You are here: HomeNews2014 04 20Article 306770

Northerners, Ewes disrespected for so long - Sekou

Read Comments Comments (225)

• ROYAL 10 years ago

JJ AS PREZ 4 FOR 19YRS

• SHAMU 10 years ago

To tell the truth, Akans and their Akan party are like Hitler or Hutus of Ruwanda. But the difference here is that, they are scared of other Ghanaian tribes. Because they are people who are too weak but strong in evil and cor ...

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• AKANLAND 10 years ago

TRUE FREEDOM NOW

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Alan's great grandfather is from Tamale. So get him on board as the presidential candidate for NPP.

• Kofi, Ketu 10 years ago

PleAse someone tell this man that a country bound to succeed elect men with brains and not based on where they come from. Go to Cairo and tell them and see where you will land.

• Son of Man 10 years ago

Happy Easter to you all

The reality is all tribes are disrespected by others one way or the other. However Northners are mostly disrespected by all tribes whiles Ewes are usually "disliked" by Akans especially Asantes.

Do Ewes "like" Asantes?

• facts 10 years ago

Nkrumah's concern might be justifiable but the correction procedure has a bad side effect.b Mahama becomes president not because he is capable to govern but because he isw a Northerner.Bob Marley said had a message for us "wh ...

• TESSE 10 years ago

No need to ask such a question. Ewes marry Asantes, Asantes marry Ewes what again? It's only the hopeless once feel big because much gold in the soil and they the same people took it to sell elsewhere. One thing about some, t ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 10 years ago

NANA MUNGU YARON AND THE LONG LINE OF ASHANTI-AKYEM PRESIDENTIAL ASPIRANTS WOULD NEVER AGREE TO A NORTHERNER MUCH LESS EWE FLAGBEARER

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 10 years ago

HELL WOULD FREEZE OVER BEFORE AN EWE BECOME FLAGBEARER OF NPP TRIBALISTIC CULT

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

They have been disregarded and dksrespected becos they have no money. This applies to everyone. Free education in the north must end today! Do we have free education innthe ewe region? Foolish ppl

• Oheneba Kay Yeboah 10 years ago

is he telling the other ethnic group
    s to turn against the Akan speaking people?? You call yourself a doctor!!! war monger. he should go and advise people of Egypt, that's where his mother hails from

• the truth 10 years ago

how do u know? I am an asante and I do not dislike ewes. Let me remind you that a lot of asantes also have ewe blood in them. Ewes have been living in the region for a long time,and even My great great grandfather was an Ewe. ...

• YALLEY 10 years ago

I REFUSE TO BELIEVE THIS IDIOT IS REALLY THE SPAWN OF NKRUMAH.HE NEVER HAVE NOTHING SENSIBLE TO SAY.I CAN NOT SAY MUCH BECAUSE OF MY DEEP RESPECT FOR NKRUMAH BUT HE CAN DO US ALL A FAVOR AND STOP HUMILIATING HIMSELF AND BESMI ...

• Gabas 10 years ago

Dr. Sekou Nkrumah, Please go back and read the history of your father well.He was the first president to started disrespecting Northerns,Readers should note that before this NPP(New Patrotic Party)we had NPP(Northern Peoples ...

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana
    His bullying tactics of government didn't help Ghana. We need a new constitution.The president has too much power.

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana
    His bullying tactics of government didn't help Ghana. We need a new constitution.The president has too much power.

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• Fynn 10 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT 10 years ago

WHERE FROM THIS ARTICLE OR COMMENTS. INSTEAD OF THINKING HOW BEST WE CAN DEVELOP OUR COUNTRY, LISTEN TO WHAT THIS FOOLISH MAN IS TALKING ABOUT. WHAT HE HAS TO KNOW IS THAT IN EVERY COUNTRY SUCH DISRESPECT EXSITS. IN BRITAIN ...

• Joe Krokroh 10 years ago

Comments on Ghanaweb shows very few Ghanaians have brains in their heads.

• Tijani 10 years ago

in fact the comments on the website clearly show we're not heading change and development. that is truly seriously worrying, if we don't change our lifestyle especially the youth, the situation would be worst in the near futu ...

• Sintim 10 years ago

I`m really surprise about how this campaign of Asantes hating Ewes came about and still going on,it look as if Ghanaians don`t know Kumasi no more with all those great Ewe families and the two Ewes districts Anloga and Anlo-F ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Please go home. This is Ghana and not Egypt

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

TELL RAWLINGS TOO.

• Son of Man 10 years ago

The reality is all tribes are disrespected by others one way or the other. However Northners are mostly disrespected by all tribes whiles Ewes are usually "disliked" by Akans especially Asantes.

Asantes among the Akans on ...

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

Its Politics that is dividing us stop this Akan nonsense who are the so call Akans this is what his father tried to eliminate the man with a vision saw that the only way we can live in unity under this threat of democracy is ...

