You are here: HomeNews2014 06 17Article 313140

Stars can rise again - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (151)

• NPP DON'T ALLOW NHIS CARD 9 years ago

The killing of Atta Mills was a disaster and continue to haunts the country till NDC thieves are booted out in 2016. NDC should confess their heinous crime against God and Ghana.

• The 9 years ago

I don't quite understand what the President wants to achieve with this. Is the President addressing this to the nation and if so is it necessary. It is the players who need words of encouragement, they are the ones playing. I ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

how? when its evident they are badly trained in teamwork , lack of focus and composure and overburdened with every stupidity such as jujumen , govt ndc politics with determined idiots wanting to use them as a diversionary tac ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Yes, the Ghanaian team are individually better skilled but unfortunately lack the team coherence. The US was also better determined to win the game than the Ghanaians. We have missed another great chance to put Ghana high on ...

• wali 9 years ago

ANYTHING THIS MAHAMA GET INVOLVE WITH END UP BAD SO ARE WE SUPRISE WHY WE LOST THE GAME?

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

He was all the time looking up into the skies, and our balls were following that direction.

Somebody please show our boys where the goal posts are

• KB 9 years ago

Why at all do we entertain an obvious clown like Kwaku Bonsam?!!He's an *%#*hole,for crying out loud!!!

• MANSON UK 9 years ago

They will rise again for sure but not this time LOL.They are going home for mess up against USA.

• Ghfuo, where is your juju? 9 years ago

What happen to Ghana jumbo juju? Just asking!

• Objective Adancorata 9 years ago

This is not the Ghana we know. There is something wrong with Ghana under NDC!!! Everything is going wrong these days: The economy; the energy sector; the education; the crime rate; the moral decadence and now our world cup fo ...

• KB 9 years ago

And then again,a coach who kowtows to the indisciplined kids rather than inspire them created an atmosphere of
    'yentie obiaa,we know what we're about' when obviously they had no clue what was really at stake.The boys are not ...

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Mahama God helps those who helps themselves but not liars

• Promise Son 9 years ago

I am a pure NPP fan, to the level of even a secretary of one of our chapters in the United States, but this remarks is one of the most positive and encouraging I've ever heard from this president. God bless you Mr Mahama! and ...

• WOATAH POOOH. 9 years ago

WHAT A FUNNY GUY.YOU ARE CONFUSE AS YOUR PRESIDENT.ARE YOU A FAN OF NPP OR A SECRETARY.YOU DON´T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING.YOU ARE A FAN OF THAT LOOTING NDC PARTY BUT NOT NPP.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

This President must be kicked out for this bad performance of our national team

• popski 9 years ago

we dont need u,bad luck mahama.u killed Atta Mills.God will punish u

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

FIFA must investigate this match fixing. There is suspicion that NPP influenced Kwesi Appiah to throw the match so as to deny NDC success to boast about. This is why some of preferred a foreign coach.

• AGBEVE.... 9 years ago

.FIADZO STOP THIS NONSENSE TALKS

• unMisguided African Child. 9 years ago

...Well Done Asamoa Gyan and the Gang
    You guys played a classic Game.You out-played the American,except they came with a barge to defend their goal-post.....that's all they came to do.They put their whole team in front
    of t ...

• CONQUEROR 9 years ago

If Ghana beat Germany and Portugal then this USA match was fixed!

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Please stop dreaming, for Ghana cannot beat Germany; in fact nor Portugal. We are done and must pack, come back home and enjoy the Dum-Sor.

WHEN WILL THIS FAKED SGT EVER SAY SOMETHING SENSIBLE.THIS FIADZOTJE HEAD IS FULL OF SHIT.DO THE NDCS WANT TO BOOST ABOUT THE SUCCESS OF BLACK STARS THAN THE ECONOMY.OH SGT,THEN YOU AND YOUR NDCS ARE SO STUPID.TELL YOUR JOKER ...

