You are here: HomeNews2014 07 02Article 315115

Lack of patriotism, bane of national development – Minister

Read Comments Comments (31)

• The Mask 9 years ago

There are some specific fields that we lack the needed expertise. To solve this problem the government of Ghana has over the decades made scholarships available for Ghanaians to study abroad in these fields. In some instances ...

• AL JAZEERA NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Sulley Muntari CLINICALLY TREATED Ghana’s serious disease, CORRUPTION. He attacked corrupt NDC'S CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE BUSINESS! !!!--------

Below is what led to the brawl.

Sulley: WHAT IS THE USE OF SOO MANY G.F.A O ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This idiot is just diverting attention. At this level of corruption, no Ghanaian can ever hope for any development. Mahama and three other brothers have five houses in Beverly Hills. He tells dying Ghanaians he shares their s ...

• Americano 9 years ago

Stealing of Ghana's money by politicians is the problem.

• tijani 9 years ago

idiot, bullock do you deserve to be a minister? full

• G WILLS / canada 9 years ago

A man of this kind is a minister in this republic ! he has no substance;

• SYDNEY 9 years ago

Even this small boy okudzeto ablakwah was convincing martin amidu to pay out fake judgement debts....he even said ghana shd pay out 1.5 billion dollars to africa auto ltd,,,,,,so if ndc keeps SMALL BOYS WHO ARE HARDENED THIEV ...

• Alex London 9 years ago

Alhaji
    You are right.Growing indiscipline, corruption, moral decadence, apathy, greed, selfishness and lack of patriotism is a great concern. But whose fault is it? The absence of real leadership in the country is the cause ...

• Dr. Appocco 9 years ago

Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel!

• jt. 9 years ago

Asem nyinaa Ni nobody loves Ghana and feels he or she should do something for better name.I even think selfishness has rendered us stupid not capable of reasoning, incapable of doing anything than trying to steal enough money ...

• DOGO 9 years ago

The ordinary Ghanaian is more patriotic than you think. The problem in Ghana is lack patriotic leaders. Lack of quality leadership in Ghana is the main cause of our underdevelopment. If you have ministers and leaders whose on ...

• Substitute Teacher 9 years ago

Stop stealing our money and sending it Dubai, also stop your comrades from doing same and Ghana will not have anymore "wahala".You and your comrades fleecing of our mother nation is what is killing us. Remember no matter how ...

• Nii from Mamprobi 9 years ago

Lack of ethics is the issue. These foolish politicians are talking heads. Is lack of patriotism the cause of unemployment, Judgement Debts, Dumsor and Energy/ fuel Shortage in an Oil Producing country?????

• Kwame 9 years ago

This minister has scored no point in his analysis
    What the minister refused to understand is that, citizenry would only be patriotic when they see Public officials living patriotic life. We are not blind. We see the kind o ...

• SIR BABYLON 9 years ago

He have said it all. Patriotism and love for the nation is what is needed. You work less and need more money why?

• Kofi Wiseman 9 years ago

The most unpatriotic people in Ghana are John Mahama, his ministers and other political appointees.

• Opuro 9 years ago

Including his brother, that hardened criminal, Ibrahim Mahama. And his wife Lordina!

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

Who constitute the citizenry? Leadership is to blame because they have to lead the path

• Mugu Yaro 9 years ago

Please tell this to the Gov't of which you are a part. The silence on the part of people like you in the midst of serious allegations and agitations is deafening.Is it sycophancy,desperate need for survival or simply a lac ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 9 years ago

If people just join government and over night are building houses in East Legon and other upper middle class areas with state resources, sending their children abroad with state resources, what do you expect the rest to do M ...

• KOO NIMO 9 years ago

Mr Minister do you expect politicians like you to be eating sheep or goat whilst the ordinary people eat rats.Your belly full whilst we go hungery and you are talking of patriotism

• Thinker 9 years ago

Why are you blaming the citizens? Look into yourself and tell Allah if you are honest to your country Ghana as a minister.

• Chief 9 years ago

no government official should expect patriotism any ghanaian when they themselves are not patriotic. fooooollls

• Sarpong. 9 years ago

So what do you expect from the average Ghanaian when people empowered to manage the nation's affairs are grabbing money with both hands with the government doing absolutely nothing about it?They fell very helpless and hopeles ...

• Yaw Yeboah 9 years ago

I wish the current Government, would politicians would spend more time implementing policies for effective economic & social development and less time making pointless speeches/comments.
    How is being more patriotic going to ...

• Kk3 9 years ago

Do you not have spell-check or editors? Does anything work in this godforsaken hellhole? I wrote to BBC once, got a response and correction in minutes....it's been years and GHANAWEB has not corrected anything, replied to me ...

• YAW 9 years ago

The least patriotic are the venal politicians.

• John Mahama (the proper one) 9 years ago

You loot the national treasury and accuse your less fortunate countrymen for being unpatriotic. You are as dumb-headed as the cows your ancestors used to herd. A minister is expected to make wise utterances and not speak gibb ...

• Abaka Quagranie 9 years ago

Thats rich! Walk the Talk. You are dressed in fine raiment and gold hatso you do something. Why are you calling the elders and senior citizens when you do not do anything for them? That is lack of patriotism. They have alread ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Tweaaa!

• Escargo 9 years ago

And how did this lack of patriotism happened. J J Rawlings ruled the country under his brutal dictatorship fo 19 yrs. For those years he did not cultivate patriotism but ruled with propaganda false sense " of probity and acc ...