You are here: HomeNews2014 02 28Article 302009

Free SHS will lower standards – NAGRAT, GNAT

Read Comments Comments (127)

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

Free and Quality Education are not necessarily mutually exclusive.

Canada has free education from primary school to high school but I will not describe the level of education as being at a lower standard to anywhere else i ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

We were in this country during the 2012 General Elections, Nana Akuffo Addo, the most visionary politician in our country, told the people of this country, every country's progress is based on continuity of a previous adminis ...

• Nyamekye-God's Hat. 10 years ago

Nagrat is NPP!

• eugene 10 years ago

vice president's queen(queer)

• FIRE 10 years ago

NANA WAS A DECEIT

• champion 10 years ago

where were these so called gnat and nagrat when the npp used this as a campaign massage during the 2012 election? Hypocrites !! don't turn the gnat and nagrat into politics.

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

Politicized everything in Ghana!If the two Associations had anything to add, they should have come out with proposals to promote free SHS education. Their remarks on the President's announcement on this issue tells a lot abou ...

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

Ghanaians should be very wary of this NDC leadership that,due to political expediency, is promising them free stuff.
    For starters,I'm dismayed how my fellow countrymen and women would even vote for a leader in this day and a ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Free education has nothing to do with socialism. There is nothing wrong with social democracy. USA is broke and has nothing to do with socialism

Kwasea like you, you are some of the stupid political monkeys who serves a political party but not a Ghana as a
    nation.

Because you are in a position in the NDC bunch of crooks who are getting a
    chance to rob the majorit ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Your president is the most stupid man in the world Power has blindfolded him and he due like mills. Why is it that NDC is so desperate to rule in Ghana at all coat? Maybe a fool like you can explain this to me!

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

Where were these 2 NPP political Associations when Akufo Addo promised instant free SHS. You people have betrayed your true characters, shame on you all.

Were you not in Ghana when IDIOT NDC MEN said that free education could not be possible? Even the education minister stated briefly that before this can be effective it would take Ghana another twenty years. Besides the idiot ...

• yag 10 years ago

NAGRAT had to apologized to Ghanaians for wasting taxpayers money as Mr Opoku compared private schools performance with them Nagrat. Its a fact majority of private schools teachers are not professional trained educators. We t ...

We were in this country during the 2012 General Elections, Nana Akuffo Addo, the most visionary politician in our country, told the people of this country, every country's progress is based on continuity of a previous adminis ...

• ALI 10 years ago

MATERIAL FOR FREE SEX. THEIR MOTHERS, WIVES, DAUGHTERS AND SISTERS. THEY ARE THE MAIN SUPPLIRES OF STAFF TO FILL ALL THE VACANCIES ITHE BROTHELS IN Europe. PAY NO ATTENTION TO THESE TWO ORGANISATIONS BECAUSE THEY ARE A WINNG ...

• gyan 10 years ago

I don't agree with you in the sense that Nana ruled for sometime with K but nothing was mentioned about free education. MAHAMA saw it in the constitution and want to implement it so what is your problem.

• plaster 10 years ago

hear hear

• soo 10 years ago

The fear of teachers is that most of them sell pamphlets. Some schools aslo charge for extra classes. This fee goes to the teachers, not the school.The concern of the teachers is not about quality eductaion but a case of each ...

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

It is sad and terrible that all these selfish mentality oriented people could be allowed to dictate foolishness of saw dust minds to a government in power over what to.

In our trial of democracy it is somehow a person's r ...

• Obaa Yaa 10 years ago

Free education will not lower standards. What lowers standards and moral is a child who is brilliant but cannot continue their education because his/her parents can't afford. Private schools will always be better in academic ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

Obaa Yaa I agree with with you 100% God Bless you.

• Che 10 years ago

I think your analysis is very low-levelled. Maybe you do not live in Ghana but that should also not deprive you from being able to understand what NAGRAT/GNAT means. In summary, at the current state of public schools, quality ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

WHEN NPP PROMISED ABOUT FREE SHS ,WHILE NOT IN POWER,NON OF THIS FOOLS CAME OUT TO COMPLAIN OR CONDEMNED IT, BUT WHEN PREZ MAHAMA PROMISED NOW ABOUT FREE SHS THEY ARE COMING OUT TO SAY IT WILL NOT WORK. WHAT DOUBLE STANDARD P ...

