You are here: HomeNews2014 05 08Article 308634

Bature: Mahama is not an Akan, correct him!

Read Comments Comments (68)

• THE DRONE 9 years ago

GHANA FOR YOU....

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 9 years ago

What the Asantes want is diplomatic passport so they can go back to their ususal business, you what I meant,(Cocaine Business)?

They don't need roads,

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

we have always pointed out that mahama is burdened by tribal ethnic hatred for the Akans and could help himself but show his true colors in Kumasi . The fact that there is no Fanti who is a substantiate minister says it all. ...

• kabokabo 9 years ago

Kwasia bi nti yentie obiaaa tweaa is Ashantis our co-equal? We will not apologize, we will keep denying the story.

• GHANAMANBA IN UK 9 years ago

HI KOLA, I THINK YOU HAVE LEFT GHANA FOR QUITE ALONG TIME

• Motified 9 years ago

Mr Bature, Educating Herr Mahama is all fine and sensible. I agree with you. The problem is this, Herr president and his cling ons do not see a fault. So how do you cure an alcoholic who does not think s/he has a drinking pro ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

If Mahama did say what we are told HE DIDN'T and some have flared up.......NOW you see how it is when Victor Owusu abused the Ewes ?????
    If you look into a mirror, what do you see ?????

• SGT ANANI FIADZAOE 9 years ago

Bature, if you think Mahama is not an Akan and cannot speak Twi with reasonable understanding, who forced him
    to speak the language he does not understand and cannot speak it with clear meaning? Kwasea bi nti.

• GHANABA 1 9 years ago

Silly Bature, was mahama forced to speak Twi? He knows and understood exactly what he said.Ashantis will rise and defend themselves one day.The time is near, wait and see

• Osahene Amankwa 9 years ago

so Bature is saying the President does not have speech writers.what an excuse......

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

If the president can speak the Akan language proverbs the he understand what he said.So let us understand that the president intentionally insult the Ashantis.An idiot president is always an idiot therefore don't pamper this ...

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

The president's handlers are not doing their job. They should tell him to stick only to the scripts prepared for him to read . They must also make sure they have enough cola nuts for him to munch on to prevent him from making ...

• K.K. 9 years ago

Don't mind the Akans or for that matter the Asantes. How many of them could speak any of the other indigenous languages or pronounce any name correctly not to speak of using any of their adages to drive home a point?

• SUSURIBIBI 9 years ago

Sayooooo Mahama nailed the nail on the black short ashanti heads, Is Ghana for them alone. If they appreciate what is being done for them why didn't they vote for him. Let them pronounce FILM --Flim. Korase fo

• oluwa 9 years ago

But KK, that is precisely why when you are speaking publicly you the language you are comfortable with so as not to be misuderstood. Don't use expressions you don't fully understand and turn around to say I'm not a native sp ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Don't be myopic there are a lot of Asantes who speak Hausa fluently,those who are brought up in the Capital also speak Ga in addition to their local dialect.

• makaamaka 9 years ago

ok so i pay my tax as a citizen and you use my tax i paid to construct roads and build infrastructure(which is the responsibility as president)and i dont appreciate you, am the bad guy, wow! such a shame! mr president, you sh ...

• Obournana 9 years ago

You are senseless. You know why? Because a lot of people inherit properties but squander them. Show us anything Kuffour did in Kumasi. Ex-president Rawlings' NDC government aquired land, preapred everything for the inland por ...

• makaamaka 9 years ago

whats you IQ?...00.5? smdh!

• KOMOO FRANCE. 9 years ago

If mahama does not understand the twi language,he shd have used a language he understand.

• Sethoo 9 years ago

John Mahama's father married two wives,probably his father could not get more time with him to give him proper parental upbringing.I am sure he used to use words like sayje,duruuwaa,kwaasia when he was young.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

I think that what the President said was not an insult. He is free to give his views on issues in the garden city of West Africa.

