring to the "chew & pour", "copy and paste" etc...numerous degree holders in Ghana. They only want to show their long useless qualifications. I have seen people writing all the BECE, SSCE,HND, BA,MPhil, PhD at th ...

• Naa Yaa 9 years ago

Skin pain....

• Antwiwaa 9 years ago

Thank you,Bishop Lodonu for adding your voice to the call to save Ghana from sinking. Perhaps your voice will be more acceptable to some than that of Bishop Emeritus Sarpong who expressed similar sentiments. We are all Ghanai ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

There are so many of these intellectual solving same problems elsewhere. In Ghana, idiotic murderers like Jerry Rawlings won't let intellectuals do anything. Remember how they were even enemies of the stupid revolution? Remem ...

• tboat63 9 years ago

Can the so called intellectuals save Ghana? Are they not the very people occupying the various heads of offices in Ghana? What have they done for the transformatiom of mother Ghana? They account for 95 percent of our failure. ...

• Kasapreko 9 years ago

Lets pray for Cedi .

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

The ones that you see are not intellectuals, no matter how loud they drum it into our heads that they are such.

No, there are Ghanaian intellectuals, and the Bishop knows it very well. But his mistake is that the majority ...

• JK 9 years ago

These so-called intellectuals are the very ones in positions of influence crafting policy that exposes government purse for looting,

Between board representation, executive officer benefits, old-boy network trading of fav ...

• yaw-london 9 years ago

advisee the govt communication team. listen to what nii lantey said abt the occupy flagstaff house. whoever says anything, u are from npp. they must be rather advised

• DDKT 9 years ago

The people must stand up nd take their future nd destiny into their own hands instead of allowing intellectuals to deceive dem

• Quartey 9 years ago

tell your inward looking ones to vote wisely

• JOHN 9 years ago

Osofo, you are speaking from the world bank of the government. Mention names. Mention the loot given to Woyome and the $4 dollars given to Rawlings and his wife.

• Tango & Cash 9 years ago

Is the Bishop implying those running the state of governmental affairs are knuckle-heads? And team A should come to our rescue? Hmmmm given the calibre of the chaps running things now to the ground he has a very strong case.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Voting for NPP aka Nazi Peoples party is like jumping from the frying pan into the fire Tweea , you should rather stop your disruptive activities

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

Stinking Kojo T.

• June 9 years ago

Everything from most NPP sympathizers heads is all about tribe? Is this all you can take from the Bishops message? U see why clueless NDC won? becuase ppl do not want a Republican KKK style party in Ghana.

• TT 9 years ago

Bring the white man back.

• Jane 9 years ago

Really, so you're so dumb & the white man is above you? Smh

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Which white man is not above you, my dear? All you seem capable to do is DENY

Will any white man borrow millions of us-dollars to supply school girls with hygienic pads? How did you survive WITHOUT those free pads? Be hone ...

• TT 9 years ago

Thanks, Don

• TT 9 years ago

Wrong, it's our mentality, just read your response. Really.

• Ghana Young Boy 9 years ago

Good job Bishop! If you are in Ghana for business, people at the ministries will drag your feet until you give up. There should be an office to investigate and remove all feet-dragging officials when it comes to bring busines ...

• Nana Yaa New York city 9 years ago

Osofo the situation is as you have said here is a stiffnecked Prez who does not want to listen to anybody again i blame ghanaians people who dont want to think and dot scrutinise stupid messages presented by non achievers.Did ...

• MADIBA 9 years ago

Please tell your people to wise up in voting simple.

• NII ARMAH 9 years ago

BOOK KNOWLEDGE DIFFERENT FROM COMMON SENSE. WAA LOOK AT WHAT THEY EXHIBITED TO THE WORLD DURING WORLD CUP.

• Ike 9 years ago

Bishop be courageous and call a spade a spade. We have intellectuals in and outside the Govt, and you know those in Government. Please call their names and talk to them. Don't leave it just open. Be courageous

• Asamoah Gyan 9 years ago

Why is NDC full of fools? Even though they are starving, unable to educate their children, live in poverty whilst a few enjoy, have their businesses collapse because they have no electricity, they will continue to vote NDC. T ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A mathematician and an engineer agreed to take part in an experiment.They were both placed in a room and at the other end was a beautiful naked woman on a bed.The experimenter said every 30 seconds they would be allowed to t ...

