You are here: HomeNews2014 05 08Article 308612

Ghana troops to fight Boko Haram?

Read Comments Comments (116)

• PREACHER 9 years ago

IF U DONT HAVE ANYTHING TO PUBLISH DONT MAKE A FOOL OF YOURSELF OK. WHAT DO U MEAN WHEN U GIVE A TITLE LIKE THAT.

• Linda 9 years ago

I hope this is not true. Do we really want our peace to be comprised? Have we forgotten the Kenya incident?

• IDRIS PACAS 9 years ago

BOKO HARAM is a disgruntled group of terrorists and not ISLAMIC terrorists. A terrorist is a terrorist and no religion tolerates terrorism.

Even though what is called terrorism started in IRELAND, nobody has ever describe ...

• bk 9 years ago

An other muslim falsifying history again, to fool the unlearned, by saying "terrorism started in Ireland" How did your religion start???? SHAME ON YOU

• kasa 9 years ago

i hope it will better you read further and stop mediocre conclusion-full stop
    reply back and hear more stories

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

the problem with this northern mentality is that thanks to jj they now all have an unquenchable thirst for power but never to serve in a team or accept their fellow countrymen . just look around in Accra and study the majorit ...

• Musa Ibrahim 9 years ago

Comments in this media is very important.At times some people make it as if they don't have class one teacher.It is strange some people never know,that 1.President Mahama is a CHRISTIAN and are calling him to send his co-Musl ...

• DA 9 years ago

Please Mahama, have nothing to do with this. The Bible predicts that he’ll pull his sword against everybody and everybody will be against him, however he cannot be tamed. Please don’t compromise our only left virtue: PEAS ...

• Kwame Attafuah 9 years ago

Plis President Mahama I strongly disagree the idear of sending Ghana's troops to Nigeria to fight Boko Haram.pls let not forget kenya and al shabab.Prof Mills one's admonish the concept of (di wo fie asem) literally meaning b ...

• custom ola adeniyi 9 years ago

AUCTION! AUCTION!! AUCTION!!!
    NIGERIA CUSTOM SERVICE (NATIONAL AUTHORIZED
    CAR
    AUCTIONS/SALES)
    WE HAVE DIRECT TOKUNBO CARS VERY CLEAN AND
    BRAND
    NEW CARS FOR SALE AT CHEAPER PRICES.
    These cars were siezed by government o ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Mahama's foolishness will get Ghanaians in Boko Haram crossfire and get Ghanaians killed. Nigeria has more than 250,000 in its military compared to Ghana's 25,000military, let them deal with their problems.

• Thess 9 years ago

Mahama is a fool. I don't know what is wrong with that fool.

• Linda 9 years ago

Pompous Mahama want to prove he's the chairman of ecowas & therefore the need to make such decision. It's a known fact that countries that assist other nations in fighting extremist groups are often targeted. Do we really wan ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

These days it very easy to condemn Boko Haram, and rightly so, for their barbarism, the hijacking, and misrepresenting the Islamic religion.

But you have to tell yourself, nothing happens in a vacuum. The Boko Haram, meanin ...

• MAWULE 9 years ago

GOOD ARTICLE MY BROTHER. WE ARE IN A PERIOD THAT UPRISING IS THE ONLY SOLUTION TO THIS SO CALLED WESTERN TYPE OF DEMOCRACY. THEY GIVE OUR LEADERS EDUCATION ON HOW TO DEPRIVE THEIR OWN PEOPLE THE SHARE OF THEIR NATURAL RESOURC ...

• maame 9 years ago

get your guns ready and join forces with Boko Haram. I am not ready for suicide bumbing. Life is so precious to me. We can solve problems in a civilized manner. killing and maiming innocent souls esxcalates problems. Let ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head. Thank you for saying the truth. No further comments.

• military man 9 years ago

This woman Linda is wise.

Ghana can't even feed itself or provide good schools or even better roads, not to mention good health care and our clueless president wants our military to get entangled with a well-armed BOKO HAR ...

• AKA 9 years ago

Maybe it was a slip of tongue because i don't believe he is actually trying to make that stupid mistake,first of all he is the chairman of the ECOWAS because he the president of ghana and not his foreign policies experience b ...

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

This is a laudable idea but I do not think it is practical or advisable. Ghana's army is fraction of that of Nigerian and we cannot boast of any extra skills that our neighbours are lacking. They have the money and the resour ...

