You are here: HomeNews2014 05 06Article 308371

If we build roads with gold, Ashantis won’t appreciate - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (224)

• NAA SHIKA 10 years ago

foolish mahama

• I AM FED UP WITH NDC 10 years ago

MAHAMA WILL GO BLIND SOON AND ROT ALIVE FOR TRYING TO DIVIDE GHANA. SOME OF US KNOW MAHAMA IS FROM BURKINA FASO. INSIDE FILA...

• Ben 10 years ago

This man does not have anything in his head.

• Ben 10 years ago

He is a disgrace to Northern Ghana

• GHANA FIRST!!! 10 years ago

it is so clear that this man is against Ghanaians but tries to make it look like the ashantis are making his work difficult. Lord have mercy on Ghana.

• Akos 10 years ago

Seriously, what has this good-for- nothing president done for the country to even say such rubbish about Ashanti's ?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Actually if this useless President has gold to pave roads, he should go to his Bole village and use it there because they are the ones who need government welfare to survive. We Asantes don't need handouts or freebies to surv ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

Our President said "AS FOR KUMASI" is only ashanti's that live Kumasi? Mentioned Kumasi is far different from mentioning ashanti's so you ppl should reread the full statement and don't commenting over the headline.

• Peaches 10 years ago

Ashanti or Kumasi, does it make any difference or does it make his divisive comment any better?

• KB 10 years ago

DOES HE NOT HAVE ANY SENSIBLE THING TO SAY?

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you latest designs of yellow n white gold wedding n engagement rings to make a choice.......our Finnish products are just neat n just waoooo...customise yr ring with yr own design,nam ...

• Ghfuo, Pastor Whodunnit! 10 years ago

My only advise to you mallam mahama. Stop talking and let yourndeeds do the talking. The ppl of gh don't care where you initiate projects.u can go to space and do that, we don't care. Just do smthing and stop talking blaj, n ...

• Ghfuo, Pastor Whodunnit! 10 years ago

If I had my way,I will kill you!

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

for the first time you said something real and blunt

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• gh vi 10 years ago

gerrout...fool

• ROMANO 10 years ago

WHAT THE FUCK WRONG WITH YOU AT ALL? AT LEAST IF YOU DON'T HAVE BRAINS,HAVE A HEART.WHY WOULD U EVEN THINK OF KILLING A PRESIDENT? UNTIL YOU STOP SMOKING THAT CRACK SHIT YOU WILL NEVER EVER HAVE YOUR WAY TO DO ANYTHING BETTER ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

Exactly. Many people commenting seem not to have read and understood the President's statement. No where did he mention Ashantis' as has been depicted in the headline. This is an example of intellectual dishonesty, with the s ...

• Teye 10 years ago

What kind of journalism is this? This kind of gutter journalism will ignite chaos. Do you know the strength of your pens? Look at how you guys have incited people against the young man/ Who paid you to write this rubbish? Aah ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

The Journalists reported it exactly as this dumbass President said. The only people who are indigenes of Ashanti region are Asantes.

"indigenes of the Ashanti Region are not ‘appreciative’ of efforts made by the Nati ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

CARDINAL please translate "Asanti Does Not Appreciate" in TWI language and tell me the reason why you're lamenting. (Asanti Inne Nkayee)

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Stop the shifting of posts. You were saying he didn't say Ashantis because it is not only Asantes who live in Kumasi when he actually referred to Asantes by saying indigenes of Ashanti region.

Write Asantes don't not does. ...

• MAYOR 10 years ago

CARDINAL, the first four paragraphs are not the comment from the President but from the journalist who posted the statement. Below are the paragraphs from the President statements, for your better understanding whenever you s ...

• Minta 10 years ago

I'm waiting for Asantehene and Manhyia's response to this nonsense. This guy is not Presidential material at all. He has done worse than Akufo Addo's "all die be die" statement

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Do you understand English? He doesn't have to mention Ashantis but he said it perfectly for those of us who understand English

"indigenes of the Ashanti Region are not ‘appreciative’ of efforts made by the National Dem ...

• MAHAMA YUSSIF 10 years ago

MAHAMA will regret it come 2016

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

If you can't spell it do not write it. Okay? Opepeni kwasia president owudini kronfo3 wagyimi ata ba. Is that how president talk? Ofui ba!

• wonua 10 years ago

Why Will he Make Such Statement At All In Kumasi Or ElSeehere? Be Honest.

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

It has been suggested,that the legendary hospitality offered in Kumasi is "two faced"...

• Kojo-Kumasi 10 years ago

Since I was born, no one had helped Kumasi more than JJ. Look at the kejetia market , Asafo market, our roads to offinso. But yet still, they said the man had done nothing. So as for Kumasi, take the bible, grind it and forc ...