• KWAKU SEI 10 years ago

WHO SAY FREE SHS EDUCATION????
    'OKWATROKWA SE OBEMA WO NTOMA A TIE NI DIN'.
    THE FREE SHS VISION AND MISSION IS NANA'S AND YOU CANNOT STEAL OR FORGE IT. IT WILL WAIT FOR 2016

• KWAKU KELE ASHIAGBOR 10 years ago

Reading comments from both NAGRAT and GNAT made me really sad.
    What a bunch of idiots and self seeking leadership have this two Teachers Union.
    Where were they when the same issue was being bandied about by Nana Akufo-Addo ...

• Che 10 years ago

You are only being partisan. If you will be fair to yourself, Nana promised free SHS, Mahama spoke about quality, right? Did NAGRAT/GNAT speak for or against any of the two stances? Even if at the time, they did not speak aga ...

• SUNKWA 10 years ago

TEACHERS ARE EXPECTED TO BE LEADING LIGHTS, HELPING SHAPE SOCIETY BY AWAKENING THE YOUNG TO THEIR WORLD AND POTENTIAL. HOW THEN DOES GOVERNMENT OUTLINE A POLICY GOAL AND ALL OUR TEACHER ASSOCIATIONS SEE IS DOOM?
    SERIOUSLY, ...

• Kwadwo Boateng, London 10 years ago

Look at your face. What a shame!!!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

NOT EVERYONE CAN SEND THEIR KIDS TO PRIVATE SCHOOL OR EVEN PAID BOARDING SCHOOL SHS. SO FREE PRIMARY, JHS AND DAY SHS IS GOOD. LET THE WELL TO DO PARENTS SEND THEIR KIDS TO THE SHS BOARDING SCHOOLS. BY THE WAY, SHS SHOULD BE ...

• soo 10 years ago

What Ghanaians love to hear is FREE and they forget about everything. If you study present SHS school fees, you will find out that day students pay close to nothing. That is the charge for tuition. This, according to Mahama w ...

• losto 10 years ago

sensibly

• atta 10 years ago

NPP will never taste Power again

• Goliath 10 years ago

Free Education does not mean teachers reduce teach less or quality of education should suffer vis a vis the private sector! Greedy argument against free SHS if you ask me!

• Nyameba Yaw 10 years ago

Where were these hypocrites when that short man promised Ghanaians free SHS during the 2012 electioneering campaign? They should give us a break,

• Agya, 10 years ago

What mouth is the NAGRAT and GNAT speaking from? I believe both guys went to school free up to university. Secondary school has been free when I was in school in the eighties and did not pay a penny at UCC in the nineties, do ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

pay back!!!

• Agya 10 years ago

it was free please zzzzzzzzzzz.

• ASHKERNAZI 10 years ago

HOW ARE WE SO HYPOCRITICAL?? WE DID NOT SEE THESE LIMITATIONS WHEN VERY PROMINENT EDUCATIONIST ETC MADE IT A CATCHWORD IN 2012? NOT GNAT NOR NAGRAT AT THOSE TIMES KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING NOW?

• eugene 10 years ago

thats why you pay income tax,property tax,school board tax...so you have (free) school for grades 1-12

HOW ARE WE SO HYPOCRITICAL?? WE DID NOT SEE THESE LIMITATIONS WHEN VERY PROMINENT EDUCATIONIST ETC MADE IT A CATCHWORD IN 2012? NOT GNAT NOR NAGRAT AT THOSE TIMES KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING NOW?

• ISAAC ARTHUR 10 years ago

I am ashamed to be part of this wolves with sheep clothing association.What are they talking about,where were they when the opposition championing free SHS. GO TO HEEL OF HELL.

Listen to you? Oh! Mother Ghana why is it that many of your children are so rubbish? You are one of them. Okay?

• HYPOCRITES ALL OVER 10 years ago

“We are in favour of free SHS, but we are not happy with the way it is going to be done,”.

