You are here: HomeNews2014 03 12Article 303158

Ampofo Ankrah defends World Cup budget

Read Comments Comments (59)

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Hahahaha, this man is very funny. So now it means you you have to spend more to score more, talent does not matter anymore.

• SHAMU 10 years ago

Is unfortunate that, somebody will be coming out openly in support of this looting from Ghana government. The situation in Ghana is now serious. Theives all over the country. Why? The corrupt ones are now coming out to tell u ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

People are not assuming anything. We have the sordid record of 2010 foolishness to back our concerns. We have Ministers sending their drivers, houseboys and bodyguards to watch football on taxpayers accout and this fool whose ...

• FA 10 years ago

TELL US WHY SAME WORLD CUP OTHERS EVEN RICH NATIONS ARE SPENDING LESS THAN 25% OF GHANA 25M?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

This idiot Ampofo Ankrah has been instructed by his brother, Afiriyie Ankrah, the Sports minister to churn out this nonsense.

Who is going to conduct a thorough scrutiny before the $20 million gets approved? Another group ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HAS CAN ATTITUDE PROBLEM. TOO GREEDY N ONLY DEFENDING THE BUDGET FOR STOMACH. KWASIA, KA WA NO TUM. NATIONS WITH HIGHER GDP PER CAPITA ARE SPENDING MUCH LESS...

• Tina Otiko Mawusi Mensah 10 years ago

Ghana FA chief Nyantakyi agrees with dollar payment for Black Stars, says the headlines of a newspaper the other day. Well, that's a shocker! The guy is a real patriot and hence, how come he doesn't want his payment in cedis? ...

PAY THEM IN CEDIS. CALCULATE N PAY THEM IN CEDIS...PLAYING FOR GH IS NOT UR DAILY BREAD BUT A DUTY YOU'VE BEEN CALLED UPON. THESE PLAYERS GET PAID WELL AT THEIR CLUBS. BRASIL FA DOES NOT PAY THEIR PLAYERS IN DOLLARS. FRANCE, ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

I felt very disgusting if poeple who were educated like your type should be using this abusing wordsor languages to your fellow being.Be professional in your crititism please.Displine yourself.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

I am not even booming on him. He is the one actually insulting Ghanaians by telling us to shut up since they are the one who know what is best for us.

I would not even be surprised if you are not the same Ampofo Ankrah.

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Professional my "yass"!!! And I repeat professional my yass. Not ass but yass. Was he professional himself to receive a professional treatment. All these guys are thieves. His brother Afriyie Ankrah said he will quit politics ...

• KEA 10 years ago

Ghanaweb would not publish this!

Listed below are proposed budgets that some countries have made towards Brazil 2014:

The US football Federation’s World Cup budget for Brazil is listed at US$2 million although the amo ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

TOO much money for football. Ghana why do we cry that we dont have money for other things. We spent money on things that are not very necessary

• Kojo 10 years ago

KEA, Excellent breakdown. Do not wait for Ghana web to publish it. You have the right and you can yourself post it as an article under "sports". Do not tuck (hide) it under comments, nobody will see it. Please do this, other ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

$20 million budgeted for the mundial is too much money for such an economic strafed country like Ghana.
    In order to get such an excessive approved, the GFA must show us a line by line breakdown of how it arrived at this huge ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

You are as fraud as hearts of oak defence. Big leaks

U WILL BE ROBBED/KILLED VERY SOON. U ARE NOT UNTOUCHABLE. NO HUMAN BEING IS UNTOUCHABLE...

• EFO KOKU 10 years ago

Why can't we mobilize the Ghanaians in Brazil to go and support our team. Afterall the govt won't spend on any air fares nor hotel bills. Govt can just help them with gate fees. We can save a lot by doing this. The embassy in ...

• Dr. Ryt 10 years ago

Shame Mr. Ampofo ...It's seems u ve taking ur share already..justify it well n stop making this funny comment...20 million for only football whiles dey r still schools under trees ..hmm Ghana

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Do you think people like Yaw Ampofo Ankrah understand the word shame?

They talk as if every Ghanaian is stupid then never account for 2006 and 2010 GFA was quick to mention Fifa even the late President Mills travel to seek ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Yaw ampofo Ankra is just a rogue. when I become the next FA boss those hoodlums will all vanish. That boy still has the guts to come and defend that colossal amount of money as their budget. In fact I was near him, I would h ...

• SARPONG aka Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

Constable Rasheed, you have my permission to use your batton on this pen thief and his brother Afiriyie Ankrah.

• Constable Rasheed. 10 years ago

Yes sir boss. I will deal with them as you have ordered.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

You can take him any where and let him carry some sh******t I get your back on this one

• wiler 10 years ago

$20m? how much is the country gona gain even if we win the world cup?

• Bush Doctor 10 years ago

Whilst the World Cup budget for the USA and Belguim is 2 million dollars and 4.5 million Euros respectively, a poor country like Ghana has a budget of 20 million dollars. This is utterly despicable. When will the black man l ...

• Sly 10 years ago

Then you have nothing to worry about. Dont forget no matter how dark the night is it must surely break into day light.

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

A whooping 20m$ budget for Brazil, for a month long competition? the government is not serious. The economy is near bankruptcy, and even winning the world cup would change what? Ghanaians should come together and protest this ...

• Otsibu Darko 10 years ago

YES, Mr. Ampofo Ankrah you and your entourage are plain thieves, period, and the intention is for the budget to be embezzled and what justification do you have for such a whopping sum of money for a month's stay in Brazil, I' ...