• DAVI 10 years ago

Kumasi don't want the blood of Our Killed Citizens by J.J. Rawlings and Boachie Gyan on their hands. Dumsooo!Yaa Mahama oooo,Na Achriee Nkomfem ene Animguasee Nkoaa....NDC IS A CURSED ON GHANA.

• AB 10 years ago

Well done Mayor!Dissemination of words to multiple people can take on multiple meanings to each individual depending on the experience, the attitude, the knowledge, the race or even the gender of the listener.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

"indigenes of the Ashanti Region are not ‘appreciative’ of efforts made by the National Democratic Congress"

Explain INDIGENES for me

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Illiterate fool, do you understand English? This is what he said

"indigenes of the Ashanti Region are not ‘appreciative’ of efforts made by the National Democratic Congress"

Do you understand the meaning of INDIGENE ...

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

All what you are trying to do here is using the radio station's interpretion to twist and turn the presidents statement to make it sound tribal,but this is what the president said "As for Kumasi, even if we construct roads t ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Tell me the President statement I am twisting. We are all depending what is reported here so if you have other information that is different from what is reported here, we are all ears.

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

Read my comment again very well.

• BBC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

It means people born Ashanti(both parent been Ashanti). The President shouldn't has in the first place had said so because this is purely divisive comment which doesn't help bring unity into the country. The president should ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

C'mmon, you are the only dumbass here. Shut up!

The report said he spoke in Twi, and so couldn't have used the word "indigene" directly. What we read here said Kumasi, and he is perfectly right! I have heard such comments ...

• Minta 10 years ago

You motherfucker, if an NPP Politician made the same comment about Ewes you would foaming on your stinking mouth with anger. What development project did Kuffour not make in the Volta Region, and what was the attitude of Ewes ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Even if the president said Kumasi and not Ashanti, it is still an insult to the Ashantis. If you insult the people of Ho , you insult Ewes and other tribes could care less. Lets face it , the President needs to learn how to ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

You lie!

• Isaac Mwinlaaru 10 years ago

I DISLIKE THE EFFORTS BY THE MEDIA TO SECTIONALISE THE COUNTRY AND ALWAYS TRYING SO HARD TO INSERT A WORD IN SOMEBODY'S STATEMENT TO EVOKE TRIBAL SENTIMENTS. SEE THE THE ONLY QUOTED STATEMENT IN THE ARTICLE WHERE THE PRESIDEN ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

How did we end up with this ethnocentric idiot as a President in Ghana?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

NDC, OIL IS AN IRREPLACEABLE RESOURCE SO LAY YOUR HANDS OFF THE HERITAGE FUND. YOU CAN'T MANAGE IT. GHANAIANS HAVE LOST TRUST IN YOU. YOU HAVE BEEN THE LUCKIEST GOVERNMENT IN OUR HISTORY IN TERMS OF RESOURCES BUT THROUGH THIE ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The president is right.

• The 10 years ago

Why should Ashantis appreciate gold roads from tanii toilet carrier when the gold belongs to us in the first place.

• Otumfoo, What Sayest Thou to This???? 10 years ago

Simply unbelievable.
    Koby Acheampong called Ashantis .....? He lives and visits Kumasi freely.
    Maham says this ..........??
    Victor Owusu said what .......? AND THEY NEVER LET HIM SLEEP IN PEACE FOR ONE DAY.
    Hmmmmmmmmmmm

• Ali 10 years ago

Follow thy leader. That is what the Asante/Akan are like It is true thet if Mahama were to even paint your mothers virginals wit gold, you will not appreciate it Bastards. He comes from Burkina Faso, what about you? Wll, the ...

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

STUPID PEPE,MAHAMAH MUST DECORATE YOUR MOTHER´S STINKING VIGINA WITH GOLD.I DON´T UNDERSTAND HOW SOME OF YOU PEPES DON´T KNOW HOW TO TALK.YOUR COMMENTS AND THE PRESIDENT COMMENTS SHOW HOW SOME OF YOU ARE SO STUPID.WHEN A S ...

• Ali 10 years ago

In the country of the blind the one eyed is king. We are your president and when you come to the courts , we judge you. So, who is stupid

• Asterix 10 years ago

Asantes are like wo maame twe. son os a useless daylight raped whore

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Thief. Amasa Namoale Thief. Your personal interest in politics is not everyone's interest if you care to know. If another person in politics poses a threat to your present position, it is up to YOU and your GOVERNMENT to work ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

IS THIS STUPID MAN A UNIFIER? You point your ugly finger at someone else as not a unifier, is that what you call a unifier?

