You are here: HomeNews2014 04 24Article 307167

ECOWAS must pull down regional borders - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (92)

• OK 10 years ago

I LOVE GHANA PEOPLE!!!!!

• JK 10 years ago

You obviously are not a Ghanaian. You want Ghana to be trampled over by stampeding criminals? This is still Africa. We are not doing what Europians are doing, yet.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 10 years ago

Do you know why this evil man has suggested this? He wants lvorians and Togoleses to invade in Ghana to vote for him massively in 2016 that is the secret behind.kwasea mu pani Mahama kronfo3 wudini opepeni president. Aboa bi ...

• SULLEY 10 years ago

jdm is trying to have foreigners come in and register to vote for him coming 2016 because he is so aware that no Ghanaian will vote for his gay k)ti b)t) ass in 2016. but all will prove futile because once all those immigrant ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Good idea but Ghana must put its house in order first. So far the movement has been one directional to Ghana. Nigerian banks, students,Liberian, Sierra Leone, and Ivory Coast refugees and criminals. Also, provide stats on goo ...

• JK 10 years ago

what is good about that idea? It's never going to be good for Ghana. So scrap it!

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

In theory, all things being equal it sounds like a good idea, it has worked for EU etc., but as Ghana stands now you are right, Ghana has nothing to gain. Mahama just likes to talk with no real substance to support what he sa ...

• kabokabo 10 years ago

Ei are we inviting Boko Haram to Ghana? For God sake untill Boko Haram is totally defeated and uprooted in Nigeria let all borders be as it is now for a while.

• Waawa 10 years ago

Why people like you are soo stupid? what is the meaning of ECOWAS if we still have these criminal immigration officers and the police in our boarders harassing people taking money from them (Ghana, Togo, Benin and Nigeria)? I ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

You can'T even manage this small Ghana, you've destroyed all of good foundation Kuffour's laid. People are dying of hunger and poor services including health, yet you are calling for more freedom of movement among criminal EC ...

• JK 10 years ago

I am with you on the grounds that the President's idea is not feasible as far as Ghana's best interests are concerned, BUT you could do without the insults and trabalistic impulses.

• FOR TOO LONG!! 10 years ago

which leader talks like this? jdm, u think security men should slow down on searching people? are you serious? or is it for your own interest? cos that to me right there tells me that you don't have the interest of your peopl ...

• JK 10 years ago

I have travelled, I have seen, and I am learned. I am an engineer and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist here in the United States of America. I come and go and I have property and businesses in my beloved Ghana. This is ...

• vic 10 years ago

you obviously do not know the history of the states. That why they call them united states. Before that, all the states had autonomy with individual borders. Down south had its own 13 colonies and the whole America we know of ...

• Vic 10 years ago

These white people divided us up and put us in large Goat pens called boarders so they can control us. The moment we bring down those borders, their finished. You guys cant see.

• look at this stupid man 10 years ago

look at this stupid man

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

So when will ppl be able to apply for ecowas id cards at the regional passport offices? With an ecowas id card you should be able to travel all over west africa without trouble. But you need to tie this to ad address. Most ec ...

• Isaac Ben-Mensah 10 years ago

...an African president has said something intelligent.
    Yes our boarder-crossing is a real nightmare for both casual and business travelers.
    By dismantling the boarders, there will be more fluidity in the area of logistics. ...

• Adobia 10 years ago

No Mr. Mensah we have somany things to correct before opening our boarders for free movement. It is not yet time for that, If that happens now our Dear Country will be caos. Watch what is Happening in Nigeria, with Extremists ...

• Ben-Mensah 10 years ago

I understand you, madam Adobia, but internal security is of a completely different dimension.
    The borders does not necessarily guarantee our internal security.
    I personally believe, it will boost traders' income and accele ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Let the wallls fall so we can trade fully . That will result in economies of scale

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Harmonizing the borders for free trade and movement of our people is more than a fantastic news. But, the governments or ECOWAS must not turn a blind-eye on our internal security or compromise our safety before the criminal o ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

IF THEY PULL DOWN THE BORDERS,YOU WILL MEET THE WEST AFRICAN SOCRATES AND HIS PHILOSOPHERS OF CORRUPTION AND THEY WILL LEAVE YOUR DUSTY FOOT HANGING WITHOUT FLIP FLOP[CHARLIE WOTEISLPPPERS]

Good one there, mate.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Seriously, it is very unfortunate that I share MY country with people like you and Mahama.

