You are here: HomeNews2014 04 04Article 305237

Public wage bill grinding Ghana to a halt – Fiifi Kwetey

Read Comments Comments (207)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Fiifi, you must be bold to tell your colleagues to cough out the $2 billion loan you guys have swallowed and stop deceiving the public!!! We know you guys too well. Stop this madness! We didn't vote for you to talk! Work and ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT NDC MUST TELL US WHAT EXACTLY THEY HAVE DONE WITH THE MASSIVE $20 BILLION THEY HAVE BORROWED IN JUST THE LAST 5 YEARS, IF HE IS SAYING,HE HAS NOT BORROWED FOR DRINK AND MERRY MAKING, WHICH MEANS CREATE, ...

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• lol 10 years ago

Can you not comment without hatred for your fellow Ghanaian. Oh, oh, I got it! You're the only culture that Ghana belongs to, thus the hatred! Please spare us you infantile rants and be a productive citizen. You're one of tho ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Fiifi Kwetey, resign now and save Ghana from bankruptcy !

You are collecting salary and fringe benefits for doing nothing but lying to Ghanaians.

We have a finance minister and 2 deputies, so for what reason do you coll ...

• Abena 10 years ago

I should think people are ellected to solve problems. What is Fiifi doing about the problem he has identified.
    I agree with you. we do not need Fiifi's ministry

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

Exactly!You get paid to do a job. This government is always complaining about problems they are paid to deal with. WHY, WHY WHY??? A minister indeed. NDC is full of crap.

• Abubakari 10 years ago

Fifi should be re-designated Minister of Propaganda Matters. What do you expect, a minister in school. It is only NDC government that appoints students in GIMPA and Law schools as Ministers. Poor Ghana

• adanko 10 years ago

when did you wake up from your dream to see this reality? so what are you going to do since you are incharge? before you start collect all the stolen monies we now have with ndc sympathizers then quit so that npp will also co ...

• Linda 10 years ago

Fiifi by the way who are you? Cheap man who never knew anything about economics, but was forced out of greed to go and learn propaganda economics, and come to ,,,,,,,,,,RESIGN PERIOD. YOU NO FIT.

• daisy 10 years ago

Its not rocket science to know that fifi kwetey as MP wil stil draw same salary. He is not earning any additional money. Infact mps who are ministers draw their salaries from parliament. So u see how empty and nonsensical you ...

• Kanewu 10 years ago

For how long will you keep saying this without providing solutions? the problem is not the wage bill. it is paying pple so much to do nothing and that's what you have to fix. why should our mothers go to the market to work th ...

• Blame the Honorables. 10 years ago

This is a shame to come from a Minister of "what", Minister of State in charge of allied financial institutions,and what does this do if we have a Finance Minister? You see he is getting paid for doing nothing, or doing somet ...

• Blame the Honorables. 10 years ago

This is a shame to come from a Minister of "what", Minister of State in charge of allied financial institutions,and what does (this) do if we have a Finance Minister?

CORRECTION:
    With all due respect to all our countryme ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

What does this STINKING LOUD MOUTH CHARLATN called a MINISTER contribute to the economy of GHANA? If he claimed he has that special skill (economist) he should advise the government to encourage PRODUCTION for consumption and ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

let samo Jewellery design yr dream yellow n white gold wedding and engagement gold rings for u....call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you latest pictures to choose from.....make a choice n lets design it for u....... sa ...

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

EWE 'KWASEA' YOU ARE A THIEF

• John Useless Mahama 10 years ago

Ghana is not developing bcos of Ethnic hatred. when we start seeing ourselves as Ghanaians, we shall vote rightly to ellect good leaders, n every region will be productive to the growth.

• JANET AKOSA MENSAH 10 years ago

STOP DIRTY COMMENTS ABOUT AYIGBE.AKANS ARE NOW CHASING AYIGBE WOMEN EVERYWHERE FOR MARRIAGE.KNOW WHY?.FIND OUT!!! YOU BARSTARD!!!!1

• poma 10 years ago

Its rather ayigbe ladies chasing the akan guys, so they can have thier names change. The agyeama

• poma 10 years ago

Shame,its rather the ayigbe women chasing the akan men,
    For a name change.

G

• Africa Patriot 10 years ago

The ayigbe women are rather chasing Akan men because they find their men smelly and lazy like you did. You got yourself an Akan husband.

• LUKEMAN 10 years ago

Ghana belongs to every tribe and people who form part of it, so let us stop these tribal sentiments and help build Ghana. Long live Ghana

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Where in this world that the government will use 70% of his tax to pay his worker's except in Ghana only that government will do this rubbish thing. This shows that you are all incompetent you ate totally confused and you don ...

I spit into npp's face

Shame on you, another thief

• SOJI 10 years ago

I SHIT ON MAHAMA'S HEAD AND YOUR ENTIRE FAMILY.

