You are here: HomeNews2014 03 13Article 303213

Update: Uncompleted hotel collapses; 1 dead, 4 others feared dead

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Moses 10 years ago

Nii Oko- Vandapour was called to stop the development of this building when it was coming up but he refused to come but now he is at the scene as if he is sympathising with the people. if you ask him today, he will deny.

• Angel 10 years ago

Why all this collapse buildings? What kind of materials are they using?

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

They are using MADE IN GHANA CEMENT, and above all, less than the amount specified by the engineers

• Fedup 10 years ago

The materials are not only bad but they also use cheap labor for construction

• OZA 10 years ago

This is evidence of the kind of architecture and materials used for the construction. Most of the time, the engineering is good bud the builders use cheap materials and usually LESS of it.

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

This is why people should be careful what flat they buy -- there so many flats mushrooming everywhere in Ghana but I doubt if proper inspections were done at various points of construction.

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

Folks, My experience between 2000 and now building my house and some Flats show the poor workmanship of workers. Sometimes deliberate village trained apprenticed men, sometimes cutting corners on iron rods and component mater ...

• PROPHETESS 10 years ago

GOD TALKS TO TB JOSHUA. HE SEES ALL THIS DISASTERS.

• Abena 10 years ago

Stop deceiving yourself with Tb Joshua, he's only a sinful human being like yourself. He can never predict any unforeseen event or tragedy. He's not GOD! This building probably has a bad foundation and it was an accident on t ...

• Lord Dennings 10 years ago

than you abena

• Corrupt Justice 10 years ago

You will be prosecuted for unholy act of impersonating.

• Light 10 years ago

I just dnt know why Ghanaians refuse to understand God/Allah in their live.

• Atta-Mills 10 years ago

Nii Oko- Vandapour was given 40 million by the man who owns the building of that useless Hotel . Nii Oko- Vandapour didn't answer all the sensible question that came out because he knows what he has done. may God forgive us.

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

I said it...boycott vondafone...100!

• BUMBEBO LONDON 10 years ago

BROTHER MAN, CAN HE NOT SEE ANY GOOD COMING OUR WAY? YEEEEI!

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

CHINA MATERIALS

• Benjamin Nyatanyahu 10 years ago

But why China sky scrapers are not collapsing? Think again man.

• Victor 10 years ago

You think the quality they use in China is what they will ship to Ghana? Small boys are young!!! We have a big problem in our hands, you fool.

• MENSAH-ELTHAM 10 years ago

HELLO GHANAIANS, "THERE IS A DIVINE PURPOSE BEHIND THIS FRUITFUL UNIVERSE, WHOSE FIFTEEN-BILLION-YEAR HISTORY HAS TURNED A BALL OF ENERGY INTO HOME OF SAINTS AND SCIENTISTS THIS PURPOSE HAS BEEN AT WORK IN JUST ONE WORLD OF C ...

• DAN 10 years ago

yes blame the mayor-what about the people who should know better and do the right thing from scratch

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Can anyone blame JDM for choosing to spend his holidays in a Dubai Hotel?

• PROPHETESS 10 years ago

PROPHET TB JOSHUA PREDICTED THIS COLLAPSE AND THE COLLAPSE OF THE BUILDINGS IN NYC.

• Lucy 10 years ago

Oh shut up with TB Joshua nonsense! Why didn't he predict the four followers who died trying to get fake tap water deemed 'anointed'?

• DR KUFFOUR 10 years ago

Prophetess or whatever you call yourself, Pls where can one find or read that prediction? I will comment further after reading that prddiction. Peace!!!

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Just like he predicted to receive a Big Blow from a prophetess?

TB Joshua,where is the Malasian missing plane?
    Today is the 5th day and you are not talking ,why?

• Akos 10 years ago

Good one Benjamin, hopefully, this PR turned prophetess will deliver your request to him. Sad how some people put so much faith in fake prophets

• KAKABO 10 years ago

The only surprising thing about collapsing buildings in Ghana is the fact that they do not occur everyday and that they do not kill people more than they are doing. We live in a society where basic laws and processes have gon ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

Cordoned off the area without digging? What kinf of police do we have in this country? Insted of start diggin right away,they cordoned off the area without digging.