Tear down the walls of our country? Are you seriously? Have you seen the US or Canada tearing their borders down after the North Am ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

I have saw dust mixed with milk, What do you gain by not trading with your sister staes. Intra African trade is 10%. You grow tomatoes and they get rotten as there is no market, meanwhile Nigerian import it from Brazil . When ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Of course, you have saw dust or whatever in your skull. Blame stupidity and backwardness and not borders.

I woke up here and bought Avocado from Mexico. Red Wine from Chile. Yellow yam from Jamaica. Oranges from Florida. B ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

We import tomatoes from Italy so what does it cost to get a processing unit to cater for it?

If your tomatoes analogy is an example, I should say, pineapples, mangoes and other fruits go to waste in Ghana while we import ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

It is very comprehensible Kojo Tamakloe has never before gone out to other West African states so his naivety can be excused.

My disappointment with his post is that I had thought he was more matured than this.
    His litt ...

• But, other things need to be done fir 10 years ago

I applaud the president vision but in order for such steps to be viable, both countries need to put some logistics together for easy identification and access.
    Other than that, there will be a lot of challenges to the secu ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

He wont focus on the hydra-headed problems infecting his government. Idiot.

• Osimandias Konfankoh Methusalleh 10 years ago

Mahama cann't even handle Ghana and how much more of West Africa.You are really a waste for Ghanaians. Get off the seat and give it to somebody else.

• Nana Kasa 10 years ago

If you go to Aflao, you see only the Ghana side of the border being manned by greedy Ghana border guards whose main duty is collecting money from poor travelers.

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

I ALWAYS WONDER HOW OUR LEADERS USE TO THINK. IS GHANA REALLY SAVE? INNOCENT PEOPLE ARE KILLING DAY AND NIGHT WITHOUT FINDING OUT TO KNOW THOSE WHO BEHIND IT. MR.PRESIDENT HAVE YOU EVER HEARD WHAT HAPPEN AT DARKOMAN IN ACCRA ...

• KOFI (USA) 10 years ago

ONLY FOOLS SUPPORT PREZ AND HIS NDC

• GHANATTA 10 years ago

Damned thing ECOWAS must pull down its borders so that all West Africans come to live in Ghana. Mostly, Nigeria and Ghana are the receivers of numerous migrants from other i West Africa countries.

Have we been able to crea ...

• BIG NAME 10 years ago

Does John Mahama wants all these killers from other West African countries to immigrate to Ghana? These half breed Ghanaians want to sell our country.

This Nana Atopahene is brain dead. He is wrong in everything he does.

• GBADAGLO 10 years ago

GREAT IDEA AND THE QUESTION OF ABUSE COMES TO MIND, LETS GET THE SECURITY MEASURES AT THE AIRPORTS REPLICATED TO THE CONVENIENCE OF THE CROSSCOUNTRY TRAVELLERS.

• Nana Amankwa 10 years ago

What is great about this silly idea that will lead to influx of Boko Haram into Ghana.Mahama is the most visionless and most incompetent president that Ghana has ever had next to Liman. No wonder they are same same!!

• JK 10 years ago

Even the developped nations don't have open boaders! What happens when a Nigerian, for example, comes to Ghana, commits crime and freely goes back to his village in Nigeria? What we need is enforced immigration laws. We need ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

Who Am I?
    1. I lied to Ghanaians that dumsor dumsor is over yet we still sleep in darkness
    2. I lied to Ghanaians that the suffering is short term, yet it is perennial
    3. I lied to Ghanaians that I will put money in the ...

• FRANCE 10 years ago

Easier said than done. Immigration would always be a problem,eg someone from non-member country can easily make his way in any member country settle down and do what he likes. Or our borders are not well equiped to stand the ...

• Mark 10 years ago

Dear Mr.President, is a good ideal but our security system of Identity is very poor, a lot of daylight criminality are are on the high level,so i think in the first place we need to have extra security Identification at all g ...

• SAM O 10 years ago

SORRY TO DIFFER FROM YOU MR PREZ.
    ECOWAS MUST BE MOVEMENT OF GOODS NOT PEOPLE.

• Nana Amankwa 10 years ago

Mahama!! Are you serious? Do you know what you are talking about mr Akomfem? Did you consider the Boko Haram in Nigeria and Toureg Rebels in Mali before making such silly suggestions? You better be careful and mindful of what ...