• Hmmmm. 10 years ago

This Fiifi mn just told us last week that our economy at this time is better than that of Kufforr's time. Why the fuss? Does this guy ever think of what he says to the public or he just wants the public to hear about him all ...

• John Essel 10 years ago

Fifi was a leader of CJA who led lots of demonstration against Kuffour's government for managing the subsidies on fuel. If you throw stone on the wall it comes back to you

• Eeeei!!! 10 years ago

That is why Mahama appointed him economic minister

• KWESI 10 years ago

ohh my brother, say it again and agian. really this guy and his so called ndc's thinks their are fooling us but they should remember GOD is watching,cos u cant say the economy is good today and turns yourself tomorrow to tell ...

• Felix 10 years ago

Stupid Idiot give up your salary and benefits so serve as a harbinger to others so all can collectively do something to help save the economy.

• paapa 10 years ago

Mr Kwetey is a big fool. You collect fat Salary from tax payers money then you sit there and say govt cannot use all money to pay workers.oh what an idiot!!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

What he is complaining about has nothing to do with the economy doing better or not. So please don't confuse the two. Every nation whether rich or poor would like to spread her tax resources to cover all sectors of the econom ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Fiifi, is a Minister of State and a Former Deputy Minister for Finance who claimed the Economy was better just last week and today he comes to say the Country cannot continue on its present economic path, so which is which?

NDC is full of idiots in positions and they don't know anything at all.

• dave 10 years ago

Where in this submission has fifi said curreent economy is worse than k4's? U r rather guilty of rushing into conclusions. In the other submission fifi rightly said that fundsmentals like fiscal deficit, inflation, gross rese ...

• SOJI 10 years ago

YOU FOOL! WHO WAS BORN THROUGH THE ANUS AND NOT VAGINA. WHY SHOULD SOMEONE LIKE ME EARNING gH700 SACRIFICE FOR AND ALTER IDIOT LIKE YOU KWETEY AND dave WHO EARN MORE THAN gh7,000?
    THUNDER STRIKE YOU!

• Theo Narteh 10 years ago

We must be very objective, speak the truth and not to do cheap polemics with almost every issue

• kofi Mensah 10 years ago

The minister of state is talking nonesense. Has he forgotten all the monies paid by his Government as judgement debt. The monies were paid under the noses of the goverment functioneries.He should leave poor public workers alo ...

• kkg 10 years ago

Fiifi Should stop the noise and rather listen to Bawumia

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Fiifi Quartey should go to Dr. Bawumia
    and under study him, because Fiifi Quartey is just a hopeless material in
    our country, who is just throwing dust into the majority people of this country for his own selfish interest a ...

• SGT BUCHANAN 10 years ago

I have never seen Sgt who can talk rubbish like this so call Sgt Anani Fiadzo. Please be discipline Sgt.

• Abban 10 years ago

Gyimi gyimi Sgt Buchanan let the great Sgt
    Anani speak his mind. Aboa like you.

• Opanin 10 years ago

Before the 2012 general elections, the Electoral Commissioner created an additional 75 constituency seats in the country which were to be contested in the elections . Many well-meaning Ghanaians expressed their concern and ar ...

• G. Addo 10 years ago

Opanin, you make a great point here. The NDC would never listen to good advice because apparently they thought they would gain from the additional 74 electoral districts, now a bigger problem has been created. 'If you make y ...

• Aduanaba 10 years ago

Even if half of Ghanaians must die for NDC to retain power, they ll go for it

We must grasp the problem at hand well ooo

• Yaw Boakye 10 years ago

Kwetey I shall be happy if you can tell us how much you and other ministers of state are currently paid. Stop talking about public sector wage killing the economy. Withdraw all the curtisies given ministers and all state func ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

who implemented the SSSS knowing there is no money? You did that to win elections. Now you have realized that lies do not get the government going. So long as you continue to increase the prices of petroleum products and util ...

• Musa 10 years ago

How many people are employed by government? Strike the average of our 70% GDP used to pay these workers and I wonder how much the average government worker earns including the many watchmen, drivers, cleaners and caterers. It ...

• NDC THIEVES 10 years ago

Fools and thieves are running the country. talking rubbish with his block-headed mind set. thieves

• DAAVI 10 years ago

WOYOME, WAS EFFECTIVELY PAID WITHOUT DOING GOOD WORK TO MOTHERGHANA.FIFI,AS A DUMMY TALKER THINK HIGHER.FOOL.

• Patriot 10 years ago

This guy is too noisy. He must shut up. He must start from himself. He should account for the money being paid for his trips to London for his MBA at LSE.

• Efo Kobla 10 years ago

If this is all that we can get from Prez Mahama, then Akua Donkor would have been a better option.

This is the reality check after all the propaganda. Stop talking about 70%. What is the real amount. 650,000 is just 3% of ...

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Unqualify president n ministers 2016 will speak for it self.

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

as an economist or so called, has this fiifi guy taken into consideration the cost of living in this country? what is even the essence of paying someone a billion dollars and taxing everything away. of course as part of his p ...

