You are here: HomeNews2014 02 28Article 302047

Clean elections are bedrock of democracy - Kofi Annan

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Transparency, accountability and integrity. If you don't find these in foreign nations..will.u.go and invest ur money there? Like I keep.saying, the truth will make you rich....

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

So why is Annan mumu over affairs of this country for all these years? Because of name overseas or fear of badmouthing in Ghana?

It's good to clean the front steps of others while allowing a ton of dirt in front of your ow ...

• KB 10 years ago

They have collapsed this country!

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Afari Gyan has lost all credibility. I blame the stupid justice Atubuga.

• ATO KWAMENA 10 years ago

Would Kofi please stop disturbing our ears with the so-called democracy? Where in the world and indeed, Africa have you ever seen "democracy"? Who are you going to be able to convince in Ghana about that deceptive ideology w ...

• Kai Dabi 10 years ago

Very good point but not many are smart enough to understand what you mean.
    Bless your mind.

• Uncouth Ato 10 years ago

You this Ato Kwamena guy with a face like a car wreck, talks a lotta tosh.

What a insolence!

Friggin soot-face, show small respect to your betters, haba!

Did kofi anan enrich himself by robbing gh like jj, kuffour and now mahama are doing? U are too dumb for skuul. The kind of politics we practice in gh is beyond primitive..even stray dogs know better! You pay off the ec, pres ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Ato, don't shoot the messenger. You are too ignorant and stupid to understand where Kofi us coming from. If he hits at NDC directly you morons will turn around and insult him, so he finds a neutral ground to talk sense into k ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Kofi said it right. Your problems are because of lack of transparency in election and administrations. We should even know how the parties are funded.How do they stop armed robbery and drugs if that party came to power throug ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Folks,
    Please read between the lines and you will know that Kofi is speaking about Ghana specifically and in general the world. He is allowing Mahama and Afari Gyan to learn from a distance without pouring Petrol on the ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

For the fact that Afari-Gyan's incompetence and recklessness nearly resulted in civil strife in Ghana yet the opposition can call for his dismissal as the head of the Electoral Commission beats the imagination.
    These are som ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

BECAUSE IF HE TRIES TO RIG THE 2016 ELECTIONS AS HE DID THE 2012 ELECTIONS IT WOULD BE WAR.....THE WILL OF THE PEOPLE MUST PREVAIL THROUGH A CLEAN AND TRANSPARENT ELECTIONS....WE ASK FOR NOTHING LESS

• kusasi 10 years ago

nana the impersonator nearly plunged Ghana in to civil war not afari gyan

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Kofi Annan means very,very big here.
    I support and love every bit of his assertion on electoral practices in the world,especially in the EAST & AFRICA.
    GHANA IS NO EXCEPTION,NO MATTER HOW ONE SLICES IT.
    The fact that he di ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Please,it's the weightier matters we overlook,that can spark pandemonium,bombshell,an inferno etc.if not curbed.
    I have corrected myself.

• Daavi 10 years ago

KOFI SPEAKING IN PARABLES, PERIOD.

• Wahala 10 years ago

He's a do nothing Chancellor of the University of Ghana, just collecting allowances and adding to his gigantic retirement package from the UN! That's all our bloody Ghanaian elites know how to do. Sam Jonah, Otumfuor, Rawling ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

WAS IT NOT A WASTE OF TAX PAYERS MONEY WHEN KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP CORRUPT GOVERNMENT ORGANISED A WELCOME CEREMONY FOR HIM IN GHANA.

IT IS TIME, THE STATE RECOVERS THE EXPENSES INCURRED FOR HIS WELCOME IN GHANA.

HE PROMISE ...

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

Don't blame Kofi Annan for Ghana's election fraud issues and your own setbacks or frustrations. There's cheating and hand-bending in elections and it's becoming increasingly worrisome esp. with what happened in Ghana, Venezue ...

• GHANA IS ON WRONG DIRECTION...... 10 years ago

He will stop disturbing your motherFOOL ,that is the reason why ghanaians suffering because of people like you fool EKURO BEHU, BAHA BEHU;;;;

• Fuck the Ghana Army 10 years ago

Good point! I did not know that there are sensible people from Ghana.

