You are here: HomeNews2014 03 01Article 302136

Ghana is a nation of jokers; time to get serious - Otabil

Read Comments Comments (199)

• Angel 10 years ago

Preaches joke in the pulpit every time. Why is the man of God acting as if he himself has never joked? Get serious yourself MOG. Let people cool themselves off with a joke. Tweea!!! are you my co-equal?

• Whatever 10 years ago

And because of that our problems are still with us and we joke about it every now and then. People who have a responsibility to act, intentionally resort to humor to mask their failures and we all overlook that. All of us are ...

• KB 10 years ago

Because we cannot solve our problems, we joke to laugh them off. What a people, what a President!

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

We are not a serious people otherwise tell me how someone runs a whole campaign on the tagline of "e dey bee keke" with no clear policies and yet is voted into power.

Our politicians have taken us as a joke, and rightly so ...

• yaw 10 years ago

They were not voted into power. They stole the election. Period.

• RJ 10 years ago

Yaw, you are one of those idiots who will call a cow an ox even if you see it giving birth, keep on dreaming.

• kwamena 10 years ago

Yes I see many jokers around who suffer and on sunday carry all they get for you to buy a house at trassaco and live like a king!! You are one big joker yourself!!!!

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Otabil, shut your face and give Ghanaians space to be creative instead taking them hostage. Otabil, YOU ARE THE PERSONIFICATION OF A PERFECT CLOWN.

Whenever this perfect CLOWN takes a dose of his religious Opium he rants a ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

when u re bein taught how to think u jok wit it oh fools

• JUSTICE LEADER 10 years ago

EVEN THE JOKER NDC PREZ JDM JOKED AT THE STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS! USELESS PRESIDENT!

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Well said, Pastor Otabil, but it took you too long to realise that and we are not just jokers, but dastard jokers including yourself.

Why should we allow terrorists,thugs and kleptocrats to input indemnity clauses in our c ...

• Ayikwei 10 years ago

'...and if you're an African, you should be frowning' Ahaaaa!!! Just listen to Pastor Otabil. He has lost his sense of humour to the extent that he can't even realize (let alone appreciate) the humour in the irony of his stat ...

• julo 10 years ago

Interesting that we are all trying to make a dspicable situation light and see the funny side of it. I thought that is a good quality to have. No, the pastor wants us to be angry.

I often wonder what kind of bible school ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HE IS RIGHT!

CHANGE IS IMMINENT!
    "There are 31,530,000 seconds in a year, a thousand milliseconds in a second, a million microseconds, and a billion nanoseconds.
    The one constant connecting nanoseconds to years is chan ...

• Amanor ,Isaac USA 10 years ago

Honestly,the one who said tweaa has spoken to describe how both NDC and NPP leaders have disappointed us.They are all TWEAA leaders.No jobs,polluted water bodies,open gutters,corrupt toilet commissioners,etc.It is not a jok ...

• BlindMan 10 years ago

Pastor Otabil deserves a PARDON, a Senior Citizen who can not shed-off the FIFTIES thoughts. However, he deserves a BIG pat on his back for exposing his ignorance, and he'll learn from the responses he receives. This, on the ...

• Washington 10 years ago

GHANAIANS NEED TO GET SERIOUS.
    THANK YOU MR NDUOM FOR STARTING THIS CONVERSATION

• Nyamekye-God's Hat. 10 years ago

How dare you disrespect the president? Your are looking respect very fast.politics has taken over you, don't you joke? Nonsense!

Those leeches and extortionists like Otabil, Duncan, Bempah and cohorts who take able Ghanaians ransom 24/7 for 365 days are the last people to ever criticise the governement and are culprits to the sharply deteriorating nat ...

• Ghanaba. 10 years ago

Nana Ansah,

It is wrong, completely wrong to insult people just because you disagree with them.
    Don't you think we need to get more serious as a people? We joke about every thing and allow them to slide, even when they r ...

If we want to be taken serious then we have to get rid of these mushroom armpit bible pastors. Period! Are you saying that Otabil saying something new? He is no different from the thieving politicians. The pastors extort Mone ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Nana, you can't stand the truth because you know where Otabil was going. I am surprised Otabil was not bold enough to tell Mahama about making jokes during his state of the nation address.

Mahama was not Presidential crack ...

• Nyansaba 10 years ago

WE ARE WHERE WE ARE BECAUSE OF THESE STUPID AND BRAINLESS NDC SUPPORTERS WHO WILL INSULT ANYONE WHO DARES TO SPEAK THE TRUTH AS IT IS. WE ALL WATCH IN AWE AS MAHAMA AND HIS GREEDY BASTARDS CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE THE NATION'S ...