• Osei 9 years ago

IT MEANS WITH ATUGUBA AND BAFFOE BONNIES ON YOUR SIDE, YOU WILL STEAL AGAIN, COME 2016

• SUSURIBIBI 9 years ago

Sayooooo Mahama nailed the nail on the black short ashanti heads, Is Ghana for them alone. If they appreciate what is being done for them why didn't they vote for him. Korase fo

• still rastafari 9 years ago

pls stop featuring something like bature

• Abena- Mankessim 9 years ago

Only illunatic with low iQ suport mahama

• solja 9 years ago

And only demented idiots like you will vote for npp.koo gyimiii, aboafunu, toogb333, aponkye mm333. Go find a life. ashantes will never taste power again.

• Kofi Babone 9 years ago

So is your father also a foolish man for voting NDC,?you are a real BABOON.

• solja 9 years ago

Thank you Babone

• maame 9 years ago

SO THIS IS HOW YOU EXHIBIT YOUR HIGH IQ. WOW! HOPE YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT IQ MEANS. A PERSON WITH HIGH IQ WOULD PREFER TO USE SOUND ARGUMENT NOT INSULT, TO HELP PEOPLE UNDERSTAND HIS OR HER POINT. YOU REALLY ARE SMART.

• ABOAFUNU 9 years ago

He held on to the "Yen Akanfo" comment of Nana Addo from the day it was made up to today. In fact, he used it against Nana Addo in election 2012, even while he himself was calling on Northerners to vote only for their fellow ...

• Sintim 9 years ago

He started the insults before he was voted,his insult to the cocoa farmers in his book was the first one.The shit is that,with ndc,you have to insult the Akans in order to become their presidential candidate,but they have the ...

• oluwa 9 years ago

Some people think they can speak twi and even use idiomatic expressions. They don't recognise their limitations and they impose their own interpretation of idioms on native spaekers. But this would have been tolerable if not ...

• maame 9 years ago

OTAE HUNU YE YA, OTAE HUNU YEYA. MENUA GYAE NA OBI TAE WO A EYA ONTE WASEMA ASE. OTAE HUNU TESE ABOATEA OKA WOA ONI EDURO, NE SE NKETE, NKETE NANSO ...

HABA! MUST YOU TREAT YOUR BROTHER THE WAY YOU TREAT THE PRESIDENT. ...

• Naadu 9 years ago

The communication team and speech writers of the President need to blame. They are full of hatred for the Akan tribe and I really wonder why? I beg to differ that Akans, and for that matter Ashantis, are very very nice people ...

• Sintim 9 years ago

Naa,do you think they care,they simply hate the Akans,specially the Asantes.

• maame 9 years ago

FROM EVERYTHING I READ HERE, I HAVE ALSO OBSERVED THAT THE ASHANTI THINKS GHANA IS THEIRS. YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW. YOUV'E SEWN SO MUCH HATRED AND ARE REAPING YOUR FRUIT - HATRED. PEOPLE ARE ONLY TRYING TO SURVIVE WITH SO IN ...

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

It was northerner who fuck their great grand mother n she gave birth to them

• Saman Pa 9 years ago

Bature should shut up! and stop being apologetic for Mahama. He knew fully what he was saying, who he was speaking to, the implication of his words and the defence forces that will come to his aid in case of a backfire. If he ...

• Don Quizote 9 years ago

Well said and written.

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

He is old n smoking wee n co

• Tony 9 years ago

The president did not mentioned akanfuo,or asantefuo,we have chameleon of people living in kumasi,even foreiners,so you people must learn the akan proverbs well to unerstand,he was in kumasi,a part of ghana,what about he said ...

• CROSS 9 years ago

WHY WAIST OUR TIME ON TRIVIAL ISSUES? LISTENING TO THE TAPE CAREFULLY WOULD TELL YOU GHANAIANS MAKE UNNECESSARY NOISE AND DO LITTLE. WE HAVE BETTER THINGS TO THINK ABOUT THAN TRYING EVERY MEANS TO BRING DOWN EACH OTHER. WHY S ...

• SANKARIWA 9 years ago

The President could have done it better in Bole language than to mess up with borrowed Akan language. The president should know that it is not sensible to show off in "military" ants (nkran) colony. Next time I am sure he wil ...

• Chelsea Rolland 9 years ago

Mistake

• Ziblim Bandamda 9 years ago

Has Mahama ever spoken Gonja. Does he understatnd it? Hmmmmmm!!!!!