• KELL 10 years ago

I DONT LIKE NDC BUT NDC IS THE BEST DEMOCRATIC IN GHANA.WHY BECAUSE.FROM EWE TO AKAN THEN TO NORTHERNER.PLEARS,I NEED SOMEBODY TO HELP ME ABOUT AKAN NPP.

• KELL 10 years ago

I DONT LIKE NDC BUT NDC IS THE BEST DEMOCRATIC PARTY IN GHANA.WHY BECAUSE,FROM EWE TO AKAN THEN TO NORTHERNER.PLEARS,I NEED SOMEBODY TO HELP ME ABOUT AKAN NPP AND WHY ALWAYS AKAN?

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THESE CONCEPTIONS THAT EWES AND NOTHENERS ARE LOOKED DOWN UPON IS COMPLETELY BASELESS. THIS CONCEPT HAS ONLY BEEN CREATED BY POLITICIANS FOR THEIR SELFISH ENDS

• Kofi Miawo De 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah despised EWES because of Gbedemah.

• KOFI ATA, KURASENI 10 years ago

THIS IS JUST SPECULATIVE AND TEDIOUS TO BEHOLD...ITS RATHER THESE PEOPLE WHO HAVE ALWAYS BEEN IN GOVERNMENT...AN EWE RULED FOR 19 YEARS...A NORTHERNER RULED 3 YEARS AND ANOTHER NORTHERNER IS RULING US. A NORTHERNER WAS A VIC ...

• ENNIM BOASSIE 10 years ago

IT IS HARD TO CALL A DRUNKEN MAN A DRUNK.....SO IS THE NPP. THEY ARE QUICK AT POINTING OUT BASELESS EXAMPLES OF THE CONTRARY. SEE ALL THE BASELESS INFIGHTING THAT RAGED ON BEFORE PAUL AFOKO WAS GRANTED THE SLIM CHANCE TO STAN ...

• joe canada 10 years ago

we have a long way to go.
    anywhere you go in this world, even between towns there may be some kind of look down on each other. the most important thing is at the end how do we treat each other. what ghanians forget to realis ...

• Lucy 10 years ago

That comment was never written by Atsu of Ho. It was from Koo Fori from Kookoase Junction. Thanks.

• ayitey 10 years ago

Great grandfather from Tamale? That explains why he looks different from sir john and Nana.Ashantis also look down upon brongs Gas and fantis.

• Osei Bonsu 10 years ago

IT IS BEACAUSE OF TRIBALISM THAT GHANAIANS ARE UNABLE TO CHOOSE A GOOD LEADER WITH VISION AND MISSION TO PROPEL THE COUNTRY FORWARDS IN DEVELOPMENT. WHO IS ALLAN CASH TO COMPARE WITH NANA IN LEADERSHIP AND CORRUPTION????. ALL ...

• abuburoba anyansa 10 years ago

Alan looks like his ancestry northerners. ALAN IS A DAGOMBA 25 PERCENT. I HEAR HIS GREAT GRANDPA IS ONE OF THOSE WHO USE TO WORK FOR THE ASANTEWAA KING.SO ALAN WILL BE A GOOD CANDIDATE

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

What an idiot. You think that an independent landlocked Ashanti region will thrive on the sale of mouldy cocoa and gold whose price has been fluctuating widely. Fool

• niibi Akwetey Aryee 10 years ago

What kind of great nation of Akan are you talking about. Pls dont be stupid. You don't even like each other. Take your evil though somewhere else. We are ghanaians

idiot , we are not Ghanians the moment you gas , ewes and northerners sacrifice merit , competence and integrity for your base tribal preferences / just look at you talking bullshit here and think or hoping we are blind . we ...

• mike 10 years ago

Please d not sow the seed f con fusion and war in our beloved country

• Kofi Babone 10 years ago

Shut up, you stupid trokosi boy.

• p.tosh 10 years ago

all ashantis will deported to their oregin heritage mali.b4 ghana will be no tribalisym. nation.they should remember the history b4 the came to ghana land northerners already there.

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

on the other, Dr. Nkrumah. The sociologists may be able to explain how and why hatred came about but throughout the world every identifiable group of people looks down on the other?

The Jews look down on the gentiles. The ...

• GAbaa 10 years ago

You are another fool who has the ability to get on this forum. Its a shame to compare a whole group of people like you are doing. You need education in race and cultures

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

did Nkrumah educate his children in schools or in Islamic buildings?

• $$$$$$ 10 years ago

>>>"ShaMU" IS Homosexual Terrorist, and TRIBALISTIC SUB-ANIMAL

By Kpalogo

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Look at your grammar! Big fool who doesnt know the difference between personal (they) and possessive adjective (their). Mixing present and past tenses together. No one hate northerners. Did you see Limann administration? Comp ...