• Judas 10 years ago

Your presidential candidate is I junkie who speak no sense with followers"Nana Addo the junkie"

• Osei Bonsu 10 years ago

Excellent piece of work Dr Otabil. You have had my greatest respect from day one. It is time we realize that Ghanaian youth need to change from that attitude to make a whole impact. Leadership need to set the example for the ...

Sarpong, I got the message alright but even the president of the United States does cracked a joke in SoN address even when all was not well.

If Otabil has a sense of humour Bypass
    and not with him to laugh. He cannot
    p ...

Sarpong, I got the message alright but even the president of the United States did cracked a joke in his SoN address even when all was not well.

If Otabil has a sense of humour Bypass
    and not with him to laugh. He cannot

• Papazee 10 years ago

he never said u cannot joke at all...and he didnt suggest he doesnt like humour at all either...but if u read his speech he tells u who he thinks should be laughing more at this present time. so if u chose to compare OBAMA an ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

OTABIL NOT STRAIGHTFORWARD LIKE GUY AT THE BUS STOP.

A guy is walking past a bus stop and says to a woman "Can I smell your cunt?" "Fuck off, no you can't smell my cunt!" the woman yells back at him, "Oh" he replies, looki ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Nana Ansah, If this clear message delivered by this very knowledgeable and respected man is not clear to you, there is nothing wrong asking someone who is good at COMPREHENSION to help you understand it; unless you just want ...

Your Kind will be picked up like snails without a slice of defence or sturdy resistance. Before this crook thinks; I have thought. Got it!

The baneful effect this mushroom pastors who hold able Ghanaians ransom year in and ...

Interesting Nana, I obviously don't have to argue with you because you don't seem to know what you are saying. Nothing makes sense to me. I definitely need to get off your radar before I'm bundled together with you by well re ...

Indeed, ignorance is bliss. And more worse is twisted learned ignorance. Stay blessed and drunk with religious bliss. Very worrying! I think obsevers should be worried about the sharp rise of 419 scam pastors. Say it ain't s ...

I don't think there is the need to continue. Maybe we will find something else to agree on some other time.

Bravo! We agree to disagree! You are humorous; Otabil cannot stifle Ghanaians of a laugh because it is not with him. Humour is when you can laugh over your bloody self. A day without a laugh is a lost day. Goodnight! I expe ...

Have a goodnight my brother.

• Papazee 10 years ago

Would you laugh when u are in court with a possible death sentence on your neck??? maybe that is what the man is saying, am sure he is saying there is time to joke and time not to joke...its a simple message. Dont trivialize ...

• Papazee 10 years ago

Of course we should be worried about 419 Pastors, however that does not mean every pastor is 419. For everything that has genuine, there is also a FAke,the question is how do u judge which one is fake. If you are christian, r ...

• Ernns 10 years ago

How many politicians in our society have build universities in our dear land? How many have (with words )affect the lives of many to help them change their destinies? (apart from given out t-shirts and bicycles to poor people ...

Holy crap! I am wondering whether you premeditated before asking those crap bait questions? The answer is blowing in the wind. Ghana needs more thinkers not pastors.

• Ernns 10 years ago

Nana, Nana Nana, You did not answer my question. you just echoed what Mensah Otsabil said..Ghana indeed need more thinkers..being politicians, teachers, enterprenuers, Pastors...etc... You have not surely acted as a thinker ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Jokes aside, how does a people who sit down hours on end listening to self appointed preachers prosper?
    How does prayers revamp the economy?

If prayers do, how long shall we pray, how many years shall we pray before our p ...

• Ernns 10 years ago

Well let me rephrase and see if you make sense of what you wrote " How do sitting in an economics class make people prosper? How do listening to English lectures makes you a better speaker?" Do you suddenly realize the foolis ...

• MenayeFUAforiwa 10 years ago

"Ye bewu nti yenna,Dr."? Some of these joke take our minds from the anxieties our crooked politicians put us through. According to a United Nations statistics there were more crazy people in the then Soviet Union than the who ...

• American Soldier 10 years ago

You look and listen to Ghanaian leaders and if you have lived in USA or European before, you wonder "what is wrong with these people". 80% or more of what you call leaders cannot hold a supervisory job in America for long. Th ...

• william 10 years ago

What Ghanaians have done is to publicly ridicule the naive and immature DCE. THAT IS POSITIVE OUTRAGE!HE HAS BEEN SAVED FROM HIS NAIVETY. HE WILL NEVER REPEAT SAME. NOR WILL ANOTHER POLITICIIAN!

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• Jones J $$$>(AFRICA MUST UNITE !!!) 10 years ago

$$$>>> Insight to the Bone Should Grow Up

Don't become a Klu Klux Klan, even though you have the right to fight back against Tribalistic Pigs who hate us, and killed our People.

Consider all Ghanaians, and all Human Bei ...

