You are here: HomeNews2014 03 05Article 302468

Ghana is an apology of an independent state – Akosa

Read Comments Comments (147)

• Kalashnikov AK47 10 years ago

I ask the same questions everyday. Why did the divestiture people not include conditions for strategically important idustries to continue functioning after sell off? And in any case what did the purchasers buy them for?

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Sadly, the selling party(NPP) is waiting in line to take over from the confused and semi selling party(NDC).
    i wish the CPP was more organised to restore the lost dignity.

• KB 10 years ago

What a dumb President!

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Blame Francis Kofi Weah the dictator aka Kwame Nkrumah and not Maaame/Daaavi Ghana,Prof Akosa !

If that cunny dictator had set up strong institutions in the country and was accountable to the people of the land and had all ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Julor, why do you think Ghana is not dyfunctional? It is because of the strong institutions Nkrumah left behind. Otherwise things would have been gloomy than what we have now. It was because we had a good start but not manage ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

As touching education,health,industrialization,infrastructural services,nobody beats NKRUMAH,like you have stated perfectly here.
    BUT THE GUY WAS LEFT WITH A WHOLE LOT,TO HAVE TURNED GHANA INTO "HEAVEN" ON EARTH,IF:
    HE MIGH ...

Blame it on what and who ?

Blame the Ewe coup plotters(Kotoka,Harlley,Deku)and Afrifa, who deposed him,Nana Ansah ?

Did I hear you say that Nkrumah left behind strong institutions ?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaa ...

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

The list of institutions and factories Nkrumah left behind: You have the freedom to edit or amend it. Thanks!

Saltpond ceramic factory
    Aboso Glass Factory
    Kumasi leather Factory
    Kumasi Jute Factory
    Takoradi paper facto ...

• Nemi Kwesi Nemi 10 years ago

Nana Ansah, you just said it all. All these were left by Nkrumah during his "communist" era only to be left to die by the "capitalist"-minded people who overthrew him.

Whilst Nkrumah was building townships (Tema, Kwabenya, ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

As hard as some of us try to be PROUD of being BLACK and strong, our own people have MESSED us up so bad that it is turning to be "being ashamed of being black." WHY & HOW? Look at the many things listed by one Nana Ansah as ...

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

Its so shameful it gives me headache just thinking about it. Just consider what the NDC has done to Ghana's Health Insurance, the School Feeding project and other similar achievements of the NPP. They are all collapsing under ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

All those factories and industries were in operation during Busia's time. If you are looking for someone to blame for the theft of those factories, ask Rawlings, Ofui.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Nkrumah is dead with his dictatorship nonsense. Most of the things you listed here, eg, Neoplan bus Assembly plant, GNTC, SAFEWAY etc were already here or after Nkrumah was removed.

It doesn't even matter whether he built ...

• Ray 10 years ago

Only idiots like Cardinal and Jator Julor who were not even born when Nkrumah was overthrown in 1966 will display their ignorance on this forum.Blind and silly argument.Isn't it?

• ELINAM 10 years ago

The man experienced all the good things Nkrumah put in place but hated the with a passion.
    Why? I can not tell. His good education from it's foundation to the top had made him who he is today but that hate for a man who had ...

Hide your oafish idiocy, looney !

What do you know about Ghana before and after Nkrumah's dictatorship ?

Do I need to tell you ignorant son of a motherless bug-donkey that the Gold Coast was the richest country in sub-s ...

• Dombo Alhaji 10 years ago

IUt was not Nkrumah that declared himself life President but h3e was endorsed by Parliament.
    Some of you do not know the history of Ghana.
    Is he Nkrumakh that printed the Ghana gazette and endorsed himself a life OPresident ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

I do have few friends white but we debate stuff and make it clear why we should be left alone and they totally agreed with me, but it seems Cardinal wants to overzealously impress his white friends.
    The cold war is over and ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Please stay far away from him, because his ignorance does not admit accusation. Where as a triple idiot shall remain always in his hellish perdition. leave him alone to his figment.

The CIA does not need a fool whose corr ...

