You are here: HomeNews2014 04 08Article 305664

Mahama's popularity dips ahead of 2016 elections

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Kofi Tsikata. 10 years ago

Kwasea man.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

kwasea bi nti TRUTH in our country under the administration, is a taboo,
    why NDC so-called politicians and their monkey supporters hate to hear the truth in this country?

Is that how you were brought up in your home or le ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 10 years ago

I don't need to read this before sending my comment. This actually tells you that NDC as evil party has never ever won any elections in Ghana. Give thbanks to Kwadwo Afari Gyan and opepeni Atuguba as a judge. These two evil m ...

• YAW SEBEH 10 years ago

The President is his own worst enemy. He has succeeded in surrounding himself with yes-men and yes-women so that he can control them for his parochial agenda.

It is obvious that the President doesn't care about the party ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

It is not that the President and Vice President's publicists are not doing their job. It is that they are not performing: there is no delivery and nothing to show for the salaries and benefits the President and Vice President ...

• Peacemaker 10 years ago

Both bawumia and mahama are pepefuo who cannot lead ghana to anywhere. Period!

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

The unchearful wicked face of Mahama makes him Looks like a fool

• Agyei Sikapa 10 years ago

The Good Book has it that only a fool says there is no GOD.

Askenov, a great Russian writer's book "God sees the truth but waits" is highly recommended to Ghanaians to read.

JDM obviously wanted to be president by hook ...

• gyan 10 years ago

I feel sick when a read comments like this. Ghana is being turned to bad state. As a Prez you can not just come to web and insult him the way you like b/cos of democracy. To me JDM is good and will win the 2016 election.

• BONSO 10 years ago

ALL THESE FOOLISH WRITINGS WONT SERVE ANY PURPOSE IN GHANA...THINGS ARE VERY HARD AND INSTEAD OF HELPING TO PROVIDE SOLUTIONS YOU ENGAGE IN SUCH TRIVIA TO DIVERT ATTENTION FROM REAL ECONOMIC ISSUES...IT'S ALL MADNESS AND COVE ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

The 2016 General Elections will be on 7th December of that year. It is only someone with a lack of understanding of politics who will be alarmed about political ratings, after 16 months of a 48 months term. There is no better ...

• YAW SEBEH 10 years ago

Kofito, do you know how to read and much more understand what you MAY read?

Go and wash your mouth with alomo bitters, OFUI

• Tweeaa Institute 10 years ago

Now everyone can say whatever..the newspapaers are going to the dogs..tweeaaaaaaaaaaa..

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

But he lost

• SM4LYF 10 years ago

HEY FOOL. TRY AND STEAL VOTE AGAIN AND ALL DIE BE DIE..MAHAMA IS A BIG LOOSER.. SHAME!!!!

• Faustina Acheampong 10 years ago

You think in your anus. You donot know who won the 2012 election both at the Electoral commission and the supreme court. What a pity!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Efuooomu, Kwaseaba.

• Kwaku Manu 10 years ago

The truth is that propaganda is not helping NDC any more. Ghanaians see all the corruption, arrogance, impunity and bad gorvenance to an extent that no amount of sweet talks will blind them. You can fool some of the people so ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 10 years ago

Whether they like it or not NDC will not survive in 2016 at ALL COST. I mean it!

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

If wishes were horses, Kwasea like you would ride. The problem is you never learn from the past. Bu Kompo na hwe Kasoa rally before 2008. Kramaba.

• 8520 10 years ago

mahama will loose

• MAWULI 10 years ago

He will not loose but he will lose, illiterate idiot.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

We will continue to expose his corrupt activities and by the time we are done with him, Ndc will not even want him as its Presidential candidate for 2016. Brace yourselves for the onslaught.

• NKETIAH ASIEDU. 10 years ago

THANK YOU CARDINAL,YOU ARE REALLY A TRUTHFUL PERSON,WE WILL EXPOSE HIS CORRUPT ACTIVITIES.THEY WILL LIKE IT OR DISLIKE IT,IT IS UP TO THEM.YE BEDII KEKE WILL BE NO MORE.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Huh!