• Uncouth Ato 10 years ago

You this Ato Kwamena guy with a face like a car wreck, talks a lotta tosh.

What a insolence!

Friggin soot-face, show small respect to your betters, haba!

I can bet, you don't talk like that to your father, that's if ...

• kob 10 years ago

He is scared of bad-mouthing.

Most.of.the negative, hater comments on this forum emanates from these bros. with fake names like John and jerry......lol
    Stop hating on Mr annan. Is he telling the truth or not? Look at wat we did to nkrumah?. Nkrumah was a ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

DEMOCRACY GOES WITH SOCIOECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF A NATION.

WHAT HAS BEEN ANNAN'S CONTRIBUTION TOWARDS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN GHANA.

DESPITE THE MANY UNIVERSITIES, RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS AND THE SO CALLED NOISY EDUCATED, ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

What do you want KOFI ANNAN to do in Ghana's development,if he doesn't have any direct access to funds that belongs to the nation?
    Is he not making farms in the AFRAM PLAINS?
    That's a great contribution to bridge Ghana's ci ...

• YF 10 years ago

If Kotoka's name were to be an akan name it wouldn't be there till now, look at what happened to Ohene Djan stadium ? These are the people we are living with, and you want Kofi Annan to open his mouth? Where the Lord has bles ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Why wouldn`t he,if Kofi Annan will comment on national issues,they will definataly find a party for him.
    If he criticise the Government,ofcourse he is an Akan, so NPP,if he praises the Government,he has been bribed,so is bet ...

• YF 10 years ago

How can he clean the front steps of his own when people are playing tribal politics? There are no tribal politics overseas, so there are not so much hate for nothing there.It is a conducive place for him to speak his mind wit ...

• PETER 10 years ago

OHH PAPA GHFOC SAY AGAIN OOO, EUROPE, THEY SAY ITS ALL ABOUT TRUTHFULNESS TO COUNTRY AND ONE ANOTHER. CANT WAIT TO SEE WHEN GHANAIAN WILL START REASONING LIKE CIVILISED PEOPLE AND STOP CHEATING, CORRUPTION ESPECIALLY OUR OWN ...

• keala frank 10 years ago

We are looking at our greedy leaders and they Will reap what they planted.

• KOOKZI 10 years ago

WE DO NOT NEED TO BUILD OUR COUNTRY ON THE BACK OF FOREIGN INVESTORS. IN FACT THESE GUYS ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN HOW MUCH THEY CAN STEAL FROM US AS A PEOPLE. THE PEOPLE OF THIS COUNTRY, WITH THE SUPPORT OF THE GOVERNMENT, MUST ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

TAKE UR PRIMITIVITY TO UR EWE HAMLET. ITS A GLOBAL MARKETPLACE DUMMY. IUR ECONOMIES ARE ALL INTERTWINED N THE LEAST POLITICAL INSECURITY/DOUBT A NATION PURPORTS. U WILL SEE THE CONSEQUENCES. VERY SOON, INVESTORS IN UKRAINE'S ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

How many protests have this corrupt oil-for-food Kofi Annan take part in. He used Ghana to enrich himself and his son.

• warehouse 10 years ago

TELL MAHAMA,JUDGES AND THE ELECTORAL
    COMMISSION.

• Kwame 10 years ago

You were here when Ghana nearly burnt. God is watching your associations with GMO and Mossanto.

• warehouse 10 years ago

WHERE WERE YOU , WHEN THESE CLEAR HYPOCRITIC MAHAMA LED GOV'T WHICH
    VEHEMANTLY CRITICISED FREE EDUCATION.
    NOW! THEY ARE SAYING FREE EDUCATION
    NOT QUALITY EDUCATION. I BLAME GHANAIANS AND THEIR FAST LOOSING MEMORIES. YOU C ...

• JOHNSON, 10 years ago

ye b3dam ferefie ansa,na ab3nteng,you deserve EC BOSS IN GHANA,

• Kwame 10 years ago

The west has abandon one man one vote in place of the rule by the mob. The west said that parliaments can no more make laws. Laws will be left or the mob on the streets to make.

• salient force 10 years ago

Save all the sweet talks you saw all shit in Ghana! I guess you even like it....

