You are here: HomeNews2014 03 28Article 304606

Nkrumah’s overthrow was a good thing – Casely-Hayford

Read Comments Comments (324)

• cha 10 years ago

Nkrumah had to sure- even look at how Ghanaians behave now- compared to then- our mindset is horrible

• Jack 10 years ago

I'm not surprised about this guy's statement because there are still thousands of his kind out there.

• KB 10 years ago

BECAUSE NKRUMAH WAS THEN A DICTATOR

• SARPONG 10 years ago

“…He had amended the Constitution in such a way that he was the only person who could ever become president. We can’t have that. Something had to give and he had to go some way. One way or the other,” he said.

Acco ...

• APARA HARA 10 years ago

'Mr. hew and haw' hahahahahaha!!! wher did you get that from, you illiterate beast?

• don`t care !!! Hmmmmm! 10 years ago

who is this idiot Casely-Hayford?he`s luck his utterances was not in Arab land...he could have kiss clubs,stones by now!

this idiot Casely-Hayford shd tell us[ghanaians] the best govt.ghana have experience...believe me you ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

This Guda Obroni really idiot and always talk of his feet, but not his head. No wonder he support "all die be die"

Them crazy, them crazy
    We gonna chase those crazy
    Bald heads out of town
    Chase those crazy bald heads
    Out of town

I and I build a cabin
    I and I plant the corn
    Didn't my people before me
    Slave for this country
    Now y ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

THANKS TO UP THE GHANAIAN DEMOCRATIC FAMILY, TODAY NDC SCHOOL CHILDREN HAVE A LONG MOUTH TO CHOP OUR MONEY! NDC NKWASEAFO

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

WELL I THINK EVERY ONE SHOULD HAVE HIS VIEW AND THAT IS HIS. AFTER ALL NKRUMAH WAS NOT FAULTLESS SO IF HIS SUPPORTERS WANT ONLY HIS GOOD SIDE TO SHOW AS IF HE WAS PERFECT THEN THAT IS UNFORTUNATE.

• ZOBIE-ZOOBIE 10 years ago

Nkrumah never dies.

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

Where is Sergeant Ametewee's body?
    Somebody please show me where he was buried?

• SERVANT OF GOD 10 years ago

THERE IS A ONE-PARTY STATE IN CHINA. IT IS A DICTATORSHIP. WE ALL GO TO THE CHINESE DICTATORSHIP TO BORROW MONEY WITH NO PROBLEM.
    WHAT HYPOCRISY !

• Kai 10 years ago

Educated black people don't like to see the big picture.They want to eat today and will sell their souls at a drop of a dime,especially if a white man tells them to.
    They don't believe in sacrificing for a better tomorrow.J ...

• NII COMMEY 10 years ago

GHANA HAS SUFFERED FROM POVERTY OF VISION & FORESIGHT SINCE MY SHINING PRINCE WAS OVERTHROWN BY GEORGE BUSH AND HIS GHANAIAN COLLABORATORS. JUST IMAGINE WHERE WE WOULD BE IF NKRUMAH HAD STAYED IN POWER EVEN TILL 1970. CASLEY- ...

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

Some of us were born around the time he was overthrown. Honestly the best was to have had another democratically elected government. You can only dream on about what Nkrumah could have done to Africa. But ask yourselves, whic ...

• Ghanatta 10 years ago

Hayford is Right. The 1966 coup was meaningful to all Ghanaians. Nkrumah has become a dictator at that time. He was building Communist society in Ghana. Nkrumah never fear God Almighty. Nkrumah had his own god called Kankane ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

As touching INDUSTRIALIZATION,NKRUMAH STOOD TALL.
    But in governance,I would rate him the worst in the GOLD COAST,because of his:

DICTATORSHIP,TOTALITARIANISM,NKRUMAISM,SELF-CENTREDNESS,TOO KNOWN etc.

Its the best he wa ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

forward ever, backward never

• CATCH-22 10 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULD START QUESTIONING AND EVALUATING THE UNIVERSITY CREDENTIALS OF EDUCATED ILLITERATE CASELY-HAYFORD.

OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH IS THE GREATEST PRESIDENT "THAT IS, THAT WAS AND THAT WILL EVER BE.

THERE IS ...

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Are there any links between the Obestebi Lampteys and the Casely- Hayfords?
    More importantly,Jake and Sydney?....just asking.

• COCONUTHEAD 10 years ago

YOU TOOK THE WORDS RIGHT OUT OF MY MOUTH. THERE IS NOTHING TO ADD TO THAT EXCEPT TO SAY "THANK YOU."

• Village FOod 10 years ago

MENSAH China and Russia and communist countries and they are far ahead than any useless African country,Dr. Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah was the best.

• Kalahariman 10 years ago

Hayford is wrong about his assessment of Dr Nkrumah. After Independence the world order is not what you see today and for Ghana to be the first black African country to gain its independence the pressure was on him to deliver ...

• Village Food 10 years ago

Well said Kalahariman

• DOGO 10 years ago

Thanks sir!! It is your kind of analysis this idiot lack. Casley Hafford need to read more about Nkrumah before he comes out with such nonsense.

• Born to Win 10 years ago

Thanks Mr.Kalahariman you've given us a good history about Dr. Nkrumah. He was, still the greatest leader of all time, even no modern US President comes close to him. The West felt threatened by the smartness of Nkrumah.

• KOFI KOFIII 10 years ago

But he was a dictator...Thank God he was removed. What the heck was he doing in Hanoi?

• Poswa 10 years ago

It's unbelievable the myopia and shallowmindedness of so called educated black people.
    Nkrumah was way ahead of his people in plans in 1957 and its still the same in 2014.

• Shabi 10 years ago

Many tens of thousands of Chinese, Cubans, Russians and other Eastern European communist countries fought alongside nationalist Africans and died in Kwame Nkrumahs struggle to liberate Africa from the evil clutches of western ...

• BOWONDA 10 years ago

'Thanks' Ghanatta!!!So you believed this CIA propaganda about Nkrumah right? Thanks; that has taught us a GOOD LESSON. "...inciting children against parents" ? This is one of the central planks in the propaganda machinery. I ...

• Stevooo 10 years ago

Mugabe started well, but has become one of the worst leaders in Africa. Nkrumah was heading that direction. Forgotten the hot water bottle bombs, the DC's including those who harassed my father and closed his shop, remember t ...

• GHANATTA 10 years ago

You have said it all. I hate those who insult, because one has said something they do not like. Those should grow up.

• TK 10 years ago

very stupid and ignorant to believe all this nonsense from the Ashantis.
    Nkrumah a US scholar and a PhD will never do all the falsehood the Afrifa and like spread about Nkrumah. US CIA use the stupid Ghanaians to overthrow N ...

• Akwetey Armah 10 years ago

Why I am mentioning Ewe? They have trokosi mentality of insulting Asantis like that. Let me tell you, Ewes leaders including Kojo Tsikata did not like Kwame Nkrumah. You are blind primitive tribal group.You don't think like ...

• GHANATTA 10 years ago

Nkrumah's doctorate was an honorary one.

• Bono 10 years ago

Where did Kwame obtain his PhD? Check your facts pls.

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

WHEN YOU HAVE PEOPLE WHO HAVE STOMACH DIRECTION BRAINS, THAT'S HOW THEY TALK. WHAT VISION DID KOTOKA HAVE?

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Sydney's effusions as a "Financial" Analyst,seems to be causing so much controversy.
    In my humble opinion,he should have stuck to his "engineering" prowess "back in the day"

• Bobby Tanker 10 years ago

Ask Casley Hayford where he was on February 24, 1966. I'll tell you because I know where he was. Casley Hayford was in elementary school at Accra Osu Home School,on the back of his father's motorbike, not even in Secondary S ...