• akwasi - uk 10 years ago

maybe, just maybe, you lot in the government need to scale back on the cut backs, kick backs and nepotism, whom you know, and leave the working class alone. you cannot keep pushing them down and then blame them as well for yo ...

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Only sad is not enough but very sad

• kwame Danso 10 years ago

How can you say such a stupid talk , as a minister of state , where do you expect the workers to get paid?
    withdraw all your services to you by the state , and let see how you will survive
    use trotro, and pay your rent an ...

• Komla Agbeshie (Ho) 10 years ago

Who should be blame ?I blame the late president Mills by implementing the SSSS.

God will punish these two men unless they repent from their sins. What they have done to our dear nation Ghana have brought this evil things among our people. Besides our so called men of God and chiefs in our country will al ...

• AKIRIKA 10 years ago

This guy is crazy. He might be going mad?

they think a country is run on propaganda? DONT BE SILLY HERE

• Chiga 10 years ago

When the NDC was rushing with the implementation of the Single spine, i remember there were people who advised the government to be careful but the same Fiifi and his colleagues were out there making it look like people were ...

• Mickey 10 years ago

HAhahahahahahaha! You make me laugh! So all of a sudden you, of all people, have woken up and now realize what the problem is with Ghana?! INCOMPETENCE, YEAH, BLATANT INCOMPETENCE, is more of the problem than all this NONSENS ...

• AGYABA 10 years ago

WHO GIVES THIS IDIOT AIRTIME TO TALK RUBBISH? HE DOESN'T KNOW ANYTHING YET HE INSULTS BRAINS LIKE DR BAWUMIA. THEY GO TO UNIVERSITIES TO BUY GRADES AND COME AND THEY CAN'T PERFORM.FIIFI Q MUST GO TO DR BAWUMIA FOR KNOWLEDGE I ...

• Bugov 10 years ago

What do you expect if you don't provide the necessary economic catalyst to stimulate private sector growth? The pNDC sowed a poisonous seed that the private sector is evil (Kalabule). Rawlings destroyed the private sector of ...

• KOd 10 years ago

“it can’t continue.” What is your suggestion to lift the country out of this mess?

• OketekuIs 10 years ago

Be bold just cancel SSS and all shall be well.
    Are you afraid or what ?be bold.

• Mensah 10 years ago

You will not address the two weeks adjustment of petroleum product that makes evrything to go zigzag in the country, are talking of workers salary. wake up!

• fredsaid 10 years ago

FIFI DO YOU AND MAHAMA NOT THINK HALF OF YOUR ECONOMIC PROBLEMS WILL BE SOLVED IF YOU GOT ALL OUR TAX PAYERS' MONIES BACK FROM WOYOME, ISOFOTON, GYEEDA, SUBAH, AKONFEM, GHOST TREE PLANTING PROJECTS, MERCHANT BANK, WATERVILLE? ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

arm chair loud mouth

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

But your boss says he would continue borrowing to provide goods and services , so where is the problem? Is rather unfotunate, we are being governed by idiots and stealers, how then can the country move foward? See where c ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

There are too many people commenting who HAVEN'T THE SLIGHTEST UNDERSTANDING of basic Economics! They should ALL keep QUIET and learn from those who know and STOP the ABUSIVE LANGUAGE!!
    Whatabout a "ROUND TABLE DISCUSSION" o ...

• KWAKU OBENG 10 years ago

Kwasea,Why dont you slash salaries and allowances of ministers???
    You lot cannot manage the ecomini.
    (sorry the economy).
    The kitchen is too hot for you lot.,

• 8520 10 years ago

u need to shut the fuck up

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Mr Kwetey the huge salary you recieve is for you and others to manage the country. Do not tell us what the problems are. We want solutions. If the solutions are beyond you and your collegues please leave

• Jah Bless 10 years ago

Fii Quartey is another useless minister who is also paid by the tax payer.

He has never said anything sensible to the ordinary Ghanaian. He called himself "minister of state" ask him his contribution to the ailing economic ...

• Worried Citizin 10 years ago

But goverment has money to pay for Nkomfem and such fools like you. Better think of others than your own stomarch.

• Joe 10 years ago

Please you have the mandate of the people to lead and solve thier preoblems so the head should first start to cut its salary by half then come to tell ghanaians also to do more even the number of paliamentarians should be cu ...

• Kwabena Baah 10 years ago

im surprise Fiifi Kwertey is talking like this. The NDC govt have no ideas and shd leave power for competent people to do the work. He is demonstrating academic dishonesty he has no clue. The solution is very simple is he car ...

• Maama Tula 10 years ago

fiifi quartey, look Ghanaians are overburden with taxes. Go and collect moneys paid to wayome, Gyeeda, Rockshell, CP.

You are all thieves in government. The entire government machinery is visionless.

States are not ru ...

• PAT 10 years ago

GIVE DETAILS OF THE SALARIES AND STOP LYING MASSA.