• CLKK 9 years ago

This is a very stupid talk!

• ohene 9 years ago

Fiadzoe, your mentality is disgusting. Ghana does not need this shallow and myopic short sighted people of your kind.

• sika 9 years ago

The president spoke well why speak bad about him.You fool you better grow up

• apuuuto 9 years ago

Mahama,stop that nonsense OK and focused the economy

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

he is a bad luck president , any body who comes close to him dies and the economy goes worse anytime he opens his mouth . tell him to shut the fuck up and maybe things get better

• NA 9 years ago

I have never seen an educated bigot like your type who enjoys using the "P" Word without any hesitant,even if it was not neccessary. Let me give you a little advice:you are full of hate and anger;if you are full of hate and a ...

• Chelsea Rolland 9 years ago

Foolish president

• Okyesco 9 years ago

Fix the Economy and stop relying on soccer which is a complete drain on our fiscal management and another source of your corrupt administration.

• Real African 9 years ago

Stop looking for a scape goat. The president had nothing to do with the Black Stars' loss. They played a disappointing game and the best team won plain and simple. Soccer is full of surprises. Spain, the world champion lo ...

• Francis 9 years ago

Mr. President, well said.

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

Your corrupt government is showing on the world stage. Corrupt ministers and Vice President in Brazil? NYC foot soldiers? Only NDC supporters to Brazil? God is great. Two matches more to concede a total of 8 goals, 2, 3 and ...

• TAWIAH 9 years ago

YOU ARE A BIG FOOLLLLLLLLL!

• Koo 9 years ago

Kwasea ba

• JOBLINKS 9 years ago

TEACHERS, DRIVERS, HOUSE KEEPERS(FEMALE)
    SECURITY PERSONNEL.
    CALL.
    050 955 6832
    057 400 3936

• alhaji Hafiz Adam 9 years ago

Very encouraging and inspirational words from a worthy leader God bless U God bless Ghana

• JOHN MAHAMA, BEST PRESIDENT IN AFRICA 9 years ago

That is a mark of a good leader. Happy i did not waste my vote. God shall hear you my President.

• Not Good 9 years ago

NICE WORDS AND SHOUTING TO GOD WONT
    SOLVE GHANA's PROBLEMS. USE THE BRAIN HE GAVE YOU TO REASON AND DO THE CORRECT THINGS, BE COURAGEOUS AND SAY NO TO WRONG. USE TAX MONEY WISELY. MANY AFRICAN COUNTRIES ARE NOW AHEAD OF GHAN ...

• AMIDINI ISSIFU 9 years ago

There's more hope as H.E has said. Black stars we are praying for you guys.

• Eddie 9 years ago

Amen. Very presidential

• is 9 years ago

that is why the president said that akoko sa sen akyre a kurumah, anyeni fie. hahahahaaaa. these guys will never appreciate anything coming from pepe. shame on you.

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

What a speech, what an inspiration and motivation to the Power Black Stars and the whole nation, Mr President. The boys have heard you in their spirit and will shine, God being with us. God bless you Mr President. Go Ghana Go ...

• Joerio 9 years ago

We shall surely rise.many a time the darkest hour is just before light.The worst is past.come on Black Stars victory against Germany and Portugal cannot be denied.God bless our homeland Ghana.

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

He simply failed to read the game very well but all said and done anything can happen in our next two matches. I wish the Black Stars the best of luck.

• MANSON UK 9 years ago

Be a bit realistic and stop fooling yourself.Ghana is going home and they will not go through this group after loosing to USA.

• WOFA YAW 9 years ago

thank u sir.

• Kotoua Selira 9 years ago

I don't know what to say here.It was very discouraging and sad to the Black stars losing to the US.I don't know what to say.Such is football always full of surprises

• Ghanaian National 9 years ago

Mr. President, Your address is very inspirational. God bless Ghana. Let us lift high the flag of Ghana. "Allez les Black Stars" !!!