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

Don't get hung up on the example he gave. He was basically talking about our general lack of seriousness as a nation.

If you are saying "publicly ridiculing" public servants when they err is the best form of deterrent, the ...

• william 10 years ago

How can you compare the Woyome case which is in court following due process with a silly behavior of a DCE? And are you also suggesting he gave a bad example? If you say Ghanaians are not serious that is your personal view an ...

• Papazee 10 years ago

No No...We have just endorsed the DCE acts and famous statements by giving it such publicity. That is what we have done and that is what the Pastor seems to be suggesting. U tell me if you find your 17 year old son sticking h ...

• BIN LARDIN 10 years ago

Has this man ever declare Ghana as nation of Jokers during corrupt time of NPP? Is a politician or a pastor? Please, these are the pastors of NPP. During 2000-2008, he has never said anything concerning NPP`s heavy corruptio ...

• yapo 10 years ago

my bro, our problem is that blackmen can rule no nation ...becouse we don't understand the world system does all, look at ghana bosses just set in the office and is doing their work for them, funny people, full like angel don ...

• John Toy 10 years ago

You are the number joker Machiavellian preacher man. Just make your political affiliation clear to all and sundry before you start talking about national issues. Baaaaaaah!

• John Toy 10 years ago

You are the number one joker Machiavellian preacher man.Just make your political affiliation known to all and sundry before you talk about politics.

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

There is time for everything.Atime to joke and atime to be serious!Too much of everything is bad.A turkey will joke,laugh,make noise,etc as it moves along but in its estacy,it forgets itslef and therefore unable to find its w ...

• ??? 10 years ago

Hold your head high, stick your chest out. You can make it. It gets dark sometimes, but morning comes. Keep hope alive.

• Emmanuei 10 years ago

Touch not my anointed, says the word of God. If Araba
    is a youth, and does not see wisdom in what Otabil ( MOG) says, then Ghana will decide her future for her with much more jokes from politicians

• busy 10 years ago

if some people could insult the man of God like this,then i pity this nation.little minds

• GET SERIOUS !!! 10 years ago

PARLIAMENT IS NEITHER A CHURCH NOR A PLAYGROUND FOR CHILDREN BORN AFTER INDEPENDENCE. IT IS A PLACE FOR SERIOUS BUSINESS BY MATURED AND SERIOUS POLITICIANS. SPARE US THE "TWEAAH ... MONYE KOM" NONSENSE BY POLITICAL TODDLERS.

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

There is seriously something wrong with you seek a psychiatrics . You are totally behind

• Angel2 10 years ago

Who said tweea? I think for once in the midst of the economic hardship and challenges, if a man jokes, it must not be seen as a crime. Therefore I will joke too. Who said tweea? Are you my co-equal?

• Efo 10 years ago

Dr Otabil, thank you for your Godly advice but looking at the condition we all find ourselves under this BRUTAL government, if we don't joke, many will commit suicide.

• EMMA 10 years ago

How can we deceive ourselves with laughter when all is not well. There is time for everything, but joking around all the time is not a good sign for any nation. Not even for Americans.

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

Why do you think Ghana is not progressing as a country ?

Here are my personal conclusions :

1. Inherently, we have the tendency
    to disregard the basic human
    rights of others; esp. when in
    a position of power.

2. I ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

As a seasoned public speaker, Pastor Otabil should know very well the effective use of humour to arrest the attention of your audience particularly in a long presentation.
    To this effect, no one uses jokes to achieve the hum ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Truly, Preachers,Public Speakers and Lecturers use "Comic Relieve" as refreshment to reduce tension from their listeners, and then quickly go back to the point.

That is not what Rev. Otabil is trying to cut across. Ghan ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

And because of that our problems are still with us. People who have a responsibility to act, intentionally resort to humor to mask their failures and we all overlook that. All of us are part of problem. We have failed this c ...

• The Truth 10 years ago

People hate the truth. what the pastor is saying is 100% right. MAY GOD BLESS HIM.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 10 years ago

A nation that produces people who are creative with ideas and educated its people always succeed in economic development - Marx wrote. Ghanaians are jokers, jokers do not develop nations. Just take a critical review of the ...

• FA 10 years ago

MY CONCERN TOO IS NOT WHETHER THE GOVT HAVE FAILED,BUT WHETHER THEY ARE CONTENT WITH THEIR FAILURE.

• Amoah Wade3 10 years ago

A man from UK is an european.

maybe its about the time you start seeing the great Book you have in your hand as a BIG JOKE

which makes you and all your followers Jokers .

• ??? 10 years ago

GFA REFUSED TO GIVE HIM THE MONEY HE REQUESTED.

May joke and laughter fill your home, relieve your stress, and strengthen your friendships. Do not let a day go buy without laughing; it is good for your health. Gift To Give ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

i hope ur head is well screwed on ur sholders. God forgive u.

