You are here: HomeNews2014 04 01Article 304938

Workers in danger: Thousands being laid off

Read Comments Comments (72)

• JOE 10 years ago

THE ECONOMIC IS SLOWDOWN ALL OVER!!

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

Which global worming asked your NDC to woyomize and sadalize us? Give us a break and stay in your rotten party.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Global warming indeed. Is this part of The Better Ghana Agenda? Unemployment means higher crime rate. Is it unemployment that we voted for? Mahama has disappointed me. I really thought he would do better than Mills and Kuffou ...

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• POLITICAL ZOMBIE NDC 10 years ago

AKAN IS THE MOST LOSE TRIBE THAT IS WHY NDC PEPENI MAHAMA IS TAKING US FOR RIDE BUT IS FEW IN THE AKAN TRIBE B.A,FANTES,NZEMAS AND MANY OTHERS FROM WESTERN REGION THE MOST STUPID IS ASANTE NDC WE NPP ARE COMING IN FULL VIM MA ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

keep dreaming fighting for tribal domination whilest multinational criminals control and looting your god giving nation

• POLITICAL ZOMBIE NDC 10 years ago

FRANK LET ME TELL U EVERY SMART GUY LIKE ME KNOW GHANA WILL BE WORSE UNDER MR TALK TALK MAHAMA WHY U NEVER SAW,
    ATOOLEGE SIMPA PAYIN ATTA MILLS WHO IS ANOTHER VISIONLESS NDC FANTE PRESIDENT CHOSE MAHAMA TO POISON HIM IN ORDE ...

• trueGhanaian 10 years ago

When you elect a president from a party that was formed by a criminal, and the president himself a history major at the University, this is exactly the outcome you should expect.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Yes we know Mahama's penultimate education is shallow and wobbly but then one head does not constitute a counsel, the whole NDC apparatus is a sham with no core principles and ideology except to come and help themselves freel ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Now lazy Ghanaians must stand up and go for demonstration whether they like it or not. Aaaba, Ghanaians are too weak they have big mouth to talk but they cannot take any action at all. Aden?

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

You keep getting violently abused whenever you vote for NPP or NDC but you seem not to have learnt your lesson! Get out of the "abused wife syndrome!" You have the power to break the cycle. Just bring in the party that BUILT ...

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

This the result of a bunch of jokers ruling the country. Ghana hired these crooks for 4 years, get paid every month for either destroying what there is or doing nothing.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Listen to this fool, economic slow down all over where? I used to ask myself why the Ewes and some Northerners keep defending the NDC even as we are heading for a free fall. Now I've found the answer. It is because they don't ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

The NDC is an alliance of Northerners and Ewes, plus some Gas and Fantes, all united by their common hatred of Akans.

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Ghanaian students are only interested in reading entertainment & sports news,when it comes to economic news they are completely out.They have therefore become zombie economics students of politicians.

• Rachel 10 years ago

Global warming from where? Continue to be in denial about this administration. Ghana is in this predicament because of mismanagement & bad economic policies, not some 'global warming'.

• cha 10 years ago

This is a lesson to Ghanaians for votin for propganada and lies from NDC

• BOMPATA STONE 10 years ago

OH YEAH ...NO WONDER THIS POST HAS SO FEW COMMENTS...IF THIS WAS SOME WAYOOME ISSUES..100 THOUSAND COMMENTS WILL BE HERE ALREADY..BUT THE IMPORTANT THINGS THAT MATTER SEEMS CONFUSING TO US!!!..VERY FUNNY...NO ONE HAS ANY BRIG ...

• Kay 10 years ago

The size of our public sector compared to our population is too large,some employees need to be laid off to make them efficient.Unfortunately the private sector which can absorb these people is not doing well.Blame both NDC & ...

• A&B 10 years ago

The worse is yet to come. We must prepare for the most difficult times of the nation's history.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

The only solution to our problem is to have the guts to train machinists and produce for ourselves and others. Manufacturing is the key ! This simple antidote eludes the minds of our leaders as they bump their empty heads aga ...

• KOO 10 years ago

The country is gradually heading towards the abyss.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Will Fiifi Kwetey now believe in Bawumia that we may have to run to IMF loans with stringent strings attached to it, and that this time there shall be NO BAIL OUT? Bawumia is a prophet.

• KnYc 10 years ago

There are more to come. In a country where by a gov't in power can not manage a Guinea fowl project, what make you think that it can manage and sustain such big economy like Ghana. Look every where you go there is a DECLINE ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

THEY WILL COME BACK IN 2016. THEY ARE ON HOLIDAYS IN NEIGHBORING BURKINA FASO. MY PROBLEM IS WHAT KIND OF PEOPLE STILL SUPPORT THE NDC. ARE THEY 1. BLIND 2. DEAF 3. DUMB OR 4. TRAITORS?