• Ayikwei 10 years ago

Why am I not surprised at the minister's comments? Fiifi Kwetey is totally incapable of making an intellectually intelligent submission. With such and their ilk as ministers of state, is it any wonder our economy is in such a ...

• Abigi 10 years ago

NDC promised money in our pockets and food on the table: SOCIAL DEMOCRACY. 6 years into the ideology and after looting the national coffers the reality has set in. There is no free lunch, work must be done to generate revenue ...

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 10 years ago

THIS IS THE RESULT OF MISMANAGEMENT AND LOOT AND SHARE BY THE NDC,
    THE WORSE IS STILL YET TO COME FOR THE ECONOMY

• Yaw. ed 10 years ago

How

• jah 10 years ago

Why can't this stupid boy stop receiving salary so that other people can emmulate him. Aaaaa Tweaaaaaaaa.

• Dan Kosowah 10 years ago

Fiifi, Why are you saying this today, Have you forgotten the increase in pay the parliamentarians, including you, got. You guys are making as much as, if not more than that of an industrialized nation's parliamentarians. Cut ...

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 10 years ago

OH FIIFI, HOW CAN YOU BE USING WRONG STATISTICS. ACCORDING TO DOCUMENTS GIVEN TO MPS INCLUDING YOU, THE GOVERNMENT SPENDS 57% OF REVENUE TO PAY WORKERS. WHY ARE YOU SAYING 70%? DOES THAT MEAN YOU DO NOT READ CURRENT DOCUMENTS ...

• Pokuaa 10 years ago

Fiifi the problem with you is that you miss the fundamentals. How many presidential staffers are there? How much do they waste for the country a month as they are being supported? Don't go far, these non-performing assets cal ...

• Nakh 10 years ago

God knew that we are going to have more public workers so he has added oil to ghana existing resources.What are you incompetent people doing to the oil money?Dont tell the hungry Ghanaians nonsense.God will punish you people.

• NAKED MAN 10 years ago

SINCE WHEN DID YOU DISCOVER THIS CHEAP TALK. YOU THINK GHANAIANS WILL CONTINUE TO BE FOOLS SO THAT PEOPLE LIKE YOU WILL CONTINUE TO PLAY ON OUR INTELLIGENCE. DIDN'T YOU USE THIS SSPP TO CAMPAIGN FOR VOTES AND WENT TO THE EXTE ...

• Abrantie 10 years ago

Now you have known that creating extra districts just to win an election was just stupid. All the MPS elected and the various DCES are also being paid by the same 70% tax the govt collects.

• Abba 10 years ago

WHAT!. PREVIOUS GOVERNMENTS HAVE PAID SALARIES WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT YOU AND YOUR GOVERNMENT HAVE LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION, SO THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED IN 1979 REVOLUTION ARE INNOCENT ...

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• Theo Narteh 10 years ago

It is not prudent enough to slash down wage bill. Rather, productivity must be enhanced, unnecessaary expenditures must be curtailed and our priorities must be looked into.

• KANE 10 years ago

Nonsense,

Ghana's public wage bill has nothing to do the terrible economic conditions in Ghana.

Unbridled borrowing, spending money you do not have, debt servicing and looting by successive Ghana governments is the pri ...

• Son Of Man 10 years ago

This country is ripe for coup, watch it.
    Incompetent & confused Government.

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

MAHAMA'S PRE ELECTION PROFLIGACY OF $4BN (GHC 8.7BN) COUPLED WITH UNBRIDLED CORRUPTION AND COUPLED WITH INCOMPETENCE AND COUPLED WITH MINISTERIAL FREEBIES AND COUPLED WITH PEA-BRAIN MINISTERIAL INERTIA THAT IS GRINDING GHANAN ...

• Asonaba 10 years ago

What. Kind of politics is this, see who is talking , when honorable Dr. A koto Osei talkied about scraping of the single spine salary , the NDC heavily chastised him bcos they feel he want. Their party to be unpopular n lose ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

MY OWN BOSS, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE WASTE IN THE SYSTEM. AMOUNT OF MONEY SPENT ON PUBLIC OFFICIALS, AND REAL WASTE OF PUBLIC RESOURCES. TWEAAAA

• TOO LATE 10 years ago

Fifi if you could analysis how much is paid to the President, his Deputy, in fact the Executive, all the Ministers, Deputies,the Presidential staffers,Government appointees,their allowances, their Security men and women,Watch ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

AND SAVE GHANAIANS FROM UNTOLD PAIN AND MISERY AND HIMSELF FROM IMMINENT DISGRACE.....HAVING RIGGED THE ELECTIONS TO BECOME PRESIDENT IT IS NOW OBVIOUS EVEN TO A CLASS ONE PUPIL THAT MAHAMA IS A CLASSIC CASE OF A SQUARE PEG I ...

Learn how to spell your name. It is FEFE not FIIFI, you are not a Fante, ok? Thieve and senior idots.

