You are here: HomeNews2014 03 27Article 304511

'1979, 81 coups useless, stupid cause of economic woes'

Read Comments Comments (253)

• cha 10 years ago

Yes - this this evil man never came to the scene- Ghana will have made alot of progress

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

The Kuffuor led Maladroit government promised the world of a new Ghana cedi will gain value when pegged with the dollar, what we have now is not what was promised.Nothing was put in place by this illiterate Bawumia and his Ko ...

• Teacher 10 years ago

Other major currencies NOT currency

Ghanaians are illiterate? --Ghanaians are illiterates.

borrow but invest the borrowing wisely? Hahaha, the word borrowing is a verb, you cannot invest borrowing.

Listen to this ill ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

THE BRAID OF THESE NDC GREEDY BASTARD VERRANDAH BOYS WHO ARE DESTROYING OUR ECONOMY

• SHAMO 10 years ago

AFTER 20YRS RULE HE COULDNT SEND US TO THE PROMISE LAND HE PROMISE! HALF EWE MENTALITY!!! LOOK AT MALAYSIA, THAILAND , SOUTH KOREA, HONG KONG

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings and his Ewe gangsters and some few misguided Northners and Akans staged those coup to loot Ghana.

We are all witnessing what JJ Rawlings and his Ewes have done to Ghana. They have looted Ghana's treasury to bec ...

• NANA Ø !! 10 years ago

What a clown this guy is .

• facts 10 years ago

Enough is enough with the provocations of Rawlings hurtful speeches. If there is any individual that has harmed the freedom of Ghana, that is Rawlings. For him to claim that he is not corrupt, he killed innocent leaders of ou ...

• Derrick 10 years ago

At last someone has the platform and the guts to speak the truth! for the younger generation who never experienced this i understand your ignorance but whoever lived through this and took the jumped on the bandwagon to loot, ...

• KWAKU SEI 10 years ago

HE THINGS THE INDEMNITY CLAUSE WILL PROTECT HIM FOREVER. LET HIM CAMPAIGN FOR HIS NDC PARTY AGAIN IN 2016.

• STEPHEN OSEI ,NORWAY 10 years ago

HE THINK IS OVER,HE WILL ANSWER ALL TO GOD

• KWEKU ANANSE 10 years ago

MAD CONTRIBUTORS,WHERE WERE YOU AND WHERE ARE YOU NOW? COME OUT AND THROW THE FIRST STONE. TALK ABOUT THOSE PRIMITIVE LOOTERS/ARMED ROBBERS WHO DESERVED THE FIRING SQUAD THEY FACED. MOST OF THESE FOOLS TALKING NONSENSE WERE K ...

• francis 10 years ago

you were eating poultry feed and yellow corn so you killed them to replace your poultry feed right!you're trying to justify killing of fellow human because you were eating poultry feed! are you eating queens food now after ki ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Hi Kweku,
    If you were eating poultry feed and yellow corn, do not blame anybody but blame your parents. You see in Ghana some tribes are hard working and strive to take care of themselves and their families. For example the ...

• MenayeFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Repeal the Indemnity Clause that shields the Sadist Rawlings and his band of despots for the courts to decide if they are to be prosecuted by all those he wronged or not. Because up till date he has not admitted the heinous c ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Indeed what a CLOWN he is. Which coup has been beneficial to Ghana? All coups held us back especially the 1966 coup that set a precedent and opened the flodd gates for further coups.

In my opinion, the worst of all is the ...

• william 10 years ago

The guy is really confused. Please stay away from political analysis when you are not trained in the area, Sydney!!!And stop the intellectual dishonesty. Which coup can be welcome, shame!

• francis 10 years ago

and you have also shown that you're worst than sydney by also single out only one, the 1966.

• kofi 10 years ago

Read the article well, he rubbished all the coups

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Yes, we still have brave men in Ghana still.JJ is a foolish man indeed.

• SHAMU 10 years ago

This people seems to say or talk any how. It is a sickness one not to understand the usefulness of revolution. This comment sound very unfounded to a point that, if Ghana were to be better before revolution, the revolution wo ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Infact, with the level of indiscipline, greed and lack of patriotism in both gov't and opposition, a second house cleaning exercise is long over due. It seems Ghanaians only learn the hard way.

• dan 10 years ago

to stand trial for murders he commited

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Well he said, some of the dead were innocent and that makes him guilty, but he must go down with those who sold and stole the drill ship money, like Nana Addo and that motorway NPP man, along with the Greeda and all the corru ...

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

DID YOU HEAR THE NAME HE MENTIONED WHY DO YOU EXCLUDE THE NOTORIUS LOOTER RAWLINGS NAME?.GHANAMAN YOU ARE A THWART AND TRIBALISTIC FOOL,PERIOD.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

I am not Ewe and if you read my comment well, you would realize I did not exclude Rawlings. Read again.

• Africa Patriot 10 years ago

Who lost the drillship? Was it not Tsatsu who gambled the ship away?

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

What sort of nonsensical is this? Was it not JJ who formed NDC Party? Why has he shut up his mouth? If you wake up one day and realize that Military has taken over Ghana will be happy? If the answer is NO then there is no sen ...

• francis 10 years ago

do you call this ghana saved! or you think your party is in power so you have access to everything so ghana is saved! those robbers that you're brooding will get you one day!

• kwaku kwaku 10 years ago

Very pitty to hear from some of you still haven't lived to listened and learned and unfortunately never witnessed the living hell of such a life some of us have been through in the hands of JJ , I believe a true Ghanaian wou ...

• kwaku kwaku 10 years ago

You sounds like you came down through your MAMA'S LEGS at birth with your Legs first instead of your Head coming out first and you must have hurt HER and continue hurting others, who so ever told you that the so-call Revolu ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

All of sudden everybody become men in Ghana, where were they?