• OMANBA 10 years ago

So you want us to embellish the subversive and neo-colonialist activities of professor okafodidi Busia,J.B Danquah and Obetsebi Lamptey who allied themselves with neo-colonialists America and its western allies to subvert th ...

• Lewis Amoako 10 years ago

This is guy is too naive,idiotic AND NOT WELL-INFORMED.He does't know what he WRITES.He spews nonsense like CARDINAL.I HOPE HE IS NOT THE SAME PERSON.

Who owns this stray dog-molesting,ignorant quarter-twit, half-living in the slough of despair ?

They definitely miss Nkrumah, because since his absence every one who was deemed a fit, has been totally insufficient. Yet the sky was the limit, when he was around, even God is witness to this.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES...

NKRUMAH... 9 years
    JJ... 20 years
    Kuffour... 8 year
    Mills/Mahama... 5 years

By the way, did you add all the GET secondary boarding schools

• LUCK 10 years ago

WE ENJOYED GHANA AS A TRULY INDEPENDENT COUNTRY DURING THE PERIOD 6 MARCH 1957 TO 23 FEBRUARY 1966. THIS WAS THE PERIOD OF "FREE AND QUALITY EDUCATION";AT THE UNIVERSITY, STUDENTS STUDYING SCIENCE WERE AWARDED SPECIAL MONETAR ...

• TETTEH 10 years ago

A pre-fabricated factory was in the process of being set up in Accra with Russian help when the coup was staged and leading to abandonment.

Also there were a number of state-owned bakeries set up which produced the delicio ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Akasanoma (Phillips)
    Ghana Sanyo (Sanyo Corp.Japan)
    Steel Works, Tema
    Boatyard,Tema
    Alu Works,Tema (Aluminum roofing Sheets).
    Paint Division,Tema(Gihoc)
    GTP Textiles,Tema
    Chinese Textiles,Tema
    Juapong Textiles, Juapon ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Correction:
    Cantoments
    Estates,Accra
    (TDC),Tema
    Meradien Hotel,Tema
    Independence Arch,Accra
    Independence Square,Accra
    Accra Sports Stadium,Accra
    Ghana Highways. Authority
    Aburi Gardens
    Pedua ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Ghana would be better-off when ruled by a Dictator with a vision and passion for National development than a Reckless and Irresponsible Democrat who will sell his people for a pittance!

What do you know about Democracy? D ...

• JAMES 10 years ago

Obenfo,your name fits you.Your response is highly appreciated.You are very intelligent indeed.Let the idiots like CARDINAL,GRAHAM,JATOR JULOR and others contact you for advice.

• Afia Amaniampong 10 years ago

Bravo Obenfo, could not agree more!

Eat some beans to increase your protein requirement to grow some brains, you ignorant liliputian !

Did I hear you say that Ghana would be better-off when ruled by a dictator with a vision like Francis Kofi Weah aka Kwame N ...

Kwasea, asantehene has been accountable to you rapacious and predatory ashantes forever yet look at the state of your ashante confederacy where baby stealing is now democratic, still birth or otherwise.

Nkrumah, thanks to ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

I hope they have the understanding to comprehend these profound statements you cleverly put across.
    And truly, "superiority will always be detested"
    The true leader will sooner than latter emerge again but will take some n ...

Did you forget to pay your brain bill, you sufferer of latent neurotic ambivalence ?

I would have loved to beat you up, but I have a problem with cruelty to dumb animals and there is where you get your exemption.

Do you ...

• hfskjsbut 10 years ago

but it was ntafo who caused mischief at the hospital...It wasn't ashantes, it happened in our region doesn't mean we did it lol

Do not blqme your Prewsident but blame tribal sensitivity , the NPP and AND THEIR FOR RUNNERS FOR THIS STATE OF THE NATION AND NOT I REPEAT NOT MAHAMA.
    You cannot manage your own village girl friend and u are pointing accusi ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Prof, you are right. How do you expect a country ruled by CiA agents like Afrifa,Kotoka, Busia, Kufour and now Mahama (who is just saying YES to anything) to be anything else? CPP why cant we think and come together to fight ...

