You are here: HomeNews2014 04 29Article 307658

Failing Economy: Ghanaians blame gov’t

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Goomi 10 years ago

All this president, his lieutenants and his brother Ibrahim are best at doing is to CREATE , LOOT AND SHARE.
    But hey they shouldn't think they will get away with the loot their day of accountability is not very far.
    Mahama ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

President Mahama will suffer the consequences of his maladministration with his family and friends only.

• akonoba 10 years ago

Mahama=leaderless. Vote him out come 2016

• akonoba 10 years ago

Mahama=policyless. Vote him out in 2016

• akonoba 10 years ago

Mahama=missionless. Vote him out come 2016

• Bra Kwadwo 10 years ago

Next time vote for an imbecile who will steal all the country's monies for Ibrahim Mahama, Roland Agambile and and useless Ewe NDC pple--I live in my air condition house, good food, good car, I don't care.

• Tiwaa, Germany 10 years ago

I'm happy the Northerners and Ewes who voted for Mahama have now realized their mistakes. They will vote wise next time

• sam 10 years ago

bigger fools voted for npp

• Jam 10 years ago

The paper referred to cross section of Ghanaians but ended up citing one unknown Murtala Mohammed comment. Is Murtala Mohammed the cross section of Ghanaian? What a useless piece of journalism

corruption and fascist tribalism of the ewes and northerners have totally weakened all institutions of state . its only a matter of time when the people get fed up and an uprising occurs . its a shame despite the wealth of na ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

AUTHOR : SULE****** 
    .............It seems the NDC gov't is running against time to send Ghana into the pits and it is extremely worrying, very, very worrying that, such a magnitude of ineptness, incompetence, recklessness ...

• Shaka 10 years ago

Its evident you know your history but lacks commonsense. Why? Preaching tribalism and hatred does not move Ghana forward.Ghana lacks the fundamentals of a nation, leadership lacks a sense of direction and the citizens are fol ...

• FUNNY THAT 10 years ago

You are a rodent pig. A man of yourself who has no brains referring to your comments.

• Close Observer 10 years ago

People of GHANA, do not support POLITICAL PARTIES like you would support HEARTS or KOTOKO. Political parties are a GROUP OF PEOPLE who claimed they can MANAGE AFFAIRS of our COUNTRY for us. They do that FOR A LIVING, and we P ...

• Conqueror 10 years ago

Stop looking outside of your selves! Stop blamimng Mahama, NDC, NPP, Rawlings and the rest. Blame yourselves for your own predicament. Close your eyes and look within yourselves, there is abundant of wealth right there for yo ...

• BULLET. 10 years ago

NOTHING GOOD COMES EASY..

• ADWEN 10 years ago

We have to blame government and leadership for failing to create the enabling environment for all of us including any business venture we will like to undertake to function effectively.
    I don't know what business venture you ...

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

Our brothers and sisters in the northern and volta regions are enjoying very well because they are the world bank of the ruling government so are been taking care of by the N.D.C government. Goods and services are less expens ...

• kere 10 years ago

You are not a northerner stop posting useless comments about the president

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

So a bag of Cement is now being used as a "barometer" with regards to the cost of living?
    What are the other commodities and services ,used to measure inflation in Ghana?

• BULAALAH 10 years ago

Brainless fool. Grow up.

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

He has stolen all the moneys from Ghana. Afari-Gyan and the Supreme Court will have to answer these charges in future to Ghanaians.

• KOMOO FRANCE. 10 years ago

Mahama and his appointees are just useless and thieves.

• gyan 10 years ago

Mahama is the Prez we must support him to win. NPP is just digging a grave for themselves.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

We must all stop the blame game and find means and ways of building our nation. The daily abuse cannot help Ghana. Do we ask ourselves " WHAT CAN I DO FOR GHANA or WHAT CAN I OFFER" ?

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

First thing to do is fire no performers....many people running the place don't know how to tie their own shoes..

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Kwame, this is not a blame game but the reality of the ordinary Ghanaian's plight. Has Mahama and his cronies for once ever thought of what they can do for Ghana other than how they can mismanage to milk Ghana? They promised ...