• MAYAM 9 years ago

This is a true leader. The Black Stars r down but not out. We shall overcome

• Komla Degblor 9 years ago

In the mist of daunting challenges and setbacks as as well as situation like this we see true patriots and motivational leaders.

Mr. President keep your tweets and encouraging releases flowing. Don't be distracted!

• kofi 9 years ago

Your job is to manage the country, to prop up the economy and creat jobs for the youth. When did you become a coach? Trying to build a political capital on our national team?

• Not Good 9 years ago

SAD DAYS IN THE WHOLE COUNTRY. FIX THE ECONOMY, RESTORE VITALITY AND ALL SHALL BE WELL.

• KANAWU 9 years ago

Only Afri Gyan can help the ghana blackstars and their Yasmin supporters union right now. Fir that crook for making ghana football partisan.

• PABRO CORREA 9 years ago

Ghana lost this match from the bench.
    The big question is,is a black coach technically sound to handle a team at the world cup?
    or was Kwasi Appiah so stupid not to have requested for a Technical Director as most experience ...

• KAY 9 years ago

May God richely bless you Mr President for your inspirations and thought provoking message to ginger/charge our national team to perform better next time. We are blessed to have you as the president of the Republic of Ghana. ...

• tengan polycarp 9 years ago

this is total disappointment the star lose the from the starting line up.the coach have only waste our resources with their fat budget just to go in for heartbreaks.the coach do not his work. he should be remove as the head ...

• Not Good 9 years ago

IT IS A SHAME SAYS THE WHOLE WORLD.

• Kwesi 9 years ago

This is very inspirational from a Leader. Let us not politicize this. Ghana is for us all. Long live Ghana!Long Live Black Stars!!

• FRANCE 9 years ago

Just pay the stars their due bonuses to boost them, Mahama. If you send only NDC fool soldiers to Brasil you don't expect to win matches there.

• FACT 9 years ago

THESE EXPERIENCES SHOULD DAWN ON US THAT PRAYERS DO NOT SOLVE PROBLEMS. SUCCESS IS ACHIEVED THROUGH PROPER PLANNING AND HARD WORK.THEREFORE,THE BLACK STARS IN PARTICULAR AND GHANA IN GENERAL SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON PROPER PLANN ...

• Adams 9 years ago

Mahama at it again, yande bragging, sweet talk, empty boasts, what a president!

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The truth is that Kwesi Appiah is too small for the Black Stars,Mr President.Let us be pragmatic for once,you cannot win World Cup games with a very bad technical bench.Football goes with technics and tactics but not magic wo ...

• Otoo 9 years ago

The Black Stars cab never rise again under a Bogus and useless coach. We should be dreaming if we think the blacks stars under Appiah will defeat Germany and Portugal. It is time Nyantakyi, Appiak and Konadu are all sacked. T ...

• Adams 9 years ago

For what the sports minister did, by sending mostly NDC supporters, and as if that is not enough, for boasting so loudly about it, I bet the Black Stars will flop miserably. I pity them as this fall of theirs is not their fau ...

• RASTAFARI 9 years ago

NICE TALK MR PRESIDENT THANK YOU.

• JAson 9 years ago

Can someone tell him to shut up...he is putting the country in disgrace.

yesterday even the sport commentator was laughing about the Ghanaian saying that Ghana will take the cup home..he questioned..with this team? hahahah ...

• DDKT 9 years ago

U have brought bad luck to this country

• Sarah Boye 9 years ago

Dear Mr. President, please take heart. Kenyans were killed watching the world cup. How this not affect the game? Ghana is bless, She is a winner!

• franko 9 years ago

I think this man needs a psychiatric checks

• Cool observer 9 years ago

This is no time for partisanship.In football anything can happen.USA can lose in their next match.Let's be optimistic like the President says.

• Boss 9 years ago

All those encouraging Mahama for this wasteful speech have no vision. What has football got to do with he suffering of the people? You watch football and they nest morning you have no job to attend to, can not afford your chi ...