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 9 years ago

SCARED OF BOKO GARAM BACKLASH? MIAUAHAHAHAAAAA....ECOWAS MUST INVOLVE THEMSELVES IN FISHING OUT BOKO HARAM BECOS TODAY IT COULD BE NAIJA. TOMORROW, IT COULD VERY WELL BE GH, TOGO, MALI ETC...FUCK FEAR!

• Paa Kwesi Akua Donkor Alliance 9 years ago

Ghanaians, beware of bomb throwers! The mate meho NPP can throw bombs and all Ghanaians will automatically blame boko haram and ask Mahama to leave the scene. We should watch out! They are capable of anything evil. They can ...

• Nana Kwaku 9 years ago

Sarpong, your subject reminds me of Agya Atta. Had he been alive this wouldn't been a worry to us.

• THE NPP UNGRATEFUL LOT 9 years ago

Sarpong, we better quench help this spreading fire before it reaches our country. I understand your fears but don't forget the Ghanaian president also happens to be the Chairman of the ECOWAS. If he doesn't do anything it is ...

• Ananse 9 years ago

The Abdus are at the throats of the Andanis and vice versa. The Northern elites live in Accra and have done nothing for their people except engage in looting for just themselves and their immediate families. Tweah. Mahama cra ...

• Kobina 9 years ago

Ghanaian troops are only good at bullying unarmed Ghanaians. They are useless

• wutan klan 9 years ago

look at dis nonentity,asshole,blooclat,battyman,likle piece of shit.do u know the achievement of ghanaian troops? if u dnt know then go and find out and stop posting this trash. u son of a goddam bitch

THIS IS LONG OVERDUE. THE PUBLIC MUST BLAME THE GOVT OF NAIJA AND ECOWAS FOR NEGLECTING AND TREATING BOKO HARAM WITH IDLE HANDS UP UNTIL THIS POINT. THESE UNECESSARY THUIGS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FLUSHED OUT OF THEIR BUNKERS LONG A ...

• DAN 9 years ago

KILL ALL THE MUSLIMS AND LET GOD DECIDE WHO GOES TO HELL!

THANKS...

• Salvation 9 years ago

The world has lost its peace because misleading of a false prohets Burning in Hell by NOW.

How can you ask a child to be thought how to SWIM, USE GUN, AND USE KNIFE and expect him to be of peace.

• Salvation 9 years ago

The

How can you ask a child to be thought how to SWIM, USE GUN, AND USE KNIFE and expect him to be of peace.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Do you remember the robbers in Boxer Shorts who raided passenger during rush hour traffic in Ksumasi last year? And you know 99% of the highway armed robbery happens within Ashanti Region?

I tell you, the youth in Ashanti ...

• Kwadwo Nash 9 years ago

You are a fool. Normally l don't like insulting one here but for this comment, l will say that you are below an animal

• AAAAAAA AAAAA 9 years ago

this our country ghana is funny, why,look the defence ministry is looking for loans to equip troops in united nations missions..
    And now the presidency is saying he is going to support naija to fight boko haram, this is funn ...

• MAWULE 9 years ago

SOON GHANA WILL FACE IT BOKO HARAM

• ANCIENT MAN 9 years ago

WE UNDERSTAND YOUR GRIEF,FIADJOE.ANANE IS AKAN NAME,BUT YOUR FATHER COULDN'T SPELL SO THEY SPELT IT ANANI,INSTEAD OF ANANE.THAT IS WHY YOU HATE AKANS SO MUCH.ANANE,ANANE.ANANE,ANANE!!!

• OPERATION BUSH STORM 9 years ago

sgt ANANI FIADZOE,Nireian troups will in return help us fight ASHANTI ARMED GANGSTERS(ASHANTI REGION ALL-DIE-BE-DIE BOKO HARAM TERRORISTS)in the region...operation code:BUSH STORM/

• Citizen. 9 years ago

Mahama who wants West African boarders to be opened for these boko haram terrorist to enter Ghana to devastate the country is now thinking of sending the military to go and fight them in Nigeria. In no time, we`d see them wit ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

If the British and the Americans are to come to help then we must know the Au and the Ecowas is useless and must be dissolved because they have failed their objectives.the centers of Au and the ECOWAS has been a party center ...

• Nana Odasane Kwesi Adwenpaye 9 years ago

Good idea Mr Mahama! Much will depend upon you as the Chair of the sub-Region to retrieve the 200 girls and also flush out (exterminate) this "BOKO HARAM" group. They don't deserve to live.
    However, be vigilant so that the d ...

THE US WILL SENT A REP TO BROKER THE RELEASE OF THESE GIRLS, NOT THE NAIJA GOVT. JUST WATCH....