• TWEAAAAAA 10 years ago

MY BROTHER, WHETHER CASLEY HAYFORD KNOWS SOMETHING ABOUT POLITICS OR NOT DOES NOT MATTER. NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATORIAL DICTATOR. I WAS A COMRADE IN THE YOUNG PIONEERS MOVEMENT AND WE WERE FORCED TO CALL HIM OUR MESSIAH. I NEVER ...

• Sincerity 10 years ago

Messaih is simply deliverer. He saved us from mental slavery. He wanted to die on the throne saving Ghana from slipping back...forward ever backward never. He had faith in children to learn more of their country and stay in t ...

• Born to Win 10 years ago

Thank you very, very much Mr. Sincerity. Please give us more.

• RAYMOND NASH 10 years ago

Nii Commey,I wonder how old you are.
    Your comment gives me the guess that you might be about 25 years an d you don't really know who Nkrumah was.
    Casely has been mild about his statement.
    Nkrumah was a mass murderer.
    He b ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Nkrumah was ten times worse than the Gambian idiot Yahya Jammeh. People are just following blindly. Kotoka saved Ghana.

• SERVANT OF GOD 10 years ago

JEMMEH IS LIKE IDI AMIN. NKRUMAH WAS LIKE CASTRO, EDUCATED AND REVOLUTIONARY.

• Common Sense 10 years ago

Look at his name carefully and know that his dad or so was on that Independence Declaration Podium...Look you are referring to a 60 year old man as a fool because you cannot think.. George Bush was not here in GHANA..Nkrumah ...

• KOFI KOFIII 10 years ago

If u want to know where Ghana would have been,it's easy. Let's look at Zimbabwe. Dictatorship is a menace,and Nkrumah practiced it. Thanks to Kotoka

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

YOU BETTER SHUT UP IF YOU DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT NKRUMAH.THE MAN WAS A DICTATOR.IF YOU ARE BELOW 55YEARS YOU BETTER LISTERN THAN TO COMMENT.THIS IS THE REAL PICTURE OF NKRUMAH AND CASLEY IS RIGHT.LOOK AROUND IN AFRICA ALL ...

pity you and sorry 4 you!no doubt; you & your types have become professional slave world wide due 2 ur mentalities!

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

HAHAHA PITY FOR YOUR POOR SOUL AS YOU HATE TO HEAR WHAT IS TRUE.WAS NKRUMAH PRACTISING DEMOCRACY OR DURING HIS TIME THERE WAS NO DEMOCRACY IN THE WORLD?.BACK HOME,DO YOU HAVE YOUR OWN WORK OR YOU ARE UNDER SOMEONE? IF YOU ARE ...

• EBO KOBINA 10 years ago

OKAY , WE AGREE . NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATOR . PLEASE DO SOMETHING IMPORTANT FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COUNTRY AND STOP TALKING NONSENSE ABOUT A COMPATIONATE PERSON LIKE NKRUMAH .SON OF A THIEF . YOU CAN'T EVEN PROVIDE BASIC INFRAST ...

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

DICTATOR IS A DICTATOR,WE DON'T HAVE A GOOD DICTATOR OR A BAD DICTATOR.TURN YOUR ATTENTION TO THE RULING PARTY OF THAT YOUR DIRTY COUNTRY TO PROVIDE THEIR PROMISES AND NOT ME.NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATOR WHETHER GOOD OR BAD PERIOD, ...

• EBO KOBINA 10 years ago

AFTER 48 YEARS OF OVERTHROW OF THE GREAT ONE ,STILL THE STUPID ONES LISTEN TO THE LIARS . I'M NOT WRITING IN FAVOUR OF ANY PRESENT GHANAIAN PARTY BE IT NDC OR NPP . I AM JUST CALLING A SPADE A SPADE .WILL YOU LIKE EITHER KUF ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

Once he said independence should be celebrated for a whole week, do really have to spend money to celebrate independence ?

• JOE 10 years ago

Hew anf haw is and idiom meaning struggle to accept. You need to read a lot.

• Asem beba dabi Hannover Germany 10 years ago

You this is pure english stop languishing arround the bush where did you get your education from? asem beba dabi germany hannover

• ALHAJI KANKANE 10 years ago

STUPID DON'T GO AROUND INSULTING PEOPLE WHO ARE YOU.JUST A TOILET BIN,FOOL!

• Osei Tutu X 10 years ago

Well done, double talk is why we are where we are. Some coups are good coups and some are bad. Some presidents are good and some are bad.This coup is bad and that other one is bad! I think the most appropriate coup was the 19 ...

• Osei Tutu X 10 years ago

This coup was a good one and that one a bad one!
    March towards true independence

• JULO 10 years ago

This Casely Hayford guy condemned every coup in Ghana except the one that actually destroyed our country. He is a typical Danquah Busia asshole

Hmmmmm!who is this idiot Casely-Hayford?he`s luck his utterances was not in Arab land...he could have kiss clubs,stones by now!

this idiot Casely-Hayford shd tell us[ghanaians] the best govt.ghana have experience...believe ...

dare

• ZOEY & ZARA 10 years ago

Your mother is the ass hole ok.

Bob Marley once sung...

Them crazy, them crazy
    Bald heads out of town
    Out of town

I and I build a cabin
    I and I plant the corn
    Didn't my people before me

• Yaw Kusi 10 years ago

This Sydney Casely Hayford guy is a damned fool. He justifies the coup against President Nkrumah but condemns another coup by Prez Jerry John Rawlings. Is it because he hates Nkrumah and Rawlings , or he is doing NPP dirty w ...

• Rob 10 years ago

He is very right. Nkrumah became a dictator, and the only way he could be removed was a coup. All other coups since then have been selfish acts by stupid people.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Don't worry about those who shall insult you because they have been brain orientated to believe nothing but Nkrumah who never dies but is dead and his ideology is also dead.
    If Nkrumah was still president, there will still n ...

• Frank Ohene- Karikari 10 years ago

You are just a human being walking without brains in your head.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Thank you very much for your insult. Wise men/women can read between the lines.

Bob Marley once sung...Hmmmmmmmm!

Them crazy, them crazy
    Bald heads out of town
    Out of town

I and I build a cabin
    I and I plant the corn
    Didn't my people bef ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Our GDP used to be higher than Malaysia and South Kore. Those countries have advanced and we have retarded on the back of our so called democracy. The only reason we've matched backwards is that only one person had the vision ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

What are you saying?

"Our GDP used to be higher than Malaysia and South Korea."

Stop lying to those who don't know. Our GDP was the same like the two countries you mentioned in 1957 but by 1963, whilst those two countr ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Why are you avoiding responding to facts such as the Akosombo Dam, Free Education, Tema Township, Silos to store Cocoa, Workers Brigade modelled on Kibutz in Israel. Did Mobuto or Mugabe ever set their countries on the path t ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

You are the one avoiding facts and comparing apples to oranges. Nkrumah is just like Mobutu and Mugabe.

China's constitution calls for communism and one party which is the custom but still it does not call for President fo ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

SARPONG your liberty is whiteman rule and your creed european feeding your stomarck and dressing you..fuck you.you people are the curse for ghana and the whole africa

• Albert Affum 10 years ago

This Sarpong guy will never criticise Asantehene for obvious reasons.

• 123 10 years ago

Idiot. Asantehene is not a politician. You vermins don't pay your taxes to him

• S.A. 10 years ago

I would never be surprised of the like of you.
    what u should remember is that, since CIA had a hand in his overthrow you should know that we were fools because they(CIA) will never assist you in any other way if you are bene ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Idiot, maybe you need CIA to tell you when your freedom is being trampled on, I don't . I don't need a narcissistic messiah to tell me without him Ghana cannot survive so I should surrender my liberty for his mercies. People ...