• USA 10 years ago

Foolish idiot with no brains in your head, now you know your days are numbered and you are claiming another 4 years of being elected. Kwasia pepeni

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

No Mr. Mahama, that is not how a leader of all the people speaks. You are wrong on this and need to apologise

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

THIS THE PRIZE YOU GET WHEN YOUR'BIG MAN' SELLS A WHOLE NATION FOR A CHEESE.

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

Who is more tribalistic and ethnocentric than you and your npp?.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Fuck off, you moronic northern herd mentalist with inferiority complex.

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

I have realise you don't respect yourslf, so you fuck off to the bushes where you belong,oblong head uncivilise village liar.

• Komla - The Peace Broker 10 years ago

Mr. John Mahama is still our President, so please some respect and join the fight against ethnocentism. To whom much is given, much is required.

• Okomfo, London 10 years ago

John Mahama is second to JJ Rawlings as the most stupid Ghanaian president ever.

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

PRESIDENT JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA , YOU ARE AN INSULT TO GHANAIANS NOT ONLY AKANS NOR ASHANTIS . KWAKU DUAH HERE YOU ARE.

• God Have Mercy On You! 10 years ago

So sad for anyone to wish evil for anyone or any human being.
    What is his crime that one should curse or wish evil on him? May all these evil wishes of yours turn onto you just as you have said in you contribution; "YOU WIL ...

• Paapi 10 years ago

God go punish this man severely.

• Madzia 10 years ago

Very unwise

• body Lingo 10 years ago

This is what youget whenyoui have idiot occupying the golden stool.who invisible rioght senses would suipport Mahanma andthe NDC when givenaway thetaxpayer mnoney freely planting trees on the desert is a prioority..?

• COMMON SENSE 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. ASHANTIS ARE NEVER SATISFIED UNTIL THEY GET AN ASHANTI PRESIDENT WITH ALL ROUND ASHANTIS TO PERPETRATE THEIR CORRUPTION. MR PRESIDENT FORGET ABOUT THEM AND THEIR DIRTY TRIBALISM ...

• Abu Iddrisu from Bole 10 years ago

Oh my brother corruption! What about SADA, GYEEDA, JUDGEMENT DEBT, OIL MONEY you can name them

• Princess 10 years ago

Wow, a president who suppose to lead ALL and bridge the country , is instead, dividing it with such unwarranted rhetoric.

• SGT ANANI FIADZAOE 10 years ago

Mahama don't be all that stupid, be a
    credible politician, and a President of
    Ghana than to behave as an NDC serial caller, stupid foolish you are, have
    you got that kind of Gold to build
    roads in the country at all, Twea ...

• NII AMOO 10 years ago

I CASE MAHAMA DOESN'T KNOW, AM TELLING HIM. WE NEVER FOUGHT THE OYIBO MAN, WE TOOK OUR LAND IN A PEACEFUL MANNER. WE WLL DO SAME TO HIS GOVERNMENT COMING 2016 IN JESUS NAME......AMEN.

• Mamaba-USA 10 years ago

SGT.ANANI, you have just exposed your own stupidity to insult the president, then you turn round and say the president does not respect Ghanaians.

• b b 10 years ago

This monkey anene or what ever always talk shit doom ass

• Senyo Kwawo 10 years ago

Mahama should start speaking like a president of Ghana but as President of NDC

• IBN MUBARIK 10 years ago

why would the whole president talk this way? its unfortunate on the part of John Mahama to author such words.

• PREKESE 10 years ago

1)May I ask if it the Ashantes making the cedi to depreciate?

2)Why didn't you quote the adage from your tribe and dialect?

3)Why are some people in Ghane jeolous of Ashantes?

• SHIBU 10 years ago

SHOCKING

• Connie 10 years ago

Oh Mahama, you're not only corrupt and lack leadership qualities, you're also uncultured & a tribal bigot!!

• Senyo Kwawo 10 years ago

Yes, he is the president of NDC

• Gigi 10 years ago

I hope he did not say that. That will be the greatest insult any President can say to the citizens of his country.

• John 10 years ago

Exactly what I was also thinking of,did he really say that?I hope its not it would have been a big blunder.

• DB 10 years ago

Adom fm played it back this morning and that was exactily what he said, i thought he had been misquoted until i heard the clip myself. For a president and a communication expert to make this blunder is unpardonable. And i tho ...

• $$$$$$ 10 years ago

Kill them all races Ashanti people's hire some rebels wipe them out

• BRANDY 10 years ago

U HAVE BLOATED OUR NATIONAL DEBT AND STILL WANT PRAISES?....NEVER NEVER NEVER....WE FLOATING VOTERS WILL SEE U EXIT THE SEAT FOR A BETTER ALTERNATIVE LIKE NPP, PPP, CPP, ETC ETC....NDC IS A DISGRACE AND A DANGER TO OUR FORTUN ...