• Lucy 10 years ago

Thank you Shamu. I don't know what to do without you. How could you be so clinically right? But I tell you Shamu, you still forgot one thing and I am not happy with that. You see Shamu, you were hundred percent right when yo ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Hi Mr Shamu,
    That is how you see the Akans. Look at how I see the Northerner and the EWES. They are juju worshippers who do not believe in God. Somebody told me that they will sell all that they have in order to have power, ...

• Ghanaman1 10 years ago

We all know JJ cannot even address Ewes in their language.

• Mends, The Lone Ranger. 10 years ago

I wonder which university awarded this boy his Phd? Not even an SHS student will come out with this nonsensical analysis. Should the NPP offer the position of a presidential flag bearer just because he's an ewe or a northerne ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Mends, The Lone Ranger from Houston, Texas indeed. How many more monikers should we be expecting from your joint as we thread along?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Npp Motorbikes and babies thieves must not fool anybody in this country ok? Npp shouldn't sleep in their tribalism until the majorities of Ghanaians cried and complained about the way they maltreats the non-akan in Ghana befo ...

• GEORGE 10 years ago

NPP thinks they are too smart, when you remove a Ga man (Obetsebi Lamptey) and you put in a Northerner that does not mean anything. For God sake why will a vice president for 8 good years who did a very clean job be sidelined ...

• MAHAMA - DOING MY JOB 10 years ago

NDC IS TRIBAL - GA NO LONGER A MEMEBER IN NDC LIKE IT USED TO BE . MAHAMA PREFER EWE FAR BETTER THAN GA . ALL THIS TRIBAL HATERED WILL NOT MOVE GHANA FORWARD . OBETSEBI LAMPTEY DID LOST TO PAUL AFOKO .

this two evil partys want to send us into tribel war.we are all ghanaians and we are all nubians.as a (Ga) l knew we are all from the same direction. let us unite as brothers and sisters. one nation one people.

• the truth 10 years ago

great comments. These politicians are really killing us. It is sad that most of these folks in here fall for their traps. Every group in Ghana looks down on the other. That is plain fact whether we like it or not. However, if ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

'You hypocrite! We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make one of your own president'- John Mahama. What do you think this is? If you are of sound mind, this comment by mahama will check you, because w ...

• Show boy 10 years ago

Thumbs up

• Jangbuja 10 years ago

As for this one from Sekou, I agree with him 100%

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

No Comment.

• kwame peter 10 years ago

This boy should know that it was a plea from the northerners to the Queen of England that gave them free education and not an idea from nkrumah! If nkrumah respected ewes Hohoe would have been Volta regional capital but his d ...

• Anne 10 years ago

the truth is painful but this the only way we as a nation can mature and correct our problem. long live Ghana And Dr Nkrumah

• Emperor 10 years ago

If those two groups think they been disrespected by the akans it is b'cus they cannot stay in their homeland given to them by.so to me they are the cause of it, here in America,blacks are not respected not alone from Africa. ...

• KOLIKO 10 years ago

AN EWE BEING A PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE IN THE NPP?

• Merlic, London 10 years ago

You ask if AN EWE could be A PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE IN THE NPP? Why not? And,no wonder you call yourself Koliko which of course make you look like a quixotic joker.

• yaanom 10 years ago

dishonest guy...

• what 10 years ago

Akans have should not be apologetic nor take a back seat for anyone. May the best leaders come forward regardless of tribe. Not an idiot to suit a tribal balance of some sort. We are all Ghanaians period!

Yes"we are all ghanaians

• Slow j 10 years ago

This divitinist tactics is what is causing confusion in egypt, don't bring it to ghana, we respect you. We akans love and marry ewes and northners,we are one people with one comon destiny,don't bring the egyptian revolt in g ...

• Slow j 10 years ago

Bature banzani

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 10 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

Wow! This is certainly going to give Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., some sleepless nights until he has managed to produce enough nonsense for publication! I am most curious ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Yes, they have been disrespected for far too long. Most of us in here attended school(s), dine, bath and slept in the same dormitory with a whole bunch of them and some even became our friends for life. Now, is there anything ...

• Mars 10 years ago

All wbest personality is What needed. Nana is not tribal but with best commitment to deliver. I am a norherner but i believe akans choosing Nana was a matter good thing from home n we norherners see him as best friend who ca, ...

• Nyeeya 10 years ago

this time I agree with the man, you may say am tribalistic bt the is truth is that, the akan n akyms think that the better than the other tribe.

• Chiga 10 years ago

You dont even know that Akyems are Akans just like Fantis in central and Western, Kwahu people, Akwapim people and Most Brongs and Ashantis. I am sure bcos of your hatred for Ashantis you equate Akans to Ashantis

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

I know the difference and I've never made that mistake.
    Rather, it's Ashantis who wrap themselves around Akans just for shelter. Even the other Akans know these evil people.