• The Son of Man 10 years ago

You cordon the area to secure the area stop unwanted people from trespassing and then the real workers can then do their job. You can start digging immediately. Secure the area and then begin to look for survivors. Securin ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Mensah, IF you cannot think properly, LEAVE THE THINKING to those who can! Stupid Fool! The Police ALSO did some training too.

• LT COL CHEAT MAN 10 years ago

THEY TAKE BRIBE EVERY WHERE SO WAT DO U EXPECT?

• NIMA YOUTH FORUM 10 years ago

Ghana police are disgrace to our nation all they know is to harass innocent citizens God will punish all police men including the IGP

• BABA YARA 10 years ago

MAHAMA MUST GO

• KOO 10 years ago

VERY COMMON IN GHANA AND AFRICA, VERY SHORT SIGHTEDNESS, LACK IRRESPONSIBLE ACCOUTABLE SAFETY REGULATIONS EVEN IF THE LAW IS THERE NO ENFORCEMENT

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA CAN'T RULE GHANA BUT HE WANTS MORE YEARS, WHAT IS THE MEANING OF THAT.

• bonne 10 years ago

Aboaba idiot. Tribal shit. Bring ur fathers to be president. You have no sense.

• K..muni 10 years ago

What has mahama done for ghana other than calamities? he is not only an incompetent president, he is bad luck to the country as a whole. fucking get rid of him in the next election.

• dani 10 years ago

ANYONE THAT DONT AGREE IS IGNORATE AND LIVES IN DENIAL MAHAMA IS DESTROYING GHANA EVERY DAY THAT GOS BY

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

I used to wonder how bad builders could obtain permits to build so many frightening structures across the nation till I came to the realization that in Ghana safety measures can be overriden to accommodate a bidder with a neg ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Wo brofo yedru paa, congrats

• AKOSUA MEELEY 10 years ago

You always make sense. I hope our politicians read your writings.

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA INCOMPETENT CLUELESS IDEALESS IS YIME TO GO, YOU ARE WASTING OUR TIME. LAWLESSNESS LEADERLESS VISIONLESS JUST GO

• bonne 10 years ago

Bring ur mum to accra cycle. Useless bing.

• koffie 10 years ago

FAKE BUILDING CONTRACCTORS

• joseph 10 years ago

The foundation cannot support the weight of the concrete

• Kwame 10 years ago

Shame on the leadership of this country

• Daniel opoku 10 years ago

God help us, contractors, pls do advice ownes

• K..muni 10 years ago

You ain't seen nothing yet! this is the price you pay for stupid leadership, and importing cheap stuff from china, dubai etc. when are we gonna learn a good lesson from the past..what next?

• George 10 years ago

because everyone is talking you cheap and stupid idiot will also jump to write sheet when you cant afford kenkey and fish. shut up

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

Another p/NDC Woyome project takes a nose drive!! Over 2.3B GhC goes to waste!!!

• DANMARK 10 years ago

UN ADEQUATE CEMENT CAUSE THIS INCEDENT AND FAKE CONTRATORS CORRUPTION

• kk 10 years ago

Please write good English. Simple say inadequate cement, fake contractors and corruption have caused this incident.

• DANMARK 10 years ago

CORRUPTION STARTED FROM THIS USELESS MAHAMA SINCE THIS MAN PAY BRIBE TO JUDGES AND OPEN THE WAY TO GREEDES

You don't remember corruption started from the time of ADAM AND EVE?
    We came to meet it .

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

Dumb motherfucker. So long as u use this name amon Fuck with ur ass..may jesus open ur eyes dumbass...boycott vondafone...don't really know why u choose to use the name of one who kills babies...y don't u just call ur self Le ...

• papa yesu 10 years ago

I you do good you do for your self and if you do bad you do for you self. God is up there check every body

• Fufu 10 years ago

Eeii, na wa 4 your brofo sef, I beg!

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

If you live in Korle-Gonno, near Korle-Bu Maternity Building you will know this popular expression.

• dani 10 years ago

THE ROAD AND MOTOR WAY FALLING APART ,BUILDING ARE COMING DOWN A TOTAL MESS UNDER MAHAMA BETTER AGENDA
    WHAT ASHAME

• OBRONI 10 years ago

Are we shocked over and over again ?
    We Ghanaians don't respect artisans, and the system and parents keep pushing our children to became lawyers, doctors an even engineers. But trust me there is no construction engineer who ...