• Stephen 10 years ago

THIS SO-CALLED AYIGBE AND PEPEFO PRESIDENT IS REALLY A FOOL

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA GOD WILL PUNISH YOU FOR EVERY PENNY YOU TAKING FROM THE STATE COFFERS AND THAT LITTLE CHILD DIED BECAUSE SHE WAS HUNGRY AND THIRSTY AND THERE WAS NO MEDICATION. WE WILL PROBE YOU THIEF MAHAMA LOOT AND SHARE INCOMPETEN ...

• Dziko Kwame 10 years ago

A misleading news title, Mr Webmaster!!!!!

See the actual, as reported by you, in the news itself:

"....As for Kumasi, even if we construct roads tarred with gold, they will tell us that we did nothing,” the president ...

• Lala 10 years ago

You damn wit! How's the title misleading? The heading gave the meaning to the Akan proverb & that's exactly what the president said.

• Al Hajj A A A Rashid(OH. USA) 10 years ago

I do not want to hold brief for the Prez, but a statement like that would be suicidal for the president. I have known Prez Mahama since childhood and that is not his style. I can say with confidence that either this radio sta ...

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

OF COURSE HE CAN SAY THAT, HE RECENTLY TOLD THE KINGS OF EASTERN REGION THAT E/R IS THE HEADQUATERS OF GALAMSAY. MAHAMA IS LOW BRAINED PERSON.

• DB 10 years ago

Al Hajj, Unfortunately the president said exactly what has been reported, i also first thought there was no way the president would say such a thing until Adom FM played it back this morning, if you can access adomfmonline, l ...

• IkeOne 10 years ago

politics change humans even pastors

• KAMM,U.S.A 10 years ago

stupid statement what about VOLTA region?? Did they recognize what Kuffour Did? Make the life of Ghanaians better not Ashanti Region.

• TEE 10 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT BY PUTING PEPENI INYO POWER, LOOT AND SHARE TALK LOOSE BCOS NPEPEFU HAVE NO RESPECT TO THEIR NEIGHBOURS. THEY ARE HOOD UN STEALING AND FULL OF LIES DECEIVE AND ROBBERY PERIOD

• KOMOO FRANCE. 10 years ago

This man shd render an apology to the Great people of Ashanti.

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Unbelievable this comes from the so called humble president.

• collins 10 years ago

Mr. President are you telling us that we do not have Asante's in NDC party. Please stop these tribal politics. What you said is very divisive

• Agyaba 10 years ago

Infact this statement is dangerous by the defensive statement of ALL DIE BE DIE made by Nana Addo. I am looking at our reactions. I hope NDC in Ashanti will bow down in shame. this ethnic statement is bad from Maama who I kno ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Two friends met in the street. One looked sad and almost on the verge of tears. The other man said, “Hey my friend, how come you look like the whole world has caved in?”

The sad fellow said, “Let me tell you. Three w ...

• RICHARD 10 years ago

Oh Mr. Prez, this is below the belt. You should not be saying this. TRIBAL POLITICS. What about the Volta and Nothern Regions? I hope the Chiefs of Ashanti has heard him. Over to you Joe Lartey. We leave to see.

• razak seini 10 years ago

what the president said is just tooooo true. i have had all my working life in kumasi and i have come to accept that once kumasi has accepted number 69 no matter how you turn that number it is still 69. you insinuate pepeni ...

• FA 10 years ago

THE MOST STUPID GHANA PRESIDENT

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

The cocaine is harming him

• Akos 10 years ago

And you'll die of heart attack for constantly losing sleep over Nana

• Afia 10 years ago

Obama

• FOUL & PROPAGANDA REGIME 10 years ago

WHEN ALL THE GOLD IS ALREADY AIRLIFTED TO IRAN ON E&P JET. RESPECT IS RECIPROCAL

• Jetmoney 10 years ago

Sorry but u very ignorant.... U a fucking racial president, didn't Ashanti king helped u bribe the judges? U .........hmmmmm

• kaka 10 years ago

Ladies and Gentlemen, This is modern day Ghana president for you. How dare you come to our city and say those unguarded statement. Can you point only one project that you started and finnished for the people of Kumasi.
    Pleas ...

They never appreciate any thing in life

• Kwaku Obeng 10 years ago

I am not surprised. The is the stock of trade of this president and NDC. Has he ever said anything sensible, apart from written speeches? The last time he insulted Akyems and now the Asantes. NDC likes divide and rule. A pres ...

• AGOO 10 years ago

foolish thinking !

Why are you afraid to go on your own? If that makes my thinking foolish, then am happy for that. If you do not agree with my thinking, you can write sensible argument to state your view. What is wrong if I do not want to form ...