• LORDINA MAHAMA'S PUSSY 10 years ago

"Kwasia bi nti" things are very tough in the country.

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 10 years ago

This goes to confirm what happened in London before Nana Addo left London. As keynote speaker at a lecture at SOSA the panicking government of John Mahama rushed to send his Foreign Minister, Finance Minster, Communication M ...

• seneior citizen. Braunschweig Germany 10 years ago

Ei,Okukuseku, onipa bone ho ye hu.It looks as if Bature is switching sides,as he is seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.To my translation of the above underlying termnology indicates that,the treacherous man must be fea ...

• Afua Adepa 10 years ago

DITTO!!!!I happened to be in England at that time. I was proud to be a Ghanaian listening to his speech. He is a gifted orator, has an abundance of knowledge, he is politically savvy, one cannot help but wished smart and in ...

• OTOYO 10 years ago

This is from the NDC camp. Nobody will tell them, they know very well that end of NDC is glare. The joke in it is some diehard (Jacob Allotey &co) in vissionles NDC still dont believe it

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Mahama was impose on ghanains by error from afari gyan we all noe mahama is corrupt atta mills noes thar aswell.he be jail after 2016.

• Victor 10 years ago

Mahama and NDC never won the election, coupled with the poor management of the economy and bad governance, one should not expect his popularity to rise. Nana is definitely the choice of Ghanaians.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Bature wants NPP to go for Nana Addo and Bawumia again which will make it very easy for NDC to destroy with the election petition.NPP be wise and change your flagbearer for 2016.Thank you.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Ghanaians are discerning. We've had enough of this visionless and incompetent NDC govt.

• k.k 10 years ago

A nice write up but the economic situation is a hopeless one.

• Amofa 10 years ago

I like it too but truely NDC will be no match for Nana in 2016.This should tell Allan and co to step aside to support Nana with all their resourcs.

• SM4LYF 10 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL TO VOTE FOR NDC

• sam 10 years ago

A BIGGER FOOL IF YOU VOTE FOR NPP

• Love 10 years ago

Both support the EPA and GMO agreements.
    More so,they all believe in over reliance on foreign aid as a means of national development when we are a rich nation that needs to tap its own resources instead of dashing it out li ...

• GBEE-TSATSU 10 years ago

you've said the truth. these two political parties NDC and NPP are all looters.So Ghanaians should not vote for these thieves. We should all give the chance to other political parties until we find the patriotic and honest pa ...

• Pobi 10 years ago

They are both the same,supporting EPA GMO and quietly trying to encourage the passing of pro gay laws in Ghana.
    These two are both tacit agents of the eu and american governments.They believe in relying on foreign aid and as ...

• sikdo.pjohn 10 years ago

For
    this.time.afari.gyan
    cant
    help.u.mahama.see.where.ghana.is.going.mahama.is.not.essay.as.u.thank.now.u.see.stupid.dont.talk.God.put.there.nodevil.put.here.so
    it.wont.be.better.for.u.God.hate.thiefs.mahama.u.are.a.creim ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

MAHAMA NDC FAILED GHANIANS,MAHAMA CORRUPTION IN GHANA IS TOOO MUCH,THE LAND IS RICH BUT THE PEOPLE ARE POOR,WHY??? BECOS OF ANANSE GOVT,CHOP CHOP,CREAT LOOT AND SHARE,2016 IS WAITING FOR MAHAMA,LOOOOOOOOSE 150%,PERIOD

• KOO 10 years ago

This writer is not honest in his writing or is just not happy about the failing of this government.How do you expect a government to succeed when governance is propelled by propaganda?.It is quite sad to read that automatic a ...

• Mike 10 years ago

John Mahama was so desperate to retain power for the NDC so he failed to monitor expenditure and the promises he made to people during elections. That is the main reason why he is unable to pull the trigger on incompetent and ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAAAAA MAHAMA IS FINISH 2016,WHO BORN DOG???? MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE BIG CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY,SEE SADA NOW HMMM EI??? GOLDD TO IRIAN,WOYOME,WATERVILLE,ISOFOTON,OIL,AKONFEM,TREES,GYEEDA,DUMSOR DUMSOR,NO WATER,STILL M ...