How is it going to done that is different from your approach?
    You failed to spell that out.

“If you look at it carefully ...

• D.K. Osei 10 years ago

Did these people tell Nana Addo the same when he was promoting his Free SHS? NAGRAT AND GNAT have now been exposed.

• Kokotii 10 years ago

Waaa !!!!! Look.these stupid idiots are teaching our children.Stupid NPP puppets.where were you when Akuffo Addo came out with the same suggestions

• eugene 10 years ago

monkey

• Yawed 10 years ago

How

• mumin 10 years ago

It is a fact that free shs will lower educational standard, parents will not buy books for their children again they all leave everything for the government which he cannot provide.

• AKU JASIKAN 10 years ago

DID YOU SAY ANYTHING IN 2012? NO, WHAT A SHAME SOCIETY WE LIVE IN GHANA? TODAY YOU ARE COMPLAINING, THE STANDARD OF EDUCATION HAS GOT NOTHING TO DO WITH FREE EDUCATION ITS THE TEACHERS WHO DO NOT TEACH THE CHILDREN WELL,

• KOFIKOFI 10 years ago

What at all is wrong with this union turned into political PRO'S SHAME UNTO YOU.SHUT UP!

• gwkl..USA 10 years ago

In time of memorial...private institutions outweigh public institutions..help the vision of the president and stop the negative comments. Why didn't you make this comment when Nana Addo was using that as his main month piece. ...

• zanzibar 10 years ago

build science lab, computer lab, trs' accommodation. lib nd proper classrooms at the basic level first.....pay trs well

• Baaba 10 years ago

No matter who brings the idea, free education is free education. NAGRAT and GNAT are being so stupid. They are not making sense but making it clear they are just NPP lynchpins. I am considering voting for NPP but will chan ...

• eugene 10 years ago

whats it like to have the vice president fuck you in anus and spray semen in your mouth?

• pk 10 years ago

What's wrong with free SHS if teachers are prepared to contribute their quota. Some notable schools have set and achieved high standards for decades and will always strive to maintain them. Perhaps the government should add t ...

• ABEIKU 10 years ago

THIS NAGRAT AND GNAT ARE FOOLS. HOW CAN STANDARDS BECOMES LOWER. YOUR JOB IS, GO OUT THERE AND TEACH THE KIDS. IS IT BECOS YOU CAN NOT TAKE MONIES FROM THE KIDS AGAIN? AM IN FRANCE, YOU DON'T PAY SCHOOL FEES FROM PRIMARY TO U ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

NAGRAT IS SIMPLY NOT SERIOUS.

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

HYPOCRITES, HYPOCRITES, HYPOCRITES

• eugene 10 years ago

even if parents force students to study at home..which also means dormitory(boarder schools) must be eliminated! this won't help..First the problem is the quality of the teacher and the books... I the student has more brains ...

• ERIK 10 years ago

We Can make it even free and also reduce the years and even give it free at all level. BUT WE MUST SERIOUSLY LOOK AT THE CONTENT THAT WILL SOLVE ALL ISSUES. WE MUST LEARN TO THINK.

• Josh 10 years ago

Did these Gnat and Nagrat bodies come into existent only yesterday? Where were they all this while? They are only trying to protect the immoral fees they charge parents for extra classes,teacher appreciation etc.Please wake u ...

• KA AKYIRE 10 years ago

HYPOCRITES OF THE HIGHEST ORDER

• Koo Japan 10 years ago

This guys are just playing politics. What he is saying doesn't hold fire

• NANA 10 years ago

I CANNOT BELIEVE SOME PEOPLE ARE AGAINST FREE EDUCATION.
    THE IDEA BEHIND A FREE EDUCATION IS SIMPLE;HELP THOSE WHO CANNOT OTHERWISE GIVE THEIR KIDS THE NECESSARY EDUCATION THEY ARE ENTITLED TO SIMPLY BECAUSE THEY CANNOT AFFO ...

• ekoo 10 years ago

Mister Please hold your breath. Just last 2 years it was impossible and now it is not. Wait we will decide on that come next elections.