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Lawless Rawlings and his hungry group of KAYABALE wearing poor thieves who have learnt to wear proper shoe today and are now insulting hardworking men and women who could feed themselves then (before 1979) and now. Their ugly ...

• Akua AU 10 years ago

Yes indeed with all the 'sacrifices' he made with human blood did not erase corruption during and after his 20years of abomination. He still rants and apportion blame to other people.

• tijani 10 years ago

wo ano ye ya pa pa

• ------------ 10 years ago

YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL. THANK YOU KOLA.

• Wofa Yaw 10 years ago

Illiterate Kola is shrinking like his moniker now. Even a jss drop out will write better than you with better economics concept than your illiteracy here.

Your Ewe people do the menial jobs at the kookoase farms.

• Glo 10 years ago

Does "Kola"sound like an Ewe name?

• Ghana 10 years ago

Fuck off, he himself has declared his Ewe superiority so what are you talking about? How do you know I am using his name to determine his tribe?

• vl 10 years ago

Author Ghana.
    He never mentioned any tribal stuff in his analysis of the history. You seem not to be very well educated that's why you are attempting to change the conversation tribalism.

• John 10 years ago

Ugh fool..thanks to your dirty prostitute feeding you and your siblings that rat shiit..idiot

• Glo 10 years ago

Are you intelligent? You only seem to know how to defend yourself by insulting people or by hating people based on their ethnicity (perceived).

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

design n customise yr dream wedding and engagement yellow and white gold rings with samo jewellery......call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you some latest ring pictures onto yr fon.....you can locate us on tonaton.com. ...

• ATOBRA K. 10 years ago

WHAT STUPID ANALYSIS ARE YOU ADVANCING HERE. HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN HOW MUCH MAHAM AND HIS CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE GANGS HAVE SQUANDED SINCE 2009 ? THE FISICAL INDISCIPLINE IN THE ECONOMY IS THE PROBLEM WE ARE FACING, OFUI FULL OF ...

• 123 10 years ago

We are still suffering after the effects of KWASEA BI NTI Rawlings foolishness.

• Texas 10 years ago

..Where was this fool in 1979 when the uprising took place? Was he not part of the 99% of ghanaians who supported it and screamed "let the blood flow"? Its funny how people with no dignity and concience instantly make a u-tur ...

• AFRICAN 10 years ago

You are a fool, where did you get the 99% nonsense from? There were at least 40% of Ghanaians that did not support this son of a whore trokosi bastard. Those people who condemned it are not living, at least those who condemne ...

• I&I 10 years ago

Texas, you don't seem to know what you are talking about. What made you thing that 99% of Ghana's population supported the evil coup of 79 & 81? How did you come up with that? And don't tell me Prof. Adu Boahen and Mike Ocqua ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Who were the 99% that supported the idiot Rawlings? You were only in one damned place in Ghana at the time but you are talking 99%. Maybe 99% of the Trokosi population wanted the blood to flow because that's your hobby anyway ...

• June 10 years ago

Discus issues and leave tribe alone you primitive Male Monkey

• The 10 years ago

Listen to this trokosi smelly funky bitch. Go and see how your sisters are fighting to get an Asante man to marry them, you ekoro whore.

ASANTENI GORILLA,BUSH RAT,GOD PUNISH YOUR MAMMA AND PAPPA. AN IDIOT OF A TRIBALIST. U ARE NO BETTER THAN AYIGBENI

• 123 10 years ago

Trokosi filthy maggots slave for Asantes as menial farm day labourers

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

KOLA what is wrong with you? You are just too tribal and it is not healthy for Ghanaians. Could you not have articulated your point by not saying DAGARTI ECONOMICS and KOOKOASE Bush...? Tell your government to swallow her pri ...

• TRIBALWALL 10 years ago

For one way or the other rawshiit and his family will pay for the heavly price right here in ghana and on this earth. That faithful day is a calculated time period.

• Ayikwei 10 years ago

Kola, you are a big twat. You also need free SHS education, looking at your incompetence in the English Language.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Apart from the two coups, all the others were necessary to bring fairness back to Ghanaians and remove kalabula.

• BOB CAT 10 years ago

THE SUPERIOR CORRUPTION CAME TO REPLACED THE INFERIOR KALABULE.CORRUPTION WAS PLANTED IN GHANA BY RAWLINGS THAT IS WHY IT IS HAUNTING HIM DAYIN AND DAYOUT.HE WILL ALWAYS REFUTE IT BUT IT IS TRUE,HE IS GOING DIE IN IT AND HIS ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

His over reliance on the Brethren wood institutions killed all his earlier messiah status and that is burning him inside.

But make no mistake, the 1980s brought some sanity in Ghana. Yes, few did it and that was much easi ...

• bogass 10 years ago

DO YOU REMEMBER DURING KUFFOUR'S GOV'T, THE CEDI WAS STABLE . AS SOON AS THOSE NDC THIEVES TOOK POWER, THE CEDI STARTED FALLING TILL NOW. CHEC YOUR FACTS.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Haahaaahaaaaaahaaaaa!!!!!!!, My brother KOLA, you finally grab the horn of these npp idiots.

• KOFI YEESU 10 years ago

THIS KOLA GUY MUST BE DEPORTED TO MAHAMA'S VILLAGE IN GHANA TO SELL KOLA. GHANA NOW, NEEDS THINKERS LIKE BAWUMIAH AND NANA ADDO TO FIX THE MESS AND PAIN NDC MISMANAGEMENT HAS INFLICTED ON GHANAIANS. WE DO NOT DESERVE THIS COR ...

• Lt. Gen Lizard 10 years ago

KOKLO KOLA,that is a stupid TROKOSI ewe analysis.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

I will not call you a human being but an ordinary material to be precise a shit.

