You are here: HomeNews2014 03 17Article 303587

Ghana needs more growth poles – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (57)

• BEN 10 years ago

WELL DONE

• Angie 10 years ago

All Mahama is good at is making speeches & cutting sods for ghost projects.

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

At one point Ghana was the number one producer of cocoa but how come the world only know Cadbury, Nestle, Hershey etc., and not Golden Tree? The Golden Tree chocolate is one of the best but the factory can not produce enough ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Watch the "secret of the seven sister" episode 1 to 4 on YouTube and weep for Mama Africa.

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

John Mahama(first president of Ghana with 23 children from 13 women),will you stop parroting and rather start supplying chalks to teachers to enable them teach our future leaders in the schools ?

You and your govt of steal ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

"Mahama,Will Stop Parroting & Rather....?"

should rather read:

'Mahama,Will you Stop Parroting & Rather....?'

error sadly regretted !

• The Patriot 10 years ago

I can understand Ashanti, Western and Eastern regions as growth poles but why Volta region instead of Brong Ahafo Region, one of the bread baskets of Ghana?

What do we get from these lazy Voltarians apart from taking care ...

• dani 10 years ago

with new ideas

• foxnews 10 years ago

The man lack vision,the real growth and industralization should come from Northern Ghana.There is huge deposit of unexploited iron ore and most importantly vast land for mechanised and commercial farming which food processing ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

ASHANTIS LAZY AND ALWAY LOOKING FOR SHORT CUT AND SIKADRO AND QUICK MONEY.

• Kanewu 10 years ago

what has he done?

• ADWEN 10 years ago

MAHAMA is killing himself for trying to stretch himself to occupy a role that HE HAS NOT GOT ANY IOTA OF IDEA HOW TO PERFORM IN IT.
    MAHAMA is a complete disgrace for thinking that merely mentioning something is the solution. ...

this govt is soaked in corruption and has compromised our future with their shady deals with the Chinese . you talk of humble beginnings only to support those who destroy any chances we have at a better future for our childre ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

President Mahama the solution is at hand. Don't look any further. See, when I was growing up in the 60`s there was no need for a Ghanaian to migrate to urban Centers to look for work. Ghanaians found work within their regions ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Decentralization is magic word, Nana Ansah, that is simply the key to unlock the potential of Mama Ghana before the world.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Nana Ansah, where are these Nkrumah projects you are talking about? This is why sometimes I find it difficult to support you because you allow your support of Ndc to cloud your reasoning. Ndc sold more than 300 of these SOE's ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Sarp, not to hold brief for JJ, the government enterprises were sold or whatever was done with them because they became white elephants -- they stopped producing. Whatever is left behind like the textile company and even our ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

I am with you in toto. I am all for private enterprise and governments everywhere don't run profitable enterprises. I just wanted to put Nana Ansah on notice that, there is hardly any government SOE's left to be revived.

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

CARDINAL you want to baptise me as an NDC but it will not work. I don't hold brief for those who sold Ghana down the river neither do I appease those who sold her for a bowl of wheat. I am dyed-in-the-wool CPP.

CARDINAL th ...

• ROSE 10 years ago

Tweeeeeaaaaaaaa kai, is ndc Nkrumah's party? The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.Nkrumah never knew anything like ndc before he went to the other side.NDC , let the oldman rest in peace, he is not part ...

• Sky-P 10 years ago

John Mahama is getting boring with his old same song; I will do this, I will do that, we need to do that, and the other. Haba! Can't you just concentrate on one thing and do it well just for once. Tweaaaaa! President Banza!

• Kanewu 10 years ago

bla bla bla...you keep talking but your actions don't much up. Where are the schools you promised to build in 2013?

• KWAA 10 years ago

Well,Kanawu,Mahama or should i say NDC will tell you is because of the court case.As if the Court told them not to undertake any project till they finish the case.At same time they were able to give out a huge amount of money ...

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Kwaa, in addition these shameless people also took their salaries for all those 8 months.

• Ghanaman2 10 years ago

And corrupt. This empty by-heart talk will not change anything.

• Tibaa 10 years ago

Is our president metamorphosing into puerile and putative talking machine rather than an executor of the public will?

The we Shall, we Will, we Would, we Could are just too much of excuses explaining away a state of "do no ...

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

This foolish president is always on facebook chating. When would he stop watching porno films on the net and sit up and do the job ghanaians have enthrusted him to do?

• Efo 10 years ago

Mr President, completion of one project and if is well executed would be very much appreciated by Ghanaian s than your stupid promises.

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

Oh MY GOD ! He did it again ??? My son just asked me about the street names he promised last two years. I told him to wait till he gets to our side of town but he said his friend's side doesn't have it either. I couldnt say a ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Mahama promised to build Airports at some of the Regional Capitals,a stadium at Cape Coast,an Intenational Airport at Kumasi(even though Kotoka Airport is like an Airfeld in some Countries)a highway from Takoradi to Kumasi(ev ...