• NANAKATA 10 years ago

I EXPECCT TEACHERS TO THINK,THINK AND THINK BEFORE UTTERING THEIR WORDS.
    THEY WILL COME BACK TO HAUNT THEM.
    BY THE WAY YOU DO NOT "CATCH" VOTES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,YOU WIN SUPPORT(vOTES)

• FIRE 10 years ago

NAGRAT AND GNAT THIS MEANS THAT NPP'S DREAM WILL NOT MATERIALISED IF YOU HAVE COME OUT CLEAR THIS WAY THANK YOU. MR. PRESIDENT LET IT BE QUALITY AND FREE ALSO.THANKS.

• XELA 10 years ago

NAGRAT N GNAT PLS GIVE US A BREAK. IF U WANT TO DO POLITICS WELCOME.

• moj 10 years ago

NDC thought they were being smart with this free SHS thing. They've been met with opposition. They will rush to do this and end up creating problems as they did with the single spine, because they don't have KEY to this whole ...

• Momi 10 years ago

Why coming out only now? Where were you when NPP campaigned vigorously to implement this? Does this not constitute double standards? It might be because of your silence that Mahama thought he should also tow this line lest th ...

• Zoiks 10 years ago

I appreciate the initial part of your comment but why do you object to free SHS? I know of some brilliant JHS students who, for lack of funds, could not continue their education, so I think the free SHS idea is a good thing. ...

• Nobleman 10 years ago

This is clear manifestation of NAGRAT&GNAT Hippocracy .when Nana proposed this you never said free SHS wil lower standards shame NPP GAGRAT&GNAT GOD will punish you

• YD-TX 10 years ago

Stupid talk. Did you oppose it when Nana Addo Proposed it?

• Nobleman 10 years ago

NAGRAT &GNAT heads must go

• Davis 10 years ago

These guys are funny. They don't know how it will be done but they are already kicking against it. INTERESTING!!!

• sam 10 years ago

tis guys are justt NPP goos. Mahama should ignore them. the two of themcant speak for Ghana-Only Prez Mahama has the Power

• YD-TX USA 10 years ago

US has free high school education yet the standard of education is high. What are you talking about?

• KWADWO 10 years ago

I am not happy populist policies, neither am I happy with hypocrites. What's NAGRAT and GNAT are letting us believe?
    These two groups never had any problems when a Nana Addo used FREE SHS as his main campaign message, now y ...

• King 10 years ago

God have mercy,these are the people who teach our future leaders(Kids)and look at how they reason and analyze situation.How GNAT sees the free SHS is appealing than that of NAGRAT.Mr. president of NAGRAT whatever OPOKU, who t ...

• RAW 10 years ago

THERE IS NO SINCERE POLITICIAN IN AFRICA.. NO MATTER THE PARTY, THEY ARE ALL THE SAME, BE IT MALE OF FEMALE.

• Owura 10 years ago

Ghanaians shld start finking cos luk at these politician hw they ar making fun of us.educating their wards in best institutions in Europe ad messing ard wit our education

• richard 10 years ago

NPP ARE LURING GNAT&NAGRAT TO BE HYPOCRITES!

• Owura 10 years ago

@richard
    U ar da most foolish person I hv ever seen on earth.mention one tin mahama govt hv done for da country which has really helped a lot nat making our cedis fall

• Jason 10 years ago

Backwards country with these associations. In the Netherlands we have free education and it is excellent!

The teachers should for start first learn proper English so that they can teach the students much better. This guy s ...

• BBC 10 years ago

Christian Addai Opoku YOU AGAIN? Anyting about NDC this Man always have a proble.

• yag 10 years ago

Let's pay them according to their overall national performance. Hence forth no more political strike NAGRAT.

• Ewiasiyesum 10 years ago

Keep your filthy mouths SHUT. So NOW NAGRAT and GNAT have found their voice that was lost when this was a 2012 campaign by a party without any plans or new the cost of its implementation. God bless our homeland Ghana - Indeed ...

• Wa Man 10 years ago

School of Ghana Languages (Ajumako) 1981 Year Group, I salute you all. Where are you?