• Dready 10 years ago

Yes it thoise who call themselves ashantis who try to win sympathy from the Fanti Brong Akyems and the Ahafo or NziMa by just saying we Akans yet discriminate or disrespect or hate them even by their dialects spoken. They eve ...

• the truth 10 years ago

I bet you would love to see asantes fighting other Akans right??? sorry bro. but it wont happen. Gone are those days when brothers took arms against brothers. Now Unity is the key for us all to move forward, and if calling ou ...

• Real Ghanaian 10 years ago

Most Asantes do not have Ewe blood in them, as you claim. Bring out more facts to substantiate your claim.

• the truth 10 years ago

Go on the ground and just ask. Additionally, many ewes have been living in the region for a long long long time so intermarriage is rampant between the two tribes. trust me, I didn't know i had a great great grandfather that ...

• Kofi Babone from Oyibi 10 years ago

Akyems are alright but Ashantis are real evil people.

• Charles Agbenu 10 years ago

If it is necessary that NPP fights pro-Akan tag, is the NDC expected to fight anti-Akan tag? NPP to fifght pro-Akan tag, then NDC should fight Pro-Northern/Ewe tag.
    The issue is two edged sword situation

• assempa 10 years ago

What is this guy talking about? Was he around when Rawlings overthrew the democratically elected Hilla Limman government because he wasn't performing well? What has Mahamma been able to accomplish since he came to office? Ano ...

• BRANDY 10 years ago

With All The Stupidity Exhibited By Ndc Thro Dubious Sole Sourcing And Sada Subah, Gyeeda, Rlg-Govt Collusion To Loot The State...Etc Etc Which Have All Destroyed The Economy, There Is Absolutely No Way Ndc Will Win The Next ...

• Still first Gear 10 years ago

Kufour and his NPP did a lot for Volta Region but what was the voting pattern in 2004 and 2008? Please just shut up. If is not because of your father who would listen to you? Tweaaaa

I bet you to this absolute fact that no politician can ever buy the Volta with your what-nots. First you cut discrimination out and be honest, genuine and real. Make an Ewe or Northerner the Flag bearer and there could be a s ...

• Abredu 10 years ago

Is this man trying to preach tribalism
    or what? What about a Kwahu, an Nzima, an Ewe, or a Ga? We should learn to integrate beyer than now, & better than your opinion. All Ghanaians should rather focus on the training of fut ...

That's why we can't move on as a country.

• Yankyera 10 years ago

Is it wrong to be an Akan. This foolish talk of marginalisation amaze me.

• Chiga 10 years ago

Northerners and Ewes always pretend as if they are being discriminated against and end up in the highest places in power. Since 1982 Northerners and Ewes have found themselves in juicy places in Govt. Look at CEO(s in Govt or ...

• WISE TALK 10 years ago

SEKOU SIR U ARE A BIG FOOL. THE ONLY PEOPLE WHO HAS DISRESPECTED Northerners, Ewes IS THE ELITE WITHIN THEMSELFS AND NDC PARTY. BUT U ARE TOO STUPID TO SAY THE TRUTH. THE TIMES HAS COME FOR PEOPLE LIKE YOU THE TAKE tribalism ...

• PP 10 years ago

Wake up!

• ZORRO 10 years ago

OH, SEKOU YOU TALK TOO MUCH NONSENSE. WHO LOOKED DOWN ON THEM?? YOU GO LIVE AMONG THE NORTHERNERS OR THE EWES, AND YOU WILL BE LOOKED DOWN UPON BY THEM. IS THIS STRANGE? BUT DON'T YOU KNOW THAT GREAT MEN HAVE COME FROM THESE ...

• Bright 10 years ago

Dr. Sekou, I doubt your intelligence. Sorry to say. How can you say these stupid things about Northerners and Ewes. Do you mean 50years of free education couldn't earn them respect.
    You have a hidden agenda. I will match you ...

• togbe of hotso 10 years ago

LOOK AT THAT STUPID EGYPTIAN IS SAYING AS IF HIS IDIOT FATHER IS A SAINT.NKRUMAH STARTED ALL THESE TRIBALISTIC DIVISIVE MENTALITY SO SHUT UP ARAB MAN. YOUR ANCESTRAL ARAB PEOPLE STARTED SLAVE TRADE IN WEST AFRICA SO SHUT THE ...

• Slow j 10 years ago

J.j is not an ewe he is a settler in the keta jerukope,in fact j.j's mother is a guan from a town near kete krakye.