• Lord A`postrophy 9 years ago

Bishop is sounding the right note.
    Ghana has become intellectually dysfunctional. This is one of the many problems facing us and sinking us into abyss.

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

My advantage, as engineer

• impromptus 9 years ago

Check your history. Poor farmers, fishermen, kokompe, zongo boys, Suame people keep our country moving not the white collar mafia Talibans. 'You cannot keep on doing the same thing and expect a change' - does it ring a bell B ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

You're calling satan to help church building - just too much for engels

• WHOEVER 9 years ago

OH MY BISHOP,TODAY YOU HAVE GOT IT WRONG WHICH INTELLECTUALS ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?.BISHOP PLEASE BEAT ON THE TOP OF THE DRUM SO THAT IT SOUNDS GOOD.THIS EVIL PARTY FOUNDED BY YOUR OWN NEPHEW JUROL TOGBE KOKOVI ASAA RAWLINGS ...

• kretz - D 9 years ago

Bishop, Ghana has a lot of intellectuals ,at home and in abroad. The problem is wickedness, selfish and greed. No leader has the country at heart. The only leader I can say did well for Ghana was our first president, Dr Kwame ...

• AM LAUGHING.......................... 9 years ago

I think Ghana is in the hands of stupid people who call themselves a government (NDC). I do not think it is sensible to solicit for a loan to buy pads for school girls. That loan should rather be used to establish companies w ...

• AM LAUGHING.......................... 9 years ago

I think Ghana is in the hands of stupid people who call themselves a government (NDC). I do not think it is sensible to solicit for a loan to buy pads for school girls. That loan should rather be used to establish companies w ...

• OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

• ABISA 9 years ago

GHANA'S SALVATION WILL COME FROM THE RULE OF LAW, NONDISCRIMINATION IN THE EXERCISE AND EXECUTION OF THE LAW, NO BRIBERY OF POLICE OFFICERS AND JUDGES. WE ARE DOOMED WITHOUT THIS BASICS.

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA NOW CORRUPT CHIEFS ATALKING HMMMMMMMM THANKS GOD OOOOO

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

Eeeeeeei MAHAMA,JJ WHERE ARE YOU?? CHOP CHOP NKOAAAA,EBE DII K3K3,MONKYENI,GOD WILL PUNISH YOU ALL,ATUGUBA MUST BE IN SHAME BY NOW

• Ato Wright SA 9 years ago

It's so sad that this generation of ours, tribal differences are also playing part in diminishing our dear mother land's development. Bad governance and policies are the cause of development in Ghana.Corruption is a normal v ...

• Favour 9 years ago

We have too many book-knowledge intellectuals appointed without real world experience. Those who have built years of experience are retired and their practical salient ideas are discarded. How can a nation develop with these ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

I do not know how the Teachers come into that because the Teachers have always played their role well.
    The Student(educated) majority of whom became the CEO's etc,and those who venture into politics and therefore leadership; ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Again, so far the only economic growth and long term investment policy of our intellectuals by the Mahama led NDC administration is a foreign loan part of which will be used to procure “ Amoasii"(sanitary pad) for some Sch ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

INTELLECTUALS CANNOT SAVE GHANA. WHAT THEY HAVE LEARNED ARE DESCRIPTION OF OTHER PEOPLES LIVES AND ACHIEVEMENT. IN MOST INSTANCES, THE KNOWLEDGE IS IRRELEVANT TO THE NEEDS OF GHANA. TAKE YOUR OWN POSITION. YOUR TEACHING IS FO ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Osei Yao communicates with all the other ethnic groups in Ghana in a foreign language yet we understand him.How relevant is that? He learnt how to write his proud name in a foreign alphabet/language too.Twi,Ewe,Ga,Fante,etc w ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Well said, but where is the so-called National Council? Have they all of a sudden gone mute? Ghana and sycophancy, hypocrisy, God is watching! For this gove't, it's better not to talk about them. Hell Fire is waiting for them ...

