You are here: HomeNews2014 07 03Article 315301

Essien calls for peace and circumspection

Read Comments Comments (107)

• olo Vivi 9 years ago

Be bold

• JOKER 9 years ago

GO AHEAD AND RETIRE FROM PLAYING FOR GHANA AGAIN YOURSELF.

FOOLISH SELFISH INDIVIDUALS

• GHFUO, what is your Purpose/LEGACY?!! 9 years ago

SADDAM/AA & GHADAFFI/NYANTAKYI
    WAT WILL EINSTEIN DO?
    MASSA, WE DONT WANT TO SEE UR SHADOWS ANYMORE. U AND AA. WE DONT CARE. CHALEY, WO BE WUOOO? YOOO!
    ADVICE YOURSELF N COMOT OR ELSE UR CAR, OFFICE WILL BE BLOWN TO BITS! A ...

• biko 9 years ago

Done supporting mercenary players who only think of their pockets. God has done so much for all of you these mercenary players, and you are still not satisfied with what you've got. You cannot even respect your own kinsman co ...

• ATO KWAMENA 9 years ago

I'm still in doubt whether Essien wrote this himself! I say this because I know he is not that clever for this level of script! However, whether he wrote it or not, the facts remain clear!! From the GFA officials----including ...

• Tarantula 9 years ago

Ato Kwamena calm down. 32 national teams went to the tournament and only one of them will take the cup back home. There is nothing as childish and as stupid as a sore loser.

Now whether Essien wrote that piece or not is be ...

• GHABA SIGHN 9 years ago

Iam happy we have somebody like u in this country.I was wondering how people were thinking until u came around. After all i am not alone in my kind of thinking. God bless u.

• Parker J 9 years ago

Thank you Tarantula. Speeches for president are written by paid writers. The writer whom you replied to, should check his english too. His heading reads "Did Essien Wrote this"? His grammar is equally wrong. Tell him to stop ...

• Nana Obrakyir 9 years ago

Bro, you have a very wonderful response to Ato Kwamena's question. I only think you should not have involved Sulley and .... comments. However, you also did well.

• Isaac Mensah {iymensah4343@gmail.com) 9 years ago

MY CANDID OPINION IS THAT THE INDISCIPLINED BOATENG,MUNTARI AND ESSIEN SHOULD NOT BE INVITED INTO THE BLACK STAR TEAM AGAIN.

• FOLAKE 9 years ago

Answer.

• DODOO 9 years ago

GFA IS CORRUPT .
    WHAT WERE THEY DOING IN BRAZIL, OVER 70 OFFICIALS?

• Prof KK 9 years ago

You should rather ask about the GFA boss who endorsed the decision not to bring wives to the CAMP? He even travelled with his kids and wife and probably girlfriends (?).

Essien took his wife to BRAZIL and not the stars' c ...

• kwame 9 years ago

This piece should be titled, I michael essien, I am a coward.

• nyameba 9 years ago

Check your grammar before you criticise others

• apetupre-usa 9 years ago

Does it matter who wrote it? Even famous people like presidents have writers write for them and so what? Please think and don't waste your brains - no insult intended

• Frank Agyena- Karikari 9 years ago

Do we blame the players, the Coach and GFA executives? All people work for money. Have you seen how our past sportsmen are so poor? This is the reason why they have to make money now.
    I blame the government? Why should the g ...

• Adjaloo Kweku Nenya 9 years ago

This guy sounds like the only matured person in the Black Stars

• DODOO 9 years ago

MUNTARI FOUHGT CORRUPT GFA PEOPLE.

• The beauty of ignorance 9 years ago

Dodoo could you please mention one fact that the GFA did wrong and for which you accuse them as being corrupt?

• Annoited One!! USA 9 years ago

you people are stupid

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Who listens to this foolish, unpatriotic fool who acted out hiding behind small minds like Sulley and Kevin for his own selfish gains.