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

Hahahahahahaha, you making me laugh my ass out. They are all 4 of the problems you mention. Oh, Ghana people.

• innocent 10 years ago

maybe ndc impregnated thier mum so its in thier blood. nt easy ooooo. African polities, tribalism suuuuuuuuun!!!!!!!

• SPECIAL NKONFEM 10 years ago

THEY WERE GIVEN AS MUCH AS GHC15MILLION TO GO AND CHILL OFF IN BURKINA FARSO. THESE SPECIAL NKONFEM DE ENJOY PAA. IDE BE K3K3 FOR THEM.

• KWARTENG 10 years ago

THIS STORY IS VERY CHEAP BECAUSE IT IS THE COMMON TREND ALL OVER THE WORLD.THERE IS NOWHERE IN TODAY'S WORLD THAT PEOPLE ARE PAID FOR NO WORK DONE.WHY DIDNT THE FINDER COMPARE GHANA TO SOUTH AFRICA,UK,OSLO, NIGERIA, IVORY COA ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

Which world are you talking about? You may be dreaming wake up!!! If you think that Nigerians are going through what Ghanaians are going through they will stand up to their gov't. My friend travel around the world and see how ...

• DREAMER 10 years ago

YOU SIT IN THIS SHIT AND COMPARE YOUR SITUATION TO SOUTH AFRICA? GO THERE AND SEE. GRADUATES ARE RECRUITED INTO LUCRATIVE JOBS EVEN AS THEY WRITE THEIR FINAL EXAMS. IF THE SHIT HAS ENTERED YOUR BRAINS DO NOT WISH THAT OTHERS ...

• OSEI 10 years ago

EVEN THE JSS DROP OUT CAN TELL US THAT THE ECONOMY IS NOT ONLY IN CRISIS BUT IS "KAPUTT" NDC: DON'T FORGET, Y'ALL USED 4 OF YOUR MANDATE YEARS TRYING TO PROVE TO GHANAIANS THAT PREZ. KUFFUOR'S GOVT. WAS NOT GOOD BUT HE WAS NO ...

• Kwaku London 10 years ago

Let the workers suffer !!! They VOTED FOR NDC so what is their problem ? You have got what you voted for ! Keep your mouths shut and go through the pain. LESSON NEXT TIME THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU VOTE !!!

• YAW ODURO 10 years ago

ASIEDU NKESTIA DECEIVED THE GHANAIAN WORKERS AND NOW HE IS RUNNING AWAY FROM THEM. THE NDC WAS ASKING GHANAIAN WORJERS FOR THE VOTES AND IN THE END THERE IS LAID OFF. THE REASON BEING THAT THE WESTERN DONORS DON'T TRUST THE N ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

What have changed in Ghana? I left Ghana over 30yrs ago and after every visit I don't see any change. Do you think building houses with no power and water and swimming pools with pot holes over the place is progress? The same ...

• Counselor 10 years ago

The solutions to Ghana's problems have been dangling before every administration-be it NDC or NPP; and yet the situation gets worse every year due to globalization and global economic shocks. What the country needs to do to r ...

• Kast 10 years ago

Every country deserves the leadership it's got.
    Just live thru the pain. You will vote for NDC again in 2016

• Joe 10 years ago

This is a clear manifestation of our economy, yet NDC will not admit. Let them listen to economics, not necessarily Bawumia.

• Bugov 10 years ago

WE ARE IN DEEP TROUBLE! OUR ECONOMY IS OUT OF CONTROL AND THIS WILL CONTINUE AS LONG AS WE HAVE PEOPLE WITHOUT VISION IN POWER. AS A MATTER OF URGENCY, ELECTORATES WHO REALLY LOVE THIS BELOVED COUNTRY OF OURS MUST VOTE THESE ...

• joy bell 10 years ago

WE VOTED FOR INCOMPETENT LEADERSHIP.THIS IS WHAT WE GET. CAN WE LEARN SOME SENSE ?.

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

You have the power to change things! All you need to do is to get rid of the looters - NDC & NPP, and bring in the builders - CPP!

• Eye Red 10 years ago

with prayers and good leadership all will be well again.

• Kofi Asor 10 years ago

NDC be out of power and leave Ghana to grow. We are tired of a party that viiists suffering on its citizenry without knowing.