• Jenny 10 years ago

Apology indeed! Since independence from the colonial masters, people still struggling for basic amnesties as water, electricity, defecating in the open due to lack of toilets in the homes, open sewages still persist, poor hea ...

• Gbon 10 years ago

Nkrumah studied in the UK and USA but returned to Ghana as if he had never heard about democracy. Life President and no Vice. Even Hitler had Hess. One-party state and any one he thought was a threat to his tyranny including ...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

People like you and your negative comments is how we are in this state of affairs. You have no idea what Afrifa, Kotoka, Acheampong, Rawlings and now the so-called democracy of NDC and NPP has done and doing to this nation. B ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Even a black American lady had to keep her seat to a white person everything she took a bus. Nonsense. What democracy. You mean your copy copy democrazy?

• Djake Koku Salif 10 years ago

What do you think about the NDC who have had the lions share on government and what have they done. They fucking sit there and steal ideas and do not even implement them well. This has been led by Rawlings. If he had set up g ...

• Bitter Ghana 10 years ago

You lie bad. The CPP people have been in power directly and indirectly for 44 years. The only time the CPP people have not been in power were 3 years after 1966, 2 years of Busia regime and 8 years of President Kufuor. So giv ...

Come again!!! where did you learn your political history? are you a product of Rawlings' JSS?

• prempeh 1. 10 years ago

You people think Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was so foolish as the U.P terrorist groups, Nkrumah fought hard to get the independence from Britain, and the terrorist groups overthrown him and give back the country to the coloni ...

• tuy 10 years ago

Ghana is a failed state. Look at the level of corruption among politicians judges, policemen and civil servants. Ghana has poorly trained doctors with crumbling medical infrastructure. Millions of citizens do have access to s ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings is the biggest seller,but not Kufuor.

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

PROF YOU WERE IN THIS COUNTRY WHEN NKRUMAH'S FACTORIES AND OTHER ASSETS WERE EITHER SOLD OUT OR LEFT IN THE BUSH TO DECAY.WHY DID YOU NOT FIGHT AGAINST THE DIVERSTITURE? WHY COULD YOU BRING IN FOREIGN COMPANIES TO COME AND RE ...

• Ackah 10 years ago

Ghana, Rise up!! Wake up!! In this situation in which we find ourselves today, it would even be unwise for Nana Addo/NPP to talk about free SHS if he is in power today. Two hundred SHS are not the nation's priority even thoug ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

That's exactly the problem we have with these successive governments. Very irrational, impulsive, misplaced priorities, unrealistic objectives which leads into gross mismanagement.

That's an old saying in the wild west hahaha. How easy it is to criticize when the obvious is here and clear for all to see? We don't need to hear about the results of past indiscretions because we can see too. Question is, ...

• Frank 10 years ago

CPP helped Nkrumah to destroy Ghana with severe tyranny and the whole country was run by one man Kwame Nkrumah who made a lot of blunders. He declared GHana a one-party state and eliminated all who did not sing his praise. He ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Nkrumah did not amass billions to himself like your cronies have done. Everything he did was left to the nation. When that stinking Maha dies, everything he has stolen will be left to his family and the rest will be taken by ...

THERE IS HOPE!!!

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

Frank what has all those other parties done for you? Have they supplied you with clean water to drink? At least Dr. Nkrumah built roads, factories etc and laid water pipes for the masses. What has happened to all those Dr. Nk ...

• MK 10 years ago

Get you facts right and stop the ridiculous myths. Nduom wrote the plan for the divestiture you speak of. Tell me where are State Construction Corporation, and all the other GIHOC enterprises...? Totobi Quakye was the Chairma ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

GHANA KNOWLEDGE BANK =ESTABLISHED=
    ========================================
    LET US IMITATE OSAGYEFO
    =========================================
    LET US IMITATE DR DANQUAH
    ====================================
    PROFESSO ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

WE MUST RESPECT EDUCATION==
    IT IS A WAY TO VICTORY
    GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
    NEVER SAY NEVER NEVER NEVER=
    === METRO AFRIKA==

• KWAA 10 years ago

Anybody at 57,who can`t feed his family is a failure.So it means we as people have failed the nation Ghana.
    This is a Country where people go into politics with the intention of becoming rich.
    Greed,Selfishness,corruption,d ...