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe ( JAK ) 10 years ago

“We cannot give the impression that the street is an alternative to elections” Mr. Annan identified several key issues to be addressed to strengthen the integrity of elections and to deepen democracy worldwide,” he said ...

• PETER 10 years ago

THEY ARE THE WORSE ROLE MODELS ONE CAN THINK OF. SHARE WITH THEM YOUR POSITIVE ATTITUDE. BUT BECAREFUL COS THEY ARE BLOODY TO THOSE WHO STAND FOR JUSTICE

• glenen 10 years ago

fuuccck off.

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

OH NDC ARE EVILS,CRIMINALS,CORRUPT,SINKING,COLLAPSING GHANA,SHAME UNTO THEM,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL,PERIOD

• K.Adams Tamale 10 years ago

Does we have clean elections is human rights properly manage when even the police beat and kill innocent people and call them army robbers,true justices not received leaders have laws for themselves poor are look down what is ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Th 2012 elections in Ghana is a case study. The electoral commission knew Mahama did not win the elections yet re wAs declared the winner and now tha nation has been taken back more than ten years. It will take a vision gov ...

• liv 10 years ago

Please stop all these speeches abroad and help your dear country Ghana.

No amount of help can help gh..3rd richest nation on earth with natural resources. Abundant ivy league educated, and foreign trained, citizenry. Watch else do you want God to do for gh?

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

Everything Kofi said was about Ghana!

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

IF THIS IS THE CASE THEN WHY DID YOU KEEP QUIET OVER WHAT IS HAPPENING IN YOUR OWN BACK YARD? THE NDC IS MESSING UP THINGS IN THE COUNTRY AND YOU KEPT MUTE OVER IT. YOU ALSO KEPT MUTE OVER THE MEDIOCRE SUPREME COURT JUDGEMENT ...

• joe 10 years ago

Kofi Annan is an NDC man.....he has not been ablr to come to tha aid or said a work for the NDC Supreme court cout-de-tat against the people of Ghana. He goes about sounding so academic around the world

• joe 10 years ago

To best of my knowledge all the Fante people that grew and or were born or grew up in Kumasi and the Ashanti region are ALL NDC guys.....Kofi Annan, Arthur Mills, The 3 Ahwoi brothers, numerous wives of relatives I know.....s ...

BCOS U DONT REALISE THE INNATE STUPIDITY N DISORIENTED DISCONTENTMENT OF MOST ASHANTIS UNTIL U LIVE WITH THEM. JUST LIKE WHITE PPL. FROM AFAR, THEY LOOK VERY GOOD AND APPEALING. GO N LIVE WITH THEM AND YOU WILL SEE THEIR TRUE ...

BCOS GOLD COMES FROM THERE. MOST/THE TYPIKAL ASANTEMAN THINKS HE IS THE UNDEFEATED HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMP OF THE WORLD...REALLY? DID FRAZIER NOT BREAK ALI'S JAW? MOST ASNTE MEN WILL NEVER, EVER ACCEPT DEFEAT OR WRONGDOING TO SAVE ...

• KOOKZI 10 years ago

DEMOCRACY IS A WASTE OF MONEY AND RESOURCES AND PRIORITY MISPLACEMENT. HOW CAN YOU THROW ALL THIS MONEY INTO THE GUTTERS EVERY FOUR YEARS IN THE NAME OF DEMOCRACY WHEN SCHOOL CHILDREN STUDY UNDER TREES? IT SIMPLY DOES NOT MAK ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

KOOKZI,
    You are making sense.
    Our society in Ghana has not understood the real meaning and reasons for elections and people get into office to serve themselves, not the electorate.
    Our Presidents and their teams are in ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

Former UN Secretary General is 100% right but he did not go beyond expectations.(1)The former UN secretary Genenal fail to mention integrity of foreign observers.Some are very corrupt,they accept bribes from gold to cash of t ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Great speech

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

HE LIVES IN A WHITE MAN'S LAND PREACHES ABOUT DEMOCRACY.

WINSTON CHURCHILL ONCE SAID,THE WORST FORM OF GOVERNMENT IS DEMOCRACY-BUT, WE HAVE NO OTHER ALTERNATIVE.

