You are here: HomeNews2014 04 22Article 306865

Customs officials to face prosecution for stealing Ghc735m

Read Comments Comments (62)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

NKWASEAFO BI NTI GHANA IS SICK!!! THE CEDI HAS ALREADY DIVED DEEP DOWN!!!!!!!------ WE NEED NANA'S WISDOM. HIS LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND L ...

• Miles 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up Prince. What can this ugly nana do? You keep rattling about nana, nana. Nana is a frog looking man, very arrogant, has no any qualifications and has nothing to show for as his track record. Kufour stole our m ...

Look at the face of this so called minister of trade and you see this is a brainless idiot the kind the Europeans like . Did he ever consider how long it takes a country to become member of the EU , some countries took over 2 ...

• FUNNY THAT 10 years ago

Thanks a lot to your contribution . If Ghanaians have the same thaughts like you the country could have been out of being crippled by the present stupid ministers ministers.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Watch your grammar and focus on the issues

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Don't the custom officials and companies have names. What kind of dumb reporting is this?

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

The businesses hve done nothing wrong. They simply offered the bait. Fish out these corrupt nation wreckers, these good for nothing wahala, bribe taking customs criminals and jail to hm. If you are caught taking bribe. 10yrs ...

• Village Food 10 years ago

insight to the bone how i wish the stupid politicians think like u.

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Amen

• Zaga 10 years ago

Ghanaians will not let you come and start your brazen bribery and corruption. Your economic oppression is when the NDC stops billions of Cedis being stolen in tax evasion by agencies and government officials. Your pack of br ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Importing rice without paying duty is Economic Sabotage, as it makes foreign rice less expensive to the one produced locally thus undermining our local producers. No wonder the country is full of foreign goods. The persons in ...

• AKASANOMA 10 years ago

The cleaning must continue unabated. May the authorities go to SOTREC and verify things for themselves (Bonded warehouses 1,2,...,expired meat products stored in obscure places, unpaid contributions to social security, etc.). ...

• AKASANOMA 10 years ago

To be specific, the McCarthy Hill branch of this company.

• Tijani 10 years ago

AAba customs officials upon all the monies you guys are getting, you still want to steal why?. too much greed in Ghanaian society. white man wants to share his/wealth so that everyone can have good life, but the black man wan ...

• unMisGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 10 years ago

Dear Dr Apaak:With the CID investigations,we should expect some TOUGH CONSEQUENCES.The Nation is tired of being tired.I know of some Customs Officials that live in Huge Mansions,some with 4 to 5 Vechiles in their driveways... ...

• Lubricanto 10 years ago

Where can I relay credible information about huge fraud against the Ghana State.

A few of these are perpetuated by UK firms with their Ghanaian counterparts.

Greedy hypocrites ,go and see them on Sundays, God punish the ...

• Kuuku Akyeh Ahor Moses 10 years ago

WE PROFESSED TO BE CHRISTIANS IN GHANA AND YET WE STEAL MORE THAN THE UNCHRISTIANS. DVLA, PASSPORT OFFICE, GES, MINISTRIES AND MOST SECURITY SERVICES ARE THE MOST PLACES WHERE PALPABLE THIEVERY ARE DISPLAYED WITH INPUNITY. WH ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Mahama and his folks steal in the Trillions. Have jet set life style yet they are still free and walking about.735 million cedis is Peanuts.

• Mohammed Yakubu 10 years ago

We shd educate Ghanaians to disrespect these Nation looters.Ghanaians respect every person with money.How much do the Custom officers recieve in a month?Yet,just imagine their life syles.They build houses everywhere.They driv ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

These custom officials act as if they were hired to collect the revenue unto themselves. I just do not understand that. Why should they be allowed to go on stealing spree without any punishment? Custom officials act as if th ...

• Mohammed Yakubu 10 years ago

After stealing so much they will go into main line politics and steal more.What a hell!!!Can we bring back the British to rule over us?

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Everyday for stealing, Sunday for church and prayers. NYAME EHU MUOOOOOOOO !

• Otoo 10 years ago

Mr Prince Kwasi Adade are you really serious by calling Nana our political Messiah. Please tell me what Nan has achieved in life. Nana has no public servant experience, Nana was a flop both as Minister of Justice and Foreign ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

For 5 good years, what has mahama achieved?

• KnYc 10 years ago

You fool, common light, they the NDC can not provide, and u call this gov't.

• Lolulou 10 years ago

This is a positive start!

• mr S,k Bimbilla boger 10 years ago

they should prosecut every custom officer in Ghana. What they did to us in Tema is very bad

• C C 10 years ago

This is what I think must be the outcome if we engage in stealing, corruption and this negative vices must be fought with an iron arm. the punishment must be extended to people in political positions too. There are times when ...

• Amensco Techno Services 10 years ago

Toner and Ink Refill at Abeka. Call 0244523451
    Quality Toner and Ink Refill at affordable price at Abeka-Lapaz
    We refill all type of Toner and Ink Cartridges.
    We also sale and repair office equipments like:
    Laser printer ...

• ADAMU 10 years ago

LET US GET THE JUDGEMENT DEPTS FIRST. APAAK HAS NOT HEARD ABOUT SADA, GYEEDA, WOYOME ETC.

• Nii Lartey Nartey 10 years ago

Since the Mahama led non performing government came to power, I'm yet to hear a day that the government is bold to say we have taken action on this and have achieve this or that. NEVER!

Everyday it is about we will do thi ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

Because they have many fools to show up for it.