Indeed.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Yes Ghanaians go into politics for negative reasons instead of wanting to improve the lives of our fellow men.

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

As I see it:
    I am ready and willing to sacrifice my best for the development of our country, and to the advantage of all of us. Why must I bribe you with a laptop, private vehicle of amounts of money stolen from the bleeding ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Braindeadfuo nkoaaaaaaa

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

THAT STATEMENT BY NKRUMAH THAT " THE AFRICAN IS CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN AFFAIRS" IS WRONG. AFRICANS CANNOT MANAGE THEIR OWN AFFAIRS.GHANAIANS ARE BIG FOOLS. THE INDEPENDENCE IS A MISPLACED PRIORITY. IT HAD RATHER MADE F ...

• Graham 10 years ago

Akosa the professor who backs 1.tyranny of the worst type 2.one-party state 3.President for Life without a Vice President 4. Life imprisonment and toture for all political opponents 5. Control of the judiciary, press, sports ...

• Ray 10 years ago

This idiotic and naive Graham is one of those born after 1966 like CARDINAL and JATO JULOR,who have not made any research but have been brainwashed by Nkrumah's MATEMEHO OPPPONENTS.

• OH, MAHAMA !!! 10 years ago

WE CANNOT GET WATER TO BATH OR LUSH OUR TOILETS IN "BETTER GHANA", 57 LONG YEARS AFTER INDEPENDENCE. WE HAVE TO ATTEND THE INDEPENDENCE PARADE WITH OUR SMELLING BODIES AND RETURN TO OUR HOMES TO SAVOUR THE BAD SMELL FROM OUR ...

• Ray 10 years ago

YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON ITS HEAD,PROF.THIS IS THE PLAIN TRUTH.THE WHITEMAN IS LAUGHING AT IDIOTS LIKE CARDINAL AND JATO JULOR.

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAS NOTHING GOOD TO OFFER . HE JUST WANT TO BE PRESIDENT FOR PRESIDENT SAKE

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

There is no question about that but we are allowing him to get away with it with empty promises so he can come back. Ghanaians must BE BOLD to swallow tribalism and remove this man and give someelse a chance. Time is running ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

check your own xfucking conscience

• Victor A Attah,Syracuse,NY. 10 years ago

You damn right!

• Ikekesa 10 years ago

I salute you prof for your insightful, and factual analysis and talk. Ghana should rise and shine again !!!

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

We imported grave diggers from China when uncle Atta died. We don't even know how to dig a hole. What a nation.

I laughed when I read your piece. It is really sad, very sad after 57 years of independence. The best Highway is George Bush II Highway. Everything is in a state of decay.

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

AK47 You have asked a nice question which those who sold it can not tell us because they themselves were part of the purchasers. sold everything to them so they can enjoy yearly dividends from this companies. check their back ...

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

Can some one agree with me that the nation Ghana is now worse off after we adopted democracy? all the politicians need is another four years to loot us immediately after an election.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

We are independent just to mismanage anything we see because that is what we are good at. If a man of 57 years, still depends on his father to feed his family, what is the message then?

Yesterday, we heard that "Donor" n ...

• Yoya 10 years ago

What happened?
    Stop the childish blame game!!!
    We all suffer together and enjoy together.
    Lets stand up and act like grown ups for once for the future of our children and grandchildren.

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

wrong heading but akosa is talking too much and doing nothing with what he says. Since he left GHS i don't know what he has done to help ghana so so big degrading talks about his own nation. Eeei Prof Akosa. Where is your hau ...

• MK 10 years ago

Akosa is a fully-tenured Professor at the Ghana Medical School, where he helps to train new doctors, ok? WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING TO HELP GHANA other than trash talk on behalf of PPP on Ghanaweb?