• Asampanye 10 years ago

The NDC has an MP from Kumasi and is their Chief whip for that matter. Is the President saying they are also not appreciative of their performance? I am sorry Mr President statements such as these are inflammatory and shows y ...

• Yaw Ghana 10 years ago

MIND YOUR WORDS.

• Abukari 10 years ago

Go and shit at Bole

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

This academically maladjusted guys recruited as journalists will one day turn Ghana to Rwanda. What the heck, and you fools are dancing to their tune? Political is not everything there is to nation building. I say this withou ...

• coco 10 years ago

What a foolish comment coming from you too. What does opposition party got to do with this.

• Thesaa 10 years ago

Illiterate moron blabbering like a retard.

• DB 10 years ago

Before you come insulting others for being angry about this unfortunate comment from the president, take a moment and listen to the clip yourself and you will understand the uproar. If Nana Addo had gone to say this in the Vo ...

• Agama 10 years ago

When was the last time President Mahama inaugurated any finished project in the Volta Region? The Eastern corridor is in shambles and the work has come to a virtual standstill.The Asikuma -Kpeve road is in the worst shape tha ...

• FOUL & PROPAGANDA REGIME 10 years ago

TIME WILL TELL

• wang 10 years ago

You imbecile son of a whore start to tar the roads at damongo with gold before you come to the Ashanti region.

Sometimes I woder if this mistake of a leader, apology to leadership and an idiot has any brains at all. Does ...

• Nyansa 10 years ago

Only sensible people would reject and never appreciate roads made with Gold amid the national poverty status. What does this statement speak of our president?

They never appreciate any thing in life

• Ghana 10 years ago

Mr President I was praying you will pass through Airport Buokrom road to Bonwire to learn a lesson in your leadership and also see whether your administration is doing better there.You need recognition in Ashanti then let the ...

• PAK 10 years ago

Tnis comment is not necessary since not all Asantis are NPPs.Did he compare volta region results?

• palm wine tapper 10 years ago

Its not only asantes who live in ksi.kumasi is a cosmopolitan like Accra

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

BACKWARD THINKING AMANFRAFO SEEKING BETTER LIFE IN ASANTE REGION VOTED FOR THE NDC AND THAT IS A KNOWN FACT. IT'S THE SAME IN ALL AKAN DOMINATED REGIONS THAT ARE BESIEGED BY SETTLERS FROM ALL OVER GHANA. TRUE BRONGS DON'T VOT ...

Gyimi !!!what about those shoe shine asantes roaming in Accra???

Its not only asantes who live in ksi.kumasi is a cosmopolitan like Accra

• Johnba 10 years ago

This is below belt Mr President

• makaamaka 10 years ago

no true leader will say this, period!

• PAA NII 10 years ago

This is another of the propaganda schemes the anti mahama elements in the country have put up to undermine the president and what he has set up to do. It is very unfortunate. I have listen to the president's speeches during h ...

• Stephen 10 years ago

The fact is NDC is made up of Ayigbefo and Ntafo and Ashantis look down on those people. Ashantis respect those who has accomplished something in their lives, not those who steal to make living.

• Agbovi Hohoe 10 years ago

"Come 2016,we will account for each one of them and surely we will be voted into Office again," Mr Mahamah, listen and hear clearly,this time if you make a mistake to cheat, you will see the other side of Ghanaians.Even Afari ...

• John Amankrah 10 years ago

A STUPID COWARD CALLING HIMSELF/HERSELF AGBOVI HOHOE.

• Kawawa 10 years ago

John Mahama is the most arrogant idiot we've ever seen in the history of Ghana. This man and his crooks are criminals, full of evil, very selfish and greedy griots....How can a whole "President" speak to a population of a cou ...

• Mamaba-USA 10 years ago

Why do we want to run away from the fact? It is the same in the Volta REGION. If NPP brought God to Volta region, they will never win votes, and whatever development they do will not be appreciated, period. That is a fact, so ...

• GAWU 10 years ago

in the first place it is stupid and out of place to build any road in gold. building castle in the air may look possible but roads in gold is beyond possibility. that is my openion. even if mahama build roads in volta with di ...

• Victor 10 years ago

What are you saying about the North and Volta.? A President should not speak like this. Has he started 2016 campaign , he must master the stealing mechanism to win.

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

He has spoken the truth.Well done Mahama.Others can also comment about the Volta and the Northern and Upper Regions.

• BaBs 10 years ago

Just countinue the main Accra to Kumasi highway and see

• Babs Harun 10 years ago

This headline is very misleading and unforgiveable. But to all those insulting the President, little manners will do. IDIOTS

• Babs Harun 10 years ago

This headline is very misleading and unforgiveable. But to all those insulting the President, little manners will do. IDIOTS

• sika 10 years ago

Mr. President you said it right this time.But please don't tar thier road with goldooo,they will be fighting over it.They love show papa.