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

Djelokokpe mafia. A murderer is always a murderer no matter what.

• Assam 10 years ago

But Rawlings and his cohorts were all idiots and morons and didn't understand Market economy. The idiotic ghanaian public also hailed them. All must suffer to rot. AMEn!!!

• francis 10 years ago

yes, i support you 100 percent. ghanaians deserve everything that's happening to them now. next time they should use their heads instead and not their motions be4 they jump to the streets to sing praises to any nincompoop

• Kwame 10 years ago

The 1966 coup is justified.

LATE NEWS....LET'S SEE THOSE WHO CAN ARREST JJ. NO IDIOT COULD DO IT.

• FACT 10 years ago

BEFORE 1966, GHANA PROCESSED HER RAW MATERIALS LOCALLY AND IN THE PROCESS CREATED JOBS FOR GHANAIANS. AFTER THE THE 1966 COUP GHANA RESUMED EXPORTING HER RAW MATERIALS TO THE WEST FOR PROCESSING AS WE WERE DOING IN THE COLONI ...

• nanaabro 10 years ago

I think what Mr. Sydney was saying is part of the problem we are facing now and the other part is not being able to hold our leaders accountable to their promises. They the leaders fail to even let those in their government g ...

• unclefi 10 years ago

Ghanaians are funny people

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

There is no idiot like this Casele-Hayford guy. We lived it too.

• STEVO 10 years ago

I didn't live it but from history I think Mr Hayford is either did not live it, childish or stupid. I do not support the killings at that time considering I had a family member amongst them but JJ should be giving sme credit ...

Was the coup against Limann really not stupid? How long had Limann been president when Jerry convinced some the Northners in the military to overthrow him? Even the one against Akuffo was just useless because the military was ...

• I say 10 years ago

You didnt live it but have the stupid nerve to comment on those who saw and lived it. Your mother was wiping your stinky ass with banana leaves and searching high and low for essential commodities. One of the points being est ...

• Joe Wapi 10 years ago

I happen to agree with the writer. Others will agree with him too. Some others like you will disagree, and that is all fine. So learn to agree to disagree and refrain from resorting to insults. Using insults does not make you ...

• seth CALL 07737190496 10 years ago

our economy started dwindling when that fucking ayigbe lieutenant general zombie allowed america CIA backed by britain overthrowed DR.KWAME NKRUMAH IN 24TH FEB.1966.CHECK THIS FACTS.19YRS OF RAWLINGS IS RUBBISH.OVERTHROWING G ...

• Jab 10 years ago

Yea! Now someone is bold to hit the nail right in the head. We need people like you to speak the truth. For starters, anyway, PNDC gave birth to NDC. There we go. Nobody want to talk about it. Ignorant people don't know the c ...

• Harry Winter 10 years ago

So far this is one of the sensible response that l have read. Most of these people insulting the writer were not born at time of these coups. What Acheampong was used Br. Busia's five year development plan three years. Aft ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

We could all go back to the past to bring out garbage. In fact, the NPP has a more dirty past. I am not NDC but I hate it when people are bias.

• Me 10 years ago

I HAVE OVER THE YEARS WONDERED WHAT DESCRIPTION BEFITS THE COUPS DETATS BY RAWLINGS AND THIS BY CASELY HAYFORD BEST DESCRIBES IT. INDEED IT THEY WERE A WASTE OF OUR TIME.

RAWLINGS STILL BOASTS OF THAT AS ACHEIVEMENTS. HOW ...

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

The reconcilliation committee treated some of these issues. Why should we continue to disturb the emotions of the victims family. Sensible journalism and cool headedness is needed by social commentators. Come of it, Mr Hayfor ...

What do you call hate speeches? You don't even know what is called hate. This idiot son of a hooker named Rawlings, even after all the reconciliation, came to pronounce publicly that his soldiers were right to cane women betw ...

• Marquis 10 years ago

Those are your views Sydney. Talk to other people and you will hear different things. Part of the developmental process we have to endure to get it right

• Naa 10 years ago

If coups are wrong then you should have included the 66 coup. Very Stupid man with stupid analysis

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

He didn't say coups are wrong.He said “'1979, 81 coups were useless"
    The 1966 coups was legitimate because Kwame Kruba has made himself President for life and the only avenue left for his removal was through the coup. Al ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

To you and others who felt Nkrumah had no right to become President of the nascent Ghana, the 1966 was "legitimate because it overthrew the great Satan Kwame Nkrumah! Because the great Satan jailed your parents who opposed Kw ...

• REV. 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT 1966? YOU ONLY SUCCEEDED IN SHOWING OF YOUR BIASED COLORS

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

The 1966 coups was legitimate and justified because Kwame Kruba has made himself President for life, has closed all avenues to vote him out and the only avenue left for his removal was through the coup. All other coups were ...

• Factually Reliable 10 years ago

The worst coup was 1966 coup detat. When Busia and his cohorts through CIA overthrew Nkrumah what happened next. Was it not increases in Rice prices that lead to his overthrown. SMC had become corrupt leaders and was just do ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Idiot, Nkrumah has destroyed the economy by 1966. There were long lines with people queing for soap, sugar and other essential commodities but that is not even the reason I support the 1966 coup.

It does not matter whethe ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

If he was destroying the economy, what did the traitors do after.

You are too ignorant to understand the world dynamism at the time and why Nkrumah and Ghana could not trust sympathizers of colonialism at the time.

G ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Hahaha, you are not ignorant, know what dynamism is but what is this,

"Down-finding"?

My brother, you are right. I know of DUMBFOUNDING but not down-finding.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Please do not entertain this lowlife Cardinal, teacher, Sarpong, kwasea bi nti, five fingers in mouth Nkrantea bini fufu slurping douche bag. He is nuts!

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

1966 paved the way for all the other coups we had in Ghana.