• Boss 9 years ago

All those encouraging Mahama for this wasteful speech have no vision. What has football got to do with the suffering of the people? You watch football and the next morning you have no job to attend to, you can not afford your ...

• Ivy priscilla 9 years ago

Boss..I can see you also dont have any vision and you talk wasteful speeches....talk well becuase you are not animal but a human bieng

• PIERRO 9 years ago

Tweaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa joke of the century.

• ADABRAKA 9 years ago

The Stars performance just like Mahama' s admin. Have many chances, yet abuse it. Mahama is the luckiest prez Gh has had, yet the clueless and the weakest link. Stars shouldnt wait for heaven to come to them.

Mahama has go ...

• sopaso 9 years ago

Mr president may God bless you and bless our country Ghana

• 4LYF 9 years ago

YOUR COUNTRY BE TOGO..KNOW UR HISTORY.GHANA BELONGS TO THE AKANS AND THE NORTHERNERS..

• sulley 9 years ago

Did you hear what your dep minister for sport said? Thats why im not supporting Ghana and hope we come back with no point. A weak and partisan president.

• Akora Sark 9 years ago

In August 2013, the National Chief Imam Sheikh Dr N O Sharubutu statement emphatically that: Anyone who uses unfair means to win a position would not have Divine's assistance to Succeed.
    A Wurade a kasa. The fight is God's. ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

Well said Mr. President.

• chief 9 years ago

well said Mr president.Everyone need a bit of push in life

• COOK 9 years ago

This is a game of football, this game brings people together (NOT WAR) stupid fool what is this going to do with loosing the war.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

If you look at the statistics you can see that the Stars had more chances than the US but they were not sharp in the goal area.They made over 20 attempts but had only one late goal and the US made only 6 attempts and had 2 go ...

• Asem Nti 9 years ago

President Mahama must sack Yasmin now. His statement to bring NDC supports to brazil was a curse to our team. Who does he think he is? I thought the NDC was a government of all the people, but I guess we have been fooled. Yes ...

• ERNEST BRENYA 9 years ago

AM NPP MAN BUT THE PRESIDENT HAS SPOKE VERY WELL. THANK YOU

God bless you Mr Brenya

• apuuuto 9 years ago

Mahama stop that nonsense OK and focused ghana economy OK

All those insulting the president must stop, because it wont bring the nation any profit or loss. excuse me to say some people behave and talk like illiterate mean while they are literates in the nation. because i believe an ...

• Ntim Gyakari 9 years ago

go away

• ramcocos 9 years ago

Ghana lost due poor selection. Where was keeper DAUDA for this Norwegian born Ghanaian to be post. He never stay in the post and have poor anticipation

• oko 9 years ago

Tnx mr president

• Pastor 9 years ago

God is listening to Ghanaians' prayers. Winning would have made Ghanaians HAPPY but it cover the underlying suffering they are going through. NDC Lies and Empty promises must be exposed. People both in and out of Ghana are su ...

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

I have really enjoyed the speech from the President.You are a wise man. Thank God that we have you as President.
    May God Bless You and Long Live Ghana!

• Koo 9 years ago

You a bigger fool

• Chelsea Rolland 9 years ago

Premitive

• ras awaala 9 years ago

Yes but on the other hand,you know a wise president cannot sit down for his people to suffer while some few thieves enjoy what belongs to all. His head cannot manage even a district. TWEEA

• charles symons 9 years ago

leadership by example mr president God be with u

• Komla 9 years ago

Fool

• Koo 9 years ago

Kwasea, Fool

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Mahama & His NDC party don't deserve the glory if Ghana wins. The pastor is right Ghanaians must suffer for the corrupt NDC to be exposed.

