You are here: HomeNews2014 03 31Article 304803

MPs demand personal bodyguards

Read Comments Comments (65)

• KB 10 years ago

Why do you cause mess to the country and then you seek police protection for yourselves? No way!

• Sethoo 10 years ago

It is not safe my paddy,they always sit on those home used motor bikes to do their man hunt.If only those 1.5million jobs that were created by NDC were true this would never happen.

• Observer 10 years ago

Those mediocre Parliamentarians make enough money to pay for their own bodyguards. The State is not going to pay for their protection.

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• gifty 10 years ago

NPP should stop these attacks as well as burning down the markets and uinsfrastructure if they really want it good for the country and not for their personal interest.

• Kman 10 years ago

They destroyed our schools and sent their children abroad, they destroyed our hospitals, they and their families go to South Africa for medical attention, they destroyed all of our factories, they buy all their clothes and fo ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

It is not only MPs who need protection. Every household should get a security man. The robbers know that politicians are thieves so they come to you to take some of the millions you are hiding.

• DER-GBAALE 10 years ago

If Parliament turns round to make any legislation to allow each of the MPs to have a body guard, then we, Ghanaians are all fools. Once this happens we should all stage a sit down strike. These MPs believe they are gods to th ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Each of the 275 MPs receive 72 million cedis at the end of each month; perdiems for USELESS foreign travels; BRIBES for promoting their personal interests, sit on Boards and collect fat allowances but at the end of the day th ...

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

72 million a month...don't u mean a year? President of united states makes $200,000 a year.

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Let me repeat, it is c72 million cedis or the stealers money equalent of GHc7,200.00 every month

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

Plus free car n housing? Omg...my people suffer for lack of knowledge...boys a bre..boycott vondafone one

• GAbaa 10 years ago

HOW CAN AN MP CARRY $7500 CASH AROUND A COUNTRY THAT DOES NOT TRANSACT BUSINESS IN THAT CURRENCY. WHEN I WAS A LITTLE BOY IT WAS ILLEGAL TO CARRY AND FOREIGN CURRENCY AT ALL. MPS DO NOT DESERVE PROTECTION, THEY ARE JUST ORDI ...

• THE DRONE 10 years ago

...275 MPs FOR 25 MILLION PEOPLE,VERY SOON WE WILL HAVE MORE MPs THAN THE POPULATION... I THINK ITS TIME WE FORGET ABOUT OUR POLITICAL DIFFERENCES AND WE FIGHT FOR COMMON INTEREST OF GHANA, AFTER ALL NO POLITICAL PARTY EXISTS ...

• Kofi Babone 10 years ago

I give you 10 full points for that. What about the rest of us? Armed robbers and thieves attack us too. The MPs can hire their own body guards, if they have need for them. MPs are paid more than enough; and they steal some mo ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Who t is begging nana binladdo to come and rule Ghana at all? This is unbelievable, why this evil creature is tormenting mother Ghana in this way? And Everybody seat down unconcerned? Isn't this guy who has the biggest positi ...

• Okatakyie 10 years ago

BBC NEWS, please spare us with your stupidity and ignorance. Be constructive!

• Nigel 10 years ago

Huh???? Jokers ....... If they think they are now celebraties then they should pay for their own damn bodyguards. What a Joke.
    MPs are not contributing shit to the economy of Ghana yet they keep pushing their damn luck . Gha ...

• sly 10 years ago

get your own fucky bodyguard

• Mal 10 years ago

hahahahahaha they want to feature in the edited version of the movie 'Body Guard'.What a bunch of dick heads called MPs. Only in Ghana oooooo . Tweeeaaaaa

• EFUA 10 years ago

And who pays for that Please they should just stop the exploitation .with all the money we pay them excluding the ones they steal they want us to pay for their security also.We are all not safe in Ghana so they should seek th ...

