You are here: HomeNews2014 05 08Article 308668

Kofi Annan: Africa should have reacted faster to Nigeria girls abduction

Read Comments Comments (80)

• BEN 10 years ago

HMMMM WE WISH SO SIR:

• moyo 10 years ago

Kofi Annan is not African President. We have african leaders sitting there aloof whilst Bokom Haram is killing innocent civilians. The United States of American and the European Community should use DRONES to target the mili ...

• Atugabiig 10 years ago

WHERE IS T.B JOSHUAH AMID THIS KIDNAPPING? CAN'T HIS GOD REVEAL TO HIM THE WHEREABOUTS OF THESE GIRLS?
    I'M NOT DISPUTING THE FACT THAT GOD CAN DO THAT BUT I'M ONLY WONDERING WHY T.B JOSHUAH'S GOD ONLY REVEALS SPORTING AND EL ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

How the hell do you need America's FBI and UK's Scotland Yard and, perhaps, Russia's KGB to troupe to the bushes and unknown places in Nigeria to search for these school girls? What the heck do they know about Nigeria's villa ...

the problem with this northern mentality is that thanks to jj they now all have an unquenchable thirst for power but never to serve in a team or accept their fellow countrymen . just look around in Accra and study the majorit ...

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 10 years ago

THIS BOKO HARAM ISSUE HAS SIMPLY NOT BEEN TAKEN SERIOUS. WE ALL THOUGHT THEY WERE A AN AL QUAEDA COPY CAT. INSTEAD OF TAKING THEM SERIOUS FOR WHO THEY WERE. WE TYPICAL AFRICANS WERE MAING FUN OF THEM AND EVEN NAIJA GOVT FOR T ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Aboa tuutuuni ba,son of a whore ,a fatherless product by an Akan harlot .You have a harlot ancestory.

• TEXAS COWBOY 10 years ago

MUSLIMS SHOULD STOP ACTING STUPID WHAT A FUCK ABOUT BOKO HARAM AND OTHER TERRORIST GROUPES AROUND THE WORLD . VERY DISGRACE TO MUSLIM COMMUNITY AROUND THE WORLD .

• Mans, London 10 years ago

I hate hitting so hard on the truth but in cases such as this the bare bones of facts should be told which means that basically, it is no lie to say that the bulk of the Kofi babones you see are in actual fact descendants of ...

• Buuch 10 years ago

Because African countries are all failed states. I don't even understand why we continue to have national armies; they are useless and cannot give us security in times of of internal/external aggression. In Liberia, Charles T ...

• military man 10 years ago

Omanhene,

You said it all.

• ll 10 years ago

There are enough military assets on the ground to counter the menace posed by Boko Haram, if there is the political will and sincerity. There is a US drone base in Niger that can take care of Northern Nigeria. Also there is a ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

How can a President sit idle for a rebel group to capture 230 girls from a school dormitory and do NOTHING for several days. Our leaders are lazy and stupid, or stupid and lazy, whichever comes first !

• NANA 10 years ago

LETS PRAY GOD INTERVEN

• OZA 10 years ago

Well, some stupid ex-president of Ghana thinks Nigeria should not involve foreign forces in the search for the children. What has Africa done so far? Shallow-mindedness!

• Obenfo 10 years ago

That should have been the approach. How long would Independent African Nations continue to depend on the West, Bro.?

It shouldn't be too difficult for Nigerian Forces (the Military and the Police) to contain the acts of t ...

• Wise talk 10 years ago

As much as we are concern about the kidnapped 230 girls,we should also be concern that these loonatics can can come up with any disgusting schemes in tormenting the citizens of Africa. African leaders are not capable of doing ...

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

ONLY OUR KOFI ANNAN Esq,HAS BOLDLY CALLED A SPADE A SPADE. NO INSULTS, PLEASE, BUT LET'S ALL PUT PRESSURE ON THE NIGERIAN GOV'T TO BE HUMBLE ENOUGH TO ACCEPT HELP!! THIS CRISES IS A PROBLEM FOR US ALL

• Tuffour Agyemang 10 years ago

When you have stupid Rawlings admonishing do nothing Jonathan not to accept international help; crazy boko haram reigns. In fact African leaders with the exception of a few are so petty. Thank you Kofi Annan for leading Afric ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

INSTEAD OF TRYING TO UNDERSTAND THE REASON BEHIND RAWLINGS' ADVICE ALL YOU COULD DO WAS TO INSULT HIM. DO YOU IN THE FIRST PLACE KNOW THE AGENDA OF BOKO HARAM? DO YOU KNOW THEY CAN KILL THOSE GIRLS ONCE THEY ARE AWARE OUTSIDE ...