You are a bloody fool

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

For a while now the NDC as a party worship J.J. Rawlings as some kind of hero even after the abuse, destruction and the stealing and mayhem from him and his team including using the wife to seize most of state-owned factories ...

• Bitter Ghana 10 years ago

Ask and you will be told about Krobo Edusei, of Nkrumah's CPP who had 21 houses scattered all over the country and who imported a golden bed for his wife. Get educated.

• MK 10 years ago

You provide the most treasured commentary on Ghanaweb. Truthful, balanced, eloquent but no beating about the bush. I swear, if I owned a radio or tv station in Ghana, I'd seek you out to be a regularly-featured panelist or a ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

NO, we are DEPENDENT! Somehow, the leaders don't see it that way.Enjoy on BORROWED MONEY,boast and thump your bony Chest,eat fufu? and add Eagle Beer and say your're the GATEWAY to Africa!!
    TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!
    WE ARE ...

• Arny 10 years ago

No toilets, water, electricity, poor education, filthy environment is something Ghanaman is proud of after 57 years. What a success story !

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

It is time Ghana stopped lining up schoolchildren in the hot tropical sunshine in the name of, unless we, adults, can convince them what benefits independence brought to them.

• Queen 10 years ago

Thank you Joe. Independence celebration is a fart. What's there to celebrate?

• Yaw Ohemeng 10 years ago

The state as a the main investor in our economy was in vogue at the time of independence. We as nationals, even then, did not patronise what we were producing because we regarded them as inferior.

This coupled with the fa ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

You are wrong, Ohemeng.

The state industries were not all managed well, which led to the state subsidies. Nigeria and the rest of West Africa was an untapped market. Nkrumah's industrialisation policy went hand-in-hand wit ...

• sam 10 years ago

We all understand times are difficult and the numerous coup has not helped the country either.
    What have you as a prof done to help the country ?
    Have you remained honest in your dealings with the nation?
    Have you not used ...

what have you done to help the country?

• setope emu 10 years ago

Whenever I say this my friends complain that I am not patriotic. How can one be when there is nothing to show of. When you have leaders who themselves are not. We all strive to travel outside Ghana for a greener pasture but s ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

I hate to agree with you but you've told the truth. Let me go one step further to say that we have all become good analysts as to the cause why are where we are, assigning blame and dancing in circles. I think we need to go b ...

• Whiteman 10 years ago

What ever you have now is a development on your past. Prof you will be cleaning my arse if not you independence

• Abrantie 10 years ago

Yes Prof Akosah did not say all these because there was one man with the gun and absolute power to terminate you if dare open your mouth.You all shd blame JJ for wasteful 20 yrs and sold off the country's factories to his cro ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA-"THE INDIPENDENCE OF GHANA IS MEANINGLESS UNLESS IT IS LINKED WITH THE TOTAL LIBERATION OF AFRICA". PULSE. NOW, LET MY PEOPLE TH ...

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Ghanaians are too local. 75 per cent with constipated brains, 98 per cent of male population do not accept challenges. 89 per cent do not accept responsibilities. 90 per cent of Ghanaian women are too easy going. 99.1 per cen ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

You forgot to add that all Ghanaians care is to party, dance, eat, drink and fuck. They cannot organize themselves like the Ukrainians or the Arabs, allowing few and same people to steal over and over again without resorting ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

we don't want to be like those brain dead Ukrainians or the Arabs,they will never get their countries back,
    there's population control in motion,dare throw your country in chaos.finito

• Close Observer 10 years ago

The unity of our dear country must not be compromised for any political gain. We must respect every tribe in the country and avoid playing on the minds of those who have not been lucky to have any formal education for our sel ...

• Mr.bigstuff 10 years ago

U ARE VERY RIGHT SIR. "AS THE SAY GOES, THE FALUIRE IS NOT TRY"IT" WE AS A NATION DEPEND TOO MUCH ON FOREIGN IMPORTS
    RATHER THAN BEING SELF RELIANCE WITH OUR NATURAL RESORCE THAT WE HAVE. BRAVO TO YOU SIR. MAYBE U NEED TO ED ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

GHANA INDEPENDENT IS MEANINGLESS UNTIL WE HAVE ECONOMIC FREEDOM.LOOK AT TODAY THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT TELLING GHANAIANS TO ALLOW MEN GO TO BED WITH
    FELLOW MEN SO THAT THEY GIVE MONEY TO OUR GOVERNMENT.THAT IS BLOODY ABUSE
    LO ...