• OHENEBA 9 years ago

How do we correct a person who does not admit that he or she has made a mistake ?

• FLOATING VOTER. 9 years ago

Alhaji,why pretend ?
    The president is doing what he promised, thats all.He ,as well as,any well meaning person, knows that,if he is waiting for those people to show appreciation for what he is doing in that region,then forge ...

• Kwame Ampong 9 years ago

What do these NDC cohorts want to tell Ghanaians? Was is not Ayariga and others who affirmed what the President 'spat'? Was is not Ofosu-Kwakye who said the tape being played around has been 'doctored'? So Bature what are tel ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Who was offended by President Mahama's remark and how? Ever since the NDC retook power in 2009, I dare all you hypocrites and cowards to tell which region has been a spot for constant agitation, uprising and or shown disdain ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

This Bature guy! Mahama knew exactly what he was saying!! Do not give him the alibi that he is not an Akan and therefore might not understand what he was saying!

• nanaabro 9 years ago

Accept your mistake and they will pardon you. As simple as that.

• Kwame Pee. 9 years ago

This Bature is out of his mind. The President grew up in the south and speaks the language very well. Who are you kidding, Bature! Don't you speak Ga? Are you a Ga? Stop throwing dust into our eyes, we all need to grow up and ...

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Alhaji makango, if you're not a good swimmer you don't jump into the middle of the ocean that you know is infested with hungry sharks on a feeding frenzy.

• Sammy Gariba 9 years ago

Live Mahama alone, he will correct himself infuture.

• GBAGBLADZA 9 years ago

Prez. John Mahama has not done or said anything bad. Hasn't Ashantis told Papa Jay that if he even lay terrazo on the streets of Kumasi there will not vote for him? John Mahama has come to find out that, not only terrazo but ...

• kofi Mensah 9 years ago

Mr John Mahama knew and meant what he said.When I was in secondly school there was a Nigerian girl who used to collect all the Twi prizes from form two to form five. She even got 1 in twi. The president has an Akan wife and s ...

• Nii Okai 9 years ago

It should be made known to all in Ghana that Akan is not a tribe as many continue to use the word Akan wrongly, to confuse many intelligent people who are aware of Akan as a word use to describe the ten tribes that have simil ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

all the tribes of Akan make the nation of Akan which is now in bondage in this man made concoction called ghana

• JOE ATISO 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS AN AKAN AND CAN'T PRETEND TO BE OTHERWISE WHEN HE IS IN HOT WATERS, PERIOD! MAHAMA IS A KINTAMPO ROYAL WITH A NORTHERN FATHER AND CAN'T BE A COMPLETE NORTHERNER EVEN THOUGH NORTHERNERS ARE PATERNAL BY INHERITANCE. M ...

• Champion 9 years ago

Out of the abundant of the heart the mouth speaks. The twi he spoke isn't any proverbial. It was simple twi language which we've heard over and over. What he meant is what he said and it was clear a simple language to be misi ...

• mama ceci 9 years ago

do you know what 'patois' is? such ignorance!!! and he calls himself an editor!!!

• Adongo Tongo 9 years ago

Mahama 's mother is from Brong Ahafo. So don't fooled by the lies that Mahama is a full blooded northerner. He is not. Mahama and Victoria Hammah are cousins.

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS LEARNING EVERYTHING AT HIS PRESIDENCY AND BETTER HE LEARNS WELL FOR HIS GOOD. THE SAME HE MUST LEARN HOW TO RULE A COUNTRY BETTER THAN PAYING BRIBES AND BECOMING PRESIDENT PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

FOR HIS OWN BENEFIT THIEF BY-FORCE INCOMPETENT PRESIDENT PERIOD

• Whatever 9 years ago

The president mispronounced certain words in Aka proverb and this is an issue...This is a country of high unemployment and poverty this this is what gets our attention. I'm appalled by the mediocrity we are turning this count ...

• Pastor Canada 9 years ago

I am sure the president's comments stem out of frustration from the ambivalent of the Asantes towards in government and party in particular. But he should understand that it will be tough for any well thinking Asante particul ...

• sam locco 9 years ago

ugly Bature son of b..tch