• ZUARUNGU 10 years ago

Why all these tragedies every now and then in Ghana. Today is road accident, tomorrow contact killings, the next is collapsed building, another time an aeroplane fallen on people ebey Ghana what dey go on ?

• Maclean 10 years ago

This is the reward of greedy, poor and incompetent so-called builders, designers, architects, planners, engineers etc prowling the face of illusionary economic boom in Ghana.

• Fedup 10 years ago

No Ghana is not cursed but rather, we have too many lazy and inept people parading as bosses

• Kofi Debrah 10 years ago

is this human error or just a tragedy? God save us all.

• Joel 10 years ago

If the AMA had stopped them several times because they don't have permit. 1 They should have ensured their inspectors monitored to see if work was still ongoing. 2. They should have sent the owner to court to stop him of that ...

• Di Carlo 10 years ago

what is wrong with this society?some of these buildings erected just dont have the adequate structural design and permission before they are erected.Simple science and common sense when you dealing with load you got to have a ...

My bro, you are right and we can put the problems of land, buildings and structral congestions in Ghana down to lack of rule of lawand supervision. Peace!!!

• B-WISE 10 years ago

I thank God it has not been completed to receive guests. My condolence to those affected.

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Let them build with 6th senses.NDC Nkwaseafo.

• canto 10 years ago

oh Ghana, what type of materials were they using to build this building. God help us hmmm,

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Hatred truly has a way of eating at people. In the case of Ghana, tribal hatred masked by political parties is showing us all how enacting bad laws by parliament controlled by any party hell bent on rewriting history and or m ...

My brother, I agree with you and I don't know much about the entities required. But what stops us from holding people accountable for misdeeds at their hands or under their watch? Pls, tell me what happen to the owner of the ...

• WTF 10 years ago

Computerization of the inspection regimen and the recruitment of new Civil Engineering graduates could mitigate the shortage of staff. I will not be counting my lucky stars, however, knowing that Mahama's priority is wasting ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Dont they have building regulations in ghana? Dont they have building inspectors or anything like that. the mayor isnt the one to the building works. thats the work of the appropriate authorities. the buildidng inspectors.

Ghana have all that you mentioned but they are ineffective and the professionals care less and selfish individuals. Full stop!!!

• agya oheneba 10 years ago

This is edey bii keke.

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

OH OMAN GHANA PAA NIE????? HMMMM NSEM PII

• bright 10 years ago

Ghana is country of jokers ...is very funny place

• Corrupt Justice 10 years ago

John Dramani Mahama will go down in history as a president whose tenure of office as a vice- and substantive president spelt bad omen and doom for Ghana. Sorry, but Allah shall save Ghana with a new lucky president come 2016, ...

• Nee Kojoe Birmingham 10 years ago

There is no reason why buildings should be collapsing in the 21st century.From the photos the floors seem intact which leads me speculate that the inappropriate reinforcements had been used in the columns.Its about time that ...

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Ghana is a failed state.

This is evident almost everyday.

Ghanians would rather pray and go to church than invest in education.

• KWAA 10 years ago

The onlookers will stay there the whole day,because they have nothing to do.
    The unemployment in this Country is very alarming.
    Al Haji,is talking about security threat from the Opposition party,but i bet you if there is an ...

• The mask 10 years ago

A strong and right educational system is needed for a strong economy and a strong economy is needed for an excellent educational system free of teacher absenteeism. How do graduates from our universities compare?

The premi ...

• SAMMY 10 years ago

HAS THE MELCOM INCIDENT REPEATED ITSELF?

I remember when the Melcom Building collapsed, government tasked a committee to inspect all buildings nationwide and demolish such weak buildings and hazards.
    What did this commit ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

ELITE TRAVELS IS LOOKING FOR STUDENTS AND WORKERS(BOTH GOVERNMENT AND PRIVATE?
    TO TRAVEL TO CANADA,AUSTRALIA UK AND SCANDINAVIA ON A 6 MONTH TOURIST VISA.
    HOSTEL ACCOMMODATION WILL BE PROVIDED FOR A MONTH.
    APPLICANTS WHO W ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION LEADS TO SHOODY WORK EVERY WHERE IN THE COUNTRY:

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Who owns the hotel and why are we always building hotels anyway? majority of them do not meet hotel standards anywhere but they called hotels.

