You are here: HomeNews2014 05 09Article 308745

Mahama Gov’t not bereft of ideas to fix economy – Kwesi Botchwey

Read Comments Comments (52)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

NDC HAS BEEN THE LUCKIEST GOVERNMENT IN GHANA'S HISTORY IN TERMS OF RESOURCES, BUT THROUGH THIEVERY, THEY ARE NOW BEING RIDICULED AS THE MOST DISGRACEFUL. NDC MUST STAY AWAY FROM THE HERITAGE FUND!! CUPIDITY HAS EATEN INTO N ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZAOE 10 years ago

NDC is not a political party, they are all thieves, arm robbers and incompetent fools whose difference between them and
    arm robber is how they dress.

NDC so-called politicians are dressed
    in suit and tie with pen and pen ...

we have always pointed out that mahama is burdened by tribal ethnic hatred for the Akans and could help himself but show his true colors in Kumasi . The fact that there is no Fanti who is a substantiate minister says it all. ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

The forum should have been held at the beginning of the Mahama presidency. Here is a chef asking for the recipe of the meal, after half of the time for preparing the meak has passed. Does that make sense ? What a bunch of lou ...

• FREEDOM FIGHTER 10 years ago

This is to better it's image as a democratic gov't who brought all together to solve a national crisis but we are not buying his "good intention" when after emptying the nation's coffer with his unproductive policies he is no ...

• MARK ABBOTT NTEM 10 years ago

Even learned Obama seeks knowledge from experts in their fields why not our president? The Economic forum of the best brains should be followed by the same approach to all other areas: Energy, Corruption, Health inspectors, ...

• Papa Kamara 10 years ago

Are you listening to yourself? You are the one that destroyed Ghana's economy under Rawlings. You helped killed one Mr Aidam during Rawlings era. You should be ashamed of yourself. All your going to IMF, changing the school s ...

• Nanasei 10 years ago

Hmmmmm, Kwesi Botwey contributing to any economic debate in Ghana? For real? Oh Ghana! Lord have Mercy! He's the very person that destroyed Ghana's economy for over 15 yrs through the repressive IMF-WB STRUCTURAL ADJUSTMENT P ...

• TN 10 years ago

Ewi Botchwey the IMF boy-boy destroyed millions of jobs in Ghana with the dongomi sale of state factories and enterprises. This same Ewi Botchwey did not create a single job in Ghana but has made all his millions - estimated ...

• TWEAA 10 years ago

EI! SO THIS MAN TOO IS AROUND...WE KNOW WHAT HE STOOD FOR WHEN HE STARTED AS FINANCE MINISTER UNDER DESTROYER RAWLINGS WE KNOW WHEN HE CHANGED COLOUR AS THE CAMELEON AND RUN FOR COVER TO THE IMF..WE KNOW THE SORT OF MISERABLE ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• ADWEN 10 years ago

It sad to hear Dr Kwesi Botchwey TRYING to sell the idea that the corrupt and incompetent MAHAMA and his NDC government are bereft and short of ideas.
    The issue is, they are not just short of ideas but they don't know what t ...

• TN 10 years ago

How can Ewi Botchwey be objective when he is employed as an Economic Advisor to Mahama? Mahama is implementing Ewi julor Botchwey's bankrupt and bankrupting advice!

• Swapna Guduru 10 years ago

Ehy are you beating about the bush? You know all to well that this Mahama govt has no ideas to move the economy forward. Bow your head in shame you liar and fool!

• blueprint 10 years ago

if as you claim, they know what to do?

• Osagefo 10 years ago

Most Forex traders view the US dollar as a safe haven currency. After all, the USD accounts for nearly two thirds of foreign currency reserves held by the central banks of the world. The Euro holds second place with just unde ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

What is this "risk of debt default due to a malfunctioning political system in the USA and continuing long term devaluation of the USD." ? Please don't mis-inform the public. Granted the Republicans tried to puch the Democrat ...

• Adu koforidua 10 years ago

Botch way and his cohorts destroyed Ghana's economy. For close to 15 years these fools looted our resources and finally sold the country to IMF. What is he talking about now. Mahatma will do well if he stay away from these ol ...

• Nike 10 years ago

If you are not beret with ideas why has the gas project taken this long to be completed. You have changed the completion date several times. You know very well that your failure to complete the gas project is the cause of the ...

• Kodwo 10 years ago

....."Dr. Botchwey, who was finance Minister for close to 15 years, told Radio XYZ’s Strict Proof on Thursday that the intention by the Government to organise a national economic forum next week has nothing to do with the a ...

• Adjei 10 years ago

Kwesi botchway in financial position for 15 years. Stole 20 Million Us dollars. Check Google.com

• Senyo Kwawo 10 years ago

I thought they wont listen to anybody

• The Mask 10 years ago

The (Bank of Ghana) BOG must ensure that foreign currencies are supplied to only Ghanaian importers of foreign goods. These must not fall into the hands of foreigners operating in Ghana who earn cedis but who would want to tr ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Yes,but must transfer to Ghana only Euros or the British Pound Sterling.

• SAMOURI TOURE 10 years ago

THEN LET NDC GO AHEAD AND SOLVE THE CRISIS IT CREATED JUST TO WIN AN ELECTION. WHY DOES IT WANT THE PARTICIPATION OF OTHER POLITICAL PARTIES? JUST ASSOCIATE THEM WITH THE BITTER PILLS IT IS ABOUT TO ADMINISTER TO GHANAIANS ON ...