• TIGYI DOUGLAS 10 years ago

Ghanaian leaders are visionless people. Non of them including president Mahama has even read a book about past leaders such kim kuan yew, Mahatma Ghandhi, Mungo Park, Julius Nyerere, and others. All they care about is their s ...

• NDUOM 10 years ago

AM NOT GETTING THE LOGIC AND THE MOTIVE BEHIND THIS MAN OF GOD'S SURMON WHAT DOES HE WANT TO PUT ACROSS?I THINK HE IS A BIAS POLITICIAN(NPP) THAN A PREACHER

• ghanaba 10 years ago

wen u crowd ur thoughts wit politics dis is how u see wisdom

• NDUOM 10 years ago

IS THIS MAN OF GOD NOT A LEADER?SO WHAT KIND OF LEADERS IS HE TALKING ABOUT?

• Nana Kwaku 10 years ago

Otabil if given the mantle cannot solve 10 % of the nation's problems. A motivational speaker/pastor gather people, takes some money from them and motivates them to either lead a Godly life or run a good business. At the end ...

If he can motivate people to lead Godly lives and run good business, then he is already a leader! If we have a leader to motivate Ghanaians to lead Godly lives and run good business, the business of Ghana would be done and ri ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Otabil's ICGC relocated to and lived in Agbogloshie barely 20years now. For 20yrs monies that have been collected in that location alone from church members whom some are local residents runs into millions of US dollars. What ...

• Papazee 10 years ago

The answer is simple, You cannot improve what you dont have?? I bet the little that he has in the midst of the filth is in itself not covered with filth. check other publications who reported the whole story and see how he la ...

• Ama ghana 10 years ago

Because the politicians esp NDC have realize that Ghana is the place where God came to dump the foolish people when he saw nothing good from them.

• Kofican 10 years ago

Thank you, Ama.

You took the words right out of my mouth.

IT'S ONLY THE WIS WHO WILL SEE THE WISDOM IN WHAT IS SAID.THANK U BECAUSE I NEVER TOOK IT AS A JOKE AND I WILL NOT.GHANIANS IT'S TIME TO GET SERIOUS.EVEN THE IRRESPONSIBLE PRESIDENT HAS JOINED IN.IF THIS HAPPENED IN AUS.THE D ...

IT'S ONLY THE WISE WHO WILL SEE THE WISDOM IN WHAT IS SAID.THANK U PAS. OTABIL.I NEVER TOOK IT AS A JOKE AND I WILL NOT.GHANIANS IT'S TIME TO GET SERIOUS.EVEN THE IRRESPONSIBLE PRESIDENT HAS JOINED IN.IF THIS HAPPENED IN AUS. ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Osofo,we all know whom you are talking about.Our President has become a comedian.He turned Parliament House into the National Theatre and he as "Nkomode".
    But Osofo what can we do?If we really want to think about the problem ...

• Kofican 10 years ago

Has it ever ocurred to this loudmouth of a rotten pastor that Ghanaians are using what he calls as 'jokes' to help them get through the difficulty of living day to day in Ghana, which the politicians and the likes of himself ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

What is this man's problem? Gee! what a waste!

• FA 10 years ago

NO LEGACY IS SO RICH AS HONESTY.

• Agya-ba Virginia USA 10 years ago

Sofo, Infact you are a man of wisdom and I pray for your long life. Just read from opinions people give on media articles, ittell who we are and where we are going. GHANIANS ARE INDEED JOKERS. FEW ARE THINKERS.

• Yaw Yaw 10 years ago

The joking is trite,insipid,banal and mundane. In this times of plummeting cedi, astronomical increases in prices of petroleum products and general economic hardship being felt by almost everybody and caused by mismanagement ...

• Pepeni1pepeni 2 mosi1 &privat jet 10 years ago

Pastor you said it all Ghanaians are suffering and the first gentleman is joking with it? God have mercy on us else the whole nation is heading into a deap hell ghana needs a good leader to steer the affairs of the nation e ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Bishop Heward Mills was in full flow about "wicked women"; when a member of his congregations said "what about men"? The sermon then turned into a tweaah comedy full of laughter. The sordid episode is on facebook.

• ANGEL 10 years ago

ANGEL,HOW OLD ARE YOU ?I THINK WHAT OTABIL SAID IS TOO DEEP YOU NEED HELP

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

This is excellent. We are simply immature

• Kojo 10 years ago

You are living off large on the "collections" and tithe of your poor church members and you have the audacity to huff and puff all day long! So annoying - these fraudulent guys using the name of God to defraud their flocks.

• ??? 10 years ago

HE EVEN TRYING TO RAPE GFA.

