You are here: HomeNews2014 06 08Article 311995

Oil tanker missing off Ghana coast amid report of piracy

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Ghanaman4 9 years ago

This is why Boko Haram is very successful

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

Hmm, quite amazing story. First in the history of Ghana? No, I remember a ship-load of cocoa went missing during the pNDC times(80s or 90s?).

• The Price 4 Our Peace & Stabilty 9 years ago

If Africom Headquarters was stationed in Ghana, at least our 911 call will get a more rapid response; anaa?

BTW, is it too late to go and ask Massa to comeback? Call some of us turncoats, traitors, or even quislings; but w ...

• Bozi 9 years ago

What size female underwear do you wear?
    Stop sucking your masters willy and learn to stand on your own wai.

• The Price 4 Our Peace & Stabilty 9 years ago

Now we have one male to conscript or draft into finding these pirates. Thank Gawd we have real men like you. Smile.

When you find them, we also have corruption and H.E. Atopa on deck for you.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The late President Mills directed the purchase of helicopters to chase pirates and respond to national disasters. Do we still have these helicopters or have they been sold ? Na Waaa Oooooooh, Oman Ghana !

• SAMO JEWELLERY 9 years ago

let samo Jewellery design n customise yr wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for you........the time to be roaming from Jewellery shop to shop is over.......stay at the comfort of yr room or office to choose yr des ...

• max france. 9 years ago

KB LONDON to your knowladge the ship load of cocoa which got missing in 1978 was not during pndc time ok. it was during col Achempongs time and the then commis. for cocoa affairs was col.kyereme.

• Ghanaman5 9 years ago

Kwasia like you. Mind your own prablems. Light off everyday, armed robbers every facking day, no water, no good roads, cedis has collapsed, high prices everyday, and you're there doing konkonsa about nigeria. Fool like you

• //// 9 years ago

We do not want Nigerians in our country. If Ghanaian were not Christians we would kill all Nigerians at once.

• Akos 9 years ago

We do not like nigerians yet we copy everything from them from Gari, to their music we play at weddings and funeral to their films and even copying thier building and fashion. Ho many Ghanaians women are married to nigerians ...

• Ashtown boy 9 years ago

Do you know every single Ghanaians ? I will speak more nigerians now. Baba God please ignore this man cause he is a fool

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A pirate walks into a bar and the bartender says, "Hey, I haven't seen you in a while. What happened, you look terrible!"
    "What do you mean?" the pirate replies, "I'm fine."
    The bartender says, "But what about that wooden l ...

• Gbc1 9 years ago

Chop, make I chop, why not . NDC

• Close Observer 9 years ago

My friend, this is not politics matter. We do this and give criminals leverage to exploit to their advantage. There are thieves out there on the high sea and you want to divert attention to internal politics. Those of us livi ...

• ANKORA WASH DC. 9 years ago

What happened when the Authorities received the distress call? Did the attack take place in Ghana's teritorial waters or in Togolese waters? Where is the ship and its crew?
    I hope the government is not going to tell us that, ...

• big Boy weezy 9 years ago

Very soon boko haram will follow smh...

• tuy 9 years ago

For decades funds from the sale of cocoa at the world market have been used to fund the military. The Ghana navy is superfluous and inconsequential.

• Nii Jakpata 9 years ago

Yes the navy should be equipped with modern vessels to handle piracy. That should be done first. Fortunately the cds is a navy officer.

• georgina 9 years ago

Tell us the nationality of the crew and i will tell you my suspicion. The crew Captain and crew sometimes collaborate with the Pirates to sell the cargo and make it look as if they were attacked!With the distress call it shou ...

• Fifi 9 years ago

One man's pirate is another man's freedom fighter.
    Which black man can goes and sucks oil from europe and leave europeans with almost nothing plus mess up their ecological habitat?
    Look at Obuasi.
    Piracy of oil tankers is ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

What is the Ghana Air Force and Ghana Navy doing? Feeding fat on the nation's lean purse??? Very shameful indeed. The Ghana Armed Forces must bury their heads in shame at this naked disgrace of the nation's fire power.

• Kofi kwame 9 years ago

No wonder Christopher Colombo discovered Africa.What is call security,only exist on paper,but in reality forgets ,so if we could had discovered ourselves ,that missing ship could have been saved when he made that call for he ...

• Oppong 9 years ago

POOR SECURITY IN WEST AFRICA !

• Darling boy 9 years ago

Recently our presd ingurated this ship monitoring system which has been sponsored by the EEC .with lot of huba ,what the use then director of the gma shld come out to explain why piracy activities are getting into Ghana coast ...

• akyekyedie 9 years ago

Good question that needs an answer!!!

• Kwame VS Kofi 9 years ago

a destress call from 35 miles of the coast of Ghana, is like calling a fire service in the midle of the Sahara desert! Who will respond? Take a phone now and dial 911.....you see?...you hear?.... nothing!Fact!

• The Mask 9 years ago

Foreign Ministry must be proactive in dispelling this kind of negative reportage about Ghana.

• prince bagnaba 9 years ago

Enforcement of maritime security in west coast of Africa is long over due. We need total collaboration and cooperation of all stake holders.

• TT 9 years ago

USELESS LEADERS BUNCH OF THIEVES A COUNTRY WITH SO MUCH RESOURCES WITH HIGH YOU UNEMPLOYMENT IT A SHAME EVEN WITH DEVELOPMENT AID THEY STILL STEAL AND POCKET IT. I WISH ALL AID IS CUT AND IN EXCHANGE PLEASE PROVIDE CAPACITY B ...

• Black and White 9 years ago

has the incident happened in Togo or Ghana waters,

• YEBOPOWER 9 years ago

BOKO HAREM is better equipped and has better intelligence than the whole of West Africa. Boko HAREM will continue to terrorize West Africa until its leaders recognize the seriousness of the threat.BOKO HAREM will take over We ...

• Ghana 9 years ago

WHERE ARE OUR SPECIAL FORCES? THERE IS JOB FOR THEM TO DO. I HOPE THEY WILL BE SWIFT