• cha 9 years ago

Tired of this propaganda from this bad luck joker who since taking over everything is going downhill-

• Eben Frimpong 9 years ago

IT'S VERY EASY TO MENTION THE NAME OF GOD WHETHER IN SINCERITY OF HEART OR IN OUR DOUBTFUL MINDS. GOD JUDGES THE HEART NOT THE VAIN BABBLING FROM OUR SINFUL THOUGHTS, ESPECIALLY WHEN WE EQUATE OUR SUCCESS TO OUR POLITICAL MIG ...

• Ericus-Ericus 9 years ago

NDC and Mahama are a curse to Ghana.

• Obama in CT 9 years ago

Ghana lost! Oh yeah!

• the truth 9 years ago

Is time to face reality, do u think we are going to win our next two games with AA as a coach? Good luck. Otani aboa, pay bonuses to the hard working players

ECONOMY NOT FOOTBALL!!!

• kofi 9 years ago

10 votes for you mr. president in 2016. well said.

• Koo 9 years ago

ofui

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

OFUI KWASEA LIKE MAHAMA,EMPTY HEAD TALKING,TWEAAAAAAA TUO ZAAFI JDM

• DO NOT MEASURE UP! 9 years ago

The black stars will be out sooner than you think. They do not measure up to international standards.

• Ama Grace 9 years ago

Yes, the stars played better, but also wasted several chances at goal.

• Koku 9 years ago

The Black Stars need to be more hungry for victory they only showed that when they are down. You don't do that in a competition like World Cup. You'll get punished if your opponents are very displined even if not skilled. Tha ...

KWASEA THIS IS NOT A BATTLE,IT IS JUST A FOOTBALL MATCH OR YOU DON`T KNOW WHAT IS BATTLE,JUST WAIT AND SEE AND YOU WILL KNOW THE REAL BATTLE IF YOU DON`T FIX THE ECONOMY.OFUI!

• Yorkeshire 9 years ago

You do ur job the country will be happy

• DROSSMANI JNR 9 years ago

USA 2; CORRUPT MAHAMA 1.

DOES GOD BLESS A MURDERER?
    DOES GOD BLESS A THIEVE?
    DOES GOD GLESS A CORRUPT MAHAMA?

THE STARS WERE INFECTED WITH THE MAHAMA CORRUPTION VIRUS TO UNDERPERFORM.

• Jackie apiah 9 years ago

Mr. president is like your comments about our black stars team,you have spoken well,to me I believe the March against US was sold,someone have collected big amount of money from the Americans to beat the black stars,I have vi ...

• KWASEA COACH 9 years ago

Appiah must be sacked now. HYe can't reason well.

• J Ghana 9 years ago

All things are possible. Sometimes you taste defeat in order to better manage victory. I strongly believe we will bounce back and qualify to the next stage. GOD BLESS GHANA

They are not happy with the current state of affairs and want to leave the Ghana Union. They mean it!!!!!

• FRANCIS 9 years ago

BLACK STAR FAULTED MANY TIMES. THE DEFENSE WAS WEAK AND THERE WAS NO SCORING MACHPNE. THE PLAYERS ONLY ETERTAINED SPECTATORS. THIS IS A WORLD CUP AND ONLY GOAL DEMENSTARTE WHO YOU ARE. PLAYERS SHOOT ANY WHERE. THEY WERE NOT F ...

• Edem Promise 9 years ago

Kwesi have done a big mistake by introducing jonattan,rabiu and adomah insteaned of inkoom,essien and kelvin

• obaa 9 years ago

Amen, may God hear us!

• Moses 9 years ago

Yamin does not understand the aim of sports.It is not about Politics or which political party should go......it's about Unity no matter your political affiliation.Mahama you sat down doing nothing whilst Yamin was saying that ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN 9 years ago

-WELL,GHANA CAN BEAT PORTUGAL AND GERMANY TO SURPRISE THE WORLD.FOOTBALL IS FOOTBALL.GHANA JUST GAVE WAY FOR THE U.S TO GET THAT 3 PTS.AFTER ALL,U.S IS OUR BODY.ALL IS NOT LOST YET.