• Tweaaa 9 years ago

Bishop, you are preaching to the Choir. They are sitting infront of you. They are the problem

• Legend 9 years ago

They are the ones that got us there in the first place,n they are the ones stealing,all we need is justice and equal rights,proper management of resources,no reliance on donors,n bishop tell them the truth for africa was crea ...

• Kwasi u.s.a 9 years ago

Ghanaians go to school to learn how to be corrupt,also learn to steal, instead of serving their nation,instead of be inventive and productive that is their motive,in the notion that i have PHD, MD,ETC with that, the nation ...

• Koliko 9 years ago

Hello Osofo Hodonu you have spoken well but if intellectuals speak and give good council to those in power and those in power say "yEntsie obiara" then how can the intellectuals save the nation?

I would have been very plea ...

• Balderash 9 years ago

Those who call themselves intellectuals in Ghana are for sale. At the right price, they will muddy the waters.

• Ayera 9 years ago

You see Bishop the conditions of a people can not change unless the mentality of the people change. Ghana doesn't need intellectuals to better the conditions in the country because the Drs. professors and their likes are resp ...

• Yen 9 years ago

The intellectuals are greedy corrupt and out of touch with reality. If we have to build Ghana , we have to rely on the 'non-bookworms' and the fitters who went through our technical and Poltechnics education to help us out Al ...

• Amecole. 9 years ago

Dear Bishop, l can understand your request. Which Ghanaian intellectual are you referring to? Do you mean the degree holding "intellectual"? Mmm, unfortunately the Ghanaian degree holder is a paper holding individual, always ...

• CALM 9 years ago

Volta region chiefs marched to Accra to support THIEF WOYOME.........NDC KNOWS NOTHING BUT TRIBALISM AND STATE LOOTING......WE AINT SEEN NOTHING YET........WORSE IS YET TO COME.....

• Descartes 9 years ago

ABOLISH PARTY POLITICS. REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES ACCORDING TO ELECTORAL FIGURES TO PARLIAMENT. PESIDENT OR PRIME MINISTER TO BE IN TURNS PROPORTIONALLY.EVERY REGION WILL HAVE THE CHANCE TO APPOINT A PESIDENT FOR MAXIMUM OF TW ...

• Hugo 9 years ago

Dear Bishop, it is these same so called intellectuals who are screwing up the rest of society - they are only looking out for their own good whilst paying LIP SERVICE. The masses needs good civic education to demand their rig ...

• Joe 9 years ago

It is only intellectuals (which the present administration lacks) who can save the nation not ILLITERATES who are parading corridors of power with their views that does not hold water. I blame the media for giving platform t ...

• Abaka Quagranie 9 years ago

Ohh - So Mahama and NDC do not have any intellectuals ? Hahahahahaha. Like someone said - kwasia bi nti...

• Yaw Obeng 9 years ago

You are right to some extent but Bishop Lodonu, our so called intellectuals are comparatively, the most unproductive group of people in our communities in Ghana. They have no vision, no aspiration, no commitment to take risk ...

• Papadoc 9 years ago

The bishop has it wrong!
    The educated and elite in Ghana, it seems are using their privileged status to plunder the nation

• Whatever 9 years ago

I think the clergy should stay away from politics because the more they talk politics, the more their ignorance of it becomes bare. Save Ghana from who? Do these Bishops even know what Ghana is? We are talking about a state ...

• SMOOTH 9 years ago

GHANA Intellectuals CAN'T SAVE THE COUNTRY.......ONLY PEOPLE WITH WISDOM CAN DO IT.....THESE FOOLS THEY CALL THEMSELVES GHANA SCHOOLED INTELLECTUALS ARE ALL ARMED ROBBERS, USELESS AND BASICALLY, JUST CHEW AND POUR INTELLECTS.

• kwadwo totobii 9 years ago

The clergyman man is right, but if the clergical institution would include the good ethics in our culture in their preachings things can change for the better in the country.We need to look at our roots and also respect them. ...

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

Is it not the same intellectuals who have mismanaged the country, embezzled state funds,stolen Government property,sold and purchased Government lands at unbeliavable low prices? I thought as a Bishop he would rather appeal t ...

• Papa K 9 years ago

They are the very thieves!

• PPP 9 years ago

Bishop, will the politicians allow the INTELLECTUALS? When the politicians politicize even "PUBLIC TOILETS"