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

Unbelievable! How can one analyse such a crap to the disadvantage of the president by complaining that Nana Addo does not deserve to become a president. Nana Addo is simply competent than you northners, without been tribal, e ...

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

Ghanaians will be stupid to vote Nana Akuffo-Addo who is a puppet of the imperialists and has got no magic wand to solve the problems of the country.His rule will lead to a total take-over of the country by the IMF which will ...

• Gilly 10 years ago

Mahama is shit but Nana is no better replacement.
    They both support the same things like crawling on the floor for eu's controversial EPA and GMO and the over reliance on foreign aid.
    Wake up Ghana!
    Did you get rid of Kwam ...

• MAHAMA IS A CURSE FOR GHANA 10 years ago

MY BROTHER NANA ADDO ACTUALLY WON THE 2012 ELECTIONS BUT WITH THE HELP OF AFARI GYAN IT WAS STOLEN FOR MAHAMA.SIMPLY BECAUSE THE EXECUTIVES OF THE NPP WERE LOSE.NANA ADDO 'S POPULARITY SIMPLY MEANS THAT, MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS ...

• sam 10 years ago

SORE LOSER

• BJ 10 years ago

Period.

• Papa 10 years ago

the guy has been there less than 2yrs.

• sam 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS TOO SLOW AND UNINSPIRING. IF HE WANTS TO WIN 2016 HE SHOULD BE VERY PROACTIVE.

• THEO 10 years ago

my confidenced level in the President has declined sharply

• Ebo 10 years ago

Very well written, you said all the right things but you also showed what a hypocrite you are and even though you no the country and it's poor people are suffering you still fail to ignor their plight because of what you beni ...

• JC 10 years ago

Who told you he won the election 'gleefully'? He never won the presidential elections. HE HAS NEVER BEEN POPULAR. You know that in your heart. He won the elections by cooking up figures with the connivance of electoral office ...

• Andy 10 years ago

Nana will even come and worsen the economy,NDC,NPP out we dont need them again

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Now let's get thing clear here,under Prof. Mills administration;Ghana was known to be the fastest growing economy in the world with 14% GDP and 9.6 inflation rate.Any country that wanted to climb the ladder of Middle income s ...

• TANKO 10 years ago

Some of us heard of how corrupt and indiscipline the president was but did not believe it until he assumed the reigns of power in this country.Just yesterday i was given a brute awakening of this government moral decadence wh ...

• Kofi Nkansah 10 years ago

I can't believe people still put their trust in politician that they will do something better for them. I work for more than 12 hours a day and get real cash and never run in need of anything. Done this for more than a decade ...

• MYSELF 10 years ago

This Atta Mills' killer (mahama) will die a very very painful death for strangling Ghanaians with his unproductive and stupid economic policies. This thing call mahama is Ghana's most useless head of state.

• nana 10 years ago

this is what we call the mid-term blues it happens to all elected peoples in all countries,

• Skains 10 years ago

Of course, with the barrage of criticisms launched against Mahama, many of them dangerously senseless (and coming from the, by now, pompous members of the NPP), we shouldn't expect his popularity to rise.

• Symbol 10 years ago

You reap what you sow.

• Adjoa 10 years ago

How dumb can we be.
    Fighting with each other over tribal issues and who stole more when in power.
    These parties even support EPA and GMO.

• Fresh 10 years ago

Indeed his popularity is soaring than the president. Why?because hings are getting out of hand. GOD Bless Ghana

• Nii 10 years ago

Talking as if the election is a month away!

• Adidja 10 years ago

Kill the president

• IRON LADY 10 years ago

NONSENSE

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

In the OPPOSITION, one DOES EVERYTHING BETTER!
    As the Chinese say..."before you criticise somebody, walk in his SHOES for 14 days and see"
    WE HAVE more than 2 yrs. to election..... FORTUNES CHANGE!!!
    BUT Mahama should sit ...

• ERM 10 years ago

Who around him. The guy is a big idiot himself, and a serious thief on top of it.