HAS HE FORGOTTEN THE OIL FOR FOOD PROGRAMME WHERE MILLION ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

kofi annan bloody cock sucker,europe and usa are the drivers of the corrupt so call democracy and any wrong deeds around the globe,
    kofi annan illuminatie messenger

• Joe 10 years ago

Truth hurts but you said it all. I hope some one is listening.

• Awurade kasa 10 years ago

Kofi the politician, still a politician and will ever be a politician. Honorable, you've spoken well but for once be straight forward with the leaders of your motherland Ghana.
    Most of your brothers and sisters didn't hear y ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Dear Mr Secretary General, it is exactly what happened in your own country-the manipulation by any means necessary to win an election by The NDC party. So be bold , and tell it like it is. The results is all there to see. A c ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Dear Mr Secretary General, it is exactly what happened in your own country-the manipulation by any means necessary to win an election by The NDC party. So be bold , and tell it like it is. The results is all there to see. A c ...

• Wahala 10 years ago

Come home now! What has Kofi Annan done for his village in Ghana? Has he helped any struggling family there to pay their children's school fees? Has Kofi Annan done anything at all from his own pocket to help students at Lego ...

• Mensa 10 years ago

How can one man do. If you ask Ghanaians to stop bribery & Corruption he may have an inpact

Look, just a simple public statement to criticize some of the bribery and corruption going on, a mere call to the President to ask about Water and electricity rationing and 3 hour traffic and open gutters, despite massive loa ...

Wow! Wahala,
    This is a very good insightful and honest analysis.
    All these men seem to be in there for themselves. Not a thought or show of love for their fellow humans left behind!
    Tweaaaa!!

• TIGYI DOUGLAS 10 years ago

Mr Annan has hit the nail right on the head. Government leaders now care more about finding every dubious means of winning elections.when you cheat the system to win elections, you rule over discontent.

• King 10 years ago

Mr Annan has contributed his share. What about you?

• Kanawu 10 years ago

How many of you can achieve what Kofi Anna did if God gives you 1000 years. Kwaseafo (Twi meaning Fools), you solve you problems, you have many

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

BECAUSE NEXT TIME NO ONE WILL GO TO COURT TO LISTEN TO ATUGUBA'S LECTURE.....WE WOULD RATHER GO TO WAR......WHY IS DISCREDITED AFARI DJAN STILL AT POST?

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Exactly nd....... with Amen, Ogyamanase yi speaking nd God bless u Naana Annan K!, including oman Ghana nd BABYE FROM NOW? FR Samms! nd......

Kofi, Please talk about problems of democracy in your own country also.

• obaa Yaa 10 years ago

We need people like you to lead the country. Could you please consider to help save Ghana?

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

Can't Africans come up with our own way of government? Why must we follow a mode/way that is akin to the WEST. Even in the West, America in particular what they call Democracy is actually DEMONCRAZY/RACIALCRACY/.The poor vote ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

KOFI PLEASE TELL YOUR AKAN PEOPLE . AFTER VOTING IN GHANA ALWAYS TWO REGION FROM YOUR AREA VOTES ARE MORE THAN OTHER 10 PLUS REGIONS ,HOW COME.ARE THEY MORE POPULATED THAN OTHER REGIONS.?WE THANK GOD NOW WE ARE USING PI-METRI ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, TO THIS I SAY; GHANA, AFRICA, HUMANITY AND ALL NATIONS OF THE WORLD, -WE HAVE EARS TO HEAR, MAY WE HEAR. PULSE. NOW, LET MY PEOPL ...

• Philp Owusu-Adjapong 10 years ago

Busumuru, u have the best credentials in the whole world to give Ghana very clean elections. The question is, will u " come over to Macedonia and help us" by heading the electoral commission?

• kusasi 10 years ago

kofi annan is stupid,hypocryte.why such a topic?if not because of Kenneth dadzie,you would never been where you were at the un and the world stage

• kusasi 10 years ago

annan please leave Ghana in peace. nana never won election in Ghana.you formenting trouble in Ghana.stop it

• Dr Robert Glah 10 years ago

Democracy in Africa is undermined by colonial legacies of export-import trade. Thereby Africa becomes dependent on export of commodities and import of manufactured goods from Europe and the rest of the world in poverty in per ...