• Ida kwaw 10 years ago

Money motive in Ghana is too much. It shouldn't be so. Though everybody needs money, we should get them through proper means. Killing people for money is not blessing rather cursing. Cheating, killing for money etc is a curse ...

• kwabena 10 years ago

When is this greedy so call contractors will stop killing innocent souls? God is looking at you now...if you dont repent God will ask you.

• Omanbapa 10 years ago

ooh Ghana is very bad

• OKOE 10 years ago

MY TAKE IS THAT THE OWNER MIGHT HAVE BEEN GIVEN A PERMIT FOR ONE STOREY AND HE BECAME GREEDY AND NEEDED TO BUILD MORE ON TOP. THE BUILDING INSPECTORS JUST TOOK HIS MONEY AND LOOKED THE OTHER WAY. YOU CANNOT CHEAT NATURE. YOU ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

And the contractor might be mixing starch with sand instead of cement

• Odekyeba Yaw Preko 10 years ago

When a country fails to respect systems and laws that is what happens.
    Design and construction of buildings are for professionals and that is it. It is sad that whilst our Building Regulations stipulates persons authorised t ...

• peace 10 years ago

sorry my poor victims by de way am confused i need a guy to talk to 0506523817

• madiba 10 years ago

i sometimes wonder who we are as a people. isn't it fascinating how we handle issues? we talk 100% and act 0%. we do not care about anything. all we care about is...i don't even know...em...nothing. not quite long, a shopping ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

What lessons were learnt from the Melcom building collapse? Obviously, not! If lessons were ever learnt from the Melcom disaster, the Government and the appropriate institutions would have put measures in place to avoid this ...

• WTF 10 years ago

Did this building have a building permit? Was there any inspection after the permit was issued and construction started?

It's time for the corrupt Accra Mayor, Oku Vanderpuye to go! Other than arranging judgement debt sca ...

• seattle,wa 10 years ago

it looks to me people are blaming the sprit from ghana so somethings to em they think its the sprit doing to em and seek revenge on his country this is not a conhincidence, moreover there are many africans americans doing rob ...

• spike cartey from Tadi 10 years ago

I wander the type of personnel who give permission for such structures to be erected really go through the document submitted to them before such grant is given

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

ALL of you MUST go down on your knees and PRAY for this building to RISE UP again! . Secondly, TOMORROW is ALL-NIGHT VIGIL to show the DWARFS behind the collapse that they were WRONG. Thirdly,
    STRUCTURAL ENGINEERS, please do ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

The last time I checked......Ghanaians are now making up to 50 blocks PER a bag of Cement COMPARED to 25-30 some years ago!!! TOO MUCH SAND COMPONENT !!!!!

• spike cartey from Tadi 10 years ago

no wander such has happened, after all every one in every institution in Ghana now want money before document is approved for a process of some work to begin, such people don't have time to read through the paper to ascertain ...

• KOO 10 years ago

NEED STRONG ENFORCEMENT OF THE LAW AND STOP CORRUPT PRACTICES

• Kretz - D 10 years ago

SHODDY WORK.

• BUILDINGS COLLAPSING EVERYWHERE 10 years ago

THIS IS NEW IN OUR BELOVED COUNTRY. WHAT DOES THIS TELL YOU? CORRUPTION IS ON THE RISE EVERYWHERE.
    LANDS DEPARTMENT COLLECTING BRIBES!!
    INSPECTORS ARE COLLECTING BRIBES!! ENGINEERS ARE COLLECTING BRIBES!! THOSE RESPONSIBLE ...

• KANE 10 years ago

DO WE HAVE TRAINED BUILDING INSPECTORS IN GHANA'S AESC?

NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA NOW?

OUR COUNTRY IS A FAILED STATE.

• BUMBEBO LONDON 10 years ago

CHEAP THINGS ARE ALWAYS COSTLY DEAR. CAN ANYBODY ASSESS HOW MUCH CEMENT AND IRON RODS WERE PROPORTIONALLY USED. MY HEART GOES WITH ALL AFFECTED.