• faithgrows 10 years ago

HARD FACTS...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

I agreed with you about your view of NPP Party.NPP is a racist Party.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

KWASEA BI NTI MAHAMA AND FAMILY,JJ THEY ARE ALL NKWASEAFUO,EVILS,FAKE TO THE NATION,ZAAAAA NDC CRIMINALS,CORRUPT NDC PARTY,MMOA

• oyo 10 years ago

Yenfa Oman no mma tani bio na won nkoso nsee Oman no bio. Tweaa yebehwe 2016

• Ghana Policey 10 years ago

Otoooo Tabaaaaaa Think positively

• Ruth, Canada 10 years ago

Sekou makes excellent observations and analysis. I don't know him but I'm beginning to respect him. Way to go, Sekou.

• °°°OGIDIGIDI°°°°nyamaaa 10 years ago

why would npp take advise from an oponent? doesnt make sense, why should he give npp good advise?

• Asempa Akatua 10 years ago

Dr.Shit what do you know about Ghana,when the Ewes and the Northerners were enjoying free education on scholarships wasn't part of the pie.How long has the opposition party been in power?That is the most stupid statement to c ...

• Asempa Akatua Gyimifuo 10 years ago

What is your highest education in Ghana? Name 5 of your classmates who went to school free because they were Ewes. You see shame onto you apamseifuo

• Tweneboah Kodua Theophilus 10 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah 'sensitization' of this kind is not useful in any way. Could you please find better topics for discussion if you can't keep quiet.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

NPP should elect a Northener or an Ewe to be its flagbearer for what nonsense is this thing talking about. Flagbearership of a political party is not like a throne which can be moved in family lineage. Individuals who sought ...

• Ewiaswyesum 10 years ago

The most forgotten disrespected are from your Fathers Place Sekou.

• Boye 10 years ago

When did you become a Ghanaian? You do not know Ghanaian history despite your Phd Shut up & let us think about better things

• Gina 10 years ago

Tell the monkeys sekou!!

• Mekwan 10 years ago

I always laugh sarcastically at any Ghanaian or African who feels their tribe is better or superior than the other.This characteristic is not only peculiar to Ghana.
    As an Akuapem man myself,I wonder what kind of infantile t ...

• blackstar 10 years ago

Well said.

• Odiyifo Kwajo 10 years ago

Oh my BROTHER, I wish we have more people thinking and behaving like you. While we have the likes of Asamoah-Gyan, Muntari, Dauda, Wajeed, Kwarasey, Prince Boaten, just to mention a few, teaming up to uplift Ghana's image an ...

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

Why is the use of AKAN now become a political tool to create tribal and political confusion in our nation?. We really have to find solution to this unexpected political sickness.

The major problem in relation to this rise ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

I personally don't encourage such embarrassing behaviors. But, I bet my bottom dollar you don't know what you laugh and talk about !
    For, there's always a reason or a history of awkwardness associated with the inferiority.

• Aboagye 10 years ago

What has the personal preference of an individual got to do with you?
    What makes you think that your behavior is better than theirs?Why don't you respect people's opinions and behavior just as they do the same for you?Your b ...

• Tina 10 years ago

Bush man.
    Do you think writing that you live in New York makes you any smarter.
    You are one of the people with inferiority complex who relies on stupid stigmatization of other tribes to make you look good.
    Bush man!

Mekwan, you are right but you see, the truth is that Akwapems, like the Fantes are never judgemental, never discriminatory and are not offensive to others culturally . That does not mean Ashantes are socially as matured.

• Foxnews 10 years ago

Nonsense,what about visionary and competent leader whether akan,ewe,nothner or whatever?.when are people going to make sense for the coming generation to learn.Imagine the huge problem we have as a nation but people are hiddi ...

• Yaw. ed 10 years ago

How

• Samuel 10 years ago

It´s quite unlovely that this man is talkig like this. he is no a true Ghanaian.
    He was no born nor nurtured in Ghana. Please you are a trouble maker. Go to Cairo and leave us in peace.

• Otuo Brootuo 10 years ago

The Northerners were really looked down as they were branded as people who don't wear clothes, naked and also used pad locks to lock their wives mouth so no one can talk to them. Kwame Nkrumah did very well for them by sendin ...

• Observer 10 years ago

It is true that the Northern Region has been and is even now being pampered unfavourably! The Norhern sector now boasts of quite a number of well educated professionals because of free education. Free education was supposed t ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

Hmmm!

• KD 10 years ago

I don't know what this man is about. If there is any tribe that has benefitted from the country Ghana, its the Ewes. They've held every juicy job in Ghana. from Chief Justice, VC, Chief Inspectors, Heads of Ghana armed forces ...

• mazzy 10 years ago

That not wealth, he is talking about those who command wealth in ghana and not those who live from paycheck to paycheck.

• Slow j 10 years ago

Sekou what do you know ? The ministries are full of ewes,and the ewes and the northners outnumber akans in high positions in the security services,an akan will have to struggle to survive or seek greener pasture overseas,why ...