The citizens supported him and that is why his party was banned for fear of it winning again in 1969.

Malaysia and South Korea went one party for a long time ...

• Kojo Azemeti 10 years ago

The one-party state thing cardinal is referring to was something Ghanaians agreed to in a bid to curb all the excesses of the multi-party democracy we started with but which was seriously misunderstood and abused by certain t ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

The sad thing about Casely Hayford is that, he is nothing like the great Casely Hayford of the Gold Coast and I am not sure if they are related.

• francis 10 years ago

kojo, neocolonialism has been "kaakaamotobi" that kwaku ananse uses to scare his children, in the name of neocolonialism nkrumah was justified for declaring himself life president and one party state! no wonder ghana and afri ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

One Party state in those countries were approved by citizens and not by the Presidents. More importantly,they did not declare themselves Presidents for life.

So you wamted Ghana to be like Mobutu Congo which has not recove ...

Cardinal, to tell you the truth, Mobutu is the very opposite of Nkrumah. Patrice Lumumba was assassinated by the West after which the West put Mobutu in charge of Congo and guess what? The West were least concerned about the ...

Ask the people of North Korea if they are happy under the present president who now want all men to have a certain haircut-the one he has. Some of us still remember that school children had to wear that CPP scarf to school. H ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

You are one of those Ghanaians who think you should be allowed to poo everywhere because it is your fucking entitlement.

Tell me the character of his own people in the CPP who feared him?

Do deputies build nations? In ...

Frank Agyena-Karikari, all these ills you have catalogued against Nkrumah pale into insignificance if you weigh them against the fact that the coup against Nkrumah was not the brain child of any of our own people. If any visi ...

What was Kuffours Achievement to declare himself president for life. Kwasea, When Nkrumah had won the prime minister seat what did you do. Gyemi your ancestry wanted a federal state of Asante hence created tribalistic groups ...

• Dr SSSSSSSS 10 years ago

Who introduced ''coup ''in Ghana?Anytime people talk about coup,they virtualy leave Afrifa,s name,why always Papa J? why the hatred?

The man who introduced coup in Ghana is Trokosi Kwesi Kotoka, not Amankwaa Afrifa. Afrifa only became a head of state after Kotoka was killed and his predecessor Ankrah had resigned.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

NLC, the military council that ruled Ghana after the 1966 coup, was led by Emmanuel Kwasi Kotoka with Afrifa as his second in command. That is an undeniable fact. Since then, all coups in Ghana were led by Ewes. In 1972 whe ...

• I say 10 years ago

Well said - This will shut up some ignoramus

Kwasea but the 1979 coup was not instigated by Osahene Boakye Gyan an later brought on Jerry cos of his charisma. Why are some you educated derelicts.

• Texas 10 years ago

Whwre was this fool in 1979 when the uprising took place? Was he not part of the 99% of ghanaians who supported it and screamed "let the blood flow"? Its funny how people with no dignity and concience instantly make a u-turn ...

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

THAT IS ONLY IN YOUR DREAMS, THAT 99% OF GHANAIANS SUPPORTED THE UNNECESSARY BLOODY REVOLUTION.NO VOTE WAS CAST TO SEE HOW MANY GHANAIANS SUPPORTED IT AT THAT TIME.

• sikdo.pjohn 10 years ago

jj.and.his.ndc.Are.killing.ghanaians.the.killing.which.is.going.on.in.ghana.now.is.mahama.jj.Asiedu.nketia.is.themh.ghanaians.dont.take.it.as.joke.mahama.is.a.bad,man.killer

• sikdo.pjohn 10 years ago

Jj.u.see

• YAW SEBEH 10 years ago

What a sad commentary on our history.

How old is this man? He is doing grave injustice to our history.

• joe 10 years ago

what do you have to say and stop talking about age.After all there are bunch of aged ppl who knows nothing.

• YAW SEBEH 10 years ago

The reason why I asked for his age is that no responsible, intelligent and honest, mature man would muster the courage to say the stupid things that he said about those two coup d'etats. In fact, those of us who witnessed the ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

You spoke well. Sydney was born with a golden spoon in his mouth, so he can sing to his pals who were born the same.When we were queuing for essential commodities then, theirs were being delivered to their front and back door ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

"He described General I. K. Acheamapong’s coup against Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia’s Government in 1972 as “a total waste of my time in my life”, and said: “Then after that we had the ‘79 coup; an equally useless event. ...

• YAW SEBEH 10 years ago

another spineless coward with a computer.

• FOFIO TETTENYO 10 years ago

Good,Mr Caseley-Hayford.These is a man who can't manage his home and took a gun,rule without any understanding simple economic principles,they've really set us back for centuries.Indeed a stupid and useless coup in 1979,1981 ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

The CPP which then had the support of more than half the country was prevented from competing in the 1969 elections. Kutu simply put things right by brushing aside the product of the CIA induced decision.
    The other coups I ...

• CROSS 10 years ago

Let us learn from the positive aspects of what happened to us in the past for once and stop this kind of one sided historical pollution.why not mention the 1966 coup? our politicians cant be trusted hence our woes.

• dekanabe 10 years ago

Where were u in the 70's ? What about 66?

• Zak 10 years ago

I have no idea whether this stupid Sydney guy was in the country at that time.I was.In 79,I was in secondary school form 3.After morning devotion,we all saw our headmaster & staff jubilating that there was coup in Accra & tha ...

• Abba 10 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• jim 10 years ago

Thank you. pls let that f---rawlings know how we the people feel about him and his stupid utterances

• WTF 10 years ago

Another Danquah-Busia good coup apologist. ALL COUPS ARE WRONG AND ESPECIALLY THE FIRST ONE IN 1966! If you believe in coups, idiot, then I hope the next one consumes you personally - preferably by being shot point-blank in y ...

