You are here: HomeNews2014 07 04Article 315480

Prof Botchwey calls for cohesion among political parties

Read Comments Comments (33)

• cha 9 years ago

Ghanaians are suffering

• Kojo T 9 years ago

NPP ma te me ho will never accept it Just look back at their actions under Nkrumah , then Acheampong and then JJ . They are greedy, selfish, uncouth, low class who will destroy so they can rule . God curse them

• SHAMO 9 years ago

HE DONT KNOW HOW TO RULE YET HE IS RULING CARRYING GHANA INTO A DITCH

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

the guy is part of Ghana's mess

• Papadoc 9 years ago

Answer

Stealing from the nation, of course.
    He had the perfect opportunity to siphon the funds

• MOOREMAN 9 years ago

PARLIAMENT IS THE FIRST ARM OF THE 3 BRANCHES.THE 3 ARMS ALL STEER THE AFFAIRS OF THE GOVT IF WELL UNDERSTOOD. GHANA'S PROBLEM BEGAN WITH THE ELECTION PETITION AND ALL THE 8 MONTHS GRUELSOME TRIALS SPICED WITH NATION BREAKIN ...

• Nana Kwadwoe 9 years ago

The other very critical area of governance is our local government. That is the arm that actually runs the country hence if we properly decentralize and elect regional governor/chief executive who will be responsible for reve ...

• KAKABO 9 years ago

Guys where are we going. We rejected union government so many decades ago and now we want to bring it back.No way. We opted for multi-party democracy. If a party is voted into power and the country finds that the party is una ...

• konfanko 9 years ago

The President has the authority to appoint whoever and hence can include competent men/women from all parties. Obama appointed the secretary of defense awho is a republican and many others. The president is the culrit in this ...

• Appletus 9 years ago

Hahaha...there is nothing wrong with our current democratic set up. Political parties have polarized themselves that way in Ghana owing to selfish reasons.
    A government led by a certain tribal leader tends to skew toward app ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

Winner takes all is a valid constitutional law principle of the Statute of Westminster 1931. The 1992 Ghana Constitution was based on that deep-seated principle.

It is a competitive, open and democratic rule, seeking the b ...

• DAVID OHENE 9 years ago

Dr Glah,your argument is puerile and sophomoric, in fact it is downright stupid.
    Pro Botchwey makes an intelligent and valid point. If you support the "Winners take all" nonsense, just look at the batch of incompetent, money ...

• Favour 9 years ago

According to Prof Botchwey, when PNDC were looking for the best they picked Kufuor. In other words, Kufuor is better than what we have.

• Yaw 9 years ago

This IEA anti-winner-takes all advocates are day-dreaming. Why did'nt they call for the same philosophy when the npp was in power. Prof Botcwey do not be hoodwinked by these guys. They a sinister motive for Ghana

• HONEST CITIZEN 9 years ago

The NPP included Dr. Ndum in their government and he was one of the best ministers. The problem now is that even the NPP as it is now is divided so whom can the government choose from without been branded as been in Alan's ca ...

I think it is the responsibility of wise leaders to chose competent people to help run their governments. A wise leader will look for quality human resources irrespective of one's political lineage.

• I say 9 years ago

Go tell it to your people in NDC. Preach the message of good will to them. When they are ready, the country will move forward with a merger of NPP, CPP and PPP. ndc has to become a minority to shaddup and learn a few lessons

• Kwame 9 years ago

From 2001 to 2009 NPP did not only implement the winner takes all but make sure that it imprison some members of the opposition, NDC party.

• I say 9 years ago

Oh! Massa. It is fair to say that kind of tit for tat has been going on for donkeys years in so many countries. But let us be fair and compare like for like. So, NPP came to power and jailed people who caused financial loss ...

• The Anti-Corruption Squad 9 years ago

Show us how you honestly earned 300 million as a Minister!

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

Sell the nation to the British and set up a protectorate alliance between Ghana and Britain. No american involvement in government affairs - British autonomy. Denounce and relinquish our independence, we will remain a British ...

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

without thinking of the population at large

• Wise Woman 9 years ago

This corrupt empty Professor should tell Ghanaians the source of his 2013 customised Lexis V8, BMW X6 customised and Toyota Tundra customised with his name on the seats and tyres. Where did you get the money to buy them? Ghan ...

• Papadoc 9 years ago

What did this guy achieve for Ghana for all the decades he had the opportunity to influence the public policy of the country????? He and the Ahwoi's, Tsikata's and the rest of the murderers plundered the nation and left her ...

• Papadoc 9 years ago

This mother f***** still wants to contribute to the public dialogue after stealing from us for years. Go to hell!!!

• Whatever 9 years ago

How can there be cohesion between political opponents whose ideologies are diagrammatically oppose to each. One more or less believes in Nkrumahism and the other believes in laissez faire property owning class system. How can ...

• Papadoc 9 years ago

10% payback for every contract adds up pretty fast

• mahama 9 years ago

we need a system in which insulates economic decision-making from political interference. that way, we the people can have a measure of security that stupid political decisions like my dream of providing sanitary pads with ex ...

• kwadwo totobii 9 years ago

This practice of winner-takes all favours discontinuity in developing the nation. This is because the parties think self-centered and not in thr interest of the nation. Therefore they halt projects started by the then party e ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Before we listen to you explain to us where you got your wealth from. You are now scared about your stolen booty and the way Ghana is going because the people's uprising would surely consume you and others who defrauded and c ...

• ASUOAFRAM 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH PROF. BOTCHWEY ON CHANGING OUR POLITICAL SYSTEM.BUT HOW ARE WE GOING TO DO IT.IS HE TALKING ABOUT A UNION GOVERNMENT OR SOMETHING ELSE. WILL THE CHANGE AFFECT THE COMPOSITION OF PARLIAMENT, APPOINTMENTS OF MINIST ...

• Jay Rogue Ray Ram Liar 9 years ago

Even without a constitutional mandate for inclusion of other party memebers, any political party or leadership which has the country at heart can reach out to other knowlegdeble party faithfuls for assistance. Unfortunately o ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Socialist thieves!