• joe ati 10 years ago

IF PRO NDC AND PRO NPP COULD REVEAL SERIOUS ISSUES LIKE THIS, GHANA WILL BE BETTER.THIS WILL KEEP GOV'T ON ITS TOES.
    BRAVO, KEEP IT UP

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

I told my family to buy down their if the this criminal govt again in 2016 becos they die from hunger mahama is colapssion gh.with his pupil ministers

• innocent 10 years ago

ndc u cannt manage the economy plsss seek for help...... it will help us alllll

• Yaw Owusu 10 years ago

Ghanaians should talk and weep over what they themselves. The did not want what President John Kuffour had taken Ghana and wanted eyi bee Government it is beeeeee and I care for you Government.Companies are laying off more st ...

• KAP 10 years ago

All these hardships are due to the incompetency of Mahama and his bunch of crooks who have created and share the resources of the nation by the flesh to the bones. Now even the bones have been fried, mashed and prepared tooza ...

• w3 10 years ago

Hope

• Industrialist 10 years ago

It is impossible to run industries now no matter how efficient you are. Costs are just too high and rising, cedi dropping, utility costs going up, fuel going up, bureaucracy going up, delays at the port going up, taxes going ...

• Mike Gizo 10 years ago

Afari gyan n atuguba are to blame for imposing incompetent government on innocent Ghanaians

• Amegah 10 years ago

What is the relevance of that picture pasted there? The name is not mentioned in the text, so what is he there for?

• MAKAMAKA 10 years ago

they and the Syrians,lebanese, Indians and what"nuts" sabotage the economy......THEY PRINT CURRENCY, violate our territorial rights, do all they are not supposed to do and MAHAMA DINES AND DANCES WITH THEM

• iron man 10 years ago

Woe betides Ghana.

• iron man 10 years ago

Before ghanaian dicovers their foolishness,it will be too late.

• Big Jay 10 years ago

Ghana is finished as a country under president John Mahama if the debt ratio is now 61.8% of the GDP. We are finished.
    Ecowas will also ceased to exist under president John Mahama. Mahama can never fufil his promises to Eco ...

• Diasporan, Canada 10 years ago

Say the same thing for UK, Canada, US, Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain. Even Germany is not safe from the global recession. Dare go to any country in Central Europe (Poland, Ukraine, the Czech Republic, Hungary, etc.), an ...

• IDE BEE K3K3 10 years ago

GHANA PEOPLE, MAKE YOU NOT WORRY. I CARE FOR YOU......AND I DE WORK FOR YOU. IT IS TRUE THE MEAT FINISH ... LEFT ONLY THE BONES, BUT MAKE YOU NO WORRY. I GO SIGN TPA (TRADE PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT) AND THE WHITE PEOPLE GO TAKE ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

USELESS MAHAMA STOLED GHANA GOLD TO IRIAN,OIL,GYEEDA,SUBAH,SADA,WOYOME,ISOFOTON,WATERVILLE,EVIL JUJU MAHAMA IS INSANE,IDIOTS

• Wofa 10 years ago

More will come.
    Tweaa on top.

• mr amin 10 years ago

i have been saying that a weak currency creats huge unemployment becus of owr weak perchesing power.gov't should fix import duties in cedis permanently n give the cedi some strenth, if not it will go down with everything in t ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

NDC claim the economy is on track and is not in crisis and look at what is going no now and president insult us by saying only the wise support him.The most astonishing thing that the president has borrow $20 billion in the n ...

• OSO 10 years ago

Fools, go back to Atuguba to rescind his bloody decision for your akonfem asses!!
    Your administation will see no light because of your lies and propaganda nonsense.Y'all are screwed!! SHAME ON NDC !!!!

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

NDC is killing Ghana. I hope Ghanaian voters are learning some lessons.

• UFO 10 years ago

We told the supreme court judges that Ghana will be in a mess if they do not allow the people to choose their president. We told them to organise reelection between the two presidential candidate for the people to choose the ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

No country in the World is exempted from the financial/economic downturn. But it could even be worse for us if we make the mistake of signing up to the EPA with Europe.

• Brobbsnet-USA 10 years ago

The Supreme court decided the elections for George Bush in the 2000 elections,after that ,America had 9/11, two WARS and a collapsing economy by the time it was over.Unfortunately for Ghanaians this is a re-run of a bad movie ...

• OSO 10 years ago

There's rule of law application here.They abide by laws unlike your people!

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

TIME FOR GHANAIANS TO EAT THE BITTER BREAD.NO NATION HAVE HONEY FOREVER

• Looking for class mate. 10 years ago

Stop this foolishness. You gave a grime view without citing or naming one specific person or company affected by the situation. I believe the story is concocted to tarnish the government's image and make it unpopular or it is ...

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 10 years ago

Please ask Duncan williams for prayers. His prayers can solve all our problems

• Alex 10 years ago

What do we pay Mahama for?