• Queen 9 years ago

Nana don't be naive! The West with all their technologies couldn't stop terrorist from bombing their cities. What makes you think that Ghana, with a lousy security can stop these people from entering the country?

SO U WOULD RATHER LIVE ON YOUR KNEES THAN DIE ON YOUR FEET? THATS SUPREME COWARDICE! GO N FISH THEM OUT BEFORE THEY GET ANY BIGGER AND START SPREADING THEIR WINGS TO GH AND OTHER NEIGHBORING NATIONS. WHAT DID NKRUMAH GO THRU ...

• Queen 9 years ago

Has the war on terrorism in Iraq & Afghanistan been successful after more than 10yrs? The answer is a big NO!

THE US REALISED FROM THE VIETNAM WAR THAT IT CAN NOT WIN A WAR BY ITSELF ANY MORE. SO NOW, IT RELIES ON NATO TO GET THE JOB DONE. WHEN AI QUAEDA ATTACKED PREVIOUSLY ATTACKED THE WTC. US DIDNT IMMEDIATELY GO AFTER AL QUAEDA. T ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Queen indeed!You are a sad, pathetic excuse for a human being, FACT. Jog along muppet!
    Your is ideologically bankrupt

• James 9 years ago

oo man you people should should shut up and do not try to involve your self in this. Ghana is a peaceful country

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

Ghana troops to fight in Boko Haram for what? For oil or for gas? And just look at the inefficient manner the Nigerian government has handled the issue. Now Britain and America are sending personnel to help Nigeria deal with ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

To fight Boko Haram not 'to fight in Boko Haram'[line 1]

• concern Ghanian citizen in US 9 years ago

From the look of all coments, submited by majority of these readers, I could see we are forgetings a lot of things. i think its better to prevent than to cure. also, I believe if you see fire in your friend roof top, than you ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

So far Africa is yet to prove that we can solve our problems without the white man. When we need money who do we call on? When our politicians have a headache where do they go for healing?

• chief 9 years ago

Forget politics and help your brother s and sister s please Ghanaian.

• AWUDU IDDRISU 9 years ago

We are some how happy for the decision but it has to be handle with cautiousness.

• BAABA 9 years ago

TALK IS CHEAP

THEY ARE CAUSING THE DISEASES BUT THEY ALSO ALREADY HAVE THE ANTIDOTE TO CURE IT. THEN U WILL CALL THEM SAVIOUR...LOL

• ghana man 9 years ago

since when did they become brothers and thsi mahama ,is he as stupid as he really looks..the man just dont have it ..

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

...My president H.E MAHAMA should talk about all inclusive West AFRICA sub regional troups (ECOWAS TROUPS).Ghana/Nigeria have done much for sub regional peace,and it is now time for all hands on board;.

• Klymaxx 9 years ago

While this may sound like a good gesture by the president, it is very costly to send the troops and we just don't have the money right now

• eusebio 9 years ago

Please Ghana should never get involve in this Islam business. Nigeria has got enough soldiers to fight the terrorist on their own. Because the moment we get involve these terrorist will turn their attention to ghana so please ...

• andulukun-1 9 years ago

ghanaians we are trying to call problems to our country , because BOKO haram, is been spornzed by USA;and now next issue we be our country since we send people to help, we shall be the next target , becos , is the plan of th ...

• KOFFI 9 years ago

It is selfish to dissuade Ghana from helping a sister nation particularly when the in-thing now is Trade amongst ECOWAS states.
    Indeed, cowards die many times before their death. Let Ghana and for that matter all other West ...

• Ranger 9 years ago

ghana cant take care n equ
    ipt her troops always send them
    to war zone,check on the condition
    of ur troops in sudan Mali n cos

• OH 9 years ago

MAHAMA CAN SEND ONLY HIS MUSLIM BROTHERS IN THE NORTH TO NIGERIA.ALL CHRISTIAN SOLDIERS IN THE GHANA ARMY SHOULD OPT OUT OF THIS FOOLISH EXERCISE.

• ofori 9 years ago

Ghanaian journalists are over knowing do they even scrutinize their news before its been published
    ?. Our journalists should be very careful when anything happens it will affect all of us, why should they give such a banner ...

UR NEIGHBOUR NEEDS HELP BUT UR SELFISH WAYS ARE TELLING YOU TO DI WO FIE ASEM? BEFORE U KNOW IT, UR NEIGHBOUR IS COLLUDING WITH UR WORST ENEMY TO DISTURB YOU. IS THIS WHAT YOU WANT? INFACT, SOME PPL DONT DSESERVE TO HAVE BRAI ...