• Linda 10 years ago

Kwame, if you're the boss of a company & it's underperforming due to incompetent workers, and as the boss, you failed to step up, who do you think gets the blame? It's the same with the Mahama administration. Most of the peop ...

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

Linda, please stop your baseless argument and give your best to Ghana.
    Mahama cannot save Ghana but with your active participation in events at your enviroment, Ghana will be ok.

• Elly 10 years ago

@ KWAME, BELGIUM; i am a revenue collection officer. i always work to collect revenue for the govt and the govt throw them away in the of tree planting, fowls rearing, GEEDA etc and the govt tells me there is no money to rewa ...

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA THIEF INCOMPETENT PERIOD

• Ibrahim Wa 10 years ago

MAHAMA

• WALI 10 years ago

AND HIS FAILED POLICYS WHAT IS THAT TELL US ON MAHAMA PERFORMENCES?

• GALLATIANS 6-7 10 years ago

HAS DR PAA KWESI NDOM JOINED DR WEREKO BROBBEY. THIS IS INTELLECTUAL DISHONESTY AT HIS PEAK. BUT LET THE ARDENT ADVERSARIES KNOW THAT THEY ARE ALL SORE LOOSERS. DR NDOUM MUST RE-ASSESS HIMSELF THAN GOING NORTH TO PAY POOR PAR ...

• Worried Citizin 10 years ago

Ghanaians must blame themselves for turning blind eye on the activities of this criminal Organisation for a long time.

• KWAA 10 years ago

Mahama overestimated his abilities to manage the Country,he thought being a good "comminucator"is all what is needed to be a President.
    He is now in a vicious circle,if he resigns,that means he has addmitted his failure,if h ...

• Tokyo 10 years ago

Fucked up president. Fucked up parting NDC fucking Ghanains up !!!

• KWESI 10 years ago

ONE NEEDS A CERTAIN LEVEL OF EDUCATION TO MANAGE A COUNTRY. THE POOR GUY IS DEFINITELY OVERWHELMED; HE REALLY IS

• john 10 years ago

THIS IS A NPP PROPAGANDA!

• BOGASS 10 years ago

RUBBISH, CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING AROUND YOU? WE ARE TALKING ABOUT REAL PEOPLE WITH DIFFICULTY MAKING ENDS MEET. WE KNOW YOU ARE NDC SUPPROTER BUT BE FRANK AND FAIR. LOOK AT THE EXCHANGE RATE NOW. THE ECONOMY IS FAILIN ...

• WALI 10 years ago

Ghana is falling aprt people are suffering cant feed themselves and this fool say that npp prpoganda?what a nonsense

• FACT 10 years ago

COME 2016, PRESIDENT MAHAMA WILL BE RE-ELECTED AS PRESIDENT OF GHANA.
    GHANAIANS WILL BE SWAYED BY STERLING ATTRIBUTES INTO VOTING FOR PRESIDENT MAHAMA BACK TO POWER.SOME OF HIS ATTRIBUTES ARE:
    1.HUMILITY-PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS ...

• paapa 10 years ago

Nonsence! Only fools will vote for Mahama in 2016.

• Nak. 10 years ago

Do we eat humility?
    whether cocain or not we want our economy back on track.
    coming from an honest northern tribe is true . but we don't eat those traits . nontheless these don't even reflect in his humble loot and share ...

• FUNNY THAT 10 years ago

This is no propaganda. Visit the country and you will realise the reality.This has nothing to do with any party . Visit the country and see how every thing has got out of hands. Bad roads, lack of energy to put on lights , di ...

• gsikdo.pjohn 10 years ago

Mahama.u.see.u.end.God.punishment.wil.come.on.to
    is.not.God.who.put.u
    ther.is.the.devil.so.it.will.never.be.good.for u.God.published u

• kaka 10 years ago

Kuffuor left an economy that was hailed by both ghanaians and the international community, without the oil money. the social programmes were good and hopeful. now things are getting worse.... let's pray

• Kpabitey 10 years ago

I wonder what some Ghanaians expected from this government .My mother use to say "if you plant apples you will only get apples and not mangoes"
    Just take a look at the men and women you have put in office to run the country. ...