• Charles Agbenu 10 years ago

Leaders like Mahama has no idea. He is at sea just making ATOPA with the SHANKUS

• Me Too 10 years ago

Sir your comment also has come too lete. Sir can you please also comment on your son's forgery of Energy Minister's signature accusation.

• ghana 10 years ago

Kofi Annan’s son has nothing to do with the kidnapping of the girls in Nigeria by terrorists. Please, show some human compassion for this tragic situation.

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

Do we have Bold leaders? Rawlings was barking on Ukraine but can not even ask questions on issue just at our back door. Muamar Gadhafi was killed just like that without any opposition from Africa leaders. Cowards leaders all ...

• Mans, London 10 years ago

My dear friend, did you not read about Rawlings addressing a special conference in Nigeria about two weeks ago in which he warned the Nigerian government to spare no time in addressing the menace being posed by Boko Haram? Yo ...

• Jason 10 years ago

Always talking...
    Yet...
    These terrorist are being created by the very governments who are corrupt until their bones and don't care about any person except their bank account...
    Sorry Annan, if these gir ...

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 10 years ago

KOFI ANNAN :AFRICA SHD HAVE REACTED FASTER TO NIGERIA GIRLS ABDUCTION

• w3 10 years ago

Best comment

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Where has Mr. Kofi Annan been after this case came to light? Sometimes these technocrats act as if they are not part of the world that gave them birth. According to him USA, Britain and other countries are trying to help in f ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

It's been over three weeks since these girls had been abducted and why Kofi hasn't call for action from the Africans even if Nigeria failed?
    One man can make a difference,and Kofi Annan is one day late and a dollar short on ...

• ORGANIC GHANAMAN 10 years ago

What Kofi cares about are his funds from GMO lobbying in Africa. The guy is really strange. The people of Rwanda will never forgive him for pulling out UN troops just before the massacre began in earnerst. It's a shame that w ...

• Amaoteng 10 years ago

...because he himself is from Indonesia and not Africa. Interesting times. Just want cheap popularity

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

you are an african whose voice travel very very far.i did not hear anything from you in this matter until the western countries voiced out their help. also you of all people know that whenever they are willing to offer their ...

• Osimandias Konfankoh Methusalleh 10 years ago

WOULD YOU HAVE TALKED IF THE WESTERN WORLD DID NOT SAY SOMETHING ABOUT THESE GIRLS?DO YOU KNOW HOW LONG THIS BEEN? MR. ANAN?YOU ARE VERY DISAPPOINTING TO AFRCA. ENJOY YOUR SWEDISH WOMAN AND LEAVE US ALONE.
    PLEASE DO NOT EVEN ...

• sandra 10 years ago

MAHAMA'S PLEDGE
    I promise on my dishonor, to be unfaithful, unpatriotic, and disloyal to my motherland. I pledge myself to the disservice of my constituents with all my strength and with all my heart. I promise to pursue pol ...

• Kwame-Dublin 10 years ago

i belive kofi annan has said it all --africa was slow to act -- but then again that depended on the government of nigeria -- this message is much better than the block headed Rawlings who says nigeria should not call for help ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

KWAME, REASON BEFORE YOU INSULT. DO YOU THINK KOFI ANNAN HAD NO PRIOR KNOWLEDGE ABOUT BOKO HARAM'S EXISTENCE? GROW UP.

• w3 10 years ago

It is easy said than done. African countries can't jump into Nigeria internal affairs unless Nigeria request for help

• Ablekuma 10 years ago

Ghana should tighten its borders, these terrorist always wants somewhere to hide and kill. Mahama opens yours eyes and brains and think fast.

• w3 10 years ago

From Ruwanda to Pol Pot

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

America should send Delta Force to rescue the abducted girls and also eliminate the notorious Boko Haram from the entire African continent. J.J Rawlings telling the Nigeria president not to accept foreign help, is childish i ...

Owen,

Where were the Americans when African leaders were and are still hiding behind the protection of your so-called type of 'democracy' to drain the continent of its riches and hiding their loot in various personal bank ...