• KOOKZI 10 years ago

WHY CAN`T WE MAKE EDUCATION COMPLETELY FREE, MR SYSTEM CHEATER? THESE GUYS ( HEAD OF PUBLIC INSTITUTION HAVE BEEN ALLOWED TO BENEFIT AND EXPLOIT THE SYSTEM SO MUCH SO THAT THEIR MAJOR CONCERN IS TO PREVENT THE STATE FROM PUTT ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Look at how our brothers and sisters in the North have now become very good intellectuals and enterpreneurs because of free education in that area.My only problmem with it is that it should not be a wholesale free shs.That me ...

• Oyarifa 10 years ago

This is absolute nonsense. These fools are advocating for private schooling which handles a small percentage of students in Ghana. The standards are low because teachers have been doing a terrible job. Most of these teachers ...

NAGRAT & GNAT are singing same song like NDC.When NPP put forth free education Ghanains didnt vote for them so how come now blaming NAGRAT&GNAT?

• Educationist. 10 years ago

Free education as proposed by Nana Addo Dankwa is far better than the Mahama's policy of free for only Day students. The Boarding students are paying GH400 to GH800 and above and so their free education will lower their fees ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Kwaku,

And then when the task force does what it was set up to do, Mahama comes out to say gakamseyers are earning a living. By all means condemn the brutal exercise of force but do not use that exonerate galamsey.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

To begin with,all the best SHS in the country are public schools.No private SHS is better than Achimota,Mfanstipim,Prempeh etc.Prez Mahama is not talking about basic schools and if you are happy about the free shs you must he ...

• Koby 10 years ago

what's wrong with this guy? How can free education lower standards? In U S we've free education from pre-K to 12th grade and standard is excellent. Pay the teachers so they can teach the kids as needed.

• The mask 10 years ago

Because of our poor maintenance culture some secondary schools are in a deplorable state. No student applies to some secondary schools while the secondary schools known for their academic achievements are overburdened with ap ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

These inward looking Unions are a disgrace to what Trade Unions stand for. Fighting for the common man.

• Krakro 10 years ago

Teachers are afraid they can no more cheat that is ehy they are against free SHS.

• COS 90 10 years ago

Mr. Addai Opoku and Mr. Baafi are nations wrekers, how can free education lower the quality of education? Were they not in ghana when Dr.Kwame Nkrumah introduced free education fron class 1 to the university level? They shoul ...

• NDUOM 10 years ago

WONDERS SHALL NEVER END IN MY BELOVED MOTHER GHANA,SO WHERE WERE THESE SO CALLED DAFT STUPID BRAINLESS INCOMPETENT FOLISH ASSOCIATIONS WHEN NANA DRUG ADDICT AKUFFO PROMISED FREE SHS IN HIS CAMPAIGN DURING 2012 ELECTION? OH GH ...

• ADONGO 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU MAKE SUCH COMPARISON ?WE SHALL SEE MORE PRIVATE SHS SPRINGING UP.THE RICH WILL SUPPORT THEM.THE POOR WILL CONTINUE TO GET SUBSTANDARD EDUCATION.ITS NO WIN-WIN SITUATION.

• atta 10 years ago

Visonless gentleman I only pity who ever he marries one day. You will eat Kontote and peper because he will not allow you to have a blender. Backward individual.

• Afua , US 10 years ago

NAGRAT/GNAT pls. you're rather confusing us, the prez. did not say parent will no pay anything at all but said free and quality education which will be gradual pls. give us break!

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Providing free SHS education for all ghanaians is a good policy that's easier said than done.
    Money does not grow on trees and this cash strapped administration must come clean and tell ghanaians how they plan to fund it . ...

• SK 10 years ago

Under whose watch has standard fallen ? Are the non performing teachers who are teaching at public schools not your members? As teacher association (s ) what have you done to improve standard? Some of you are not fit to lead ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

SK, right questions must be asked just as you have began. What is low level of education and what standardise assessment criteria are used? Can we just say educational level is low just because its free? What particular resea ...

• Henry 10 years ago

If so then remove it from the constitution.

• Samuel Prah 10 years ago

politicians are enemies to our progress.Mahama is lying.

• Yaw 10 years ago

Hypocrisy too much in Ghana