You are here: HomeNews2014 05 24Article 310385

PV Obeng photo: Daily Guide reacts to GJA, NMC

Read Comments Comments (114)

• yaw 9 years ago

Massa,why all these big words in this small acticle,even the English man can not read,foolish man next time write in twi

• Odinko 9 years ago

Massa Obeng,
    I do agree with you. Too many big words makes it difficult to read and understand. Alcoa no y3 kaasea paapa.

• ½GHOST 9 years ago

My friends if you are crippled by the English language go and learn it and stop this truncated complaint of superfluous language.

• Albert 9 years ago

So you don't know that communication is about encoding and decoding? If you say something that I cannot understand, then you have not said anything. You mean he should go back to school and learn these big words b4 coming to ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

dont mind them , did pv and jj not show the murdered bodies of the acheampong and others ? pv was nothing but a criminal whose actions in govt have caused millions pain and misery and will take us decades to recover from . ke ...

• BUKARI DRAMANI 9 years ago

we know PV OBENG. He and JJ Rawlings did the unthinkable. If he repented then he became the latter day saint. Trace the history from Mankoadze fisheries through Libya and JJ Rawlings Revolution. Earlier than that his misbehav ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Whereas the showing of the corpse of PV Obeng may be distasteful to some members of the public, even more so for his family, I dare say he PV Obeng did not have any qualms with the tying of former military heads of state on s ...

• clement 9 years ago

A drowning newspaper, Daily Guide is trying to catch a straw!! Who can go to hell? You are already in HELL!!!! Useless newspaper. Just apologise and stop wasting our time

• OZA 9 years ago

Ghanaians will always apply double standards to reasoning. How many times have we seen on the media, pictures of accident, murder and hanging scenes but we never say anything? Don't we think all those victims equally have fam ...

• Woara hwe 9 years ago

Was it right for Daily Guide splashing photos of dead accident victims on their front pages? Have you ever seen such a thing in any Canadian newspaper? They are not practicing responsible journalism. What they are doing is ob ...

• KOFFI 9 years ago

This goes to all our newspapers so do not blame Daily Guide alone.
    If it is culturally wrong, then it is so for all papers and not Daily Guide alone. If we have now found our voices then let us say so and change going forwar ...

• kwaku 9 years ago

who is pv obeng for his dead body not to shown in the dailies. Even better peoples dead bodies were shown and pv obeng.where was he when those he aided his master kill when their bodies were shown .

• Asare 9 years ago

Cease fire, let's concentrate on other issues. This is a paper that have never made a mistake in it's life. It's all knowing so save your breath, the paper will never admit it's flaws, it will follow the corpse to the grave o ...

• Che 9 years ago

I thought the Daily Guide is a communication outlet - a national newspaper read worldwide. What kind of editorial is this? Is this how they want the press to be perceived in Ghana? Check this and tell me what it means:

THE ...

• owusu 9 years ago

We understand what they are saying and that is what matters.Do you know what a language is ? if you don't,please seek help

• Che 9 years ago

Owusu, I know people like you will understand what he is saying and you think because of that it is okay. I am not surprise. What I am worried about is the level of intelligence portrayed to the outside world. Your type don't ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

Daily Guide just wants to show off its JSS ignorance.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

arrogant piece
    poorly crafted

• Ali 9 years ago

They should have hanged the bodies of stupid and his colleague good for nothing animals on trees and stuff your mother's virginal in their mouths for the vultures to feed on. Cockroaches

• owusu 9 years ago

These same people who are spewing toxic into the air are the same people who happily took pictures of the tens of people who died at the Accra sports stadium in the morge and displayed them in their news papers and on TVs.Did ...

• GRINGORY 9 years ago

There are those who write and those who read. Daily guide if majority of your readers say you were not write why don't you sentatuate the nerturerem of the mimilobes (daily guide what is the meaning of these words)

• KWAKUVI LORD 9 years ago

That's a good one there. Why didn't Daily Guide use such difficult to understand words when they published those words. Why are they now using such words to defend themselves. If they are really serious, they should be humble ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Gee! I didn't see a single big word in the piece and so went back to search and drew a blank! If this is the kind of English some think is too difficult to understand, then I must say the level of dedifferentiation (ah! that' ...