• LL COOL J 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE PRESIDENTIAL STAFFER IN-CHARGE OF REGISTERING GOVERNMENT VEHICLES, DOES THE STATE PAY HIM, KUAGBENU THEN WHY ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT HUGE WAGE BILLS. NOW YOU SEE WHERE YOU INCOMPETENCE AND STUPIDITY IS COMING FRO ...

• DrG 10 years ago

Fifi, you get paid a fat salary, don't you? So why not everyone of the 650000 workers? You and Terkper are out of your depth. Clueless noisy muthafuckers.

Oh

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Recently, a renowned economist stated that there were about 6,000,000 citizens, eligible to pay TAXES; out of this only 2,000,000 were doing so.

When Obama advised us to strenghten our istitutions, the advice went through ...

• Asem 10 years ago

get out if you dont know what you are doing. An empty headed like you is paid from the public wage bill for doing what? Insulting people, no wonder

• Iwan 10 years ago

If you can't pay workers, then stop promissing new things. On one hand you can't pay workers salary on the other hand you go and promise heavy expenditures. Who is going to believe you masta?

• Shoe Italy 10 years ago

Nsawam prisons need expansion to accommodate President Mahama and his Ndc corrupt gangs for embezzlement and misappropriation of state funds.The year 2016 is just a corner

• GOWAN 10 years ago

The reality of the issues and the information that is out there speaks volumes about 1. the intelligence of Fifi Fiavi Kwetey, 2. his competence to understand the basic rudimentary facts and figures concerning the economy, 3. ...

• Dr.Kofi nyame 10 years ago

kown how is not there.

• yahuza 10 years ago

uprising is the solution to the ghana's economic woes

• FAFA 10 years ago

FIIFI KWETEY, WHEN IN 2012 YOU WERE PATTING YOUR BACKS FOR HAVING CONVERTED ALL WORKERS ON TO THE SSSS, WHAT CALCULATIONS DID YOU MAKE? YOU SEE, WHEN GOVERNMENT IS FORMED WITH PERSONS LIKE YOU FIIFI KWETEY, THAT'S WHAT WE GET ...

• Mokasa 10 years ago

That's why you are there,......

• warehouse 10 years ago

is it this same propagandist making wise speeches. what a swift u turn.

• warehouse 10 years ago

what a u turn.

• HALID 10 years ago

Fiifi,remember you told us that Ghana was full of problems and when we vote for you you will turn things around.what are you telling us today.salaries are not the problem,look for the problems and solve it because you cant st ...

• nana yaw 10 years ago

The Bible is very good, and one reading it daily helps a lot.
    Am very excited and happy today, that AT LONG LAST, FIIFIQuartey is in the Real Soup. When NPP was in Power, this guy used to talk as if He is a Magician who has ...

• ADANSIMAN 10 years ago

WHAT SURGICAL OPERATION DO WE NEED TO INFLICT ON THESE EBOLA INFESTED ECONOMIC RAPISTS CALLED NDC LED BY JOHN DROSMANI ATOPAHENE MAHAMA, AKA BOHYEBA KOFI DUBAI

GHANA IS GRADUALLY SHUTTING DOWN WITH OVER 200,000 FOOT SOLDIE ...

• Nana Kwabena 10 years ago

Mr Fiifi, please leave the poor public service employee alone and rather reduce the size of the President's motorcade to save money.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

NDC forced and created 45 additional constituencies before the last election. An educated person without commonsense is worse than an illiterate with commonsense and that is what we are seeing in Ghana.

The nation's fate ...

• Tommy 10 years ago

fiifi, your government went ahead without the needed checks as to whether the implementation of the single spine would rock the economy or not but rather made a lot of noise, propaganda driven politics.
    Please tell the peopl ...

• ananseba 10 years ago

I agree with Mr. Kwetey. Government should start by reducing the number of MPs and also reduce their salaries as they are just a useless talking shop. All they seem to do is exchange insults in Parliament.

• Quophie 10 years ago

Stop talking and fix the problem!!! You wanted power at all cost, you have. Now fix the problem you created. When you were squandering money left right centre during the elections, didn't you know that you were destroying the ...

• DAVID MENNIA 10 years ago

ALL THE MINISTERS SHOILD STOP TAKING SALARIES BECAUSE ONLY ONE MINISTERS SALARIES CAN PAY FOR FIVE TEACHERS. AGAIN THEY SHOULD STOP STEALING. IDIOTS

• ALPHA 10 years ago

Cut down the number of government first. Eliminate half of ministries created by Kufour.

• King 10 years ago

Why will Ghana not be grinding to a halt if a tax payer money being used to pay good for nothing people you Fiifi Kwetey and the likes

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Blame your thievery and your wife's gift from Woyome!