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A BIG JOKE,FUNNY CNN BOY,AS KEASI PRATT SAID MAHAMA IS TUO ZAAFI,NOW I DO UNDERSTAND HIM,HE IS RIGHT,EMPTY HEAD MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE CRIMINAL,CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY

• Mark 10 years ago

I was surprised at that joke in our parliament at this time

• Kwaku 10 years ago

You could not have said it better
    Whoever the cap fits let him were it and let him be serious for once for we are in dire situation

• togbe of hotso 10 years ago

These so called pastors and fake preachers are the most problems in Ghan a now. If you at mensah otabil and all those called pastors they and their children will never see poverty out of their poor congregants empty pockets. ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

HELLO WE ARE LOOKING FOR
    A FEW PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO THE UK.
    PAYMENT WILL BE MADE AFTER VISA IS OUT WITHING 3 WEEKS.
    BUT APPLICANTS ARE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THEIR VISA FEES AND STUFF.
    WITH THE SCHENGEN VISA YOU PAY GH 20 ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

We’re polluting ourselves. We have issues we can’t solve. We have problems we can’t solve. We are overwhelmed all around us, yet we have a lot of time to joke and to laugh and to act as if this is the most normal enviro ...

• BRANDY 10 years ago

WOYOME, BETTYMOULD, BARTON ODRO, ETC ETC TEAM UP TO DUPE US AND YET THE MOST VULNERABLE PEOPLE IN GHANA, VOLTA, NORTH, AND CENTRAL REGIONS ARE THEIR STRONGHOLDS......AND EVEN LAUGH ABOUT IT WHEN POVERTY IS KILLING US ALL AROU ...

• Men sad Waterbill 10 years ago

YOU ARE THE NUMBER ONE ON THE LIST

• Ebo 10 years ago

military intervention is what ghana needs now. what is the military waiting for minus JJ?

• police investigator 10 years ago

Ebo, be careful with this kind of post.
    treason charge will not be good for you

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 10 years ago

Ebo, thank you. The country does not need any military intervention today or tomorrow. What did Ghana gain from the military interventions of 1966, 1972, 1979 and 1981? Massive corruption, systematic human rights abuses, econ ...

• police investigator 10 years ago

Dr, it is now time engage in active politics. I believe that with the level experience that you have,you will be able to govern the country better than those you criticizing indirectly. declare your stand

• goofy 10 years ago

Jokers is what Afari -Gyan give to mother Ghana

• Dr Robert Glah 10 years ago

Joke is divine to ease tension and no law can be made against jokes and laughter.

Being serious and dignity of work is also divine and no law can be made for people to get serious and to work for their destiny.

If you t ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

So what were you expecting us to do. draw dagger and fight over the DCE's comment? Common Otabil, give us a break. If you don't have anything to say, please don't say just anything.

• THANK YOU PASTOR... 10 years ago

USELESS LEADERS

• Ernns 10 years ago

Wow ...what a great thinker Fiifi....so the only way you understand seriousness is fighting...Mmm im beginning to see Mensah Otsabil's point.How old are you again Fiifi? No wonder CR and WR are some of the strong holds of pol ...

• Isaac 10 years ago

I learnt if you want to live long laugh more, if someone make jokes people laugh, jokes is good for our health. If Ghanians are jokers then we will live longer

• Ernns 10 years ago

Well i guess it explains why we are living longer in poverty.......Cedi is loosing value,,....well lets joke about it so we can live longer as our currency dies....What a shame...really some kind of thinking....

• KWAME BAWUAH-ONTARIO,CANADA 10 years ago

WELL SAID DR.OTABIL ! IT,S SO SAD THAT EVEN THE HOPELESS PRESIDENT WHO SHOULD SHOW SERIOUSNESS IN VERY GRAVE NATIONAL ISSUES IS RATHER THE MAIN JOKER IN THE PRESENCE OF THE DIPLOMATIC COMMUNITY WHO WOULD EXPECT SOME SERIOUSNE ...

• THANK YOU PASTOR... 10 years ago

OUR LEADERS ARE FOOLS.. AM JUST 12 YEARS BUT I CAN EASILY TELL THAT OUR LEADERS ARE REAL FOOLS

• DANIEL gELI. 10 years ago

I BELIEVE PEOPLE LIKE YOU ARE A GIFT TO OUR DYING WORLD THAT WE MUST TREASURE SO MUCH, WELL SAID ON THIS TOO MUCH JOKE SYNDROME ECONOMY.
    JUST PRAYING THAT ONE DAY, YOU WILL RISE TO BE OUR PRESIDENT IN THIS COUNTRY.
    I ENVISI ...

• Kojo Appiah, N.Y. 10 years ago

Where did he write his thesis? He parades in linen cassocks and all of a sudden acquires a doctorate degree.