• Prof 10 years ago

Your are very senseless and stupid.

• NO NONSENSE 10 years ago

Respect is earned and won. You don't demand or request it.

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

EWES CAN PACK UP AND LEAVE

• BUGART 10 years ago

THEY CAN HEAD TOWARDS LOME. GHANA IS FOR AKANS AND NORTHERNERS.

• zewuze 10 years ago

OHENEBA SEI YAW AKOTO,
    DId your geog teacher died when he/she was about the map of ghana and location of places? You talk as if Ewes moved from Lome and settled in the volta region. Why not advise yourself and whoever would ...

• zewuze 10 years ago

show

• SICURA 10 years ago

With their land, what about that?

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

How much the Akans have enjoy more than the ewes and northers. This is really unwise for such a Dr. to come up with this statement.Why Northerners have free education but not all.The Asants and their Akan counterparts have su ...

• Koku 10 years ago

Sekou, what you've said is very true BUT your suggested solution at the end of your article will not happen even your late father knows it very well.For a Northerner or an Ewe person to be a flagbearer of NPP? That's a joke.

• henderson 10 years ago

since 1979 to date isn't the northerners and ewes have ruled the country most?

• Boys abre 10 years ago

Blame your father . this guy seems to be lost . Is he broke or what ?

• Koku 10 years ago

Hustling at the age of 18, when your parents wanted to enrol toi in university?

• ======= 10 years ago

WHERE IS THIS GUY COMING FROM? HE HAS NEVER TALKED SENSE.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

The marginalization of various ethnic groups in Ghana is huge barrier to our progress; this partly has its root causes in different languages spoken. There is no real unification in any development project that will enhance o ...

• Nokusis D. 10 years ago

Do you want to know why? Because of poverty and can't help themselves" No matter the education, if you can't help yourselves no one will respect you. I am in Abroad with degrees but because I am from Africa the respect is not ...

• i ad 10 years ago

Ewes,northners were not disrestpected but

• SM4LYF 10 years ago

HEY FOOLISH MAN'S SON.. DONT YOU KNOW THAT THESE PEOPLE ARE THE REASONS WHY GHANA CANT MOVE FORWARD.. FOOLS.EVIL DOERS...

• i ad 10 years ago

St

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Northerners have had free education since when and have produced two presidents so, who is looking down upon who or, who is disrespecting who? Respect, they say is earned. If you respect yourself, you will be respected else ...

• foolish mp toliet paper 10 years ago

No one is looking down on no one. Look at what has happened regarding the SADA. How about us the Gas, everything is done here in Accra but no one respects us.

• Balawo President 10 years ago

Sekou Nkrumah's father is renowned for his crass dictatorial infamy; and it should told to the face of this Arab hothead that RESPECT IS EARNED. Why should the Ewe be respected when they have never accepted or tolerated any f ...

• Gyewaa 10 years ago

NPP will always be Ashanti and Akyem Party because they think they own Ghana and therefore have to rule Ghana

• Frank 10 years ago

Such statements should not come educated people like Sekou. Enough of his cheap politics. Make statements that will bring Ghanaians together. God in his infinite wisdom put us in Ghana for his own purpose. Why all this? Let G ...

• FOREVER 10 years ago

Son of Sekou Toure, your step father, Dr. Nkrumah, wanted to rule for life, and JJ and his NDC also want to rule for life. Between Nkrumah/CPP and JJ/NDC, they have ruled Ghana for 8 years and 26 years respectively, making a ...

• Ibn Abudu @CANADASHEABUTTER@LOOK.CA 10 years ago

OH YES THEY RULED WITH JUSTICE .
    NO PRESIDENT TILL THE END OF THE WORLD IS OR SHALL COMPATIBLE TO DR KWAME NKRUMAH.

HE STANDS TALL AMONG WORLD LEADERS PAST & PRESENT

• Close Observer 10 years ago

How dare you say they. Do you consider this destruction of lives by JJ RAWLINGS as a rule with justice? You were just lucky it never got close to your family. Just read this and see if you will ever make such a reckless state ...

THE NAPOLEAN , FRENCH REVOLUTION DESTYROYED LIFES . THE MODERN DAY REVOLUTION EG TUNISIA , ALGERIA , LYBIAN , EGYPTIAN REVOLUTION AS WELL DESTROYED LIFES AND PROPERTY

ANY MORE REVOLUTION SHALL TERMINATE MILLIONS OF LIFES ...

• ANITA DE DWARFS 10 years ago

What Revolution ? The "revolution" that benefited only the Rawlingses? The "revolution" that made Rawlings and his family rich and the rest of us poor ? The "revolution" that focused on the murder of Akans and the destruction ...

Yes Dr Nkrumah you hit the nail right where it's painful , but the truth shall always stick .