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• O'Dotcom 10 years ago

HmmmmHmmmm…asem se be

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

It is time for Ghanaian to demand apologise from Rawlings. Rawlings was no hero he was concern about his stomach not the good of Ghana

• Nii 10 years ago

HOW OLD WERE YOU?THE STATUSQUO SUITED PEOPLE LIKE YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.IT WAS NOT GOOD FOR THOSE OF US WHO HAD TO GO THROUGH MAKOLA MARKET TO BUY CHLOROQUINE AND SYRINGES BEFORE RECEIVING OUR TREATMENT FOR MALARIA.WHAT PRESID ...

• STEVEN OKINE 10 years ago

YES,CAN IMAGINE?THIS COUP MURDERER NOW LIVING A COMFORTABLE LIFE AT THE EXPENSE OF TAX PAYER.HE KILLED GEN.ACHEAMPONG AND GOOD GENERALS MORE INTELLIGENT THAT CAN BE OF USE.TELL ME WHAT IS HIS USE NOW? CAN'T EXPLAIN ANYTHING J ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE MAD ADVENTURE OF THE ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILITARY UNIFORMS THAT IVERTHREW THE LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT OF 1966, AND TO DERAIL ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT THAT HAD TAKEN OFF IN THE COUNTRY.

LET US TRY TO BE O ...

• don 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE 1966 COUP?

You are very BLIND STUPID MAN who don't know Ghana before 1979.

You weren't in Ghana when we queue to buy toilet rolls at Gov't. Designated Shops?

You make me know you are also corrupt like ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Stupid analysis by stupid man. Is he justifying the 1966 coup as legitimate if all these coups are useless and stupid. Go away with your stupid NPP bias analysis. Dhame

• Kofi Adu DENVER USA 10 years ago

yes you are right

• Captein 10 years ago

This guy is a total liar. GHANAIANS will suffer because every now and then people come to lie claiming they were there or something.
    Certainly no one supports coups.

• joe 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Casely-Hayford.We need men who can tell us the truth and the way forward but not those liars and selfish beings.

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

The most stupid coup was the 1966 coup.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY. 10 years ago

The true fact is Rawlings has never ever been successful in any coup in Ghana. 15 May was just a 30 45 minutes military mutiny led by Rawlings who was immediately captured by Major Sulemana and his boy popularly known then a ...

• saka powers 10 years ago

hi am spiritual from Benin am back in Ghana again for just three week for money ritual?
    travelling problem if u need motia for your work pastor who need powers for church any one who need his or here business to go on contac ...

• CAPII 10 years ago

SENSELESS AS WELL,VALUE DESTRUCTION BY THESE USELESS ABONGO BOYS.THE ECONOMIC CRISIS WE ARE IN IS B'COS OF RAWLINGS & BOAKYE GYAN STUPID ATROCITIES IN '79,'81.

• kojo 10 years ago

The coups killed kalabule and stopped the decay.

• Galle Dzokoto 10 years ago

may be to you but to me me it had it's significance. I have not read the whole article yet though.

• Galley Dzokoto 10 years ago

may be to you but not to me. I have not read the whole article yet though.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

After so many years, the question should not be about what JJ did but what we need to do to move forward. What saddens me is the fact that JJ continues to rule indirectly with his negative periodic spews and the appeal to his ...

• MAK 10 years ago

Good to learn from history. But, trouble is really not coups folks! It is our attitude. If the attitude is right, there will be no need for coups. Go to the institutions of higher learning and ask why they are there. Over 90% ...

• MAK 10 years ago

We expect suggestions like, how can we reduce the public wage bill & still increase productivity? how can we increase productivity in the face of power outages etc? could wages be tied to no. of days worked so that I am free ...

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

THERE ARE THOSE WHO DREAM OF A BETTER LIFESTYLE
    AND
    AND THOSE WHO LIVE THEIR DREAMS
    THOSE WHO WONDER WHAT TOMORROW WILL BRING

• Joe 10 years ago

Rawlings is the root cause of our problems and challenges that we are facing in Ghana. Rawlings is bastard

• kpakpil 10 years ago

MR FINANCIAL ANALYST EXCUSE ME. DONT WALK ON A ROAD THAT YOU HAVE NO CLUES AT ALL ABOUT. SO IT IS THE 79 AND 81 COUPS THAT U HAVE A BEEF WITH AND NOT THE 66 ONE. NO I SMELL A RAT. LETS BE REAL

• kofi hayford 10 years ago

this man is fool of all the fools

• I say 10 years ago

what are you talking about? you were not even born ?

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

GHANIANS KNOW JJ IS CRIMINAL,CORRUPT,ND INSANE,BLOOD DRINKER, JUJU JJ KWASEA BI NTI,ADWEI

• vl 10 years ago

I agree with Hayford. He seems to be a very intelligent person. He is one of the few people in and around leadership in Ghana who seems to reason, instead saying dumb things like Mahama this or Mahama that. This is a construc ...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

CASELY!IF YOU ARE NOT BEING PARTIAL WHAT ABOUT THE AFRIFA AND KOTOKA COUP IN 1966 THAT TOPPLED NKRUMAH?

• ANGRY EBUSUA ROBERTS 10 years ago

I AM HAPPY THAT GHANAIANS ARE NOW LEARNING TO KNOW THAT OUR WOES ARE ALL FROM RAWLINGS AND OTHER SOLDIERS, STARTING FROM ACHEAMPONG, AGBO, SELORMEY, KWAME BAAH, AND OTHERS. RAWLINGS MUST KNOW THAT A TIME IS COMING AND HE WILL ...

• YAA 10 years ago

RAWLINGS IS THE CAUSE OF GHANA'S PROBLEMS AND NOW THE STUPID NDC THIEVES, LOOTING ALL GHANA'S MONEY. IS TIME WE VOTE THEM OUT OF OFFICE.