• TWEAA 10 years ago

YOU KNOW THE REASON THAT UP TILL NOW NO NAME HAS BEEN MENTIONED....MMMMM THEY ARE SCREENING ALL AND MARK MY WORD, ALL NDC INCLINED COMPANIES AND OFFICIALS WILL BE LEFT OFF THE HOOK....CAN APAAK OR WHOEVER INTRODUCES TRANSPARE ...

• MANSON 10 years ago

GHANA ON SALE

• ISSIFU AMIDINI 10 years ago

Ghana today is , if you have stolen huge money you go free but if you steal cassava you 'll be jailed for years. Are we save ! oh God save Ghana !

• Alex London 10 years ago

At last something is being done.

• Opoku 10 years ago

Akufo Addo is a conman who has no certificate. I dare him to tell Ghanaians where he obtained his so called law certificate! A tribal warlord who have no single credibility. A passport theif and a destroyer of drug dockets in ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

This is the reason why I join the USMC. To kill JJ. Who is the bigger dump ASS to lead the country.

• DAVID V.K. ARKORFUL 10 years ago

The government must be congratulated for taking this matter very serious.It should be fast tracked and those culpable be prosecuted.The whole nation is watching keenly to know the final determination of this massive corruptio ...

• Pet 10 years ago

Congratulations

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

The presidential staffer feels the need to react because of the hue and cry raised by the Ghanaian public against the 10 years imprisonment of the poor cassava thief and the 30 years incarceration of the wayward polytechnic ...

• Lau 10 years ago

We are the government therefore, people stop stealing for a better Ghana. Remember our future and the generation unborn to help build a better Ghana rather than stealing all over. Thanks!

• iron lady 10 years ago

Selective justice is at it again.Those who paid the questionable judgement debts are walking around freeeeee.If the head is rotten what do you expect.Where is the outcome of inquiries into the Brazilian jets purchase.Justice ...

• GHANANI 10 years ago

What do you mean by selective justice? Are we to allow the CEPS officers and the companies to get away with the crimes they have committed against the state? Perhaps you are a beneficiary of their crimes.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

All custom officials should be prosecute. These people are cunningly, destroying Ghana with their unrelenting and unpardonable stealing from the nation. The government should set up a committee for people to come and report ...

• Wankanoyie 10 years ago

The Executive branch by ensuring speedy and open trials where the activities of many of these nation wreckers are public. How on earth can a cassava thieh get 10 or more years,but a white collar criminal can escape justice t ...

• GHANANI 10 years ago

That is what happens when public servants build mansions and drive in expensive cars and the society accepts their wealth and revere them.So many public servants lead lifestyles far above their incomes and nobody borders to q ...

• ASRP 10 years ago

YOU BELIEVE APAAK'S STORY? YOU MUST BE NAIVE THEN.HAS HE NAMED ANY CUSTOMS OFFICER? FOR THOSE NAIVE GHANAIANS,THE NDC GOV'T NEEDS A SCAPEGOAT FOR THEIR INEFFICIENCY AND CUSTOMS COMES IN AS A READYMADE SCAPEGOAT.CUSTOMS ARE ST ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

It is only in Ghana that the name of Custom officers and companies charged for colluding and stealing are kept as secret. Who the hell are these custom officers? And what about the companies.

• kofi Usa 10 years ago

If we can close all lope hole in the system, Ghana will do better. I wonder why we still taking so much loans from world Bank, IMF,and begging China for loan. we can mobilize funds through taxes. The name of such companies sh ...

• ASRP 10 years ago

APAAK,WHICH CUSTOMS OFFICERS HAVE BEEN ARRESTED? LIAR,THROWING DUST INTO THE EYES OF THE PUBLIC.

• Constructivist 10 years ago

They should display the same zeal in dealing with the SADA, Woyome, Abuga Pele, and the overwhelming corruption hanging on the neck of members of the ruling class. Competency at its peak!

• PLAIN TALK 10 years ago

for god sake leave political alliance aside for one second and ask yourself' have you ever aided or tried to cheat any system in ghana? if yes then GOD HELP AFRICA.

• Kwame (USA) 10 years ago

Evolution has an intelligent component that drives any species to survive and perfect itself. I can see this principle unfolding in one statement, "We will get there" We don't need any more laws. We just have to enforce exist ...

• AGBEVE 10 years ago

Mmmmm

• MenayeFUAforiwa 10 years ago

The President, the Vice President, Minister, MPs, Justices of the Courts and all high ranking officers should pay taxes. Because out of these taxes that they feed themselves as every citizens. The country depends on taxes to ...

• Noah Justice Gblorkpo 10 years ago

those companies and the customs officials must be dealt with because they will steal the nation and the same people will be accusing the president for mismanagement of fun.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Ghana money sweet!

• Mark 10 years ago

This is not a news for us today is there since long,6 years we changed for you to check the system,you are now telling us this, there are a lots under the bed NPP is coming u will all go to Jail.

• Ghanabausa 10 years ago

You see how the Gov struggles to get people to pay tax and yet we give away millions to judgement debts. How do you explain giving away 200 million because of some trigger happy Minister who cancels a contract by heart.
    Let ...

• Agel 10 years ago

THE PREZ TASK FORCE HAS DONE WELL! THEY SHOULD CONTINUE AND GET MORE PEOPLE INCLUDING SOME BIG SHOTS. THIS IS WHAT IS COLLAPSING THE ECONOMY.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

What systems are in place to prevent such massive fraud?

If such a huge amount can be stolen from GRA, then it means the financial control systems of the authority are weak. GRA needs to put in place stringent financial co ...