Also the Bamboi bridge 7 tarring the Wa - Kumasi road were all initiated & started by His Excellency Jerry John Rawlings

He h ...

• Armah Amartefio 10 years ago

The fact that One group of people feel superior should not force you to feel inferior or disrespected. Akatas in America & 'awidiemfoo ' in uk( we even have names for them)feel superior to Africans but every Ghanaian feels s ...

• Anne 10 years ago

What is the different between Africans and African Americans? one group came to America willingly and the other unwillingly. willing ones are the most stupid ones no gun or chain was uesed

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

You seem to imply that we Akans are responsible for the relative deprivation of the Ewe lands awash with aperthesie and the north. We Akans are had workers and do not in the main depend on government largess to sustain oursel ...

• Atinga Frafra 10 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Felix Kwabena Adu Gyamfi Asiedu 10 years ago

This is one immature public comment I have ever read. Our diverse cultural background is unique and we can reap benefits of that by showing the world how Ghanaians thrive in such an environment with tolerance and the importa ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Have mostly been given to Northerners and Ewes while sons ad daughters of coacoa are many occassins denied

• WHAT A DAY? 10 years ago

So someone has finally said the abominable.

For your information, Ewes and Northerners (whoever that refers to) also have derogatory names for Akans. Can we say they look down on Akans? Nkrumah should know that every tribe/ ethnic group feels they are the best.

• HENRY 10 years ago

What are the names for Akans?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Mahama the most stupid.

• BOY90 UK 10 years ago

Surprisingly Ewes and Akans intermarry most in Ghana and of us who disrespect Ewes have the blood in us though we call ourselves Akans.

• RPG 10 years ago

Hanna Tetteh unilaterally canceled a contract, a very stupid and reckless move, bordering on lawlessness and impunity, causing Ghana to loose almost GHC200million cedis.
    That amount of money could have been used to address ...

• Ogyam 10 years ago

This bronie p3t3 is really nuts.

• COMAN ---Virginia 10 years ago

Sick !!!

• Bomfaboy 10 years ago

Is that what Ghana has been reduced to? Tribalism?? At a time that the richest people in Ghana are Ewes and Northerners and Nzemas, and the current president is a northerner? After over 19 years with Jery Rawlings as preside ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Any trash talker can now call himself a political activist. Jerry Rawlings actually delayed the extension of electricity to the Northern and Volta Regions. Check your facts. In the Volta Region, for example, the extension of ...

• Asem fofro 10 years ago

Any body who insulted you for making this statement is a BIG FOOL. Those useless souls are NDC sympathizers who have nothing to give, and are stealing from the National Purse.

Mahama, and co are the culprit.

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 10 years ago

Please go join the muslim brotherhood in Egypt and leave Ghana alone.

• NII KELEKE 10 years ago

YOU DON'T MAKE SENSE HERE, DR., NKRUMAH.

• DJAN 10 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head. Now you are speaking. Tribalism is tearing the country apart. Even God does not look down on any human being!!!!!!!!!!!

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Well when you have clueless party leaders like the failed NPP leadership keeping quiet and refusing to rebuke the rabid tribalist Ken Agyapong when he incites murder against non Akans this tells you how deep seated the proble ...

• AbasZ 10 years ago

How well do you know Ghana?

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

JUST SPOKE THE TRUTH AND THOSE GREEDY TRIBALISTIC FOLLOWERS IF NPP WILL SEEM NOT TO GET EYE TO EYE WITH HIS STATEMENT. UNTIL NPP CHANGE IT STYLE OF AKAN PARTY FOLLOWS WILL WASTE VOTES?

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

DZI WO FI ASEM---stupid.

• alhassan 10 years ago

is your father who first layed the foundation stone of disrespect for ewes and northerners idiot.u better go and yr sister to re-organise yr father cpp and stop all these nonsence

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Look at the Black Stars - that should be the model we should emulate to be a successful nation. We have practically players from every ethnic group united and working together to achieve the goal of winning games.
    We have to ...

• truth 10 years ago

Hmmm.....I think his analysis is spot on. Without a doubt NPP has its work cut out if it is to shed this perception or reality that it is an Akan party. The only true measure of diversity and inclusion is by putting up a cand ...

• Nana Ba 10 years ago

Oh Sekou, Afoko was not elected just because he is from the north. He was the most eligible candidate. That is how democracy works. There is Nana Addo who is still popular as ever and Alan K. who has managed to gain a few mor ...

• apuuu 10 years ago

Apuuu npp can win election with out northerners and ewe people if election is played by the rules we got corrupt offices who over sees elections they choose who win and who loss the system is fraud so we don't know northerner ...