• Benito 10 years ago

This kind of journalism in Kumasi is bullshit! what kind of journalism is this, the President Never said" if the City is tarred with Gold, Ashantis won't appreciate"
    Whoever report this is a disgrace to the job as an instit ...

• NAKED 10 years ago

In Akan proverb it's called Asante nkai, Is not your fault mr. president but our forefather's who joined Gold Coast fault, if Asanteman is a nation on it own would you have had this opportuninty to tell us this? Asantes must ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

Well done Mahama for speaking the truth.Whatever the NDC does for the Ashanti Region they will certainly never appreciate it.Just look at what they did to Osafyefo.Despite all the excellent things Osagyefo did for the Ashanti ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

all you need to do is to feel good about yourself and the hatred in you will go away. Lack of self esteem is behind all these put downs.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

mAHAMA your stealing engine will be gone by Dec 2016. You think you can engage people like Atugba to steal at the Supreme Court for you again? No. Think about 1 million court cases awaiting you after 2016. Asanthene tell mAHA ...

• ISSA ABONGO 10 years ago

THIS ASANTEHENE HAS COMPROMISED HIMSELF TOO MUCH, WITH PEOPLE LIKE CORRUPT RAWLINGS AND THE AFRC/P/NDC PARTY, HE WILL NOT STAND FOR HIS OWN PEOPLE. I FORSEE THIS ASANTEHENE BEING DESTOOLED.

• Ntim Gyakari 10 years ago

This NDC only knows gathering of state resources and sharing!! Nkye Di Colleagues. Are you part of these thieves? Sorry your day is coming.

• junior 10 years ago

its sad how some people have refused to use brains to think but would rather have people think for them. how in God's name can the saying "the chicken never pleases the hawk no matter how well it dances" be referred to Ashant ...

• Joe Lartey 10 years ago

Is this how a president should talk after forming a cabinet with 70% from the northen regions even though they form about 29% of the population and after diverting state funds to friends and family in the name of SADA, GYEEDA ...

• JOEL 10 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE THE MOST UNGRATEFUL PEOPLE GOD HAVE EVER CREATED.

• GHANAIAN 10 years ago

JOEL, I DON'T THINK SO. PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH WELL. THE OBVIOUS ANSWER IS CLEAR

• Kojo 10 years ago

Joel, how about a referendum now? Let's consider going our separate ways. No point staying together in this entity called Ghana if we hate each other that much.

• Yeboah 10 years ago

This is Gutter journalism,the story does not reflect the headline. all those attacking the president have either not read the story or are just being petty and mischievous. how can"the chicken never pleases the hawk no matter ...

• STONE 10 years ago

ASHANTES ARE TOO TRIBALISTIC.

• Ritewing 10 years ago

Ashantes are not tribalists, they are however loud and say things as they are.
    They will do anything for a good cause but will not allow cheats to have their way in our larger society called Ghana.
    Let me site one example h ...

• Omawugyi 10 years ago

more than Ewes ? hmmm ok.

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Do your part buddy.

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 10 years ago

As a democratically elected president, expect that citizens will always demonstrate displeasure but that does not allow you to start being loose. He must apologize. What's on his mind about Ewes? Cheap talk.

• Nana Odasane Kwesi Adwenpaye 10 years ago

Mr Prez,whoever advised you to say this has robbed you of your potential as well as your floating votes from the Ashanti Region.As the father of the nation, certain comments are best kept to yourself."You don't stand in a riv ...

• we are sick 10 years ago

Mahama you are a fool to say this. Let us assume the ewes appreciated the npp like you are saying and voted just like the ashantis voted for the ndc in the ashanti region, Do you think you will have been in power by now. Go ...

• Jake-Accra 10 years ago

What about the Volta Region? Even a pig will be voted for once it appears in NDC colours. President Kuffour built modern toilets there and they refused using them just because they do not want to associate themselves to anyth ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Somethings are better not said.For a whole President to make such comment,shows the type of person we have as a President,namely a comedian,because we can`t take such comments seriously coming from a President.Because for a P ...

• KK 10 years ago

I WANT TO KNOW IF MONEY BEING USE FOR DEVELOPMENT BELONG TO THE NDC/MAHAMA'S FAMILY AND ALWAYS REFER TO AS "WE". MR PRESIDENT THE MONEY IS NOT YOUR FAMILY MONEY BUT GHANAIANS.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY. 10 years ago

A President is to be ethically diplomatic with his chosen words and a pillar of unity not disunity.

I will still wait for the full details and confirmation if indeed Mahama did said such an outrageously and disgustingly ...

• kwakuvi 10 years ago

If I understand the president well I don't think he is referring to the Ashantis but rather The NPP.