• Shabi 9 years ago

Ka Na Wu, I share your concerns 100%. Who does Essien think he is fooling? We all observed his passive compliance - or, his 'silence means consent' posture when that crazy boy Sulley Muntari went into one of his typical lunat ...

• BoB 9 years ago

Essien can keep on pretending but we know his true colour. He is selling us a snake oil,we are not going to buy this. He is trying to play the guy.but he is vulgar behavior was on display in Brazil.

• Frank Agyena Karikari 9 years ago

Do you blame the players only? Do you work for free? Why were the guys not paid at the right time? This is not the time to play for free. Have you seen D.K Poison, Osei Kofi and Polo of late? The state has neglected them but ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

My friend, those players are not children ....well, er, not quite.

Now if you ask me, everybody is paid after doing a job, right? Why were the players paid when they had not finished the job assigned to them? They extorte ...

• GHABA SIGHN 9 years ago

I support your submission. When we are talking money matters those who cant get thier legs broken come to talk some. They always deserve a slap.

• Anti-Corruption Squad 9 years ago

Beast of no name, do not use words you do not understand. Essien didn't steal money from Ghana to become a multi-millionaire. Which of your stupid politicians that you follow blindly in hopes of receiving some crumbs earned t ...

• Lenos 9 years ago

I thought Essien was so matured, patriotic and disciplined. The report that he supported or even instigated this barbaric behavior of Muntari and Kelvin is unbelievable to some of us who admire and respect him so much from fa ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

In as much as we blame Muntari and Kelvin for misbehaving, we also have to blame the government and sports ministry for not being honest to them. Ghanaian authorities do not take care of sports people when they leave their pr ...

• DODOO 9 years ago

GFA MESSEP UP BIG TIME.
    LEAVE THE PLAYERS ALONE.

• Shabi 9 years ago

In the same way that the govt is not responsible for retired Civil Servants or workers from the private sector, the govt and the Sports Ministry are not responsible for the up-keep of retired sportsmen and women. This, I pres ...

• walid 9 years ago

GHANA PLAYED LIKE KIDS NO WOUNDER WE LOST

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

I am disappointed in Mike Essien for siding with Muntari's stupidity.

• Ben 9 years ago

You are obviously an educated illiterate who reasons like the next person who cannot read and comprehend. The press conference yesterday did not point out any mistake on the part of GFA. Do you believe they are blameless?

• Bentoa 9 years ago

Look, forget about us. You've made your millions, go spend it with your girl friends and boy friends! Leave us alone. Ghana is bigger and better than any of us, and it will always be. Stop rubbing salt into our wounds.

• Ojah Beba Dabi 9 years ago

Essien is finished? Kwasia, do you know that Essien is already a multi-millionaire - who was worth $30 million about 5 years ago? Essien doesn't need ANYTHING from corruption-ridden and broke Ghana, the criminal GFA, or poor ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

Mark 8:36 For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul? For what can a man give in return for his soul? For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of h ...

• The Anti-Corruption Squad 9 years ago

Ignorance is not bliss. Educate yourself about Essien - go to the Michael Essien Foundation website and see how Essien has been helping disadvantaged kids! Keep your phony religion to yourself since you see nothing wrong with ...

• pepi 9 years ago

Here comes another idiot. its always somebody else fault.

• FIIFI ALEXIS, ACCRA 9 years ago

we are disappointed in the behavior of essien because you did not play regularly you have to sabbaotage the young players , shame to you and your mentor muntari.

It is idiots like you who make corruption thrive in Ghana. Which of your filthy, thieving politician-millionaires actually earned his money like Essien? Do you know what Nyantakyi did to the players so he could pocket the mon ...

• YAW 9 years ago

WE DON'T NEED YOU IN THE BLACK STARS AGAIN.

Instead of criticizing the corrupt Nyantakyi and his ignorant coach, Akwasi Appiah, you're so stupid you attack those who stood for principles. Nobody needs a dumb bastard like yourself anywhere. As for Essien he has earned m ...