• Efo Kossi Korve 9 years ago

In life one could inadvertently make a mistake, and it is a hallmark of maturation when one takes note of his shortfalls and accepts them. Yes, Daily Guide could have meant well, but if the intended purpose goes awry, all,tha ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 9 years ago

My friend please remember the old adage that "there is no smoke without fire".

Given that statement, Daily Guide that I personally consider to be one of the finest Newspapers to publish the TRUTH in the country would sure ...

• Ali 9 years ago

sheer arrogance. No respect for our tradition or the law. They [Daily Guide] think they can get away with everything even court rulings.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Francis, how can you justify that it was within the right of the Daily Guide to publish the photo to PV's body? Is that what happens in Western Australia? Such gutter journalism does not happen in civilised societies. Daily G ...

really ? dont lie to yourselves the bodies of criminals and mafiosi were published daily. why do you think prof awonoor wanted to be cremated , the evil that men do lives after them . PV was a criminal period

• owusu 9 years ago

You don't seem to know what you are talking about.They dont have to apologize to any one except P.V's family if there should be one but they have done nothing wrong as far as this nonesence is concern.

• Minta 9 years ago

What right does Daily Guide publishing the Photos of PV's body without his family's consent? This shows how warped minded a lot of Ghanaians have become because of Political Party affiliations. Daily Guide is notorius for pub ...

• OGIDIGIDI 9 years ago

Do you think the ego-centric NPP newspaper the "Daily Goof" will accept its mistakes? It is as arrogant as Nana Akuffo! Ghanaaians have seen them through!!!!!!!!!!!

• NII 9 years ago

MUCH AS I RESENT THE WHOLE IDEA OF PUBLISHING PV'S PICTURE, WE HARDLY COMPLAIN WHEN PICTURES OF MURDERED VICTIMS ARE DISPLAYED IN SEVERAL NEWSPAPERS, INCLUDING THE DAILY GRAPHIC. HORRID PICTURES OF ACCIDENT VICTIMS ARE EVEN F ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

Ghanaians like dabbling in pettiness. What is so immoral about that publication which has generated hue and cry, a general public outcry about an incident which is not just new but a common practice of media practitioners in ...

• OGIDIGIDI 9 years ago

Do you think the ego-centric NPP newspaper the "Daily Goof" will accept its mistakes? It is as arrogant as Nana Akuffo! Ghanaaians have seen them through!!!!!!!!!!!

• Jawatabs 9 years ago

The basic principle of communication is for people to understand the message delivered, not to express not to indulge in a facade of self importance and arrogance.

• THOMAS 9 years ago

criminal p.v. obeng was the financia of j.j rawlings coup

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

If you nurse baby monster it will grow to devour you. NMC is now described as sheepishly jumping into the fray!

• Prince pe. 9 years ago

The writer is full of himself or herself. Very very poor delivery and below the belt.

• Truth 9 years ago

GIna Blay please call your staff to order. Daily Guide is wrong to offend the sensibility of Ghanaians over our painful lost. Just accept that you goofed. If other media houses are guilty of the same offence and are not repri ...

• fredsaid 9 years ago

What do you mean by... to offend the sensibility of ghanains..? have you interviewed all the 25 million ghanaians about their sensibilities about this pv obeng story? How do you know pv obeng's death is a painful loss to all ...

dont mind these illiterate ndc fools who dont understand the rules of modern journalism but promote pamphlet propaganda. once the person is a criminal or considered so the public have the right to know and usually in all cult ...

• Thief Mahama 9 years ago

You did the right thing, period!

• Baafour 9 years ago

A decent newspaper would surely not effuse such.... No wonder the Daily Guide is currently struggling to remove the "kwasea bi nti" judgment hanging on its neck. I would be surprised if they are able.