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 10 years ago

SYDNEY IS SO RIGHT! NKRUMAH'S STORY PAINTED SO NICE IS A MYTH. THE TRUE STORY OF HIS ANTICS MUST BE TOLD WITHOUT EXAGGERATION OR HYPE.
    MOST GHANAIANS DO NOT KNOW NKRUMAH, EITHER TOO YOUNG OR LACK OF POLITICAL KNOWLEDGE AT TH ...

• eski 10 years ago

Look at u idiots... go and read about the history of singapore... idiots

• 123 10 years ago

Was Nkrumah the President of Singapore. Idiot?

• Asemfofro Eli 10 years ago

You huys are idiots .May be you were not born by then .I was a fully grown up man ,.
    Nkrumah could not have amended any constitution by himself the nation amended the constitution through parliamentary system.
    In Nkrumah's ...

• Wise talk 10 years ago

I do not think that Casley Hayford is a smart man. He said Dr. Nkrumah's over thrown was a good one and that the CIA had their hand in it. They had their hand in it so that they can continue to exploit you and take all your n ...

• KANE 10 years ago

WELL CASELY-HAYFORD, I HAVE A QUESTION FOR YOU.

LIVING CONDITIONS IN GHANA UNDER NKRUMAH'S DICTATORSHIP COMPARED WITH WHAT OBTAINS NOW IN GHANA, WHICH ONE DO YOU RECKON IS MORE CONDUCIVE TO HUMAN EXISTENCE?

NKRUMAH'S OR ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Mr Casely-Hayford, Nkrumah's overthrow wasn't about dictatorship. This was about some greedy, bastard self-imposed refugees teaming up with the CIA to serve their selfish ends and turn back the clock of Ghana. Where are they ...

• GOLD COAST 10 years ago

Sarpong(aka Catalyst,Cardinal, Houdini,Sam,Teacher,123),Casley-Hayford and "DR."SAS should tell the WHOLE story - and not untruth or half-truth. These three pinheads NEVER mentioned the TERRORIST activities of the Mate Meho-N ...

• monkey man 10 years ago

If Nkrumah did not fight the Whiteman for our freedom,do you all think NDC and NPP can fight for our independence,sometimes we Ghanaians just opened our mouths to say things that concern us,just wait because I am coming to ru ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

How a so called financial analyst could come out and open his mouth, drool on the side with such unthinkable assertion is really sad if not risible.

Without regard to the economic and political environment, you cannot allo ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

what going on with these guys are they been injected with brain disability ?

• Teacher 10 years ago

"How a so called financial"-BOROFO KANAKAN

" drool on the side with such unthinkable assertion is really sad if not risible."- BOROFO KANKAN, you are trying too hard to impress.

"Without regard to the economic and polit ...

• APARA HARA 10 years ago

'you jealous Kola and it shows'.

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

The Kuffuor led Maladroit government promised the world of a new Ghana cedi will gain value when pegged with the dollar, what we have now is not what was promised.Nothing was put in place by this illiterate Bawumia and his Ko ...

• Teacher 10 years ago

"When you do monetization, it means you have deliberately pegged your currency to the major ones"

Illiterate fool, do you know the difference between 'monetization' and redomination?. Kuffour did redomination and not monet ...

• Jack 10 years ago

Fool, do you know the difference between monetization and redomination? Go back to school.

• Teacher 10 years ago

You filthy trokosi illiterate, why are you talking to yourself ?

• ZOEY & ZARA 10 years ago

You see why I always say these trokosis are the down fall of our country, they think they know everything under the sun and that they are the best so they want every one to kowtow them if you don't and challenge their legalit ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

There's a reason behind every rape the white man perpetrated on our grand mamas, so their offsprings will continue to speak for their evil white men. The Arabs did the arab mulatto became the new slave masters in Mautitania,N ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

From what he said the other day, one could correctly guess he would come up with this kind of declarations. What a farce! No reasonable human, seeing the deplorable state of the country would admire that overthrow.

If Nkr ...

• ROSE 10 years ago

You peope didn't know what Dr Nkrumah had for you, so continue to insult because of all the regions in ghana your region is the most uncouth no wonder in this 21st century kids walk around naked.If he had come back from Hano ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Rose, you hit the nail right on the head. Though the CIA has admitted some participation in the coup, Kotoka and Harlley have personal reasons to remove him.

Nkrumah has accused Kotoka of diamond smuggling during his servi ...

• NYARKO USA 10 years ago

I agree with you young man. Let those ignorants U.P./ P.P / N.P.P. supporters make big fools of themselves.
    We all know about Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's development programme building of Ghana was sabotaged by the opposit ...

• susy 10 years ago

nkrumah is an african hero.He is a blessing to africa.

• I love Ghana, New York 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah is the main reason why Ghana as a nation is not developing. He cursed Ghana and said "the Independence of Ghana will be meaningless until the total liberation of all African unity". Now, African nations are not ...

• DAVID OSEI 10 years ago

Roman 1:22 (AMP) says,"Claiming to be wise, they became fools (professing to be smart. they made simpletons of themselves).
    The KJV states," Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools.
    This is the Apostle Paul spea ...

• Kwame Tutu 10 years ago

Do you expect any common sense from a ghanaian who proudly bears a colonial name like casely hayford?What is the meaning of that name mr?by thy name ye shall see them.

• COMANDO 10 years ago

More than 50 years now, non of the presidents u talking about ever think of repairing tema motor way that K. Nkrumah has left behind. We need a leader like Kwame Nkrumah today in Ghana

• Odumgya 10 years ago

This stupid man thinks he is better because he has the same names as the British and Americans who helped overthrow NKRUMAH.Fed with European foods including milk from mad cows, Stanley has lost his compass. You are a disgrac ...

• JOE 10 years ago

WHO ASK YOU TO SAID THIS NONSENSE!!!!

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

The idiot is more than crazy and mad.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

You mean Nkrumah could foresee that only brain-dead Ghanaians would succeed him as leaders?

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

They're all quick to narrate a whole lot of brouhaha about the dictatorial presidency of Nkrumah. Yet, none is ready to accept that they made Nkrumah a totalitarian out of a fine gentleman. I hate dictators myself, but bringi ...

• Tilapia 10 years ago

if Kwame Nkrumah was a dictator then please lets have some more of such types to give dignity to Africa

• mugu1 10 years ago

Casely exposed his own disability,
    they had to overthrow the great one at that time because he champion and guarded the african revolution nearly succeeded

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Pardon,the gentleman for his effusions.
    He is primarily from an engineering background.

• Kobby 10 years ago

The best thing was to overthrow that dictator. That idiot brought devil worship called kankam nyame into Ghana

• Kosoko 10 years ago

I can assure you 'Kansan nyame' was much better than the Christianity you cherish! I would like you to come back for us to debate but with facts and logic!