• Kofi K 10 years ago

Blame urself

• Kofi K 10 years ago

Cry ur own cry

• DAVID MENNIA 10 years ago

WHERE WERE U FIIFI WHEN TEACHERS WERE USED ON SSSS TO CAMPAIN FOR U. INFACT ALL NDC HAVE LIMITED THINKING AND LOGICS. IDIOTS U CAN STEAL TO WIN BUT U CANT STEAL TO RULE

• Janet Boakye 10 years ago

I am surprised people who should know better are trying to incite the public against workers. Why can't the Minsiter called attention to the recent whopping increase in salaries of MPs and the executive. How much money goes i ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Did we not hear that Ghana has become a lower middle country and the fastest growing economy in the world?so why crying now?Thank you.

• Kwame peasah darkwah nyc 10 years ago

THIS N.D.C GUYS ARE CONFUSE.THAT TELL YOU THAT THEY DID NOT KNOW WHAT THEY WERE DOING .OH MY GOD

• Aba 10 years ago

The other sectors are not paying taxes. Most ghanaians don't pay taxes

• sabotey koley 10 years ago

reduce mps and ministers. we need 20mps and 10 ministers. so many paliamentary commetees all collecting salaries and allowances. how much do you pay the common worker? keep quite and collect your fat salaries

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

when Akoto said govt should be bold and tackle issue by laying off some unproductive workers your team said he was evil thinker. so what are your intent as far as this issue is concern?sack them or.......heheheheheee

• GIFT EWESTO TOGO 10 years ago

HE IS A FOOL, THAT TOGOLESE.

• Iman Erskine. 10 years ago

Ok Mr. Kwetey, If your party, Tne NDC will stop, the "create, loot and share " then all this will not happen. Stop blaming the poor workers. You are most certainly a millionaire already, through the schematic "create, loot an ...

• Deen 10 years ago

How can a government like Ghana have about 650,000 employees. Most of the employees are probably waste. Some are hired because of politics not competency. You guys need efficiency.

• Okoe 10 years ago

So what at all have the politicians & government appointees been lamenting about the implementation of the Single Spine Pay Policy (SSPP) as the major cause of Ghana's current economic woes?

Is it not the consolidation and ...

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

YOU BLASTED DR. BAWUMIA FOR TOUCHING THE ECONOMY, SO WHAT ARE YOU DOING NOW? DO YOU NOW AGREE THAT GHANA'S ECONOMY IS SICK? IF YOU LIKE STOP PAYING WORKERS AND FEEL FREE. THIS YOUR GOVT STINKS TERRIBLY. NDC YAAMUTU! NDC SAKAB ...

• Okoe 10 years ago

So what at all have the politicians & government appointees been lamenting about the implementation of the Single Spine Pay Policy (SSPP) as the major cause of Ghana's current economic woes?

Is it not the consolidation and ...

• KWABY 10 years ago

Public workers are working and we need to be paid,is he not receiving his salary, nonsense

• Slim 10 years ago

Civil Service must be cut down drastically and made extremely efficient. Go around state institutions and see number of people sleeping, watching tv or listening to the radio, casually working and anything they do is like it ...

• Doris 10 years ago

Meeting, meeting meeting everyday in Ghana.
    Work ooooooo work

• Dr Robert Glah 10 years ago

Mr Kwetey argues that continuing to sink about 70 percent of tax revenue into paying wages of about 650,000 public workers, robs other sectors of the economy of essential investment and resources.

Besides, the 650,000 publ ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Useless leadership and leaders.
    Co-equals.

• apia 10 years ago

We are tired of u folks.

• KK 10 years ago

Is this a minister? And what is he trying 2 say?
    Oh Ghana? Lord have mercy on Ghana.

• Asoreba 10 years ago

Too many "politicians" drawing salaries for something one person could do. We have created "job" for the boys and now crying as if the the salaries of the "real workers" are the problem.

• Ronny 10 years ago

Well said by the minister and I think that is the way to go but he should remember the public cannot continue to have their belts tighten while politicians keep theirs loss. Again huge corruption engrossed in the current and ...

• Educationist 10 years ago

You just completed your first degree in Economics or Business Finance and immediately you were appointed Deputy Minister in Economics. What do you know in economics? Any experience? Learn from you seniors.

• HOW MUCH IS FIFII'S SALARY ? 10 years ago

AFTER YOU BACK DATED YOUR SALARIES TO 2009 AND PAID ALL ARREARS, YOU NOW HAVE THE MOUTH TO SAY ALL THESE NONSENSE. FIIFI DONT THINK GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS.

• Zip Up 10 years ago

Privatilisation Is The Only Solution To Waste Unproductive Government Institutions And Corprates, Even The Army, And Police Have to Be Profitable Or Affordable To Manage, This Is The Only Way Capitalist Micro Economic System ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Sort it out. That is what you are paid for.

• Peter 10 years ago

You can decide not to take salary again. When you stop may be others will emulate you. I don't understand this idiot call a minister.What kind of economics is that. Its funny. Workers should not be paid or what?

• kwaku amo 10 years ago

Few days ago you replied negatively the press conference of Mr bawamia assessment of the economy. What I want you to revise is the creation of the district during the election period without making any provision for a budgeta ...