• KOFI AFFRIFA 10 years ago

EVERY AFRICAN COUNTRY IS BLESSED WITHR
    ENOUGH RESOURCES TO ENABLE ITS CITIZENS TO LIVE WELL, UNFORTUNATELY, MOST OF THE COUNTRIES ARE MISMANAGED. THE AMOUNT OF MONEY NIGERIA SPENDS ON MILITARY AND POLICE, THEY SHOULD HAVE B ...

Some of the Northern Nigerian Governors are secretly involved with the terrorists hoping to bring down Jonathan's government. Some Northern politicians too are forced to pay the terrorists "protection" money. Then there is Sa ...

The way Boko Haram has had it so easy leads many to believe they have sympathisers in the NAF. Earlier this year before the terrorists attacked a Girls school, the soldiers who had been assigned suddenly left without explanat ...

• Post office 10 years ago

I hope Kofi Annan has learned from his failure in Rwanda. Otherwise keep your mouth shut Kofi Annan

• Ben 10 years ago

Goodluck sits in this office thinking this will go away because these kids are children of Mr and Mrs Nobody. If they had kidnapped his child or grandchild, the whole Nigerian security aparatus would have been brought to bear ...

• GBEVU 10 years ago

BOKO HARAM, PLEASE RELEASE THE INNOCENT GIRLS. WHAT DO U WANT. UR ACTIONS SHOW THAT U HAVE FUNDAMENTAL PROBLEM. CAN YOU PLEASE RENEW YOUR MIND.

• MAKAMAKA 10 years ago

Why have we waited so long? USA/CANADA/RUSSIA/CHINA/ and all others have the technologes to tarck those barbarians down just like Osama bin laden was tracked down via cell phone and data intercepts.....

• Nagodey 10 years ago

It took the intervention of US and UK to help African leaders to wakeup to their responsibilities. Where are the Chinese and the stupid Kwasi PRATT who is always criticizing the Americans everyday.

• Arnold 10 years ago

The brave woman from Nigeria brough this satanic situation to the world by going out demonstarting. Social media was of great help exposing the weak coward uncaring male leaders in Africa. You are a laughting stocj all over t ...

• JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH AKA CAESAR. 10 years ago

THIS IS AN INTERNAL PROBLEM. AFRICA HAS TO BE INVITED. PUT THE BLAME ON THE GOODLUCK REGIME. CALL A SPADE A SPADE. PLEASE KOFI.

• WHAAAAANA 10 years ago

WHERE ARE YOU HIDING MR KOFI ANNAN. COME AND HELP YOUR OWN COUNTRY GHANA. WE NAME KOFI ANNA TRAINING CENTER AFTER YOU BECAUSE WE THINK YOU HAVE SOMETHING BETTER TO OFFER THE NATION

• Gina Blay 10 years ago

Dear Kofi I thought you would have led the african crusade in this matter.

Gina,

Isn't that what he is doing now.

The fault lies squarely with the fucking Nigerian government which underplayed the situation in the first place.

• Olu 10 years ago

Looking at the history of Boko haram and how it started, don't we have the beginnings of 'Boko haram' in Ghana. What we are hearing and seeing in our own LAND GUARDS is similar to Boko Haram. Our politicians just like Nigeria ...

• CHE 10 years ago

During your time as UN secretary-general, you let Africa down with your rather late and lukewarm attitude to the Rwandan genocide.

• Ekow London 10 years ago

This problem has been going on in Nigeria for over 30 years and in the Congo over 60 years.What did you do for Africa at the UN?. Sad as this event is,you cannot blame the whole continent when you had no balls to condemn othe ...

• Oh Ghana 10 years ago

Where were you when it happened?

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Your failure to act on Rwanda when you were in charge resulted in almost one million people being massacred in one hundred days.And you shamed all Africa. Are you now being haunted by the blood of the innocents of Rwanda?Sha ...

• Bubunyo 10 years ago

Robin Hood,if you dont know anything please dont comment about it,Our Great Kofi Annan was not in charge during the Rwandan Genocide,it was Butross Butross Ghali of Egypt who was UN Secretary General by then,So dont tarnish h ...

You are wrong.

Kofi was not the UN boss then. In this day and age the information should be at your finger tips before you open your big mouth.