• Ghanabi 10 years ago

There was nothing like kankam nyame as these not good mate me ho peopie are talking about.The overthrowing of Kwame Nkrumah ghange the seven year plan for Ghana.This guy caseley hayford was a little boy then at Osu Home Schoo ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Dirty blood-clot,wise up.Full of shit

• KOLIKO 10 years ago

WHEN WILL THIS OLD IDIOT SH?UT UP

CASELY HAYFORD IS A BASTARD FOOLISH PUSSY-CLOT.
    CASELY HAYFORD IS A JACK-ASS DICK HEAD BOMBER-CLOT .
    HE GREW UP AND LEFT HIS BRAIN BEHIND.
    THINK BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR SHIT MOUTH TO TALK RUBISH CASELY HAYFORD

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

When I first read what he said about the June 4th and 31st Dec coups being the cause of the present econ. challenges, I knew that the man has got a screw loose! I didn't waste my time commenting on the article but suspected t ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Brother, even in the so called modern democracy, the Brits practiced one party state for 400 years and not 40 years. In studying the 'Nkrumah question', some of these self appointed elite don't ask the right questions--obviou ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

See how these communists automatons are falling over each other to defend the evil ,despot called Nkrumah. You can heap all the vituperations you want on sensible people , Nkrumah was evil. He took advantage of illiterate G ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

I think Sydney Casey Hayford benefitted from that abuse by attending school from primary to university free of charge to the extend of calling himself "financial analyst" today. I guess this type of abuse is not bad or is it ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Minor Case, it seems to me that you are more of a nut case. Those you refer to as patriotic Ghanaians who overthrew established order in Ghana under instructions from foreign oppressors, also did not think it wise to immediat ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Andy, I do not understand why this guy is referred to an a Financial Analyst. He is never made sense to me when I hear him speak or read what he says. There are some deluded people with strange ideas parading or masquerading ...

• yaw 10 years ago

what social policies were implemented by the P/NDC of which you were a member?
    cash & carry?

You can wrap the P/NDC with the social democracy flag and continue to dream.

• NICH 10 years ago

Kofi Ata, your ranting indicates the kind of goverment under Nkrumah. Mr casely-Hayford stated the facts and gave his opinion about the facts. your response, that he should not have an opinion about Nkrumah. There is freedom ...

• yaw 10 years ago

Come on Andy! There was nothing consensual about Nkrumah's dictatorship.

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Sydney,should be "forgiven" for his utterances.
    He is primarily from an engineering background...

• Bobby Tanker 10 years ago

He is not old rather stupid bastard. He is only 60 years old.

• TEE 10 years ago

THE IS ONLY ONE NKRUMAH FORWARD EVER MAY HE REST IN PERFCET PEACE

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

You were doing well until you touched on this issue.
    Pay your free education fees with interest, and then you can write all your nonsense about Dr. Nkrumah.

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

No wonder your full name is Sydney Casely-Hayford.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

His grandfather was a white man's bitch a known fante homosexual 'kojo b3sea' still searching for his identity.

• Amoah Wade3 10 years ago

Mr. smart head casey

either you are a NPP stooge or just ordinary ignorant

1st. Ghana will have been a better place today if Dr. Nkrumah was not disposed.
    2nd.If JJ Rawlings did not disposed those corrupted military ...

• JAGA 10 years ago

Now this Casely guy sounds stupid>>whT IS WRONG WITH HIM...

• mastro 10 years ago

There are always people who believe they know more if it was not nkrumah there will not even be any form civilization in ghana. I object to this notion Mr. nkrumah had great ideas for ghana

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Discussion of Nkrumah always creates a gulf--one side against, one side for.There is no need of abuses. We just want to listen or read ideas and assess.

• ZON 10 years ago

Who is this so called financial analyst who has invaded the news stands these days with his warped thinking and anslysis. So in your view a military dictatatotship was prefered to a constitutional one? Its becoming interestin ...

• Kweku Tom 10 years ago

HE (CASELY HAYFFORD) IS JUST ONE OF THE DESSENDANTS (danquah-busua) NATION-DESTROYERS, CRIMINALS, SELF-SEEKERS AND CIA-MI5 COLLABORATORS.

• Rob 10 years ago

Yes, those of us who are old enough know exactly what he is talking about. That coup was justifiable. All other coups have been selfish acts by stupid people.

What kind of person is this man, so he was one of the people who killed Nkurumah. If he should be shot done today, if someone should kille you today mr Casely Hayhord? Will you be happy or your family members will be happy, I ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

tigali shrine curses you,only your stomarch concern you most

• Kojo 10 years ago

That's your opinion but I disagree with you. Lee Kwan-Yu and the many dictators we had in South-East Asia stayed on for and transformed their countries for good.

• One of the greedy ones 10 years ago

Not today, not tomorrow, not in the future will Ghana be blessed with people like Nkrumah with excellent all-round leadership qualities!!! I will withdraw "the future phrase" but please the whole of Africa must SALUTE NKRUMAH ...

• COS 90 10 years ago

African countries already SALUTED DR.KWAME NKRUMAH AS WELL THE WORLD AT LARGE.

• Omanbapa 10 years ago

Ah!

• emmanuel cape coast 10 years ago

that caseley hayford is not a serious man. all he know is to talk

• Omanbapa 10 years ago

Sad

The swine is crying to be relevant, and he is a fool for that matter.

The greatest and the best thing to happen to Gold Coast/Ghana was the arrival of Nkrumah on the political terrain. And the worst thing to happen to Ghan ...

• wise 10 years ago

leave this idiot, he has a mouth to talk today, he is lucky wise nkruma is no more. he built nsawam for this kind of ignorant people.

• Jojo 10 years ago

THE DISADVANTAGE AND LESS FORTUNATE IN GHANA WILL LIKE TO KNOW, THE CONTRIBUTION OF THIS FOLK IN THE SOCIOECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA.

EDUCATED FOR NOTHINHG GOOD IN GHANA.

THE RURAL AREAS ARE STILL IN SHAMBLES WITH ...

• DANDOR 10 years ago

ARE YOU SAYING THE NPP'S GRAND-PARENTS DID WELL BY INTRODUCING MILITARY REGIMES INTO GHANA. HAVE YOU HEARD OF MALAYSIA? THEY (BUSIA-DANQUAH TRADITION AND THE CIA)WENT AND GAVE MALAYSIA DR NKRUMAH'S DEVELOPMENT PLAN AND TODAY ...

• jijk 10 years ago

NKRUMAH BECAME A DICTATOR JUST LIKE RAWLINGS AND HE HAD TO GO. NKRUMAH MADE HIMSELF LIKE A GOD. IT WAS DISPICABLE FOR THOSE OF US WHO WITNESS HIS REGIME. CHILDREN BECAME SPIES AT THEIR OWN HOME AND WERE CONSTANTLY PRESSURED T ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

THIS FOLK CONTINUES TO LIVE IN A DIFFERENT WORLD OF HIS OWN.

WHEN PEOPLE FAIL IN A SOCIETY,THEY ONLY STICK TO THE PAST AND TRY TO JUSTY THEIR IMAGE IN THE SOCIETY.

WHAT ROLE HAS HE PLAYED IN THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

A warped-minded Twerp with an IQ, lower than that of an Opussum. It wouldn't surprise me if declassified intelligence reveal that his father also benefited from the money paid out by the CIA.

• AFRICAAAAAA 10 years ago

Very interesting! He may not be right in subliminally advocating coup d'tat but he is right. Nkrumah forgot how he became Nkrumah and that consequently led to his demise. He came to prominence through UGCC made up of the Big ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS RIGHT IN SEEKING TO REMAIN THE PRESIDENT FOR GOOD. WHY DOES EVERYBODY, AFTER TEXT BOOK ACQUISITION,WANT TO BE PRESIDENT? IT TAKES MORE THAN TEXTBOOKS` KNOWLEDGE TO BE PRESIDENT OF A CULTURED SOCIETY.
    LUMP AND PU ...

• LONDON 10 years ago

NKRUMAH LIKE OTHERS WAS PROOFING THE WHITE MAN WRONG, THAT, BLACK MAN COULD NOT RULE HIMSELF.THE WHITE MAN DOUBTED HIM.HIS OPPOSITION PARTY WERE ON THE SIDE OF THE WHITE SUPREMACY. MR HAYFORD, NKRUMAH HAD JUST STARTED BUILDIN ...