• Papa Dey 10 years ago

Mr Ampofo Ankrah,the fact that we spent the same amount in 1996 and 2010 do not make it right.How much our counterpart in Nigeria has budgeted $6.5m.There is no iota of truth in this budget and its a shame that we can even co ...

• zzo 10 years ago

sooooo angry i have to use "tweaaa".who born dog,this guy thinks we dumb stupid;hey my brother we are doing comparisms.when our coequal is using only 9 why r we using 20?when rich countries r using less why we the poor one is ...

• GC/USA 10 years ago

THOROUGH SCRUTINY BY WHO? THE CAT WHO IS READY TO CATCH THE MOUSE. WHY NOT ASK FIFA, USA, GERMANY, ENGLAND, ITALY, SPAIN OR FRANCE DO THE WORLD CUP BUDGET FOR GHANA

• KAKABO 10 years ago

Idiot of a spokesman. Tell us what went into our budget and why ours is bigger than most countries that have come out to state their budget for the tournament. Tell us what you intend to do which is over and above what other ...

• ama 10 years ago

I am not surprise to hear this form him. They are all bunch of thieves

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Thief defending thieves..he must save his beach soccer which he claims to be founder that he is not. who is founder of Ghana United Supporters Union - GUSU? It is Yaw the BIG Thief. Ghanaians must open their eyes wide.Hmm NDC ...

• Jazz 10 years ago

Shame, shame and shame again on you Ampofo Ankrah for defending corruption in Ghana.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

You see where I am going... It is now the turn of these brothers to milk us so we should leave them to continue squandering our money.

• MAWUKO 10 years ago

See this foolish brother of the sports minister. Defending corruption. Eeiiiiiiii asem beba dabi

• mawriz 10 years ago

All those complaining about the size of the budget should rather complain of poor accountability because if we can account good we can take $100M to Brazil and come back with change. But you know this is Ghana the ways and me ...

• FAMA NYAME 10 years ago

Enye Hwee. Yenfa ma Nyame

Of Course God will make sure they won't embezzle the money.

A government that does not have $3million to do a very important project about the health of Ghanaians can dole out $20million for th ...

• Fuck Ampofo Ankrah 10 years ago

Your roads are flooding , you dont even have drinking water, kids in the villages need better school buildings and you spend $20M dollars on world cup. Idiots , i am no supporter of Revolutions by coup detat , but i UNDERSTAN ...

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

If this policy work then USA will win the world cup. This is pure foolishness if i spell it right . We don't have water to drink.

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

naive

• Adom 10 years ago

Mr Ampofo Ankrah there is no naivety about questioning the said $20million meant for the World cup.If you are a true Ghanian you will feel the pinch.Iam sure $10million will do so mr Ampofo do not insult or get annoyed when t ...

• KOFI HOLLAND. 10 years ago

The money is just too much.

• kwame vuga 10 years ago

you greedy bastard fuck ur anus

• tetteh moi 10 years ago

I am so so disappointed in guys like this foolish useless guy who used to be clean until he became a politician. Why do we need $20M for just a world cup which will do nothing for us than fun. we must set our priorities right ...

• ONYANSAFO KWAKU AGYEI 10 years ago

DO WE HAVE LEADERS WHO CAN REASON? NO.IF RICH NATIONS WHO CAN SPONSOR THE ENTIRE GAME, HAVE A BUDGET BELOW $10,MILLION WHY SHOULD A POOR COUNTRY LIKE GHANA GO BEYOND $2,MILLION.OUR LEADERS DO NOT THINK ABOUT FUTURE GENERATION ...

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

The games are in June and up till now FA does not have a budget? That is ridiculous>

• Tufguy 10 years ago

Easy talk. What about if Ghana don't qualify at the group stage. Budget should be slashed to half of the amount quoted.

• royman 10 years ago

it doesn't matter. the amount is ridiculously huge, the country cannot afford $20m when when people don't have water to drink

• Barimaba 10 years ago

Misplaced priorities

• Mike 10 years ago

Mr president wake up. Your people are getting impatient. We will soon be on the street to protest. Enough is enough for us. We are tired of your stupidity.

• CJO 10 years ago

In 2006 Ghana, through lengthy negotiations borrowed US$18M from an International organization for an 8 year project on cassava, yam, sweet potatoes to end 2014. Now we spent US$19 IN ONE MONTH IN 2010 and want to chop anothe ...

• Niibi 10 years ago

Here comes another Squiller (Animal Farm) to defend and justify why the PIGs should eat EGGS( from the chickens), drink MILK from the cows and HIJACK some of the famrs DOGS. What's your cut men?
    Anyway, I don't see any defen ...

• Michael 10 years ago

you think its an assumption that you guys will embezzle the funds? we are not assuming, it is a fact, do you know what $20m will do for this "challenged" economy but we can't blame you guys, GOODLUCK JONATHAN has shown that y ...

• GeoJo 10 years ago

What do anybody expect from Ampofo the spokes person for Afriyie: Ankrah of course. Defending anything coning from the Ministry. He has become one of them, formally he was a sports person talking sports but now political pers ...

• THINKER 10 years ago

IDIOT YOU AND UR FAMILY SHD.CHOP THE MONEY TODAY .HOWEVER IF YOU ARE INVITED TO ACCOUNT FOR IT IN THE NEAR FUTURE DONT SAY IT IS WICH-HUNTING.FOOL.

• Kojo Arthur 10 years ago

This defendig s useless n armless ok fire burn dem all