Let Otabil try acquiring an ordinary masters degree through normal classroom work and see him break out cold swe ...

• DANIEL KERRY 10 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU FOR I IDENTIFYING A HARD TRUTH

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

When our intellectuals can't solve administrative and technical problems,what do you expect the ordinary man to do sir?Thank you.

• Joel Sarpong 10 years ago

Rev.Dr Otabil, are you one of the jokers? Or do you see yourself a thinker? I am sure you must be one of the jokers - if you are not, please mention those jokers !!!! Are you also saying that the youth are jokers and it is no ...

• Nii Narh 10 years ago

Please give me a break. I am tired of the likes of you pontificating about everything under the sun. You criticise politicians etc. but ask yourself is it right to collect money free from your congregation for years without p ...

• jijk 10 years ago

DR OTABIL I AGREE WITH YOU A 1,000% ON THIS MATTER. GHANAIANS ARE NOT SERIOUS PEOPLE AT ALL. EVERY IMPORTANT ISSUE OR MATTER PEOPLE JUST BRUSH IT OFF WITH A LAUGHTER. ONE OF THE COMMON SAYING AMONG GHANAIANS IS YOU BRING UP A ...

• KWAME BAWUAH-ONTARIO,CANADA 10 years ago

DR.OTABIL!PERHAPS YOU,VE NOT OBSERVED THAT GHANAIANS ARE GETTING STUPID AND VERY LAID BACK BY THE DAY AND THE POLITICIANS KNOW THIS.REASON WHY THEY ARE TOYING WITH OUR LIVES AND FOOLING US WITH FAILED AND SENSELESS PROMISES.

A message to those of you insulting Mensah Otabil. If this clear message delivered by this very knowledgeable and respected man is not clear to you, there is nothing wrong asking someone who is good at COMPREHENSION to help y ...

• Tweaa 10 years ago

Haba Reverend, you are too tight! You can't even bring your mighty self to see the light side of things!

• jack 10 years ago

Sometimes l watch and read alot of developments going on in europe,the americas,asia and l take a look at my country and continent is still not serious and still sleeping.All this countries are investing and preparing their p ...

• OPS 10 years ago

God;how can peoples insult MOG cos of politics,we need to be careful of the way we talk. your own words and actions will destroy you or make you. lets filter what DR. said and work with the positive once rather than some of u ...

• WONDERFUL 10 years ago

I don't understand why some of you can't stop being children and grow up. What Otabil is saying is real and we must all commend him and not attack..
    A word to the wise is just enough.

• BIG MAc Heart attack 10 years ago

Otabil is just a big talker, who unfortunately has a lot of non critical thinkers following him and giving the bulk of their hard earned income to him, whilst he lives in opulence at trassaco estates . Are you buying his book ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

GHANAINA ARE NEVER SERIOUS, AT ALL.

I wonder why some people swallow hook,line and sinker the speeches and teachings of so called motivational speakers. My friend there is no one size fit all solutions to problems we have as individuals and states. I do not nee ...

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

MANSION FOR HIM AND WILL TELL YOU'RE BATCH OF JOKERS. DOES HE SMILE AT ALL?

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

Those are words of wisdom.Who have ears,let them hear x

• adanko 10 years ago

the man can just not find an antidote to the myriad of challenges he is facing so he delves into DRY JOKES, like the one on copy right for free SHS!!! HE KNOWS DEEP DOWN HE IS NOT RESPECTED BECAUSE THE MESS IN WHICH WE ARE AS ...

• ABUSUA PANIN 10 years ago

Religion is not the province of thinking people who see salvation from an imaginary heaven. If any one is a non-thinker, it is those who parrot the nonsense that is religion and Otabil is Exhibit 1!

The biggest joke in t ...

• AMARIYA 10 years ago

Ye be wu nti yere nda?

• Nana Kwame 10 years ago

He is part of it .With Your Words
    Once They Are Said ,
    They Can Only Be
    Forgiven
    But Never
    Forgotten .

• concern citizen 10 years ago

Is Mensa Otabil a pastor or politician ?..He should also stop polities and focuss on his pastorial job.Bible says judge not.Why is he judging ?.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Listen to the thief!

• AGYA YAW BROOKLYN NY 10 years ago

Pastor Otabil u right thinking person but as u are sharing ur views now those stupid arrogants will twist whatever u are saying to suite them and stupid government look at someone who called himself the president go to the ex ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

No wonder you are indeed NPP man.stop polities and preach the gospel.Do you think all your church members are NPP members ?.Be careful with your talks man of GOD.

• RICHMOND 10 years ago

YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL BECAUSE WE LEAVE IN A COUNTRY WHERE PEOPLE GO TO WORK AND GO AND SLEEP THROUGH OUT THE WHALE DAY, JUST BECAUSE WE HAVE TO CREATE DISTRICT FOR PEOPLE VOTE FOR US TO BE MAINTAIN IN POWER. A DISTRICT OF POPU ...