• Haruna,U.A.E 10 years ago

we are matured and educated lets do away tribalism

• Nii Gbante 10 years ago

let every tribe have its own kingdom, period. lets move back to medieval era. life was nicer. if you are not strong you are sold into bondage....... if you are you enjoy. that's the republican and capitalist mind and I approv ...

• Haruna,U.A.E 10 years ago

tribalism is a serious disease

My full name is Abudu ibn adam , hails from Wallah traditional council.

I didn't know in 1995 - 2000 , the NPP had millionaires like Alan Kyeremantine , Kwabena Agyapong and all those millionaire championing the NPP , CAU ...

• Fuzzy 10 years ago

The truth hurts,he has made a valuable point they have been disadvantaged for far too long.

• TESSE 10 years ago

Ewes and Notheners are honest trustworthy people we can talk of.

• Akora Sarkodie, UK 10 years ago

Tribal factions in Ghana politics will soon be a thing of the past. Ghanaians are beginning to think 'Ghana first' and no more of tribal sentiment or choice over Ghana.

As the Yoruba saying goes ' If heaven clashes it wil ...

• Slow j 10 years ago

His father brought the divide and rule tactics,the same thing is in his blood. Ie,the youth in young pioneer against parents and disrespect of the elderly all started from the young pioneer i beg shut up and give us a break'. ...

• Nana Afrane 10 years ago

Sekou be wise and reasonably like your father. let the Doctorate degree you hold reflect in your words. Ghana does not need this nonsensical words. Akans, Ewes, northerners,Fantis,BA, and other regions in Ghana are one. we st ...

• Amina 10 years ago

Stop this nonsense struggling, you Akans and Ewes for the big national cake lies in the mouth of the city of Ghana,the Gas.Gas will eat it Nyfu,Nyfu.Long live Ghana,Longlive the Gas.

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

Such a stupid analysis could only come from an ignorant not-well informed man who doesn't understand the Akans language, Twi, the mirror of Akans great cultures and traditions.

• Joseph Boadi- Boateng 10 years ago

Keep the bloody mouth shut or go back to Egypt before you start corrupting people's mind and flaming up trouble.

• Obiba 10 years ago

Kuffour did a hole lot for the Ewes but still voted for the evil dwarfs, Mr Nkrumah why didnt you say nothing about what NPP has done to them? .This is one of sebotaching speeh i have ever heard. Akan will continue be an akan ...

• Kantika 10 years ago

I think Sekou should allow Ghanaians to enjoy the peace that we have now and not create any unnecessary animosity among the tribes of this nation. It should be noted that Rawlings is the longest serving president for 19 years ...

• Kofi Mensah 10 years ago

There is a saying in Akan which translates in English as"In every town there is a MENSAH"
    It has so many meanings the two best of which are (1)When males are born to a family insucession te third male takes the name "Mensah ...

• Show boy 10 years ago

Thumbs up

• Busiah Canada. 10 years ago

Each one disrespect in Ghana. I am not Asante but l respect them because they have Ghana by farming cocoa and coffee.Any forest area in Ghana you will them farming. Chasers of money is them. Pls .

• Joe Ali 10 years ago

It is baseless and stupid indeed to assert that by electing a northner or an ewe to lead the NPP Party is the antidote for the party to get support from the area. The most important thing is to get a compotent leader from any ...

• GOD IS WATCHING 10 years ago

YOU ARE WRONG.WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT DISRESPECTING? WE ALL GO TO THE SAME SCHOOL,THE SAME CHURCH, SAME MARKET,DO THE SAME BUSSINESS,DRIVE THE SAME CARS,LIVE IN THE SAME HOUSES. WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?

• Circle Boy 10 years ago

Ahhhh! Dr.Nkrumah your started the problem so do not blame anyone later. When he came into power, the only rationalized states were the three northern regions and would relinquish their lands to the Brits to be part of the th ...

• Objective chap 10 years ago

So you are the who?Nzema Fanti Fulani Egyptian Ghanian or Liberian MrSekou NWIAH.

• Lorgo Liri 10 years ago

Why do attention seekers always play the tribal game in Ghana? Have we not had enough of this baboon tactics from the loud and stinking mouths of our so called politicians? Just when we think things are normalizing, a donkey ...

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 10 years ago

Respect is EARNED....It cannot be forced
    on anyone.If u want to be respected...u do respectable things...PERIOD!!!!!!!

• Slow j 10 years ago

We have only one country called ghana,he has two when trouble starts,he will run to egypt.

• fuseini Issaka 10 years ago

Akans don't respect northerners

• Oheneba Kay Yeboah 10 years ago

Sekou, forget about this baseless analysis. you should know Ghana's ethnic composition; take it into consideration before you come up with this analysis. Do you want the two big political parties to do away with the Akan spea ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

Fw: GhanaWeb news: Northerners, Ewes disrespected for so long - Sekou

benony amekudzi
    Today at 7:02 AM

To

President
    President
    Vice