• FA 10 years ago

INDEMNITY CLAUSE OUT OF THAT CONSTITUTION NOW.

• ABISA 10 years ago

This is why it is dangerous to use the army to maintain internal peace and order. The army should only be used to protect the country from external threats. PERIOD.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Most of our headaches is the military that we have. That is something I blame the British because they set up the military to help them fight Nazi Germany. They should have disbanded it right after the second world war but k ...

• JOE D 10 years ago

Why didn,t u say its useless in 1979 and 81.Please keep u,r fucking mouth shut.Rawlings did what was suppose to be done in 79 and 81 period.U are a coward that,s why u shouting with u,r mouth without action

• Baa Nuakoh 10 years ago

Even "IF" things were wrong, it is not the duty of the military to take power. What business do they have in politics.
    The cause of our problems stems from the 1966, 1979, 1981 and all the military interventions in our coun ...

• JOE D 10 years ago

At least there was no armed robbery in his time.So no matter what he has done something.What have u done?

• Dzamefe Komla 10 years ago

You are a person with no ideas - "IDEALESS".

• MAKAMAKA 10 years ago

rawlings is the source of all that is wrong in Ghana today

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

He destroyed Ghana and introduced lawlessness

• op 10 years ago

rawlings collaps Ghaana's economy.i travelled to germany in 1977.My plane fair was 600 and 70 Cedis.Acheampong and his people were killed because of 50.000 cedis loan they took.

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

When you have a man who was born with a golden spoon in his mouth spewing out such hogwash of a speech,one thing the fair minded and objective listener or reader need ask is 'what economic activity did Rawlings disrupt'? Was ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Can you tell me what leads to hoarding? Humans are money conscious and will do whatever it takes to more at the least opportunity. So, what lead to hoarding? When essential commodities become scares and the government fails ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

Thanks Pelicles, you make a good argument but you forgot to add that Busia's expulsion of all foreigners-aliens compliance order- seriously has had an adverse effect on our economy till date. The Lagotians then, were the maj ...

• naa 10 years ago

SILLY MAN !!!

• Ewe nation 10 years ago

Rawlings ,our Ewe hero and statesman, saved Ghana with a govt takeover.He should be commended for killing those enemies of Ghana who were hell bent on raping our nation and bring her down.The dynamism and ascendancy of Ghana ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

He is our gallant hero, bitterly hated by nation plunderers and well loved by the oppressed. I love and thank him for risking his life for our beloved Ghana.
    God abundantly bless J.J Rawlings.

• John 10 years ago

Some of you behave as if you were the only ones alive when Rawlings came onto scene. Your modafu#ker mind forgot ghanaians got to queue days before buying a common bread.HAs your stupid as*se forgotten the fact that people wh ...

• TEE 10 years ago

THE PROBLEMS IN GHANA IS THAT RAWLINGS SCARED ALL OUR ELDERLY AND ALL OUR MEN MENTALLY THAT IS WHY HE RAWLINGS HAS NOT BROUGHT TO COURT TO FACE JUSTICES. TRIBALISM IN OUR COUNTRY IS ALSO ANOTHER FACTOR PERIOD AND FOR THAT RE ...

• JMK 10 years ago

What is evil is EVIL. You are an academic. Please

• Anin, USA 10 years ago

This article is great

• TEE 10 years ago

BCOS RAWLINGS HAS BROUGHT TRIBALISM INTO OUR COUNTRY. NATIVE GHANAIANS ARE NOT USE TO BLOODY LIFE STYLE PERIOD. THE IS NO STRONG PERSONS IN GHANA TODAY TO MADE RAWLINGS FACE THE TRUTH

• BEENSTAR 10 years ago

good newws

• Ronnie 10 years ago

That bastard is jealous of those who by dint of hardwork has made it in life. There are those who were born great,those who have greatness bestowed on them and those who work, diligently and legitimately, achieve greatness. R ...

• ADONGO 10 years ago

NO REGIME HAS POLARIZED GHANAIAN POLITICS MORE THAN STUPID RAWLINGS GOVERNMENT.AND ITS DUE HIS BRUTAL DICTATORIAL POLICIES DISGUISED AS FIGHTING THE COURSE OF THE POOR ALLOWING OPPORTUNISTS LIKE THE TSIKATAS ,ET MENSAH,THE AH ...

• Amponsem 10 years ago

Oh dear Sydney Casely-Hayford,you have disgraced your father Ashey Casely-Hayford who fought for independence side by side with our late President Dr. Kwame Nkrumah when I was a school boy. If you want to talk about a histor ...

• ABBAS, LONDON 10 years ago

my broda all coupe be coup, so dont try to be selective

• Branaboy 10 years ago

Though I agree with Casely-Hayford that the Achaempong and ALL the Rawlings coups were a waste of time, I will have to disagree on his explanation of Kalabule.

The problem with that Achaempong era was that the import licen ...

• oyinasky 10 years ago

Why this Rawlings boy is still a freeman I do not know

• Redeemer, UCC 10 years ago

my people lets not just talk or write because someone has voiced out his own financial opinions but lets ask ourselves critical questions about the state of Ghana at that and the bi-polarity of the at that particular time.

• kaketonti 10 years ago

You know no fuko.All coups were good.Rawlings na good.SANKOFA ABOA

• WIL 10 years ago

STUPID FOOL!!

• Say-It-Loud 10 years ago

Say something sensible that would move the country forward and not talking about the past. The situations that called for those coups are not the same situations we have now. At least, it brought us the peace Ghana is enjoyi ...

• Seth Mifetu. 10 years ago

Mr.Sydney Casely-Hayford, you have deviated from the topic in which you were called to speak on. You have turn the topic, "public wage bill, labour agitations and falling cedi" to a coup lecture which have clearly spell out y ...