• Wabee 10 years ago

I wii be happy if the so called Prof. Akosa apologize to himself for praising Kwame Nkrumah as visionery leader. Ghana is in this problem because of Kwame Nkrumah desire for power.Who build Akosombo dam . Was it Kwame Nkrumah ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Dear Prof., progressive tinkers like you will never be allowed any chance. You are a threat to the "create,loot and share" mantra of the NDC. You are a threat to the empyy slogan of "probity and accountability" which for almo ...

• xyz 10 years ago

no this is not true

• mugu1 10 years ago

Wabee certainly these what you tell your children!!! no doubt ghana is facing unnecessary problem.
    YOU DAMN PART OF THE CANCER EATING GHANA

• Nana Brenyah 10 years ago

We are playing games. We can not even dig well for water. Foreign churches come to Ghana to teach our villages how to dig wells and how to contract places of convenience. We have all these Universities, none of them invent an ...

• mubarik abdallah (Accra) 10 years ago

Everything that he says is nothing but the truth,OUR LEADERS HAVE SOLD THE INDEPENDENT WE HAD BACK TO THE COLONIALS

• Alewa 10 years ago

Good question to ask. "Are we independent? "

• Anita 10 years ago

How can beggars be independent ?

• Evelyn 10 years ago

OUR LEADERS ARE PATROITS IN REVERSED ORDER. WE NEED SELFLESS AND VISIONARY LEADERS.

• amin 10 years ago

home used new type nissan march japan type full aircondition, for sale price 10.000 gh cedis. pls call 0242567688,

• Kk3 10 years ago

The above posted picture is evidence of the root of our demise. These men were all glorified puppets! After almost 60 years still absolutely no hope just running to stay still. O Ghana!

• Che Guevara 10 years ago

Count them: Osagyefo Dr Kwame Knrumah's Pwalugu Tomato Factory; Bolga Corned Beef Factory; Kumasi Shoe Factory; KumasiJute Bags; GIHOC Factories with subsidiaries, GiHOC Cannery at Nsawam and Takoradi caning Pinneaples, etc; ...

• Fiscko 10 years ago

Dr Kwame Nkrumah is the smartest blackman ever live. He told us to unite but we didnt listen. We will pay the price forever. Why should it be countries in our own continent? It should be states ruled by one leader.

• koffie 10 years ago

Mmmmmmm

• prospero kwansah 10 years ago

indeed is at times a shame to be Ghanaian. considering what our leaders do with the resources of the state that was ones an example to other states in africa. the proud african country. there is a lot of self minded leaders m ...

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

The first opportunity for Ghana to develop was offered to Nkrumah on a silver platter by capitalist Great Britain.He blew it because of opportunism.
    J.B Danquah and company had the right ideas:democracy for political stabil ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

CHECH YOUR WRITING something aren't correct also check your thought

• PAN AFRICANIST 10 years ago

THIS MAN HAS SPOKEN THE TRUTH ABOUT THE ESSENCE OF OUR INDEPENDENCY. IT IS VERY SAD TO SEE US 57 YEARS STILL BEGGING, WHILST WE ARE BLESSED WITH EVERY RESOURCES A COUNTRY NEED TO DEVELOP.I WILL DEDUCT MR. NKRUMAH'S 7 YEAR DEV ...

• Akyena Brantuo Snr 10 years ago

All these factories are gone due to that stupid coup plotters JJ Rawlings and his nasty Boakye Gyan. But these people are still complaining about unemployment in Ghana. God will punish them one by one.

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT ALLOWS THE I.M.F. TO DICTATE TO US. WE HAVE SO MANY RESOURCES BUT WE LET THE WESTERNERS TELLS US HOW MUCH THEY ARE WILLING TO PAY FOR THEM. WE DON'T NAME OUR PRICES FOR THEIR CARS, SO WHY MUST WE ALLOW OURSELV ...