• Santras 9 years ago

A powerful one there. Anyway, well said, but we should not let our emotions take the better part of us when reacting to such issues, please Daily Guide.

• Nicholas 9 years ago

Eeiiii hw can a media house publish such insults on a widely patronised portal like this.

Insulting everybody like this?. Pls lets be guided that posterity may not forgive us if ouractions lead people astray.

I am sad ...

• Seth 9 years ago

If the NMC and GJA have sufficient grounds, terms of law, to sanction,they should not hesitate to do that. If PV's family feels slighted, they can seek legal advice and take appropriate action.

• MODIBO 9 years ago

A significant part of this forum (Ghanaweb)is all insults, bad politics, tribalism and all the negatives. Can Ghanaweb start editing or sieving comments before they are published? this may eliminate the insults.

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

My friend,don't create confusion on this net-work by using the name NICHOLAS.This is the name I have been using for a long time on this net-work and by resorting to its use makes you sound like an impostor.

• Maxwell Koffie Dwumah 9 years ago

this is a stupid write-up. what is this? foolish people. what arrogance?

• Musa Fuseini 9 years ago

The so-called Daily Guide (how ironic!) has now proven itself to be a cheap, low-quality sheet of printed rubbish unworthy of description as a 'newspaper'. It is evident tthe author of this piece, and for that matter the edit ...

• Maame yaa 9 years ago

Infact u are stupid, what the hell is wrong with the publications??? Other media always publishes gory accident of ppl and yet u say nothing!!!! Armed robbers killed and even a goat thief was lynched to death yet they publish ...

• Nana 9 years ago

Tell Gina Blay that theirs an adage that etua wo nyonko ho a etua dua mu. If she thinks what they did is fair. I saw her husband Freddy Blays face the last time the Npp executives were paraded on TV and from the way his face ...

• Maame yaa 9 years ago

Who cares at the end of the day the person is dead, its just a pix, does it mean that its only prominent ppl in GH are the only one recognized??? What aba the poor citizens of the country. Get over it.at the end of the day it ...

• KK 9 years ago

Yes, they can go to HELL !!!

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 9 years ago

A GOOD ONE THERE!!!!!!

• Abudu 9 years ago

Where has the Ghanaian valuable asset of good manners and common sense gone to? I find the posture of Daily Guide unfortunate and seem to me that they are completely overtaken by their political orientation to the detriment o ...

• Daily Thrash 9 years ago

The daily guide is toilet paper not worth of any human beings arse.

• Asomma Kubire 9 years ago

Unfortunate article,sad to read such story on Ghanaweb. First too much big English, insults, lack of decency and lost of moral values. Democracy and freedom of speech is being abused in Ghana.

• Jawatabs 9 years ago

Freedom of speech? God help us

• Jawatabs 9 years ago

The best English spoken or written is the simplest.
    I haven't heard the Queen or the Prime minister of Britain use language in their mode of communication. It doesn't make you an euridite for using words like these

• kobina 9 years ago

The vile reactions to Daily Guide's publication of the photo of a dead man epitomize the craziness of most Ghanaians. Here is a society that reveres the dead more than the living,and spends atrociously on funerals to the exte ...

• Mr Simple 9 years ago

Jawatabs,
    The word is erudite, but why didn't use a simple word?

• Dwantoahene 9 years ago

Yes it is PV Obeng today and therefore Gina Blay and his baboon looking husband can write anything FOOLISH AND STUPID about his corpse and death.They can write about anything they want because the dead has no say.But one thin ...

• georgina 9 years ago

Just a reminder to the Blays!
    You remember your lawyer nephew who was stabbed in Tema? He was dog who would go after anything in SKIRT and thats how he met his DEATH!!!! You could as well have published his picture!

• Kwame 9 years ago

how can you defend from the begining then sum it by surrending. May Fredie or Gina die and their bodies on trays be published as well. lets learn to learn from our mistakes.

• NANAPA 9 years ago

ONLY THINKS ABOUT HIS FAMILY. LACKS COMMON SENSE AS WELL

• James-town 9 years ago

That is why we are where we are now. We spend so much time on silly issues, showing off with big English which is after all not our language and leave the most important things like our values and culture behind.