• Millionaire 10 years ago

Mahama provocations:
    1. In Eastern region he announced it is the capital of galamsay and drove the people mad.
    2. In Ashanti region, he implies the people will never be grateful to him.
    Why does he invoke tribalistic senti ...

Look, President Mahama does not need the votes of Ghanaians to win power. If he needed our votes, he will not be making statements provocative to would-be voters. He knows how to manipulate the system to win power so he has t ...

• Arafat Abu Goodluck Shakaa 10 years ago

And I add, even if GOD himself comes down to rule Ghana and he is not an Ashanti man, Ashantis will hate him. Look how they hated Nkrumah,Liman,Rawlings, Mills and now Mahama.They Asantes overthrew Dr Busia

If your analogy is right, why didn't the Ashantis endorse their own tribes man, Acheampong?

• I THINK THIS IS BELLOW THE BELT 10 years ago

SO THIS MAN WILL RETURN TO THIS UNGRATEFUL ASHANTI'S IN 2016 FOR THIER VOTES ??? GHANA GHANA GHANA OU GHANA HMMMM I THINK IT SHALL BE WELL, ELSE WE ARE DOOM WITH THIS TYPE OF LEADERS WE HAVE NOW

• Nansei 10 years ago

Never in my life have I seen a dummy president like this. Surely, he has set the path to divide Ghanaians! Hasn't he got some advisors? This is serious!!!OMG, a whole president speaks like ? Unbelievable!

• Biney 10 years ago

In Germany the Bavarians vote for the CSU, a regional party. The Scots vote SNP or Labour, The Prairie areas in Canada vote Conservative. In Ghana the Ewes vote 95% NDC. For the president to single out Ashantis is not only un ...

• Yusuf 10 years ago

A few years ago in Parliament, the then MP for Bole Bamboi, a certain Mr John Mahama, ridiculed the way some Ashantis pronounced certain English words. He was reprimanded by Ghanaians.
    His latest utterances go a long way to ...

• tetteh moi 10 years ago

mahama is a foolish man and deserve no respect

• Ghana ba 10 years ago

Don't forget the Presidents wife is an Akan.the President has to apologise

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

OOOOUI, This is a big insult to the Ashantis. This is very very bad, coming as it does from nobody else but the president. He will live to regret it. I keep on telling you that judgement day is coming!!!!!

• Sheikh 10 years ago

Let us look at the comment again:
    "However, the Akans have a saying that, the chicken never pleases the hawk no matter how well it dances. But that shouldn’t discourage us. We have noted the promise we made to Ghanaians fo ...

• The truth 10 years ago

Just fix ghana. You should serve every region fair and with justice. If Kumasi needs help why would u not help the city? Don't the gold, cocoa and timber etc... That boost our GDP comes from Asante region? Be careful and thre ...

• Ato Kwamena Kotompo 10 years ago

SHAME ON THE JOURNALIST FOR ADDING THAT TRIBAL TWIST TO IT. HE MENTIONED 'KUMASI', NOT 'ASHANTIS'. IRRESPONSIBLE JOURNALIST.

THE WRITER JUST WANTED TO INCITE TRIBAL HATRED. YOU JUST WANTED TO CAUSE INVOKE TRIBAL SENTIMENTS. IRRESPONSIBLE JOURNALIST. YOU ARE THE ONE WHO WANTS TO DIVIDE THE PEOPLE ALONG TRIBAL LINES. YOU MUST BE ARRESTED AND SHOT FOR ...

THE WRITER JUST WANTED TO INCITE TRIBAL HATRED. YOU JUST WANTED TO INVOKE TRIBAL SENTIMENTS. IRRESPONSIBLE JOURNALIST. YOU ARE THE ONE WHO WANTS TO DIVIDE THE PEOPLE ALONG TRIBAL LINES. YOU MUST BE ARRESTED AND SHOT FOR CREAT ...

• IRRESPONSIBLE 'TANI' TALK 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT SHOULD BE SHOT FIRST FOR HIS IRRESPONSIBLE STATEMTNT. WHO IS INSITIGATING TRIBALISM THAN THIS IRRESPONSIBLE SPEECH.

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

ATO KWAMENA TROKOSI, YOURE AS DUMB AS THE PRESIDENT'S COMMUNICATION TEAM FOR TRYING TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE!!!!!!

NOT DEFENDING PREZIDENT. I HATE TRIBALISM. I CONDEMN TRIBALISM.

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Mahama came to the Ashanti region especially Kumasi for one reason. He craves for the limelight. With the king celebrating his anniversary, he Mahama knows the cameras will be rolling and a millions eyes would be watching. Wh ...