• LONDON 10 years ago

PLEASE YOU HAVE A LOT OF CRITICS

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Another self appointed elite! For his information, there were elections in 1951,1954 and 1956. Were they able to remove Nkrumah by the ballot? The answer is obviously No! What was the next method. Mr. Know it all should tell ...

• AKUFO- AFFO 10 years ago

ANOTHER NPP BULL SHIT!

• ican 10 years ago

His overthrow only paved way for incompetent governance and now look at where Ghana is heading.The presidential seat has now turned into a see-saw game NPP come fill their belly the next time is the NDC.All of these things ha ...

• KWAME HOLLAND 10 years ago

NKRUMAH CREATED LOOT AND SHARE IN GHANA

SHOW ME ANY OF HIS LOOTS.

• Terrible Terror Amsterdam 10 years ago

VODOO,WO MAAME TWE

• Kwame Obonti 10 years ago

Can you elaborate, most of us were not born or too young to know apart from what we have read. More analysis for concluding that the overthrow was good will be very helpful

• Whatever 10 years ago

Nkrumah's overthrow was a nasty thing to have happened to Ghana and Africa. There's nothing good about it. The moment Nkrumah was overthrown, Africa and Ghana lost its cohesiveness, and purpose. And the ensuing calamity was t ...

• FACT 10 years ago

THE WEST ORGANISED THE OVERTHROW OF NKRUMAH BECAUSE GHANA WAS PROCESSING RAW MATERIALS LOCALLY INSTEAD OF IMPORTING THE RAW MATERIALS TO THE WEST TO CREATE EMPLOYMENT IN THE WEST. WITH NKRUMAH OUT OF THE WAY, THE WEST HAVE NO ...

• germny 10 years ago

how is this going to help Ghana at this present Situation

• onelove 10 years ago

Ghana’s first President Dr Kwame Nkrumah may he rest in pease was a dictator a sovjet puppet,he took us away from the west to go hand in hand with the USSR.Now after killer jj.jk and others where are we.Ask your self.

• KWAME SARFO 10 years ago

the right thing was done. Nrumah was only a rabble rouser, a good speaker and a charismatic person. only those who directly enriched themselves and future lineage thro his largessee and those who were not born think Nkrumah w ...

• MUSA YANGA 10 years ago

Well said my brother !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Asiedu NKETSIA 10 years ago

NKRUMAH HAD LIVED IN THE USA and UK both great countries but chose to practice Communism in Ghana. A system you had only read about and not knowing its practicals. It was obviously a disaster. His choices were not thought thr ...

• Balderash 10 years ago

Who gives a shi*t about constitutions? Why do you go begging the chinese? Do they have that western bullsh*t constitution? America? Do they give a damn about their constitution when push comes to shove? Financial Analyst, ...

• MUSA YANGA 10 years ago

SHUT UP YOU ARE BIG FOOL AND A DIRTY HYPOCRITE !!!!!!!!!!!

• Balderash 10 years ago

Another semi-literate? are you? You stupid Africans sit around here and talk about constitutions yet your people don't even have WCs. How do you blame Nkrumah for that? How could an idiot like this Hayford be given such nati ...

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

So now we can vote and how is Ghana better. Look at China compared all over Africa and see what free vote gave us-

• Old Man 10 years ago

If one happens to live in those days to witness the Dictatorship and wicked ways of Kwame Nkrumah, the one will justify this Coup.

• Whatever 10 years ago

After this treacherous comment, Casely-Hayford has lost any respect he might have. Nkrumah build Ghana from the scratch with his hands to the extent that even today, the foundation he laid is the one which supports us. And fo ...

• Albert Affum 10 years ago

Sarpong was not even born in 1966,yet he has been spewing a lot of misinformation.He is always misleading readers on this web.Sarpong,we need references which can be substantiated.

• Asembebadabi 10 years ago

Okwasampani Hayford, listen! No wonder your name is "Sydney Casely Hayford" - a typical colonial name. It shows you still have a colonial mentality. Get educated you uninformed ingrat. Thank God for Nkrumah! Amen!

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

You know nothing about the man,yet are "judgemental".
    He was building "fibre glassed" Motorised vehicles ,when you were a "figment" of your parents imagination.
    His utterances may be Bourne out of "frustration" of not persu ...

• Bleooo 10 years ago

No doubt, the descendant of a house nigger. White bootlicker's great grandson.
    How can his openion be different from this?

• Kweku Tom 10 years ago

USELESS ECONOMIC FORUM AND BRAINLESS ANALYST

• jijk 10 years ago

NKRUMAH BECAME A DICTATOR JUST LIKE RAWLINGS AND HE HAD TO GO. NKRUMAH MADE HIMSELF LIKE A GOD. IT WAS DISPICABLE FOR THOSE OF US WHO WITNESSED HIS REGIME. CHILDREN BECAME SPIES AT THEIR OWN HOME AND WERE CONSTANTLY PRESSURED ...

JM keeps showing how weak he is as a leader. When you hear songs of traitors like Hayford singing sordid songs like this, be rest assured they are cooking something in the background for the current government.

JM please ...

• yam 10 years ago

Big fool

• Kanawu 10 years ago

I adore Nkrumah and would have loved that he ruled Ghana forever, but I am afraid I have to admit he was a Despot.

• yam 10 years ago

No doubt Npp would be in opposition for a long time.Sometimes I find it difficult to comprehend how this guys think.We the Nkrumahist supported the Npp to win in the2000 election and in other for them to appreciate that,they ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

None of the elections Nkrumah took part in was rigged. The record shows that. He organized fair and free elections and gave everyone including himself equal opportunity to win power. It was when the opposition themselves afte ...

• Kanawu 10 years ago

You are too young. There was no other political party in the later years. Ghana was one party state. You read history , I was one of those who MADE the history. This is the gospel truth. I am still a NKRUMAIST

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

what history did you make?

• name 10 years ago

he thinks he knows everything , foolish , bastard , cocky head fool

• POGA 10 years ago

CASELY-HAYFORD IS A HYPOCRITE. IN ONE BREATH HE DISAGREES WITH COUPS OR VIOLENT OVERTHROWS AND IN ANOTHER HE DOESN'T. CHEAP MAN. LET YOUR YES BE YES AND YOUR NO BE NO.

• Goahead 10 years ago

You are a fool....

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

yOU ARE AN ENEMY OF PROGRESS IN GHANA

• Salifu Mohammed Nurdeen 10 years ago

Hayford, do you know that Nkrumah's life was threatened on several occasions? If you were Nkrumah what will you have done? Some of you who want to use famous people to also become famous should learn to speak the truth. The m ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Thank you

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Mr. Casely Hayford, we have in leadership now who have ABSOLUTE ACCESS to personalize the nation's wealth and resources, yet we cannot overthrow them. So which is better or worse? Nkrumah did not steal and wanted to remove al ...

• LOVELIGHT DJAN 10 years ago

Nkrumah had good ideas but for his hash road to success and the dictactorship. If he had lingered on he would have fed more of ghanaians to the lions in the zoo. But he would have been brutalised like Ghadafi. He did worsethi ...

• KK 10 years ago

No wonder, he belong to those who had it all, so any thing to include the poor as Nkrumah did was not good.
    Greedy bastards!!!

• JH New York 10 years ago

Casely-Hayford,don't forgot that you had the chance to have education because of Osagyefo Dr Prof.Kwame Nkrumah's policies.
    Those whom you claimed were not dictators
    ,what did they do.
    Prof Kofi Abrefa Busia transferred h ...

• NYAME KYE 10 years ago

very stupid man

• ZONGOBOY 10 years ago

This Hayford is a complete simpleton, an idiot to the highest degree. i travelled around the world and i met fellow Africans who envy Ghana just because of Dr. Osagyefo Kwame Nrumah.