• Appiah Kubi 10 years ago

Well said, Sydney! It was selfishness, bitterness and personal greediness on the part of these coup perpetrators who overthrew Ghana's established governments. And, those coup perpetrators were even more corrupt and aimless t ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

I agree with the analysis 100 percent. Rawlings and his socialist followers know nothing about market economics. So when the supply side was week, prices went up. That's how markets work. No one controls the market; otherwise ...

• SHOOTER 10 years ago

The truism that everything about the P(NDC)military cum political entity is totally stupid and absolutely useless is a very apt description, and is a logically meritorious position, based on evidential facts, both past and pr ...

• Kwasi Owusu-Afriyie, Offinso 10 years ago

So Casley have u seen how u have exposed urself as npp member? How can u talk abt useless coups in ghana without talking abt the 1966 coup that toppled Nkrumah?

• The truth 10 years ago

Are you afraid of the truth?

• Mata 10 years ago

Why have we not brought Rawlings to face the law? We are wasting to much time.

• Zip Up 10 years ago

Please Casley Hayford Kindly Provide Us With The Economic Definition Of Depreciation Of The National Currency As To How It Could Do Better In The World Market Than Trying Hard To Define Rawlings At Lease His Reign Has Provide ...

• MUGU 10 years ago

THIS MAN IS THE ONLY BRAVE MAN IN GHANA TO COME OUT WITH THE PLAIN TRUETH THAT THE WHOLE 25 MILLION CAWORD GHANAIANS ARE SCRARED TO MENTION,,, REAL USELESS ,,STUPID AND SENCELESS INTAVATIONS,, FOOOOLISH SCOTISH BASTARD

• K Agyenim Boateng London UK 10 years ago

God will punish Rawlings and NDC.

• Bugov 10 years ago

The two dark periods in Ghana were June 4th and Dec 31st. These periods reminds us of our loss of our individual dignity, rights, and self-respect. These good-for-nothing military men, led by a demented bastard, destroyed peo ...

• gh 10 years ago

its only this site that am reading these type of insulting comment,u guy need to control some of your language.

• Adjoa 10 years ago

No all of us see eye with Rawlings.... of course he cannot be objective. You really think he will say today that, hmmmmm "I made a mistake killing all those Generals, causing pain to traders whose merchandise were sold by don ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Thank you Sydney but sadly,we have some in our midst who hail,defend and support the actions of these nation wreckers who through their evil intent,enviousness and greed have set our country backwards.
    You're right, for duri ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Rawlings Coup in 19079 was necessary for Ghana.First there was Corrupting and Kalabule every where in Ghana.The Military Officers were Corrupt.The Makola Women were very corrupt,and very greedy.The Ghana Economy was in a very ...

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

Thank you Mohammed. I wish all Ghanaians were like you, Ghana will be flourishing by now. Sadly, that's not the case. Our country is filled with a bunch of crab-like individuals who are full of envy, hatred, malice and ingrat ...

• Osei Kofi 10 years ago

There is more corruption than the SMC time. The Rawlings is rich and talk only bulshit. Its sad Ghanaians hail this man.

• chrisdad arthur 10 years ago

Mr man please come again To my mind you are just attributing our plights to something at the wrong time. I consider this very one as an ill-timed comment.

• Kofi Kyeremeh 10 years ago

You shutt a Fuck Up.
    What Can you do

• Komi kyeremeh 10 years ago

You are an element of the outcome of 79 & 81
    YOU CANNOT EVEN WRITE A SENTENCE CORRECTLY!

• Anane 10 years ago

It is very true that without history man will never know how best they should live thereafter. I will hope that this sad history would be taught in the schools from first grade to the University. I for one get very angry when ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

I HAVE SAID IT TIME WITHOUT NUMBER THAT RAWLINGS COUP D'ÉTAT WAS SELF SEEKING.....HERE WAS A SEMI-LITERATE LOW LIFER WHO SAW A COUP D'ÉTAT AS THE ONLY MEANS TO PUT AN END TO HIS PATHETIC AND MISERABLE LIFE.....UNFORTUNATELY ...

• Agbodzi 10 years ago

Well said Sydney! Let's not forget the degrading of our education system which posses a hindrance to the economy. Economic/talent flight, my own brother included (a brilliant teacher he was) off to help boost Nigerian, Libyan ...

• OSORO GYA 10 years ago

Does this half-cast or quarter-cast, Casey Hayford know the real circumstance underlying those various coups he is talking about ?

• KWAME ADDO 10 years ago

If Casely-Hayford were a rightful thinker as he claimed to be, he wouldn´t have bypassed 1966 and told about 1979 and 1981. His apportion Ghana´s woes to 1979 and 1981 coups smacks sideling. Ghana, the Shining Star of Afric ...

• Uncle Joe 10 years ago

This is one of the best articles or speeches that I have read in many years.THEman is bold;and whatever he says is true.More grease to his elbows.

• Kwabena Adjei 10 years ago

You are totally wrong about what the JJ came to do. We are lazy to solve problems head on and JJ sought to do that. I lived and still living and think JJ had done better than many of the Constitutional Governments. CG are cor ...

• NAME HIS ACHIEVEMENTS 10 years ago

What exactly did JJ do? What are the achievements of his 19 year rule?? Can he himself name them??? Can anyone else name them???? We can point at what Nkrumah did for Ghana; and we can point at the achievements of JA Kufuor. ...

• Mawuli 10 years ago

You must be living in a dream if you do not realize the fact that JJ and his gang of looters took Ghana backwards.

• Another revolution !!!! 10 years ago

So will it be justified for another revolution ?because the worse is happening now STUPID EWE MAN nation wrecker should come and explain.

• Kofi Klutse 10 years ago

Stupid nonentities like you also could come here and vomit ur nonsense bcuz ghanaweb is like a prostitute that everybody is fucking! Stupid asshole!