• PROMISE DUMSOR 10 years ago

Somebody, please compile and publish all of the President's promises for presentation to him in 2016. His Excellency needs a record of all the promises he has made from his days as de facto President under Mills to the end of ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Didn't he say the lights off is a thing of the past? This poor excuse of a President word is not worth the paper it is printed on.

• KOFI 10 years ago

2&3 BEDROOMS AIR-CONDITIONED LUXURY APARTMENTS WITH MODERN FACILITIES AND SATELLITE/CABLE TV.LINKS IN TANTRA HILLS FOR RENT:
    RENT: C410/WEEK NEGOTIABLE
    PLEASE CALL:020 297 1629/026 471 6238

AND:
    TWO( ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

your sons head teacher can do better

• Jato .P 10 years ago

Stop talking and put these ideas into action, Mr. President

• KOJO LEE 10 years ago

what is all this talk,talk, talk,and promises from this man?? I think he needs to see his doctor there might be something wrong with him!!

• jijk 10 years ago

THIS MAHAMA GUY LOVES CATCH PHRAISES TO GIVE PEOPLE THE IMPRESSION THAT HE IS LEARNED AND KNOWS WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. BUT CATCHY WORDS DOES NOT DEVELOP THE ECONOMY IF HE DOES NOT HAVE A GAME PLAN. HE GETS THESE WORDS BY R ...

• SO GHANA DIS?? 10 years ago

FOOLISH MAN. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE IN ACTION BEFORE APART FROM STEALING...

• DO IT !!!!! 10 years ago

Why stress the need to restructure and diversify our economy. As President, you have the mandate and opportunity to do it SO DO IT. We did not elect you to diagnose the problem. We elected you to fix the problem. So stop diag ...

• ADJEI 10 years ago

The Mahama government need a few more technologist who have seen it all in Heavy Industry as advisors. Set the vision as Kwame Nkrumah did in the seven year development plan

• Nana konadu Agyeman Rawlings 10 years ago

Can you stop this nonsense speeches and get your house in order. How can you develope when you dont have the basics right- no electricity, no water, no good roads. useless president of all time - SHAME.

• CALABASH 10 years ago

It is on record that the Chief of Enchi, asked John Mahama to provide water and electricity so they can take their income generating activities into their own hands, and also, the provision of a SHS, so students from JSS coul ...

• Barimaba 10 years ago

How is the Hope City?

• Kaliu Otto Sani 10 years ago

Why dont you shut the fuck up and work. I think Mahama is the noisiest president. keep your bloody mouth shut and get your ass to work.

• ATIMPIMUSEMU! 10 years ago

If you want Ghana to develop properly. Invest in the Asante Region, trust me you will not regret it!

• KEA 10 years ago

Three doctors, a Canadian, an American and a Ghanaian were boastiong of what their countires have done.

Canadian:In my country, we replaced a man's heart and within two weeks he was looking for a job.

American: That is ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

The gap between NDC and NPP is too much.The score board must change,who is going to lead the battle?I think NPP has a chance but they need effective strategy.The defination of the strategy must be presented in simple and dire ...

• DOING MY JOB - PREZ MAHAMA 10 years ago

EITHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT - DOING MY JOB

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

The president needs to first a new way of thinking by putting an end to the theft and bribery he has participating in and supervised. The projects he describes have always been in the making since I was born. I am now 63 year ...

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

PART TIME JOB The Life Changers Group is a Group of Compassionate Individuals from different countries that came together t ...

• TRUE 10 years ago

GONE ARE THE DAYS,IN THE OLDING DAYS IF YOU SEE THAT BRONGS ARE TRAVELING THEN WE ARE GOING TO EUROPE,BUT NOW POOR BRONGS ARE FULL AT ACCRA,NOW MAHAMA HAS SELECTED SOME REGIONS HE WANT TO DO SOME PROJECTS,BUT WE DONT CARE,AM ...

• Tokyo 10 years ago

A very. Very big mistake of of a president. !!

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

GOD BLESSED YOU FOR THE TALK AND THE IDEAS MAY THEM COME TRUE BY ACTION TO GHANA.

• Kwaku Vi 10 years ago

Please, Mr. President, we did not vote you into power to continuously tell us what you think we have to do. WE VOTED YOU INTO POWER TO DO WHAT YOU TOLD US YOU WOULD DO FOR US. Please, stop talking and start working

• BRANDY 10 years ago

NDC CORRUPTION IS SERIOUSLY UNDERMINING ECONOMIC GROWTH....NDC IS TOO WASTEFUL AND TOO THIEVING SO CANT GET MONEY TO DO ANYTHING RIGHT.

• KWAME SEFA MENSAH !!!! 10 years ago

DOES THIS MAHAMA UNDERSTAND WHAT HE SAYS?HE,S TALKING GROWTH POLE TO ILLITERATES AND SEMIS WHOSE ONLY AIM IS TO WAKE UP AND EAT 3 SQUARED MEALS DAIL -Y.HOW CAN A PRESIDENT BE SO STUPID AND NAIVE.

• marfo 10 years ago

MR PRESIDENT, IF GHANA STOP BEGGING,GHANA WILL SEE MORE GROWTH POLES.