• Bar Tender 10 years ago

NKRUMAH,like MUGABE was a great freedom fighter,and rightly deserves the title as Father of the Nation. He had his faults though. Firstly, he believed GHANA was his property. Secondly, he did not tolerate any opposition, very ...

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

WHAT A REASONABLE GUY THANK YOU.YOU HAVE SAID EVERYTHING KWAME WAS A DICTATOR PERIOD!

• Shabi 10 years ago

Yes and it seems to me that Africa needs more of Nkrumahs kind and definitely not those treacherous so-called democrats who only create loot and share with foreigners. Do you remember Ghana Telecom and the over 400 state inst ...

• apuuu 10 years ago

We can agree and disagree now we babies in diapers running the country so should they overthrow or wait until their time comes up we wait so I agree with Mr Hayford

• John KAY 10 years ago

Now we all can express ourselves freely while PDA awaited people who criticized Dr. Nkrumah, then life President.

• Kojo Mesreyami 10 years ago

There is no such thing as Good Coups... All coups are bad period. When you use the barrel of a gun to claim legitimacy, that's not well earned. Deaths, misery, chaos, social ills are espoused. Look at JJ, what did AFRC, PNDC ...

• Adongo Tongo 10 years ago

Nkrumah did not have a Vice president. He was a dictator and tyrant pure and simple. If and when he traveled outside the country, his hand picked band of sycophantic chiefs called the Presidential Commission acted in his abse ...

• Igp 10 years ago

Fanti koo yoo, saa.... yoo, hey, hey; as the Gas will say. Another nu-colonialist and traitor. Son of a bomb thrower (SOBT). Fanti man who has made us bow our heads down in shame. Won nkye nkye ra na aka wo3n . That is all th ...

• JOE D 10 years ago

this man is just condeming people.And what has he done to this country.Who the fuck even knows this asshole.Is he even a ghanaian.

• Tutukpini 10 years ago

Who are you justify Nkrumah's overthrow but criticize what Rawlings did were you in Ghana then do you know how we were suffering stop your nonsence and go to where you came from halvecast without Rawlings you will not have th ...

• Yy 10 years ago

This idiot is running his mouth too much. Is he politician or a financial analylist?

• zimgbra 10 years ago

after what nkurumah has than on our infracstructure'what happen again till today nothing.this man casely is a devil demon illuminati thats who they're,they do not want GHANA in prosperity.kiss my ass evil.

• Tutukpini 10 years ago

LONG LIVE GHANA LONG LIVE OSAGYEFO KANTINKA KWAMI NKRUNAH May His Soul Rest In Perfect Peace

• L'Osservatore Ghaniensis 10 years ago

Each time I see the picture of Dr. Nkrumah it sends a chill up my spine. Just by looking at the picture, no one has to describe his poise and confidence because he believed in himself, unlike the recent borrowed leaders amass ...

• Damango - USA 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah had the opportune time and resources to make Ghana great and the rest of Africa thereafter. Unfortunately he turned into a dictator. He's the worse in the annals of Ghana leadership. Look at Mugabe of Zimbabwe ...

• Pro G H A N AIAN 10 years ago

Who was or is a dictator? Nkrumah? Well, if he was a dictator, so are the majority of the so called elected presidents and so on! Even Obama is a dictator! Merkel in Germany is a dictator! (Only 35% of the voters voted, and o ...

• Kai 10 years ago

It's quite clear your preference for authentic news is cnn bbc and all those misleading agencies.
    You are such a lost African soul.
    Read a bit deeper wai.

• Shabi 10 years ago

You damned fool, between Mugabe who has saved and reclaimed all the resources of his country from imperialist thieves and those idiotic penny-half-penny so-called democratic politicians of Ghana who have sold virtually everyt ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Correction to second paragraph:

'If socialism does not work, how come that today, America is today begging the Communist Peoples Republic of China to minimize Chinese imports to America?'

• Mama 10 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah was a great leader with a vision for uniting Africa and building Ghana into a first class country. What brought him down was his desire to become the greatest leader in Africa. He was too ambitious. What a lot of ...

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

MAMA WELL DONE!YOU HAVE SAID A LOT.BELIEVE IT OR NOT,YOUR COMMENT REMINDS ME A LOT OF THIS DICTATOR,I WAS THEN IN P4.WE WERE AT THE THRESHOLD OF COMMUNISM.

• CASSAVA REPUBLIC 10 years ago

OH, HE LOOKS SO HANDSOME, AS IF HE IS SPEAKING LIVE!

• Sam Tackie(71 group)YASHIN 10 years ago

GOOD THINKING CASLEY

• ike 10 years ago

The so called democratic and accountability conscious presidents like the current pig of a president have done worse than the dictator Nkrumah. Casely stop homosexuality and think straight.

• Nii 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU LASH AT PRESIDENT RAWLINGS AND SUPPORT A COUP ORGANIZED BY OUR ENEMIES,THE WEST,THROUGH THE NPP FOREBEARERS SPENDING 13 MILLION DOLLARS JUST FOR THE WEST TO HAVE THIS CURRENT DISPENSATION WHICH SUITS THEM.WE WOULD ...

• We can never have an Nkrumah again 10 years ago

I think all of you who think Nkrumahs
    overthrow was justifiable are fools. with all you education there is still nothing that you have learnt in life. This the reason why we are still where we are, corruption dipping hands i ...

• Lorenzo 10 years ago

Another stupid idiot. Nkrumah is the best time that happened to Ghana.

• fuseini from france 10 years ago

hi mr man do u really know the history of ghana? fucking stupid go back to school and lean the history of ghana

• Showgirl 10 years ago

Only a CIA can utter such filth.! Who do you think you are.
    Your utterances disqualify you from calling yourself a Ghanaian.
    If you are stupid enough not to see the harm of Osagyefo's overthrow and how your cowardly masters ...

• ABBAS, LONDON 10 years ago

this man is just confuse and does not know what is happen to himself

• Keteke 10 years ago

What is the untruth about what Mr. Casely Hayford said?. He is right. He is also just as Ghanaian as you. Debate his message, not what he looks like. He was born in Ghana, and lived his life I Ghana.!

• charles Hadjor canada 10 years ago

Casely-Hayford were you then old enough to vote during Dr Nkrumah time in office around 57 and 66.secondly if you said the CIA had hand in it and you think its good thing what was the gains for Ghana. as a fellow Ghanaian and ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

I disagree with you.Nkrumah was not given enough time by the Military to improve the living Standard of Ghanaians,and the Economy of Ghana.The overthrow of Nkrumah government is the reason Ghana Economy is still Struggling.Mr ...

• Gov 10 years ago

Mr know all why iS it that after all these years that the dictator is not around and with all the PHDS and knows like you there have been nothing except your so called misery democracy

• Pro G H A N AIAN 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah was overthrow with friendly support of CIA and MI6 Britain)!
    An he was overthrow, by greedy Ghanaian DOGS! Kwame Nkrumah nationalized all big companies! Example Gold, Fleet, Airline, just everything! That mean ...

• Roy 10 years ago

Mr Casely-Hayford, what have you done for Ghana. These are the Idiots pretending to know what they don't. Do sometime good for Ghana not this mere verbatim. Get lost.

• Mike Gizo 10 years ago

That's why i pity those who still follow cpp. Naive people

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

We are the best crop of Ghana today. We have the brains and the physical power to take control of the political arena. We are seriously organizing ourselves to build a strong grass route. Who won the last presidential debate. ...

• Obiba SK 10 years ago

I think we should leave Nkrumah alone for now. Those who loved him will always love him and those who hated him will also hate him forever. The question is: Since those who thought they knew better ousted him ,what have they ...