• Y3nboda 9 years ago

Party,is going nowhere. Just look at the kind of company they keep - The Blays - Throw aways of the CPP.
    A good example of show me your friend, and I will tell you your character! Freddy & Gina Blay are bad news and company ...

• Minta 9 years ago

Kwasea

• Y3nboda 9 years ago

P3 Nyinkyer3"! If you cannot accept this obvious truth,then I am afraid you are not worth engaging in a banter!

• J. AFORTUDE-MEMOADEO 9 years ago

I AM DISAPPOINTED IN DAILY GUIDE. I BURIED MY HEAD IN SHAME.NMC AND GJA, HAVE YOU ALSO NOT SEEN ANYTHING WRONG WITH THIS PUBLICATION. IS IT A SIGN OF HATRED FOR OR MOCKERY OF THE LATE PV? ANYWAY, GOD IS IN CONTROL. BUT TO MY ...

• Samson 9 years ago

Absolute rubbish. You have sunk to the lowest level with this commentary. You would have been better off remaining quiet.

• Ansu Kyeremeh 9 years ago

What kind of journalism iS this that we are witnessing in this country? This toilet and disgraceful paper of a foolish dirty Nzeman man, has the gut to defend this distastaful and irresponsible acts? All in the name of press ...

• GOOD NAME 9 years ago

You are Dormaa nii. on't use your real name here. There are a lot of wolves here.You guy are too honest. Don't defend this looter. He deserve it. PV Obeng and his looter gangsters have made millions of Ghanaian poor. His fami ...

• Prosper 9 years ago

Is it not easier to admit your error and move on than trying all none sense to explain yourself? This tells a lot about the quality of journalism you engage in.

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

She fuck so many penis

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

Pay the man money for him

• Kojo 9 years ago

Arrogance in the highest order. You make money out of somebody's pain? Just enjoy your money but spare us the arrogance.

• BIRAHMA 9 years ago

Apart of stories that Daily Guide copies from the Daily Graphic the rest of their stories is gabbage

• BIRAHMA 9 years ago

Sorry I should have said APART FROM STORIES

• Harry, Banjul 9 years ago

You have carefully chosen your words. You have done well. A good reply. When president Mills was on his last breathe worse things were meted to him, who came out to condemn the officials who handled him? How special then is P ...

• Kaka 9 years ago

You have increase the level of respect that i have and will always for your paper.
    Those who cannot say their mind and only dance to the tune of their paymasters can go to hell with their absolute nonsense.
    That lady in que ...

• Che 9 years ago

Kaka, do you support this? Jesus!

• Efa wo ho ben? 9 years ago

Toilet Paper!

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

I'm now compelled to believe that we still have some brave and serious press in GH who'll never give in to some unscrupulous and deranged elements within the industry.Its part press freedom so you shut the fuck up an allow DG ...

• kaykay 9 years ago

this kwasia bi nti (kbn)paper is bent on their insensitive and sometimes defamatory publications aimed demeaning.

for once, please have the courage and apologise to the bereaved family

• Odiyifo 9 years ago

Will the writer publish same for their relatives? Do onto others as you want done onto you. God is always alive. The writer and their supporters will face same fate.

• NII ARMAH 9 years ago

ARE SOME PEOPLE MORE IMPORTANT THAN SOME? THANK GOD 7 FEET HAS NO RESPECT FOR ANYBODY. NOT LONG AGO THE MEDIA POSTED UCC STUDENT WITH HIS INTESTINE ..... AND A PREGNANT WOMAN AND A BABY LIFELESS ON BOTH ELECTRONIC MEDIA AND P ...

• REV. 9 years ago

For the information of the allowance-starved NMC and a GJA for which organizing annual award nights supersede all other engagements

• Kwami 9 years ago

For the information of Daily Guide the word is 'remains' NOT 'mortal remains'. They should look it up

• Moshean 9 years ago

Well done! I admire your "courageous response."