• vv 10 years ago

why would you try halt the rise of Akuffo Addo?,are you God??

we need somebody who can fix the broken pieces and not just promises that are not been fulfilled..
    President Mahama does not deserve any term again,being a vic ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

It is no news that a long standing opposition leader becomes popular when a country is going through economic difficulties. And it is even irrelevant when that popularity comes at a time far from election period. What is impo ...

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

This article is well written, and one of the best I've read so far. The author, although pro-NDC, was objective in his anlysis. These are the type of people Mahama should associated with. Those who will not sugar-coat the pol ...

• NKETIAH ASIEDU. 10 years ago

SORRY FOR YOURSELF,POOR GUY!HE SELECTED THOSE WHO CAN HELP HIM TO LOOT AND IT IS CLEAR.BIRDS OF THE SAME FEATHERS FLOCK TOGETHER.WE ARE FED UP WITH THEIR CORRUPT ACTIVITIES PERIOD!

• Mickey 10 years ago

Real interesting reading! So the issue is NOT about Mahama and Amissa delivering on "WHAT" they promised BUT "popularity rally?" Shieeeeei! These two nincompoops promised us a better Ghana without VISION! Now, except their co ...

• Afua Adepa 10 years ago

WOW, Mickey, you write well and to the point - the man still stays very popular. I like and adore the fact that through all the negative ad hominem, he still rises above them all and NEVER EVER COMPLAINS about personal vendet ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Mahama is his own enemy,why did he fire the most efficient Finance Minister in Mills administration,Dr Kwebena Duffour?Bature can't blame the Vice President for Mahama's actions because Bawumia is always in the air criticisin ...

• Ogua Kortor 10 years ago

What kind of deprave analysis is Bature trying to do? where in the world have you seen a failure with a soaring popularity? I expect that people would even stop mentioning the name "Mahama" self.

• imoro 10 years ago

it should not be surprise to the government because the team in place is not working

• Pelicles 10 years ago

There is no where in this vast world that a group of truants can rule. NDC is full of truants, vagabonds etc hence their abysmal performance. Name one person in NDC that has any credibility? None whatsoever and without cred ...

• NAABA 10 years ago

THIS FOOLISH WRITER INCREASE THIS COUNTRY BECAUSE A LACK OF INTEGRETE

• NAABA 10 years ago

WHO HWAN BA?

• KOBAYASKOV 10 years ago

The times of the stinking propaganda are over. The times for the nation wrecking sycophancy are over. The times of the insults are over, although it seems to be a very strong attribute of the presidency, to still engage in in ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

You write a lengthy article and yet fail to mention the substance of the heading ie Prez Popularity dips from??? to ???
    This is lousy journalism

• Kwame Nyamekye 10 years ago

The truth is the truth, but it hurts. Leave the insults and face the facts.How many of us are that brave?

• The truth only 10 years ago

Go away with your one dimension nonscientific, and speculative journalism. Ghanaian journalist bore me to the core. Poor data collection, poor analysis and poor conclusions. Even from a layman's view which president has been ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Our focus should be on the livelihood of the people and how they can live up to 2016 before we can even turn attention on the chances of the contenders in 2016.

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; BEHOLD, IT IS REVEALED; -PROMOTION COMES NOT FROM THE EAST, WEST, SOUTH BUT FROM -'THE LORD'. PULSE. A TIME TO THINK. HUMANITY; " ...

• KYEI BAFFOUR, ATLANTA 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE IDOL WORSHIPPERS,BECAUSE WE THINK ABOUT OUR STOMACHS FIRST BEFORE WE USE OUR BRAINS.FROM KWAME NKRUMAH TO MAHAMA.NKRUMAH DID NOT PASS THE PDA BY HIMSELF WITHOUT THE SUPPORT OF SYCOPANTS IN HIS PARTY.RAWLINS COUL ...

• mr amin 10 years ago

pls vote mahama out his team has failed to protect the cedi bringing hardship to ghanians, with the depreciation of the cedi our toil is in vain our bank account losing value our income losing value. gov't revenue losing its ...