• Gandalf 9 years ago

HE HAS HIRED A PUBLICIST TO WRITE SOMETHING FOR HIM THAT WILL SOOTH HIS EGO AND COVER HIS MISDEEDS. HOW CAN YOU TALK ABOUT PATRIOTISM WHEN YOU TURN YOUR BACK TO THE FIELD WHEN YOUR COLLEAGUES ARE PLAYING BECAUSE YOU WERE NOT ...

• KB 9 years ago

I swear this was written by Akosua Puni. Where will Essien get the wisdom to write this piece of wisdom. I think CID need to investigate who actually wrote this statment

• Joe Akess 9 years ago

Vry touching report
    but good name is better than riches. the end of everything is better than its beginning. Lastly, blessed are peace makers they shall be call the son of God. If u dicide to call for peace is good.
    But G ...

• SAMMY .S, SWEDURU 9 years ago

YOU HAVE DAMAGED A WHOLE AND SHOWING YOUR HYPOCRACY , K P B SAID YOU ARE A MEMBER OF ANTI CORRUPT GROUP WHY DO YOU WANT TO BETRAY THEM WITH THIS PIECE, CONTINUE IF WHAT YOU DID IS GOOD IN YOUR CONSCIENCE.GOD WILL PUNISH YOU I ...

• Jason 9 years ago

For once..

I wish that Ghanaians would tell the truth and lay out the facts! This nation is not developing because individuals as Essien are to much afraid to speak out their mind and tell the truth.

Talk about corrupti ...

• AGYA KOW 9 years ago

Damage control publicity work via Ms Akosua Puni Essein....nice one but is it from the heart?

• ben 9 years ago

you have destroyed the good name you made for yourself because of selfishness. you have come to the end of our carreer. we don't need you anymore... foolish and selfish Michael essien. you have destroyed your end from the ver ...

• Sam 9 years ago

ben we are talking football here stop getting into something else.

• KPB 9 years ago

Very nice write up..Akosua, this makes a rather interesting reading...but gee, this can't come from Essien, neither the facts (if any) nor even the thought of publicly appealing for calm and peace...

There was really no n ...

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

I cry for footballing community of the nation as Michael Essien (ME) refuses to lay the facts bare if trully this piece was from him. This is complete back-stabbing the rest. ME should be squizzed to voice out what he witness ...

• Nanaba 9 years ago

You hate the truth and you will be poor in everything for ever and ever

• MENSAH 9 years ago

Essien, go to hell. You people are simply unpatriotic. You have brought a monumental disgrace to our country. where in lie your patriotism. You people can not even sing the national anthem.

The corrupt GFA was stealing the money meant for the players arrangements in Brazil and subjecting them to dangerous conditions, and here you are blabbing silly trash.

Is it patriotic for the President of GFA, Nyantakyi, ...

• STOKELEY X 9 years ago

Essien is saving his face.Somebody wrote the Peace Accord for him. He doesn not look capable enough to have written that "grammar".
    Ghanaians must be excused by such FALSE PRETENCE. Our Black Stars were simply a group of ...

• tolume 9 years ago

Essien is making some sense lets respect it and not destroy the team .

• CINDY 9 years ago

Stupid talk. How do this Essien guy take we Ghanaians for? You were among the group who started all these stupid agitations and incited the rest to support your stupid course and you turn round to tell us what? You want to be ...

• Kofi J 9 years ago

You are deserter Essien, You were single handedly involved in all this problems. Do u thing Ghanaian as fools like u do. Stupid fellow.
    Cant even express urself

Corrupt GFA cannot shift the blame to the players through it's operatives. Corrupt GFA shamed Ghana by exporting its corruption abroad.

Being ignorant or retarded or both, you had nothing to say about the players' mistrea ...

• Amina 9 years ago

Ghanaians shouldn't be like fowls. Mike Essien did something for Ghana before. please, let's listen to him. although the Black stars joked with our emotions. I think all should be put to the coach. what happened is more than ...