• THOMAS 10 years ago

I think fiifi n his NDC GOVT. SHOULD BE VOTED OUT OF OFFICE BECOS, IT SEEMS TO ME THEY ARE FINING IT DIFFICULT TO MANAGE GHANA'S ECONOMY. PAYING WAGES N SALARIES IS NOT A NEW THING.

• YAW AMANING 10 years ago

We all know about this problem . The question is what is the government doing about it? It looks as if the government is completely overwhelmed by the problem
    They know what to do if they can't deal with it -clear off

• Show boy 10 years ago

All this time you dey government you no see this? I talk long time make you close dose govvernment agencies that no dey do nothing!!!

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Swine, are you not the blokes calling yourselves "honourables" who are milking the country dry. The hefty allowances you idiots in Parliament is drain on the meagre resources of the country.

• KWAA 10 years ago

Corruption is killing us more than the Civil Service is costing us.When Government Ministers and appointees inflate cost of everything,how do you think Government can meet its obligations,when taxpayers money is finding its w ...

• Dr Ralph 10 years ago

The problem we are facing as nation is over reliance on traditional sources of tax revenues especially indirect taxes. We need to focus on taxing income especially from land sales. Landowners who reap the appreciation of thei ...

• dave 10 years ago

Good suggestion ralph. Thats what Ghana needs. Solid suggestions. Not constant personal insult and attacking personalities instead of dealing with issues.
    All the tribal bigots an other partisan bigots insulting fifi should ...

• Yo Mama 10 years ago

Don't forget the yearly taxes on property which is just atrociously inadequate. How can a person own a million dollar house and only pay $100 in property taxes? You hit the nail on the head. I will vote for you to lead that d ...

• KAP 10 years ago

Are you not paid? I will suggest you resign from you post as MP and get your constituency added to another one to cut cost. This will at least save the nation funds for development needed after all you are a square peg in a r ...

• Prince Ishmael Dimah 10 years ago

This is absolutely absurd and uncouth.
    Just recently,you told the whole world Ghana was getting better and where from this u-turn complains?
    Fiifi Kwetey must learn to respect Ghanaians intelligence. Yes,you may ve your f ...

• wofa k 10 years ago

I never thought fiifi kwetey is still collecting salary frm gov't

Maybe, governemtn can ask workers to work for free. Do we need volunteers to run the country?

• kaka 10 years ago

na who cause am

• Samson 10 years ago

Fiifi Kwettey, please use your energies and initiative to get the government agencies to increase tax revenue by widening the tax net. There are too many people in Ghana who are either not paying tax at all on the income they ...

• KAKUNA KAMINTA 10 years ago

WHAT IS THIS TALK ABOUT USING SO MUCH TAX INCOME TO PAY SALARIES?.WHO FORCED GOVT TO ACCEPT SALARY FIGURES IT COULD NOT MANAGE.THE MORE THEY COMPLAIN THE MORE THEY ADVERTISE THEIR INEFFICIENCY AND LACK OF VISION.

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

SO THIS THING IS A MINISTER IN GHANA? IT IS A SHAME!!!!!!!! HOW CAN GHANA DEVELOP WITH THIS INCOMPETENT CHILDREN AS MINISTERS? I FIND IT VERY DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THIS. WHO APPOINTED THESE CHILDREN AS MINISTERS?

MY SOUL ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

FIFI,BCUZ OF ARROGANT,U DIDN'T ACCEPT DR.BAWUMIA'S ADVICE AND PREDICTIONSON OUR ECOMY AS FACING TODAY ,WHEN GIVEN THE FUTURE OF RISK THE GHANAS ECONOMY OF HIS FIRST TALK AT LATE ALIU MAHAMAS FUNERAL AT TAMALE.LOOK AT THE EVIL ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

FIFI NOTE IF YOU HAVE LISTENED TO DR. BAWUMIA;S ADVICE AND PREDICTIONS,WE HAVE BEEN GOT TO THIS STAGE OF BAD ECONOMIC HARDSHIP.
    NOW FIX IT.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

DR.BAWUMIA IS ECONOMICS PROPHET, HE SAID SO WHAT WILL HAPPENING TODAY AND YOU THESE PEOPLE DIDINT BOUGHT THEM.

• prince 10 years ago

Economic prophet? An ignoramus who does not even know the single most intractable issue affecting the economy is the public sector wage envelope. And u called this ignoramus a prophet?
    God have mercy.

More Experts Endorse Bawumia…JP Morgan, IMF, Fitch & StanChart Corroborate Lecture

Tweet

• dave 10 years ago

U r sooo wrong. Every single one of those bodies identify the public wage envelope as the number one problem. Only bawumiah does not. U see why he is shallow?

• CHRISTIAN ABABIO 10 years ago

our economy is beyond redemption as it stands now all because of your mismanagement

• cheeky 10 years ago

No more propaganda.they are now crying out.