• i ad 10 years ago

B

• kaka 10 years ago

don't blame mahama. blame ndc

• K Nana 10 years ago

Things are getting very difficult. |Mr. President Please back up. Most of your ministers are not performing.

• Jay ********************LONDON 10 years ago

Mahama is NDC figurehead. The Tsikatas and Rawlings and other EWE ELITES RUN NDC.

Mahama was just lucky to be the convenient party leader as a result of events such as the mysterious death of Atta Mills. To this day only t ...

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

Blame Afari gyan and atuguba, they're are useless armed robbers

• KWAME BULLET 10 years ago

WHY BLAME THE GOVT WHILST THE PIVOLT OF GHANAIAN CULTRAL IS BROOKEN EVRESINCE.WHILST EACH AND EVERY ONE IN GHANA IS GREEDY,HAS TAKEN THE LAWS OF THE LAND INTO THIER OWN HANDS...
    THE ONLY SOLUTION IS CHANGE AND REVOLUTION TH ...

• KWAME BULLET 10 years ago

THOSE ADVANCE COUNTRIES ARE BETTER OF THAN WE THE THIRD COUNTRIES BCOS OF THEIR LAWS ARE FIRM, HAVE DEVICES IMPLEMENTED TRACKING DUBIOUS ACTS.. UNLIKE WE AFRICANS THE ONLY SOLUTION IS BRINGING BACK OUR AFRICANISM... TO PUT FE ...

• MAHAMA A DISGRACE TO NORTHERNERS 10 years ago

USELESS PRESIDENT EVER.

• yetolla 10 years ago

hahaha. aven't we seen worse things under NPP. Giv us a break. mahama a carry on. dis pple we know dem frm titi

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Never in the history of the world have I seen any country voting revolutionary tyrants and comrades to control its economy. They always come through the barrel of the gun, mess up the economy (even when they sit on oil) and e ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

How

• RaPIID Citizen For Change 10 years ago

The country and the economy doesnt just implode or explode in a few years. It takes a long time and the overthrow of Nkrumah was the beginning. Allowing western powers to interfere with our economy...interfere in trade...inte ...

• OSO 10 years ago

As he continues to occupy that seat, Ghanaians will keep suffering. His ignorance beats any other that has come to pass; even worst than Col. I.K Acheampong.Mahama is dead-headed than a mouse.Good for nothing!This some of the ...

• OSO 10 years ago

Kwasia bi nti, you are a president! He will go to hell too! Birds if the same feathers flock together! Shame on you all, thieves!!!

• Abicus 10 years ago

We (Ghana) are still living on Nkrumah's legacy. If K4 had done anything, Mahama would not be suffering now. Bottom line - Only Nkrumah did something worthwhile for Ghana so NPP/NDC SHUT UP

• Daniel 10 years ago

I read your article, Mr. Shaibu Ibrahim and Murtala Mohammed. I think that you are not realistic about what is going on in Ghana's economy. You have no clue. On the other hand, you are not realistic about the economy of Ghana ...

• kwesi 10 years ago

But who says Fiifi Kwartey will ever tell the truth? The Late President got it all wrong when he made him the Deputy Minister of Finance in the first place. All the figures he put out there about inflation and all were nothin ...

• kwame 10 years ago

By the way is it true that after every 4years every Member of Parliament is paid between 2 to 3 billion old Ghana cedis.How much does this cost the nation.
    This is notwithstanding the fact that MP's monthly salary and allowa ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

Mahama's mother was his girlfriend. He calls Mahama my son. Dupe Ghana like that. God will ask you one day.

• NANA 10 years ago

The President is a failure and he has to go. Anyone supporting this administration should have his or her brain examined. All his policies are not working but rather creating hardships on Ghanaians. You can never keep increas ...