• Phagocyte 10 years ago

THIS IS PERFECTLY SPOKEN, BUT WHY CAN'T SUCH PERSONS WITH SUCH GOOD THOUGHTS BECOME PRESIDENT TO THIS NATION. AS THE ADAGE GOES "IF THE WISE REFUSES TO ATTEND A MEETING MEANT FOR MAKING LAWS, THE FOOLS WHO ATTENDED MAKES LAWS ...

• Mr Tee 10 years ago

tnks

• Babs 10 years ago

Na who cause am mr Akosa

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Well said Prof. Akosa. We need broad minded people like you to steer the affairs of the country.

• Spiky 10 years ago

Thank you Prof Akosa. If anyone wants to understand the state in which we are today the one must understand the rivalry between Nkrumah and JB Danquah, the diametrically opposed political philosophies of Nkrumah and Danquah w ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Places where Ghanaians can walk in Ghana stretches and crosses into distance of more than thousands of miles with soil layers so fertile, able to grow anything and everything yet there is hunger and deprivation on the land. S ...

• Anina 10 years ago

Ghana must forget about celebrating indpoendanc eday because it is money being wasted down the drain.

• Anina 10 years ago

So why do we celebrate it wasting our limited resources . Lets face facts are we really independant when we always depend on products from other countries rather our very own?

• TEE 10 years ago

AFTER NKRUMAH WE HAVE NOT GOT ANY VISIONARY. THAT IS THE PROBLEM WE ARE FACING IN GHANA NOW. I KNOW FOR SURE MAHAMA IS GOING TO LIE 1000% TO THE GUINEA PRESIDENT. I AM SICK TO HEAR A PRESIDENT OF GUINEA VISITING GHANA FOR OUR ...

• Charlie, U.S.A 10 years ago

BEFORE INDEPENDENCE AND AFTER INDEPENDENCE (57YEAR LATER)WHICH IS BETTER ECONOMICALLY? NOW OR THEN. I THINK IT IS ABOUT TIME TO LET THE CITIZENS OF GHANA DECIDE ON A GENERAL REFERENDUM WHETHER GHANAIANS WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

“the significance of [independence] is such that, today it’s the World Bank and all the UN agencies that think for us. It’s the various Embassies in this country that think for us.”

Spot on Prof Akosa. It is shocki ...

• Frank Akoto 10 years ago

Well said, Prof. I have been asking myself why are you not the President.

You are a man of wisdom; cast in the mould of our late President Dr Kwame Nkrumah. The truth shall always make you free.Keep up your spirited speec ...

• Tadi Ba 10 years ago

YEARS OF EXACTLY WHAT? By CAMERON DUODU

QUOTE: "Russian historians past and present have often liked to contemplate Russia's role in the community of nations. . . [One] view, emerging after the bloody decades of revoluti ...

• GAS 10 years ago

PROF.WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL THESE YEARS?YOU SEEM TO HAVE JUST WAKEN UP AFTER YOUR ........ AT HOME.LET US TALK LESS ABOUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS, I THINK EVERY ONE KNOWS.YOU ARE ONE OF THE PEOPLE WHO FAILED THIS COUNTRY AFTER T ...

• JC 10 years ago

How can a beggar country with thieves, crooks and rogues as rulers be an independent country?

• Bortear 10 years ago

Let us study the way the Swiss practice their demacracy if we want to maintain party politics. Otherwise let make all parliamentarians independent candidates. Then in parliament they can choose among themselves who should be ...

• OSAGYEFO NANA KWAME OTUAPEMG 10 years ago

WELL DELIVERED, DR. GHANA IS SICK AND MOST OF IT PEOPLE ARE MENTALLY ILL. THE YOUTH ESPECIALLY ARE NOT THE YOUTH IN THOSE DAYS THAT WERE SO MUCH PATRIOT FOR THIS COUNTRY. BUT ALL BECAUSE OF "BAD, GREEDY GOVERNANCE AFTER OSAGY ...