• peace 10 years ago

Are the workers working for their families? Are they not working for the government? Why should they not be pay by the government? Mr. Fifi, be the first person to be paid from where you want the workers to be paid. If you do ...

• ATIA Frafra (fr) 10 years ago

SO DOES WORKERS HAVE TO WORK WITHOUT PAY OF REMURATION? IS fIFI kWETEY NOT RECEIVING ANYTHING FOR HIS SERVICES TO THE GOVERNMENT? INVITE GREAT DR BAWUMIA TO ASSIST HONEST FINANCE MINISTER TEKPE TO DELIVER GHANA FROM HER ECONO ...

• prince 10 years ago

Akoto osei and others who have been in finance ministry have agreed with fifi that the public sector wage envelope is the biggest problem. Bawumiah is the only ignoramus who does not have a clue what is going on.

Vindicated! ?IMF, Others Admit Bawumia?s Position On Economy

Tweet

• Joseph Boadi- Boateng 10 years ago

Hear the idiot Togolese turned Ghanaian speaking. It is alright for him to enjoy his fat pay packet whilst the working class be denied what they deservedly need to be paid. I thought they preached a Better Ghana Agenda, so wh ...

• prince 10 years ago

You r the idiot. Instead of analysing the substance of what is being said yourlittle brain can only attack the messenger. What fifi is saying is exactly what npps akoto osei and others like kwaku kwarteng are saying. Only unp ...

• ahimadu 10 years ago

So if you do not agree with people you have to insult them? Stop that brother.

• Joseph Boadi- Boateng 10 years ago

Yes, if he is right, didn't they promise the people of a life in a Better Ghana? So in a supposed Better Ghana where cost of living is sky rocketing, should the people not be paid for the work they do for their survival whil ...

• Conventional Youth 10 years ago

The sustainable way forward is, effectual prioritizing of nation building mechanisms, bold and conscious STEMIC Education, effective mobilization & mentoring of the youth, as well as acknowledging our common interest a ...

• Quophie 10 years ago

This wage bill includes yours, the president, vice, the ministers and all apparatchiks. Don't let it seem as if they against us.

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

That's the with Ghana. Everybody knows the problem but nobody does a damn thing about it. Just go ahead and cut down the size of gov't. These days every country's doing just that including the good old USA.

• KWATEI 10 years ago

YOU ARE IN GOVERNMENT. DO NOT JUST TELL US THE PROBLEM, SOLVE IT. THAT IS WHY YOU WERE ELECTED ........ OR WERE YOU NOT ELECTED???

• CORRUPTION ZU ZA 10 years ago

IT IS THE LOOTING ..... WOYO52MIL, AKONFE15MIL, TREE35MIL, JUDGEDET$600MIL, GYEEDA250MIL, SUBAH200MIL, etc, etc.
    IT IS THE LOOTING, STUPID. STOP BLAMING THE WAGE BILL OF WHICH YOUR 120% SALARY INCREMENT FORMS A PART.

• Pabro Correa 10 years ago

Only in Ghana will this idiot called John Mahama be voted president and also seek second term .The man now has about 7.5 Biliion Dollars in Bank Accounts in Dubai (According to Forbes) and research conducted by anti corrupt ...

• daisy 10 years ago

U must surely have saw dust in your head instead of a brain if u believe all that crap u r referring to. U r the kinds that come up with useless rumours and asiedu nketia will take to court and get a fat fine from. Think a li ...

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

Corruption is the main problem. Rawlings, Kuffour and Agya Atta paid Ghanaian workers without complaining,why only you people ? Loot,share and chop people. If you are planning to lay the workers off,be prepared for the Arab S ...

• dave 10 years ago

You are such an uninformed person. Can u compare kufuor paying less than 2 billion wages compared to current esti
    mated almost 10b a year?
    Get urself informed before writing u dummy.

• Akosua 10 years ago

This is a very big national issue and not about NDC NPP! You need to work in the public sector to get a better understanding of what this man means. People are practically paid for minimal or no work done at all. The most luc ...

• Akosua 10 years ago

The lapses are too much in the public sectors and this has caused a fertile ground for abuse. All stakeholders must sit up and do something.

• Mawusi 10 years ago

Public wages grinding Ghana to a halt? I am glad you know that. That's why it is time for you government functionaries to cut your fat salaries and other allowances and save Ghana money. And stop the corruption and wasteful s ...

• faithgrows 10 years ago

WHAT HAS CHANGED NOW? A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO WERE INSULTING BAWUMIA AS NOT HAVING A CLUE TO ISSUE OF THE ECONOMY.... STOP COMPLAINING AND PRODUCE RESULTS

• Minta 10 years ago

You propaganda king was alway bad mouthing NPP policies under Kufour's Government. Now you have realized the cause of Ghana's woes.

• James Armstrong 10 years ago

The truth is bitter but must be said for society needs it to grow. you are a man of courage to say it loud from your position. Economics is a matter of choices, you spend on your stomach now or you save to invest for the futu ...