Since, he is the chairman of ECOWAS he made that decision alone and the rest of the pack couldn't care less, huh?

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Ghana is the good kid in the bad neighborhood. Are there stats to show how much is traded withing ECOWAS countries today. I see only made in China goods on the market. I think if we allow free people movement, the direction w ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Self delusion, Gye Nyame, I'm afraid we are not the good kid in a bad neighborhood.
    Look around carefully my friend.
    I do agree that a well conceived integrated ECOWAS would befit all the members because of larger markets t ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

What larger market? The market that has already been saturated with cheap made in China goods? How does ECOWAS compete? Do you see the influx of folks from neighboring countries into Ghana despite the travel "hurdles" Mahama ...

• Komla 10 years ago

Its about time. Africans are one people and nothing should be allowed to sperate us. The europeans have done it, so why not us?

• Naa Shika 10 years ago

am not surprised you agree to that because, you are so keen on bringing your ewe people from togo into our beloved country huh? you will soon go and leave our land for us in Jesus name. believe it or not, am not an ashante bu ...

• Adobia 10 years ago

Naa Shika do you what you are? I will tell you what you are. You are a very Stupid Animal calling your self shika whiles your face is black like Chacoal. Shut a fuck up and you are not going to do anything about The Great Ewe ...

• Komla 10 years ago

Hi Naa Shika,the contents of your comments have been duly noted and I thank you.Don't you think it would be better if we are united as one peolpe since we are all Africans? For your information, God/Jesus not a respecter of t ...

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

Otani aboa go and pull it down

• Komla 10 years ago

Please show some respect for our President. Could you not disagree without resulting into insults?

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 10 years ago

If we pull down boarder checks ghana w?ll be naked and doomed forever ,because of the peace we enjoy our gates and doors w?ll be opened to cr?m?nals,terror?sts,drug traff?c and many more problems econom?c/soc?al act?v?t?es ,t ...

Bill: My doctor in Togo told me that If I don't stop having sex I'll be dead by the end of the week.

Bob: That's awful! Why?

Bill: I'm screwing his wife in Ghana when she said"kwasiabinti" .

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAA MAHAMA IS A THIEF,

• Alhassan Iddi 10 years ago

It is well known fact that the border crossing in the ECOWAS Region is a nigthmare. It is a zone where extortion takes place in broad daylight especially at the Aflao-Kojoviekope border. The Heads of State need to really wor ...

• Dr Robert Glah 10 years ago

Intra-West African trade benefits mightier than EPAs benefits.

Prioritising the intra-African free trade -- free movement of goods, persons and services, would also contribute to reasonable negotiated EPAs consistent with ...

• Beth 10 years ago

Let us be careful in opening Ghana up for criminals. We all know what happened recently with the student of UCC because of money one of them took from the friend.

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Only good at 419. Not.good for making decisions like this like epa etc. Leave Npp for this.

• Koby 10 years ago

It's a bad idea. Every country must have boarder security. The president must think smart.

• JB Osei-Brown 10 years ago

Have you pondered just one second over the influx of criminals including the most notorious Fulani herdsmen who rape women infront of the husbands; young girls infront of the fathers.

Have you ever thought over the Nigreia ...

• prince mahama 10 years ago

hope this time, action will back words.its d best i ever hear from j.m...hmmmm...this is d only opportuniy he has to do this tremendous feat to become our hero remember forever....but if mahama is really serious,he can pull ...

...an African president has said something intelligent.
    Yes our boarder-crossing is a real nightmare for both casual and business travelers.
    By dismantling the boarders, there will be more fluidity in the area of logistics. ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

You want country borders pulled down to allow free movement of West Africans at a time when Nigeria is under terrorist attacks from their mad Islamic extremists who want to impose their stupid ideas on every Nigerian in North ...

The terrorists could hit anywhere they want, whenever they want.
    In 2014, one does need to carry weapons across a border to commit any terror.
    Securing a country, does not mean closing it up...

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Ghana must be careful with this mahama`s ideas of pull down regional borders. Technically, they are national borders (not regional)this is a dangerous game mahama is praying.We are not up to the Western Europeans standard yet ...

• OSO 10 years ago

You never make sense in anything that you say, boy!
    Have you considered the problems each of us will encounter regarding educational and social problems; not ruling out financial contraints that will over burden the senseles ...