• marv 10 years ago

He is completely right. We laugh just at anything.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Amen! Dr,nd.....,there is a time with...then we must be....after in Jesus name, fr Samms! na babye from now.God bless u oman Ghana nd forward-ever!.

• C. N. A...Kwabena 10 years ago

District chief Executive disgrace the nation pupliaclly instead of disciplined Him or for Him to resign of office it has rather become a national concert party. what a shame!

look at Energy Sector, Water and Housing, Agric ...

• OBTT 10 years ago

THIS IS VERY TRUE. GHANAIANS ARE REAL JOKERS. WE'RE NOT SERIOUS IN ANYTHING. HOW CAN SOMEONE EMBEZZLE MILLIONS OF TAX PAYERS MONEY AND WALK SCOT FREE SIMPLY BECAUSE OF OUR CORRUPT JUDICIARY AND A VERY POOR MAN STEALS A HUNDRE ...

there are many blind mice who think that what 'Dr" Otabil has said is some epitome of critical thinking.
    It is extremely laughable that Ghanaians regard the charade and façade put up by these "men of God" as critical thinki ...

• Giorgio 10 years ago

Is not that their jokers,some of them are lackin: knowledge.our leaders need to change their negative attitudes to help this poor nation.

• QUEEN 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS THE CHIEF JOKER. JOKING TO COVER UP HIS BIG FAILURE.

• Kwesi Chris 10 years ago

I prefer a joker to a Pharisee(i.e. a hypocrite) any day. This Otabil guy is a number one hypocrite who is doing NPP politics under the guise of preaching the word of God. In case he does not know, people of his ilk make othe ...

This guy is no critical thinker , just a big time opportunist, he has completely utilized the American style prosperity gospel tactics on his non critical thinking "churchians" who have bought it line , hook, and sinker!
    cri ...

• ALL IN YOUR BACKYARD 10 years ago

The Jokers and Hypocrites are all in your NDC backyard, Kwesi Chris. YOU HAVE MAHAMA THE JOKER AND JJ RAWLINGS THE HYPOCRITE all in your NDC, remember?

• osumanu fatau. 10 years ago

TWEEA is a coined word for non performing political figures

• sikdo.john 10 years ago

This.is.God speaking my flowing.Ghanaians this not time of jokes.stand.take.up.u.bed.and.walk

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Kudos Sir.

• Kofi Asamoah USA. 10 years ago

Since the inception of the ICGC about some years ago, can we get 10 honest , dedicated with good moral background men and women to take Governmental positions to work deligently to turn things around?
    How many are in Parliam ...

• OTOYO 10 years ago

WHAT YOU SAID IS THE TRUTH, TAKE CARE BECAUSE NDC GURUS AND SUPPORRTS WILL DECEND ON YOU AS IF YOU HAVE STEPPED ON THIER TOES . DO YOU REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENED DURING 2012 CAMPAING?

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

YOU LEADER IN GHANA HAD PROBLEM AT HAND.WHY PEOPLE GO TO PARLIAMENT SAY TWEEEAN , TALK AND LAUGH,DOCTORS AND NURSES UNDER THEIR WATCH A BABY IS MISSING GO ON STRIKE, GMA THREAT OF STRIKE,UOG COLLECTING TOLL FEE ETC.ARE THEY N ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

True man of God. You are speaking the truth. I am coming to help you.

• Ogbosu 10 years ago

Ghanaians believ in distribution and not creating. No wonder The Circle -Nkrumah Circle is full of young men who keep shatters where they sell instead of engaging in any creativity .

• EC 10 years ago

Under the NDC gov't, there can never be any seriousness and that is why for the close to 3 decades that they have been in gov't, Ghana has never made any progress but continues to sink into the abyss. We want seriousness, we ...

• Adu 10 years ago

This is the kind of leadership that gave Rawlings a reason to stage a coup the second time. It is a pity. They spent $3b of our money in three months to win elections. Now they are confused and just making promises.

• Ako 10 years ago

imagine the guy with no job,wife and will not bulge into society pressure just to say tweaa to release pressure too Otabil get ISSUE with that. Aba he is a hypocrite.

• Afua US 10 years ago

Rev. we say jokes to brake an ice at times when preaching seriously u do crack some jokes to wake people out of dosing during preaching. pls. this one I beg to differ.

• Stephencan 10 years ago

Yes Afuah, you are right. Sometimes the so-called experts don't seem to know what they are talking about.

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

GIVE THIS GENERATION A FREE EDUCATION. A GOOD START MEANS HALF OR OUR PROBLEMS SOLVED.....LOGIC !!