• Ama Nyamekye- Tafo ksi 9 years ago

Essien, mutari,& kb are too old and stupid to play for Ghana.we don't want their services again. they are stupid and foolish illustrates

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

ESSIEN SHUT UP YOU ARE A HYPOCRITE YOU SHOULD HAVE SET A BETTER EXAMPLE THAN WHAT YOU DID STOP PRETENDING

• Full Stop 9 years ago

I hold the believe that the whole GFA and Black Star Team Members needs to be probed. The coach, president and all members of the GFA teams needs to be dissolved/ sacked. They have really embarrassed every Ghanaian and also t ...

• J Ananga 9 years ago

There go the gullible listeners. You have already made up your minds about Essien from the GFA's one sided story. He says if the authorities are interested in knowing the truth, they better investigate. What else should he ha ...

• GHFUO, what is your Purpose/LEGACY?!! 9 years ago

SADDAM/AA & GHADAFFI/NYANTAKYI
    AS LONG AS AA AND NYANTAKYI ARE IN THE ANALS OF GH SOCCER. I WILL BOYCOTT, CURSE GH SOCCER FOREVER AND EVER.INTO THE BOTTOMLESS PIT OF MEDIOCRITY AND SHAME!
    WAT WILL EINSTEIN DO?
    MASSA, WE DO ...

• Kaku - UK 9 years ago

You guys have to be patient for until the truth is out, it will all be speculation, and speculation and foolish judgments.

• Ohene Kwabena 9 years ago

You are a real and dangerous snake of a human being. You put out this concocted press release meanwhile on your official instagram page the following is your latest post; "NOBODY CARES ABOUT YOUR SHITTY FOR WHY YOU'RE LATE, W ...

• Ohene Kwabena 9 years ago

You are a real and dangerous snake of a human being. You put out this concocted press release meanwhile on your official instagram page the following is your latest post; "NOBODY CARES ABOUT YOUR SHITTY EXCUSES FOR WHY YOU'RE ...

• onipanua 9 years ago

Get lost with your stupidity.Playing football does not make you a super human being.After all when you play for the nation you are paid.It is not a free service you give to the nation.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

You love Ghana? Learn from the Greece Team. Money is good but not everything. Donate that money to show how regretable you are....

• MUSSA 9 years ago

oh please.....are we suppose to believe michael essien wrote can write english language with such precision? pplleeaassee......

• alex 9 years ago

wen will de people of ghana mak comment without insulting.is terrible and i always weep for dat.de guy is making a point and u are here insulting him.u talk alot but tak little action

• alex 9 years ago

mak sensible comment not insensibility comment

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

GFA MUST BE CAREFUL NOT TO SHOOT ITS SELF IN THE FOOT ONCE MORE. AFTER BUNGLING THE MATTERS IN BRAZIL THEY LOOKED FOR SCAPE GOATS, AND AS YOU CAN SEE THESE THREE ESSIEN , BOATENG AND SULE ARE THE MOST HANDY.
    LOOK AT IT THIS ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

When you were running riot and taking hostages in Brazil patience as a virtue was lost on you.

You conducted yourself like a thug and collected $100000 and still refused to warm up.

Now you have the cheek to ask for pa ...

• asase-ba 9 years ago

What does that mean? Is there a simpler word?

• GBORTSUI 9 years ago

...NOBODY HAS ASKED FOR YOUR OPINION /COMMENTS SO SHUT UP AND DON'T BE SILLY.

• Gascar Bekoe 9 years ago

i want people whose name will still remainas legends after retiring like Stephen Appiah and Abedi Pele. essien shine ur eyes cos we are losing trust in you

• BABAGNA, WA 9 years ago

NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU DO, CANT ALWAYS SATISFY EVERY BODY NEITHER WILL YOU BE LIKE/LOVE BY ALL. ESSEINE YOU ARE TRUE PATRIOT LIKE SULLEY IN THE DISCERNING MINDED GHANIANS.

• NDC 9 years ago

You have shown maturity

• Koo Sebo 9 years ago

Sob shut the fuckup.