• sansambonsam 10 years ago

If you feel unsafe.....then make it safe for everyone

• goza gotoro 10 years ago

That will increase the number of looters. MPs + their Attack dogs (bodyguards)

• Okatakyie 10 years ago

Our MPs are well paid and should hire their own security personnel. For Ghana to transform and be productive, government officials should learn to represent the general good and not themselves. What happened to the principle ...

• Ghanaba Paa tee 10 years ago

they must debate it and form a special forces to target Armed robbers alone. just as Nigeria has mobile police. special forces combine with military/police, then the nation will be at peace. what are the forces men doing at b ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

If they so dearly want personal bodyguards, then they should be ready to foot the bill at their own expense as well. Not another bill before the already overburden taxpayer down there.

• Nan fury 10 years ago

The people's representatives are now seeking protection from the people they are supposed to be serving. Wow!

• KING KONG 10 years ago

TO HELL WITH THEM. THEY SIT THERE AND DO JUST YEA YEA AND GO HOME WITH ABOUT GHC8000.00 EVERY MONTH? THE ARMED ROBBERS SHOULD GO AFTER THESE GOOD FOR NOTHING PEOPLE. THIS NO BE POLITICS. THEY ONLY UNITE ON ANYTHING CONCERNING ...

• K. MANU 10 years ago

"Some of the MPs who have suffered robbery attacks are Nkwanta South MP Gershon Gbediame, who was robbed of his two ipads, six mobile phones, Ghc5000 and $7,500 as well as jewellery." Why was he carrying all these on him at t ...

• re 10 years ago

excuse but what will one be doing with 2 ipads 6 moblie phones, what for? yet very unproductive. are they aware of the amount of electricity that will be used to keep this 'toys' not to talk of the bills. just one gadget can ...

• JUNGLE 10 years ago

Are MPs more human than the people who voted for them ? Why wont they see to it that Ghana is made a safe place for all.

• AWINYET 10 years ago

Please Ghana is in financial crisis and there by need not to carry more financial beddings; DOGS ARE THE BEST GUARDS use them as your personal security.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Tweaa!

• stan 10 years ago

their coequals in the so much desired developed countries ride bicycles to work and are happy with that. you guys sit there empty heads and want all the privilleges in life.if you think your life is threatened because you are ...

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

THE LEADERS IN THE COUNTRY HAVE TAKING GHANAIANS AS FOOL

• Kwame 10 years ago

What have they done for Ghana to be protected? Bribe takers. They should not be allowed to make unnecessary demands on the tax payer.

• OTWENUA ADAMFO 10 years ago

The basic needs of the people of this country can't be met by this government. Sure it will be nice if all MPs were given armored vehicles to provide them with maximum protection because they are such an endangered species th ...

• OSABERIMA 10 years ago

The MPs in Ghana are too many --for a country of 25 million people, we shouldn't have 279 MPs, 100 MPs will be more than enough. Now they want more staff members to themselves. Then every Ghanaian should also have a bodyguard ...

• Osei Wiafe 10 years ago

SO, HOW SHOULD THE COMMON MAN DEFEND HIMSELF? I THINK YOU SHOULD FIND A WAY TO MAKE GHANA SECURE AGAIN.

• Afari 10 years ago

I guess just like MPs all Ghanaians need bodyguards too since they have also been attacked at some time in their life. Since there are less then 500,000 policemen in Ghana, and assuming there are 500,000 police families, ther ...

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

The best way to avoid the MPs being attacked by armed robbers is to reduce the salary of the MPs. Armed robbers think they are very rich , hence the attacks. Why are the armed robbers not attacking teachers ?

• yiddana@yahoo.com 10 years ago

If MPs wants persoanl bodyguards for personal safety, what happens to members of their holds and the population they represent. This is a clear sign of failure. The solution to insecurity in the country is to go the crux of t ...

• Paa 10 years ago

Kumbour wasn't attacked! He fired the shot himself from his car which has been confirmed by the police

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

I live in the same area with Gbediame,we now get night Police patrols. GOOD. We want him to clear the rubbish in front of his house.