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

THERE ARE TWO THINGS WHICH CANNOT BE ATTACKED IN FRONT: IGNORANCE AND NARROW-MINDEDNESS. THEY CAN ONLY BE SHAKEN BY THE SIMPLE DEVELOPMENT OF THE CONTRARY QUALITIES. THEY WILL NOT BEAR DISCUSSION........ !

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

GHANA MUST FOLLOW THE EXAMPLE OF UKRAINE AND KICK OUT ALL THE LEADERS. GHANAIAN POLITICIANS ARE THE REAL JOKERS. WHEN PASTORS PROMISE VISAS TO THEIR CONGREGATION AND MANNER FROM THE SKY, THE PASTOR AND THE CONGREGATION ARE TH ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Dr Mensah Otabil seems to have missed the point.

Our good sense of humour as Ghanaians is precisely what has prevented us from sliding into the anarchy we are witnessing in Ukraine, South Sudan, Egypt etc.

The ability t ...

• AZIZ 10 years ago

But why some people don't have manners to respect other people? This is man of God and I believe we should at least have some kind of manners to respond to his statements. I am a Muslim by religion but I believe in manners an ...

• MOSIHENE 10 years ago

Pastor well said,truth hurts is your duty to wake people up.Thank you and God Bless

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

JOKERS AND MANY MORE SELLING JESUS NAME TO MAKE THEM SELVES RICH IN GHANA

• edwino pepe 10 years ago

shallow minded people leading us..

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

DEAR DR.MENSAH OTABIL AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM,

IF THERE IS ANY ONE PERSON I LEAST EXPECTED TO THINK ABOUT AMERICAN TO BE JOKERS THEN IT SHOULD NOT BE IN MY OWN ESTIMATION DR.MENSAH OTABIL BECAUSE AMERICAN AR ...

• wayGayHay 10 years ago

Not everyone will read it but it seemed you had a lot to say. Keep it short and simple next time

• Kweku 10 years ago

Hey Geezer, where I think Dr Otabil may be right was making millions of US dollars from the poor without giving out freely to the poor. Its only country of jokers the poor is fleeced that unscrupulous way.

• prince psyco 10 years ago

Ur submission is nt clear. English is not about writing big english. It has to b comprehensive.

• Maame Ataa 10 years ago

Ghanaians are laughing their sorrows awzy. But there is time for everything

• Kdk 10 years ago

I am more than amazed at how we cannot see the sense in what this wise man is saying. This generation is unfortunately filled with shallow minded people who don't know what is joke and what is serious. Ghana has come a long w ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Be real Kdk. This man's church lived in Agbogloshie for nearly 20yrs what impact has he done to emancipate the locals from filth. He blames govt whiles he advocate for change without paying taxes to the state. Look, after tak ...

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

This guy ia a fraud. he owns mansions in America and England, and drives rolls Royce in London.

• sarfo Jnr 10 years ago

fantastic point

• sarfo Jnr 10 years ago

fantastic point. God bless u.

• Kokuvi 10 years ago

You are a con man in the vine yard of God.

• Adams musah 10 years ago

mind your own business

• Miomi 10 years ago

Please,Angel understand the kind of JOKES Doc. is expressing here, he is not just talking about normal jokes but JOKES THAT ARE LEADING THE COUNTRY TO A MINUS LIFE. Doc. Otabil, do you think,THESE ANIMALS WHO DONT THINK OF TH ...

• Miomi 10 years ago

Aziz, may God bless you.

• Acube 10 years ago

Words of wisdom said by a man of WISDOM ..God will continue to bless you and keep enlightening the youth

• GhanaBA 10 years ago

what the pastor said na true!

• Tango & Cash 10 years ago

The jokers continue to reveal themselves even in their comments on this forum! What dont these idiots understand about Otabils honest words?
    Laughing when there ain't no joke Ghanaians!

• Great Shakespearo 10 years ago

Dr. Mensah, this is poisonous - for its overall impact! Yes, you may have a point that people should be serious with issues, but PLEASE don't ever attempt to belittle the importance of jokes and laughter and fun in man's abil ...

• BerchFoundation 10 years ago

As a person you should have values,morals,life and faith. Do not sacrifice your long term for a short term gain.as Ghanaian's we must be wise n listen to leaders like due Otabils

• Emmanuel commey 10 years ago

The "men of God" in this,nation must be,born again.they're doing politics coupled with business. Was that what the apostles did? Dabbling in politics? Arh.let's preach Christ and his resurrection and stop joking. If Christ be ...

• KWAMINA 10 years ago

When we sit in the village(Ghana) and do not go beyond our village we do not see what we are missing or have lost.Life expectancy of our classmates the Asian Tigers is 75yrs and we at 66yrs.Thats below bi ...