• Nii 10 years ago

This man who is still wearing the penchant of slavery is here trying to tell us how to rule a free country? Someone tell him to find a Ghanaian name!

• MANPOWER 10 years ago

Bravo! Sydney have it on the nail. Those who disagree with you should go and burn the sea.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

JJ is da man.

A good man is never honoured in his own country

• Serita 10 years ago

Some people lived through history of the coup era in this country of ours (Ghana),but unfortunately do not have a clear recollection of the past.History,I believe must guide us not to repeat whatever we did not do right in ...

• Owura Ntiamoah 10 years ago

Many young Ghanaians are not aware where the country has been, and where we are today. Having lived through it all, I can agree that Casely-Hayford is so right. And it is not just the military coups staged by Rawlings. It is ...

• Leslie Barnor USA 10 years ago

Where were you Mr. know it all , Casely Hayford when all those Kalabule was going on in the country. It's only the thieves like you and others who would say the coups were useless, and stupid because you and your families ben ...

• Yo mama 10 years ago

Are we sure whether the black man is really capable of handling his own affairs? It saddens me to read most comments. These politicians and their puppet masters have succeeded in dividing us while looting our coffers dry; onl ...

• S .L. OKLU 10 years ago

SYDNEY CASELY-HAYFORD, THE MOST STUPID, DISHONEST AND A PATHOLOGICAL LIAR THIS NATION HAS EVER SEEN, HE SHOULD BE IGNORED WITH HIS FOOLISHNESS.

• Captein 10 years ago

You see how people like Casely- Hayford can le. For all you know he have the luxury to live in the UK like Nana Addo when times were rough in this country.
    And for him to blame the coup of 1979 for the hardship and the 1981 ...

• Captein 10 years ago

Then toward from 1982 the no budget meant farmers could not get loans implements seed to farm. Ghana could not import without planning, then there was also a drought so after the coup in 1981 and an almost famine situation a ...

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

What has constitutional democracy given to Ghana after the last coup in 1992 - "Yenche ndi". All the parties come to office hiding under the umbrella of the white man's democracy and go on to mismanage the countries funds wit ...

• YOMO DUNA 10 years ago

A brilliant take on the coups my only trsrvation was the lack of mention of those who were killed in the name of the coups, Innocent Ghanaians needlessly lost their lives and women were stripped naked and forced to open their ...

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

This guy Casely-Hayford should wake up and smell the coffee, really.

Why was the destroyed Makola market named Rawlings Park if he was such evil as you want us to believe and think. Come again Casely-Hayford.

• PAPA NII 10 years ago

Sydney Casely-Hayford, I DON'T THINK YOU ARE NORMAL. IF 79 AND 81 COUP IS USELESS, WHAT ABOUT THE 1966 COUP? I DON'T THINK YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT! IS YOU WHO IS USELESS, HOPELESS, AND STUPID.I THINK, YOU HAD A LI ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

The fact is jj is useless being.

• Nana Ba 10 years ago

This is an uneducated assertion. So is Ghana better-off under the kind of leadership we have today? One can say that Rawlings missed out on the to do as has been done in Singapore but the coup was necessary. J.J. brought stab ...

Sydney Casely-Hayford, you still living in the past? Your parents never told you not to cry over spilled milk? J.J. saved Ghana from all those useless leaders, and that is why you are who you are today - a Financial Analyst? ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

What did JJ the raw..sh..it saved? And what did he accomplished? He JJ himself known he is a failure, all he did was to fill his own pocket. After all as rich as we is, he is still depending on gov't welfare, just common furn ...

• Sincerity 10 years ago

Only Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's ideas and economic development plans can do the trick. He said that the black man is capable of managing his own affairs. Please, the Bible guides the Christians, Koran guides Moslems but Con ...

• agosta 10 years ago

Casey-hayford and the stupid who.say nonsense here . I think u are right the fools and stupid ... if it wasn't rawlings Ghanaian couldn't even boast of nothing. Ghana was in total.mess when rawlingsovee thrown the government ...

• JOE 10 years ago

u think foolishly and shallowly. ghana was in total mess so ur bastard rawling overthrew limann only to solve that mess with 19 years?? had ur trokosi rawlings given limann his due 4 yrs he would ve solved that mess perfectly ...

• Drago 10 years ago

Very useless analysis and waste of everyone's time! U have no clue on the topic to talk about but cos of greed, u took the podium to talk trash and got paid honorarium.
    When we are looking for ideas to move our economy forwa ...

• Future Judge 10 years ago

The day will come again when all this rubbish talk will be checked. History is history but still can't be removed. Ghana has a long way to go because we tend to forget so soon and we never learn.

• Nii Ankrah 10 years ago

That's the fact,well done.And until Ghanaians understand that,we will continue to suffer till Jesus come again

• sgt Doe 10 years ago

why did you not say this all this while!!! coward!

• mayor 10 years ago

the whole problem of Ghana started when the UP people now NPP overthrow Dr. Nkrumah.

• Woffa Tony H., NC, USA 10 years ago

Oooo, another nation of primitive people. The guy looks so stupid so he came with stupid analysis. He thinks ghaneans are short in memory like him to forget what happened to the country since independence? Fool man go the hel ...

• onelove 10 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah was a fool.Ghana is a failed stat.Wake up and start cleaning up your towns.How can you live in such shit.Amen.

• still rastafari 10 years ago

rawlings was most naive, no plan.......

• Mike 10 years ago

Including the 1966 coup as well.Please don't forget that

Thanks

• Henry Mensah 7 years ago

what is Mr. Hayford saying? he should know that he is not the only person who saw military take over's and the rational behind it , is he telling us that hoarding to create shortage is a good warehousing and retailing practic ...