Boutros Boutros-Ghali of Egypt was the UN boss then.

Asshole!!!!

• kwaku 10 years ago

the idea that Africa should deal with book haram direct is wrong but we should rather support the host nation to confront it domestic issue

• Yagazie 10 years ago

The Boko Haram insurgency is no longer Nigeria's problem. BH has now spread it's tentacles to Cameroun, Chad and Niger. It was the 'it's not my problem' mentality displayed by Nigeria's neighbours when requested to assist in ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

THE TIMID COWBOY HAT WEARING JERK SHOULD HAVE ACTED YEARS AGO

• Kwawu Agbemenu 10 years ago

Not Africa, really, but ECOWAS! ECOWAS members are the closest to the area of trouble in the region. Wasn't the union created for collaboration? Why do we, in any part of Africa, have to wait for outside intervention for any ...

• kk3 10 years ago

as usual, whitey to the rescue! yayyyyy!!!

do something for yourself mama africa!!!

• MAHAMAH MUMUNI DRAMANI 10 years ago

TOO LITTLE TOO LATE WHERE WERE YOU WHEN IT HAPPENED.YOU HAVE AN ADVICE TO NIGERIA PRESIDENT WHY DO YOU KEEP TOO LONG.AFRICANS WHAT WE KNOW BEST IS TO CRITICIZE.KOFI YOU ARE ONE OF THE INFLUENTIAL PERSONS IN AFRICA WHY NOW?.

• The Mask 10 years ago

In my estimation the Boko Haram threat is not so serious to warrant the attention of the government of Ghana. This is a fruitless trip to Nigeria. There are pressing issues at home that we have to deal with. Judges and NAGRA ...

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 10 years ago

AS FOR THESE PSEDO RACIST...HMMM....MY WRATH FOR THEM WILL DESTROY ME IF I MAKE IT EVIDENT. THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR AFRICA'S DETERIORATION ALSO....THEY CAN NEVER BE TRUSTED WITH THEIR CHINGY EYES

• TEXAS COWBOY 10 years ago

AFRICANS ARE FUCKING WICKED WHEN IT'S COME'S TO SAVING LIFE . THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT OTHERS ISSUES BUT THEM SELF . JONATHAN GOODFUCKINGLUCK DO NEED TO BE REMOVE FROM OFFICE ASAP FOR ACTING SLOWLY .

• mtoto-bu 10 years ago

https://secure.avaaz.org/en/petition/Gun_manufacturers_and_suppliers_states_and_private_companies_Stop_sellingsupplying_arms_to_Boko_Haram/?Day2Share

...smile.

• Oheneba Osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

HELP WITH WHAT?

• KkD 10 years ago

What did you do during the Rwanda genocide? It all happened under your watch didn't do nothing and over one million peoples lives wasted away. Now you are running free commentary from the sideline . Continent full of jokers

• NANA USA 10 years ago

WHAT DID YOU DO DURING THE RUANDA GENOCIDE YOU WERE THEN THE UN GENERAL SECRETARY,YOU ARE JUST LIKE ALL THE USELESS AFRICAN LEADERS

Nana,

No Kofi wasn't the UN Secretary General then. Egyptian Boutros Boutros-Ghali was the secretary General.

Read my post of an article I copied from WIKIPEDIA and pasted here for the benefit of people like you who do ...

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

kofi, African governments are all useless . You know that. African governments cannot do anything for their people. Africa needs leaders not presidents who sit in mansions wasting every one's time. Useless Nigerian government ...

• THE CHOSEN ONE 10 years ago

LISTEN TO THIS BLACK PUNKY ASS MOTHER FUCKER. HOW CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THAT AN AREA THAT HAVE BEEN UNDER MILITARY SEIGE AN UNDER MILITARY OCCUPATION FOR SOME YEARS NOW, THAT A GROUP OF SOCALLED BOKO HARAM TERRORIST CAN LAUNCH ...

For the benefit of those who are not sure if Kofi Annan was the UN boss during the Rawandan atrocities,
    I copied and pasted this this article from WIKIPEDIA. Read the article carefully and thoroughly and you will see that Eg ...

• Yagazie 10 years ago

Kofi Anan's comments are quite appropriate. However would also have liked him to have shown solidarity with Nigeria by attending the WEF Africa Summit in Abuja instead of pulling out at the last minute -citing security conce ...