• ObjectiveMan 10 years ago

I can justify the removal of busia. But does make coups right. What do we say of Egypt today.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

According to you various coups in Ghana can be blame for the economic problems of today. Here, my dear you contradicted yourself by saying that Kwame Nkrumah over-throw was a good thing. Nkrumah had just completed his 8 years ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Without the UP tradition Ghanaians would never have known real freedom
    Ghana was freed from colonialism but was sadly enslaved by Nkrumahnism
    Without partiality make an honest analysis and you will thank God for Danquah Bus ...

• BABY FACE 10 years ago

HEY HEY MR MRS HAWA DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME TO CONTRADICT YOURSELF AND SPEW YOUR TRIBAL SLOGANS.HOW MANY VOTES DO YOU HAVE,OR YOU THINK YOU CAN STUFF THE BALLOT BOX WIH FOREIGN MATERIALS GAIN,TWEAAAA!HAWA THE MAN,LET ME TELL Y ...

• koo 10 years ago

sir, something that is bad is always bad; it can't be good in one way one and bad in another. so this one de33 u goofed big time.

• james naru 10 years ago

PLEASE LET’S COMPARE THESE GOVERNMENTS
    PLEASE HAVE A LOOK AT A SUMMARY OF NKRUMAH’S GOVERNMENT
    Government: One party state
    What the country got out of it
    • Akosombo Dam and Hydro Power
    • Ghana Airways
    • Tem ...

• KKO 10 years ago

Yea, we can't stand the truth, that is why we ended ujp with Mahama!!!

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Unless the article missed the crux of his Economic argument, Casely-Hayford failed to prove what he claims to be the purpose his crusade.

Having followed his submissions and utterances for sometime, I am convinced he has ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

WONIM OWOO A HWE NDA.......MUGABE IS NKRUMAH'S PROTEGE......WHATEVER TACTICS AND POLITICAL CHICANERY HE IS USING TO ENTRENCH HIMSELF AT THE GRAND OLD AGE OF NINETY HE ACQUIRED IT FROM NKRUMAH,HIS POLITICAL MENTOR AND A PRODUC ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

You will love my article.

SARPONG , BESIDE ALL THOSE PROJECTS OSAGYEFO DR. NKRUMAH BUILT FOR GHANA WE ARE BENEFITING FROM UNTIL TODAY , PLEASE TELL US WHAT KIND OF PROJECTS K.A.BUSIA AND OTHER OPPOSITION MEMBERS TO OSAGYEFO DR. NKRUMAH DID FOR GHANA ? ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

KAMUZU BANDA OF MALAWI,ANOTHER PROTEGE OF NKRUMAH, RULED MALAWI TILL HE DIED AGED NINETY......WONIM OWOO A HWE NDA ......BOTH KAMUZU BANDA AND MUGABE GIVE US A GLIMPSE OF HOW NKRUMAH,THEIR POLITICAL MENTOR,WOULD HAVE ENTRENCH ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

What do you expect from a mixed race animal? It does not know where it belongs. It walks aimlessly. It adduces something without thought. In human form, he is prone to copy ideas without examining their effect to his own welf ...

• Koku 10 years ago

I am very sure this man Casely-Haford must out of his senses. Is this part of the free speech democracy? That people can just open their mouth talk nonsense because they feel saying something? He can justify some coups and fo ...

• RINGO 10 years ago

Don't waste your time on this IDIOT called SYDNEY CASELY-HAYFORD.Nkrumah is universally acknowledged as the greatest African.If overthrowing him was a good thing,what have Ghanaians accomplished 48 years after removing him fr ...

• nanabenyin 10 years ago

What is all this nonsense, coup by Former President Rawlings was a bad idea as you put it, but the overthrow of President Nkrumah was a good idea? please shut up if you don't have anything sensible to say. sick of people of l ...

• kofi Antwi 10 years ago

Why are you giving this IDIOT some press. Who the heck is he to be judging which coup was right and which was not. Obviously he has revealed his biasness. Go back to sleep.

• mohammed abubakar sidiq 10 years ago

these are the uneducated slaves but who have degreres which do not educate then to discern between good a bad coup.i think is clear that after more than twenty years of multi party democracy the country is retrogressing.this ...

• p.tosh 10 years ago

no wonder,this casely-hayford is beez.only npp or akans presidents are best?see them fightin for power,but they knows it not hour, so they bribe to little the best president,we are not ignorance,u can tell ashantis and akyems ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Nkrumah was also Akan president, brother. Let's stop this tribal thing. Thank you

• p.tosh 10 years ago

Nkrumah is not AKAN capital?

• Kosoko 10 years ago

I don't think you know who the Akans are. Maybe you think only the Akyems and the Asantes constitute the ethnic group we called the Akan. Sorry, its much bigger than these two groups.

• Damango - USA 10 years ago

Supporters of Nkrumah have to face it...they are incompetent. Cannot compete in a world that reward hard work, perseverance and accountability. His followers mostly rely on the ineptness of a government system and personali ...

• p.tosh 10 years ago

during nkrumah time how many ghanaians are living in abroad? during nkrumah time how many ghanainas are cleaning the toilet in abroad? Tell me""""About Fatiah stop this propagadas. she was living in cairo it was flat apartmen ...

• Anin, USA 10 years ago

You are absolutely right, Hayford

• p.tosh 10 years ago

tell me MR casely!how many mansions did kufour have? how many houses have nana akuffo Addo have? Criminals and nation wreckers,

• ALPHA 10 years ago

a TRUE NEO COLONIALIST AND DUMB ASS.

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

There is: A/ Constitution which means the way a group of people govern themselves; this could be written or unwritten; and, B/ Contitutional Law is the Law that relates to Constitution

- democratically elected ruler remain ...

• wise 10 years ago

who is this stupid casely hafooooool where did he get his ignorance education, if all this people are politicians in ghana now, then ghana is finish.

• The truth 10 years ago

As much as I like Nkrumah, his overthrow was good.

• Abeiku 10 years ago

This Dude was not even born to know what was happening! Neo colonialist who doesn't know his roots! Lazy drone who depends on bribes and kickbacks to survive! A financial analyst???? Oh my gosh!

• Papa 10 years ago

57 years down the line and we still depend on the factories and projects he built. Idiot fools like you destroy the country and then take your family outside to enjoy and leave us here.Granted he may not have had the most dem ...

• wise 10 years ago

if we have two of this kind of idiot so call politicians in ghana polities then ghana is finish, we will never ever progress. because this idiot is not critical thinker and he don't know what is good for himself.

• Yaa 10 years ago

I don't like to resort to name calling but in this case the shoe fits. This Sydney person is clearly an idiot and I didn't need to finish reading the article to know that.

• HOUSTON, TEXAS, USA. 10 years ago

BEFORE A CUSTOM OFFICER WILL OPEN AND INSPECT A CONTAINER, HE WILL ASK THE SHIPPERS TO GIVE HIM A CERTAIN AMOUNT. HE WILL SAY IF THIS AMOUNT IS NOT PAID TO ME, THEN, YOUR CONTAINERS WILL NOT BE OPENED.
    THIS IS WHAT IS HAPPE ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

This is not bribery but blackmail. Some Ghanaians prefer this mode of existence saying it is a faster way of getting things done which shames me. We have come to accept bribery as a way of life on top of their salaries. Overn ...

• KWAME ADDO 10 years ago

Can Casely-Hayford tell me where he learnt his foolishness from? If I don't know why people call him an analyst with is childish brain? Dr Nkrumah was elected leader when even he was in imprison. Before 1957 Dr Nkrumah won mo ...

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Just asking....
    Did Jake Obestebi Lamptey radicalize Sydney at any point?