• RAW 10 years ago

NEXT TIME YOU WILL USE YOUR BRAINS WELL WHEN VOTING. MAHAMA WILL SELL GHANA AND IMPOSE BREATHING TAX BEFORE HE LEAVES OFFICE.

• Na Sheriga 10 years ago

First Mahama does not hail from Savulugu. If you interview Savulugu people who are NPP what do you expect? You will be surprised. Mahama will score 80-90 percent in north! If you go and interview a farmer who spends the whole ...

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 10 years ago

To you academicians in Ghana,how long do you have to wait to realize that the root cause of the accrued problems is LACK OF LEADERSHIP both from past and in particular from this administration.People you elect to be president ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

CORRUPT MAHAMA IS IN SANE,NUMBER ONE BIG CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY,TWEAAAAAAA KWASEA LIKE HIM,TUO ZAAFI AZAAA EVIL GANGATUAN DEPT, MAHAMA IS CRIMINAL FAKE TO THE NATION,

• Millionaire 10 years ago

I told you so!!!!!! The NDC government is clueless about managing the economy and their propaganda is irritating Ghanaians instead!

• PAA GRANT 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAM IS THE BEST FAILURE PRESIDENT IN GHANA. WHEN YOU STUDY WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE COUNTRY SHOWS HOW FAILURE THE PRESIDENT IS AND THE EMBARRASSMENT IS CAUSING TO HIS PARTY THE NDC.

• SHALOM 10 years ago

What is killing the economy is the massive corruption and thievry in the Mahama and his NDC government. Goverment officials, customs officers at the ports, and a host of others steal state revenue with impunity just because t ...

• Gyebi 10 years ago

They both support EPA and GMO.
    I mean HOW??
    These are rather the criminals in our society.
    We should boo all them .

• FA 10 years ago

VOTE FOR A BETTER CANDIDATE NEXT TIME .JM CAN'T EVEN BE DISTRICT HEAD! - TWEAA apoooh

• Alex London 10 years ago

Good Afternoon Ghana
    I think you deserve what you have got. Whether you voted for NDC, NPP, CPP or other parties you are all in the same boat. Economically, you are all suffering. In fact, I pray that you all suffer even mor ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

BLAME THE SO CALLED EDUCATED WITH BIG TITLES IN THE COUNTRY FOR NOT BEIN INNOVATIVE TO TURN THE WHEELS OF INDUSTRIALIZATION AND TO SIIMULATE ECONOMIC GROWTH,JOBS,INCOME AND QUALITY OF LIFE.

GHANA WAS LUCKY TO HAVE NKRUMAH ...

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

THIS GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE GIVEN 4 YEARS MORE SO THAT PEOPLE IN HIS WORLD BANK,- NORTHERNERS AND VOLTARIANS CAN REAP WHAT THEY HAVE SWORN. GOODS AND SERVICES ARE NOW CHEAPER THERE THAN OTHER PARTS OF THE COUNTRY.THANKS TO N.D ...

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

The Suhum Road is a disgrace to Ghana. Mahama has travelled along the road more than four times this year. Is is a good leader with good conscience ?

• simon 10 years ago

Blam Akufo Addo for sending Ghana backwards for eight good months. Mahama is doing pefectly well , there aredevolopment all over the country unless those doesnt go anywhere will sit down and say nothing is going . God bless J ...

• NA 10 years ago

There is absolutely no data to back this up!. A group of NPP supporters in the North could have constituted " A cross-section of Ghanaians, particularly in the three northern regions..."

Journalists should start being obje ...

• CK 10 years ago

Yes, if any one thinks its better in Nigeria, Togo, Burkina,Benin etc should try it will know that the economic melt down is worse out there.

Let us ask ourselves why citizen of neighboring countries are running to Ghana ...

• i ad 10 years ago

Ndc

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

About time our brothers from the north wake up from their slumber and smell the coffee.

• Whatever 10 years ago

If it comes to blaming, then all Governments since 1966 has been a failure. A successful economy must translate in people's ability to access or buy whatever is valuable to them, at least at the level of what they're in need ...