• Toto 9 years ago

Calling people for voicing their opinion makes you a jackass.

• Thess 9 years ago

Human beings with brains are talking, we don't need you stupid illiterate to interject, this is beyond your brain power, you illiterate fool.

• Ghanas 9 years ago

Kwasea, dzi wo fie asem is ndc foreign policy concerning west African countries. When the Ecowas took a decision to send Ecowas troops to Ivory Coast to enforce the election decision, Ndc under Atta Mills said that is not Gha ...

ITS IS AN INTERNAL PROBLEM THE SAME WAY GH'S INABILITY TO PROVIDE ENUFF OIL TP FEED ITS POPULATION IS ALSO AN INTRNAL PROBLEM. WHEN GH NEDS OIL HELP. WHO DO THEY CALL ON? FILTHY ANIMALS WITH NO LOYALTY. IF NAIJA COULD HAVE DE ...

• Liza 9 years ago

If u want to argue a point or disagree with a post, there's no need to insult others. We're all adults and can agree to disagree without hurling insults

• liv 9 years ago

Thanks Liza

• SB 9 years ago

We must be realistic, Boko Haram if not stopped will be in Ghana eventually. That is not a opinion that is a fact. time and again with these groups it is shown they want one thing and one thing only and that is more. More of ...

• ffonky 9 years ago

Helping is not the issue here but the timing and the mandate.
    Are we going ther as ECOWAS troops or as "big brothers".
    Do we have the intelligence like us and great britain (Nato)?

• ANITA DE DWARFS 9 years ago

Sending Ghanaian troops to fight Boko Haram is the shortcut to inviting the terrorist group to extend its operation into Ghana. Let our leaders think twice before they make any commitments.

• lie 9 years ago

You see you if it was us I known we ghanaian we say we a all Africa you see us

• TOTO GBEMI 9 years ago

WHY DONT U SHUT UR LIPS. SHUT DE MOUTH! U WERE THE ONES JJ SENT TO NAIJA TO SPY ON HIS ENEMIES, ABI. TWO TWO NEE BAA PLUS INFORMANT....

• bibi 9 years ago

We have more issues of our own. address the and stop inviting unwanted troubles into our country

• obaayaa 9 years ago

This ideal should have been secret without the media publishing it. It can be dangerous for Ghana, these people can attack any country that tries to fight them. Ghana be wise.

• ASEMPAYE 9 years ago

People, lets not jump to shallow minded conclusions and start this stupidity of insults as usual. Nigeria has more than it needs in terms of troops to fight Boko Haram if they so wish. The Ghana Armed Forces is just a mere fr ...

• The Mask 9 years ago

This is absolute nonsense. If the government has run out of ideas in prudent spending then they should consult NAGRAT.

• Patrick. 9 years ago

The GAF is not equiped enough to deal with these terrorists at a time when our economy is in dire straits! Nigeria has a larger and better equiped army and moreover are getting help from the Yanks, Brits and French. I would s ...

• kk 9 years ago

mahama dat is not ur busioness think about ur stupid governance. idiot

• nath 9 years ago

hmmm

• Precious 9 years ago

War

• GhanaBoy 9 years ago

No need to poblish it, if Ghana want to send troops to Nigeria to help is good thing. But for our own security no need to boblish it.. Remember Nigeria to Ghana is not very far. We dont want to become target of boko haram.

• blass 9 years ago

I read that this boko haram are not nigeria is true. ?

• GhanaBoy 9 years ago

I think there are some foreigners among them but mostly they're Hausa Nigerians. May Allah destroy this boko haram group.

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

MAHAMA SHOULD SEND HIS FAMILY TO NIGERIA TO HELP THEM. DONT WASTE PEOPLE'S PARENTS LIFES FOR YOUR NAME MAKING. GHANA HAS NO BUSSINESS FIGHTING BOKO HARAM BECAUSE IS NOT PART OF NIGERIA. THERE IS A ROOT CAUSE SO WHY INVITE TRO ...

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

These muslems called Boko Haram are not creatures of God,Human being all u know is to kill ur fellow human being?

• john 9 years ago

THIS IS A SENSITIVE ISSUE AND I BELIEVE IF U WANT TALK ABOUT IT BACK IT WITH FACTS! THIS IS A STUPID REJOINDER! IT IS FULL OF LIES!