• pac 9 years ago

ONE DAY IT WILL HAPPEN TO STAFF OF DAILY GUIDE: THANKS

• Minta 9 years ago

Why did it have to take 4 days for Ghanaweb to report something that was posted by ModernGhana website 4 days ago? Is Ghanaweb on a cut and paste mission?
    Now getting to these assholes at Daily Guide, publishing gull photos ...

• Urommund 9 years ago

I recall Shakespeare saying in As You Like It " Thous do all traitors if their purgations do consist in words then they are as innocent as grace itself"
    Daily Guide your defence is not only hollow but also concave with due ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

media houses in the Country has no respect of other peoples rights and privicy that is too absurd .
    Human rights actvist and lawyers must deal with the media unprofessionalism to shape them.

• Yeteevak 9 years ago

Daily Guide resorted to the use of "Big English" in its failed attempt to cleanse itself of the filth it has enveloped itself in but it could not wash. Did you take lesson on the use of advanced vocabulary from Ahoofe?
    The r ...

• Concerned citizen 9 years ago

Ah ! why? I am very well educated but could not understand what you have written. With the level of illiteracy so high in Ghana, do you really expect people to be able to read and understand what you have written? PLEASE COME ...

• KWASIA BI NTI 9 years ago

You expectFreddy Blay and Gina Blay to be cultured and not spew trash from their stinking mouths?

• Wuorfei 9 years ago

In the US a higher percentage of the population are literates yet they use third grade language to reach the masses. In Ghana its quite the opposite, everyone is trying to impress with their ability to express themselves in a ...

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

This paper called "The Daily Guide" has really developed the tough skin of stubbornness and disrespect towards all who do not share in their GUTTER STYLE OF JOURNALISM.

You have committed an act which was contrary to the e ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 9 years ago

seriously, we are Ghanaians and some of these thing are not the way we do things. My question to the Daily Guide, NPP's Freddie Blay and his notorious wife Gina Blay is where is their moral compass?

• Opanna Boom 9 years ago

Did not expect Daily guide to be such a disgrace to Nation.Shame on you people.Do you have brain in your HEAD.

• Opanna Boom 9 years ago

Shame on you Daily Guide. Take your troubles to your various homes not Ghana.

• Santino 9 years ago

Even the late Prez JF Kennedy's mortal remains were shown to the world after he was assassinated. And Michael Jackson's body was shown on live tv when he was being carried in the chopper to the morgue. Don't they have familie ...

• oyinasky 9 years ago

Who is PV Obeng and what is his claim to fame? Thieves all round. Rawlings, Obeng, Ahwoi, Tsikatas, Appiah Ampofo etc etc

• Follower Moses 9 years ago

to publish the dead photo of Fredie Blay, the owner of Daily Guide, when he dies. The Daily Guide should show the raw morgue body photo of Blay. This is for eye for eye matter.

• jojo 9 years ago

Guide i am writing to cancel my subscription of your paper.you have really become the epitomy of the gutter press in Ghana,and just having read your response damning your colleagues it just shows you are absolutely a disgrace ...

• albi 9 years ago

This is a junk newspaper.They should go hell.Ghanaians should ignore them.

• JH New York 9 years ago

Absolutely not in the right direction.
    I don't want to believe you are not conversant with the ethics of your trade - journalism.
    Learn more. Daily Guide !

• razak seini 9 years ago

Shame unto daily guide. The writer is simply lame and arrogant. Once again shame unto you daily guide.

• PAA JONATHAN 9 years ago

u a stupid

• APPIAH 9 years ago

Kudos to Daily Guide for guiding the footsteps of the blind in the country.

• Larry 9 years ago

Even if you are an enemy common sense will tell you that pictures of the demise of public officials are not published or thrown into the public domain as we've witnessed. It's shameful, no matter what reasons are given for it ...

• nAAAAAAA 9 years ago

this gabbage published by gina blay and her npp paper always shows how evil minded the paper is. It reflects the evil nature of the paper.Daily guide is unethical in its reportage.it should be boycotted by all sensible papaer ...