• Registered independent 10 years ago

how can a head of state talk so loosely.Mr president advise yourself and grow up because you are in a very respectful position.statements like these are not going to help the country,so please put on your thinking hat

• IRRESPONSIBLE 'TANI' TALK 10 years ago

ANY ASHANTI WHO SUPPORTS THIS 'TANI' SHOULD HAVE HIS OR HER BRAINS EXAMINED. HOW CAN A COCOA LABOURER'S SON, MAHAMA, GO TO ASHANTI AND INSULT THE PEOPLE. THIS 'TANI' PRESIDNT SHOULD KNOW THAT ASHANTIS ARE LIBERAL MINDED AND W ...

• TWEAAA KAI 10 years ago

I am no fan of the President but I must defend him in this instance. No where did Mahama state that "indigenes of the Ashanti Region are not ‘appreciative’ of efforts made by the National Democratic Congress (NDC) adminis ...

• KOFORIDUA flower (fr) 10 years ago

Ashantis have given themselves for this Bole-Bamboi scholar to insult and look down on the region, its people and chiefs. Can Npp leader walk down to Peki in the Volta region to vomit out this nonsense to the people and chief ...

• I say 10 years ago

Ah! Didn't this man just go and visit the Asantehene? What an absolute crass comment to make?

• Fred Asante 10 years ago

The streets of Kumasi and other parts of Ashanti region can be plated with gold but they will still not appreciate it.

• FA 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENCY NOT LIKE EATING DOG MEAT WITH PITO !

• QUEEN 10 years ago

MAHAMA NEEDS SERIOUS GROOMING. HE IS NOT A PRESIDENTIAL MATERIAL

• Omint's 10 years ago

Hey! oyiwa,3na da ho no.You hear from dat stupid idiot

• idiot mahama 10 years ago

May God forgive you, what have you done for Ashanti Region, if you think the NHIS capitation is good, then send it to your region. I can say that is the only foolish achievment you can boast of. Foolish prez. Idiot, old fool ...

• KKO 10 years ago

I know that my "in-laws" are very fair minded people but has this idiot of a president gone too far this time? Will they do a Volta Region-Victor Owusu (NPP 98%, NDC 2%) on the thieving clown for the next twenty years? I wond ...

• Atsu UK 10 years ago

Mahamah want to Kyebi and insulted them and now Kumasi, you do not term what is bad as a head quaters of some ones home town, if any Akan classified a plece in the north as security personnel head quaters, this will not be go ...

• KWAME KWAME 10 years ago

What the President is doing is to express his frustration despite his tireless efforts geared towards the development of the Ghanaian economy. His statement, while not palatable to Ashantis will resonate very well with the o ...

• AA 10 years ago

What the p president said is true

• Yaw 10 years ago

This radio station is fit for the dustbin. They cannot appreciate simple English language. Always ready to play the tribal card.

• fear tani &save ur life 10 years ago

Tanii is always tanii.this is what u get for giving esiremu nii a chance.for mahani to say such a thing to asenteman i wish we one day can seperate asenteman from the alata people(ga)the togolese and the bukinabe people.what ...

Another idiot!!!
    DId your geog teacher died when he/she was teacing u about the map of ghana and location of places?mahama is a Gonja(guan)!!!
    The guans were the first to settle in Ghana gyimi.
    why dont u asantis go back t ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

You are too prim and proper for this loose talk Mr. President. Mahama should censure what comes out of his mouth.

• AGBEVE... 10 years ago

TRIBALISM MMMMMMM

• Kwame Sarfo Tabi(Hamburg) 10 years ago

Why do some people want to run away from the truth, the president did not mince words.

• Kwame Sarfo Tabi(Hamburg) 10 years ago

Comments full of tribalism. Prez can't be far from truth!

bist du sicher dass du in HH bist? Are you sure u are in HH? Does Angela speak like that about those who do not share her political views? Have you ever heard any civilized and hard working president said something like this ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

We see human beings lie but for a whole radio station, an organized legal set up with an editorial department, to lie this way is such a low point in our democracy. DEBASING the practice of journalism. Conceiving and putting ...

• vv 10 years ago

mm

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

Is he human at all???

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

NPP illiterates and fools. I live in Accra therefore am a Ga.

What kind of kokoasi reasoning is that?

• Azar frm Accra 10 years ago

what r u pple sayin ? If NDC developed Ashanti ll NPP pple vote NDC? Absolutely Big NO so u media houses which r misinforming the public dat prez Mahama has said if the NDC gov't build roa with gold Ashantis ll nt appreciate ...

• Kobi 10 years ago

Why? we have to concentrate on important things.

• crorkservice 9 years ago

odJP3l Thanks a lot for the blog.Thanks Again. Much obliged.

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

A5Pwbf I cannot thank you enough for the article.Thanks Again. Much obliged.