• King King 9 years ago

Alhaji, pleeeeease dont bring in anything stupid to this country. Nigerians has to fight their own fight. STUPID EDITOR

• RICHARD 9 years ago

If actually is the al- hajj which published this Nonsense of Ghana troops to help Nigeria troops to flash out Boko Haram, then Al-Hajj BE CAREFUL no to invite Boko Haram into this Country. Do you think you are doing Good to ...

• ofori 9 years ago

Ghanaian journalists are over knowing do they even scrutinize their news before its been published
    ?. Our journalists should be very careful when anything happens it will affect all of us, why should they give such a banner ...

• Baba Goodman 9 years ago

Step in right direction. A friend in need is a friend in deed. Go Ghana go is necessary action for human kind.

• IARAFAT USA 9 years ago

FOOLISH- MAN LET MAHAMA SEND HIS 5 WIVES ,30 CHILDREN,15 GIRL-FRIENDS INCLUDING YOURSELF TO FORM ARMY AND GO TO NIGERIA OUR SOLDIERS HAVE SOMETHING BETTER DOING AND THEY CHERISH THEIR LIVES- KWESEA !!!!!

• maame 9 years ago

DZI WO FIE ASEM. ATTA MILLS WAS INSULTED PROFUSELY WHEN HE MADE THE STATEMENT. I THINK MAHAMA SHOULD SAY SAME. NOW WHAT DO YOU WANT MAHAMA TO DO ONDZI NE FIE ASEM ANAA YEN KE FACE BOKO HARAM. MILLA was really wise

• SLY 9 years ago

We have our children in boarding schools, how are they protected? This people are not far from us. What about the society at large? God save us!

• Gabisco 9 years ago

Masa make u concentrate on your presidency and stop entering into another countries matters. Incompetence mahama

• gyatakuma 9 years ago

Ghana is full of armed robbers from nigeria -we have no right dabbling in their affairs when we have our own troubles -MAHAMA should vacate his post immediately HIS government is too close to islamists in; they dabble with i ...

• Kums Isa'ac 9 years ago

Boko haram in nigeria is become an issue of prayer,is not thet nigeria are not caperble of solving this bokoharam issue with the soldires they have,corroption is nigeria problem.God will blesse the Ghana goverment for thire c ...

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

call them for talks...

• All it all 9 years ago

Akan say wo yonko da ne wo da .This means if it is Ghana ecowas will help us

• TEE 9 years ago

NONSENSE IDIOTS FOOLS

• TEE 9 years ago

WE ARE NOT MUSLIM THANK GOD

• liv 9 years ago

But the Islamic Terrorists took over until the Christians run them out of the country.

• mtoto-bu 9 years ago

https://secure.avaaz.org/en/petition/Gun_manufacturers_and_suppliers_states_and_private_companies_Stop_sellingsupplying_arms_to_Boko_Haram/?Day2Share

...smile.

• Joy Walter 9 years ago

No More Going Back On Ds Matter,they Have Done There Worst In Niger.

• Merlic 9 years ago

The difficulty for Pres Goodluck is most probably not how to deal with the Boko Haram per se. It may not really be just a problem of logistics but rather how to manage the ethnic and tribal sentiments and complexity of such a ...

• jespo jaspatov 9 years ago

Have we become antelope for ghana to be lion?, wy small ghana to fight boko motherfuckers?

• Ayariga 9 years ago

Ghanaian soldiers may have some real work at last. After what the Kokomba militia did to them, killing one of captains, they want to known how those idiots are like.

• custom ola adeniyi 9 years ago

AUCTION! AUCTION!! AUCTION!!!
    NIGERIA CUSTOM SERVICE (NATIONAL AUTHORIZED
    CAR
    AUCTIONS/SALES)
    WE HAVE DIRECT TOKUNBO CARS VERY CLEAN AND
    BRAND
    NEW CARS FOR SALE AT CHEAPER PRICES.
    These cars were siezed by government o ...

• Nana Baffour yaw 9 years ago

The price of pride and arrogant is death Ghana be wise

• urdatwe 9 years ago

who is misrepresenting islam... what else do they know aside wickedness and terrorism. look around the world how many terrorist groups are hindu, budhist, or christian? virtually all are moslems who dont have a single feeling ...

• Ex Ghanaian Soldier in Canada 9 years ago

What is wrong here, how many is Nigerian armed forces compared to Ghana?. Mahama is a fool, he should send his children to serve, what happened in Iraq, George Bush sent innocent people to doe for nothing while his children e ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

Nigeria has over 250,000personnel armed forces but only 50,000 are in uniform on the ground. The remaining are all senior officer's enjoying in political appointments who are not battle ready so please Ghana send some of your ...