• dodo 10 years ago

the man dont know what he ist talking about.first clean your home and then you can go out to clean the street.bushmann

• OSEI 10 years ago

YOU WANT ECOWAS TO PULL DOWN REGIONAL BORDERS WHILST YOU AND NDC ARE BUILDING A THICK WALL AROUND ASHANTI REGION. HMMM, WE LIVE IN NKOMFEM REPUBLIC NOT GHANA.

• SULLEY 10 years ago

jdm is trying to have foreigners come in and register to vote because he is aware that coming 2016, no Ghanaian will vote for his stupid gay k)ti b)t) ass. but it will all prove futile because, once those immigrants notice ho ...

• JC 10 years ago

I feel sorry for John Mahama. Why do Ghanaians heap insults on him like that? All over the world Presidents are insulted. But this is too much. He and people around him must sit down and reflect. It is too much.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris!. 10 years ago

Mr, President so u're still not ban the street nd black market moreny changing in down town Ghana?.I will realy ask u next time in this situation Ghana, e'nde-today nd byee fr now; Ogyamanase yi Speaking, fr Samms!..

• ANTI 10 years ago

WHAT HAS GHANA GAINED FROM ECOWAS? WE WANT THE GOVERNMENT TO TELL GHANAINS THE TANGIBLE BENEFITS THE COUNTRY HAS OBTAINED FROM ECOWAS. HOW HAS ECOWAS ENHANCED GHANA'S TRADE WITH OTHER WEST AFRICAN COUNTRIES? WE CANNOT TEAR DO ...

• YAW GERMANY 10 years ago

OH MAHAMA DO YOU HAVE BRAINS TO THINK AT ALL SO DO YOU MEAN ANYBODY CAN COME IN AND OUT DO TO ANYTHING THEY WONT AND GO BACK FREE WHAT A FOOL LOOK AT HIS FACE LIKE BOLGA COW .

• Titugri 10 years ago

The idea of free movement of people, goods and services in West Africa is a good one but unfortunately we are NOT ready for it because there is no infrastructure in place for that.

In this day an age when terrorism is so ...

• YAW GERMANY 10 years ago

THATS IS WHY I SAY MAHAMA HAVE USELESS IDEAS JUST LOOK AT HIS FACE THAT MAN HAS KNOW KNOWLAGE TO BE HEAD OF STATE OF GHANA

• sikdo.pjohn 10 years ago

Atuguba.president.are.u.happy God.punish.u

DUSTY FOOT PHILOSOPHER MEETS ECOWAS

IF THEY PULL DOWN THE BORDERS,YOU WILL MEET THE WEST AFRICAN SOCRATES AND HIS PHILOSOPHERS OF CORRUPTION AND THEY WILL LEAVE YOUR DUSTY FOOT HANGING WITHOUT FLIP FLOP[CHARLIE WOTEI ...

• Asoreba 10 years ago

What exactly has the ECOWAS done for member countries other than export of criminals to peaceful countries? We don't need this that has not worked over the years. Maintain the boaders and let people go through the proper tr ...

• kwasimuna10 10 years ago

Ghana set first example

• ESI 10 years ago

HOW DO WE DISMANTLE OUR REGIONAL BORDERS WHEN ARMED ROBBERS , MILITIA GROUPS ARE TERRORISING EVERY NATION WITHIN THE SUB REGION?
    HOW DO DEAL WITH BOKO HARAM IF THEY SHOULD CROSS OVER TO GHANA? PLEASE!!

• Whatever 10 years ago

If John Mahama chairmanship reign leads to the removal of those borders, he forever remembered this feat. Those borders are artificial, in fact it is the creation of western minds. The people of W/A must think as disabuse the ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

You don't wait with words that go in one's ears and come into nothingness.

You've got to back up the words with large scale infrastructural developments - line huge solar panels that stretch from borders to borders; TRANS ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Marcus: That is exactly my point -- Mahama makes useless statement with no substance to back it. Where is infrastructure and security to back what he is saying?

• AGBEVE... 10 years ago

Mmmmm

• JH New York 10 years ago

Discussion on free movement of people across our boaders may be good,but not enough.
    What was said about Cross Boader Crime.
    (criminals who commit crimes or burglaries
    and abscond or run to hide in neighboring countries ) ...

Without having a Data Base on Criminal.........

Without having a Data Base on Criminal........

like those who have legs to Walk.

• mahama ayarega 10 years ago

aboafunu mahama eny3 de3 3hia ni, ofui