• efo 10 years ago

What the hell do think they are, thieves, corrupt mps want what? Go give your vehicles to the police to on patrols.your area which your are as mp s the police dont have vehicles.go take your children and wives to guard you ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

"Some of the MPs who have suffered robbery attacks are Nkwanta South MP Gershon Gbediame, who was robbed of his two ipads, six mobile phones"
    How many hands and ears does this MP have ?

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Who do these MPs think they are? If you cannot make state institutions work to protect the citizens, thatn what are you there for? to collect bribe and kickbacks? No. No special treatment for you. if the heat is too much for ...

• pk 10 years ago

Seek the interest of the people and you are safe.

• Agyaaku 10 years ago

2 Ipads and 6 mobile phones are enough to attract a hungry criminally-minded Ogyakromian. Talk less of the cash in $$$. MPs sit up and stop making unnecessary demands.

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

They can pay for their own guards.

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

To serve or being served....These guys are afraid of their lives better than people who voted them into power. Idiots!

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Those who placed in charge of Ghana's government are almost all fools.

You don't open your boarders wide open to Nigerian influx to your country and somehow don't expect spate of these hard core crimes including contract ...

• Asare Ho 10 years ago

you comment shows how insensible you are.
    what does Nigerian has to do with the request by MPS for personal bodyguards. i most tell you that u are not better in anyway to the average nigerian ...so watch your words

• Ama 10 years ago

Load of bollocks!!!...they can resign if their seats are too hot for them.?afterall no one begged them to be MPs.!

• WILLIAMS 10 years ago

You stupid MPS IDIOTIC NOTHING HAPPENS TO YOU GUYS YET. AFTER YOUR FUCKING CORRUPTION IN PARLIAMENT YOU WANT PROTECTION WITH WHOSE TAX MONEY ..STUPID WHAT ABOUT WE ORDINARY GHANAIAN.. MORE ROBBERY ATTACK ON YOU GUYS WILL CONT ...

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

FOLLOW ADVICE FROM YOUR MEMBER FROM
    ABLEKUMA NORTH.

RECITE ISAIH 57;14 . YOU WILL SAVE GHANA
    MONEY THAT WE DON'T HAVE.

• Whatever 10 years ago

with their greediness, they want protection?

• Legba 10 years ago

Who will pay for these? Honest faithul MP'ss dont need bodyguads.

• kwame 10 years ago

Two ipads,six mobile phones for what?what are you telling the theives?as for the money,is he a susu company?

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

You bunch of corrupt legislators are not worth as to security protection! You are all liabilities for the Country.

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

YOU ASK NOT WHAT YOUR COUNTRY CAN DO FOR YOU, BUT RATHER, WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR YOUR COUNTRY.
    THEY SHOULD THINK ABOUT THE PEOPLE THAT PUT THEM THERE. WHAT ARE THEY DOING THERE BESIDES LOOTING?
    I THINK THEY SHOULD BE ROBBED A ...

• Kofi, Obuabang 10 years ago

Ghana MPs do not need body guards. They simply have to change their attitudes and mentality by showing humility, self -discipline, respect for the law and citizens, corruption, deceit, impunity, lies, innuendos. They nust exh ...

• RH 10 years ago

Tell these clowns to quit if they feel threatened.

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

I THINK THE ROBBERS SHOULD LEAve THE POOR PEOPLE ALONE AND DEAL MERCILESSLY WITH THE EXCERCUTIVES; LEGISLATORS, MOST IMPORTANTLY THE ECG PEOPLE BY KICKING THEM ON THE Ass to think for the People and stop their usual stupidit ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

GHANA MPS THINKS THEY COULD CONTINUE TO BORROW AND SPEND IN THE NAME OF GHANA.
    IS A SILLY IDEA TO PAY FOR MPS PROTECTION.THEY HAD THE JOB THEY SHOULD USE THEIR OWN MONEY TO PAY FOR A PRIVATE SECURITY BESIDE GHANA IS BROKE BE ...