• Ama 9 years ago

Our boys dnt want to break their bones so they are being careful. We all know some of them have passed retirement age but having lied about their ages, they have to carry on,

• Seko 9 years ago

I wish this President hand not pose his nose into this soccer issue. It will definitely end in disgrace now that he has spoken to it.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 9 years ago

Just continue dreaming! We shall never qualify for the next stage.Even if we draw with Germany and Portugal, we shall be out.Our clueless coach should have started with Essien and Boateng!He is responsible for our failure to ...

• Koo 9 years ago

When the ungodly rule a nation the people suffer

• Samanba Sakrabudu 9 years ago

Is Mahama kucky for Ghana?

• RISING BANKCRUPT 9 years ago

AMUIIIE

• popski 9 years ago

bad luck president,u killed atta mills,God is watching.until we know what killed atta mills,nothing will go well with u

• anonimous 9 years ago

The moment we decided to camp in the u s a that's when we lost the game. Who made the decision to camp in the U s?G.F .A is a sell out.

• Tank 9 years ago

30 seconds, Ghana has set record where every country is talking about. Countries can't believe this. They know Ghana to be the best in Africa. What transpired? Disgraced!!!!!!!

• MAHAMA 9 years ago

Who Know Ghana to be the best in Africa.Must be your mother.In what way is Ghana the best in Africa?Is Ghana the highest ranked team in Africa or are they the African champions?Meaning are they the current holders of the Afri ...

• YEBOPOWER 9 years ago

Ghana coach looks like a pastor ready to preach and not to coach. Klinsman looks fit for the job. His motivations, drive etc help USA beat Ghana. Appiah had no solution other than to express his frustrations on the sidelines. ...

• KB 9 years ago

For once,you're perfectly right.But don't tribalise the issue-it could come back to haunt you.

• Edem Tsar 9 years ago

we thank God

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

there are a lot of curse on Ghana as a Country-the way government always positioned herself against the citizens of the land.
    go to Tema port and see how People are crying .

until those in authority Change from the wicked ...

• Adjoa 9 years ago

You cannot come to these games unfocused and alert at all times of the game. US was not prepared to suffer another defeat therefore Ghana had to be as sharp as a knife and they weren't. Team gel and cohesion was not clicking. ...

• ARIBE 9 years ago

CRAP

• Adjoa 9 years ago

Where are the priests and others who predicted Ghana would win decisively...Where are the people GFA paid money to use "powers" to make it happen...all bullshit

• BRO DAN- TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCET PEOPLE OF GHANA;YES, ON THIS BLESSED DAY; I SHALL CHALLANGE OUR HEARTS AND MINDS TO -"OCCUPY TILL I COME" KNOWING IT IS REVEALED THAT -"THE JUST ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

This is only a football game,even if it happens that Ghana wins the World Cup,we still still have our numerous problems,which need the President`s attention more than losing a game.
    Mahama thinks Ghanaians will forget the ...

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

A rejoinder or contribution is suppose to reflect the topic in question but many contributors turn it into insult
    I dont hate President Mahama and his NDC but I dont like him as president And I dont like the NDC either.
    Inf ...

• Ka Na Wu 9 years ago

What do you want to see. Foolish statement from an ignorant President, simple, full stop

• kofi baah 9 years ago

Mr. President, call on God to give us more rain in our dams instead. Your mismanagement is showing every where.

• AME, USA 9 years ago

Gyaa saa nkwaseasem

• GENERAL DeGAULE 9 years ago

The team was as clueless as the President.

• Kk3 9 years ago

Every time this man speaks I cringe. Rise again from what? From your send off speech to the National anthem, the black stars had lost. Yen ara asaase ni in various languages elicit more inspiration than the hapless God bless ...

• Kk3 9 years ago

Black Stars are doomed and you can't even figure that out. Oh Sikaman ......do we not have any brights?!