• ESI 10 years ago

I HAVE ALWAYS SAID AND KEEP SAYING THAT GHANA IN PARTICULAR AND AFRICA IN GENERAL IS FULL OF INTELLECTUALS WHO ARE VERY IGNORANT OF ALMOST EVERYTHING THEY TALK ABOUT.
    JUST A SIMPLE HISTORICAL STUDY ON ALL DEVELOPED NATIONS O ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Good one Esi

• Owura Kwaku Ntiamoah 10 years ago

Ghanaians may have different views of Dr. Kwame Nkrumah for many, many years to come. But the one thing with which any reasonable citizen of a nation will agree is that a military coup is never a good thing. There can never ...

• Rob 10 years ago

The Nkrumah coup was inevitable. He had created a pressure cooker with his detention and maltreatment of so many people that it had to blow up.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Let the anti-Nkurmahist speak. Nkrumha is still Ghana and Ghana is Nkrumah!

• Dr.Kofi Baidoo 10 years ago

Akadu,
    Amen to your comments on Casely Hayford's utter poppy-cock.
    He has forgotten his family history that Nkrumah made his father/grandfather A REAL LAWYER.
    Casely must know that Nkrumah is still Ghana and Ghana is Nkrum ...

• David 10 years ago

Blame our illiterate and sensational media. This man never makes sense and is morbidly anti government. he comments on everything from Charcoal to coal
    What are his personal achievements. A returnee making all the wrong ...

• Paapa 10 years ago

Can any of you running your mouths tell me why the words of the National Anthem was changed to the present one?
    If you find out why, you will salute this Carsley Hayford guy.

• TK 10 years ago

Casley Hayford is one of Ghana's problem I am willing to challenge his nonsense. the overthrow of nkrumah did only satisfied the Ashantis but to the detriment of Gnana. what have we achieved as a nation after the overthrow of ...

• kb 10 years ago

Hartford Abi they otiya werey ni.Hayford you dey craze,Your mind needs flushing.Nkrumah was good for your European forefathers,fuckin bursaries.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

If the CIA had a hand in it, then 'retroscopically' speaking, then it surely wasn't in our best interest. No doubt, why we can't shake ourselves off from our neo-colonial status.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Sydney is allowed to think the way he wants even if it is foolish and senseless.

• gilbert 10 years ago

if you are speaking as politician, then good, but as economist you are a big fullllllll

• Skains 10 years ago

This guy doesn't make sense and should stay away from politics. During Nkrumah's time, colonialists were working around the clock to see Ghana's dependence fail. Meanwhile they were using agents in the opposition to further ...

• Lawrence Osei Amponsah 10 years ago

Please, when Nkrumah was the Prime Minister;Who was the Chief Justice?.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

This mad man hayford speaks from his ass.continue to live in your own world.

• OKOE 10 years ago

I KNOW THIS GUY AND HIS FAMILY. BEFORE INDEPENDENCE THEY HELD THEMSELVES AS IF THEY WERE SOME OBRONI WEWU IN GHANA. THEY BECAME ORDINARY AFTER INDEPENDENCE AND THEY BECAME NONENTITIES HENCE THE DISLIKE FOR NKRUMAH. WELL DR. ...

• Kokuvi 10 years ago

You see how narrow minded you are? You really need a progressive free education. After the useless coup what have we as a nation achieved?

• Odasanibi 10 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah did some good. some bad and some ugly too. In this age, no people would want to ascribe to dictatorship, but i have to say he tackled some important needs of the country more than any other president in our histor ...

• mr. big stuff 10 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah was the real deal, He was and real man with BIG balls who was not afraid
    to a chance, he open our eyes. look at Tema city as a whole then and now nd other things he did for our Ghana. pin head before u say anyth ...

• Nii Shargy 10 years ago

Hello Ghanaians, The Western world knows how best our country Ghana and our continent Africa will well stand than any country in the world. That is why some of the whites came to Ghana to influence Ghanaians to overthrow Nkru ...

• Kwame - Joburg 10 years ago

Nkrumah delivered Ghana from colonialism and inspired the rest of Africa to seek freedom.

• I love Ghana, New York 10 years ago

Shut up. He didn't deliver anybody. It was God who helped us. He was a wicked dictator, who couldn't use the hefty money given Ghana by the British to develop out nation. He cursed Ghana.

• Kai 10 years ago

Your ignorance is unbelievable.?
    It's 2014 and you still haven't understood what Nkrumah was trying to do for Ghana and Africa?
    The lack of it is what is causing the rapid decay of Africa today.

• Richard Deku 10 years ago

It was a big mistake for these who overthrow Nkrumah his vision was to unite the whole Africa and now who can do that.It was a big mistake

• Mallam 10 years ago

I don't agree with the writer being that the mindset at independence was that of liberation and patriotism to god and country and not acquisition of individual wealth as it pertains now.mr analyst what is your analysis betwee ...

• Jab 10 years ago

Bob Marley the reggae legend said " I'm just asking a question" And l just want to ask Ghanians a question. Do you guys enjoy the freedom of speech, association, to vote, to belong to any political party you choose, or one ...

• NUHU ABUDUL 10 years ago

Anyway,i'm not suprise of our financial situition in the country at now if we still have gays like thise man.Has he compare the financial level of those days and today?.

• NANAKATA 10 years ago

A PASSIONATE IDIOT HOW LONG WAS KWAME NKRUMAH IN OFFICE TO DESCRIBE HIM AS A DICTATOR?
    DID WE HAVE OPPOSITION IN PARLIAMENT?
    NKRUMAH A CONSTITUTIONAL DICTATOR?
    ASK RAWLINGS.
    THIS MAN IS SO IGNORANT,SO,SO IGNORANT!
    THE ND ...

• Ayeboafo NkwantaBisa 10 years ago

Is it not a shame for Casely-Hayford and the then Opposition party to say that Nkrumah's overthrow was a good thing?

Did these greedy Casely-Hayford and then Opposition party (now NPP) thought about GHANA?

Did they gave ...

• anthony 10 years ago

rubbish only a fool will say that.
    A small minded person

• MARCUS 10 years ago

THIS MAN IS MAD GUY JUST DO NOT MIND HIM.

• Eddie 10 years ago

All this shows how great this man was. Am almost in my third decade andshe always hearing this man. He dead and gone for ages but still he lives and we talk of him day in n day out.

• THEtTruth 10 years ago

It was a total DISASTER and a selfish Act!!!

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

SO WHAT IS CASELY HAYFORD TRYING TO SAY? SOME COUP DETATS ARE GOOD AND OTHERS BAD? SO WHY WAS THE AMERICA CIA INVOLVED? FOR THE GOOD OF BLACK AFRICANS, AT A TIME WHEN BLACK AMERICAN CITIZENS COULD NOT VOTE? NKRUMAH'S OVERTHR ...

• Kai 10 years ago

You are a great disappointment to the African continent.
    May God forgive you and us all.

• Adu-Ampomah 10 years ago

i share same idea with the writer. Nkrumah was ambitious and political detector who wanted to President for life. even PDA was the worst of all which caused the death of J.B.Danquah

• Yaakov Shamir 10 years ago

Shalom,

Is it a good thing to free Afrika from colonialism and imperialism?

Was it a good thing to be a puppet of the USA, Britain, and France?

How nonsensical it is to think that this man's overthrow was a good thin ...

• THE PRESIDENT (DANIEL) 10 years ago

I DON'T KNOW WHO IS
    THIS MR.CASLEY, BUT I WILL LIKE YOU TO REMEMBER THE AFRICAN SAYING THAT GOES,(YOU CAN'T COOK RICE WITHOUT BURNING PART OF IT). THE REASON WHY HE(NKRUMAH) DID THAT, WAS ...