• fiili fiili.. 9 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS MUNTARI FOR DISHING OUT THOSE SLAPS BCOS THOSE BUFFOONS REALLY NEED IT FROM JOHN MAHAMA TO ALL FOOT SOLDIERS..

• Kojo 9 years ago

Its amazing how these players (Sulley and Essien) can respect their illitrate mothers (Kande and Tikedo)but dont have any respect for Kwesi Appiah. Is it because these players never respected their fathers.

• Dodowa 9 years ago

Judging from the response to Essien's pacifist moves, people are pissed at both the players and officials of the Black Star team. I wrote that our proclivity to over pamper these players has led to the narcissistic culture th ...

• asase-ba 9 years ago

Your writing will be more pleasant if you write in more simple language. The manner in which you write feels forced and unnatural.

• Kojo 9 years ago

you took side already by supporting mutari. So you cannot come here to preach to us as if you are a siant.

• zim 9 years ago

NICE ONE,FORGET ABOUT THE CORRUPT COACH AND THE GFA,BUNCH OF IDIOTS.

• Flowerman 9 years ago

This ts the height of pure hypocrisy. You caused the problem when you brought your girlfriend to camp. She wanted part of the appearance fee so badly so you connived with your two friends to put pressure on govt. SHAME on you

• Naadu 9 years ago

I just admire this Essien guy. He is well composed and discipline. It's only intelligent people, even at the PHD/Professor level, who write scripts for others to edit before publication. It sounds Juvenile to critic Mike's sc ...

• Vincent 9 years ago

Thsnks Essien for calling for peace , i love your peace message.

• Whatever 9 years ago

That's a sensible advice and I would take that

• kobi Italy 9 years ago

of the truth as far as we are in Ghana and fault seems to be from our leaders we can never get it but if all will let sleeping dogs lie and start all over again things will get better next time

• KOMIVI 9 years ago

This call supposedly written by Essien would have been realistic if he had been selfless enough to admit his own complicity in the mess in Brazil and asked for forgiveness from Ghanaians first. He refuses to obey instruction ...

The head of GFA, Nyantakyi, was caught agreeing to fix matches - against the interest of Ghana and you see nothing wrong with that. Is that discipline? Is that patriotism? And did you bother to read the players' complaints - ...

• Komivi 9 years ago

It most idiotic. In fact you are the most senseless beast of a human being. I am not a subject to any body but such numbskull as you to call me dumb, I would not take it lying down. I talk of facts not fiction . You, because ...

• Sarah Boye 9 years ago

Well said Michael.

• ADONGO 9 years ago

WHO ASKED YOU TO SIGN THIS PIECE?YOU OBVIOUSLY DIDN'T WRITE IT.GREEDY BLACKSTAR.PLAYER

• Parker J 9 years ago

I really admire your plea but you should have said this before taking sides. Next time, think before you act.

• osei darteh 9 years ago

essien what did you do to resolve the payment issue, if you had received your $100,000.00 in canada close to 40% would have paid as income tax. has the government ever refused to pay you in the previous world cup campaigns? ...

• ALL GHANAIANS 9 years ago

This guy has not served Ghana well at all.For the past3 world cups he had played hurt to save his selfish body.I never saw him on the field in Brazil.Comapre yourself to Asamoah Djan and Muntari.These players acted selflessly

• Aba Benyiwa 9 years ago

First GFA chairman & Manager Be Suspended Before Good Investigation.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 9 years ago

All of you are Greedy Bastards,and a Disgrace.All of you should be Ashamed of yourselves for what you did.

• Micheal Essien 9 years ago

I narrated this story in Twi to my wife(Akosua Puni) she then drafted everything in English and my lawyer made some corrections and posted it ot the Ghanaweb.

• OTSIBU DARKO 9 years ago

You're self-centered; selfish and unpatriotic citizen;if you mean what you wrote then you should have used your good intentions to assist the to find solutions to the problem and not 'fan' it,now you are making it to look lik ...