• QED. 10 years ago

WHAT YOU SEE IS WHAT YOU GET is the principle behind proficiency of a computer programme.

SUPPLYING LAPTOPS TO SCHOOL CHILDREN IS LIKE giving Farmers fishing boats or giving Asantehene a yatch to sail.

MAHAMA SHARED A L ...

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

Can we apply similar logic and fallacious thinking to the world economic forum? Here is a listening government who wants to consult with the people and cross-fertilize ideas and you are calling them incompetent?
    The presiden ...

• QED. 10 years ago

If every policy or dept activity is decided by forum, I bet you fifty years would too short to develop Ghana.

WHY MAKE A LEADER EMPTY-HEADED TO CALL FOR DECISION TO IMPROVE THE ECONOMY?
    No wonder, progress elude Africa/G ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

Oh my oh my! The resurfacing of architects of the wobbling foundation of Ghana's economy? Dr. Botchwey, an accomplished economist he is,sadly couldn't manage to score enviable marks on the economic performance sheet perhaps d ...

• Wankanoyie 10 years ago

Who is capable of thinking on his feet,and of using opponents strongest points to disarm them. Feeble-minded critics of this administration,in both the opposition and the media, have latched onto this ridiculous idea that, ho ...

• AGYABA 10 years ago

WHAT IS DR BOTWEY SAYING, HIS PERIOD AS FINANCE MINISTER SENT GHANA TO HIPC SO HE SHOULD KEEP QUIT AND LET THE INCOMPETENT GOVERNMENT OF MAHAMA STEAL IDEAS FROM NPP OTHERWISE MAHAMA AND NDC DISGRACE IS BECOMING TOO BIG. IN AN ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

May I correct your comments ?
    Ghana did not go HIPIC under Rawlings gov't which Kwesi Botchwey was the Finance Minister. Kuffour's gov't went HIPIC.And his Finance Minister was Hon Osafo Maafo.
    Having straightened your comm ...

• Obaayaa 10 years ago

You are right in your analysis and conclusion, but factually wrong in your earlier assertion that "Ghana did not go HIPC under the Rawlings Government".

Ghana was categorized as a HIPC country by the IMF/WB under the Rawli ...

• Paa Sam 10 years ago

Please keep this move of the Economic dialogue.It is an excellent thing we have to do regularly.We are one people ,one nation and one destiny.Let us not be emotional but be focus to resolve the several problems that surrounds ...

• Foxnews 10 years ago

This guy have all the degrees in the world but still empty.All these chew and say street economist are just tools of the world bank,IMF and the rest to do "try and error" on us for good economic formula in the western countri ...

• Jeremea 10 years ago

If it is not, where are the ideas?

• Alex 10 years ago

Kwasi Hatchet Botchwey is warming up for the Finance Ministry position to implement the IMF Bailout of NDC and Mahama Government. They will sack all Ashantis in the Public Service beginning 2015.

• hakeem.Abdallah 10 years ago

Dr-Botchwe-is-talk in-sense tha-proved the-NDc-care-about-the-development of-this-contry

• akwasi - uk 10 years ago

another pndc multi billionaire gained on the backs of exploited masses of Ghana. no doubt he touting for money bag contracts on the economy, or already the chief advisor behind the scenes

• kojo 10 years ago

There may be nothing wrong with seeking fresh ideas but my problem with mahama is that he steals ideas from others and pretend as if they are his.
    Addressing parliamnet this year mahama spoke of implementing free shs and add ...

• clansl 10 years ago

The government stinks. It is time to replace this government with a better one.

• YAKUBU 10 years ago

The statement by Prof. Botchwey should be broken down and it's real meaning sought in the face of information in the public domain about a proposed new economic policy being championed by the Mr.P.V. Obeng led NDPC.
    He said ...

• KWAME NYAME,MIAMI-FLORIDA,USA 10 years ago

KWESI BOTCHWAY!JUST SHUT UP BEFORE WE SHUT IT UP FOR YOU FOREVER!YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE WHO CONTRIBUTED IN RUINING GHANA,S ECONOMY AND NOW YOU THINK THAT WE HAVE FORGOTTEN B,COS YOU THINK WE HAVE SHORT MEMORIES.SOON YOU WILL RE ...

• Ntim Gyakari 10 years ago

A complete stooge of the IMF!!!

• KWASHIE ADJAH 10 years ago

"THE MEAT HAS ALREADY BEING CHOPPED, LEAVING BARE BONES". THESE WERE THE WORDS OF JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA AT THE START OF HIS PRESIDENCY, SO WHAT IS THE NEED OF SUCH A TALKING SHOP, WHICH IS COSMETIC, DUST THROWING EXERCISE AND W ...

• John Allotey 10 years ago

Can Kwesi Botchwey tell us where he got his new found wealth as we know him as a normal lecturer with no business and wearing of old Afro Moses sandals. After 15 years in control of Ghana's economy, Ghana became poorer and y ...

• kwame peasah darkwah nyc 10 years ago

IF THEY KNOW WHY THEM DO IT?

• darkwa 10 years ago

lack of ideas indeed.

• MANNY. London 10 years ago

But Fifi Kweetey thinks he know everything

• Kk 10 years ago

We are doomed.
    Brace yourselves for hyper inflation.

• GhanabaGHC 10 years ago

Lol!! Yenta Obiaa song will be playing at full blast at the summit..hahaha

• matzcrorkz 9 years ago

7lTvSf I am so grateful for your post.Really looking forward to read more. Great.